AGENDA Higher Education Subcommittee of the Arkansas Legislative Council

Monday, December 13, 2021 1:30 PM Room 151, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jane English, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice-Chair Sen. Linda Chesterfield Sen. Jonathan Dismang Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Breanne Davis Sen. Mark Johnson Sen. Missy Irvin, ex officio Sen. Terry Rice, ex officio Rep. David Whitaker, Chair Rep. Charlene Fite, Vice-Chair Rep. Stephen Meeks Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Bruce Cozart Rep. Ken Bragg Rep. Denise Garner Rep. Tippi McCullough Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, ex officio Rep. Jim Dotson, ex officio

A. Call to Order

- B. Comments by Committee Co-Chairs
- C. Discussion of Computer Science Programs in Higher Education
 - 1. Dr. Maria Markham, Director, Division of Higher Education
 - 2. Lonnie Emard, Apprenticeship Director, Arkansas Center for Data Sciences
 - 3. Tina Moore, Director, Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Computer Science Continuum, Department of Education
 - 4. Kyla Waters, Director, Center for Workforce, Arkansas Community Colleges

D. Discussion of Industry Opportunities and Working with Higher Education Curriculum

- 1. Dr. Cathy Riggins, Assistant Superintendent, Vilonia School District
- 2. Dr. Hollis Bray, Professor and Chair, Department of Construction Management and Civil and Construction Engineering, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
- 3. David Nabholz, Executive Vice President, Nabholz Construction Corporation
- 4. Lance Wright, Senior Project Manager, Kinco Constructors
- 5. Bill Rochell, President, Associated Builders and Contractors Arkansas Chapter
- E. Other Business
- F. Adjournment
- Note: All exhibits for this meeting are available by electronic means and are accessible on the General Assembly's website at <u>www.arkleg.state.ar.us</u>
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as 'Members and Staff Only'.