<u>AMENDED</u> <u>Thoroughbred Rule 1217.3 Amendment Summary</u>

This amendment to Rule 1217.3 sets additional guidelines for extracorporeal shock wave therapy.

Thoroughbred Rule 1217.3 Mark Up

Prohibited Practices – Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy or Radial Pulse Wave Therapy

(a) The use of Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy, Radial Pulse Wave Therapy or similar treatments shall not be permitted on horses on the grounds of Oaklawn.

(b) Equipment used to for Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy, Radial Pulse Wave Therapy or similar treatments shall not be allowed in the stable area at Oaklawn.

(c) Any horse treated with Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy, Radial Pulse Wave Therapy or similar treatments shall not be permitted to race at Oaklawn for a minimum of thirty (30) days following such treatment. Any such treatments on horses racing at Oaklawn must be performed by licensed veterinarians, or otherwise in accordance with applicable laws, and regulations of the applicable governmental regulatory agency, of the State where such treatments take place.

(d) All Extracorporeal Shock Wave Therapy, Radial Pulse Wave Therapy and similar treatments on horses racing at Oaklawn must be reported to the official veterinarian on the prescribed form not later than the time prescribed by the official veterinarian.

(c) The use of Shock Wave Therapy shall be disclosed to the Commission Veterinarian no less than 48 hours prior to use and shall not be permitted unless the following conditions are met:

(1) Any Shock Wave Therapy may only be performed with machines that are:

(i) Registered and approved for use by the Arkansas Racing Commission; and

(ii) used at a previously disclosed location that is approved by the Arkansas Racing Commission.

(2) The use of Shock Wave Therapy shall be limited to licensed veterinarians and must be reported to the Commission Veterinarian and the Commission within 48 hours of treatment. (3) Any treated horse shall be placed on the Veterinarian's List and shall not be permitted to race or breeze for 30 days following treatment.

(d) The Attending Veterinarian and the trainer may be suspended from the race track for a period of 5 days if Shock Wave Therapy has not been reported within 48 hours of any treatment or procedure administered to a horse. For each subsequent omission of reporting, an additional 5 days suspension may be added. If there are 3 violations in a calendar year, the Attending Veterinarian and the trainer may be suspended for up to 6 months in the current or subsequent calendar year.