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INTRODUCTION 

 

Arkansas Code § 25-15-216(b)(4), requires the executive head of any agency to provide written 

monthly updates on the agency’s progress in promulgating any rule it has determined is required 

by newly enacted laws of the latest session of the General Assembly.  This report is the monthly 

update of the Department of Labor and Licensing. 

 

The report is divided into two sections.  The first section is organized alphabetically by each 

board, commission, or other departmental unit for which required rulemaking has been 

identified.  A short description of each Act is provided, together with the lead sponsor.  A status 

bar for each rulemaking entity is provided and will be updated monthly as rulemaking 

progresses. 

 

The second section of the report is organized by Act number.   Each rulemaking entity required 

to complete rulemaking under an Act is listed for the reader’s convenience. 

 

The contact persons for future updates is: 

 Dan Parker, Chief Legal Counsel  

 Miles Morgan, Associate Counsel   

 Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing  

 900 West Capitol, Suite 400 

Little Rock, AR  72201 

Daniel.L.Parker@arkansas.gov 

 Miles.Morgan@arkansas.gov 
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 (501)-682-4504 

 

SECTION 1:  Boards, Commissions and Other Departmental Units 

 

 

Arkansas Manufactured Home Commission 

 

Act 391 of 2023.  Act 391 amends Arkansas Code § 20-25-106 to adjust the maximum civil 

penalty amounts in accordance with the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjust Act to allow the 

commission to meet the requirements of the United States Department of Housing and Urban 

Development approved state plan and retain federal funding.  (Sen. Irvin) 

 

Status:  The proposed rules are in the process of being drafted and submitted to the Secretary 

and Governor’s office for approval prior to submission to the General Assembly.  

 

 

 

Arkansas Real Estate Commission 

 

Act 31 of 2023.  Act 31 provides that a person employed by an Arkansas licensed residential 

construction company is exempt from the Real Estate License Law if certain requirements are 

met, including that the licensed residential construction company employs a principal broker 

who is responsible for the conduct of any person employed by the licensed residential 

construction company who is claiming the exemption.  (Rep. Vaught; Sen. Hester) 

 

Status:  The proposed rules are in the process of being drafted and submitted to the Secretary 

and Governor’s office for approval prior to submission to the General Assembly. 

 

 

 

 

Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board 

 

Act 840 of 2023.  Act 840 requires the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board to promulgate 

rules necessary for the towing, recovery, and storage of electric vehicles. (Rep. Wing) 

 

 

Status:  The proposed rules have been approved by the Secretary and Governor’s Office.  The 

public comment period will expire on October 24, 2023.   
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Auctioneer’s Licensing Board 
 

Act 677 of 2023.  Act 677 updates obsolete and outdated provisions of the Auctioneer’s 

Licensing Act; reduces the grace period for renewing a license from 120 days to 30 days; and 

provides for the licensing and regulation of in-state online auctions and estate sales by the 

Auctioneer’s Licensing Board. (Sen. Irvin)  

 

Status:  The proposed rules are in the process of being drafted and submitted to the Secretary 

and Governor’s office for approval prior to submission to the General Assembly. 

 

Board of Electrical Examiners of the State of Arkansas 

 

Act 318 of 2023. Act 318 amended the definitions of “residential journeyman electrician” and 

“residential master electrician,” and added a definition of dwelling to expand the scope of work 

for residential electricians from two-family to four-family dwellings, not to include a mixed-use 

building or other structure that requires commercial grade electric conductors or equipment for 

any part of the building or other structure.  (Rep. McGrew) 

 

Status:  The proposed rules are in the process of being drafted and submitted to the Secretary 

and Governor’s office for approval prior to submission to the General Assembly. 

 

 

 

Labor Standards Section, Division of Labor 

 

Act. 195 of 2023.  Act 195 repealed Arkansas Code § 11-6-109 concerning child employment 

certificates.  (Rep. Burkes) 

 

Act 687 of 2023.  Act 687 amended Arkansas Code § 11-6-103 to provide for criminal referrals 

and investigations and enhance civil penalties for child labor violations and increase the time for 

pursuing civil penalties from two (2) to three (3) years.  (Sen. Penzo) 

 

Status:  The proposed rules have been approved by the Secretary and Governor’s office.  The 

public comment period expired without comment on September 13, 2023.  The Section has 

requested BLR to place the rules on the October ALC Rules Subcommittee docket.     

 

State Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home Inspectors  

 

Act 628 of 2023.  Act 628 creates the State Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home 

Inspectors; transfers the duties of the Arkansas Abstracters Board, the Arkansas Home Inspector 

Registration Board, and the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board to the State 

Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home Inspectors; and abolishes the Arkansas Abstracters 

Board, the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board, and the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing 

and Certification Board.  (Sen. Hammer)  
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Status:  The proposed consolidated rules are in the process of being drafted and submitted to the 

Secretary and Governor’s office for approval prior to submission to the General Assembly. 

 

 

SECTION 2.  Acts 

 

Act 31 of 2023.  Act 31 provides that a person employed by an Arkansas licensed residential 

construction company is exempt from the Real Estate License Law if certain requirements are 

met, including that the licensed residential construction company employs a principal broker 

who is responsible for the conduct of any person employed by the licensed residential 

construction company who is claiming the exemption.   

 

 Arkansas Real Estate Commission  

 

Act 195 of 2023.  Act 195 repeals the Division of Labor’s child employment certificate.  

 

 Labor Standards Section, Division of Labor  

 

Act 318 of 2023. Act 318 amended the definitions of “residential journeyman electrician” and 

“residential master electrician,” and added a definition of dwelling to expand the scope of work 

for residential electricians from two-family to four-family dwellings, not to include a mixed-use 

building or other structure that requires commercial grade electric conductors or equipment for 

any part of the building or other structure.   

 

 Board of Electrical Examiners of the State of Arkansas  

 

 

Act 391 of 2023.  Act 391 amends Arkansas Code § 20-25-106 to adjust the maximum civil 

penalty amounts in accordance with the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjust Act to allow the 

commission to meet the requirements of the United States Department of Housing and Urban 

Development approved state plan and retain federal funding.   

 

 Arkansas Manufactured Homes Commission  

 

Act 628 of 2023.  Act 628 creates the State Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home 

Inspectors; transfers the duties of the Arkansas Abstracters Board, the Arkansas Home Inspector 

Registration Board, and the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board to the State 

Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home Inspectors; and abolishes the Arkansas Abstracters 

Board, the Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board, and the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing 

and Certification Board. 

 

 State Board of Appraisers, Abstracters, and Home Inspectors  

 

Act 677 of 2023.  Act 677 updates obsolete and outdated provisions of the Auctioneer’s 

Licensing Act and reduces the grace period for renewing a license from 120 days to 30 days.  
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This act also provides for the licensing and regulation of in-state online auctions and estate sales 

by the Auctioneer’s Licensing Board.    

 

 Auctioneer’s Licensing Board 

 

Act 687 of 2023.    Act 687 amended Arkansas Code § 11-6-103 to provide for criminal referrals 

and investigations and enhance civil penalties for child labor violations and increase the time for 

pursuing civil penalties from two (2) to three (3) years. 

 

 Labor Standards Section, Division of Labor  

 

Act 840 of 2023.  Act 840 requires the Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board to promulgate 

rules necessary for the towing, recovery, and storage of electric vehicles. 

  

 Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board 

 
 


