# RECEIVED

## **RINO'S LAW**

## BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

OCT 31 2023

Authority - These rules are promulgated pursuant to Arkansas Code Ann. § 12-8-127, establishing the administration and disbursement of moneys for food and medical care to a canine retired from the Division of Arkansas State Police; and to create Rino's Law.

Rule 1. Title - These Rules shall be known as "Rino's Law".

**Rule 2.** Administrative Procedures – The Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Public Safety or their designee shall administer Rino's Law. The reimbursement should be provided to the eligible law enforcement officers or their family within 10 days of receipt of the request and required documentation by the Secretary of Public Safety.

**Rule 3.** Scope – These Rules shall govern the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety or their designee in administering Rino's Law to provide up to \$2,500.00 per year in reimbursements for the costs of food, flea and tick infestation prevention, and veterinarian bills to a canine retired from the Division of Arkansas State Police.

**Rule 4.** Objective – to alleviate financial hardships suffered by a Division canine handler and/or his or her family member for the costs of food, flea and tick infestation prevention, and veterinarian bills for a canine that is retired from the Division of Arkansas State Police and adopted by the either the Division canine handler, or his or her family member.

### **Rule 5. Effective Date**

These Rules shall be effective on and after January 1, 2024.

### **Rule 6. Definitions**

- a. "Certified" a law enforcement officer in the State of Arkansas who is recognized by the Arkansas Commission of Law Enforcement Standards and Training as meeting standards required by the Commission.
- b. "Division canine handler" a full or part-time certified law enforcement officer who is employed by the Division of Arkansas State Police and works as a canine handler. This

definition also includes retired certified law enforcement officers who were employed by the Division of Arkansas State Police and worked as a canine handler.

- <u>c.</u> "Expenses" out-of-pocket costs incurred in connection with the purchase of food, flea and tick prevention, and veterinarian bills for a retired canine over the course of one (1) fiscal year.
- d. "Family member" A Division canine handler's spouse, parent, or guardian of a child-incommon, or minor child(ren) who has either adopted or otherwise owns the retired canine.
- e. "Fiscal year" the 12-month period that begins on July 1<sup>st</sup> of every year and ends on June 30 of the following year.
- f. "Medical care" all emergency and non-emergency medical care rendered by a veterinarian of the canine handlers choosing.
- g. "Retired canine" a canine that is both retired from the Division of the Arkansas State
  Police and adopted by a Division canine handler, or a family member of the Division canine
  handler.
- <u>h.</u> "Terminal illness" a disease or condition that cannot be cured and is likely to lead to a person's death and prevents or significantly impairs the person's ability to work as a law enforcement officer or to otherwise earn comparable wages in another line of work.
- i. "TR-1 form" Department of Public Safety Travel Authorization form, otherwise known as DPS 203-1.
- j. "Veterinarian" medical professional who is qualified to treat animals and practices veterinary medicine.

**Rule 7. Eligibility Criteria** – In order to be eligible for relief under Rino's Law, an individual must be either:

- a. A Division canine handler and submit a signed TR-1 form as detailed in Rule 8.
- b. Be a family member of a Division canine handler and submit a signed TR-1 form as detailed in Rule 8, and a W-9 form as detailed in Rule 9.

**Rule 8.** Application for Relief – On an application for reimbursement under this section by either a Division canine handler or a family member, the Secretary of the Department of Public Safety or their designee shall require the following:

- a. A signed TR-1 form that has logged all expenses to be reimbursed. Specifically, the expenses shall be logged under the "Incidentals" column.
- b. The TR-1 form shall include all supporting documents and required receipts for expenses incurred in connection to the purchase of food, flea and tick infestation prevention, and veterinarian bills on behalf of the canine.
- c. Whenever feasible, supporting documents and required receipts should reference the name of both the Division canine handler, the family member of a Division canine handler who has either adopted or otherwise owns the canine, and/or the retired canine's name.
- d. Any other information or records the Secretary determines might be necessary to establish the need of the officer or their family for a grant to be issued under this program.
- e. The TR-1 form must be submitted 30 days before the end of the fiscal year.

**Rule 9. Family members eligible for relief** – Upon the Division canine handler's death or diagnosis of a terminal illness, his or her family members may apply to adopt the retired canine and apply for relief under Rino's Law. The family member who has either adopted or otherwise owns the canine is required to submit a completed W-9 form to the Arkansas Department of Public Safety, in addition to the TR-1 form as detailed in Rule 8.

**Rule 10. Reimbursement Limits** – Each family of a Division canine handler or Division canine handler who is determined to be eligible to receive reimbursement under Rino's Law may receive payment of up to two thousand five hundred dollars (\$2,500.00) per year for the costs of food, flea and tick infestation prevention, and veterinarian bills. Those eligible to receive reimbursement may submit multiple requests for reimbursement throughout the year, but no later than 30 days before the end of the fiscal year, up to \$2,500.00 or may elect to submit one request for reimbursement 30 days before the end of the fiscal year for bills that total \$2,500.00 combined.

**Rule 11. Reimbursement Denials** – The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety or their designee shall have the ability to deny a request for reimbursement in whole or in part made under this section. The denial shall be in writing and state the reasons why the request was denied.

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 113 of the Regular Session

1	State of Arkansas	A Bill	
2	94th General Assembly		HOUSE BILL 1319
3 4	Regular Session, 2023		HOUSE BILL 1319
4 5	By: Representative M. Berry		
6	By: Senator B. Johnson		
7	5		
8		For An Act To Be Entitled	
9	AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOOD AND MEDICAL CARE TO A CANINE		
10	RETIRED FROM THE DIVISION OF ARKANSAS STATE POLICE IN		
11	CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES; TO CREATE RINO'S LAW; AND FOR		
12	OTHER PURPOSES.		
13			
14			
15		Subtitle	
16	TO PH	ROVIDE FOOD AND MEDICAL CARE TO A	
17	CANIN	NE RETIRED FROM THE DIVISION OF	
18	ARKAN	NSAS STATE POLICE IN CERTAIN	
19	CIRCU	JMSTANCES; AND TO CREATE RINO'S LA	AW.
20			
21			
22	BE IT ENACTED BY THE G	ENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF A	ARKANSAS:
23			
24	SECTION 1. DO N	IOT CODIFY. <u>This act shall be know</u>	m and may be cited as
25	<u>Rino's Law.</u>		
26			
27	SECTION 2. Arka	unsas Code Title 12, Chapter 8, Su	bchapter 1, is amended
28	to add an additional s	ection to read as follows:	
29	<u>12-8-127.</u> Food	and medical care for retired cani	.ne.
30	<u>(a)</u> The Departm	ent of Public Safety shall provid	le payment of up to two
31	thousand five hundred	dollars (\$2,500) per year for the	e costs of food, flea
32	and tick infestation prevention, and veterinarian bills for a canine that is:		
33	(1) Retired from the Division of Arkansas State Police; and		
34		ed by a division canine handler.	
35		tment shall promulgate rules for	
36	<u>this section.</u>		<b>APPROVED:</b> 2/21/23

