ARKANSAS
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October 1, 2025

VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

Administrative Rules Subcommittee

Arkansas Legislative Council

Senator Tyler Dees, Co-Chair

Representative Matthew J. Shepherd, Co-Chair
c/o Rebecca Miller-Rice

Bureau of Legislative Research

Email: miller-ricer@blr.arkansas.gov

RE: Arkansas Code § 25-15-216(b)(5)(B) Summary
Senator Dees and Representative Shepherd:

The Department of Energy and Environment (E&E) submits this summary report pursuant to
Arkansas Code § 25-15-216. The contact person for the reports required by Arkansas Code § 25-
15-216 will be Kesia Morrison, Chief Counsel, Department of Energy and Environment, 5301
Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118, Kesia.Morrison@arkansas.gov, (501) 682-0604.

The following 2025 acts have been identified as requiring new rulemaking:

Act 441 authorizes the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board to promulgate new rules based on national
standards published by the National Fire Protection Association. The act also repeals statutory
standards for gas containers, training and certification of employees working in this industry, vapor
pressure, and for retail sellers of liquefied petroleum gas. Amendments to 15 CAR pt. 270 are
necessary to avoid a regulatory void. The rules are being drafted and reviewed internally.

Act 148 increases the maximum interim payment amount available from the Petroleum Storage
Tank Trust Fund from $1,500,000 to $2,000,000. The act corrects an inconsistency that was
created by Act 422 of 2023. Amendments to PC&EC’s Regulated Storage Tank Rules, 8 CAR pt.
80, are necessary to conform to the amended statute. Specifically, E&E will amend rule 8 CAR §
80-309(e) to reflect this new statutory requirement. This amendment will be submitted as part of
a package with amendments in response to Act 706. The rule amendments are being drafted and
reviewed internally.

Act 706 changes the deductible applicable to payments for corrective actions from the Petroleum
Storage Tank Trust Fund, and modifies the manner in which the deductibles are calculated.
Amendments to PC&EC’s Regulated Storage Tank Rules, 8 CAR pt. 80, are necessary to conform
to the amended statute. Specifically, E&E will amend rules 8 CAR § 80-306 and 8 CAR § 80-307
to reflect this statutory change. This amendment will be submitted as part of a package with
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amendments in response to Act 148. The rule amendments are being drafted and reviewed
internally.

Act 294 reduces the size of the Wastewater Licensing Committee from eight (8) members to five
(5) and changes the make-up of this committee. The act will require amendment of PC&EC’s
Wastewater Licensing Rules, specifically 8 CAR § 22-201, to conform to the statutory
requirements. The rule amendments have been drafted and are being reviewed internally.

Act 1009 amends the Arkansas code to clarify the penalty available for violation of a land
application permit and to allow for maximum penalties to be assessed for over-application in
violation of a permit. The act also requires that the APC&EC begin the process of promulgating a
new rule to authorize no-discharge land application permits of industrial waste. E&E
representatives are consulting with stakeholders and are in the process of drafting the required rule.

Act 1012, section 2, amends the definition of “solid waste” in Arkansas Code § 26-51-506(b)(15).
The act will require the PC&EC to amend the definition of “solid waste” in 26 CAR § 270-102(17)
to conform to the act. The rule amendments have been drafted and are being reviewed internally.

Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you for your consideration of these required
rule changes.

Sincerely,

= 2.7

Shane E. Khoury
Secretary
Department of Energy and Environment
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