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CHAPTER |, ARTICLE IV ~ Reciprocity, Licensure by Endorsement, Military Personnel

A. Reciprocity

Section 1-

An application for licensure by reciprocity pursuant to Subchapter 3 of Section 17-90-302 of
Act 397 of 1991, shall be filed with the Secretary of the Board and shall set forth the name,
address, date of birth, and the place or places where the applicant has engaged in the practice
of optometry for the three (3) years immediately preceding the application. This application
shall contain the names of at least three persons not related to the applicant with whom the
applicant has been associated in the last five years. Such application shall aiso state whether
or not the applicant has ever been convicted of a crime, or has ever had his license to practice
optometry in other states revoked or suspended.

Section 2 -

Such application shall also set forth the educational and professional qualifications of the
applicant.

Section 3 -

The application shall contain a statement by the applicant that he is willing to abide by the
laws of this State and the rules and reguiations of this Board, and such application shall be
subscribed by the applicant and sworn to by him before an officer qualified to administer oaths

by the laws of this State.

Section 4~

The application shall be accompanied with a fee of $400.00. 1t shall be understood by the
applicant that the application fee is to cover the cost of investigation and examination felt

necessary by the Board.
B. Licensure by Endorsement

Section 1 -

Any person from another state desiring to engage in the practice of optometry in this state
may be issued a licensure by endorsement at the sole discretion of the State Board of
Optometry upon satisfactory proof that he or she:

1. Is qualified under this chapter;

2. Has been issued a certificate or license to practice optometry by a state, territory, the
District of Columbia, or Canada having standards of proficiency at least equal to the

standards of Arkansas:

3. Has engaged in the lawful practice of optometry for a period of three years of the past
four years in the other state, territory, the District of Columbia, or Canada and has
complied with the requirements of the Arkansas licensure law at the time of application;

and



4.
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Has passed an Arkansas jurisprudence examination as approved by the Board.

Section 2 -

The applicant shall pay a fee to the State Board of Optometry of $400.00 (equal to the fee of
a new applicant) to cover the administrative costs of the application process.

Section 3 -

An application for licensure by endorsement shali be accompanied by:

1.
2.

The fee described in Section 2;

Certification from all states or territories in which the applicant has practiced:

A certificate of good standing from each authority which issued the license, setting
forth the applicant's moral reputation and character, history with the authority,

professional ability, continuing education compliance, and other information or data as
the State Board of Optometry may deem necessary or expedient;

A copy of the therapeutic license held by the applicant and current photo;
A copy of the cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification held by the applicant;

Transcripts from all colleges or universities attended by the applicant; and an
accredited school or college of optometry;

Proof of completion of all parts of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry
examination required at the time of graduation for initial licensure sent directly to the
State Board of Optometry;

Information on past medical malpractice claims and any disciplinary actions;

Application to the Identification Bureau of the Department for Arkansas State Police
for a state and national criminal background check, to be conducted by the Federal

Bureau of Investigation; and

10. Appear in person before the State Board of Optometry for an interview.

Section 4 -

Upon furnishing satisfactory proof of fitness, the State Board of Optometry in its discretion
may issue a license to practice optometry to the applicant without further cost except as
otherwise provided in the Rules and Regulations for the renewal of licenses.
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C. Licensure for Active Military Members

1. Definitions:

a. As used in this section, “returning military veteran” means a former member of the
United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under
circumstances other than dishonorable.

2. Licensure:

a. Pursuant to Act 248 of 2017, the Arkansas State Board of Optometry shall allow the

foliowing individuals to secure employment with a temporary license. certificate, or

permit while completing the application process for full licensure or certification or
permitting if the individual is the holder in good standing of a substantially equivalent

license, certificate, or permit issued by another state:

(1) An active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas:

(2) A returning military veteran applying within one (1) vear of his or her discharge
from active duty: or

(3) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (b} 1) and {2) of this section.

b. The Arkansas State Board of Optometry shall expedite the process and procedures
for fuil licensure, certification, or permitting for the following individuals:

(1) An active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas:

(2) A returning military veteran applying within one {1) vear of his or her discharge
from active duty; or

(3) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (c)(1) and (2) of this section.

c. When considering an application for full iicensure, certification, or permitting for an
active duly military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas or a returning
military veteran applying within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty,
the Arkansas State Board of Optometry:

(1) Shall consider whether or not the applicant’s military training and experience
in_the area of licensure, certification, or permitting is substantially similar to
experience or education required for licensure, certification, or permitting; and

(2) Shail_accept the applicant's military training and experience in the area of
licensure, certification, or permitting in lieu of experience or education required
for_licensure, certification, or permitting if the state board or commission
determines the military fraining and experience is a satisfactory substitute for
the experience or education reauired for licensure, certification. or permitting,

d. A license reguired to enable the holder to lawfully encage in a profession, trade, or
employment in this state held by an active duty military service member deployed
outside the State of Arkansas or his or her spouse shall not expire until one hundred
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eighty (180) days following the active duty military service member’s or spouse’s return
from active deployment.

. (1) The Arkansas State Board of Optometry shall allow a full or partial exemption from
continuing education required as part of licensure, certification, or pemmitting for a

profession, trade, or employment in this state for the following individuals:

(A) An_active duty military service member deploved outside of the State of
Arkansas;

(B) A returning military veteran within one (1) year of his or her discharge from

active duty; or

(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (fi{1) and (2) of this section.

(2) If the Arkansas State Board of Optometry allows a full or partial exemption from
continuing education required under subdivision (f}{1] of this section, the Board may
reguire evidence of completion of continuing education before issuing the individual a

subsequent license, certificate, or permit or authorizing the renewal of a license,

certificate, or permit.




