Exhibit F.11(a)

Agency # 203.00

COMMISSION FOR ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC
FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION RULES GOVERNING

SELF -CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS BY PUBLIC EDUCAT@%EW%
5 Effective e , o

LoC 142018

B REBEARCH
1.01  These regulations shall be known as the Commission il @ﬁ@a@ﬁlwt RESE

i Public School Academic Facilit'%/}and Transportation Rules

Governing Self-Construction Projects by ) @1@ Entities.

1.00 REGULATORY AUTHORITY

2

1.02  The Commissionjs_

3

1) hé//{//l/t/y fc;f"p@mulgating these rules

al 3 K 7
pursuant to Ark. Code Ang, §§%§/féfl-lo9. 6-2130

7 %" " S
18-44-503. 18-44-507. 1914230 22.9.101. 2.5

Seq. et 1472 0£2009. Y
N

2.00  PURPOSE

the Arkansas Division of
ortation (Division) will
blic educational entities

assess,
A

3.00

¢s) is-defined to means an Arkansas

.schigdls, educational cooperatives, or any
% - .. . .
gssupervision over public educational

ion” is-defined-to means any construction where the public
ity uses its own employees, acts as g general contractor,

ton manager while acting as a general contractor, or acts as
uction manager using contracted construction services.

3.03  “Construttion project” is-defined-to means making or forming an
improvement by combining parts, labor, or materials; the erection or

alteration that exceeds 3 cost of $20,000 $3 5.000 of a structure of or

physical object under the supervision or ownership of a public educational
entity,

3.04  “Design professional” is-defined 4o means a person or firm who provides
professional experiise in order to carry out a capital erection, repair, or

Improvement project. Design professionals may include, but may not be
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3.05

3.06

3.07

3.08

3.09

Agency # 203.00

limited to, the following professionals: planners (land, city, utilities, ete.),
architects, landscape architects, surveyors (land), engineers (consulting
and professional engineers providing expertise in various licensed fields
such as civil, electrical, mechanical, structural, sanitary, etc.).

“Maintenance work” is-defined to means the repair but not the
replacement or alterations that exceed a cost of $20.000 $35.000 of
existing facilities when the size, capacity, and type of the existing facility
Or equipment is not thereby substantially changed or increased

“Commodities” s defined to means all Sggﬁ}gﬁ goods, material,
. . g i
cquipment, machinery, facilities, and pefaidial property purchased for or

Pf/}//// e
on behalf of an Entity. y /?//f// /éf%{%
- W
“Open market purchases” efined )

means thog /;purchases of
commodities by any purchasims“6fficial in which c”’c/f/rﬁ}p,,etitive bidding is
not required, % )

“Administrator” 1s.defined-to m

b ,:’12"’//?2’//-.
educational coopé at Director
or President of a ch : éducational entity.

e Arkans;s ﬁivision of Public Schoo]
ation.

ard votes to self-construct, the Administrator of the
ubmit Part-A and B of the Construction Approval Form to-the
hich Forns 1s attached as Appendix “A” to these rules, o the
indicating that the project is “Self Construction”, (The
ind on the Division website at:

,acilities.@rkgnsis. gov). i

Appendin-A2 Lo theses ttes; This
clude all items required by Appendix

SA deseription-of the proposed-constructi VHPFR ek

FOL3-Awritten-Agn Franee-mpaot-Statemen Hegardipe
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Agency #203.00

4.02 _ The Administrator of the Entity also must submit the written Assurance
Impact Statement (see ltem 3 of Part A in Appendix A) and the annual
Bquity Compliance Report (see Jtem 4 of Part A in Appendix 4) to the
Arkansas Department of “Education, LEA State Funding—T 0ans and
Bonds, Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot 9, LitfERbok. AR 72201.

.. . . Ny
4.023 Upon recerving an Entity’s notificat p/’ﬁif / ent to self-construct, the
: . Ui, . b ..
HIeyiew the Entity’s deeision

Division shall .
et

to-self—eenstruet proposed sel .@%g%%_tmcti_og I!;_OI
500 APPROVAL PROCEDURES f%/jj}

£

5.01  When an Entity develops plans for truction proje 0,
submitted to the ] _ dl, the Entity shall ensure that the

tmates shall be made by
c.observation of the an

and fair market value of construction or capital
an $25.000, an engineer, registered or

apisas, shall provide the required

(Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-101(b)(I ).

and fair market value of construction or capital
1s greater than $1 00,000, an architect, registered or

fie State of Arkansas, shall provide the required

services. (Ark. Code Ann. 8 22-9-101(b)(2)).

.02 Upon review of the foresoing requirements. the Division may approve or
deny the self-construction project

6.00  BID, BOND, AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
6.01  When an Entity self-constructs, the Entity shall ensure by written report to

the Division compliance te with all Arkansas laws, including but not
limited to-the following:
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Agency # 203.00

6.01.1 A< Open market purchases may be made where the
purchase price is less than $10,000 $20.000 the current
amount set by the Commuissioner of Education establishing

the maximum purchase amount for open-market purchases.
(Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-304).

6.01.2 B- In each instance where the estimated purchase price
shall equal or Exeeed exceed $10:000; $20.000 the current
amount set by themostrecehl Zzommissioner of Education
establishing the maximu i

7
e /,/I}rchase amount for open-
market purchasess thetd mﬁ‘@i?y shall be procured by

Como
e A
Wode AR 6-21-304).

soliciting bids/‘.(}r/lg. :

,
.

ma

$20.000 $35.000, the:

Pt

school board'{p,,/

%

diaccording
. (Ark. Code Ann.§ 22-9-203),

2 ,ffime per week for two
s may be opened-one (1)

#00: 1at three (3) alternates may be used, and the alternates
must be set forth and considered in numerical order. (Ark. Code Ann. §

6.053 Whenady
contréict_" m int with the successful bidder if the low bid is within twenty-
ffe five percent (25%) of the amount appropriated for the project and all
alternates have been exhausted. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203). as-amended
by Act 921 of 20013

6.054 An entity shall accept the lowest qualified bid from a firm resident in
Arkansas. This bid shall be accepted only if the bid does not exceed the
lowest qualified bid from a nonresident firm by more than five percent
(5%) and if one (1) or more firms resident in Arkansas made written claim
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Agency # 203.00

for a preference at the time bids were submitted. (Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-
259).

6.065 A five percent (5%) corporate bid bond or certified check in the amount of
five percent (5% of the bid shall accompany all submiited bids on
construction contracts that exceed $20;000 $35.000. (Ark. Code Ann. §
22-9-203).

6.076 The successful bidder on construction that exceeds $20,000 shall provide
the owner a performance and payment bond//';j hundred-pereen
(100%) equal to of the contract amount. fE)\}/,bénd must be filed in-the
with the clerk of the circuit court of th/ £ /%/51’1%» where the work is being

performed before authorization to p};{c i g;’?g;,rfanted. (Ark. Code Ann.

i

L7 4 i
§§18-44-503 and 18-44-507), g W@ %
4/@%
6.087 Any sub-trades contractor ¢ Q%Norl( in areas such 43 ectrical,

7.00

ISe report or Talse information required by
gulation s shall be subject to having his
ced on probation pursuant to Ark. Code

AFT 30-5



APPENDIX “A”

DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION APPROVAL FORMR EC E EVE B

August 1,-2047-
part A GEC 142018
_ BUREAU OF
Instructions LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-20-1407 and 6-21-109, scheol-districts entities [Schoaol
Districts, Public Charter Schools, Education Service Cooperatives. or any publicly suppoerted
entity having supervision over public educational entities] that propose to construct and/or fund
facility projects are required to submit written documentation.

Construction: Completion of this form is required for Division of Public School Academic
Facilities and Transportation approval of a-schoel-district's an entity's construction project—H

if thé process of self-

Bond Applications: Completion of this form is required for loan or bond approval but is not
required for non-voted refunding of existing debt.

Please answer the following questions, provide the required information, and submit the
completed form with attachments to:

Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation

One Capitol Mall, Suite 4D-200
Little Rock, AR 72201

General and Equity Information

Construction Approval applies to all construction projects costing over $20.000 $35,000 at
public school facilities regardless of the source of funds. (This section shall not apply to
maintenance projects or construction projects costing $28-000 $35.000 or fess. )

1. Describe the proposed facility project: (Indicate the Project Number from the Master Plan,
Location, Campus, Building, and detailed description.)




DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION APPROVAL FORM
August 1, 2017

Part A — Continued

2 Provide a written, detailed, substantial justification for the proposed facility projects.
Projects shall be considered legitimately justified if, for example:

A. The proposed facility project is necessary for the applying district entity to comply
with Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) rules and regulations, and/or State
and Federal statutes and regulations; and/or ~ #%,

I 4 .

B. The proposed facility project is necessary t meéetimportant educational goals of the

0.}

distriet entity. Completion of the propose%ﬁfﬁ%{%uld enable the applying distrist
entity to provide a better quality, des/gz/g%ggéted eduw%lon necessary o meet the
needs of its present and projected oplation. The*’el}stnet entity must provide a
desegregation impact statement show! improvements will not
have a segregative effect (see ite below). A detailed "oLtline or explanation of

. r p K
the educational goal fo be met shall bedncludeds .
the educa | goa =m included 3

2

Assurance Impaet Statementindicating that the proposed facility project
tablish, confiue, or.ignore segregative activities and/or policies within yourthe
ritity or contigtious districts: Also, indicate with the Assurance Jmpact-Statement
“pra ett in any“séhool in any county contiguous to Pulaski County,
jstantial ‘negative impact on the ability of any eistrict entity in

that the pfoposed proj

4. The Annual Equity Compliance Report must be filed with the Arkansas Department of
Education before approval can be granted. The Division of Public School Academic
Facilities and Transportation will confirm the filing with the Equity Assistance Center.



5. Provide an written aAssurance sStatement that the approval of the facilities project or the
approval of any loan or bond financing the facilities project does not violate any Federal
Court Order or federal or state law.

8. The written Assurance mpaet-Statement referenced in paragraph 3 and the Annual Equity
Compliance Report referenced in paragraph 4-alse must be submitted to:

Arkansas Department of E ft/c//é//{/iéon

LEA State Funding - Logf%%onds
Four Capitol Mall, Méfil%Sﬁit?fQ

Littte Rock, AR, 72201 7
25 %

entity plan to usé.for the project? If the
information is“eeded and only the
onstrddtion is indicated then Part B must

Design Build

| ease Purchase

SIGNATURE OF ENTITY ADMINISTRATOR DATE



DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION PROCESS INFORMATION

Part B

(To be completed only if Self-Construction is indicated)

SCHOOL DISTRICT @_UJHONAL_Eﬁlﬁ COUNTY

PROJECT

Construction Information

This form applies to all construction projects” %;/,,_
limited to; academic, maintenance and operatio‘hs’, :
non-instructional facilities. J

1 What method of self-construction
Distriet Entity personnel

District Entity w al contractor

ntractor and employ a construction

3. 4-Has the ehsicﬂet entity used the self—c:)nstruction process on projects in the past?

Yes No___

4. 5 Ifyesto question-»#é;;_pré de the date(s) that the district entity used the of-construction
pProcess. G



DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION
SELF-CONSTRUCTION ASSURANCE STATEMENT

August1,2047
Part B — Continued

SCHOOL DISTRICT EDUCATIONAL ENTITY COUNTY

PROJECT PROJECT NUMBER

A

acilities and Transporfatfon Rules

Jdennﬁymgane’ Governing Self-Cor?/’ ' blic Education Entities, and are in
ulati ertify that the above-mentioned

2) Submit f:nal_
3) Follow all )

ra

utes concemmg commodmes purchasing
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 725 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas .
91st General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2017 HOUSE BILL 1595

By: Representative Holcomb
By: Senator Caldwell

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE AWARD PROCEDURE FOR PUBLIC
IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE AWARD PROCEDURE FOR PUBLIC
IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 22-9-202(b)(2)(C), concerning statutory
construction, is amended to read as follaws:

(C) Construction work from one (1) or more separate
contractors under separate contract or invoice so that the work is not
included in calculating the bid requirement threshold of twentytheusand
dollars £520,000) thirty-five thousand dollars {535,000).

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 22-9-202(c), concerning statutory
construction, is amended to read as follows:

{c) This section and §§ 22-9-203 and 22-9-204 do not amend or repeal
any law that requires the publication of notice in those instances in which
the estimated amount of the cost of the proposed improvements within the

scope of the contract is less—then twenty¥ thousand dollars ($20,000) more

than thirty-five thousand dollars (%35,000;.

SECTION 3. The introductory language of Arkansas Code § 22-9-203(a),

concerning the award procedure for public improvements, is amended to read as

(T 028300710703k cos
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HB1595

follows:

(a) Except as provided under § 14-58-105, a contract providing for the
making of major repairs or alterations, for the erection of buildings or
other structures, or for making other permanent improvements shall not be
entered into by the state or an agency of the state or by a county,
municipality, school district, or other local taxing unit with any contractor
in instances in which all estimated costs of the work shall exceed the sum of

twentythousand—dollars {$20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars (5$35,000)

unless:

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 22-9-203(c)(2)(A), concerning award
procedures and requirements, is amended to read as follows:

(2) (A)(i) Every bid submitted on public construection
contracts for any political subdivision of the state shall be is void unless
accompanied by a cashier’s check drawn upon a bank or trust company doing
business in this state or by a corporate bid bond.

(ii) Every bid submitted on public construction
contracts for the state or any agency or department of the state shall be is
void unless accompanied by a cashier’s check drawn upon a bank or trust
company doing business in this state or by a corporate bid bond, except for
projects under £wenty thousand dellars ($20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars

($35,000) .

(iii) MNe A bid bond shall-be is not required for
public construction contracts for the state or any agency or department of
the state under or equal to twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) thirtv-five
thousand dollars (535,000).

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 22-9-209(a), concerning the renovation of
historic sites, is amended to read as follows:

(a) A contract for the altering, repairing, or renovation of a
recognized historic site or structure owned by the State of Arkansas state or
with title vested in the name of a state agency or of another taxing
authority in which the estimated cost of the work equals or exceeds the sum

of twenty theusand dollars ($20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars (535,000

shall not be entered into between the state agency or taxing authority and

any contractor unless the state agency or taxing authority has first

2 02-08-2017 10:57:13 KLCO34
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published notice of intention to receive bids for improvements one (1) time
each week for not less than twoe (2) consecutive weeks in a newspaper of
general circulation published in the county in which the proposed
improvements are to be made or in a trade journal reaching the construction

industry.

APPROVED: 03/28/2017

3 02-08-2017 10:57:13 KLCO54
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1124 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas .
91st General Assembly A Blll

Regular Session, 2017 SENATE BILL 329

By: Senator A. Clark

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO RAISE THE PRICE THRESHOLD FOR THE PURCHASE
OF COMMODITIES THAT SCHOOL DISTRICTS MUST PROCURE BY
SOLICITING BIDS; TO PROVIDE FOR ANNUAL ADJUSTMENTS IN
THE PURCHASE PRICE THRESHOLD BASED ON INFLATION; AND
FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO RAISE THE PRICE THRESHOLD FOR THE
PURCHASE OF COMMODITIES THAT SCHOOL
DISTRICTS MUST PROCURE BY SOLICITING
BIDS; AND TO PROVIDE FOR ANNUAL
ADJUSTMENTS IN THE PURCHASE PRICE
THRESHOLD BASED ON INFLATION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 6-21-304(a)(l), concerning the procurement
of commodities by a school district, is amended to read as follows:
(a)(1)(A) All purchases of commodities by any school district, except
those specifically exempted by § 6-21-305, shall be made as follows:
33 () (a) In each instance in which the estimated

purchase price shall equal or exceed tentheusand-dellars {$10,000) twenty

thousand dollars (%20,000), the commodity shall be procured by soliciting

bids, provided that the purchasing official may reject all bids and may
purchase the commodity by negotiating a contract.
43+i3(b) 1If the purchasing official, after

rejecting all bids, determines that the purchase should be made by

LT
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SB329

negotiation, then each responsible bidder who submitted a bid shall be
notified of the determination and shall be given a reasonable opportunity to
negotiate;

+B>{(ii) Open market purchases may be made when the

purchase price is less than Eeng%h9usané—deéla%s—{$4919994~;ggngi thousand

dollars (520,000); and

£63(iii) No purchasing afficial shall parcel or
split any item or items with the intent or purpose to enable the purchase to
be made under a less restrictive procedure.

(B) Annually on July 1, the Commissioner of Education

shall adiust the purchase price amounts under subdivision {a)(l)(A} of this

section by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban

Consumers or its successor,

APPROVED: 04/07/2017

2 02-09-2017 16:31:2]1 PIL245
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1048 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: 53/4/15
90th General Assembly Bl
Regular Session, 2015 SENATE BILL 631

By: Senator Hester
By: Representative Womack

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE COST OF WORK
AND MATERIALS REQUIRING A GENERAL CONTRACTOR’S
LICENSE; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE COST OF
WORK AND MATERIALS REQUIRING A GENERAL
CONTRACTOR’S LICENSE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-25-101(a) and (b), concerning the
definition of "contractor", are amended to read as follows:

(a)(l) As used in this chapter, “contractor” means any person, firm,
partnership, copartnership, association, corporation, or other organiéation,
or any combination thereof, that, for a fixed price, commission, fee, or
wage, attempts to or submits a bid to construct or demelish, or contracts or
undertakes to construct or demolish, or assumes charge, in a supervisory
capacity or otherwise, or manages the construction, erection, alteratiom,
demolition, or repair, or has or have constructed, erected, altered,
demolished, or repaired, under his or her, their, or its direction, any
building, apartment, condominium, highway, sewer, utility, grading, or any
other improvement or structure on public or private property for lease, rent,
resale, public access, or similar purpose, except single-family residences,
when the cost of the work to be done, or done, in the State of Arkansas by

the contractor, including, but not limited to, labor and materials, is twenty

WERR AR SR——
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As Engrossed: 83/4/15 SB631

fifty thousand dollars 482650000 ($50,000) or more.

(2) However, when a person or an entity acts as a contracter in
the comstruction, erection, alteration, demolition, or repair of his or her
own ot its own property, such action shall not result in the person or entity
being required to obtain a license, but the person or entity shall comply
with all other provisions of this subchapter.

(b) However, the &wenty-thousand-dellar fifty-thousand-dollar exception

shall not apply teo any project of construction in which any of the

construction work necessary to complete the project, except any in-progress
change orders, is divided into separate contracts of amounts less than twenty
fifty thousand dollars {$20846884% ($50,000), a purpose being to circumvent the
provisions of this chapter.

(c) It is the intention of this definition to include all improvements,
demolition, or structures, excepting only single-family residences.

(d) (1) Materials purchased by a prime contractor from a third party
shall not be considered as part of the subcontractor’s project if the prime
contractor has the proper classification listed on a current contractor’s
license for the work being performed by the subcontractor.

(2) Materials purchased by a person or an entity acting as a
contractor in the comstruction, erection, alteration, or repair of his or her
own or its own property from a third party shall not be considered as a part
of the subcontractor’s project, provided that the subcontract is for wood

framing, shingle roofing, painting, floor covering, or concrete labor.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-25-103(a)(l)(A), concerning penalties
for contracting without a license, is amended to read as follows:

(1) (A) For a fixed price, commission, fee, or wage attempts to or
submits a bid or bids to construct or demeclish or contracts to construct or
demolish, or undertakes to construct or demolish, or assumes charge in a
supervisory capacity or otherwise, or manages the construction, erection,
alteration, demolition, or repair of, or has constructed, erected, altered,
demolished, or repaired, under his or her or its direction, any building,
apartment, condominium, highway, sewer, utility, grading, or any other
improvement or structure, when the cost of the work to be done, or done, in
the State of Arkansas by the contractor, including, but not limited to, labor

and materials, is twenty fifty thousand dollars {$20,000) 50,000) or more,

2 02-26-2015 10:11:13 JAWO096
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As Engrossed: 83/4/15 SB631

without first having procured a license with the proper classification to

engage in the business of contracting in this state.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-25-301(b)¢l), concerning proof of
licensing, is amended to read as follows:

{(b) (1) Upon making application to the building inspector or other
authority of any incorporated city or town in Arkansas charged with the duty
of issuing building or other permits for the construction of any building,
apartment, condominium, utility, highway, sewer, grading, or any other
improvement or structure, when the cost of the work to be done by the
contractor, but not limited to labor and materials, is swenty fifty thousand
dollars {820,000} 50,000) or more, any person, firm, or corporation, before
being entitled to the issuance of such permits, shall furnish satisfactory
proof to the inspector or authority that he or she is duly licensed under the

terms of this chapter,

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-25-401(b), concerning the definition of
contractor, is amended to read as follows:

(b) However, when a person or entity acts as a contractor in the
construction, erection, alteration, or repair of his or her own or its own
property or of a single-family residence, or if the cost of the work to be
done, including, but not limited to, labor and materials, is less than twenty
fifty thousand dollars {8206,000) (550,000), the person or entity shall not be

deemed a contractor under this chapter.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-25-506(a), concerning applications for
licensure, is amended to read as follows:

{(a) Applications for licensure shall be made on forms prescribed by the
Residential Contractors Committee and shall have attached thereto:

(1) (A) Except as provided in subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this
section, a compiled financial statement with each application for all persons
and entities required by this subchaprer to be licensed by the committee when
the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of Arkansas by the
contractor, including without limitation labor and materials, is twenty fifty
thousand dollars {820,000} (550,000) or more.

(B) A person or entity required to bhe licensed under

3 02-26-2015 10:11:13 JAWOS6
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As Engrossed: S3/4/15 SB631

this subchapter when the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of
Arkansas by the contractor, including without limitation labor and materials,
is less than twenty fifty thousand dollars ($20,008) (5$50,000) shall not be
required to submit a financial statement; and

(2) Such other information as required by the committee.

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-25-514(c), concerning when workers’
compensation is required, is amended to read as follows:

(¢) Unless otherwise required by law, a home improvement contractor
required to be licensed under this subchapter shall not be required to secure
the payment of workers® compensation under § 11-9-401 et seq. or provide
proof of coverage to the committee before issuing or receiving a license if
the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of Arkansas by the home
improvement contractor, including without limitation labor and materials, is

less than tweney fifty thousand dollars (820,000} (550,000).

SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 22-9-204 is amended to read as follows:

22-9-204. Subcontractors exceeding $2058089 550,000 — Penalty.

(a) As a condition to performing construction work for and in the Srate
of Arkansas, all prime contractors shall use no other subcontractors when the
subcontractors’ portion of the project is +wenty fifty thousand dollars
820,000 (550,000) or more, except those licensed by rthe Contractors
Licensing Board and qualified in:

(1) Mechanical, indicative of heating, air conditioning,
ventilation, and refrigeration;

(2} Plumbing;

(3) Electrical; and

(4) Roofing.

(b) (1) In the event the prime contractor is qualified and licensed by
the board, he or she may use his or her own forces to perform those tasks
listed in this section as subcontractors in one (1) or more of the trades
listed.

(2)(A) A subcontractor, Including the situation stated in
subdivision (b}(l) of this section, may subcontract a portion of the listed
work.

(B) However, a subcontractor is prohibited from
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subcontracting the work in its entirety.

(c)(1) When rthe prime contractor makes a definite decision regarding
the subcontractors he or she intends to use, he or she shall place the name
of each subcontracror in a blank space provided on the form of proposal of
his or her bid.

(2) In the event that one (1) or more of the subcontractors named
by the prime contractor iIn his or her successful bid thereafter refuses to
perform his or her contract or offered contract, the prime contractor may
substirute another subcontractor licensed by the board after having obtained
prior approval from the architect or engineer and the owner, Additional
approval must be obtained from the Arkansas Building Authority for capital
improvement projfects under its jurisdiction.

¢(d) The prime contractor shall submit written evidence that the
substituted contractor is costing the same amount of money or less and, if
costing less, that the savings will be deducted from the total contract of
the prime contractor and rebated to the owner.

(e) It shall be mandatory that the mechanical, plumbing, electrical,
and roofing subcontractors named on the form of proposal by the prime
contractor awarded a contract under the provisions of this subchapter be
given contracts by the prime contractor in keeping with their proposals to
perform the items for which they were named.

(f) (1) It shall be a violation of this section for any prime contractor
to submit a bid listing unlicensed contractors or to use unlicensed
contractors on a public works project if the listed work of the unlicensed
contractors or portion of the unlicensed contractors’ work Is twenty fifty
thousand dollars (520,000} 550,000 or more.

(2) It shall be a violation of this section for any subcontractor
who is not licensed by the board to contract to perform work on a public
works project if the listed work of rhe subcontracter or portion of the
subcontractor’s work 1s twenty fifty thousand dollars 828,888} (550,000) or
more.

(3) The board has jurisdiction over violations of this subsection
under § 17-25-103.

/s/Hester
APPROVED: 04/04/2015
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