Agency # 203.00

COMMISSION FOR ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION RULES GOVERNING SELF_CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS BY PUBLIC EDUCATION ENTITIES March 16, 2010 Effective

1.00 REGULATORY AUTHORITY

DEC 1 4 2018

- These regulations shall be known as the Commission Later ATIVE RESEARCH
 Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation Rules
 Governing Self-Construction Projects by Public Entities.
- The Commission's for Arkansas Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation's (Commission) authority for promulgating these rules is pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6.21-109 6-21-301 6-21-304 17-25-101 18-44-503 18-44-507 19-14-259 22-9-101 22-9-203 and 25-15-201 et seg., Act 1472 of 2009.

2.00 PURPOSE

2.01 The purpose of these rules is to establish how the *Arkansas* Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation (Division) will assess, identify, assist, monitor, and address public educational entities that self-construct.

3.00 DEFINITIONS

- 3.01 "Public educational entities" (Entities) is defined to means an Arkansas public school districts, charter schools, educational cooperatives, or any publicly supported entity having supervision over public educational entities.
- 3.02 "Self-construction" is defined to means any construction where the public educational entity uses its own employees, acts as a general contractor, uses a construction manager while acting as a general contractor, or acts as its own construction manager using contracted construction services.
- "Construction project" is defined to means making or forming an improvement by combining parts, labor, or materials; the erection or alteration that exceeds a cost of \$20,000 \$35,000 of a structure of or physical object under the supervision or ownership of a public educational entity.
- 3.04 "Design professional" is defined to means a person or firm who provides professional expertise in order to carry out a capital erection, repair, or improvement project. Design professionals may include, but may not be

- limited to, the following professionals: planners (land, city, utilities, etc.), architects, landscape architects, surveyors (land), engineers (consulting and professional engineers providing expertise in various licensed fields such as civil, electrical, mechanical, structural, sanitary, etc.).
- 3.05 "Maintenance work" is defined to means the repair but not the replacement or alterations that exceed a cost of \$20,000 \$35,000 of existing facilities when the size, capacity, and type of the existing facility or equipment is not thereby substantially changed or increased
- 3.06 "Commodities" is defined to means all supplies, goods, material, equipment, machinery, facilities, and personal property purchased for or on behalf of an Entity.
- "Open market purchases" is defined to means those purchases of 3.07 commodities by any purchasing official in which competitive bidding is not required.
- 3.08 "Administrator" is defined to means a school Entity superintendent, an educational cooperative director, the Administrator, Director, Chairman, or President of a charter school, or other educational entity.
- "Commission" is defined to means the Commission for Arkansas Public 3.09 School Academic Facilities and Transportation.
- "Division" is defined to means the Arkansas Division of Public School 3.10 Academic Facilities and Transportation. 4.00 NOTIFICATION OF INTENT

- When If an Entity board votes to self-construct, the Administrator of the Entity shall submit Part A and B of the Construction Approval Form to the Division, which Form is attached as Appendix "A" to these rules. to the Division annotating indicating that the project is "Self Construction". (The form may be found on the Division website at; http://arkansasfacilities.arkansas.gov). and which is hereby incorporated into and finde part of these rules, as "Appendix A" to these rules, This notification submission shall must include all items required by Appendix
 - 4.01.1-A description of the proposed construction project;
 - 4.01.2. A written detailed project justification;
 - 4.01.3 A written Assurance Impact Statement regarding segregative activities and/or policies.

4.01.4 An assurance statement of non violation of Federal Court Order or Federal or State law.

Approval may be granted by the Division at that time.

- 4.02 The Administrator of the Entity also must submit the written Assurance Impact Statement (see Item 3 of Part A in Appendix A) and the annual Equity Compliance Report (see Item 4 of Part A in Appendix A) to the Arkansas Department of Education. LEA State Funding—Loans and Bonds. Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot 9, Little Rock, AR 72201.
- 4.023 Upon receiving an Entity's notification of intent to self-construct, the Division shall provide a written assessment of review the Entity's decision to self-construct proposed self-construction project.

5.00 APPROVAL PROCEDURES

- When an Entity develops plans for a self-construction project to be submitted to the Division for approval, the Entity shall ensure that the design and specifications satisfy all Arkansas legal requirements including, but not limited to, the following:
 - A. All construction plans, specifications, and estimates shall be made by and the construction executed under the observation of the an appropriate design professional. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-101).
 - B. If the total cumulative and fair market value of construction or capital improvement is greater than \$25,000, an engineer, registered or licensed in the State of Arkansas, shall provide the required engineering services. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-101(b)(1)).
 - C. If the total cumulative and fair market value of construction or capital improvement is greater than \$100,000, an architect, registered or licensed in the State of Arkansas, shall provide the required architectural services. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-101(b)(2)).
- 5.02 Upon review of the foregoing requirements, the Division may approve or deny the self-construction project

6.00 BID, BOND, AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

When an Entity self-constructs, the Entity shall ensure by written report to the Division compliance to with all Arkansas laws, including but not limited to, the following:

6:02 Commodities Purchasing

- 6.01.1 A. Open market purchases may be made where the purchase price is less than \$10,000 \$20,000 the current amount set by the Commissioner of Education establishing the maximum purchase amount for open-market purchases. (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-304).
- 6.01.2 B. In each instance where the estimated purchase price shall equal or Exceed exceed \$10,000, \$20,000 the current amount set by the most recent Commissioner of Education establishing the maximum purchase amount for openmarket purchases, the commodity shall be procured by soliciting bids. (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-21-304).

6.03 Bidding Requirements

- 6.01.3 A. When all estimated construction costs do not exceed \$20,000 \$35,000, the contract shall be solicited according to local school board policy. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203).
- 6.01.4 B. When all estimated construction costs exceed \$20,000 \$35.000, the Entity shall publish public notice of intent to receive bids a minimum of one (1) time per week for two (2) consecutive weeks. The bids may be opened-one (1) week after the last date of publication. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203). as amended by Act 1051 of 2001)
- 6.042 6.02 When giving public notice of intent to receive bids for construction, an Entity may include alternates in the bid specifications. If the Entity includes alternates in the bid specifications, the alternates must be deductive, no more that three (3) alternates may be used, and the alternates must be set forth and considered in numerical order. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203).
- 6.053 When advertising for bids for construction, an Entity may negotiate a final contract amount with the successful bidder if the low bid is within twenty-fife five percent (25%) of the amount appropriated for the project and all alternates have been exhausted. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203). as amended by Act 921 of 2001)
- An entity shall accept the lowest qualified bid from a firm resident in Arkansas. This bid shall be accepted only if the bid does not exceed the lowest qualified bid from a nonresident firm by more than five percent (5%) and if one (1) or more firms resident in Arkansas made written claim

- for a preference at the time bids were submitted. (Ark. Code Ann. § 19-11-259).
- 6.065 A five percent (5%) corporate bid bond or certified check in the amount of five percent (5%) of the bid shall accompany all submitted bids on construction contracts that exceed \$20,000 \$35,000. (Ark. Code Ann. § 22-9-203).
- 6.076 The successful bidder on construction that exceeds \$20,000 shall provide the owner a performance and payment bond for one hundred percent (100%) equal to of the contract amount. This bond must be filed in the with the clerk of the circuit court of the county where the work is being performed before authorization to proceed is granted. (Ark. Code Ann. §818-44-503 and 18-44-507).
- Any sub-trades contractor doing work in areas such as electrical, plumbing, HVAC, etc. must hold the required trades' licenses from the State of Arkansas. This applies to Entity personnel, as well as sub-trades contractors employed by the Entity. Any contractor who performs a job that exceeds \$20,000 \$50,000 must also hold an Arkansas contractor's license. (Ark. Code Ann, §17-25-101(a)).

7.00 ENFORCEMENT

7.01 Any Entity Administrator or certified employee that knowingly submits to the Commission or Division a false report or false information required by Arkansas law or these rules and regulation s shall be subject to having his license revoked, suspended, or placed on probation pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410.

APPENDIX "A"

DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION APPROVAL FORM RECEIVED August 1, 2017

Part A

DEC 1 4 2018

Instructions

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-20-1407 and 6-21-109, school districts entities [School Districts, Public Charter Schools, Education Service Cooperatives, or any publicly supported entity having supervision over public educational entities] that propose to construct and/or fund facility projects are required to submit written documentation.

Construction: Completion of this form is required for Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation approval of a school district's an entity's construction project—It is additionally required from Charter Schools, Educational Cooperatives, or any publicly supported entity having supervision over public educational entities if the process of selfconstruction is used.

Bond Applications: Completion of this form is required for loan or bond approval but is not required for non-voted refunding of existing debt.

Please answer the following questions, provide the required information, and submit the completed form with attachments to:

> Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation One Capitol Mall, Suite 4D-200 Little Rock, AR 72201

General and Equity Information

Construction Approval applies to all construction projects costing over \$20,000 \$35,000 at public school facilities regardless of the source of funds. (This section shall not apply to maintenance projects or construction projects costing \$20,000 \$35,000 or less.)

1.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION APPROVAL FORM August 1, 2017 _____

	Part A – Continued
2.	Provide a written, detailed, substantial justification for the proposed facility projects. Projects shall be considered legitimately justified if, for example:
	A. The proposed facility project is necessary for the applying district entity to comply with Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) rules and regulations, and/or State and Federal statutes and regulations; and/or
	B. The proposed facility project is necessary to meet important educational goals of the district entity. Completion of the proposed project should enable the applying district entity to provide a better quality, desegregated education, necessary to meet the needs of its present and projected population. The district entity must provide a desegregation impact statement showing that the proposed improvements will not have a segregative effect (see item #3 below). A detailed outline or explanation of the educational goal to be met shall be included
3.	Provide a written Assurance Impact Statement indicating that the proposed facility project will not establish, continue, or ignore segregative activities and/or policies within your-the school entity or contiguous districts. Also, indicate with the Assurance Impact Statement that the proposed project in any school in any county contiguous to Pulaski County, Arkansas, will not have a substantial negative impact on the ability of any district entity in Pulaski County, Arkansas, to effectively desegregate.

4. The Annual Equity Compliance Report must be filed with the Arkansas Department of Education before approval can be granted. The Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation will confirm the filing with the Equity Assistance Center.

5.	Provide an written aAssurance sStatement that the approval of the facilities project or the approval of any loan or bond financing the facilities project does not violate any Federal Court Order or federal or state law.			
6.	The written Assurance Impact Statement referenced in paragraph 3 and the Annual Equity Compliance Report referenced in paragraph 4, also must be submitted to:			
	Arkansas Department of Education			
	LEA State Funding - Loans & Bonds			
	Four Capitol Mall, Mail Slot 9			
	Little Rock, AR 72201			
7 _e	What method of construction does the district entity plan to use for the project? If the response is general contractor, no additional information is needed and only the superintendent's signature is required. (If Self Construction is indicated then Part B must be completed and submitted with Part A.)			
	General ContractorGeneral Contractor as CMDesign Build			
	Self-ConstructionConstruction ManagementLease Purchase			
SC	CHOOL DISTRICT EDUCATIONAL ENTITY COUNTY			
SI	GNATURE OF ENTITY ADMINISTRATOR DATE			

DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION PROCESS INFORMATION August 1, 2017

Part B

(To be completed only if Self-Construction is indicated)

Million Name of Participation of the Control of the
PRÓJECT NUMBER
t exceed \$20,000 \$35,000, including but not as facilities, transportation facilities, and other strict entity plan to use for the project? general contractor general contractor and employ a construction to the second contractor and employ a construction.
n Construction Manager and contract to ectors school board voted to self-construct the
ruction process on projects in the past? that the district <u>entity</u> used the self-constructi

DIVISION OF PUBLIC SCHOOL ACADEMIC FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION SELF-CONSTRUCTION ASSURANCE STATEMENT August 1, 2017

Part	R	Ca	ntin	uad
Pari	-	CO	******	uea

SCHOOL DISTRICT EDUCATIONAL ENTITY	COUNTY
PROJECT	PROJECT NUMBER
By our respective signatures below, we certify above mentioned school district, and that we administrator of the above educational entity. I certification that the commission for Arkansas Public School And Identifying and Governing Self-Construction Proceeding with such rules and regulations educational entity will: 1) Have the plans drafted by an appropriate of the proper state.	ertify that the entity is acting in compliance with Academic Facilities and Transportation Rules ojects by Public Education Entities, and are in and further certify that the above-mentioned riate design professional; agencies for approval; and
requirements, bidding requirements, a	
SIGNATURE OF ENTITY ADMINISTRATOR	DATE
SIGNATURE OF SCHOOL BOARD PRESIDE	NT DATE

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 725 of the Regular Session

1	State of Arkansas	A D:11	
2	91st General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2017		HOUSE BILL 1595
4			
5	By: Representative Holcomb		
6	By: Senator Caldwell		
7		For An And F. D. Fracella	
8	AN ACE MO	For An Act To Be Entitled	
9 10		AMEND THE AWARD PROCEDURE FOR PUBLIC	
11	1mPKUVEME.	NT CONTRACTS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO A		
15		MEND THE AWARD PROCEDURE FOR PUBLIC OVEMENT CONTRACTS.	
16	THICK	OVERENI CONTRACIS.	
17			
18	BE IT FNACTED BY THE (GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANS	A.C.
19	DE II BAROLDO DI INE (PENEIRAL ASSEMBLI OF THE STATE OF ARRANS	A5:
20	SECTION 1. Arks	ansas Code § 22-9-202(b)(2)(C), concern	ing statutown
21		led to read as follows:	ing statutory
22	(C)	Construction work from one (1) or mor	a camarata
23		arate contract or invoice so that the w	-
24		ng the bid requirement threshold of twe	
25		ty-five thousand dollars (\$35,000).	ney chousand
26	-	1,00,1000	
27	SECTION 2. Arka	unsas Code § 22-9-202(c), concerning st	atutorv
28		led to read as follows:	-
29	(c) This section	on and §§ 22-9-203 and 22-9-204 do not	amend or repeal
30		the publication of notice in those ins	-
31	the estimated amount o	f the cost of the proposed improvement	s within the
32	scope of the contract	is less than twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) more
33	than thirty-five thous	and dollars (\$35,000).	
34			
35	SECTION 3. The	introductory language of Arkansas Code	§ 22-9-203(a),
36	concerning the award p	rocedure for public improvements, is a	mended to read as

1 follows: 2 (a) Except as provided under § 14-58-105, a contract providing for the making of major repairs or alterations, for the erection of buildings or 3 4 other structures, or for making other permanent improvements shall not be entered into by the state or an agency of the state or by a county, 5 6 municipality, school district, or other local taxing unit with any contractor in instances in which all estimated costs of the work shall exceed the sum of 7 8 twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars (\$35,000) 9 unless: 10 11 SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 22-9-203(c)(2)(A), concerning award procedures and requirements, is amended to read as follows: 12 13 (2)(A)(i) Every bid submitted on public construction 14 contracts for any political subdivision of the state $\frac{1}{2}$ shall be $\frac{1}{2}$ void unless 15 accompanied by a cashier's check drawn upon a bank or trust company doing 16 business in this state or by a corporate bid bond. 17 (ii) Every bid submitted on public construction contracts for the state or any agency or department of the state shall be is 18 19 void unless accompanied by a cashier's check drawn upon a bank or trust company doing business in this state or by a corporate bid bond, except for 20 21 projects under twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars 22 (\$35,000). 23 (iii) No \underline{A} bid bond shall be \underline{is} not required for public construction contracts for the state or any agency or department of 24 25 the state under or equal to twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) thirty-five 26 thousand dollars (\$35,000). 27 28 SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 22-9-209(a), concerning the renovation of 29 historic sites, is amended to read as follows: 30 (a) A contract for the altering, repairing, or renovation of a 31 recognized historic site or structure owned by the State of Arkansas state or with title vested in the name of a state agency or of another taxing 32 33 authority in which the estimated cost of the work equals or exceeds the sum 34 of twenty thousand dollars (\$20,000) thirty-five thousand dollars (\$35,000) shall not be entered into between the state agency or taxing authority and 35

any contractor unless the state agency or taxing authority has first

1	published notice of intention to receive bids for improvements one (1) time
2	each week for not less than two (2) consecutive weeks in a newspaper of
3	general circulation published in the county in which the proposed
4	improvements are to be made or in a trade journal reaching the construction
5	industry.
6	
7	
8	APPROVED: 03/28/2017
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30 31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 1124 of the Regular Session

1	State of Arkansas	A TD '11	
2	91st General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2017		SENATE BILL 329
4			
5	By: Senator A. Clark		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8		RAISE THE PRICE THRESHOLD FOR THE PUR	
9		TIES THAT SCHOOL DISTRICTS MUST PROCU	
10	SOLICITING BIDS; TO PROVIDE FOR ANNUAL ADJUSTMENTS IN		
11		SE PRICE THRESHOLD BASED ON INFLATION	; AND
12	FOR OTHER F	'URPOSES.	
13			
14			
15		Subtitle	
16		ISE THE PRICE THRESHOLD FOR THE	
17		ASE OF COMMODITIES THAT SCHOOL	
18		ICTS MUST PROCURE BY SOLICITING	
19		AND TO PROVIDE FOR ANNUAL	
20		FMENTS IN THE PURCHASE PRICE	
21	THRESE	HOLD BASED ON INFLATION.	
22			
23	DEL LES EUL CEED DU MUSE CO		
24	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GE	NERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANS	SAS:
25	OTTOM A 1		
26		sas Code § 6-21-304(a)(1), concerning	-
27		cool district, is amended to read as f	
28		rchases of commodities by any school	_
29	those specifically exem	upted by § 6-21-305, shall be made as	
30		$\frac{(A)(i)(i)(a)}{(A)(a)}$ In each instance in where	
31		ual or exceed ten thousand dollars (\$	
32 33		00), the commodity shall be procured	
		purchasing official may reject all b	olds and may
34 35	parenase the commodity	by negotiating a contract.	idadal aft
36	rejecting all hide don	<pre>(ii)(b) If the purchasing off ermines that the purchase should be m</pre>	
J U	relecting art ning, der	crurues char the batchase should be m	rade by

T	negotiation, then each responsible bidder who submitted a bid shall be
2	notified of the determination and shall be given a reasonable opportunity to
3	negotiate;
4	(B)(ii) Open market purchases may be made when the
5	purchase price is less than ten thousand dollars (\$10,000) twenty thousand
6	dollars (\$20,000); and
7	(C)(iii) No purchasing official shall parcel or
8	split any item or items with the intent or purpose to enable the purchase to
9	be made under a less restrictive procedure.
10	(B) Annually on July 1, the Commissioner of Education
11	shall adjust the purchase price amounts under subdivision (a)(1)(A) of this
12	section by the percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban
13	Consumers or its successor.
14	
15	
16	APPROVED: 04/07/2017
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31 32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
50	

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 1048 of the Regular Session

1	State of Arkansas	As Engrossed: S3/4/15			
2	90th General Assembly	A Bill			
3	Regular Session, 2015		SENATE BILL 631		
4					
5	By: Senator Hester				
6	By: Representative Womack	5			
7					
8		For An Act To Be Entitled			
9	AN ACT TO	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE COST OF WORK			
10	AND MATER	AND MATERIALS REQUIRING A GENERAL CONTRACTOR'S			
11	LICENSE;	AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.			
12					
13					
14		Subtitle			
15	TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE COST OF				
16	WORK AND MATERIALS REQUIRING A GENERAL				
17	CONT	TRACTOR'S LICENSE.			
18					
19					
20	BE IT ENACTED BY THE	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	ARKANSAS:		
21					
22	SECTION 1. Ark	ansas Code § 17-25-101(a) and (b), concerning the		
23	definition of "contra	ctor", are amended to read as fo	llows:		
24	(a)(l) As used	in this chapter, "contractor" me	ans any person, firm,		
25	partnership, copartne	rship, association, corporation,	or other organization,		
26	or any combination th	ereof, that, for a fixed price,	commission, fee, or		
27	wage, attempts to or	submits a bid to construct or de	molish, or contracts or		
28	undertakes to constru	ct or demolish, or assumes charge	e, in a supervisory		
29	capacity or otherwise	, or manages the construction, e	rection, alteration,		
30	demolition, or repair	, or has or have constructed, er	ected, altered,		
31	demolished, or repair	ed, under his or her, their, or	its direction, any		
32	building, apartment,	condominium, highway, sewer, uti	lity, grading, or any		
33	other improvement or	structure on public or private p	roperty for lease, rent,		
34	resale, public access	, or similar purpose, except sing	gle-family residences,		
35	when the cost of the	work to be done, or done, in the	State of Arkansas by		
36	the contractor, inclu	ding, but not limited to, labor	and materials, is twenty		

As Engrossed: \$3/4/15 SB631

1 <u>fifty</u> thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000) or more.

(2) However, when a person or an entity acts as a contractor in the construction, erection, alteration, demolition, or repair of his or her own or its own property, such action shall not result in the person or entity being required to obtain a license, but the person or entity shall comply with all other provisions of this subchapter.

- (b) However, the twenty-thousand-dollar fifty-thousand-dollar exception shall not apply to any project of construction in which any of the construction work necessary to complete the project, except any in-progress change orders, is divided into separate contracts of amounts less than twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000), a purpose being to circumvent the provisions of this chapter.
- (c) It is the intention of this definition to include all improvements, demolition, or structures, excepting only single-family residences.
- (d)(1) Materials purchased by a prime contractor from a third party shall not be considered as part of the subcontractor's project if the prime contractor has the proper classification listed on a current contractor's license for the work being performed by the subcontractor.
- (2) Materials purchased by a person or an entity acting as a contractor in the construction, erection, alteration, or repair of his or her own or its own property from a third party shall not be considered as a part of the subcontractor's project, provided that the subcontract is for wood framing, shingle roofing, painting, floor covering, or concrete labor.

24
25 SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-25-103(a)(

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-25-103(a)(1)(A), concerning penalties for contracting without a license, is amended to read as follows:

(1)(A) For a fixed price, commission, fee, or wage attempts to or submits a bid or bids to construct or demolish or contracts to construct or demolish, or undertakes to construct or demolish, or assumes charge in a supervisory capacity or otherwise, or manages the construction, erection, alteration, demolition, or repair of, or has constructed, erected, altered, demolished, or repaired, under his or her or its direction, any building, apartment, condominium, highway, sewer, utility, grading, or any other improvement or structure, when the cost of the work to be done, or done, in the State of Arkansas by the contractor, including, but not limited to, labor and materials, is twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000) or more,

without first having procured a license with the proper classification to engage in the business of contracting in this state.

3

5

- SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-25-301(b)(1), concerning proof of licensing, is amended to read as follows:
- 6 (b)(l) Upon making application to the building inspector or other 7 authority of any incorporated city or town in Arkansas charged with the duty of issuing building or other permits for the construction of any building, 8 9 apartment, condominium, utility, highway, sewer, grading, or any other 10 improvement or structure, when the cost of the work to be done by the 11 contractor, but not limited to labor and materials, is twenty fifty thousand 12 dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000) or more, any person, firm, or corporation, before being entitled to the issuance of such permits, shall furnish satisfactory 13 14 proof to the inspector or authority that he or she is duly licensed under the 15 terms of this chapter.

16

19

20

21

22

23

- 17 SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-25-401(b), concerning the definition of contractor, is amended to read as follows:
 - (b) However, when a person or entity acts as a contractor in the construction, erection, alteration, or repair of his or her own or its own property or of a single-family residence, or if the cost of the work to be done, including, but not limited to, labor and materials, is less than twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000), the person or entity shall not be deemed a contractor under this chapter.

242526

27

28

29

30 31

32

33

34

35

- SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-25-506(a), concerning applications for licensure, is amended to read as follows:
- (a) Applications for licensure shall be made on forms prescribed by the Residential Contractors Committee and shall have attached thereto:
- (1)(A) Except as provided in subdivision (a)(1)(B) of this section, a compiled financial statement with each application for all persons and entities required by this subchapter to be licensed by the committee when the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of Arkansas by the contractor, including without limitation labor and materials, is $\frac{1}{1}$ thousand dollars $\frac{1}{1}$ (\$50,000) or more.
 - (B) A person or entity required to be licensed under

As Engrossed: S3/4/15 SB631

1 this subchapter when the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of 2 Arkansas by the contractor, including without limitation labor and materials, is less than twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000) shall not be 3 4 required to submit a financial statement; and 5 (2) Such other information as required by the committee. 6 SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-25-514(c), concerning when workers' 7 compensation is required, is amended to read as follows: 8 (c) Unless otherwise required by law, a home improvement contractor 9 required to be licensed under this subchapter shall not be required to secure 10 11 the payment of workers' compensation under § 11-9-401 et seq. or provide 12 proof of coverage to the committee before issuing or receiving a license if the cost of the work done or to be done in the State of Arkansas by the home 13 14 improvement contractor, including without limitation labor and materials, is 15 less than twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000). 16 17 SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 22-9-204 is amended to read as follows: 18 22-9-204. Subcontractors exceeding \$20,000 \$50.000 - Penalty. 19 (a) As a condition to performing construction work for and in the State 20 of Arkansas, all prime contractors shall use no other subcontractors when the 21 subcontractors' portion of the project is twenty fifty thousand dollars 22 (\$20,000) (\$50,000) or more, except those licensed by the Contractors Licensing Board and qualified in: 23 24 (1) Mechanical, indicative of heating, air conditioning, ventilation, and refrigeration; 25 26 (2) Plumbing; 27 (3) Electrical; and 28 (4) Roofing. 29 (b)(1) In the event the prime contractor is qualified and licensed by the board, he or she may use his or her own forces to perform those tasks 30 listed in this section as subcontractors in one (1) or more of the trades 31 32 listed. 33 (2)(A) A subcontractor, including the situation stated in 34 subdivision (b)(l) of this section, may subcontract a portion of the listed 35 work.

36

(B) However, a subcontractor is prohibited from

As Engrossed: S3/4/15 SB631

1 subcontracting the work in its entirety.

(c)(1) When the prime contractor makes a definite decision regarding the subcontractors he or she intends to use, he or she shall place the name of each subcontractor in a blank space provided on the form of proposal of his or her bid.

- (2) In the event that one (1) or more of the subcontractors named by the prime contractor in his or her successful bid thereafter refuses to perform his or her contract or offered contract, the prime contractor may substitute another subcontractor licensed by the board after having obtained prior approval from the architect or engineer and the owner. Additional approval must be obtained from the Arkansas Building Authority for capital improvement projects under its jurisdiction.
- (d) The prime contractor shall submit written evidence that the substituted contractor is costing the same amount of money or less and, if costing less, that the savings will be deducted from the total contract of the prime contractor and rebated to the owner.
- (e) It shall be mandatory that the mechanical, plumbing, electrical, and roofing subcontractors named on the form of proposal by the prime contractor awarded a contract under the provisions of this subchapter be given contracts by the prime contractor in keeping with their proposals to perform the items for which they were named.
- (f)(1) It shall be a violation of this section for any prime contractor to submit a bid listing unlicensed contractors or to use unlicensed contractors on a public works project if the listed work of the unlicensed contractors or portion of the unlicensed contractors' work is twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) \$50,000 or more.
- (2) It shall be a violation of this section for any subcontractor who is not licensed by the board to contract to perform work on a public works project if the listed work of the subcontractor or portion of the subcontractor's work is twenty fifty thousand dollars (\$20,000) (\$50,000) or more.
- 32 (3) The board has jurisdiction over violations of this subsection 33 under § 17-25-103.

34 /s/Hester

APPROVED: 04/04/2015