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RE'GUIL+TI€F{S-RULES

OF THE

ARKANSAS SOCIAI, WORK LICENSING BOARD

Revisions Effective n+arenr+ggS

Pursuant to Seetien Ark. Code Ann. $ 17-103-203 ffi, the Arkansas

Social Work Licensing Board hereby establishes and promulgates the following reguta 'trens

rules.

I. Board Meetings:

A. Regular meetings of the Board shall be held once each month at a time established

by a majority vote of the Board. A special meeting may be called at any time by

the chairpersen or by any officer of the Board upon written demand request of

three or more of the members.

B. All regular meetings of the Board are open to the public. Any person desiring to

appear before the Board at any of its regular meetings shall submit a written

request to the Board at least l5 days prior to the meeting. The request must state

in detail the nature and purpose of the appearance. The Chair of the Board has the

right to determine when and if such a request can be honored.

C. Written minutes of each meeting shall be kept and mailed distributed to the

members with the notice for the next meeting.

II. Application Procedures:

A. Pre-Licensure Background Check

I . Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019- an ind vidual mav petition for a pre-licensure

of whether the individual's

individual from licensure and whether a waiver mav be obtained.

2.The individual obtain the pre-licensure criminal check petition

form from the Board.

3. The Board will resnond with a decision in writins to a completed petition within a

reasonable time.

4. The Board's resnonse will the reasons for the decision.
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5 All decisinnq nf the Rnard in reqnnnse to the ncfrf rnn will be determined hrr fha

information provided by the individual.

6. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal

backsround check petition is not subject to appeal.

7. The Board will retain a conv of the on and response and it will be reviewed

during the formal application process.

-#B. Application for be submitted online on the Board's websi

Paper applications shall be made submitted to the Board on the apptieatien form

pres€ribed designated by the board and shall be accompanied by the application

fee.

-8.- C. The applicant must request an

official transcript tethe from his/her college or university fo+eempletlen with the

social work degree posted. The eertiM transcript must be

received by the Board directly from the college or university . A transcript on file

with the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) will also be accepted.

infermatien te the Co

the payment ef any fee asseeiated with the eriminal baekgreund eheek,

D. An annlicant shall sisn a release of on to the Board for a state and

federal criminal backsround check to be administered by the Identification

Bureau of the Arkansas State Police. The applicant shall be responsible for

payment of any fee associated with the backeround check.

E. Waiver Reouest for on Backsround Check

vidual has been convicted ofan inA I

offenses found in A.C.A 17-2-1

the Board may waive disqualification of a potential applicant or revocation of a

license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver is made by:

a. An affected applicant for a license; or

b. An individual holding a license subject to revocation.

2
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2.The Board may grant a waiver upon consideration of the followine. without

limitation

n The aoe' et rvhieh the offense was committed

b. The circumstances surrounding the offense;

c. The lensth of time since the offense was committed:

uent work hi since the offense was commi

e F.mnlovmenf referenceq qince the offense was cnrnrniffed'

f. Character references since the offense was committed;

Relevance of the offense to

that licensure of the does

threat to the health or safety of the public.

3. A reouest for a waiver- if made bv an applicant. must be in writins and

accompany the completed application and fees

4. The Board will resnond with a deci in writins and will state the reasons for

the decision.

5 An anneal nf a determinafion r this subsection will be srrhiect to the

Administrative Procedure Act $25-15-201 et seq

*-E An applicant applying for licensure as a Licensed Certified Social Worker must

provide documentation of LCSW supervision .

G. Licensure for Active Dutv Sqrvice Members, Retumine Military Veterans. and

their Spouses

l. As used in this subsection,

a. "automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational licensure without an

individual's having met occupational licensure requirements provided under Title

17 of the Arkansas Code or by these Rules.

ml veteran" means former member of the Unr S

Forces who was discharged from 4plive duty under circumstances other than

dishonorable.

2.The Board shall srant automatic I icensure to an individual who holds a

substantially equivaledlts€nqe in another U.S. iurisdiction and is

a. An active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas:

J
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b. A returnins militarv veteran annlvins for licensure within one (l) vear of his or

her discharge from active duty: or

c. The snouse ofa nerson Section G(21aand b above.

Board shall automatic licensure recel of all of

a Pavment nf the initinl nnnlicntinn and licensure fee

b. Evidence that the individual holds a substantially equivalent license in another

state and

c Fvidenee that the cnnlieentisa d ualified ennlincnt under Section G/?\ qhnrrc

-E-1l-Applications will be reviewed by the Board after all the required information is

received. Applicants will be notified by mail of the action taken on the

application. If approved, the applicant will be notified of his/her eligibility to take

the examination. If the Board determines that the applicant has not met all the

requirements and the application is denied, the applicant may request a hearing

before the Board.

I. An application is valid for six (6) months from the date of the application.

III. Provisional License: @ (Ark. Code Ann. Q17-103-303)

A. Upon application and satisfactory documentation of all requirements, the Board

may issue a provisional license for the practice of social work to an applicant for

licensure as a Licensed Social Worker or Licensed Master Social Worker.

Provisional licensure as a Licensed Certified Social Worker is prohibited.

r\pprieants fer lieensure as a Lieensed eertified Seeial Werker will be

B. The Bachelor's and Master's level provisional license will be issued only one

time per person and cannot be renewed.

C. The Bachelor's and Master's level provisional license shall be effective from the

date of issuance and will expire exactly one-year from date of issuance.

D.

i€enstlfe'

4
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E. iee

fer a statc and nation+

previsionat+i€€ns€,

F. The previsienal lieense shall atrtematieally be reveked if the informatien frem the

in

A.GA, l7 103 307 (0, An expunged reeerd shall not be eensidered a eenvietient

guilty plea; er nel in

@
IV. Examination: @(Ark. Code Ann. 817-103-306(aXlXB))

A. The Board shall enrpley utilize a nationally recognized examination service to

administer a licensure examination.

B. To be eligible to take the examination, the an applicant must submit the licensure

application and all required forms to the Board for approval.

C. When the lieensr*re application is approved, the applicant will be mailed-a

ion'

information

D. The passing score for the examination shall the same as the national passing score

determined by the examination service.

E. The Board adopts the rules of the nationally recosnized examination service in

regards to the ninety-day wait period before takine additional examinations.

F. The examination mav be taken uo to three (3) times per approval period.

V. WEndorsement: (Ark. Code Ann. Q17-103-302)

A. The Board may approve licensure through reeiprecity endorsement with other

states, districts, er territories, or Canadian provinces whose standards are no+

l€{#er+han substantially equivalent those required by Section l7-103-306 of the

Arkansas Code. The Board approved examination may be waived if the applicant

meets the following requirements:

l. The applicant is currently licensed to practice social work in another state,

territory, or Canadian

2. The applicant has passed a beaC-app+eved social work examination

5
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approved by the licensing entity in the in-ane+her state, territory, or

or Canadian the

3. The applicant has a social work degree from a program accredited by the

Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association for Social

Work Education ; and

4. i€n€e

by a tieensed eertified Seeial Werker (This requirement must be met

An applicant for LCSW must

documentation of

thousand (4.000) hours working in a master's level social work position

while under the supervision of an LCSW. The Board may waive the

supervision requirement if:

a. The applicant has practiced social work at the independent clinical level

for the last three (3) years; and

licant has met the uirements to be licensed i

the clinical level in the state they are cunently licensed in.

g.

reeipr€€ity whe has met d

te the r\rkansas State Peliee fer the paymentof any fee asseeiated rvith the

eriminal baekgreund eheek, The previsienal lieense shall be valid until the restrlts

ive

issuan€€, The Board may issue a

master's level provisional license as described in Section III, to an LCSW

applicant who has met the requirements of endorsement except for pgssage of a

social work examination.

VI. Supervision: @
Supervision is a professional relationship between a supervisor and a supervisee designed

to promote responsibility, competency and accountability to the agency, clients and

6
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community.

A. Supervision of All Licensed Social Workers:

SW) and tieensed N

Once licensed as an [.SW or LMSW. includins orovisional I the LSW or

LMSW ust obtain from a licensed al worker or qualified

related fi on or

agency.

l. The social work practice of an LSW shoul+ghall be supervised by an

LMSW, an LCSW, or other qualified professional from a related field on a

minimum of weeklv

@
2. The social work practice of an LMSW shocd shall be supervised by an

LMSW" an LCSW or other qualified professional from a related field on a

weekl

@
3. while supervision of the social work practice of the LCSW is not

mandatory, the LCSW should have available, as needed, consultation

provided by an LCSW or other qualified professional from a related field.

4. An LSW or LMSW- incl udins orovisional licensees. workins ln a non-

clinical oosition does not reouire sunervision but reoort to a

supervisor.

5. The sion under this section is independent from any

his or

employer.

i€€{+surc

l. Requiremen+s:

a.

7
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b. nuring this 2 year p

isi€ft

Greup supervisien is aeeeptable enly if thereis a maximum ef feur

in a greup and sueh s

te++supcrvis€{y+ime.

c.

@
a.

@
(l)-M

@iff*ing€€mp€+cn€e
ity

(s)++hi€a|p+ae+i€e

b.

(+€+i€nt

(@ing-servi€es

i€n

3. ion

a. isor

rvithin 60 days frem the beg:ruring date ef the supe+visien,

b. Upen terminatienof the supervisien arrangement; the ICSW

2
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Reard within 60 days ision.

c. Any ehange in supervisien weuld neeessitate a nerv strpervisien

plan

d.

evaluatierfeffis,

B. Supervision Required to Obtain LCSW Licensure

l. In order to provide supervision, an LCSW or a social worker whom the

Board determines to have the qualifications equivalent of those required

of an LCSW must be fully licensed for three (3) years.

2. To obtain licensure as alicensed Certified Social Worker LCSW), an

individual must submit documentation of twenty-four (24) months post-

master's social work experience, and four thousand (4.000) hours in a

supervised Master's level social work position. The supervisor may be from

inside or outside the agency where the applicant obtains their experience. For

documentation requirements. please see Section C. below.

3. During this twenty -four (24\ month period, the applicant must have at least one

hundred (100) direct supervision hours, with no more than two (2) hours

occurring in any one-week period. Group supervision is acceptable only if there

is a maximum of four in a group and such supervision does not exceed one-half

of the total supervisory time.

4. Social workers who use technolosy to facilitate supervision shall use

appropriate precautions to protect the confidentiality of those communications.

Precautions to protect confidentialitv depend on the type of technology being

used. and may include using passwords. firewalls. encryption. and antivirus

software: usins electronic service nroviders that rely on standards of security

for data that are transmitted and stored; and ensuring a private setting when

using their electronic devices. See National Association of Social Workers

(NASW). Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). Counsel on Social

Work Education (CSWE). & Clinical Social Work Association

9
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Standards for Technology in Social Work Practice.

5. Supervision Guidelines

An LMSW who wishes to obtain LCSW licensure must adhere to the LCSW

Supervision Guidelines published on the Board's website.

C. Supervision Plan and Documentation:

To comply with the documentation in Section 85 above, an applicant must submit a

supervision plan, that is agreed upon by the applicant and the LCSW supervisor, to the

Board. The plan must be on a Board approved form and must be received in a legible

form within sixtv (60) davs from the date of the supervision. It is the

responsibility of the social worker receiving supervision to verifu the Board's receipt

of the supervision plan.

VII. Fees: @(Ark. Code Ann. Q17-103-205)

A. The fees charged in connection with social work licensing are as follows

l. Filing of an application $5e_l8Q

-F 2.Examination fee *

-{- 3.Renewal fee (2 years) $80

4.Late Renewal fee $80

5. Replacement of license $20

6. Endorsement to another state $20

7.

Certificate of Reeistration Application $25

8. Certificate of Reeistration Renewal $10

*The examination fee will the same as the amount charged by the

examination service.

VIII. Issrrance- Ren Exniration and

Reinstatement (Ark. Code Ann. 817-103-304)

A. Expratien Issuance

l. When the Board determines that all requirements have been met, a license

will be issued for a two-year period.

l0
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ffi
B. Renewal

Renewal of a social work license requires thirtv (30) hours of social work

education ("SWCE") to have been completed during the renewal period. Of the

thirty (30) SWCE hours. three (3) hours must be in ethics and no more than

fifteen (15) may be independent study.

1. A license renewal reminder

be-mai{ed will be sent to

licensees approximately two months prior to the expiration date. The

social worker is responsible for submittine a completed renewal

application;the renerval fee andthe sum"nary sheet deeumenting 48 heurs

ior

te the expiratien date, with the required fee to the Board prior to the

expiration date. Renewal applications may be submitted online or on the

renewal application approved by the Board.

2. When the Board determines that the requirements for license renewal have

been met, the licensee will be mailed notification of licensure for the next

twoyears period.

3. If the licensee fails to renew his or her license prior to the expiration date,

the license sha+l-tapse will expire. Once the license has expired the

individual is no longer eligible to practice social work.

4. A license that has lapsed%pi&d for less than six-menths three (3) months

may be renewed by submitting the renewal application, a+ene+al the

required fee, a late penalty fee. an attestation form and a summary sheet

certifuing completion of 4&heurs thirt)'(30) hours of social work

continuing education in accordance with Continuing Education Guidelines

found in Rule IX below completed during the previous two-year licensure

period.

5. A license that has lapsed for six-menths three (3) months or longer is nen-

not renewable. The licensee shall be considered a new applicant and

ll
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subject to all requirements anolicable at the time the new application is

received.

must be submitted to the B

the exniration date of the license- reouests will be reviewed bv

the Board on an individual basis. A extension request must include the

following:

a. A cnmnlefed renewal A nr"r lication nenLef

b. The renewal fee;

c. Summary sheet of Social Work Continuing Education showing

SWCE comoleted so far d the two-year renewal period:

d. Sisned Attestation Form that he or she will not practice social

work or reoresent himself or f as a social worker after the

avniraf inn date unless the extension rcn r r esf has hean orqnferl

e. A letter reouestins an with an exDlanation of the

extenuatins circumstance which prevented the social worker from

obtaining the required hours:

f. If the extenuatins circumstance i s health related. a letter from the

physician should accompany the request. The physician's letter

should indicate the time and circumstances under the ohvsician's

ted the social worker from o

required hours:

ob A work historv for the renewal period showins anv time not

worked due to the extenuating circumstances; and

h. A plan to complete the additional hours required.

6

C. Expiration:

I be effective from the date issued and

the date ofissuance or if
renewal date

D. Reinstatement

requirements:

an

12
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2, They were previousl), licensed to practice social work in Arkansas;
a
J when the license or

renewed:

4. Their license was not revoked for an act of bad faith nor for a violation of

or ethical rules that social

5. The), were not suspended or placed on probation in any state. district.

tenitory. jurisdiction or Canadian province:

6. They are sufficiently competent in their field;

7. Thev pay the application fee required by law; and

8. They complete the required background check.

E. Duty to provide accurate information:

The licensee has the responsibility to provide and update the Board with accurate

information of any chanse in their name or address and must do so within thirt),

(30) days ofthe chanee.

IX. Continuing Education Guidelines: @(Ark. Code Ann. S17-103-

203)

A. Definition:

l. Social Work Continuing Education (SWCE) has been defined as those

formalized activities that are directed at developing and enhancing an

individual's social work knowledge base and service delivery skills in the

applicable areas of seeialplanning; planning and administration,

education, research or direct service with individuals, couples, families,

and groups. These-aetivities may inelude shert aeademie eeurses; audit

eeurses; rverksheps; sesrirars; eenferenees; and leetures eriented teward

2. A SWCE Credit Hour represents one clock hour (60 minutes) of a SWCE

activity. A credit hour represents actual time in the SWCE activity. For

example, a workshop that begins at 9:00 a.m. and ends at 3:00 p.m. with a

one- hour lunch break would provide five (5) 5 credit hours for the

participants.

13
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3.

n+l eek+eu+s-efi ns+ruetien.

i+

hours= Credits must be a minimum of fifteen (15) minutes or more to

qualit''

4. Academic Credit Hour: One academic credit hour is equivalent to fifteen

(15) clock hours for the purpose of license renewal. Credit for auditing an

academic course will be for the actual number of clock hours in

attendance, not to exceed the academic e+edi+ clock hour equivalent.

Academic credit hours will not apply towards license renewal until

completion of the course.

B. Basic Requirements:

l. Each licensee is required to complete 48 thirty (30) credit hours of SWCE

during each two-year licensure period. Of the a&lhtAVJ3Q hours, a

minimum of three (3) hours must be in professional ethics with no more

than fifteen (15) hours of independent studv.

2. SWCE may be documented on the form for reporting continuing education

supplied by the board or any other form provided the same information is

presented. A typed or computerized list of training that is kept by the

social worker's employer is acceptable for documentation. The list must

include the same information as the form for reporting SWCE and the

employer's name, address and phone number. The licensee and the

licensee's supervisor or employer must sign the list certif ing that the

social worker was_i+a$tendanee-at attended all of the sessions listed.

3. Documentation of the SWCE must be maintained by the licensee for a

periodoftwo(2)yearsfollowingtherenewaldate'@
ieensee

the rverksheps listed and return it te the Beard with the renerval fee ard

aeeli€ati€n,

4. After each renewal period, the Board will, i+-it at its discretion, audit a

t4
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percentage of the renewal applications to ensure that the continuing

education requirements have has been met. Each audited licensee ar*di+ed

will be required to provide documentation of all the continuing education

werkshops hours listed on his/her summary sheet.

5. A continuins education course will not be allowed more than once durins

the two-vear renewal period. If the course name is the same. the social

worker has the responsibility to make sure the content has changed since

the last date the course was taken. social worker may be required to

provide documentation of the chanses

C. Examples of Acceptable Social Work Continuing Education (SWCE):

L Seminars, workshops, or ffii*i-courses oriented to the enhancement of

social work practice, values, skills and knowledge

a. Cross;disciplinary offerings from medicine. law, administration,

education and the behavioral sciences are acceptable ifthey are

clearly related to the enhancement of social work practices, values,

skills and knowledge.

b. Clock hour credit will be given for the actual number of hours in

attendance.

c. In-service training ean+e provided by the employer using

presenters from the staffor from outside agencies.

d. Training specifically related to policies and procedures of an

agency may not be counted.

2. Academic social work courses or social worklrelated courses such as

mental health, administration, health and social research, psychology,

sociology, human growth and development, child and family

development, counseling and guidance taken for credit or audited.

a. An official transcript may be used to verifu courses taken for

credit. One academic credit hour is equivalent to fifteen (15) clock

hours for the purpose of license renewal. Credit for auditing will be

for actual clock hours in attendance, not to exceed the academic

equivalent.€+edit clock hour

15
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3. Presentation for the first time of an academic social work course. in-

service training workshop or seminar, or other professional seminar.

a. A copy of the course syllabus and verification that the course,

workshop or seminar was presented may be used as

documentation. The actual number of hours of presentation plus an

equal number of hours for preparation will be allowed. A

maximum ef tcn (10)

total

number of clock hours for both preparation and presentation of

all first time courses shall not exceed ten (10) hours per

renewal period.

4. Preparation for the first time publication of a professional social work

paper that has been published in a recognized professional journal.-or

-eF-A copy of the paper and verification of publication-er?resentatien

@ing-must be submitted to the Board for

evaluation and certification of the number of hours of credit to be

allowed. A maximum of ten (10) clock hours will be allowed

during each two-year licensure period.

5. Independent home studies/inteme+ online courses that-are which provide

credit directed at developing and enhancing the licensee's knowledge base

and service delivery skills in the applicable areas of social planning,

administration, education, research or direct service with individuals,

couples, families and groups. A maximum of twenf{2O) fifteen (15)

clock hours will be allowed during each two-year licensure period.

6. To be considered as face-to-face hours for credit. webinars must be both

live and interactive. If audited, the licensee must submit sufficient

documentation to show that the webinar was live and interactive.

D. The Board does not have+h€+apaei+y+o pre-approve all continuing education

workshops. It is the licensee's responsibility, using his/her professional judgment,

to determine the workshops that are applicable and appropriate to his/her

l6
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professional developmen t as a social worker at that they meet the definition of

SWCE.

-#-lf a licensee submits documentation for training that is not clearly

identifiable as SWCE, the Board will request a written description of the

training and how it applies to the individual's professional development as

a social worker. If the Board determines that the training cannot be

considered SWCE, the individual will be given three (3) months to replace

the disallowed hours-ne+allewed. Those hours will be considered

replacement hours and cannot be counted during the next licensure period.

+-
unaeeeptable; and the:ndividual rvill net be given time te replaee these

hours'

E. If credit is not given for the SWCE submitted, the licensee may request a hearing

before the Board.

F. Extenuating circumstances that prevent licensees from completing the continuing

education requirement will be reviewed on an individual basis. Extension requests

must be made prior to expiration in accordance with Rule VIII (BX6).

X. Code of Ethics/Standards for Practice: @ (Ark. Code Ann. 817-

103-203)

The Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board sets forth this document as a Code of

Ethics/Standards for Practice for all social workers within the State of Arkansas pursuant

to Seetien Ark. Code Ann. $ 17-103-203 ffi.
Social workers licensed by the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board must obsewe and

comply with the following standards. Violations shall be grounds for disciplinary action

pursuant to Seetien- Ark. Code Ann. $ 17-103-305 ffi.
Standard A: Confi dentiality

4= In providing services, a social worker must safeguard information given by clients.

Except when required by law or judicial order or for the purposes of professional

supervision and/or consultation, a social worker must obtain the client's informed written

consent before releasing confidential information.

Standard B: Responsibility

t7
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l- A social worker must provide a clear written description of what the client may expect

in regards to the-way-ef services, reports, fees, billing and schedules. when applicable.

Standard C: Research

l- A social worker must obtain the client's or legal guardian's informed written consent

when a client is to be involved in any research project. A social worker must explain the

research, including any risk or potential consequences, and the subject's right to

withdraw from the study at any time.

Standard D: Misrepresentation

l- A social worker must not misrepresent his/her qualifications, training, er experience. or

professional affiliations. If a social worker engages in advertising. his education, training

and expertise must be presented factually.

Standard E: Competence

l. A social worker may not practice beyond his/her competence. A social worker must

make appropriate and timely referrals when the client's needs exceed the social worker's

competency level.

2. A social worker must not provide social work services while under the influence of

alcohol, other mind-altering or mood-altering drugs, or physical or psychological illness,

which impairs delivery of such services.

Standard F: Fee Splitting

l= A social worker must not divide a fee with a referral source. A social worker must not

accept the division of a fee as compensation for a referral. This provision is intended to

assure that referrals are always based solely on the best interest of the client.

Standard G: Client Relationships

1. Relationships with clients, former clients. students and supervisees must not be

exploited by the social worker for personal gain.

2. A social worker must not violate such positions of trust and dependency by committing

any act detrimental to a client, former client. student or supervisee.

3. A social worker must not engage in an inappropriate relationship and/or sexual activity

with a client or with a former client within two years after termination of the professional

relationship.

a. Mul+ipte Dual Relationships

l8
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a. In many communities and situations, it may not be possible for social workers to

avoid social or other nonprofessional contacts with clients, students or supervisees. A

social worker must always be sensitive to the potential harmful effects of social or non-

professional -ether contacts on his/her work and on those persons with whom they deal

interact. A social worker must refrain from either entering into; or promising; a

relationship with such persons if it appears the relationship might impair the social

worker's objectivity or his/her ability to effectively perform social work functions. A

social worker must also refrain from either entering into; or promising; a relationship

with such persons if it appears that the relationship might harm or exploit the other party.

b. Likewise, whenever possible, a social worker must refrain from taking on

professional obligations when preexisting relationships would create a risk of such harm.

c. If a social worker finds that, due to unforeseen factors, a potentially harmful

mtil+ip+e dual relationship has arisen, the social worker must attempt to resolve it with

due regard for the best interests of the affected person and maximum compliance with the

Code-of-Ethics.

5. A social worker must not violate client-therapist boundaries.

Standard H: Records

l- A social worker sha[nake will create and maintain records of services provided to a

client. At a minimum, the records shall will contain a consent form signed and dated by

the client; documentation of the assessment or diagnosis; documentation of a plan;

documentation of any revision of the assessment or diagnosis or of a plan; any fees

charged and other billing information; copies of all client authorization for release of

information and any legal forms pertaining to the client. The records shall will be

maintained by the licensee or agency employing the licensee at least for a period of seven

years after the last date of service, or for the time period required by federal or state law,

if longer.

XI. Definition of Unprofessional Conduct: (47-{e3-203) (Ark. Code Ann. Q17-103-203)

Unprofessional conduct in the practice of social work shall include, but shall not be

limited to the following:

A. Violations of The Social Work Licensing Act $le-J9{-ef{981) or the

R€gulati€ns Rules published by the Board
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B. Negligence in the practice of social work or practicing fraudulently or

incompetently

C. Refusing to provide professional services to a person beeause on the basis of race,

religion, creed, color, disability. gender, age, or national origin

D. Permitting, aiding, or abetting an unlicensed person to perform activities requiring

a license

E. Misrepresenting type or status of education, training, expertise, licensure. or

professional affi liations

F. Impersonation of another by any licensee or applicant for a license, or, in the case

of a licensee. allowing any other person to use his or her license.

G. Intentionally or recklessly causing physical or emotional harm to any client or

former client.

H. Failing to maintain confidentiality, except as otherwise required or permitted by

law, of all information that has been received from a client in confidence during

the course of treatment and all information about the client which is obtained

from tests or other means:

I. Failing to keep proper records and documentation of services.

J. Ordering or providing excessive or unnecessary tests or services,

K. Neglecting or abandoning a client ffix-wheis-unde++he
ffi to sufficient

L. Violating the Code of Ethics adopted by the Board.

M. Giving or receiving, directly or indirectly, any fee, commission, rebate or other

compensation for professional services not actually and personally rendered.

N. Being disciplined in another jurisdiction based on grounds that are the same or

substantiallythesameasthosewhichexistunderthe@
Work Licensins Act.

O. Failing to report to the Board any adverse action taken against the social worker

by another licensing jurisdiction or failing to report to the board the surrender of a

license or authorization to practice social work in another jurisdiction.

P. Failing to comply with any stipulation or agreement with the board involving

probation or a settlement of any disciplinary matters.
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Q. Failing to comply with mandatory reporting laws.

R. Failing to terminate the professional relationship when it is apparent that the

service no longer serves the needs of the client.

S. Offering medication, prescription or otherwise, controlled substances or alcoholic

beverages to a client, or accepting these substances from a client.

T. Providins and/or recommendins anv form of treatment via telemedicine without

a social worker/client relationshi inR

XIV.

XII. Disciplinary Procedures:

A. Complaint

l. The Board is authorized to receive complaints against licensees or

applicants from any person. Signed complaints must be submitted in

writing to the Board's office. A complaint form may be obtained from the

beard Board's website or office.

2. The Board may on its own motion, in the absence of a written complaint,

initiate its own complaint and conduct an investigation of a suspected

violation if reasonable cause exists to believe a violation has occumed.

B. Investigation

l. The Board shal{ will investigate a complaint if the complaint states prima

facie violations of the Social Work Licensing Law or *eguta+iorls Rglgq.

The One or more Board members B€ard€hairp€rson will be appointed

M to investigate the complaint.

2. A copy of the complaint will be sent by certified mail and standard postal

mail to the @ social worker named in the

complaint. The @ social worker shall submit a

written response to the complaint within a reasonable time as provided by

the Board's instruction. The Board may hire an outside investigator to

assist in the investigation of any complaint.

3. The Board investigator(s) will review the response to the complaint.

Further investigation will be conducted if deemed appropriate.

4. Upon completion of the investigation and upon the recommendation of the
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Board investigator(s). the Board will determine whether to conduct a

hearing, dismiss the complaint, or take other appropriate action. All

interested parties will be notified of the Board's decision

C. Hearings

l. The Board shatl-be is authorized to conduct hearings on complaints in

which the investigation reveals evidence that a violation has occurred.

Hearings shal{ will be conducted in accordance with the Arkansas

Administrative Procedures Act.

2. @ Everyone testiffing before the Board at any of its

hearings shall will be first placed under oath. All testimony given or

statements made to or before the Board shall will be reported and made a

' part ofthe record in such case.

3. Unless the Board finds exceptional circumstances exist, twenty (20) daysl

notice shall will be given to any licensee or other interested party to

appear before the Board at a hearing. The notice will be mailed by

certified mail to the most current address on file in the Board office and

will constitute notice of the hearing. If the Board finds that exceptional

circumstances exist in which public health, safety or welfare requires more

timely action, the Board can give notice. reasonable under the

circumstances, or can enter an emergency order pursuant to Section 25-12-

2l I (c) of the Administrative Procedures Act.

4. Said The notice shall will contain the place and time of said the hearing, a

brief and concise statement of the facts forming the basis of the complaint,

the provisions of the law or the Rules rulesana+egrltations involved

therein, and shall will be executed for the Board by its Chairpersen, Board

Secretary or Exeeutive Director, dated and sealed with the official seal of

the Board.

5. Eaeh and-every At every hearing of the Board, after being duly called to

order, i€€-

the Chairpersen

or Vice-Chairpersen shall then turn the matter over to the hearing officer

22



Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board 2019 Rule Revisions - Mark-up

presiding over the hearing. The hearing officer snaU+nquiry will inquire of

the parties present as to whether each is prepared to proceed, and

thereafter the eauseshal{ hearing will proceed with the presentation of

evidence.

6. Either oral or written argument of the issues raised may be ealled{er:er

@at the discretion of the Board.

7. A written order setting forth the Board's findings of facts and conclusions

of law shall will be prepared after each hearing. The written order shall

will be signed by a representative designated by the Board.

8. The Board will receive into evidence all affidavits, depositions, certified

copies of documents, Phetestats ies of official records and

exhibits therewith introduced, together with such other evidence as may be

admissible by the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. The Board

shall will give to such evidence sueFweight, as the Board shall determineq

just and proper.

9. Every pleading, motion or other document, and every request to the Board

must be filed with the Social Work Licensing Board office in writing.

signed and dated.

10. Upon the licensee's written request, subpoenas will be issued for the

attendance of witnesses and the production of documents. Preparation and

service the subpoenas shall will be the responsibility of the licensee and

shatl will be in the mallner provided by statute or rule for the service of

subpoenas in civil cases.

I 1. Appeals from Board hearings may will be made in accordance with the

Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act.

D. Hearing Officer

1. Powers and Duties

If a matter is set for a formal hearing before the Board, a hearing officer

shall will preside over the hearing and conduct any other business in

accordance with the Board's Rules ru@tiens. The hearing

officer shall will have the following powers and duties:
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a. Administer oaths and affirmations'

b. Issue subpoenas in order to

(1) Insure Ensure the presence of witnesses at a hearing;

(2) Insure Ensure the presence ofbooks, records or other

documents properly related to the administrative

proceedings;

c. Rule upon motions and other evidentiary matters;

d. Question all parties and witnesses for the clarification of issues for

the record;

e. Maintain order;

f. Rule on all questions arising during the course of the hearing;

g. Hold conferences for the settlement or simplification of the issues;

h. Recommend decisions to the Board

i. Generally, to regulate and guide the course of the proceedings.

2. Disqualification of Hearing Officer

The hearing offtcer shall will conduct himself/herself in an impartial

manner and may withdraw if he/she deems himself/herself disqualified.

Any party may file an affidavit of personal bias or disqualification against

the hearing officer which shall will be ruled upon by the Board and

granted if it is timely, sufficient, and filed in good faith.

XIII. Certificates of Registration for Professional Social Work Corporations

A. Certificates of Registration:

l. Pursuant to the Arkansas Professional Corporation Act, Ark. Code Ann.

i4-29-20I et seq., one or more persons duly licensed by the laws of the

State of Arkansas to render the same type of professional services, such as

social work services, may form a corporation to own, operate, and

maintain a professional corporation and to engage in the professional

services authorized by that license.

2, In order for a corporation to open, operate, or maintain an establishment to

engage in social work services, the corporation must obtain a Certificate of

Registration from the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board (the
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"Board").

B. Application, Issuance and Denial:

l. Application for a Certificate of Registration shatl will be made to the

Board in writing on thea Eo4rd_ApgAyed application formareseribed$y

the-BeaC. The application shall will be accompanied by a non-refundable

registration fee of $25.

2. Upon receipt of an application, the Board shal+ make-an-investigatien ef

will investigate the corporation to

determine whether the incorporators, officers, directors and shareholders

ef+€€orperati€n are each licensed by the Board and whether any

disciplinary action is pending before the Board against any of them.

3'I@theBoarddeterminesthatallincorporators,
officers, directors, and shareholders are licensed by the Board, tha+ with no

disciplinary action is pending befe+e+he+eaC against any of them, and

that the corporation will be conducted in compliance with the Arkansas

Professional Corporation Act and the regula+i€ns Rules of the Board, the

Board shall will issue a Certificate of Registration to the corporation.

4.I@theBoarddeterminesthattheapplicantdoes
not meet the requirements established above, the Board shall will deny the

application for a Certificate of Registration.

5. Once issued, the Certificate of Registration shall will be non-assignable

and shall must be conspicuously posted on the premises of the

corporations.

6. The Certificate of Registration shall will remain effective until January I

following the date of issuance of the Certificate.

C. Change in Location:

l . The corporation shall must notifu the Board of any change of location ef

rc€ci

ieft

D. Renewal:
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l. The Certificate of Registration shali must be rene*able renewed annually.

If the Board determines that the corporation has complied with applicable

laws and the Board Regula+ions.Rq!9q, it shall will renew the Certificate of

Registration upon written application by the holder of the Certificate. The

application for renewal shall will be made on the form presuibed by the

Board and shall must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $ 10.

E. Suspension and Revocation:

l. The Board may suspend or revoke the Certificate after giving written

notice to the holder and allowing for a public hearing in accordance with

the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. The Certificate may be

suspended or revoked for any of the following reasons:

a. The revocation or suspension of the license to practice social work

of any officer, director, shareholder or employee not promptly

removed or discharged by the corporation;

b. Unprofessional conduct, as defined by the regula+ions Rules of the

Board, on the part of any officer, director, shareholder or employee

not promptly removed or discharged by the corporation;

c. The death of the last remaining shareholder; or

d. Upon finding the holder of the Certificate has failed to comply

with the Arkansas Professional Corporation Act, the Arkansas

Social Work Licensing Act or the regulatiens Rules of the Board.

F. Appeal:

l Any corporation whose application for a Certificate has been denied or

whose Certificate of Registration has been suspended or revoked may,

within thirty days after notice of the action by the Board, appeal the

decision to the Circuit Court of Pulaski County. The appeal shall will be in

accordance with the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act.

XIV. Telemedicine (Ark. Ann. $17-103-309)

A. Definitions:
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I . "Distant site" means the location of the healthcare professional delivering

qer\/l ces thrnrroh telemedicine at the time the services are nrnrri derl Ark

Code Ann. $17-80-402(l ).

2. "Orisinatins site" means a site at which a patient is located at the time

thcare services are to him or her means of

Ark. Code Ann. $17-80-402(2).

3. "Remote patient monitoring" means the use of synchronous or

electronic

qqllect personal health information and medical data from a patient at an

originatins site that is transmitted to a healthcare professional at a distant

site for use in the treatment and of medical conditions that

require frequent monitoring. Ark. Code Ann. 817-80-402(5).

4. "Store-and-forward technology" means the as)rnchronous transmission of

a oatient's medical information from a healthcare professional at an

orisinatingsite to a healthcare professional at a distant site. Ark. Code

Ann. $ 17-80-402(6).

5. "Telemedicine" means the use of electronic information and

communication technolosv to de liver healthcare services. includins

rvifhnrrf lirnitatinn fhe eqqecqrnent diqonnsis consultation treatmenf

education. care management. and self-management of a patient.

Telemedicine includes store-and-forward technology and remote patient

monitoring. Ark. Code Ann. g l7-80-402(7).

B. Establishing a Social Worker/Client Relationship:

social worker/client relationshi must be established rn

Code Ann. 8S17-80-402 & 403 and Rule XIV before the delivery of services via

telemedicine. A client completing a psychosocial historv online and forwarding it

to a social worker is not sufficient to blish the relationship. nor does it qualifu

store-and-forward A social worker

or she provides and/or recommends any form of treatment via telemedicine

without first establishins a proper social worker/client relationship.
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C. Minimum Reouirements for a Worker/Client Relationship:

For the purpose of this Rule. a proper social worker/client relationship. at a

minimum requires that:

I The qncial worker nerfnrrn s an "ln nPrqrlnt' ncrrr.hncnciql assessment f thc

client adequate to establish a diaguaqs and develop a treatment plan, OR

2. The social worker performs a face to face psycho

real time audio and visual cine technoloey that provides

information at least equal to such information as would have been

obtained by an in-person psychosocial assessment. OR

3. The social worker knows the client the client's seneral psychosocial

issues through a previously established professional relationship: AND

4. Appropriate follow-up be provided or arranged. when necessary.

D. When a Social Worker/Client Relationship is Deemed to Exist:

For the purpose of this Rule. a proper social worker/client relationship is deemed

to exist in the followine situations:

When treatment is nrovided in consultation wi rh or Unon referral hv

another provider or treatment team who has an ongoing relationship with

fhe elienf and who has qoteed to sl tl.lcf\/l se the client's frF qfrnPnt

including follow up care.

2, On-call or cross-coverase situations arranged by the client's treating

provider or treatment team.

E. Exceptions:

Recosnizins a social worker's dutv to adhere to the applicable standard of care

and to comply with mandatory reporting laws, the followins situations are

excluded from the requirement of this rule bv Ark. Code Ann. 917-80-403(a)(2):

l. Emergency situations where the life or health of the client is in danger or

imminent danger.

2. Simplv providine information of a generic nature not meant to be specific

to an individual client.

F. Professional Relationship Exceptions:

Under Ark. Code Ann. 817-80-40-3(c), "Professional relationship" does not
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include a relationshin between a social worker and a client established onlv bv the

following:

l. An internet questionnaire:

2. An email message;

3. Patient-generated medical history:

4. Audio-only communication. including without limitation interactive

audio;

5. Text messaging:

6. A facsimile machine; or

7. Anv combi nation thereof.

G. Requirements for Services Provided Via Telemedicine

The following requirements applv to all services provided by social workers usinq

telemedicine:

I . The practice of counseling via telemedicine shall be held to the same

standards ofcare as traditional in-person encounters.

2. Thg sqqial worker must obtain a detailed explanation of the client's

complaint from the client or the client's treatinq provider or treatment

team.

3. [|a deslsioqis made to provide treatment, the social worker must agree to

accept responsibility for the care of the client.

4. If follow-up care is indicated, the social worker must agree to provide or

arrange for such follow-up care.

5. The social worker must keen a doc ted treatment record. includins.

but not limited to psychosocial history.

6. Affhq clreds request, the social worker must make available to the client

an electronic or hardconv of the client's treatment record

documentins the encounter. Additionally, unless the client declines to

consent, the social worker must forward a copy of the record of the

encounter to the client's regular treating provider or treatment team if that

provider or treatment team is not the same social worker delivering the

service via telemedicine.
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7. Services must be delivered in a manner. includins orovidins

access to inforrLation identifuing the social worker's licensure and other

relevant certifications- as well as client financial responsibilities. in

advance of the encounter.

8. If the client. at Lhe recommendation of the social worker, needs to be seen

in oerson. the social worker must se to see the client in Derson or

direct the client to their resular provider or treatment team or

other appropriate provider if the client does not have a treatins provider or

treatment team. Such recommendation shall be documented in the client's

treatment record.

9 who deliver services

protocols for referrals for emergenc), services.

H. Scope of Practice:

Social workert{nay practice social work via telemedicine within the definitions

found in Ark. Code Ann. 017-103-103.

L Confidentiality:

Social workers who use technolosv to litate supervision. consultation" or other

shall use to

confidentiality of those communications. Precautions to protect confidentialit),

on the of

electronic service

that rely on standards of security for data that are transmitted and stored: and

ensurins a orivate settins when usins their electronic devices. See NASW. ASWB.

CSIVE, & CSWA Standards for Technology in Social Work Practice.
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State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  S2/14/19 H3/18/19  1 

92nd General Assembly A Bill      2 

Regular Session, 2019  SENATE BILL 172 3 

 4 

By: Senator G. Leding 5 

By: Representative D. Garner 6 

  7 

For An Act To Be Entitled 8 

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING SOCIAL WORK 9 

LICENSING; TO CLARIFY THE LICENSING EXEMPTION FOR 10 

STUDENTS; TO CHANGE THE TERM "RECIPROCITY" TO 11 

"ENDORSEMENT"; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES. 12 

 13 

 14 

Subtitle 15 

TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING SOCIAL WORK 16 

LICENSING; TO CLARIFY THE LICENSING 17 

EXEMPTION FOR STUDENTS; AND TO CHANGE THE 18 

TERM "RECIPROCITY" TO "ENDORSEMENT". 19 

 20 

 21 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 22 

 23 

 SECTION 1.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-104(c), concerning the exemptions 24 

for licensing of social workers, is amended to read as follows: 25 

 (c)  This chapter does not limit the activities and services of a 26 

graduate or undergraduate student from an accredited educational institution 27 

who is currently enrolled in social work program that is accredited by the 28 

Council on Social Work Education if he or she does not represent himself or 29 

herself as a social worker. 30 

 31 

 SECTION 2.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-203(b)(1), concerning the powers and 32 

duties of the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board, is amended to read as 33 

follows: 34 

  (1)  Establish the criteria and process for licensure through 35 

reciprocity endorsement; 36 
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 1 

 SECTION 3.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-302 is amended to read as follows: 2 

 17-103-302.  Reciprocity Endorsement. 3 

 The Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board may grant a license without 4 

examination to a person meeting all of the other requirements of this chapter 5 

and who at the time of application is licensed as a social worker by a 6 

similar board of another state, territory, district, or Canadian province 7 

whose standards, in the opinion of the board Arkansas Social Work Licensing 8 

Board, are not lower than substantially equivalent to those required by this 9 

chapter.  10 

 11 

 12 

/s/G. Leding 13 

 14 

 15 

APPROVED: 4/1/19 16 

 17 

 18 

 19 

 20 

 21 

 22 

 23 

 24 

 25 

 26 

 27 

 28 

 29 

 30 

 31 

 32 

 33 

 34 

 35 

 36 
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State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  S3/28/19  1 

92nd General Assembly A Bill      2 

Regular Session, 2019  SENATE BILL 564 3 

 4 

By: Senators Irvin, T. Garner, J. Hendren, D. Wallace 5 

By: Representative Bentley 6 

  7 

For An Act To Be Entitled 8 

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE OCCUPATIONAL 9 

LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING 10 

MILITARY VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE 11 

AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW AND APPROVAL 12 

OF RULES SUBMITTED BY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 13 

ENTITIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.  14 

 15 

 16 

Subtitle 17 

TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE 18 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY 19 

SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING MILITARY 20 

VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE 21 

AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW 22 

AND APPROVAL OF RULES SUBMITTED. 23 

 24 

 25 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 26 

 27 

 SECTION 1.  DO NOT CODIFY.  Legislative Intent. 28 

 The General Assembly finds that: 29 

  (1)  The current law regarding the issuance of licenses, 30 

certificates, and permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in 31 

a profession, trade, or employment in this state continues to constitute a 32 

hardship on active duty service members, returning military veterans, and 33 

their spouses; 34 

  (2)  Acts 2017, No. 248, amended the law to require that all 35 

state boards and commissions promulgate rules to expedite the process and 36 
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procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for active duty 1 

service members, returning military veterans, and their spouses;  2 

  (3)  State boards and commissions required to promulgate rules by 3 

Acts 2017, No. 248, have failed to do so in accordance with the law; and 4 

  (4)  Automatic licensure is necessary to remedy these hardships 5 

and allow active duty service members, returning military veterans, and their 6 

spouses to engage in their chosen professions.  7 

 8 

 Section 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is amended to read as follows: 9 

 17-1-106. Licensure, certification, or permitting of Automatic 10 

licensure for active duty service members, returning military veterans, and 11 

spouses — Definition Definitions. 12 

 (a)  As used in this section,: 13 

  (1)  "Automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational 14 

licensure without an individual's having met occupational licensure 15 

requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the occupational 16 

licensing entity; 17 

  (2)  "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board, 18 

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government 19 

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise 20 

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; 21 

  (3)  "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate, 22 

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule 23 

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or 24 

profession; and  25 

  (4) “returning Returning military veteran” means a former member 26 

of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under 27 

circumstances other than dishonorable. 28 

 (b)(1)  A state board or commission that issues licenses, certificates, 29 

or permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in a profession, 30 

trade, or employment in this state An occupational licensing entity shall 31 

allow grant the following individuals to secure employment with a temporary 32 

license, certificate, or permit while completing the application process for 33 

full licensure or certification or permitting automatic licensure to engage 34 

in an occupation or profession if the to an individual who is the holder in 35 

good standing of a substantially equivalent license, certificate, or permit 36 
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occupational license issued by another state, territory, or district of the 1 

United States and is: 2 

  (1)(A)  An active duty military service member stationed in the 3 

State of Arkansas; 4 

  (2)(B)  A returning military veteran applying for licensure 5 

within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty; or 6 

  (3)(C)  The spouse of a person under subdivisions (b)(1) 7 

(b)(1)(A) and (2) (b)(1)(B) of this section. 8 

  (2)  However, an occupational licensing entity shall be required 9 

to provide automatic licensure if the proposed rules are not approved as 10 

required under subsection (d)(2) of this section. 11 

 (c)  A state board or commission shall expedite the process and 12 

procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for the following 13 

individuals: 14 

  (1)  An active duty military service member stationed in the 15 

State of Arkansas; 16 

  (2)  A returning military veteran applying within one (1) year of 17 

his or her discharge from active duty; or 18 

  (3)  The spouse of a person under subdivisions (c)(1) and (2) of 19 

this section.  20 

  (d)  When considering an application for full licensure, 21 

certification, or permitting for an active duty military service member 22 

stationed in the State of Arkansas or a returning military veteran applying 23 

within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty, a state board 24 

or commission: 25 

  (1)  Shall consider whether or not the applicant's military 26 

training and experience in the area of licensure, certification, or 27 

permitting is substantially similar to experience or education required for 28 

licensure, certification, or permitting; and 29 

  (2)  Shall accept the applicant's military training and 30 

experience in the area of licensure, certification, or permitting in lieu of 31 

experience or education required for licensure, certification, or permitting 32 

if the state board or commission determines the military training and 33 

experience is a satisfactory substitute for the experience or education 34 

required for licensure, certification, or permitting. 35 

 (e)  A license, certificate, or permit required to enable the holder to 36 
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lawfully engage in a profession, trade, or employment in this state held by 1 

an active duty military service member deployed outside the State of Arkansas 2 

or his or her spouse shall not expire until one hundred eighty (180) days 3 

following the active duty military service member's or spouse's return from 4 

active deployment. 5 

 (f)(1)  A state board or commission shall allow a full or partial 6 

exemption from continuing education required as part of licensure, 7 

certification, or permitting for a profession, trade, or employment in this 8 

state for the following individuals: 9 

   (A)  An active duty military service member deployed 10 

outside of the State of Arkansas; 11 

   (B)  A returning military veteran within one (1) year of 12 

his or her discharge from active duty; or 13 

   (C)  The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f)(1) and 14 

(2) of this section. 15 

  (2)  A state board or commission allowing a full or partial 16 

exemption from continuing education required under subdivision (f)(1) of this 17 

section may require evidence of completion of continuing education before 18 

issuing the individual a subsequent license, certificate, or permit or 19 

authorizing the renewal of a license, certificate, or permit. 20 

 (g)  All state boards and commissions shall promulgate rules necessary 21 

to carry out the provisions of this section. 22 

 An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules recommending 23 

an expedited process and procedure for occupational licensure instead of 24 

automatic licensure as provided under subsection (b) of this section to the 25 

Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council. 26 

 (d)  The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the 27 

Legislative Council shall: 28 

  (1)  Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing 29 

entity as submitted for public comment and at least thirty (30) days before 30 

the public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure 31 

Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.; and 32 

  (2)  Approve the proposed rules submitted under subsection (c) 33 

based on: 34 

   (A)  A determination of whether the expedited process and 35 

procedure provide the least restrictive means of accomplishing occupational 36 
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licensure; and 1 

   (B)  Any other criteria the Administrative Rules and 2 

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to 3 

achieve the objectives of this section. 4 

 (e)   The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the 5 

Legislative Council may: 6 

  (1)  Establish a subcommittee to assist in the duties assigned 7 

under this section; 8 

  (2)  Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules and 9 

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to one 10 

(1) or more subcommittee of the Legislative Council, including without 11 

limitation a subcommittee created under subdivision (e)(1) of this section; 12 

or 13 

  (3)  Delegate its duties under this section to one (1) or more 14 

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, subject to final review and 15 

approval of the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the 16 

Legislative Council. 17 

 (f)  An occupational licensing entity shall: 18 

   (1)  Submit proposed rules authorized under subsection (c) of 19 

this section to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the 20 

Legislative Council for review and approval before the proposed rules are 21 

promulgated under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et 22 

seq.; and 23 

  (2)  Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth, 24 

Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of 25 

automatic licenses and expedited occupational licenses granted under this 26 

section to: 27 

   (A)  Active duty military service members stationed in the 28 

State of Arkansas; 29 

   (B)  Returning military veterans applying within one (1) 30 

year of his or her discharge from active duty; or 31 

   (C)  The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f)(2)(A) 32 

and (f)(2)(B) of this section. 33 

 34 

 SECTION 3.  TEMPORARY LANGUAGE.  DO NOT CODIFY.  An occupational 35 

licensing entity proposing rules recommending an expedited process and 36 
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procedure for occupational licensure instead of automatic licensure as 1 

provided under § 17-1-106(b) to the Administrative Rules and Regulations 2 

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council shall complete the review and 3 

approval process of the proposed rules required by § 17-1-106 within one (1) 4 

year of the effective date of this act.  5 

 6 

 7 

/s/Irvin 8 

 9 

 10 

APPROVED: 4/9/19 11 

 12 

 13 

 14 

 15 

 16 

 17 

 18 

 19 

 20 

 21 

 22 

 23 

 24 

 25 

 26 

 27 

 28 

 29 
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 32 

 33 

 34 
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State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  S3/18/19 H4/3/19  1 

92nd General Assembly A Bill      2 

Regular Session, 2019  SENATE BILL 451 3 

 4 

By: Senator J. Cooper 5 

By: Representative Dalby 6 

  7 

For An Act To Be Entitled 8 

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL 9 

BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS TO 10 

OBTAIN CONSISTENCY REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND 11 

CHECKS AND DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE; AND 12 

FOR OTHER PURPOSES.  13 

 14 

 15 

Subtitle 16 

TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL 17 

BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND 18 

OCCUPATIONS TO OBTAIN CONSISTENCY 19 

REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS AND 20 

DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE. 21 

 22 

 23 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 24 

 25 

 SECTION 1.  DO NOT CODIFY.  Legislative findings and intent. 26 

 (a)  The General Assembly finds that: 27 

  (1)  Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit 28 

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing; 29 

  (2)  Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (11) states chosen to 30 

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an 31 

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and 32 

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures, 33 

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association; 34 

  (3)  Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals 35 

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational 36 
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licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry; 1 

and 2 

  (4)  The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report 3 

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for 4 

substantive legislative reform, which are to: 5 

   (A)  Establish an expedited procedure for occupational 6 

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are 7 

responsive to new legislation; 8 

   (B)  Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of 9 

subsections of rules; 10 

   (C)  Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to 11 

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues; 12 

   (D)  Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify 13 

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional 14 

licenses; and 15 

   (E)  Establish a systematic process for review of: 16 

    (i)  New occupational licenses and occupational 17 

licensing entities; and 18 

    (ii)  Existing occupational licenses and occupational 19 

licensing entities. 20 

 (b)  It is the intent of the General Assembly to establish provisions 21 

to allow certain agencies to consider occupational relevance with regard to 22 

criminal background issues. 23 

 24 

 SECTION 2.  Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additional 25 

chapter to read as follows: 26 

CHAPTER 2 27 

OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 28 

 29 

 17-2-101.  Definitions. 30 

 As used in this subchapter: 31 

  (1)  "Criminal record" means any type of felony or misdemeanor 32 

conviction; 33 

  (2)  "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission, 34 

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having 35 

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an 36 
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individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; and 1 

  (3)  "License" means a license, certificate, registration, 2 

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is 3 

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or 4 

profession. 5 

 6 

 17-2-102.  Licensing restrictions based on criminal records. 7 

 (a)  An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued 8 

by a licensing entity if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo 9 

contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any 10 

court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in 11 

another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, unless the 12 

conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record 13 

Sealing Act of 2013, § 16-90-1401 et seq., or otherwise previously sealed, 14 

pardoned or expunged under prior law: 15 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 16 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited 17 

in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103; 18 

  (3)  Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104; 19 

  (4)  Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105; 20 

  (5)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 21 

  (6)  False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-22 

11-103; 23 

  (7)  Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-24 

106; 25 

  (8)  Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102; 26 

  (9)  Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103; 27 

  (10)  Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201; 28 

  (11)  Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204; 29 

  (12)  Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of 30 

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210; 31 

  (13)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 32 

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y 33 

felony; 34 

  (14)  Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited 35 

in § 5-13-301; 36 
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  (15)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 1 

  (16)  Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110; 2 

  (17)  Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113; 3 

  (18)  Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third 4 

degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127; 5 

  (19)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 6 

  (20)  Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 — 7 

5-26-306; 8 

  (21)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 9 

first degree, as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 10 

  (22)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 11 

prohibited in § 5-27-205; 12 

  (23)  Permitting the abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-13 

221; 14 

  (24)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in 15 

visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 16 

conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually 17 

explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a 18 

child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual 19 

performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402, 20 

and 5-27-403; 21 

  (25)  Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603; 22 

  (26)  Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as 23 

prohibited in § 5-27-605; 24 

  (27)  Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103; 25 

  (28)  Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103; 26 

  (29)  Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106; 27 

  (30)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301; 28 

  (31)  Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201; 29 

  (32)  Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 30 

§§ 5-64-101 — 5-64-510, as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401, and §§ 5-64-31 

419 — 5-64-442; 32 

  (33)  Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited 33 

in § 5-70-104; 34 

  (34)  Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; 35 

  (35)  Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal 36 
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solicitation, or criminal conspiracy, as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 1 

5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this 2 

subsection; and 3 

  (36)  All other crimes referenced in this title. 4 

 (b)(1)  If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in 5 

subsection (a) of this section, a licensing entity may waive disqualification 6 

or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver 7 

is made by: 8 

   (A)  An affected applicant for a license; or 9 

   (B)  The individual holding a license subject to 10 

revocation. 11 

  (2)  A basis upon which a waiver may be granted includes without 12 

limitation: 13 

   (A)  The age at which the offense was committed; 14 

   (B)  The circumstances surrounding the offense; 15 

   (C)  The length of time since the offense was committed; 16 

   (D)  Subsequent work history since the offense was 17 

committed; 18 

   (E)  Employment references since the offense was committed; 19 

   (F)  Character references since the offense was committed; 20 

   (G)  Relevance of the offense to the occupational license; 21 

and 22 

   (H)  Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the 23 

applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public. 24 

 (c)  If an individual has a valid criminal conviction for an offense 25 

that could disqualify the individual from receiving a license, the 26 

disqualification shall not be considered for more than five (5) years from 27 

the date of conviction or incarceration or on which probation ends, whichever 28 

date is the latest, if the individual: 29 

  (A)  Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual 30 

offense; and 31 

  (B)  Has not been convicted of any other offense during the five-32 

year disqualification period. 33 

 (d)  A licensing entity shall not, as a basis upon which a license may 34 

be granted or denied:  35 

  (1)  Use vague or generic terms, including without limitation the 36 
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phrase "moral turpitude" and "good character"; or 1 

  (2)  Consider arrests without a subsequent conviction. 2 

 (e)  Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall 3 

result in permanent disqualification for licensure: 4 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 5 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and 6 

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 7 

  (3)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 8 

  (4)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 9 

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y 10 

felony; 11 

  (5)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 12 

  (6)  Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113; 13 

  (7)  Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-14 

124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125; 15 

  (8)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 16 

  (9)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 17 

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 18 

  (10)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 19 

prohibited in § 5-27-205; 20 

  (11)  Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-21 

28-103; and 22 

  (12)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301. 23 

 (f)  This chapter does not preclude a licensing entity from taking 24 

emergency action against a licensee as authorized under § 25-15-211 for the 25 

sake of public health, safety, or welfare. 26 

 (g)  The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection 27 

(e) of this section does not apply to an individual who holds a valid license 28 

on the effective date of this chapter. 29 

 (h)  This section does not apply to licensure or certification: 30 

  (1)  Of professions not governed by this title; 31 

  (2)  Of polygraph examiners and voice stress analysis examiners 32 

under § 17-39-101 et seq.; or 33 

  (3)  Of private investigators and private security agencies under 34 

the Private Security Agency, Private Investigator, and School Security 35 

Licensing and Credentialing Act, § 17-40-101 et seq. 36 
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 1 

 17-2-103.  Prelicensure criminal background checks. 2 

 (a)(1)  An individual with a criminal record may petition a licensing 3 

entity at any time for a determination of whether the criminal record of the 4 

individual will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether or not 5 

he or she could obtain a waiver under § 17-2-102(b). 6 

  (2)  The petition shall include details on the criminal record of 7 

the individual. 8 

 (b)(1)  A licensing entity may require that the applicant undergo a 9 

state and federal criminal background check as required by the licensing 10 

entity for all applicants for a license. 11 

  (2)  The petitioner under subsection (a) of this section shall be 12 

responsible for payment for the state and federal criminal background check. 13 

 14 

 17-2-104.  Rules. 15 

 (a)  A licensing entity shall adopt or amend rules necessary for the 16 

implementation of this chapter. 17 

 (b)(1)  When adopting or amending rules to implement this chapter, the 18 

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under § 19 

25-15-204(f): 20 

   (A)  On or before January 1, 2020; or 21 

   (B)  If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by 22 

January 1, 2020, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309. 23 

  (2)  A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the 24 

Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1, 25 

2020, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval 26 

before January 1, 2020. 27 

 28 

 SECTION 3.  Arkansas Code § 17-11-302(b), concerning application and 29 

certificate of registration to become a registered abstracter, is amended to 30 

read as follows: 31 

  (b)  The application shall be in a form prepared by the board and 32 

shall contain such information as may be necessary to assist the board in 33 

registration and to determine if the applicant is of good moral character. 34 

 35 

 SECTION 4.  Arkansas Code § 17-11-304(a), concerning issuance or 36 
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reapplication for a certificate of registration by the Arkansas Abstracters' 1 

Board, is amended to read as follows: 2 

 (a)  If the applicant satisfactorily passes the examinations and is of 3 

good moral character, the applicant shall be certified as a registered 4 

abstracter, and the certificate provided for shall be issued to him or her. 5 

The privileges granted by the certificate shall continue unless revoked, as 6 

provided in this chapter, or unless the certificate is otherwise surrendered 7 

to the Arkansas Abstracters' Board. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 5.  Arkansas Code § 17-11-340(a), concerning the revocation of 10 

certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters' Board, is amended to 11 

read as follows: 12 

 (a)  The Arkansas Abstracters' Board is authorized, after a hearing as 13 

provided in § 17-11-341, to cancel and revoke any certificate of registration 14 

issued to any person under the provisions of this chapter: 15 

  (1)  For a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter; 16 

  (2)  Upon a conviction of the holder of such a certificate of a 17 

crime involving moral turpitude under § 17-1-102; or 18 

  (3)  If the board finds the holder to be guilty of habitual 19 

carelessness or of fraudulent practices in the conduct of the business of 20 

abstracting. 21 

 22 

 SECTION 6.  Arkansas Code § 17-11-341(a)(1), concerning the procedure 23 

of appeal for revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas 24 

Abstracters' Board, is amended to read as follows: 25 

 (a)(1)  Upon a verified complaint being filed with the Arkansas 26 

Abstracters' Board or upon the board's own motion filing a complaint charging 27 

the holder of a certificate of registration with a violation of any of the 28 

provisions of this chapter, or conviction of a crime involving moral 29 

turpitude, or with under § 17-2-102 or habitual carelessness or fraudulent 30 

practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting, or charging the 31 

holder of a certificate of authority with failure to furnish the bond or 32 

bonds, or other securities, required by § 17-11-324, or with failing to have 33 

employed a registered abstracter as provided in § 17-11-301, or with a 34 

violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, the board shall 35 

immediately notify in writing by registered mail, with return receipt, the 36 
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holder of the certificate of the filing of the complaint and furnish the 1 

holder with a copy of the complaint. 2 

 3 

 SECTION 7.  Arkansas Code § 17-12-301 is amended to read as follows: 4 

 17-12-301.  Requirements generally — Definition. 5 

 (a)  A certificate as a certified public accountant shall be granted by 6 

the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy to any person of good moral 7 

character: 8 

  (1)  Who has met the education and experience requirements set 9 

forth in this chapter and by the board; and 10 

  (2)  Who has passed an examination in accounting and auditing and 11 

such related subjects as the board shall determine to be appropriate. 12 

 (b)(1)(A)  “Good moral character” as used in this section means lack of 13 

a history of: 14 

    (i)  Dishonest or felonious acts; or 15 

    (ii)  Conduct involving fraud or moral turpitude. 16 

   (B)  The board may refuse to grant a certificate on the 17 

ground of failure to satisfy this requirement only if there is a substantial 18 

connection between the lack of good moral character of the applicant and the 19 

professional responsibilities of a licensee and if the finding by the board 20 

of lack of good moral character is supported by clear and convincing 21 

evidence. 22 

  (2)  When an applicant is found to be unqualified for a 23 

certificate because of a lack of good moral character, the board shall 24 

furnish the applicant a: 25 

   (A)  Statement containing the findings of the board; 26 

   (B)  Complete record of the evidence upon which the 27 

determination was based; and 28 

   (C)  Notice of the applicant's right of appeal. 29 

 (c)(1)(b)(1)  Any person who has received from the board a certificate 30 

as a certified public accountant which is currently in full force and effect 31 

shall be styled and known as a “certified public accountant” and may also use 32 

the abbreviation “CPA”. 33 

  (2)  The board shall maintain a list of certified public 34 

accountants. 35 

 (c)  Any certified public accountant may also be known as a public 36 
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accountant. 1 

 2 

 SECTION 8.  Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(d), concerning the criminal 3 

background check for initial licensure of accountants, is amended to read as 4 

follows: 5 

 (d)  Upon completion of the criminal background checks, the 6 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall 7 

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the 8 

commission by the applicant of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this 9 

section. 10 

 11 

 SECTION 9.  Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(e), concerning the criminal 12 

background check for initial licensure of accountants, is repealed. 13 

 (e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-12-301, a person convicted 14 

of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude or dishonesty in any state or 15 

federal court may not receive or hold a license as a certified public 16 

accountant or public accountant. 17 

 18 

 SECTION 10.  Arkansas Code § 17-12-601(a)(5) and (6), concerning the 19 

grounds for revocation or suspension of licensure of accountants, are amended 20 

to read as follows: 21 

  (5)  Conviction of a felony under the law of any state or of the 22 

United States § 17-2-102; 23 

  (6)  Conviction of any crime an element of which is dishonesty, 24 

or fraud, or moral turpitude under the law of any state or of the United 25 

States; 26 

 27 

 SECTION 11.  Arkansas Code § 17-12-601, concerning the grounds for 28 

revocation or suspension of licensure of an accountant, is amended to add an 29 

additional subsection to read as follows: 30 

 (c)  In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the Arkansas 31 

State Board of Public Accountancy may refuse to issue a license to or 32 

reinstate a license of a person who has been convicted of a felony involving 33 

theft or fraud, regardless of the amount of time that has elapsed since the 34 

conviction. 35 

 36 
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 SECTION 12.  Arkansas Code § 17-14-203(12)(C)(i), concerning the powers 1 

and duties regarding criminal background checks of the Arkansas Appraiser 2 

Licensing and Certification Board, is amended to read as follows: 3 

    (i)  During the five (5) years immediately preceding 4 

the date of the application was convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo 5 

contendere to, a crime that would call into question the applicant's fitness 6 

for registration, licensure, or certification, including without limitation a 7 

crime involving: 8 

     (a)  Moral turpitude; 9 

     (b)(1)(a)(1)  An act substantially related to 10 

the qualifications, functions, or duties of an appraiser. 11 

      (2)  A crime or act may be deemed 12 

substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of an 13 

appraiser if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or 14 

potential unfitness of a person applying for or holding a real property 15 

appraiser credential to perform the functions authorized by the credential; 16 

     (c)(b)  Taking, appropriating, or retaining the 17 

funds or property of another; 18 

     (d)(c)  Forging, counterfeiting, or altering an 19 

instrument affecting the rights or obligations of another; 20 

     (e)(d)  Evasion of a lawful debt or obligation, 21 

including without limitation a tax obligation; 22 

     (f)(e)  Trafficking in narcotics or controlled 23 

substances; 24 

     (g)(f)  Violation of a relation of trust or 25 

confidence; 26 

     (h)(g)  Theft of personal property or funds; 27 

     (i)(h)  An act of violence or threatened 28 

violence against persons or property; or 29 

     (j)(i)  A sexually related crime or act under § 30 

5-14-101 et seq.; 31 

 32 

 SECTION 13.  Arkansas Code § 17-14-206(a)(3), concerning complaints and 33 

disciplinary procedures of the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification 34 

Board for licensees, is repealed. 35 

  (3)(A)  Conviction in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor 36 
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involving moral turpitude or of any felony. 1 

   (B)  A plea of nolo contendere or no contest shall be 2 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section; 3 

 4 

 SECTION 14.  Arkansas Code § 17-14-405(b)(3), concerning requirements 5 

for registration under the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act, is 6 

amended to read as follows: 7 

  (3)(A)  The name, address, and contact information of any person 8 

that owns ten percent (10%) or more of the appraisal management company. 9 

   (B)  Any person owning more than ten percent (10%) of an 10 

appraisal management company in this state shall: 11 

    (i)  Be of good moral character, as determined by the 12 

board; and 13 

    (ii)  Submit submit to a state criminal background 14 

check and a national fingerprint-based criminal background check performed by 15 

the Federal Bureau of Investigation in compliance with federal law and 16 

regulations; 17 

 18 

 SECTION 15.  Arkansas Code § 17-14-410(a)(3), concerning the 19 

disciplinary authority, enforcement, and hearings under the Appraisal 20 

Management Company Registration Act, is amended to read as follows: 21 

  (3)  The person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 22 

found guilty of: 23 

   (A)  A felony listed under § 17-2-102; or 24 

   (B)  Within the past ten (10) years: 25 

    (i)  A misdemeanor involving mortgage lending or real 26 

estate appraising; or 27 

    (ii)  An offense involving breach of trust, moral 28 

turpitude, or fraudulent or dishonest dealing; 29 

 30 

 SECTION 16.  Arkansas Code § 17-15-102(3), concerning the definition of 31 

"good moral character" related to architects, is repealed. 32 

  (3)(A)  “Good moral character” means character that will enable a 33 

person to discharge the fiduciary duties of an architect to his or her client 34 

and to the public for the protection of health, safety, and welfare. 35 

   (B)  Evidence of inability to discharge such duties 36 



As Engrossed:  S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451 

 

 13 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236 

 

 

includes the commission of an offense justifying discipline under § 17-15-1 

308; 2 

 3 

 SECTION 17.  Arkansas Code § 17-15-304(b)(1), concerning examinations 4 

to be a registered and licensed architect, is amended to read as follows: 5 

 (b)(1)  To be qualified for admission to an examination to practice 6 

architecture in the State of Arkansas, an applicant must shall be at least 7 

twenty-one (21) years of age and of good moral character. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 18.  Arkansas Code § 17-15-308(5), concerning grounds for 10 

revocation of a license for an architect, is amended to read as follows: 11 

  (5)  The holder of the license or certificate of registration has 12 

been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 13 

 14 

 SECTION 19.  Arkansas Code § 17-16-105(a)(8), concerning the 15 

registration requirements for an athlete agent under the Uniform Athlete 16 

Agents Act, is amended to read as follows: 17 

  (8)  whether the applicant or any person named pursuant to 18 

paragraph (7) has been convicted of a crime that, if committed in this State, 19 

would be a crime involving moral turpitude or a felony listed under § 17-2-20 

102, and identify the crime; 21 

 22 

 SECTION 20.  Arkansas Code § 17-17-308(6), concerning the suspension or 23 

revocation of a license of an auctioneer, is amended to read as follows: 24 

  (6)  Being convicted of a criminal offense involving moral 25 

turpitude or a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a court of competent 26 

jurisdiction of this or any other jurisdiction; 27 

 28 

 SECTION 21.  Arkansas Code § 17-19-203(3), concerning character 29 

references for a professional bail bondsman license, is amended to read as 30 

follows: 31 

  (3)  Such other Provide other proof as the board may require that 32 

he or she is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good 33 

personal and business reputation and has not been convicted of a felony or 34 

any offense involving moral turpitude listed under § 17-2-102. 35 

 36 
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 SECTION 22.  Arkansas Code § 17-19-210(b)(1), concerning the suspension 1 

and penalties for a professional bail bondsman licensee, is amended to read 2 

as follows: 3 

  (1)  Violated any provision of or any obligation imposed by this 4 

chapter or any lawful rule, regulation, or order of the board or has been 5 

convicted of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude listed under § 6 

17-2-102; 7 

 8 

 SECTION 23.  Arkansas Code § 17-20-302 is amended to read as follows: 9 

 17-20-302.  Qualifications of applicants. 10 

 Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration 11 

to practice as a registered barber who: 12 

  (1)  Is qualified under this chapter; 13 

  (2)  Is of good moral character and temperate habits; 14 

  (3)(2)  Has passed a satisfactory examination conducted by the 15 

State Board of Barber Examiners to determine his or her fitness to practice 16 

barbering; 17 

  (4)(3)  Is at least sixteen and one-half (16 ½) years of age; and 18 

  (5)(4)  Has received training approved by the appropriate 19 

licensing authorities. 20 

 21 

 SECTION 24.  Arkansas Code § 17-20-308(1)(A), concerning grounds for 22 

disciplinary action of barbers, is amended to read as follows: 23 

  (1)(A)  Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 shown by a 24 

certified copy of the record of the court of conviction. 25 

 26 

 SECTION 25.  Arkansas Code § 17-24-307(3), concerning the grounds for 27 

revocation, suspension, or refusal of license issued by the State Board of 28 

Collection Agencies, is repealed. 29 

  (3)  Conviction of any crime involving moral turpitude; 30 

 31 

 SECTION 26.  Arkansas Code § 17-25-305(a), concerning the 32 

qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to read as follows: 33 

 (a)  The Contractors Licensing Board, in determining the qualifications 34 

of any applicant for an original license or any renewal license, shall, among 35 

other things, consider the following: 36 
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  (1)  Experience; 1 

  (2)  Ability; 2 

  (3)  Character; 3 

  (4)(3)  The manner of performance of previous contracts; 4 

  (5)(4)  Financial condition; 5 

  (6)(5)  Equipment; 6 

  (7)(6)  Any other fact tending to show ability and willingness to 7 

conserve the public health and safety; and 8 

  (8)(7)  Default in complying with the provisions of this chapter 9 

or any other another law of the state. 10 

 11 

 SECTION 27.  Arkansas Code § 17-25-305, concerning the qualifications 12 

for a contractors license, is amended to add an additional subsection to read 13 

as follows: 14 

 (c)  In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the board may 15 

consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or 16 

registration of a contractor under this chapter: 17 

  (1)  Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud 18 

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States; 19 

  (2)  Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-20 

16-102; 21 

  (3)  Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et 22 

seq.; and 23 

  (4)(A)  A crime or act that is substantially related to the 24 

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor. 25 

   (B)  A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to 26 

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial 27 

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person 28 

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the 29 

functions authorized by the license or registration. 30 

 31 

 SECTION 28.  Arkansas Code § 17-25-507, concerning the qualifications 32 

for a contractors license through the Residential Contractors Committee, is 33 

amended to add an additional subsection to read as follows: 34 

 (c)  In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the committee 35 

may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or 36 
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registration of a contractor under this subchapter: 1 

  (1)  Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud 2 

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States; 3 

  (2)  Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-4 

16-102; 5 

  (3)  Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et 6 

seq.; and 7 

  (4)(A)  A crime or act that is substantially related to the 8 

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor. 9 

   (B)  A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to 10 

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial 11 

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person 12 

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the 13 

functions authorized by the license or registration. 14 

 15 

 SECTION 29.  Arkansas Code § 17-26-105(10), concerning grounds for 16 

disciplinary action for cosmetology and other related occupations, is amended 17 

to read as follows: 18 

  (10)  Conviction under the laws of the United States or any state 19 

or territory of the United States of a crime that is: 20 

   (A)  Is a A felony or misdemeanor listed under § 17-2-102, 21 

as evidenced by a certified copy of a court record or by license application; 22 

and 23 

   (B)  Involves A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or is in 24 

any way related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry, 25 

unless the applicant or licensee can demonstrate to the board's satisfaction 26 

that the applicant or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant 27 

the public trust; 28 

 29 

 SECTION 30.  Arkansas Code § 17-26-201(c), concerning the membership of 30 

the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, is amended to read as follows: 31 

 (c)  The committee shall be composed of the following representatives 32 

from within the cosmetology industry who are of good moral character and who 33 

are at least twenty-five (25) years of age: 34 

  (1)  One (1) member shall be a licensed cosmetologist actively 35 

engaged in practicing the art of cosmetology for at least five (5) years at 36 



As Engrossed:  S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451 

 

 17 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236 

 

 

the time of appointment; 1 

  (2)  One (1) member shall be a licensed nail technician; 2 

  (3)  One (1) member shall be an owner of a licensed school of 3 

cosmetology or shall be a director of cosmetology at a state-supported 4 

school; 5 

  (4)  One (1) member shall be a licensed aesthetician; and 6 

  (5)  Three (3) members shall represent the cosmetology industry 7 

at large or a related field. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 31.  Arkansas Code § 17-27-301(2), concerning qualifications 10 

for a licensed professional counselor, is amended to read as follows: 11 

  (2)  The applicant is highly regarded in personal character and 12 

professional ethics; 13 

 14 

 SECTION 32.  Arkansas Code § 17-27-303(2), concerning qualifications 15 

for a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 1, 1998, is 16 

amended to read as follows: 17 

  (2)  The applicant is highly regarded in personal character and 18 

professional ethics; 19 

 20 

 SECTION 33.  Arkansas Code § 17-27-313 is amended to read as follows: 21 

 17-27-313.  Criminal background checks. 22 

 (a)  The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling may require each 23 

applicant for license renewal and each first-time applicant for a license 24 

issued by the board to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department 25 

of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check, 26 

to be conducted by the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas 27 

State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 28 

 (b)  The check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and 29 

shall include the taking of fingerprints. 30 

 (c)  The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and 31 

shall be responsible for the payment of any fee associated with the criminal 32 

background check. 33 

 (d)  Upon completion of the criminal background check, the 34 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall 35 

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the 36 
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applicant. 1 

 (e)  No person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by 2 

the board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 3 

found guilty of any of the following offenses by any court in the State of 4 

Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any 5 

similar offense by a federal court: 6 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 7 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited 8 

in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103; 9 

  (3)  Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104; 10 

  (4)  Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105; 11 

  (5)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 12 

  (6)  False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13 

11-103; 14 

  (7)  Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-15 

106; 16 

  (8)  Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102; 17 

  (9)  Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103; 18 

  (10)  Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201; 19 

  (11)  Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204; 20 

  (12)  Introduction of controlled substance into body of another 21 

person as prohibited in § 5-13-210; 22 

  (13)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 23 

employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 24 

  (14)  Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited 25 

in § 5-13-301; 26 

  (15)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 27 

  (16)  Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110; 28 

  (17)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 29 

  (18)  Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third 30 

degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127; 31 

  (19)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 32 

  (20)  Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 — 33 

5-26-306; 34 

  (21)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 35 

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 36 
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  (22)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 1 

prohibited in §  5-27-205; 2 

  (23)  Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in §  5-27-221; 3 

  (24)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in 4 

visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 5 

conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually 6 

explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a 7 

child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual 8 

performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and 9 

5-27-403; 10 

  (25)  Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603; 11 

  (26)  Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as 12 

prohibited in § 5-27-605; 13 

  (27)  Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103; 14 

  (28)  Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103; 15 

  (29)  Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106; 16 

  (30)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301; 17 

  (31)  Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201; 18 

  (32)  Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 19 

§ 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 — 20 

5-64-442; 21 

  (33)  Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited 22 

in § 5-70-104; 23 

  (34)  Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and 24 

  (35)  Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal 25 

solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-26 

3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection. 27 

 (f)(1)(e)  The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of 28 

provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the 29 

results of the criminal background check. 30 

  (2)  Upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau 31 

of the Department of Arkansas State Police that the person holding such a 32 

letter of provisional licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or 33 

been found guilty of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this section, 34 

the board shall immediately revoke the provisional license. 35 

 (g)(1)  The provisions of subsections (e) and (f) of this section may 36 
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be waived by the board upon the request of: 1 

   (A)  An affected applicant for licensure; or 2 

   (B)  The person holding a license subject to revocation. 3 

  (2)  Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall 4 

include, but not be limited to, the following: 5 

   (A)  The age at which the crime was committed; 6 

   (B)  The circumstances surrounding the crime; 7 

   (C)  The length of time since the crime; 8 

   (D)  Subsequent work history; 9 

   (E)  Employment references; 10 

   (F)  Character references; and 11 

   (G)  Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does 12 

not pose a threat to the health or safety of children. 13 

 (f)  For the purposes of this section, the board shall follow the 14 

licensing restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. 15 

 (h)(1)(g)(1)  Any information received by the board from the 16 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to 17 

under this section shall not be available for examination except by: 18 

   (A)  The affected applicant for licensure, or his or her 19 

authorized representative; or 20 

   (B)  The person whose license is subject to revocation, or 21 

his or her authorized representative. 22 

  (2)  No record, file, or document shall be removed from the 23 

custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police. 24 

 (i)(h)  Any information made available to the affected applicant for 25 

licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be 26 

information pertaining to that person only. 27 

 (j)(i)  Rights of privilege and confidentiality established under this 28 

section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this 29 

background check. 30 

 (k)(j)  The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to 31 

fully implement the provisions of this section. 32 

 33 

 SECTION 34.  Arkansas Code § 17-29-311(a)(1), concerning the sanctions 34 

and prohibited conduct of embalmers and funeral directors, is amended to read 35 

as follows: 36 
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  (1)  Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 1 

 2 

 SECTION 35.  Arkansas Code § 17-30-305(a)(2)(A), concerning the 3 

administrative violations and penalties for an engineer, is amended to read 4 

as follows: 5 

   (A)  A felony listed under § 17-2-102; 6 

 7 

 SECTION 36.  Arkansas Code § 17-31-303(c), concerning application for 8 

registration with the Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters, is 9 

repealed. 10 

 (c)  A person shall not be eligible for registration as a forester who 11 

is not of good character and reputation. 12 

 13 

 SECTION 37.  Arkansas Code § 17-31-309(b), concerning revocation of a 14 

certificate for a registered forester, is amended to read as follows: 15 

 (b)(1)  The board may revoke the certificate of any registered forester 16 

who has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or who is found 17 

guilty by the board of any fraud, deceit, gross negligence, 18 

misrepresentation, willful violation of contract, misconduct, or gross 19 

incompetence. 20 

  (2)  The board shall investigate such charges. 21 

 22 

 SECTION 38.  Arkansas Code § 17-32-304(a)(1), concerning the 23 

qualifications for a geologist-in-training certificate, is repealed. 24 

  (1)  Be of good ethical character; 25 

 26 

 SECTION 39.  Arkansas Code § 17-32-311(a)(3), concerning the denial, 27 

suspension, or revocation of a registration certificate of a geologist, is 28 

amended to read as follows: 29 

  (3)  Any felony listed under § 17-2-102; 30 

 31 

 SECTION 40.  Arkansas Code § 17-35-301(c)(2), concerning the 32 

registration of interior designers, is amended to read as follows: 33 

  (2)  Has not been convicted of an offense listed under § 17-2-102 34 

that bears directly on the fitness of the applicant to be registered; 35 

 36 
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 SECTION 41.  Arkansas Code § 17-35-305(5), concerning grounds of 1 

revocation for a license of an interior designer, is amended to read as 2 

follows: 3 

  (5)  The holder of the registration has been guilty of a felony 4 

listed under § 17-2-102; 5 

 6 

 SECTION 42.  Arkansas Code § 17-36-303(a), concerning examination for 7 

licensure as a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows: 8 

 (a)  An applicant for licensure shall: 9 

  (1)  Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and 10 

  (2)  Be of good moral character; and 11 

  (3)(2)  Pass an examination covering the matters confronting 12 

landscape architects that is prepared by: 13 

   (A)  The Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape 14 

Architects, and Interior Designers; or 15 

   (B)  Another entity as selected by the Arkansas State Board 16 

of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers. 17 

 18 

 SECTION 43.  Arkansas Code § 17-36-306(5), concerning the grounds of 19 

revocation for a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows: 20 

  (5)  The holder of the license or certificate has been guilty of 21 

a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 22 

 23 

 SECTION 44.  Arkansas Code § 17-42-311(a), concerning violations of the 24 

real estate license law, is amended to read as follows: 25 

 (a)  The following acts, conduct, or practices are prohibited, and any 26 

licensee found guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action as provided in 27 

§ 17-42-312: 28 

  (1)  Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or 29 

concealment; 30 

  (2)  Violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules 31 

or regulations adopted pursuant to under this chapter or any order issued 32 

under this chapter; 33 

  (3)  Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to 34 

a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving moral turpitude violence, 35 

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether 36 



As Engrossed:  S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451 

 

 23 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236 

 

 

the imposition of sentence has been deferred or suspended; 1 

  (4)  Making any substantial misrepresentation; 2 

  (5)  Making, printing, publishing, distributing, or causing, 3 

authorizing, or knowingly permitting the making, printing, publication, or 4 

distribution of false statements, descriptions, or promises of such character 5 

as to reasonably induce, persuade, or influence any person to act thereon; 6 

  (6)  Failing within a reasonable time to account for or to remit 7 

any moneys coming into his or her possession which belong to others; 8 

  (7)  Committing any act involving moral turpitude violence, 9 

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness; 10 

  (8)  Acting for more than one (1) party in a transaction without 11 

the knowledge of all parties for whom he or she acts or accepting a 12 

commission or valuable consideration for the performance of any of the acts 13 

specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal 14 

broker under whom he or she is licensed; 15 

  (9)  Acting as a broker or salesperson while not licensed with a 16 

principal broker, representing or attempting to represent a broker other than 17 

the principal broker with whom he or she is affiliated without the express 18 

knowledge and consent of the principal broker, or representing himself or 19 

herself as a salesperson or having a contractual relationship similar to that 20 

of a salesperson with anyone other than a licensed principal broker; 21 

  (10)  Advertising in a false, misleading, or deceptive manner; 22 

  (11)  Being unworthy or incompetent to act as a real estate 23 

broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the 24 

public; 25 

  (12)  Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any person 26 

for acts or services performed in violation of this chapter, including paying 27 

a commission or other valuable consideration to an unlicensed person for 28 

participation in a real estate auction; and 29 

  (13)  Any other conduct, whether of the same or a different 30 

character from that specified in this section, which constitutes improper, 31 

fraudulent, or dishonest dealing. 32 

 33 

 SECTION 45.  Arkansas Code § 17-42-315(f), concerning the criminal 34 

background check for real estate licensees, is amended to read as follows: 35 

 (f)  Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, a person 36 
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shall not receive or hold a license issued by the commission if the person 1 

has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony listed 2 

under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving moral turpitude violence, fraud, 3 

dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness. 4 

 5 

 SECTION 46.  Arkansas Code § 17-42-509(c)(3), concerning the issuance 6 

or denial of a license for an instructor of real estate education license, is 7 

amended to read as follows: 8 

  (3)  The person or entity has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 9 

to or been found guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or a misdemeanor 10 

involving violence, fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonest or dishonorable 11 

dealing in a court of competent jurisdiction; or 12 

 13 

 SECTION 47.  Arkansas Code § 17-42-515(3), concerning the violations 14 

that disqualify for a real estate educator license or licensee, is amended to 15 

read as follows: 16 

  (3)  Committing an act, a felony listed under § 17-2-102, or a 17 

crime involving moral turpitude violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, 18 

or untrustworthiness regardless of whether the imposition of the sentence has 19 

been deferred or suspended; 20 

 21 

 SECTION 48.  Arkansas Code § 17-43-303(a), concerning the application 22 

for examination for a sanitarian certificate of registration, is amended to 23 

read as follows: 24 

 (a)  The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall admit to examination 25 

any person who makes application to the Secretary of the Arkansas State Board 26 

of Sanitarians on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, and pays an 27 

application fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) to defray the expense of 28 

examination, and submits evidence satisfactory to the board that he or she is 29 

of good moral character. 30 

 31 

 SECTION 49.  Arkansas Code § 17-43-307 is amended to read as follows: 32 

 17-43-307.  Reciprocity. 33 

 The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall issue a certificate of 34 

registration without examination to any person who makes application on forms 35 

prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a registration fee of ten dollars 36 
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($10.00), and submits satisfactory proof that he or she: 1 

  (1)  Is of good moral character; 2 

  (2)(1)  Has had at least two (2) years' experience in the field 3 

of environmental sanitation; and 4 

  (3)(2)  Is registered as a sanitarian in a state in which the 5 

qualifications for registration are not lower than the qualifications for 6 

registration in this state at the time he or she applies for registration. 7 

 8 

 SECTION 50.  Arkansas Code § 17-43-309(a), concerning the grounds for 9 

suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a sanitarian certificate of 10 

registration, is amended to read as follows: 11 

 (a)  The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians may suspend, revoke, or 12 

refuse to renew a certificate of registration upon proof that the applicant: 13 

  (1)  Is not of good character; or 14 

  (2)  Is is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence, 15 

incompetency, or misconduct in relation to his or her duties as a sanitarian. 16 

 17 

 SECTION 51.  Arkansas Code § 17-47-302(a), concerning the eligibility 18 

and application for registration as a professional soil classifier or soil 19 

classifier-in-training, is amended to read as follows: 20 

 (a)  To be eligible for registration as a professional soil classifier 21 

or certification as a soil classifier-in-training, an applicant must: 22 

  (1)  Be of good character and reputation; and 23 

  (2)  Submit shall submit a written application to the Arkansas 24 

State Board of Registration for Professional Soil Classifiers containing such 25 

information as the board may require, together with five (5) references, 26 

three (3) of which shall be professional soil classifiers having personal 27 

knowledge of his or her soil classifying experience or, in the case of an 28 

application for certification as a soil classifier-in-training, three (3) 29 

character references. 30 

 31 

 SECTION 52.  Arkansas Code § 17-47-311 is amended to read as follows: 32 

 17-47-311.  Disciplinary actions — Grounds. 33 

 The Arkansas State Board of Registration for Professional Soil 34 

Classifiers shall have the power to suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke the 35 

certificate of registration of, or reprimand, any registrant who is guilty 36 
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of: 1 

  (1)  Fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate of registration; 2 

  (2)  Gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the 3 

practice of soil classifying; 4 

  (3)  A felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving moral 5 

turpitude; or 6 

  (4)  A violation of the code of ethics adopted and promulgated by 7 

the board. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 53.  Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(a), concerning the 10 

qualifications for certification as a surveyor, is amended to read as 11 

follows: 12 

 (a)  A person who shows to the satisfaction of the State Board of 13 

Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that he or 14 

she is a person of good character and reputation and over twenty-one (21) 15 

years of age shall be is eligible for licensure as a professional surveyor if 16 

he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions: 17 

  (1)  A person holding a certificate of licensure to engage in the 18 

practice of land surveying issued to him or her on the basis of a written 19 

examination by proper authority of a state, territory, possession of the 20 

United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on 21 

requirements and qualifications as shown on his or her application that in 22 

the opinion of the board are equal to or higher than the requirements of this 23 

chapter may be licensed at the discretion of the board; 24 

  (2)(A)  A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with 25 

sufficient surveying courses or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2) 26 

years or more approved by the board, followed by at least two (2) years of 27 

land surveying that must be surveying experience of a character satisfactory 28 

to the board, who has passed a written examination designed to show that he 29 

or she is qualified to practice land surveying in this state, may be licensed 30 

if he or she is otherwise qualified. 31 

   (B)  Each year of teaching land surveying in an approved 32 

engineering or surveying curriculum may be considered as equivalent to one 33 

(1) year of land surveying experience; or 34 

  (3)(A)  An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (a)(2) 35 

of this section and who has six (6) years or more of active experience in 36 
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land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a 1 

written examination designed to show that he or she is qualified to practice 2 

land surveying may be granted a certificate of licensure to practice land 3 

surveying in this state if he or she is otherwise qualified. 4 

   (B)  Each year of satisfactory work in an approved 5 

engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be 6 

considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding 7 

two (2) years. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 54.  Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(c), concerning the 10 

qualifications for licensure as a surveyor intern, is amended to read as 11 

follows: 12 

 (c)  A person who shows to the satisfaction of the board that he or she 13 

is a person of good character shall be eligible for licensure as a surveyor 14 

intern if he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions: 15 

  (1)  A person holding a certificate of licensure as a surveyor 16 

intern issued to him or her on the basis of a written examination by proper 17 

authority of a state, territory, possession of the United States, the 18 

District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on requirements and 19 

qualifications as shown on his or her application, which requirements and 20 

qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are equal to or higher than the 21 

requirements of this chapter, may be licensed as a surveyor intern at the 22 

discretion of the board; 23 

  (2)  A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with 24 

sufficient surveying courses, or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2) 25 

years or more, approved by the board, who has passed a written examination 26 

designed to show that he or she is proficient in surveying fundamentals, may 27 

be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified; or 28 

  (3)(A)  An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (c)(2) 29 

of this section and who has four (4) years or more of active experience in 30 

land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a 31 

written examination designed to show that he or she is proficient in 32 

surveying fundamentals may be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified. 33 

   (B)  Each year of satisfactory work in an approved 34 

engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be 35 

considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding 36 



As Engrossed:  S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451 

 

 28 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236 

 

 

two (2) years. 1 

 2 

 SECTION 55.  Arkansas Code § 17-48-205(a)(2)(A), concerning the 3 

administrative violations and penalties of a surveyor, is amended to read as 4 

follows: 5 

   (A)  A felony listed under § 17-2-102; 6 

 7 

 SECTION 56.  Arkansas Code § 17-50-301(a)(2), concerning applicant 8 

qualifications for registration as a certified water well driller or 9 

certified pump installer, is repealed. 10 

  (2)  Is of good moral character; 11 

 12 

 SECTION 57.  Arkansas Code § 17-52-308(b)(3), concerning complaints 13 

against and disciplinary procedures for a home inspector, is amended to read 14 

as follows: 15 

  (3)(A)  Conviction in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor involving 16 

moral turpitude or of any felony listed under § 17-2-102. 17 

   (B)  A plea of nolo contendere or no contest is considered 18 

a conviction for the purposes of this section; 19 

 20 

 SECTION 58.  Arkansas Code § 17-52-315(a), concerning the application 21 

for registration as a home inspector, is amended to read as follows: 22 

 (a)  Any person applying for registration or renewal of registration as 23 

a home inspector shall be of good moral character and shall submit to the 24 

Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board: 25 

  (1)  An application under oath upon a form to be prescribed by 26 

the board; 27 

  (2)  A current certificate of insurance issued by an insurance 28 

company licensed or surplus lines approved to do business in this state that 29 

states that the applicant has procured general liability insurance in the 30 

minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and, if applicable, 31 

workers' compensation insurance; and 32 

  (3)  The required registration or registration renewal fee with 33 

the application. 34 

 35 

 SECTION 59.  Arkansas Code § 17-81-304(a)(2), concerning the 36 
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application for licensure as a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows: 1 

  (2)  The applicant must submit proof satisfactory to the board of 2 

graduation from a chartered school or college of chiropractic as herein 3 

described and file with his or her application the affidavits of at least two 4 

(2) licensed and reputable doctors of chiropractic showing him or her to be 5 

of good moral character. 6 

 7 

 SECTION 60.  Arkansas Code § 17-81-305(a)(6), concerning the 8 

qualifications of applicants for licensure as a chiropractor, is repealed. 9 

  (6)  Be of good moral character; 10 

 11 

 SECTION 61.  Arkansas Code § 17-81-318(e), concerning the criminal 12 

background check required for a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows: 13 

 (e)  Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a person 14 

shall not receive or hold a license issued by the board if the person has 15 

been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony listed 16 

under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving moral turpitude, fraud, dishonesty, 17 

untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness, or is a registered sex offender or 18 

required to register as a sex offender. 19 

 20 

 SECTION 62.  Arkansas Code § 17-82-304(b), concerning the licensing 21 

procedure for dentists, is amended to read as follows: 22 

 (b)  An applicant: 23 

  (1)  Must Shall: 24 

   (A)  Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and of good 25 

moral reputation and character; 26 

   (B)  Submit upon request such proof as required by the 27 

board may require touching upon age, character, and fitness; and 28 

   (C)  Have been graduated from an American Dental 29 

Association-accredited college of dentistry with the degree of Doctor of 30 

Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine; or 31 

  (2)  Must Shall: 32 

   (A)  Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and of good 33 

moral reputation and character; 34 

   (B)  Have graduated from a college of dentistry in North 35 

America with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental 36 
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Medicine, or an equivalent degree approved by the board; 1 

   (C)  Have passed an examination approved by the board and 2 

authorized under § 17-82-303; 3 

   (D)  Be a resident of the State of Arkansas and the United 4 

States and be in compliance with federal laws of immigration; and 5 

   (E)  Serve a period of at least one (1) year under a 6 

provisional license issued by the board to foreign graduates and successfully 7 

complete the monitoring requirements as ordered by the board at the time the 8 

provisional license is issued. 9 

 10 

 SECTION 63.  Arkansas Code § 17-82-306(b), concerning the licensing 11 

procedures for dental hygienists, is amended to read as follows: 12 

 (b)  An applicant must shall: 13 

  (1)  Be of good moral reputation and character; 14 

  (2)(1)  Have graduated from a dental hygiene program which is 15 

accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental 16 

Accreditation and approved by the board for the training of dental 17 

hygienists; and 18 

  (3)(2)  Submit upon request such proof as required by the board 19 

may require touching upon character and fitness. 20 

 21 

 SECTION 64.  Arkansas Code § 17-82-308(b)(3), concerning the 22 

credentials for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in other states, is 23 

amended to read as follows: 24 

  (3)  A certificate from the authority which issued the license, 25 

setting forth the applicant's moral reputation and character, history with 26 

the board, professional ability, and such other information or data as the 27 

board may deem necessary or expedient. 28 

 29 

 SECTION 65.  Arkansas Code § 17-82-316(c)(3), concerning the revocation 30 

or suspension of a license for a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental 31 

assistant, is amended to read as follows: 32 

  (3)  The commission of any criminal operation; habitual 33 

drunkenness for a period of three (3) months; insanity; adjudication of 34 

insanity or mental incompetency if deemed detrimental to patients; conviction 35 

of an infamous crime or a felony listed under § 17-2-102; addiction to 36 
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narcotics; immoral, dishonorable, or scandalous conduct; professional 1 

incompetency; failure to maintain proper standards of sanitation or failure 2 

otherwise to maintain adequate safeguards for the health and safety of 3 

patients; or employment in the practice of the profession of any drug, 4 

nostrum, unknown formula, or dangerous or unknown anesthetic not generally 5 

used by the dental profession; 6 

 7 

 SECTION 66.  Arkansas Code § 17-82-802 is amended to read as follows: 8 

 17-82-802.  License eligibility. 9 

 A person shall not be eligible to receive or hold a license to practice 10 

dentistry or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas State Board 11 

of Dental Examiners if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or 12 

has been found guilty of either an infamous crime that would impact his or 13 

her ability to practice dentistry or oral hygiene in the State of Arkansas or 14 

a felony, regardless of whether the conviction has been sealed, expunged, or 15 

pardoned listed under § 17-2-102. 16 

 17 

 SECTION 67.  Arkansas Code § 17-83-307 is amended to read as follows: 18 

 17-83-307.  Grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension. 19 

 The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board may refuse to issue or renew a 20 

license or may revoke or suspend a license issued under this chapter for any 21 

of the following, but is not limited to: 22 

  (1)  Violation of a provision of this chapter; 23 

  (2)  Engaging in unprofessional conduct or gross incompetence as 24 

defined by the rules of the board or violating the standards of professional 25 

responsibility adopted and published by the board; or 26 

  (3)  Conviction in this or any other state of any crime that is a 27 

felony in this state of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; or 28 

  (4)  Conviction of a felony in a federal court. 29 

 30 

 SECTION 68.  Arkansas Code § 17-84-304(a)(3), concerning the 31 

qualifications for licensure and internship for hearing instrument 32 

dispensers, is amended to read as follows: 33 

  (3)  Show to the satisfaction of the board that he or she: 34 

   (A)  Is twenty (20) years of age or older; and 35 

   (B)  Has an education equivalent of two (2) or more years 36 
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of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college 1 

or university; and 2 

   (C)  Is of good moral character. 3 

 4 

 SECTION 69.  Arkansas Code § 17-84-308(a)(1), concerning the 5 

suspension, revocation, nonissuance, or nonrenewal of a hearing instrument 6 

dispenser license, is amended to read as follows: 7 

  (1)  Being convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude. A 8 

record of a conviction, certified by the judge or the clerk of the court 9 

where the conviction occurred, shall be sufficient evidence to warrant 10 

suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue or renew listed under § 17-2-102; 11 

 12 

 SECTION 70.  Arkansas Code § 17-86-203(e)-(h), concerning the powers 13 

and duties of the State Board of Health regarding massage therapy licenses, 14 

are amended to read as follows: 15 

 (e)(1)  For purposes of this section, an applicant is not eligible to 16 

receive or hold a license issued by the Department of Health if the applicant 17 

has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found guilty of a felony or 18 

Class A misdemeanor or any offense involving fraud, theft, dishonesty, sexual 19 

misconduct, sexual solicitation, lewd behavior, child abuse or molestation, 20 

statutory rape, sexual assault, human trafficking, or other violent crimes 21 

the board shall follow the licensing restrictions based on criminal records 22 

under § 17-2-102. 23 

  (2)  A provision of this section may be waived by the Department 24 

of Health if: 25 

   (A)  The conviction is for a Class A misdemeanor and: 26 

    (i)  The completion of the applicant's sentence and 27 

probation or completion of the applicant's sentence or probation of the 28 

offense is at least three (3) years from the date of the application; and 29 

    (ii)  The applicant has no criminal convictions 30 

during the three-year period; or 31 

   (B)  The conviction is for a felony of any classification 32 

and: 33 

    (i)  The completion of the applicant's sentence and 34 

probation or the completion of the applicant's sentence or probation of the 35 

offense is at least five (5) years from the date of the application; and 36 
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    (ii)  The applicant has no criminal convictions 1 

during the five-year period. 2 

 (f)  The Department of Health may permit an applicant to be licensed 3 

regardless of having been convicted of an offense listed in this section, 4 

upon making a determination that the applicant does not pose a risk of harm 5 

to any person served by the Department of Health. 6 

 (g)  In making a determination under subsection (f) of this section, 7 

the Department of Health may consider the following factors: 8 

  (1)  The nature and severity of the crime; 9 

  (2)  The consequences of the crime; 10 

  (3)  The number and frequency of crimes; 11 

  (4)  The relationship between the crime and the health, safety, 12 

and welfare of persons served by the Department of Health, such as: 13 

   (A)  The age and vulnerability of victims of the crime; 14 

   (B)  The harm suffered by the victim; and 15 

   (C)  The similarity between the victim and persons served 16 

by the Department of Health; 17 

  (5)  The time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar 18 

event; 19 

  (6)  Documentation of successful completion of training or 20 

rehabilitation pertinent to the incident; and 21 

  (7)  Any other information that bears on the applicant's ability 22 

to care for others or other relevant information. 23 

 (h)  If the Department of Health waives the provisions of subsection 24 

(e) of this section, the Department of Health shall submit the reasons for 25 

waiving this provision in writing, and the determination and reasons shall be 26 

made available to the members of the Department of Health for review. 27 

 28 

 SECTION 71.  Arkansas Code § 17-86-303(a)(1), concerning qualifications 29 

for licensure as a massage therapist, is amended to read as follows: 30 

  (1)  Furnish to the Department of Health satisfactory proof that 31 

he or she is eighteen (18) years of age or older and of good moral character; 32 

 33 

 SECTION 72.  Arkansas Code § 17-86-311(a), concerning the disciplinary 34 

actions and penalties for massage therapists, is amended to read as follows: 35 

 (a)  The Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee may deny, 36 
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suspend, place on probation, or revoke a license upon any one (1) of the 1 

following grounds: 2 

  (1)  Conviction of, finding of guilt, or entry of a plea of 3 

guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, Class A misdemeanor, or prostitution A 4 

felony listed under § 17-2-102; 5 

  (2)  Malpractice or gross incompetency; 6 

  (3)  The use in advertisements of untruthful or improbable 7 

statements or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning the 8 

licensee's professional excellence or abilities; 9 

  (4)  Habitual drunkenness or habitual use of any illegal drugs; 10 

  (5)  Serving alcoholic beverages at the clinic or school in a 11 

room where massage therapy is being performed or in a massage therapy school; 12 

  (6)  Moral turpitude or immoral or unprofessional Unprofessional 13 

conduct; 14 

  (7)  Failure to comply with the Department of Health's Massage 15 

Therapy Code of Ethics or any valid regulation or order of the committee; 16 

  (8)  Invasion of the field of practice of any profession for 17 

which a license is required, the diagnosis of ailments, diseases, or injuries 18 

of human beings, the performance of osseous adjustments, prescription of 19 

medications, or other breaches of the scope of practice of massage therapy; 20 

  (9)  Failure of any licensee to comply with this chapter; or 21 

  (10)  Failure to have licensed personnel to perform massage 22 

therapy techniques in his or her clinic or school. 23 

 24 

 SECTION 73.  Arkansas Code § 17-87-301(a), concerning the 25 

qualifications for an applicant for licensure as a registered nurse, is 26 

amended to read as follows: 27 

 (a)  Qualifications.   Before taking the examination or before the 28 

issuance of a license by endorsement, an applicant for a license to practice 29 

professional nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing 30 

written evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant: 31 

  (1)  Is of good moral character; 32 

  (2)(1)  Has completed an approved high school course of study or 33 

the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 34 

and 35 

  (3)(2)  Has completed the required approved professional nursing 36 
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education program. 1 

 2 

 SECTION 74.  Arkansas Code § 17-87-304(a), concerning the 3 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed practical nurse, 4 

is amended to read as follows: 5 

 (a)  Qualifications.   An applicant for a license to practice practical 6 

nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing evidence, 7 

verified by oath, that the applicant: 8 

  (1)  Is of good moral character; 9 

  (2)(1)  Has completed an approved high school course of study or 10 

the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 11 

and 12 

  (3)(2)  Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved 13 

program for the preparation of practical nurses and holds a diploma or 14 

certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this requirement if the 15 

board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified. 16 

 17 

 SECTION 75.  Arkansas Code § 17-87-305(a), concerning the 18 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychiatric 19 

technician nurse, is amended to read as follows: 20 

 (a)  Qualifications.   An applicant for a license to practice 21 

psychiatric technician nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of 22 

Nursing evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant: 23 

  (1)  Is of good moral character; 24 

  (2)(1)  Has completed an approved high school course of study or 25 

the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency; 26 

and 27 

  (3)(2)  Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved 28 

program for the preparation of psychiatric technician nurses and holds a 29 

diploma or certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this 30 

requirement if the board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified. 31 

 32 

 SECTION 76.  Arkansas Code § 17-87-312(d)-(l), concerning criminal 33 

background checks for nurses, are amended to read as follows: 34 

 (d)  Upon completion of the criminal background check, the 35 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall 36 
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forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the 1 

applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this 2 

section. 3 

 (e)  For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing 4 

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided 5 

in subdivision (l)(1) of this section, a person shall not be eligible to 6 

receive or hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded 7 

guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of any of the following 8 

offenses by a court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a 9 

court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court: 10 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 11 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and 12 

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 13 

  (3)  Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104; 14 

  (4)  Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105; 15 

  (5)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 16 

  (6)  False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-17 

11-103; 18 

  (7)  Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-19 

106; 20 

  (8)  Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102; 21 

  (9)  Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103; 22 

  (10)  Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201; 23 

  (11)  Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204; 24 

  (12)  Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of 25 

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210; 26 

  (13)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 27 

employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 28 

  (14)  Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited 29 

in § 5-13-301; 30 

  (15)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 31 

  (16)  Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110; 32 

  (17)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 33 

  (18)  Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third 34 

degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127; 35 

  (19)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 36 
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  (20)  Felony offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-1 

26-303 — 5-26-306; 2 

  (21)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 3 

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 4 

  (22)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 5 

prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the second 6 

degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206; 7 

  (23)  Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a); 8 

  (24)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in 9 

visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 10 

conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually 11 

explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a 12 

child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual 13 

performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and 14 

5-27-403; 15 

  (25)  Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603; 16 

  (26)  Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as 17 

prohibited in § 5-27-605; 18 

  (27)  Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103; 19 

  (28)  Felony theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103; 20 

  (29)  Felony theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106; 21 

  (30)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301; 22 

  (31)  Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201; 23 

  (32)  Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 24 

§ 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 — 25 

5-64-442; 26 

  (33)  Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited 27 

in § 5-70-104; 28 

  (34)  Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and 29 

  (35)  Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal 30 

solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-31 

3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection. 32 

 (f)(1)(A)  The board may issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for 33 

licensure to a first-time applicant pending the results of the criminal 34 

background check. 35 

   (B)(2)  The permit shall be valid for no more than six (6) 36 
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months. 1 

  (2)  Except as provided in subdivision (l)(1) of this section, 2 

upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau of the Department 3 

of Arkansas State Police that the person holding the letter of provisional 4 

licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty 5 

of, any offense listed in subsection (e) of this section, the board shall 6 

immediately revoke the provisional license. 7 

 (g)(1)  The provisions of subsection (e) and subdivision (f)(2) of this 8 

section may be waived by the board upon the request of: 9 

   (A)  An affected applicant for licensure; or 10 

   (B)  The person holding a license subject to revocation. 11 

  (2)  Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall 12 

include, but not be limited to, the following: 13 

   (A)  The age at which the crime was committed; 14 

   (B)  The circumstances surrounding the crime; 15 

   (C)  The length of time since the crime; 16 

   (D)  Subsequent work history; 17 

   (E)  Employment references; 18 

   (F)  Character references; and 19 

   (G)  Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does 20 

not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public. 21 

 (h)(1)(g)(1)  Any information received by the board from the 22 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to 23 

under this section shall not be available for examination except by: 24 

   (A)  The affected applicant for licensure or his or her 25 

authorized representative; or 26 

   (B)  The person whose license is subject to revocation or 27 

his or her authorized representative. 28 

  (2)  No record, file, or document shall be removed from the 29 

custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police. 30 

 (i)(h)  Any information made available to the affected applicant for 31 

licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be 32 

information pertaining to that person only. 33 

 (j)(i)  Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this 34 

section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this 35 

background check. 36 
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 (k)(j)  The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to 1 

fully implement the provisions of this section. 2 

 (l)(1)  For purposes of this section, an expunged record of a 3 

conviction or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in 4 

subsection (e) of this section shall not be considered a conviction, guilty 5 

plea, or nolo contendere plea to the offense unless the offense is also 6 

listed in subdivision (l)(2) of this section. 7 

  (2)  Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close 8 

relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, the following shall 9 

result in permanent disqualification: 10 

   (A)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 11 

   (B)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 12 

and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 13 

   (C)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 14 

   (D)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or 15 

an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 16 

   (E)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 17 

   (F)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 18 

   (G)  Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 19 

5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125; 20 

   (H)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 21 

   (I)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in 22 

the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 23 

   (J)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree 24 

as prohibited in § 5-27-205; 25 

   (K)  Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in 26 

§ 5-28-103; and 27 

   (L)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301. 28 

 29 

 SECTION 77.  Arkansas Code § 17-87-707(a)(1), concerning disciplinary 30 

actions for nurses, is amended to read as follows: 31 

  (1)  Has been found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere 32 

to: 33 

   (A)  Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure 34 

a medication assistive person certificate; or 35 

   (B)  Providing services as a medication assistive person 36 
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without a valid certificate; or 1 

   (C)  Committing a crime of moral turpitude; 2 

 3 

 SECTION 78.  Arkansas Code § 17-88-302(2), concerning the 4 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist, is 5 

repealed. 6 

  (2)  The applicant must be of good moral character; 7 

 8 

 SECTION 79.  Arkansas Code § 17-88-309(b)(4), concerning the denial, 9 

revocation, or suspension of an occupational therapist license, is amended to 10 

read as follows: 11 

  (4)  Being convicted of a crime, other than minor offenses 12 

defined as “minor misdemeanors”, “violations”, or “offenses”, in any court if 13 

the acts for which the applicant or licensee was convicted are found by the 14 

board to have a direct bearing on whether he or she should be entrusted to 15 

serve the public in the capacity of an occupational therapist or occupational 16 

therapy assistant felony listed under § 17-2-102; and 17 

 18 

 SECTION 80.  Arkansas Code § 17-89-302(a), concerning the 19 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing 20 

optician, is amended to read as follows: 21 

 (a)  Every applicant for examination as a licensed dispensing optician 22 

shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing 23 

Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good moral 24 

character, a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either: 25 

  (1)  Is a graduate of a school of opticianry whose curriculum 26 

consists of at least eighteen (18) months of didactic and practical 27 

instruction which is accredited by a national accreditation organization and 28 

approved by the board; or 29 

  (2)(A)  Has been engaged in the providing of ophthalmic 30 

dispensing services, as defined in this chapter, in the State of Arkansas for 31 

a period of not less than five (5) years immediately before application. 32 

   (B)  No more than three (3) years may consist of: 33 

    (i)  Working in a qualified service optical 34 

laboratory approved by the board; or 35 

    (ii)  Providing ophthalmic dispensing services under 36 
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the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed or registered dispensing 1 

optician, Arkansas-licensed optometrist, or Arkansas physician skilled in 2 

diseases of the eye. 3 

 4 

 SECTION 81.  Arkansas Code § 17-89-303 is amended to read as follows: 5 

 17-89-303.  Qualifications — Registered dispensing opticians. 6 

 Every applicant for examination as a registered dispensing optician 7 

shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing 8 

Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good moral 9 

character, a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either: 10 

  (1)  Has a minimum of three (3) years' dispensing experience in 11 

Arkansas under the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed optometrist or 12 

Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye; 13 

  (2)  Has a minimum of three (3) years' experience under the 14 

direct supervision of a licensed or registered dispensing optician holding a 15 

certificate of licensure or registry in the State of Arkansas, one (1) year 16 

of which may be while working in a qualified full-service optical laboratory 17 

approved by the board; or 18 

  (3)  Is a graduate of an approved school of opticianry which has 19 

been accredited by a national accreditation organization and is recognized by 20 

the board. 21 

 22 

 SECTION 82.  Arkansas Code § 17-89-305(b), concerning reciprocity for 23 

dispensing opticians, is amended to read as follows: 24 

 (b)  The certificate may be issued without a written or practical 25 

examination upon payment of the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the 26 

Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and upon 27 

satisfactory proof that the applicant: 28 

  (1)  Is qualified under the provisions of this chapter; 29 

  (2)  Is of good moral character; 30 

  (3)(2)  Has provided ophthalmic dispensing services to the public 31 

as a dispensing optician in the state of licensure or registration for a 32 

period of at least five (5) years for licensure or three (3) years for 33 

registration immediately before his or her application for reciprocity to 34 

this state; and 35 

  (4)(3)  Is licensed or registered in a state which grants like 36 
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reciprocal privileges to opticians who hold certificates of licensure or 1 

registry issued by this state. 2 

 3 

 SECTION 83.  Arkansas Code § 17-89-306(b), concerning an ophthalmic 4 

dispensers from nonlicensing states seeking licensure as a dispensing 5 

opticians in Arkansas, is amended to read as follows: 6 

 (b)  The applicant must shall: 7 

  (1)  Be qualified under the provisions of this chapter; 8 

  (2)  Be of good moral character; 9 

  (3)(2)  Have been engaged in ophthalmic dispensing as described 10 

in § 17-89-102(4) for a period of: 11 

   (A)  Five (5) years for applicants for licensure, of which 12 

no more than three (3) years may be while working in a qualified full-service 13 

optical laboratory approved by the board; or 14 

   (B)  Three (3) years for applicants for registry, of which 15 

no more than one (1) year may be while working in a qualified full-service 16 

laboratory approved by the board immediately before the date of application; 17 

  (4)(3)  Successfully complete the written and practical 18 

examination for licensure or registry prepared and conducted by the board; 19 

and 20 

  (5)(4)  Have paid the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the 21 

Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians. 22 

 23 

 SECTION 84.  Arkansas Code § 17-89-309(a)(3), concerning grounds of 24 

denial, suspension, or revocation of a licensure or registration of an 25 

ophthalmic dispensers, is amended to read as follows: 26 

  (3)  The applicant, licensee, or registrant being convicted of a 27 

felony listed under § 17-2-102 in any state or federal court, and not 28 

pardoned, if the acts for which the person is convicted are found by the 29 

board to have a direct bearing on whether he or she should be entrusted to 30 

serve the public in the capacity of a dispensing optician; 31 

 32 

 SECTION 85.  Arkansas Code § 17-90-301(b), concerning examinations for 33 

licensure as an optometrist, is amended to read as follows: 34 

 (b)  Every applicant for examination shall present satisfactory 35 

evidence that he or she is: 36 
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  (1)  Over At least twenty-one (21) years of age; 1 

  (2)  A successful candidate having passed all parts of the 2 

National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination since January 1, 1997; 3 

and 4 

  (3)  Of good moral character; and 5 

  (4)(3)  A graduate of a college of optometry that has been 6 

accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the 7 

American Optometric Association. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 86.  Arkansas Code § 17-90-302(c)(3), concerning licensure by 10 

endorsement for optometrists, is amended to read as follows: 11 

  (3)  A certificate of good standing from each authority which 12 

issued the license, setting forth the applicant's moral reputation and 13 

character, history with the authority, professional ability, continuing 14 

education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of 15 

Optometry may deem necessary or expedient; 16 

 17 

 SECTION 87.  Arkansas Code § 17-90-305(a)(3), concerning the grounds 18 

for denial, revocation, or suspension of an optometrist license, is amended 19 

to read as follows: 20 

  (3)  Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or the 21 

conviction of a misdemeanor, if the misdemeanor conduct would denote an 22 

impairment in the ability to practice optometry; 23 

 24 

 SECTION 88.  Arkansas Code § 17-91-101(a), concerning the licensing 25 

requirements for an osteopathic physician, is amended to read as follows: 26 

 (a)  The Arkansas State Medical Board shall accept for licensure by 27 

examination any person who: 28 

  (1)  Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age; 29 

  (2)  Is a citizen of the United States; 30 

  (3)  Is of good moral character; 31 

  (4)(3)  Has not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional 32 

conduct as defined in the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et 33 

seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq.; 34 

  (5)(4)  Is a graduate of an osteopathic college of medicine whose 35 

course of study has been recognized by the Department of Education of the 36 
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American Osteopathic Association; and 1 

  (6)(5)  Has completed a one-year internship in a hospital 2 

approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic 3 

Association. 4 

 5 

 SECTION 89.  Arkansas Code § 17-92-305(a), concerning qualification of 6 

applicants for licensure as a pharmacist, is amended to read as follows: 7 

 (a)  Each applicant for examination as a pharmacist shall: 8 

  (1)  Shall be Be not less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and 9 

  (2)  Shall be of good moral character and temperate habits; and 10 

  (3)(2)  Shall have Have: 11 

   (A)  Graduated and received the first professional 12 

undergraduate degree from a pharmacy degree program which has been approved 13 

by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or 14 

   (B)  Graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy, 15 

completed a transcript verification program, taken and passed a college of 16 

pharmacy equivalency exam program, and completed a process of communication 17 

ability testing as defined under board regulations so that it is assured that 18 

the applicant meets standards necessary to protect public health and safety. 19 

 20 

 SECTION 90.  Arkansas Code § 17-92-311(a)(3), concerning grounds for 21 

revocation, suspension, or nonrewal of licensure or registration, is amended 22 

to read as follows: 23 

  (3)  The person has been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo 24 

contendere in a criminal proceeding, regardless of whether or not the 25 

adjudication of guilt or sentence is withheld by a court of this state, 26 

another state, or the United States Government for: 27 

   (A)  Any felony listed under § 17-2-102; 28 

   (B)  Any act involving moral turpitude, gross immorality, 29 

or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a 30 

licensee; or 31 

   (C)  Any violation of the pharmacy or drug laws or rules of 32 

this state, or of the pharmacy or drug statutes, rules, and regulations of 33 

any other state or of the United States Government; 34 

 35 

 SECTION 91.  Arkansas Code § 17-92-317(e), concerning criminal 36 
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background check requirements for an intern or pharmacist license or a 1 

pharmacy technician registration, is amended to read as follows: 2 

 (e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-1-103, no person shall be a 3 

person is not eligible to receive or hold an intern or pharmacist license or 4 

pharmacy technician registration issued by the board if that person has 5 

pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty of, any of the 6 

following offenses, regardless of whether an adjudication of guilt or 7 

sentencing or imposition of sentence is withheld, by any court in the State 8 

of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any 9 

similar offense by a federal court: 10 

  (1)  Any felony listed under § 17-2-102; 11 

  (2)  Any act involving moral turpitude, gross immorality, 12 

dishonesty, or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties 13 

of a person holding the license or registration; or 14 

  (3)  Any violation of Arkansas pharmacy or drug law or 15 

regulations, including, but not limited to, this chapter, the Uniform 16 

Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq., and the Food, Drug, and 17 

Cosmetic Act, § 20-56-201 et seq. 18 

 19 

 SECTION 92.  Arkansas Code § 17-93-303(b), concerning qualification of 20 

applicants for licensure as a physical therapist, is amended to read as 21 

follows: 22 

 (b)  Each physical therapist applicant shall: 23 

  (1)  Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; 24 

  (2)  Be of good moral character; 25 

  (3)(2)  Have graduated from a school of physical therapy 26 

accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the board; 27 

  (4)(3)  Have passed examinations selected and approved by the 28 

board; and 29 

  (5)(4)  Submit fees as determined by the board. 30 

 31 

 SECTION 93.  Arkansas Code § 17-93-304(b), concerning qualification of 32 

applicants for licensure as a physical therapist assistant, is amended to 33 

read as follows: 34 

 (b)  Each physical therapist assistant applicant shall: 35 

  (1)  Be at least eighteen (18) years of age; 36 
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  (2)  Be of good moral character; 1 

  (3)(2)  Have graduated from a school of physical therapy 2 

accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the Arkansas State 3 

Board of Physical Therapy; 4 

  (4)(3)  Have passed examinations selected and approved by the 5 

Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy; and 6 

  (5)(4)  Submit fees as determined by the Arkansas State Board of 7 

Physical Therapy. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 94.  Arkansas Code § 17-93-308(a)(4), concerning the 10 

revocation, suspension, or denial of licensure for physical therapists, is 11 

repealed. 12 

  (4)  Has been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude; 13 

 14 

 SECTION 95.  Arkansas Code § 17-93-412(a)(1), concerning the 15 

revocation. suspension, or denial of a license for an athletic trainer, is 16 

amended to read as follows: 17 

  (1)  Been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral 18 

turpitude, the record of conviction being conclusive evidence of conviction 19 

if the board determines after investigation that the person has not been 20 

sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust listed under § 17-2-21 

102; 22 

 23 

 SECTION 96.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-104(a)(2), concerning a hospital's 24 

duty to report physician misconduct, is amended to read as follows: 25 

  (2)  The hospital shall also report any other formal disciplinary 26 

action concerning any such physician taken by the hospital upon 27 

recommendation of the medical staff relating to professional ethics, medical 28 

incompetence, moral turpitude, or drug or alcohol abuse. 29 

 30 

 SECTION 97.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-307 is amended to read as follows: 31 

 17-95-307.  License eligibility. 32 

 No A person shall be is not eligible to receive or hold a license to 33 

practice medicine or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas 34 

State Medical Board if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or 35 

has been found guilty of either an infamous crime that would impact his or 36 
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her ability to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas or a felony listed 1 

under § 17-2-102, regardless of whether the conviction has been sealed, 2 

expunged, or pardoned. 3 

 4 

 SECTION 98.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-403(b)(2), concerning qualification 5 

of applicants for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows: 6 

  (2)  Is of good moral character and has Has not been guilty of 7 

acts constituting unprofessional conduct as defined in § 17-95-409; 8 

 9 

 SECTION 99.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-408(d)(2), concerning annual 10 

registration for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows: 11 

  (2)  If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall 12 

consider the moral character and professional qualifications of the applicant 13 

upon notice and hearing before ordering reinstatement. Unless such a showing 14 

shall thereupon be made to the board as would entitle the applicant to the 15 

issuance of an original license, reinstatement shall be denied. 16 

 17 

 SECTION 100.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-409(a)(2)(A), concerning the 18 

grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a physician license, is 19 

amended to read as follows: 20 

   (A)(i)  Conviction of any crime involving moral turpitude 21 

or conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102. 22 

    (ii)  The judgment of any such conviction, unless 23 

pending upon appeal, shall be conclusive evidence of unprofessional conduct; 24 

 25 

 SECTION 101.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-903(b)(7), concerning 26 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a graduate registered 27 

physician, is repealed. 28 

  (7)  Is of good moral character; and 29 

 30 

 SECTION 102.  Arkansas Code § 17-95-910 is amended to read as follows: 31 

 17-95-910. Violation. 32 

 Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board 33 

may discipline a graduate registered physician who: 34 

  (1)  Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a 35 

license; 36 
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  (2)  Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license; 1 

  (3)  Violates any provision of this subchapter or any rules 2 

adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter; 3 

  (4)  Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 4 

  (5)  Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to the extent 5 

that he or she is unable to safely perform as a graduate registered 6 

physician; or 7 

  (6)  Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental 8 

condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a graduate 9 

registered physician; or 10 

  (7)  Has committed an act of moral turpitude. 11 

 12 

 SECTION 103.  Arkansas Code § 17-96-303(a), concerning qualifications 13 

of an applicant for licensure as a podiatrist, is amended to read as follows: 14 

 (a)  No person shall be entitled to A person shall not take any 15 

examination for such registration unless that person shall furnish the 16 

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine with satisfactory proof that he or she: 17 

  (1)  Is twenty-one (21) years of age or over; and 18 

  (2)  Is of good moral character; and 19 

  (3)(2)  Has received a license or certificate of graduation from 20 

a legally incorporated, regularly established school of podiatric medicine 21 

recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American 22 

Podiatric Medical Association within the states, territories, districts, and 23 

provinces of the United States or within any foreign country. 24 

 25 

 SECTION 104.  Arkansas Code § 17-96-308(c)(2)(C), concerning the 26 

definition of "unprofessional and dishonest conduct" regarding podiatric 27 

medicine licensure, is repealed. 28 

   (C)  Being guilty of an offense involving moral turpitude; 29 

 30 

 SECTION 105.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-201(a)(5)(B), concerning the 31 

membership of the Arkansas Psychology Board, is amended to read as follows: 32 

   (B)  The Governor shall remove any member from the board if 33 

he or she: 34 

    (i)  Ceases to be qualified; 35 

    (ii)  Fails to attend three (3) successive board 36 
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meetings without just cause as determined by the board; 1 

    (iii)  Is found to be in violation of this chapter; 2 

    (iv)  Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found 3 

guilty of a felony or an unlawful act involving moral turpitude listed under 4 

§ 17-2-102 by a court of competent jurisdiction; or 5 

    (v)  Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found 6 

guilty of malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in relation to his or her 7 

board duties by a court of competent jurisdiction. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 106.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-302(b)(1), concerning 10 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to 11 

read as follows: 12 

 (b)(1)  A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with 13 

satisfactory evidence that he or she: 14 

   (A)  Is of good moral character; 15 

   (B)(A)  Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from 16 

an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory 17 

standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a 18 

doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board 19 

that the training required therefor is substantially similar; 20 

   (C)(B)  Has had at least two (2) years of experience in 21 

psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with 22 

at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral work; 23 

   (D)(C)  Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing 24 

examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems necessary; 25 

   (E)(D)  Is not considered by the board to be engaged in 26 

unethical practice; 27 

   (F)(E)  Has applied for a criminal background check and has 28 

not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the 29 

offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and 30 

   (G)(F)  Has not failed an examination given by the board 31 

within the preceding six (6) months. 32 

 33 

 SECTION 107.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-303(b)(1), concerning 34 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychological examiner, is 35 

amended to read as follows: 36 
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 (b)(1)  A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with 1 

satisfactory evidence that he or she: 2 

   (A)  Is of good moral character; 3 

   (B)(A)  Has a master's degree in psychology or a closely 4 

related field from an accredited educational institution recognized by the 5 

board as maintaining satisfactory standards; 6 

   (C)(B)  Is competent as a psychological examiner as shown 7 

by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems 8 

necessary; 9 

   (D)(C)  Is not considered by the board to be engaged in 10 

unethical practice; 11 

   (E)(D)  Has applied for a criminal background check and has 12 

not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the 13 

offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and 14 

   (F)(E)  Has not failed an examination given by the board 15 

within the preceding six (6) months. 16 

 17 

 SECTION 108.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1)(C), concerning the 18 

qualifications for examination for a provisional license as a psychologist, 19 

is repealed. 20 

   (C)  Has good moral character;  21 

 22 

 SECTION 109.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1)(F), concerning the 23 

qualifications for a provisional license for psychologists and psychological 24 

examiners, is amended to read as follows: 25 

  (F)  Has not been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude 26 

or a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 27 

 28 

 SECTION 110.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-308(f)(2), concerning annual 29 

registration for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to read as follows: 30 

  (2)  If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall 31 

consider the moral character and professional qualifications of the applicant 32 

as in the case of an original application. 33 

 34 

 SECTION 111.  Arkansas Code § 17-97-312(d)-(m), concerning criminal 35 

background checks for psychologists and psychological examiners, are amended 36 
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to read as follows: 1 

 (d)  Upon completion of the criminal background check, the 2 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall 3 

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the 4 

applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (f) of this 5 

section. 6 

 (e)  At the conclusion of any background check required by this 7 

section, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police 8 

shall promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant. 9 

 (f)  For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing 10 

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided 11 

in subdivision (m)(1) of this section, no person shall be eligible to receive 12 

or hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded guilty or 13 

nolo contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by 14 

any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in 15 

another state or of any similar offense by a federal court: 16 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 17 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and 18 

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 19 

  (3)  Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104; 20 

  (4)  Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105; 21 

  (5)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 22 

  (6)  False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-23 

11-103; 24 

  (7)  Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-25 

106; 26 

  (8)  Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102; 27 

  (9)  Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103; 28 

  (10)  Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201; 29 

  (11)  Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204; 30 

  (12)  Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of 31 

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210; 32 

  (13)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 33 

employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 34 

  (14)  Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited 35 

in § 5-13-301; 36 
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  (15)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 1 

  (16)  Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110; 2 

  (17)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 3 

  (18)  Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third 4 

degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127; 5 

  (19)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 6 

  (20)  Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 — 7 

5-26-306; 8 

  (21)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 9 

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 10 

  (22)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 11 

prohibited in § 5-27-205; 12 

  (23)  Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221; 13 

  (24)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in 14 

visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 15 

conduct, pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting sexually 16 

explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a 17 

child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual 18 

performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and 19 

5-27-403; 20 

  (25)  Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603; 21 

  (26)  Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as 22 

prohibited in § 5-27-605; 23 

  (27)  Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103; 24 

  (28)  Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103; 25 

  (29)  Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106; 26 

  (30)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301; 27 

  (31)  Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201; 28 

  (32)  Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 29 

§ 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 — 30 

5-64-442; 31 

  (33)  Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited 32 

in § 5-70-104; 33 

  (34)  Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and 34 

  (35)  Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal 35 

solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-36 
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3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection. 1 

 (g)(1)  The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of 2 

provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the 3 

results of the criminal background check. 4 

  (2)  Except as provided in subdivision (m)(1) of this section, 5 

upon receipt of information from the Identification Bureau of the Department 6 

of Arkansas State Police that the person holding a letter of provisional 7 

licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found guilty of 8 

any offense listed in subsection (f) of this section, the board shall 9 

immediately revoke the provisional license. 10 

 (h)(1)  The provisions of subsection (f) and subdivision (g)(2) of this 11 

section may be waived by the board upon the request of: 12 

   (A)  An affected applicant for licensure; or 13 

   (B)  The person holding a license subject to revocation. 14 

  (2)  Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall 15 

include, but not be limited to, the following: 16 

   (A)  The age at which the crime was committed; 17 

   (B)  The circumstances surrounding the crime; 18 

   (C)  The length of time since the crime; 19 

   (D)  Subsequent work history; 20 

   (E)  Employment references; 21 

   (F)  Character references; and 22 

   (G)  Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does 23 

not pose a threat to the health or safety of children. 24 

 (i)(1)(h)(1)  Any information received by the board from the 25 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant to 26 

under this section shall not be available for examination except by the 27 

affected applicant for licensure or his or her authorized representative or 28 

the person whose license is subject to revocation or his or her authorized 29 

representative. 30 

  (2)  No record, file, or document shall be removed from the 31 

custody of the department. 32 

 (j)(i)  Any information made available to the affected applicant for 33 

licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be 34 

information pertaining to that person only. 35 

 (k)(j)  Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this 36 
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section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this 1 

background check. 2 

 (l)(k)  The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulations to 3 

fully implement the provisions of this section. 4 

 (m)(1)  For purposes of this section, an expunged record of a 5 

conviction or plea of guilty of or nolo contendere to an offense listed in 6 

subsection (f) of this section shall not be considered a conviction, guilty 7 

plea, or nolo contendere plea to the offense unless the offense is also 8 

listed in subdivision (m)(2) of this section. 9 

  (2)  Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close 10 

relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, the following shall 11 

result in permanent disqualification: 12 

   (A)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 13 

   (B)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 14 

and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 15 

   (C)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 16 

   (D)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or 17 

an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 18 

   (E)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 19 

   (F)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 20 

   (G)  Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 21 

5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125; 22 

   (H)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 23 

   (I)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in 24 

the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 25 

   (J)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree 26 

as prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the 27 

second degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206; 28 

   (K)  Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in 29 

§ 5-28-103; and 30 

   (L)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301. 31 

 32 

 SECTION 112.  Arkansas Code § 17-98-302(a), concerning admission to 33 

examination for licensure as a disease intervention specialist, is amended to 34 

read as follows: 35 

 (a)  The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall admit to 36 
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examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the State 1 

Board of Disease Intervention Specialists on forms prescribed and furnished 2 

by the board, pays an application fee set by the board to defray the expense 3 

of examination, and submits satisfactory proof to the board that he or she: 4 

  (1)  Is a person of good moral character; 5 

  (2)(1)  Meets the minimum educational requirements; 6 

  (3)(2)  Meets the minimum specialized training requirements, as 7 

determined by the board; 8 

  (4)(3)  Has had two (2) years of field experience in human 9 

immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; and 10 

  (5)(4)  Is actively engaged in the field of human 11 

immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention at the time 12 

he or she makes application. 13 

 14 

 SECTION 113.  Arkansas Code § 17-98-303 is amended to read as follows: 15 

 17-98-303.  Issuance of certificate without examination. 16 

 The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall issue a 17 

certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes 18 

application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a 19 

registration fee set by the board, and submits satisfactory proof that he or 20 

she: 21 

  (1)  Is of good moral character; 22 

  (2)(1)  Has had at least two (2) years' experience in the field 23 

of human immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; 24 

and 25 

  (3)(2)  Is registered as a disease intervention specialist in a 26 

state in which the qualifications for registration are not lower than the 27 

qualifications for registration in this state at the time he or she applies 28 

for registration. 29 

 30 

 SECTION 114.  Arkansas Code §§ 17-98-305 and 17-98-306 are amended to 31 

read as follows: 32 

 17-98-305.  Application for reinstatement. 33 

 (a)  A former registered disease intervention specialist whose 34 

certificate has expired or has been suspended or revoked may make application 35 

for reinstatement by paying a renewal fee and submitting satisfactory proof 36 
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to the State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists that he or she has 1 

complied with the continuing education requirements. 2 

 (b)  The board shall consider the moral character and professional 3 

qualifications of the applicant as in the case of an original application. 4 

 5 

 17-98-306.  Refusal to renew — Suspension or revocation. 6 

 The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists may refuse to renew 7 

or may suspend or revoke a certificate upon proof that the applicant: 8 

  (1)  Is not of good character; or 9 

  (2)  Is is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence, 10 

incompetency, or misconduct relative to his or her duties as a disease 11 

intervention specialist. 12 

 13 

 SECTION 115.  Arkansas Code § 17-99-302(b), concerning qualifications 14 

of an applicant for licensure as a respiratory care practitioner, is amended 15 

to read as follows: 16 

 (b)  Each applicant must shall: 17 

  (1)  Be at least eighteen (18) years of age; 18 

  (2)  Be of good moral character; 19 

  (3)(2)  Have been awarded a high school diploma or its 20 

equivalent; 21 

  (4)(3)  Have satisfactorily completed training in a respiratory 22 

care program which has been approved by the Arkansas State Respiratory Care 23 

Examining Committee, to include adequate instruction in basic medical 24 

science, clinical science, and respiratory care theory and procedures; and 25 

  (5)(4)  Have passed an examination approved by the Arkansas State 26 

Medical Board and the committee, unless exempted by other provisions of this 27 

chapter. 28 

 29 

 SECTION 116.  Arkansas Code § 17-99-307(3), concerning the grounds for 30 

denial, suspension, or revocation of a respiratory care practitioner license, 31 

is repealed. 32 

  (3)  Has been convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude; 33 

 34 

 SECTION 117.  Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(b), concerning qualifications 35 

of an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or 36 
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audiologist, is amended to read as follows: 1 

 (b)  To be eligible for licensure by the board as a speech-language 2 

pathologist or audiologist, a person shall: 3 

  (1)  Be of good moral character; 4 

  (2)(1)  Possess at least a master's degree in the area of speech-5 

language pathology or a master's degree in audiology obtained on or before 6 

December 30, 2006, or a doctoral degree obtained after January 1, 2007, from 7 

an educational institution recognized by the board; 8 

  (3)(2)  Submit evidence of the completion of the educational, 9 

clinical experience, and employment requirements, which shall be based on 10 

appropriate national standards and prescribed by the rules adopted under this 11 

chapter; and 12 

  (4)(3)  Pass an examination approved by the board before the 13 

board approves a license. 14 

 15 

 SECTION 118.  Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(d), concerning qualifications 16 

of an applicant for provisional licensure as a speech-language pathologist or 17 

audiologist, is amended to read as follows: 18 

 (d)  To be eligible for provisional licensure by the board as a speech-19 

language pathologist or audiologist, a person shall: 20 

  (1)  Be of good moral character; 21 

  (2)(1)  Possess at least a master's degree in the area of speech-22 

language pathology or audiology, as the case may be, from an educational 23 

institution recognized by the board; 24 

  (3)(2)  Be in the process of completing the postgraduate 25 

professional experience requirement; and 26 

  (4)(3)  Pass an examination approved by the board. 27 

 28 

 SECTION 119.  Arkansas Code § 17-100-307(a)(3), concerning the grounds 29 

for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or other disciplinary 30 

action for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, is amended to read 31 

as follows: 32 

  (3)(A)  Being convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in 33 

any court of the United States if the acts for which the licensee or 34 

applicant is convicted are found by the board to have a direct bearing on 35 

whether he or she should be entrusted to serve the public in the capacity of 36 
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a speech language pathologist or audiologist. 1 

   (B)  A plea or verdict of guilty made to a charge of a 2 

felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude is a conviction within the 3 

meaning of this section. 4 

   (C)(B)  At the direction of the board, and after due notice 5 

and an administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of applicable 6 

Arkansas laws, the license of the person so convicted shall be suspended or 7 

revoked or the board shall decline to issue a license when: 8 

    (i)  The time for appeal has elapsed; 9 

    (ii)  The judgment of conviction has been affirmed on 10 

appeal; or 11 

    (iii)  An order granting probation has been made 12 

suspending the imposition of sentence, without regard to a subsequent order 13 

under the provisions of state law allowing the withdrawal of a guilty plea 14 

and the substitution of a not guilty plea, or the setting aside of a guilty 15 

verdict, or the dismissal of the acquisition, information, or indictment; 16 

 17 

 SECTION 120.  Arkansas Code § 17-101-305(a)(4)(A), concerning the 18 

grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a veterinarian license, is 19 

amended to read as follows: 20 

  (4)(A)  Conviction of a felony or other crime involving moral 21 

turpitude listed under § 17-2-102. 22 

 23 

 SECTION 121.  Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(a)(3), concerning 24 

qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist, 25 

is amended to read as follows: 26 

  (3)  Before any applicant shall be eligible for an examination, 27 

the applicant shall furnish satisfactory proof to the board that he or she: 28 

   (A)  Is of good moral character by filing with his or her 29 

application the affidavits of at least two (2) reputable acupuncturists who 30 

attest to his or her character; 31 

   (B)(A)  Has successfully completed not fewer than sixty 32 

(60) semester credit hours of college education, to include a minimum of 33 

thirty (30) semester credit hours in the field of science; and 34 

   (C)(B)  Has completed a program in acupuncture and related 35 

techniques and has received a certificate or diploma from an institute 36 
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approved by the board as described in this section. The training received in 1 

the program shall be for a period of no fewer than four (4) academic years 2 

and shall include a minimum of eight hundred (800) hours of supervised 3 

clinical practice. 4 

 5 

 SECTION 122.  Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(c)(4), concerning 6 

qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist, 7 

is amended to read as follows: 8 

  (4)  Not have been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 9 

and 10 

 11 

 SECTION 123.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-305(b), concerning the grounds for 12 

renewal, revocation, or suspension of a social worker license, is amended to 13 

read as follows: 14 

 (b)  The board shall refuse to issue or shall revoke the license of a 15 

person who has been found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral 16 

turpitude, listed under § 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, 17 

dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable 18 

unless the person requests and the board grants a waiver under § 17-103-19 

307(f). 20 

 21 

 SECTION 124.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(1)(D), concerning 22 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed social worker, is 23 

repealed. 24 

   (D)  Has good moral character; 25 

 26 

 SECTION 125.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(1)(G), concerning 27 

qualifications for a Licensed Social Worker license, is amended to read as 28 

follows: 29 

   (G)  Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 30 

found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under § 31 

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, 32 

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable; 33 

 34 

 SECTION 126.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(b)(1)(G), concerning the 35 

qualifications for a Licensed Master Social Worker license, is amended to 36 
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read as follows: 1 

   (G)  Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 2 

found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under § 3 

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, 4 

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable; 5 

 6 

 SECTION 127.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(c)(1)(H), concerning the 7 

qualifications for a Licensed Certified Social Worker license, is amended to 8 

read as follows: 9 

  (H)  Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found 10 

guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, listed under § 17-2-11 

102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach 12 

of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable; 13 

 14 

 SECTION 128.  Arkansas Code § 17-103-307(d)-(k), concerning criminal 15 

background check requirements for social workers, are amended to read as 16 

follows: 17 

 (d)  Upon completion of the criminal background check, the 18 

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall 19 

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the 20 

applicant in the commission of any offense listed in subsection (e) of this 21 

section. 22 

 (e)  For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing 23 

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Except as provided 24 

in subdivision (k)(1) of this section, a person is not eligible to receive or 25 

hold a license issued by the board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo 26 

contendere to or been found guilty of a felony, any crime involving moral 27 

turpitude, or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, 28 

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable, including without 29 

limitation: 30 

  (1)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 31 

  (2)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and 32 

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 33 

  (3)  Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104; 34 

  (4)  Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105; 35 

  (5)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 36 
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  (6)  False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-1 

11-103; 2 

  (7)  Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-3 

106; 4 

  (8)  Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102; 5 

  (9)  Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103; 6 

  (10)  Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201; 7 

  (11)  Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204; 8 

  (12)  Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of 9 

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210; 10 

  (13)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an 11 

employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 12 

  (14)  Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited 13 

in § 5-13-301; 14 

  (15)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 15 

  (16)  Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110; 16 

  (17)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 17 

  (18)  Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third 18 

degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127; 19 

  (19)  Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202; 20 

  (20)  Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 — 21 

5-26-306; 22 

  (21)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the 23 

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 24 

  (22)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as 25 

prohibited in § 5-27-205; 26 

  (23)  Permitting abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-221(a); 27 

  (24)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in 28 

visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 29 

conduct, pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting sexually 30 

explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a 31 

child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual 32 

performance by a child as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402, and 33 

5-27-403; 34 

  (25)  Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603; 35 

  (26)  Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as 36 
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prohibited in § 5-27-605; 1 

  (27)  Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103; 2 

  (28)  Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103; 3 

  (29)  Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106; 4 

  (30)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301; 5 

  (31)  Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201; 6 

  (32)  Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 7 

§ 5-64-101 et seq., as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401 and §§ 5-64-419 — 8 

5-64-442; 9 

  (33)  Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited 10 

in § 5-70-104; 11 

  (34)  Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229; and 12 

  (35)  Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal 13 

solicitation, or criminal conspiracy as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5-14 

3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this subsection. 15 

 (f)(1)  The provisions of subsection (e) of this section may be waived 16 

by the board upon the request of: 17 

   (A)  An affected applicant for licensure; or 18 

   (B)  The person holding a license subject to revocation. 19 

  (2)  Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted include, but 20 

are not limited to, the following: 21 

   (A)  The applicant's age at the time the crime was 22 

committed; 23 

   (B)  The circumstances surrounding the crime; 24 

   (C)  The length of time since the crime; 25 

   (D)  Subsequent work history; 26 

   (E)  Employment references; 27 

   (F)  Character references; and 28 

   (G)  Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does 29 

not pose a threat to the health or safety of children or endangered adults. 30 

 (g)(1)(f)(1)  Information received by the board from the Identification 31 

Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police under this section shall 32 

not be available for examination except by the affected applicant for 33 

licensure or his or her authorized representative or the person whose license 34 

is subject to revocation or his or her authorized representative. 35 

  (2)  No record, file, or document shall be removed from the 36 
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custody of the department. 1 

 (h)(g)  Information made available to the affected applicant for 2 

licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be 3 

information pertaining to that person only. 4 

 (i)(h)  Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this 5 

section do not extend to any document created for purposes other than the 6 

criminal background check. 7 

 (j)(i)  The board shall adopt the necessary rules to fully implement 8 

the provisions of this section. 9 

 (k)(1)  As used in this section, an expunged record of a conviction or 10 

plea of guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in subsection (e) of 11 

this section shall not be a felony, any crime involving moral turpitude, or a 12 

criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of 13 

client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable unless the offense is also listed in 14 

subdivision (k)(2) of this section. 15 

  (2)  Because of the serious nature of the offenses and the close 16 

relationship to the type of work that is to be performed, a conviction, 17 

guilty plea, or nolo contendere plea to any of the following offenses shall 18 

result in permanent disqualification for licensure: 19 

   (A)  Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101; 20 

   (B)  Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 21 

and murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103; 22 

   (C)  Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102; 23 

   (D)  Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or 24 

an employee of a correctional facility, § 5-13-211, if a Class Y felony; 25 

   (E)  Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103; 26 

   (F)  Sexual extortion, § 5-14-113; 27 

   (G)  Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 28 

5-14-124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125; 29 

   (H)  Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in 30 

the first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201; 31 

   (I)  Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree 32 

as prohibited in § 5-27-205 and endangering the welfare of a minor in the 33 

second degree as prohibited in § 5-27-206; 34 

   (J)  Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use 35 

in visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual 36 
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conduct, or pandering or possessing a visual or print medium depicting 1 

sexually explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to 2 

use of a child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting 3 

a sexual performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-4 

27-402, and 5-27-403; 5 

   (K)  Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in 6 

§ 5-28-103; and 7 

   (L)  Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301. 8 

 9 

 SECTION 129.  Arkansas Code § 17-104-312(3)(F), concerning violations 10 

of the Perfusionist Licensure Act, is amended to read as follows: 11 

   (F)  A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of 12 

guilt of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or any offense substantially 13 

related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a perfusionist, in 14 

which event the record shall be conclusive evidence; or 15 

 16 

 SECTION 130.  Arkansas Code § 17-105-102(b)(6), concerning 17 

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a physician assistant, is 18 

repealed. 19 

  (6)  Is of good moral character; 20 

 21 

 SECTION 131.  Arkansas Code § 17-105-113 is amended to read as follows: 22 

 17-105-113.  Violation. 23 

 Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board 24 

may discipline any physician assistant who: 25 

  (1)  Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a 26 

license; 27 

  (2)  Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license; 28 

  (3)  Violates any provision of this chapter or any regulations 29 

adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter; 30 

  (4)  Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102; 31 

  (5)  Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to such an extent 32 

that he or she is unable to safely perform as a physician assistant; 33 

  (6)  Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental 34 

condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a physician 35 

assistant; or 36 
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  (7)  Has committed an act of moral turpitude; or 1 

  (8)(7)  Represents himself or herself as a physician. 2 

 3 

 SECTION 132.  Arkansas Code § 17-106-107(a)(2), concerning the 4 

licensing requirements for healthcare professionals who use radioactive 5 

materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on 6 

human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as 7 

follows: 8 

  (2)  Submit satisfactory evidence verified by oath or affirmation 9 

that the applicant: 10 

   (A)  Is qualified to administer radioactive materials or 11 

operate medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation upon human 12 

beings; 13 

   (B)  Is of good moral character; 14 

   (C)(B)  Is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time 15 

of application; and 16 

   (D)(C)  Has been awarded a high school diploma or has 17 

passed the General Educational Development Test or the equivalent. 18 

 19 

 SECTION 133.  Arkansas Code § 17-106-110(a)(2), concerning discipline 20 

for healthcare professionals who use radioactive materials or medical 21 

equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for 22 

diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as follows: 23 

  (2)  Has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a 24 

court of competent jurisdiction either within or outside of this state unless 25 

the conviction has been reversed and the holder of the license has been 26 

discharged or acquitted or if the holder has been pardoned with full 27 

restoration of civil rights, in which case the license shall be restored; 28 

 29 

 SECTION 134.  Arkansas Code § 17-107-310(1), concerning disciplinary 30 

action for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, is amended to read as 31 

follows: 32 

  (1)  Has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found 33 

guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;  34 

 35 

 36 
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/s/J. Cooper 1 

 2 

 3 

APPROVED: 4/15/19 4 

 5 

 6 

 7 

 8 

 9 

 10 

 11 
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 14 

 15 

 16 
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 28 

 29 

 30 

 31 

 32 
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 34 

 35 
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