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010.14-300 Child Labor Administrative Rules 

GENERAL 

010.14-300 Definitions 

1. "Child" or "children" means any person under the age of seventeen (17) years, unless

more narrowly defined within the context of a specific rule. 

2. "Department" means the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing.

3. "Director" means the Director of the Division of Labor, Arkansas Department of

Labor and Licensing. 

4. "Division" means the Labor Standards Division of Labor of the Arkansas Department

of Labor and Licensing. 

5. "Employ" includes to suffer or permit to work.

6. "FLSA" means the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201 et seq.

7. "Non-School Days" means days that school is not in session in the district where a

child resides. 

8. "Remunerative Occupation" means any occupation in which compensation for

services is made, anticipated, or required by contract or by the FLSA or Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-

201 et seq. 

9. "School Vacation" means any period, other than a weekend, in which school is not in

session in the district where a child resides.  This includes summer break, Christmas break, and 

spring break. 

10. “Section” means the Labor Standards Section, Division of Labor, Department of

Labor and Licensing. 

010.14-301 Minimum Age Standards 

(a) No child sixteen (16) years of age shall be subject to these rules if:

(1) The child is a graduate of any high school, vocational school or technical school;

or 

(2) The child is married or is a parent.

(b) No child under the age of fourteen (14) years shall be employed or permitted to work

in any remunerative occupation, except as follows: 

(1) During school vacation, children under fourteen (14) years may be employed by

their parents or guardians in occupations owned or controlled by them; 

(2)(A)  A child under the age of fourteen (14) years may be employed or may enter 

into contracts upon written approval of the parent or guardian of the minor to buy, sell, and 

deliver and to collect for newspapers during the school term or during vacation, if the child is 

attending school, as required by law, and does not engage in the employment or activity except at 

times when his presence is not required at school. 
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(B)  The provisions of Rule 010.14-301(a)(2)(A) shall be applicable only where 

the provision is made by the employer or newspaper company contractor to provide insurance or 

indemnity for injury to or death of the minor arising out of bodily injury caused by an accident 

when the accident hazard arises while the minor is on the business of the employer or performing 

the activities set out in the contract. 

 

(C)  The schedule of benefits under this program of insurance or indemnity shall 

provide at least ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for accidental death of the minor, and the sum 

shall be reasonably and equitably prorated for dismemberment of the minor.  The insurance of 

indemnity shall further provide blanket medical coverage for all hospital and medical expenses 

up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) resulting from an accident.  This hospital and medical 

expense protection shall be excess insurance coverage or indemnity over and above any other 

collectable insurance. 

 

(3)(A)  A child under the age of fourteen (14) years may be employed or may enter 

into contracts, upon written approval of the parent or guardian of the minor, to serve as and 

perform the duties of a "batboy" or "batgirl", for a professional baseball club, during the school 

term, or during vacation, if the child is attending school, as required by law, and does not engage 

in the employment or activity except at times when his presence is not required at school. 

 

(B)  The provisions of 010.14-301(a)(3)(A) shall be applicable only where the 

provision is made by the employer or professional baseball club to provide insurance or 

indemnity for injury to or death of the minor arising out of bodily injury caused by an accident 

when the accident hazard arises while the minor is on the business of the employer or performing 

the activities set out in the contract. 

 

(C)  No child shall be employed or permitted to work pursuant to the provisions of 

Rule 010.14-301(a)(3)(A) for more than ten (10) hours in any day or after 11:00 p.m. on nights 

preceding school days or after 1:00 a.m. on nights preceding non-school days. 

 

(4)  A child under the age of fourteen (14) years may be employed in the 

entertainment industry provided such employment is in compliance with the provisions of Ark. 

Code Ann. §§ 11-12-101 through -105 and Rules 010.14-311 through 010.14-316 herein. 

 

(c)  No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to work 

in certain enumerated occupations prohibited by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-6-105 and 107 or 

determined to be hazardous by the Director director.  See Rules 010.14-306 through 010.14-309 

herein. 

 

(d)  No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to work 

without an employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued and maintained pursuant 

to the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §§11-6-109, and 11-12-104 and Rules 010.14-302; 010.14-

305 and 010.14-312 herein, except: 

 

(1)  A child employed as a newspaper carrier pursuant to Rule 010.14-301 (a)(2); and 
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(2)  A child employed as a "batboy" or "batgirl" pursuant to Rule 010.14-301(a)(3). 

 

(e)  No person under the age of twenty-one (21) years shall operate any taxicab or bus 

service for hire, or otherwise, in a city of the first class or to drive a bus or taxicab, as an 

employee, partner, or otherwise, for another.  Ark. Code Ann. § 14-57-402. 

EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES 

 

010.14-302 General 

 

(a)  No child under sixteen (16) years shall be employed or permitted to work unless the 

child first obtains an employment certificate issued by the Director director.  For children 

employed in the entertainment industry, see Rules 010.14-311 through 010.14-316 herein. 

 

(b)  A child who resides in homes for dependent children may perform domestic activities 

without being considered an employee.  Such activities include personal care, maintenance of 

living quarters, work around the residence or its farms and other activities normally performed 

by children when living at home and under direct parental control. 

 

(c)  All children employed in interstate commerce or in the production of good for 

interstate commerce, or employed in any enterprise engaged in interstate commerce or the 

production of goods for interstate commerce, are subject to the child labor provisions of the 

federal Fair Labor Standards Act, (FLSA) 29 U.S.C. §§ 201 et seq.  Establishments or 

individuals so covered by the FLSA are subject to all the rules this chapter relating to child labor, 

including the issuance, maintenance, and revocation of employment certificates. 

 

(d)  An employment certificate is valid only for the employer specified on the certificate.  

A new certificate must be obtained for each new employer.  A certificate remains valid for a 

child who terminates employment but then resumes work at the same place of employment. 

 

(e)  The provisions of rules 010.14-302 through 010.14-305 do not apply to children 

employed or permitted to work as newspaper carriers pursuant to Rule 010.14-301(a)(2) or as 

"batboys" or "batgirls" pursuant to Rule 010.14-301(a)(3). 

 

010.14-303 Application for Employment Certificate 

 

(a)  Application for an employment certificate shall be made on a form provided and 

approved by the Department division. 

 

(b)  The applicant for an employment certificate must provide proof of age by means of 

one of the following: 

 

(1)  A birth certificate; 

(2)  Record of Baptism or Confirmation; 

(3)  Bible record; 

(4)  Passport or Certificate of Arrival in the United States; 

(5)  Insurance policy at least one (1) year old; 
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(6)  School records; or 

(7)  Any state driver's license or learner's permit. 

 

(c)  The application for an employment certificate will require submission of the 

following information: 

 

(1)  Child's name, address, telephone number, sex, age and birthdate; 

(2)  Employer's name, address and telephone number; 

(3) A signed statement from the employer verifying the intention to employ, 

describing the work to be performed, and listing the daily and weekly hours of employment; and 

(4)  The signature of a parent or guardian consenting to the issuance of the 

employment certificate. 

 

010.14-304 Review, Issuance and Maintenance of Certificates 

 

(a)  The Labor Standards Division Section shall review each application for an 

employment certificate and shall refuse to issue a certificate for cause. 

 

(1)  No certificate shall be issued where the proposed employment does not comply 

with all statutory requirements and prohibitions, and all rules promulgated thereunder. 

 

(2)  No certificate shall be issued to a youth or an establishment required to comply 

with or subject to regulation of child labor under the FLSA if the proposed employment will be 

in violation of the FLSA and all rules promulgated thereunder. 

 

(b)  The Labor Standards Division Section shall issue each employment certificate in 

duplicate.  One copy shall be maintained by the Department section for a period of three (3) 

years.  One copy shall be mailed or delivered to the employer. 

 

(c)  No employer shall employ a child until the employer has received his copy of the 

employment certificate.  The employer shall maintain the certificate on record where it is readily 

accessible to the Arkansas Department Division of Labor, the Arkansas Department of 

Education, and local school officials.  The employer shall maintain the certificate on record so 

long as the child is employed thereunder and for a period of three (3) years after the employment 

terminates. 

 

(d)  If the Labor Standards Division Section refuses to issue or denies an employment 

certificate, it shall notify the child and employer of the reason(s) for such a refusal in writing.  

The employer or child may request an administrative hearing on such refusal or denial within 

fifteen (15) days of receipt of such notice.  Procedures for such administrative reviews shall 

conform to those for hearings in contested cases involving civil money penalties pursuant to Rule 

010.14-324.  

 

010.14-305 Revocation 

 

(a)  The Labor Standards Division Section may revoke an employment certificate for 
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cause.  The Division section shall notify the child and the employer that the certificate is being 

revoked and shall specify the reasons for the revocation. 

 

(b)  If a certificate is revoked, the employer shall cease to employ the child and return the 

certificate to the Department division. 

 

(c)  The employer or child may obtain an administrative review of the revocation by 

making a written request for a hearing in the same manner as provided in Rule 010.14-304(d) 

herein.  Even if a request for a hearing is filed, the certificate must be returned and the 

employment must cease pursuant to paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS 

 

010.14-306 Occupations 

 

(a)  Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-6-105 and 11-6-107 provide that children under sixteen (16) 

years shall not be employed and shall not be permitted to work in certain enumerated 

occupations found by the General Assembly to be hazardous, specifically: 

 

(1)  Adjusting any belt to any machinery; 

(2)  Sewing or lacing machine belts in any workshop or factory; 

(3)  Oiling, wiping, or cleaning machinery or assisting therein; 

(4)  Operating or assisting in operating any of the following machines: 

(A)  Circular or band saws; 

(B)  Wood shapers; 

(C)  Wood jointers; 

(D)  Planers; 

(E)  Sandpaper of wood polishing machinery; 

(F)  Wood turning or boring machinery; 

(G)  Picker machines or machines used in picking wool; 

(H)  Carding machines; 

(I)  Job or cylinder printing presses operated by power other than foot power; 

(J)  Boring or drill presses; 

(K)  Stamping machines used in metal or in paper or leather manufacturing; 

(L)  Metal or paper cutting machines; 

(M)  Corner staying machines in paper box factories; 

(N)  Steam boilers; 

(O)  Dough brakes or cracker machinery of any description; 

(P)  Wire or iron straightening or drawing machinery; 

(Q)  Rolling mill machinery; 

 (R)  Washing, grinding, or mixing machinery; 

 (S)  Laundering machinery; 

(5)  In proximity to any hazardous or unguarded belt, machinery, or gearing; 

(6)  Upon any railroad, whether steam, electric, or hydraulic; or, 

(7)  In any saloon, resort, or bar where intoxicating liquor of any kind is sold or 

dispensed. 
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(b)  The following occupations are determined by the Director director to be sufficiently 

dangerous to the life or limb or injurious to the health or morals of children under sixteen (16) 

years to justify their exclusion therefrom: 

 

(1)  Manufacturing, mining, or processing occupations, including occupations 

requiring the performance of any duties in work rooms or workplaces where goods are 

manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed; 

 

(2)  Occupations which involve the operation or tending of hoisting apparatus or of 

any power-driven machinery other than office machines; 

(3)  The operation of motor vehicles or service as helpers on such vehicles; 

 

(4)  Public messenger service; 

 

(5)  Occupations in connection with: 

 

(A)  Transportation of persons or property by rail, highway, air, water, pipeline, or 

other means: 

(B)  Warehousing and storage; 

 

(C)  Communications and public utilities; 

 

(D)  Construction (including demolition and repair); except such office (including 

ticket office) work, or sales work in connection with paragraphs (5)(A),(B),(C), and (D) of this 

Rule 010.14-306(b), as does not involve the performance of any duties on trains, motor vehicles, 

aircraft, vessels, or other media of transportation or at the actual site of construction operations; 

 

(6)  Occupations in or about plants or establishments manufacturing or storing 

explosives or articles containing explosive components except where such work is performed in 

a "nonexplosive area" as defined in Rule 010.14-306(b)(6)(C). 

 

(A) The term "plant or establishment manufacturing or storing explosives or 

articles containing explosive component" means the land with all the buildings and other 

structures thereon used in connection with the manufacturing or processing or storing of 

explosives or articles containing explosive components. 

 

(B) The terms "explosives" and "articles containing explosive components" means 

and include ammunition, black powder, blasting caps, fireworks, high explosives, primers, 

smokeless powder, and all goods classified and defined as explosives by the federal Department 

of Transportation regulations 49 C.F.R. Parts 171 to 180 as they exist on the effective date of this 

Rule. 

 

(C) The term "nonexplosive area" shall mean an area which meets all the following 

criteria: 
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(i)  None of the work performed in the area involves the handling or use of 

explosives; 

 

(ii)  The area is separated from the explosives area by a distance not less than 

that prescribed in the American Table of Distances for the protection of inhabited buildings; 

 

(iii)  The area is separated from the explosives area by a fence or is otherwise 

located so that it constitutes a definite designated area; and 

 

(iv)  Satisfactory controls have been established to prevent employees under 16 

years of age within the area from entering any area in or about the plant which does not meet 

criteria of 010.14-306(b)(6)(C)(i) through (iv); 

 

(7)  Occupations in logging and in the operation of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle 

mill, or cooperage stock mill; and 

 

(8)  Occupations in or about slaughtering and meat packing establishments, or 

rendering plants and 

 

(9)  Occupations in proximity to pin-setting machinery or gearing in bowling alleys. 

 

010.14-307 Occupations in Retail, Food Service, and Gasoline Service Establishments. 

 

(a)  The following occupations are permissible for the employment of children age 14 and 

15 years, provided there is compliance with employment certificate requirements (Rule 010.14-

302 through 010.14-305), and hour restrictions (Rule 010.14-317). 

 

(1)  Office and clerical work, including the operation of office machines; 

 

(2)  Cashiering, selling, modeling, art work, work in advertising departments, window 

trimming, and comparative shopping; 

 

(3)  Price marking and tagging by hand or by machine, assembling orders, packing 

and shelving; 

 

(4)  Bagging and carrying out customers' orders; 

 

(5)  Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, and public transportation; 

 

(6)  Clean up work, including the use of vacuum cleaners and floor waxers, and 

maintenance of grounds, but not including the use of power-driven mowers, or cutters; 

 

(7)  Kitchen work and other work involved in preparing and serving food and 

beverages, including the operation of machines and devices used in the performance of such 

work, such as but not limited to dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn poppers, milk 

shake blenders, and coffee grinders (See Rule 010.14-307(b)(5) for the prohibition on cooking 
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and baking); 

 

(8)  Work in connection with cars and trucks if confined to the following:  Dispensing 

gasoline and oil; courtesy service; car cleaning, washing and polishing; and other occupations 

permitted by this Rule 010.14-307(a), but not including work involving the use of pits, racks, or 

lifting apparatus, or involving the inflation of any tire mounted on a rim equipped with a 

removable retaining ring. 

(9)  Cleaning vegetables and fruits, and wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing 

and stocking goods when performed in areas physically separate from those where the work 

described in paragraph (b)(7) of this Rule is performed; 

 

(b)  Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall not be construed to permit the application of this Rule 

to any of the following occupations in retail, food service, and gasoline service establishments: 

 

(1) All occupations listed in Rule 010.14-306 except occupations involving 

processing, operation of machines and work in rooms where processing the manufacturing take 

place which are permitted by paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

 

(2)  Work performed in or about boiler or engine rooms; 

 

(3)  Work in connection with maintenance or repair of the establishment, machines or 

equipment; 

 

(4)  Outside window washing that involves working from window sills, and all work 

requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes; 

 

(5)  Cooking (except at soda fountains, lunch counters, snack bars, or cafeteria service 

counters) and baking; 

 

(6)  Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or 

repairing power-driven food slicers and grinders, food choppers, and cutters, and bakery-type 

mixers; 

 

(7)  Work in freezers and meat coolers and all work in the preparation of meats for 

sale except as described in paragraph (a)(9) of this Rule; 

 

(8)  Loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors; 

 

(9)  All occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work. 

 

(c)  This Rule 010.14-307, shall not prohibit the employment of a child below the age of 

sixteen (16) by his parent or guardian in an occupation owned or controlled by such parent or 

guardian. 

 

010.14-308 Occupations in Agriculture 
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(a)  The following occupations in agriculture are particularly hazardous for the 

employment of children below the age of 16: 

 

(1)  Operating a tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower, or connecting or disconnecting 

an implement or any of its parts to or from such a tractor. 

 

(2)  Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping, adjusting, feeding, 

or any other activity involving physical contact associated with the operation) any of the 

following machines: 

 

(i)  Corn picker, cotton picker, grain combine, hay mower, forage harvester, 

hay baler, potato digger, or mobile pea viner; 

 

(ii)  Feed grinder, crop dryer, forage blower, auger conveyor, or the unloading 

mechanism of a nongravity-type self-unloading wagon or trailer; or 

 

(iii)  Power post-hole digger, power post driver, or nonwalking type rotary 

tiller. 

 

(3)  Operating or assisting to operate (including starting, stopping, adjusting, feeding, 

or any other activity involving physical contact associated with the operation) any of the 

following machines: 

 

(i)  Trencher or earthmoving equipment; 

(ii)  Fork lift; 

(iii)  Potato combine; or 

(iv)  Power-driven circular, band, or chain saw. 

 

(4)  Working on a farm in a yard, pen, or stall occupied by a: 

 

(i)  Bull, boar, or stud horse maintained for breeding purposes; or 

(ii)  Sow with suckling pigs, or cow with newborn calf (with umbilical cord 

present). 

 

(5)  Felling, bucking, skidding, loading, or unloading timber with butt diameter of 

more than 6 inches. 

 

(6)  Working from a ladder or scaffold (painting, repairing, or building structures, 

pruning trees, picking fruit, etc.) at a height of over 20 feet. 

 

(7)  Driving a bus, truck, or automobile when transporting passengers, or riding on a 

tractor as a passenger or helper. 

 

(8)  Working inside: 

 

(i)  A fruit, forage, or grain storage designed to retain an oxygen deficient or 
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toxic atmosphere; 

(ii)  An upright silo within two weeks after silage has been added or when a top 

unloading device is in operating position; 

(iii)  A manure pit; or 

(iv)  A horizontal silo while operating a tractor for packing purposes. 

 

(9)  Handling or applying (including cleaning or decontaminating equipment, disposal 

or return of empty containers, or serving as a flagman for aircraft applying) agricultural 

chemicals classified by the federal Environmental Protection Agency as Category I of toxicity, 

identified by the word "poison" and the "skull and crossbones" on the label; or Category II of 

toxicity, identified by the word "warning" on the label (See 40 C.F.R. 156); 

 

(10)  Handling or using a blasting agent, including but not limited to dynamite, black 

powder, sensitized ammonium nitrate, blasting caps, and primer cord; or 

 

(11)  Transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous ammonia. 

 

(b)  Exemptions. 

 

(1) This Rule 010.14-308 shall not apply to the employment of a child below the age 

of sixteen (16) by his parent or guardian on a farm owned or controlled by such parent or 

guardian; 

 

(2)  Student-learners.  The prohibitions in 010.14-308(a) shall not apply to the 

employment of any child as vocational agriculture student-learner in any of the occupations 

described in paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6) of 010.14-308(a) when each of the following 

requirements are met: 

 

(A)  The student-learner is enrolled in a vocational education training program in 

agriculture under a recognized State or local educational authority, or in a substantially similar 

program conducted by a private school: 

 

(B)  Such student-learner is employed under a written agreement which provides: 

 

(i) that the work of the student-learner is incidental to his training;  

 

(ii) that such work shall be intermittent, for short periods of time, and under 

the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced person;  

 

(iii) that safety instruction shall be given by the school and correlated by 

the employer with on-the-job training; and  

 

(iv) that a schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be 

performed on the job have been prepared; 

 

(C)  Such written agreement contains the name of the student-learner, and is signed 
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by the employer and by a person authorized to represent the educational authority or school; and 

 

(D)  Copies of each such agreement are kept on file by both the educational 

authority or school and by the employer. 

 

(3)  Federal Extension Service.  The prohibitions in Rule 010.14-308(a) shall not 

apply to the employment of a child under 16 years of age in those occupations in which he/she 

has successfully completed one or more training programs described in 010.14-308(b)(3)(A), 

(B), or (C) provided he/she has been instructed by his/her employer on safe and proper operation 

of the specific equipment he/she is to use; is continuously and closely supervised by the 

employer where feasible; or, where not feasible, in work such as cultivating, his/her safety is 

checked by the employer at least at midmorning, noon, and midafternoon. 

 

(A)  4-H tractor operation program.  The child is qualified to be employed in an 

occupation described in 010.14-308(a)(1) provided: 

(i)  He/she is a 4-H member; 

(ii)  He/she is 14 years of age, or older; 

(iii)  He/she is familiar with the normal working hazards in agriculture; 

(iv)  He/she has completed a 10-hour training program which includes the 

following units from the manuals of the 4-H tractor program conducted by, or in accordance with 

the requirements of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university: 

 

(a)  First Year Manual: 

Unit 1 - Learning How to be Safe; 

Unit 4 - The Instrument Panel; 

Unit 5 - Controls for Your Tractor; 

Unit 6 - Daily Maintenance and Safety Check; and 

Unit 7 - Starting and Stopping Your Tractor; 

(b)  Second Year Manual: 

Unit 1 - Tractor Safety on the Farm: 

(c)  Third Year Manual: 

Unit 1 - Tractor Safety on the Highway; 

Unit 3 - Hitches, Power Take-off, and Hydraulic Controls; 

 

(v)  He/she has passed a written examination on tractor safety and has 

demonstrated his/her ability to operate a tractor safely with a two-wheeled trailed implement on a 

course similar to one of the 4-H Tractor Operator's Contest Courses; and 

 

(vi)  His/her employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule 

010.14-319 (basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of certificate acceptable by the 

Labor Standards Division Section, signed by the leader who conducted the training program and 

by an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university to the 

effect that the child has completed all the requirements specified in 010.14-308(b)(3)(A)(i) 

through (v). 

 

(B)  4-H machine operation program.  The child is qualified to be employed in an 
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occupation described in 010.14-308(a)(2) providing: 

 

(i)  He/she completed the Tractor Operation Program specified in paragraphs 

(b)(3)(A)(i) through (v) of this Rule; 

 

(ii)  He/she has completed an additional 10-hour training program on farm 

machinery safety, including 4-H Fourth Year Manual, Unit 1, Safe Use of Farm Machinery; 

 

(iii)  He/she has passed a written and practical examination on safe machinery 

operation; and 

 

(iv)  His/her employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule 

010.14-319 (basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable by the 

Labor Standards Division Section, signed by the leader who conducted the training program and 

by an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant university, to the 

effect that the child has completed all of the requirements specified in 010.14-308(b)(3)(B)(i) 

through (iii). 

 

(C)  Tractor and machine operation program.  The child is qualified to be 

employed in an occupation described in Rule 010.14-308(a)(1) and (2) providing: 

 

(i)  He/she is 14 years of age, or older; 

 

(ii)  He/she has completed a 4-hour orientation course familiarizing him/her 

with the normal working hazards in agriculture; 

 

(iii)  He/she has completed a 20-hour training program on safe operation of 

tractors and farm machinery, which covers all material specified in Rule 010.14-308(b)(3)(A)(iv) 

and (B)(ii). 

 

(iv)  He/she has passed a written examination on tractor and farm machinery 

safety and has demonstrated his/her ability to operate a tractor with a two-wheeled trailed 

implement on a course similar to a 4-H Tractor Operator's Contest course, and to operate farm 

machinery safely. 

 

(v)  His/her employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule 

010.14-319 (basically, name, address and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable by the 

Labor Standards Division Section, signed by the volunteer leader who conducted the training 

program and by an Extension Agent of the Cooperative Extension Service of a land grant 

university, to the effect that all of the requirements of Rule 010.14-308(b)(3)(B)(i) through (iv) 

have been met. 

 

(4)  Vocational agriculture training.  The findings and declarations of fact in Rule 

010.14-308(a) shall not apply to the employment of a vocational agriculture student under 16 

years of age in those occupations in which he/she has successfully completed one or more 

training programs described in Rule 010.14-308(b)(4)(A) or (B) and who has been instructed by 
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his/her employer in the safe and proper operation of the specific equipment he/she is to use, who 

is continuously and closely supervised by this employer where feasible or, where not feasible, in 

work such as cultivating, whose safety is checked by the employer at least at midmorning, noon, 

and midafternoon, and who also satisfies whichever of the following program requirements are 

pertinent: 

(A)  Tractor operation program.  The student is qualified to be employed in an 

occupation described in Rule 010.14-308(a)(1) provided: 

 

(i)  He/she is 14 years of age, or older; 

 

(ii)  He/she is familiar with the normal working hazards in agriculture; 

 

(iii)  He/she has completed a 15-hour training program which includes the 

required units specified in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in Safe Tractor 

Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and 

Welfare and acceptable by the U.S. Department of Labor.  The training program is outlined in 

Special Paper No. 8, April 1969, prepared at Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich., for 

the Office of Education.  Copies of this training program outline may be obtained from the 

Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Washington, D.C. 

20202. 

 

(iv)  He/she has passed both a written test and a practical test on tractor safety 

including a demonstration of his/her ability to operate safely a tractor with a two wheeled trailed 

implement on a test course similar to that described in the Vocational Agriculture Training 

Program in Safe Tractor Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of 

Health, Education, and Welfare; and 

 

(v)  His/her employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to Rule 

010.14-319 (basically, name, address, and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable by the 

Labor Standards Division Section, signed by the Vocational Agriculture teacher who conducted 

the program to the effect that the student has completed all the requirements specified in Rule 

010.14-308(b)(4)(A)(i) through (iv). 

 

(B)  Machinery operation program.  The student is qualified to be employed in an 

occupation described in Rule 010.14-308(a)(2) provided he/she has completed the Tractor 

Operation Program described in Rule 010.14-308(b)(4)(A) and: 

 

(i)  He/she has completed an additional 10-hour training program which 

includes the required units specified in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in Safe 

Farm Machinery Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of Health, 

Education, and Welfare and approved by the U.S. Department of Labor; 

 

(ii)  He/she has passed both a written test and a practical test on safe 

machinery operation similar to that described in the Vocational Agriculture Training Program in 

Safe Farm Machinery Operation, outlined by the Office of Education, U.S. Department of 

Health, Education and Welfare; and 
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(iii)  His/her employer has on file with the child's records kept pursuant to 

Rule 010.14-319 (basically, name, address and date of birth) a copy of a certificate acceptable by 

the Labor Standards Division Section, signed by the Vocational Agriculture teacher who 

conducted the program to the effect that the student has completed all the requirements specified 

in Rule 010.14-308(b)(4)(B)(i) and (ii). 

 

010.14-309 Work Experience and Career Exploration Programs 

 

(a)  This Rule creates an exception to the application of some provisions of this 

Hazardous Occupations section (010.14-306 -  010.14-310) to the employment of children under 

sixteen (16) years of age who are enrolled in and employed pursuant to a school-supervised and 

school-administered work-experience and career exploration program which meets the 

requirements of paragraph (b) of this Rule in the occupations permitted under paragraph (c) of 

this Rule and for the periods and under the conditions specified in paragraph (d) of this Rule.  

With these safeguards, such employment is found not to interfere with the schooling of the child 

or with their health and well-being and therefore is not deemed to be hazardous. 

 

(b)  A school-supervised and school-administered work-experience and career 

exploration program shall meet the standards of and be approved by the Arkansas Department of 

Education and the U.S. Department of Labor as provided in 29 C.F.R. § 570.35a. 

 

(c)  Employment of children enrolled in a program approved pursuant to the requirements 

of this Rule shall be permitted only in the following occupations: 

 

(1)  occupations in retail, food service, and gasoline service establishments covered 

by Rule 010.14-307; and 

 

(2)  occupations in agriculture covered by Rule 010.14-308. 

 

010.14-310 Administrative Responsibility 

 

(a)  The Director director shall be assisted by the Labor Standards Division Section in 

making studies and investigation to discover the occupations which are sufficiently dangerous to 

the life and limb or injurious to the health or morals of children under sixteen (16) years to 

justify their exclusion therefrom.  All interested persons and organizations are invited to 

cooperate with the Director director and the Division section by making suggestions and requests 

and providing pertinent information to the Division section concerning employment hazards to 

children.  Submissions should be mailed to the Administrator, Labor Standards Division Section, 

Division of Labor, Arkansas Department of Labor, 10421 West Markham900 West Capitol, 

Suite 400, Little Rock, Arkansas 722051.  In addition, the Administrator manager of the Labor 

Standards Division Section shall have authority to obtain information by holding conferences to 

which he may invite various persons who have had experience or expert knowledge concerning 

occupational hazards to children. 

 

(b)  The Administrator manager of the Labor Standards Division Section shall from time 
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to time prepare and submit to the Director of Labor reports of investigations with respect to any 

occupations or group of occupations which he/she has reason to believe should be added to, or 

deleted from, the list of those found and declared to be particularly hazardous for the 

employment of children under 16 years of age or detrimental to their health or well-being.  Each 

such report shall contain an explanation of the hazards involved and the reasons why children 

below the age of 16 are, or are not, particularly susceptible to them.  Copies of such reports shall 

be made available to the public at the offices of Labor Standards Division. 

 

(c)  The Director director, on recommendation of the Division section or on his own 

motion shall initiate proceedings to make, amend, or revoke a determination regarding a 

hazardous occupation in these rules.  Notice of such proceedings as well as any rule-making shall 

comply with the Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 25-15-201 et seq. 

 

(d)  Any person may at any time file with the Administrator of the Labor Standards 

Division section a written application, petition or other requests in connection with any 

proceeding to make, amend, or revoke a hazardous occupation determination.  In the event his 

petition is denied, he will be advised promptly with a simple statement of reasons. 

 

(e)  Any person adversely affected or aggrieved by the procedure provided in Rule 

010.14-310 may file a petition for a change with the Labor Standards Division Section, Arkansas 

Department Division of Labor, 10421 West Markham900 West Capitol, Suite 400, Little Rock, 

AR 722051, expressing the change desired with supporting reasons. 

 

THE ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY 

 

010.14-311 Definitions 

 

As used in this section: 

(1)  "Child" means any minor under sixteen (16) years of age; 

(2)  "Department" means the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing; 

(3)  "Director" means the Director of the Division of Labor, Arkansas Department of Labor and 

Licensing; 

(4)  "Employ" means to use the services of an individual in any remunerative occupation; 

(5) "Employer" means any individual, company, firm, partnership, association, or corporation 

employing or seeking to employ a child in the entertainment industry; 

(6)  "Entertainment Industry" means any individual, partnership, corporation, association, or 

group of persons using the services of a child in motion picture productions, television or radio 

productions, theatrical productions, modeling productions, horse shows, rodeos, and musical 

performances; 

(7) "Guardian" means an individual who legally has the care and management of the person and 

the estate of a child during its minority; 

(8)  "Nurse" means any licensed RN or LPN; 

(9)  "Special effects person" means an individual qualified by training and experience in the 

planning, setting up and performance of the type of special effect involved; and 

(10)  "Stunt coordinator" means an individual qualified by training and experience in the 

planning, setting up and performance of and type of stunt involved. 
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010.14-312 Entertainment Work Permit 

 

(a)(1)  No child may be employed in the entertainment industry without an Entertainment 

Work Permit issued by the Director director. 

 

   (2)  No Entertainment Work Permit will be issued without the following: 

 

(A)  an application for an Entertainment Work Permit on a form provided by the 

Director director; 

(B)  one of the following as proof of age; 

(i)  birth certificate. 

(ii)  record of baptism or confirmation. 

(iii)  passport or certificate of arrival in the U.S. 

(iv)  insurance policy at least one (1) year old. 

(v)  a bona fide contemporary record of birth in the family bible. 

(vi)  certified school record; 

 

(C)  the written consent of the child's parent or guardian for the issuance of the 

Entertainment Work Permit: 

 

(D)  a written statement from the school in which the child is enrolled as to the 

academic standing of the child, the advisability of allowing the child to work, and the 

arrangements for meeting the state's compulsory attendance law, unless: 

 

(i)  the child is not enrolled in school (children ages 7 through 16 inclusive 

must be enrolled in school), or 

 

(ii)  the child will not be employed during a time school is in session; 

(Parents of home-schooled children may provide his information upon 

verification that the child is enrolled in home school); 

 

(E)  a written statement from the employer as to: 

 

(i)  the length of time, including dates and hours, the child will be employed; 

 

(ii)  the child's rate of pay; 

 

(F)  a written statement from a doctor licensed to practice medicine in the State of 

Arkansas as to the health of any child under six (6) years of age and the advisability of allowing 

the child to work.  If the child is not a resident of Arkansas, a written statement from a doctor 

licensed to practice medicine in the state of the child's residence may be submitted; 

 

(G)  proof of workers compensation coverage or insurance coverage as required 

by Rule 010.14-314. 
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(b)  The Director director may refuse to issue an Entertainment Work Permit or may 

suspend or revoke any Entertainment Work Permit for cause, which includes, but is not limited 

to finding that any of the following conditions exist: 

 

(1)  that the child, the child's parent or guardian, or the employer has knowingly 

submitted false information to the Department division in application of an Entertainment Work 

Permit; 

 

(2)  that the child, the child's parent or guardian, or the employer has violated any 

provisions of Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-12-101 et seq. or any rules lawfully promulgated 

thereunder; 

 

(3)  that the work for which an application of an Entertainment Work Permit is sought 

is hazardous or detrimental to the health, safety, morals, education or welfare of the child; 

 

(4)  that the child is lawfully removed from the custody of the parent or guardian who 

consented to the issuance of the Entertainment Work Permit. 

 

(c)  No child under the age of fifteen (15) days shall be issued an Entertainment Work 

Permit. 

 

(d)  An Entertainment Work Permit shall be issued for the period designated on the face 

of the permit, not to exceed six (6) months.  Application renewal must be made in the same 

manner and under the same conditions as the original permit. 

 

(e)  Prior to the issuance of the Entertainment Work Permit, the Director director may 

require a physical examination of the child to ensure that the child's physical condition permits 

the minor to perform the work or activity called for by the application for an Entertainment Work 

Permit without danger to the child's health, safety or welfare.  The Director director may require 

a personal interview with the child, the parent or guardian, or the employer for the same purpose. 

 

010.14-313 Hours and Rest Time 

 

(a)  No child shall be permitted at the place of employment, except in compliance with 

the following: 

 

(1)  Children who have reached the age of fifteen (15) days, but have not reached the 

age of six (6) months, may be at the place of employment for a maximum of two (2) hours 

between the hours of 9:00 A.M. and 4:30 P.M.  The day's work shall not exceed twenty (20) 

minutes, and under no circumstances shall the child be exposed to bright lights for more than 

thirty (30) seconds at any one time.  When children under six (6) weeks of age are used, a nurse 

must be provided for each three children or fraction thereof.  When children from age six (6) 

weeks to age six (6) months are used, one nurse must be provided for each ten (10) children or 

fraction thereof. 

 

(2)  Children who have reached the age of six (6) months, but have not reached the 
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age of two (2) years may be at the place of employment for a maximum of four (4) hours per 

workday, with two (2) hours for work and two (2) hours for rest and recreation. 

 

(3)  Children who have reached the age of two (2) years, but have not reached the 

age of six (6) years may be at the place of employment for a maximum of six (6) hours per 

workday, with three (3) hours for work and three (3) hours for rest and recreation. 

 

(4)  Children who have reached the age of six (6) years, but have not reached the age 

of nine (9) years may be at the place of employment a maximum of eight (8) hours per workday.  

Such eight (8) hour period shall consist of not more than four (4) hours of work, with four (4) 

hours for school, rest and recreation. 

 

(5)  Children who have reached the age of nine (9) years, but have not reached the 

age of sixteen (16) years may be at the place of employment a maximum of nine (9) hours per 

workday.  Such nine (9) hour period shall consist of not more than five (5) hours of work, with 

four (4) hours for school, rest and recreation. 

 

(6)  On days when school is not in session, school age children may work an 

additional two (2) hours per day. 

 

(7)  On all days, school age children must have at least one (1) hour of rest and 

recreation. 

 

(8)  In cases involving a studio teacher, by prior arrangement with the teacher, up to 

two (2) hours of school may be banked (stored) to offset additional work hours on other days.  

There must be at least one (1) hour of school on each day the child’s regular school is in session. 

 

(b)  No child shall be required to report for work before 5:00 A.M.  No child shall be at 

the place of employment later than 10:00 P.M.  The 10:00 P.M. restriction may be extended to 

12:30 A.M. on nights preceding non-school days.  Special requests for a child to work other 

hours may be granted by the Director director for night exteriors shot as exteriors and live 

television, musical or theatrical performances or for other reasons.  Each such request must be 

submitted in writing at least two (2) working days prior to the time needed. 

 

(c)  With the exception of children under six (6) months of age, all of the hours in which 

a child may be at the place of employment are exclusive of meal periods, which must be of at 

least one-half (1/2) hour, and no more than one (1) hour duration.  In no event may a child be at 

the place of employment for a period longer than six (6) hours without a meal break. 

 

(d)  A child shall receive a twelve (12) hour rest break at the end of his or her workday 

and prior to the commencement of his or her next day of work for the same employment.  

Special requests for a child to receive a ten (10) hour rest break may be granted by the Director 

director for one-time performances, provided such requests are submitted in writing at least two 

(2) working days prior to the time needed. 

 

(e)  The time spent by children in rehearsals and in learning or practicing any of the arts, 
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such as singing or dancing, for or under the direction of a motion picture studio, theater, or 

television studio, shall be counted as work time when such learning or practicing is connected 

with or is in contemplation of particular pictures or shows. 

 

 (f)  School age children may not be employed in violation of any state or local school 

attendance requirements applicable to the child. 

 

010.14-314 Insurance 

 

(a)  An Entertainment Work Permit will not be issued unless provision is made by the 

employer to provide workers compensation coverage or insurance for injury or death caused by 

an accident when the accident hazard arises while the child is on the business of the employer or 

performing activities required by the employer.  If insurance apart from workers compensation is 

provided, the schedule of benefits will be as follows: 

 

(1)  At least fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for accidental death, and this sum shall 

be reasonably and equitably prorated for dismemberment: and 

 

(2)  Blanket medical coverage for all hospital and medical expenses up to twenty-five 

thousand dollars ($25,000) and this hospital and medical expense protection shall be excess 

insurance coverage or indemnity over and above any other collectable insurance. 

 

010.14-315 Safety and Supervision 

 

(a)  The parent or guardian of a child must be present at all times the child is at the place 

of employment, and will accompany the child to wardrobe, makeup, hairdressing and dressing 

room facilities.  The parent or guardian may designate an individual, other than an agent of the 

employer, to accompany the child during times the child is at the place of employment, provided 

the designation is made in writing, signed by the parent or guardian, and presented to the 

employer prior to the child's scheduled work.  A copy of the written designation must be 

immediately mailed by the employer to the Arkansas Department Division of Labor. 

 

(b)  The employer must designate one individual on each set, stage, or other place of 

employment to coordinate all matters relating to the welfare of children, and shall notify the 

parent or guardian of each child of the name of such individual. 

 

(c)  A child must be provided a suitable place to rest or play.  Under no circumstances 

will a car, van or truck constitute a suitable place to rest or play.  However, this prohibition does 

not include recreational vehicles and mobile homes or trailers fully equipped for the comfort and 

safety of the child. 

 

(d)  No child shall be required to work in a situation which places the child in clear and 

present danger to life or limb.  If a child believes he or she to be in such a dangerous situation 

after having discussed the matter with his or her parent or guardian and the employer or stunt 

coordinator, then the child shall not be required to perform in such situation, regardless of the 

validity or reasonableness of his or her belief. 
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(e)  No child shall be required to work with an animal which a reasonable person would 

regard as dangerous in the circumstances, unless an animal trainer or handler qualified by 

training and experience is present. 

 

(f)  Where scripted or unscripted stunts or other potentially hazardous activity involve a 

child, a stunt coordinator shall be engaged and present.  No child shall be required to perform a 

stunt without prior consultation between the child, the child's parent or guardian, and the stunt 

coordinator. 

 

(g)  The prior written consent of the child's parent or guardian must be obtained for the 

performance of any unusual physical, athletic or acrobatic activity, stunts, work involving special 

effects, or other potentially hazardous activity. 

 

(h)  When any unusual physical, athletic or acrobatic activity, stunts, special effects, or 

other potentially hazardous activity involving a child is contemplated, the employer shall have 

available a person qualified to administer medical assistance on an emergency basis and 

transportation to the nearest medical facility providing emergency services.  First-aid kits shall 

always be available at a child's place of employment. 

 

(i)  No child shall work in close proximity to explosives or the functioning parts of 

unguarded and dangerous moving equipment, aircraft or vessels, or of functioning blades or 

propellers. 

 

010.14-316 Schooling 

 

An Entertainment Work Permit does not authorize a child to be absent from school in 

violation of the requirements of state law or administrative rules or policies of the State Board of 

Education, the Arkansas Department of Education, or the local School Board. 
 

HOURS OF EMPLOYMENT 

 

010.14-317 Children Under Sixteen (16)  

 

No child under the age of sixteen (16) years shall be employed, permitted, or suffered to 

work: 

(1)  more than six (6) days in any week; 

(2)  more than forty-eight (48) hours in any week; 

(3)  more than eight (8) hours in any day; or 

(4)  before 6:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except that on nights preceding nonschool days 

children under sixteen (16) years may be employed until 9:00 p.m. 

 

010.14-318 Children Under Seventeen (17)  

 

(a)  No child under the age of Seventeen (17) shall be employed, permitted or suffered to 

work: 
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(1)  more than six (6) days in any week; 

(2)  more than fifty-four (54) hours in any week; 

(3)  more than ten (10) consecutive hours in any day;  

(4) more than ten (10) hours in a twenty-four hour period; or 

(5) before 6:00 a.m. or after 11:00 p.m., except that children ages sixteen (16) years 

may be employed until 12:00 midnight on nights preceding non-school days. 

 

(b) Children ages sixteen (16) years of age may be employed between the hours of 12:00 

midnight and 6:00 a.m. on nights preceding non-school days, except in the occupations or 

circumstances listed below and provided the work is not otherwise prohibited by state or federal 

law: 

 

(1) in any convenience or retail store of less than 4500 square feet; 

(2) in any restaurant, except that a sixteen (16) year old may work in a locked 

restaurant or fast-food restaurant if only the drive-through window is open to the 

general public; 

(3) in any business where a child would be working without direct supervision by an 

adult 21years of age or older; 

(4) in any business which serves alcohol; 

(5) in any business which provides adult entertainment, including nude or topless 

entertainment; 

(6) at any truck stop or service station; 

(7) at any race track or gambling establishment; 

(8) as a security guard; 

(9) as a delivery person; or 

(10) in violation of any local curfew ordinance. 

 

(c) For the purpose of determining compliance and assessing penalties, the department 

division shall enforce the prohibition against more than ten (10) hours of work in a 24-hour 

period provided by Ark. Code Ann. § 11-6-110(4) and this Rule 010.14-318(a)(4), in the 

following manner: 

 

 (1)  If a child sixteen (16) years old has a rest break between shifts or period of 

work of at least ten (10) hours, the department division will determine compliance by the hours 

worked between midnight of one calendar day and midnight of the following calendar day. 

 

 (2)  If a child sixteen (16) years old does not have a rest break between shifts or 

periods of work of at least ten (10) hours, the department division will determine compliance by 

the hours worked in any 24-hour period. 

 

RECORDKEEPING 

 

010.14-319 Records To Be Maintained 

 

(a)  Every employer of a child under seventeen (17) years of age, whether partially or 

fully exempted from the Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§ 11-4-201 through -219, shall 
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maintain complete and accurate records which must contain the following for each employee 

under age seventeen (17). 

 

(1)  name in full; 

(2)  home address, including ZIP code and telephone number;  

(3)  date of birth; 

(4)  occupation; 

(5)  rate of pay; 

(6)  any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to 

Rules 010.14-302 - 010.14-305 or 010.14-312 herein; 

(7)  hours worked each workday, including starting time and ending time; and 

(8)  total hours worked each workweek. 

 

(b)  The records required by Rule 010.14-319(a) are in addition to and not in lieu of other 

records or writing required by the Minimum Wage Act, Ark. Code Ann. §§11-4-201 through -

219, and by other chapters of these rules including but not limited to gross wages, wage 

deductions, cost of meals and lodging, tip credits, or commissions. 

 

010.14-320 Record Accessibility 

 

(a)  All records required by Rule 010.14-319 shall be open for inspection or transcription 

by the Director director or his authorized representative during normal business hours at the 

place of employment. 

 

(b)  Any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to Rules 

010.14-302 - 010.14-305 or 010.14-312 shall be maintained and accessible to any authorized 

representative of the Arkansas Department of Education or any local school official, in addition 

to the Department Division of Labor. 

 

010.14-321 Record Retention 

 

(a)  All records required by Rule 010.14-319 must be retained by employers for a period 

of three (3) years. 

 

(b)  Any employment certificate or entertainment work permit issued pursuant to Rules 

010.14-302 - 010.14-305 and 010.14-312 must be retained by employers for a period of three (3) 

years following the termination of the child's employment. 

 

CIVIL MONEY PENALTIES 

 

010.14-322 Civil Penalties 

 

(a)  Any person, firm, corporation, partnership, association, parent, guardian, or custodian 

who employs or permits or suffers any child to be employed or to work in violation of Ark. Code 

Ann. §§ 11-6-103 through -116 or 11-12-101 through -105, or any rules issued thereunder, shall 

be subject to a civil penalty of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) and not more than one thousand 
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dollars ($1,000) for each violation.  Each day the violation continues shall with respect to each 

child so employed or permitted work constitute a separate offense. 

(b) The amount of all civil penalties will be determined in accordance with 010.14-323

of these rules. 

(c) In civil penalty cases, the Administrator of the Labor Standards Division Section

shall notify the person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association, charged with the 

violation(s) by certified mail of the following: 

(1) the nature of the violation;

(2) the date(s) of the violation;

(3) the name of the child(ren);

(4) the amount of the civil penalty;

(5) the civil penalty determination shall be final, unless within fifteen (15) days after

receipt of this notice, the person, firm, corporation, partnership or association charged with the 

violation(s) notifies the Director of the Department Division of Labor in writing that he/she 

contests the penalty; and 

(6) the procedure for contesting a civil penalty as provided in 010.14-324 of these

rules. 

(d) If the person, firm, corporation, partnership or association charged with the violation

has not filed notice that he/she contests the civil penalty within fifteen (15) days after receiving 

notice in accordance with 010.14-322(c) of this Rule, the penalty assessment by the Labor 

Standards Division Section becomes the final determination of the Director of Labor. 

(e) Notice of the civil penalty may also be delivered in the same manner as summons in

civil cases. 

010.14-323 Civil Penalty Assessment 

(a) If upon inspection or investigation, the Labor Standards Division Section finds that a

person, firm, partnership or association has violated any of the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. 

§§11-6-103 through -116 or 11-12-101 through -105, or any rules issued thereunder, the

Administrator of the Labor Standards Division Section may assess a civil penalty for each

violation.

(b) The maximum amount of a civil penalty will be based on the nature and the gravity

of the violation or violations.  Matters which are indications of the gravity of a violation and 

which justify maximum civil penalty assessments are: 

(1) the likelihood of injury and the seriousness of the potential injuries to which the

child has been exposed; 

(2) multiplicity of violations by a business or employer;

(3) recurring violations;

(4) employment of any child in a hazardous or detrimental occupation;
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(5) violations involving youths under fourteen (14) years of age;

(6) a substantial number of hours worked in excess of the statutory limits;

(7) falsification and/or concealment of information regarding the employment of

children in violation of state or federal law; and 

(8) failure to assure future compliance.

(c) Reduction in the penalty amount may be made based on the size of the business.  The

size of the business includes the number of employees and the gross volume of sales. 

(d) Assessment of a civil penalty shall be made no later than two (2) years from the date

of the occurrence of the violation. 

010.14-324 Contesting a Civil Penalty 

(a) An employer may contest the imposition of a civil penalty by filing a written request

for a hearing with the Director of the Division of Labor, 10421 West Markham 900 West 

Capitol, Suite 400, Little Rock, Arkansas 722051.  The written request must be made within 

fifteen (15) days after the employer's receipt of notification of the civil penalty or the assessment 

will become final. 

(b) A written request for a hearing shall be referred to a hearing officer designated by the

Director director. 

(c) The employer shall be provided at least twenty (20) days notice of the hearing. Such

notice shall include: 

(1) a statement of the time, date, place, and nature of the hearing;

(2) a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to

be held; 

(3) a short and plain statement of the matters of fact and law asserted; and

(4) a statement that the employer may, upon written request, obtain the issuance of a

subpoena by the Director director for the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the 

production of documents. 

(d) The designated hearing officer shall, after consideration of the evidence, issue a

decision setting forth findings of fact and conclusions of law.  Such decision shall become the 

final determination of the Director director, unless judicial review is sought within thirty (30) 

days pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-212. 

EFFECTIVE DATE AND HISTORY 
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010.14-325 Effective Date and History 

(a) The Department originally promulgated rules pertaining to Act 647 of 1987

(established standards for employment of children in the entertainment industry) on June 3, 

1987.  The Department promulgated comprehensive rules for other jurisdictional statutes 

effective April 14, 1992. 

(b) Rule 010.14-306 (b)(9) pertaining to hazardous occupations was adopted effective

July 28, 1995. 

(c) Rule 010.14-318 pertaining to permissible hours for children under 18 was amended

effective December 1, 2005. 

(d) Effective January 1, 2019, Rule 010.14-300; -318; and -319 were amended to remove

reference to 17 year olds pursuant to Act 162 of 2015.  Rule 010.14-313 was amended regarding 

hours and rest time for children in the entertainment industry.  Additionally, the child labor rules 

were re-numbered and some references updated. 

(e) Effective July 1, 2020, the rules were amended to reflect organizational name

changes. 


