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Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

Rules end-Regulatiens
(updated June-1,2048 2020)

Section 1. Scope

1.1 Application. The rules andregulations hereby prescribed provide
minimum standards for the construction or repair of water wells, and locations of water
wells which are used or intended to be used to locate, acquire, divert or artificially
recharge ground water within the boundaries of the State of Arkansas. No water well as
defined below shall be constructed or repaired contrary to the provisions of these

regulations rules.

1.2 Rules applicabie to old wells. When a well constructed prior to
May 27, 1969, is repaired, rehabilitated or reconstructed, the work shall include those
changes necessary to make the well conform to these rules end-regulations.

1.3 Exemptions. In some instances, safe, potable water may be obtained
from wells in certain geographical locations which are not in strict accordance with these
rules and-regwlations. In this event permission, in writing, shall be obtained from the
Commission prior to developing the well.

Section 2. Procedure (reserved)

Section 3. Licensing and bonding

3.1 Authorized constructor. Water wells subject to these rules and
regulations shall be constructed only by persons having a valid license under Act 641 of
1969, enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, unless exempt under
provisions of that Act.

®
~

3.2 Supervision. During the construction, alteration, or repair of a water

well, or installation or repair of pumping equipment there must be, within a two-hour
drive, a person who has obtained a registration certificate and has been certified in the
type of construction engaged. The person who has obtained a registration certificate or
an apprentice with proper supervision as defined by Rule 3.10.1.1 shall remain informed
and have knowledge of the status of the work being accomplished.

3.3 Engineers and geologists. Arkansas Registered Professional

Engineers and Arkansas Registered Professional Geologists practicing geotechnical
engineering or geologic investigations may be declared exempt from certification,
bonding, and testing requirements upon application for exemption from the Commission,

3.4 Fees. The following fees will be charged for licensing, registration, and
rig permitting.
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Drilling and Pump System License.........c.coonnvivvnnniicenen $350.00
Pump System-Only LiCense......c.cevurrvrerrrersrencccrcncueneuecenecncacs $175.00
Drilling-0nly LICENSE ......occvrvcurrrrerereirmrinirssissescscssresersseesenns $175.00
Driller Registration Certificate ..........ccccocveveererenercreercneccacnnns $125.00
Pump Installer Registration Certificate.........coeecrercrrreereeurenenee $125.00
Apprentice Certificate.......oovoereerrrrieririrercriecernssiseseeeseens $125.00
Rig PEIMUL .ovcveveierrcirirereriereeeessseesesseeeessenssesessaeserserssenne $145.00

3.4.1 Fees non-refundable. All applicants for registration certificates
shall pay said fees prior to completing the exam. Once processed, all application and
licensing fees are non-refundable.

3.5 Categories for registration certificates

3.5.1 Driller registration.

3.5.1.1 Consolidated. Includes water well construction techniques for all
water wells, other than monitoring wells, completed in rock formation or in formations
which will not cave, including the overburden and soils overlying consolidated
formations.

3.5.1.2 Unconsolidated. Includes water well construction techniques
for all water wells, other than monitoring wells, completed in sand, clay, and gravel
formations which are caving in nature.

3.5.1.3 Monitoring and piezometer. Includes construction for the
purpose of locating and sampling for engineering or geological data or sampling ground
water.

3.5.1.4 Hydrofracturing. Includes pumping or injecting fluids into a
well and does not include the use of explosives.

3.5.1.5 Geothermal. Includes construction of wells built for the purpose
of geothermal energy exchange including earth-coupled and direct exchange systems.

3.5.2 Pump installer registration.

3.5.2.1 Turbine pumps. Includes equipment consisting of, or used in
conjunction with, line shaft turbine pumps.

3.5.2.2 Submersible pumps. Includes equipment consisting of, or used
in conjunction with, submersible pumps and motors.

3.5.2.3 Jet pumps. Includes equipment used in conjunction with the
jetting action of a venturi nozzle.
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3.5.2.4 Monitoring / purging/ sampling. Includes pumps and other
devices permanently installed to purge monitor wells, obtain samples from a monitoring
well, or recover foreign substances from ground water.

3.5.2.5 Positive displacement pumps and other devices.
Includes the installation of equipment and pumping devices not listed above, such as
hand pumps, windmills, stroke pumps or sucker rod pumps and equipment.

3.5.2.6 Plugging. Registered pump installers who have demonstrated

knowledge of the applicable rules and possession of the required skills by passing a test
on those subjects administered by the Commission are authorized to plug abandoned

water wells

3.6 Water well contractor licenses.

3.6.1 General. Any person who contracts for or is engaged in well

construction or pump installation shall hold or be employed by a person holding an
Arkansas Water Well Contractor License. The Water Well Contractor shall hold the
proper license, certificates, and permits for the type of construction engaged and shall
meet continuing education requirements as set forth herein.

3.6.2 Categories for licenses.

3.6.2.1 Drilling and pump systems. Includes contracting for all
elements of water well construction, including drilling and pump installation.

3.6.2.2 Pump systems. Includes contracting for the installation and
repair of pumps and related equipment and does not include excavating the well.

3.6.2.3 Drilling. Includes excavation of a water well, modification of the

borehole, setting or removal of casing up to the point of installing or repairing pumping
equipment and plugging abandoned water wells.

3.6.2.4 Master electricians. A Master Electrician holding a valid
license may repair or install pressure switches, control boxes and other electrical
components of the pumping equipment at the well head without holding licenses issued

by the Commission. The Electrician shall adhere to these regulations rules for the
installation and is not authorized to break the well seal, or alter, cut or drill into the

casing.

3.6.2.5 Master plumbers. A Master Plumber holding a valid Master

Plumber License may repair or install pressure switches, pressure tanks, valves and pipes
at the well head, without holding licenses issued by the Commission. The plumber shall
adhere to these regulations rules for the installation and is not authorized to break the
well seal, or alter, cut or drill into the casing.
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3.7 Bonding.

3.7.1 Conditions of bond for resident and nonresident

contractor. The Water Well Contractor as defined in Act 641, as amended, as
principal and a surety company or corporation authorized to do business in the State of
Arkansas as surety shall bind themselves and their successors and assigns jointly and
severally to the Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission for the use and benefit of
the public in the full penal sum of no less than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) for
each licensing year beginning August 1, 2016; that said principal and any person
employed by him shall duly comply with Act 641 of 1969, as amended, and all rules and
regulations pertaining to said Act. Any one contract, as prescribed herein by Rule 3.7.7,
between said principal and a person doing business with said principal exceeding twenty
thousand dollars ($20,000.00) or the amount of aforesaid bond if in excess of twenty
thousand dollars ($20,000.00) shall require said principal to enter into a separate
agreement and a bond equal to the amount of said contract as required in Subsection (c)
of Section 11 of Act 641 of 1969.

3.7.2 Recovery of damages. Any and all persons doing business with
said principal or person in his employ, who have been damaged by reason of violation of
any of the provisions set out in Act 641 of 1969, as amended, and all rules and
regulatiens pertaining to said Act, may in their own name and without joining the
Commission as a party, sue thereon and join in said action as one of the defendants
against the surety on said bond(s).

3.7.3 Exhaustion of administrative remedies. No action shall be
taken against the principal and surety on said bond(s) until all reasonable administrative
remedies have been exhausted by the Commission.

3.7.4 Term of bond. Each bond shall be construed as a new bond in the
sum aforesaid in Rule 3.7.1, for each year it remains in full force unless the bond is
waived as set forth in Rule 3.7.8.

3.7.5 Termination of bond. The surety shall terminate each bond by
giving not less than thirty (30) days written notice of the effective date of said
termination to the Commission. Termination shall not relieve said surety or principal of
any liability during which the bond was in force until a period of not less than five (5)
years from the effective date of termination has expired.

3.7.6 Bond form. The Commission shall provide a contractor's bond form to
each person applying for the contractor's license. Each contractor's license shall be
issued only after the receipt of the original copy of the water well contractor's bond
prescribed above and said form is completed and notarized. The contractor's license may
be renewed annually without receipt of a new contractor's bond form provided the
Commission has proof that the original contractor's bond(s) remains in full force and
effect.
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3.7.7 The amount of the contract. "The amount of the contract" as
used in Rule 3.7.1 shall be defined as the amount or cost of the construction of the well,
including but not limited to the cost of drilling, casing, screens, grout, seals, etc.,
excluding the costs of systems employed, constructed or installed on the discharge side of
the pressure tank or beyond the point of discharge from the pump if no tank is employed,
or to pivot systems, ditches, pumping stations, pump houses, buildings, air conditioning
duct work, or items which the water well contractor may construct or install, but are not
directly connected with the construction of the well or included under the Definition or
Scope of a water well as prescribed in Subsection (E) of Section 3, and Section 4 of Act

641 of 1969, as amended, and these rules end-regulations.

3.7.8 Waiver. The Commission shall reserve the right to waive the
requirement of obtaining a water well contractor's bond in the amount of twenty thousand
dollars ($20,000.00) in favor of a bond of a lesser amount to those contractors whose
contracts for each one-year period consistently amount to less than twenty thousand
dollars ($20,000.00). The contractor must provide proof that he is unable to obtain a
bond, or such bond would cause an undue hardship. Further, the Executive Secretary of
the Commission must be willing to recommend that a bond of a lesser amount would be
sufficient protection for any persons doing business with the Contractor.

3.7.9 Cash bond. Persons who install pumping equipment or repair
pumping equipment that have been granted a waiver for a twenty thousand dollar
($20,000) bond and are unable to post a twenty thousand dollar ($20,000) bond may post
in lieu of a water well contractor’s bond an escrow cash bond of no less than five hundred
dollars ($500.00) per year until twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) is accrued. Persons
authorized to post an escrow cash bond in lieu of posting bond shall also submit a
statement of personal indemnification signed by the principal owner or Chief Executive

Officer.
3.8 Mail.

3.8.1 General. All persons licensed or certified by the Commission agree
to keep the Commission advised of his or her current address and must readily accept all
mail sent to them from the Commission.

3.8.2 Registered or certified malil. Registered or certified mail sent
with proper postage and to the last known address that is returned unclaimed shall be
considered adequate notification of notice served.

3.8.3 Change of address. The Commission shall be notified of any
change of address within fifteen (15) days of the change.

3.8.4 Refusal to accept mail. Refusal to accept mail is considered a

violation of these regulatiens rules and will result in immediate suspension of any
registration or license until the matter is resolved and could result in further disciplinary

action.
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3.9 Continuing education. Beginning August 1, 2002, as a condition
of annual license renewal, a contractor or one designee who is a partner, officer, or full-
time employee and a registered driller or pump installer shall submit proof of 6 approved
continuing education credits completed during the previous licensing year. For each
additional designee, two (2) additional credits will be required per contractor per year.
Credits exceeding the required number may be carried over into the next licensing year.
The Commission may pre-approve continuing education programs and the number of
credits to be given for those programs therefore. Programs submitted for pre-approval
shall be considered by the Commission only upon submission, by the sponsor or attendee,
of a written description, which must include the names and qualifications of the
presenters, the time and location, the proposed number of credits, and the program's
objectives. Programs may be held in-state or out-of-state and must be related to water
wells or pump systems technology, science, or health, sound business practices, or
compliance with the Commission's Rules and other governmental and industry
requirements including worker health and safety. Program sponsors must provide written
proof of attendance to attendees, and providers of pre-approved classes must provide a
list of attendees to the Commission by July 31 of each year.

3.10 Apprenticeship program.

3.10.1 General. A natural person obtaining the knowledge, skills, and

abilities necessary to obtain a certificate of registration as a pump installer under the
personal supervision of a registered pump installer or to obtain a certificate of registration

as a water well driller under the personal supervision of a registered-pump-instalieror

registered water well driller may apply to the Commission for an apprenticeship
certificate.

3.10.1.1 Personal supervision. “Personal supervision” means that the
supervisor is at the job site with the apprentice or within two hours’ traveling distance of
the apprentice whenever the apprentice is working in well construction or pump
installation. When the supervisor is not physically present at the job site with the
apprentice, the supervisor must be reachable at any time by wireless telephone or radio
contact.

3.10.1.2 Supervisor Employment. A registered certificate holder
serving as an apprentice supervisor shall be a full-time employee of the company hiring
the apprentice.

3.10.2 Requirements for apprenticeship certificate. All
applicants for apprenticeship certificates must submit the following:
1. Completed application form;
2. Notarized letter from a registered certificate holder stating:
a. That he or she holds a certificate of registration in the same area or a
comparable area sought by the apprenticeship applicant and that he or she has
held that certificate for at least five of the previous ten years;
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b. That he or she has no record of construction violations in the specialty area
unless waived by the Commission;

c. That he or she has no outstanding fines or fees owed to the Commission;

d. That he or she is willing to serve in a supervisory capacity during the
apprenticeship;

e. The number of apprentices including the applicant that the supervisor
currently supervises or anticipates supervising within a year of drafting the letter
will not exceed five; and

f. A description of the training program;

3. Written statement from a contractor employing the supervisor whereby the
contractor agrees to accept responsibility for the apprenticeship;

4. Copy of driver’s license or other document illustrating that applicant is at least
eighteen years old; and

5. Registration fee.

3.10.3 Registration for concurrent apprenticeships. An

applicant may register for both a drilling apprenticeship and a pump installer’s
apprenticeship at the same time. Each registration will require separate registration fees.

3.10.4 Transfer of supervisory authority. A supervisor may agree
to temporarily transfer supervising responsibility to a person holding a certificate of
registration in the area sought by the apprentice and employed by the same contractor.
The supervisor to whom responsibility is temporarily transferred must not already
supervise more than five other apprenticeships and must meet the requirements of 3.10.2.

3.10.5 Apprentice responsibilities. An apprentice's certificate may
be revoked for engaging in prohibited activities.

3.10.5.1 Driller apprentice responsibilities. A driller apprentice
shall:

1. Represent his supervising driller during operations at the well site;

2. Not perform, or offer to perform, any services associated with water well
drilling except under the personal supervision of a certified driller; and

3. Not perform, or offer to perform, any services associated with pump
installation unless the apprentice holds a pump installer apprentice certificate or pump
installer certificate of registration.

3.10.5.2 Pump installer apprentice responsibilities. A pump
installer apprentice shall:

1. Represent his supervising pump installer during operations at the well site;

2. Not perform, or offer to perform, any services associated with pump
installation except under the direst personal supervision of a certified pump installer; and

3. Not perform, or offer to perform, any services associated with water well
drilling unless the apprentice holds a driller apprentice certificate or driller certificate of

registration.
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3.10.6 Length of apprenticeship. A person must be apprenticed with

the Commission for at least two years before that person is eligible to apply for
certification as a water well driller or pump installer.

3.10.7 Eligibility to apply for driller and pump installer
certification.

3.10.7.1 Supervisor recommendation. After the apprentice has
completed at least two years of apprenticeship, the apprentice’s supervisor may send the
Commission a letter on the apprentice’s behalf stating that the apprentice is ready to sit
for examination to obtain a certificate of registration as a water well driller or pump
installer.

3.10.7.2 Application by apprentice. After the apprentice has
completed two years of apprenticeship, the apprentice may submit IRS W2 Wage and
Tax Statement forms demonstrating that he has spent three years in the employ of a
licensed water well contractor and that he is ready to sit for the certificate of registration
examination. The Commission will then approve or disapprove the apprentice to take the
examination.

3.10.7.2.1 Inability to secure letter from contractor. If after
the apprentice has completed at least two years of apprenticeship but is unable due to
extenuating circumstances to secure a letter from his supervisor recommending that he be
qualified to sit for examination, the apprentice may petition the Commission to waive the
requirement that he provide a letter from a supervisor prior to sitting for the examination.

3.10.8 Renewal of apprenticeship certificate. An apprentice’s
certificate shall be deemed expired on July 31 of each year. If the apprentice has
knowingly violated Commission rules or owes fees assessed by the Commission, the
Commission may choose to deny renewal. A certificate must be renewed prior to the
certificate’s expiration date by complying with the following requirements:

1. Submission of the renewal application form; and

2. Payment of an annual registration fee to the Commission.

3.10.9 Change of responsible supervisor or contractor. Ifa
supervisor terminates supervision of an apprentice, the contractor employing the
apprentice must send a written statement to the Commission stating the relationship has
ended. In order to continue the apprenticeship, the apprentice must find another
certificate holder to supervise him or her, and that new supervisor must send a notarized
letter to the Commission that meets the requirements of Rule 3.10.2.

3.10.10 Apprenticeship program exemption. A-person-wheis
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pfegfam—l-nstead—t-hs—pefseﬂ-shaﬂ— A A person who has prewousl\ he]d a water well

driller or pump installer certificate of registration from the Commission and seeks
reinstatement shall not be required to complete the apprenticeship program.
B. A person seeking reinstatement shall pay the certificate of registration fee set
out in Rule 3.4 and demonstrate via application that he or she:
1. Was previously registered in this state in the area of interest;
2. Held the registration in good standing at the time of registration;
3 Did not have his or her registration revoked for:
a. An act of bad faith; or
b. A violation of law, rule or ethics;
4. Is not holding a suspended or probationary registration or license in any state;
and
5. Is sufficiently competent in his or her area of interest by:

i—Satisfactorily satisfactorily completing a competency
examination approved by the Commission;-and .

boldi g” E.} o intl s ; 115“55"5
C. If the person seeking reinstatement applies for reinstatement within a vear of
the expiration of his or her certificate. he or she will not be required to take the
Commission’s competency test.

3.10.10.1 Continuing Education. The Commission may require the
person to participate in continuing education consistent with these rules and-regtlations.

3.10.10.2 Reciprocity. A person shall not be required to comply with the
requirement of 3.10.10 to obtain reinstatement of a license if the person meets the
requirements of reciprocity.

3.11 Rules applicable to active duty service members,
returning military veterans, and spouses.

3.11.1 Expedited and temporary certification for active

duty military, returning military veterans, and spouses.
A. The Commission shall expedite the certification process for any individual

applving for Arkansas accreditation who
1. Holds a substantially equivalent certificate issued by another state. territorv. or

district who is in good standing with that state: and
2. Is one of the following:
a. An active duty military service member stationed in the State of

Arkansas:
b. A returning military veteran applving within one (1) vear of his or her

discharge from active duty: or

Page 9



MARK-UP Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

c. The spouse of a person described by (2)(a) or (b).
B(1). The applicant will still need to demonstrate competence to drill wells or

install pumps in Arkansas by passing the Commisison’s test.
(2). However. an applicant may obtain temporary certification pursuant to Rule

3.12.4 until the applicant has met the Commisison’s testing requirement.

3.11.2 Consideration of military training and experience.

A. When considering an application for certification from a person described by
Rule 3.11.1.2 who does not have certification from another state. territory. or district the
Commisison shall:

1. Consider whether the applicant’s military training and experience is
substantially similar to experience or education required for the applicable permit
or license: and

2. Accept documentation of the applicant’s military training and
experience in lieu of experience or education required for the applicable permit if
the Commission determines the military training and experience is a satisfactory
substitute for the experience or education required for the permit.

B. The applicant will still need to demonstrate competence to drill wells or install
pumps in Arkansas by passing the Commisison’s test.

3.11.3 License or permit expiration.

A license or permit issued by the Commission held by an active duty military
service member or the spouse of an active dutv military service member deploved outside
Arkansas shall not expire until one hundred eighty (180) davs following the active duty
military service member’s or the spouse’s return from active deployment.

3.11.4 Continuing education exemption.
A. The Commission shall allow a full or partial exemption from continuing
education requirements for the following individuals:
1. An active duty military service member deploved outside of the State
of Arkansas:
2. A returning military veteran applying within one (1) vear of his or her
discharge from active duty: or
3. The spouse of a person under (1) or (2) of this section.
B. The Commission mayv require the completion of continuing education before
issuing any subsequent renewals.

3.12 Reciprocity.

3.12.1 Reciprocity agreement.

An applicant holding an occupational license from an entity of another state.
territory, or district of the United States that has entered into a written agreement with the
Commission shall qualify for a certificate of registration as a water well driller or pump
installer once he or she has satisfied the terms of the agreement.
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3.12.2. Reciprocity qualifications.

An applicant. who holds a substantially similar certification from another state.

territory. or district of the United States that has not entered into a reciprocity agreement

with the Commission. applving for reciprocal certification as an Arkansas Water Well

Construction Commission Water Well Driller or Pump Installer. shall meet the following
requirements:

1. The applicant holds certification in good standing:

2. The applicant shall not have had a certification revoked for an act of bad faith
or a violation of law. rule. or ethics:

3. The applicant does not hold a suspended or probationary license in another
state, territory. or district of the United States:

4. The applicant has held the certificate for two vears:

5. The applicant demonstrates sufficient competence in the field by passing the
Commission’s certification exam which tests applicant’s knowledge of the
Arkansas Water Well Construction Act. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-50-101 et seq.:
Water Well Construction Rules: and general knowledge of water well
construction.

6. The applicant is eighteen vears of age or older: and

7. The applicant pays a registration fee in accord with Rule 3.4.

3.12.3 Reqguired documentation of substantially similar

program.

A. As evidence that the applicant’s certificate from another jurisdiction is

substantially similar to the Commission’s requirements for a certificate of registration.

the applicant shall submit the following information:

1. Evidence of current and active certification from another state.

territory. or district of the United States.

2. Evidence that the other jurisdiction’s certification requirements are

similar to those required by the Commission.
B. To demonstrate that the applicant meets reciprocity requirements. the

applicant shall provide the Commission with:

1. The names of all states in which the applicant is currently certified or
has been previously certified:

2. Letters of good standing or other information from the licensing entity
of each jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently or has ever been certified
showing that the applicant has not had his certificate revoked for an act of bad
faith or a violation of law, rule. or ethics and does not hold a certificate on a
suspended or probationary status.
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3.12.4 Temporary certification for a person holding

certification from a substantially similar program.

A. The Commission shall grant a 90-day temporary certificate of registration to
any individual holding a water well driller or pump installer certificate of registration
from another state. territory. or district of the United States upon being presented with
evidence of a current and active occupational certification substantially similar to the
practice of water well drilling or pump installing in Arkansas.

B. An individual holding a substantially similar certification shall submit a
completed application. proof of certification. and a certificate of registration fee
identified in Rule 3.4.

3.12.5 Applicant with experience from a state, territory, or

district that does not require certification.
An applicant from a state that does not certify water well drillers shall meet requirements
5. 6. and 7 in Rule 3.12.2. as well as provide the following documents:

1. An affidavit containing separate paragraphs accounting for at least two
vears of employment by a water well drilling or pump installation business or
businesses including the following information:

a. Business phone number and address.

b. Name of applicant’s supervisor:

¢. Description of duties performed by applicant while emploved
by the business:

d. Dates of applicant’s employment.

e. Number of well drilled by applicant or the number to which
applicant has installed pumps. or both. if applicable. and

f. Type of rigs used by applicant to perform these duties.

2. Either two vears of Internal Revenue Service (IRS) W2 Wage and Tax
Statement Forms demonstrating two vears of emplovment as a water well driller
or pump installer. whichever is applicable. or insurance or bonding documents
corresponding to dates of emplovment with the business or businesses.

3.13 Criminal background checks.

3.13.1 Disqualification from registration and licensure due

to criminal conviction.

A. The Commission shall require all applicants to undergo a state and federal
backgeround check at the Commission’s expense.

B. With the exception of a waiver granted pursuant to Rule 3.13.2. no individual
is eligible to receive or hold certification or licensure if the individual has pleaded guilty
or nolo contendere to or been found guilty of any of the offenses identified in Ark. Code
Ann. § 17-3-102(a) by any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a
court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court. unless the conviction
was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record Sealing Act of 2013. §
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16-90-1401 et seq.. or otherwise previously sealed. pardoned or expunged under prior
law.

C(1). An individual seeking certification or licensure shall be permanently
disqualified from receiving certification or licensure if the individual has been convicted
of anv of the crimes listed at Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-102(e).

(2). The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in § 17-3-102(e)
does not apply to an individual who holds a valid certification or license on July 24.

2019.

D. The Commission shall not disqualify an applicant if the date of conviction or
incarceration or on which probation for the disqualifving offense occurred is more than
five (5) vears prior to application for certification or license, if the individual:

1. Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual offense: and

2. Has not been convicted of anv other offense during the five-vear
disqualification period: or

3. The applicant was arrested for but not subsequently convicted for an

offense.

3.13.2 Waiver of disgualification due to criminal conviction.
A. If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in Ark. Code Ann. § 17-
3-102(a). except for those permanently disqualifving offenses found in subsection (e). the
Commission may waive disqualification or revocation of a certification or license based
on the conviction if a request for a waiver is made by:
1. An affected applicant: or
2. An individual holding a certification or license subject to revocation.
B. The Commission may grant a waiver on the following basis without
limitation:
1. The age at which the offense was committed:
2. The circumstances surrounding the offense:
3. The length of time since the offense was committed:
4. Subsequent work history since the offense was committed:
5. Employment references since the offense was committed:
6. Character references since the offense was committed:
7. Relevance of the offense to a commission license or certification; and
8. Other evidence demonstrating that certification or licensure of the
applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safetv of the public.
C. A request for a waiver. if made by an applicant. must be in writing and
accompany the completed application and fees.
D. The Commission will respond with a decision in writing and will state the
reasons for the decision.
E. An appeal of a determination under this section will be subject to the

Administrative Procedures Act § 25-15-201 et seq.
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3.13.3 Pre-certification or pre-licensure criminal
background check.

A. An individual may petition the Commission for a pre-certification or pre-
licensure determination of whether the individual’s criminal record will disqualify the
individual from certification or licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.

B. The individual shall obtain the pre-certification or pre-licensure criminal
backeround check petition form from the Commission.

C. The Commission shall respond to a completed petition with a written decision
within a reasonable time.

D. The Commission’s response will state the reason or reasons for the decision.

E. All decisions of the Commission in response to the petition will be determined
by the information provided by the individual.

F. Any decision made by the Commission in response to a pre-certification or
pre-licensure criminal backeround check petition is not subject to appeal.

G. The Commission shall retain a copv of the petition and response for review
during the formal application process.

Section 4. Reporting

4.1 Reports. Within ninety (90) days after a water well has been
constructed or repaired, the constructor shall submit a report of construction to the
Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission on such forms as are prescribed and
furnished by the Commission. The date of construction and time of completion shall be
the date and time the rig is removed or pulled off the bore hole or well. Reports must be
legible, must supply all requested information applicable to the type of work done, and
must contain the longitude and latitude of the well location.

4.1.1 Test holes. When a water well contractor constructs a test hole for a
well that may be developed into a water well, the contractor shall file a construction
report within thirty (30) days after the date of construction regardless of the stage of
completion of the water well.

4.2 Domestic wells. The contractor is required to maintain adequate

records at his place of business of pumps installed in water wells used for domestic
purposes. Generally all warranty information should be maintained as well as depth of
settings, size of wire, size of pipe, etc.

4.3 Copy to be provided to customer. A copy of the construction
report shall be provided to the customer upon demand.
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Section 5. Construction

Note: Construction requirements vary according to type of formation, type of
well and intended use. Please review both the general requirements and Section 6,
"Special well construction techniques” for the type of well you are working on.

5.1 Location.

5.1.1 General. In establishing the location of a well, the constructor shall
consider sources of contamination which exist on or adjacent to the premises where the
well is to be located. As far as possible, the well shall be located on ground which is
higher than sources of contamination and shall have ready access for repairs,
maintenance, treatment and inspection.

5.1.2 Relation to sources of contamination. Determination of
minimum lateral distances to locate a well from potential sources of contamination
involves evaluation of the character and location of the sources of contamination, types of
geologic formations present, depth to the aquifer, effect on ground water movement by
well pumping and possibilities of flooding of the site by surface waters. Based on
practice and experience, accepted minimum lateral distances for some common sources
of pollution with respect to a well have been established. The lack of specific distances
for other possible sources of contamination such as streams, refuse disposal sites,
excavations, waste treatment facilities, buried oil and gasoline storage tanks, improperly
constructed wells and cisterns, etc. does not minimize their potential hazard. These must
be evaluated in each situation and a distance arrived at based on the pertinent facts.

5.1.3 Minimum lateral distances. The following minimum lateral
distances shall apply for common sources of contamination listed:

Potential sources of contamination Minimum lateral distances for clay and
loam soils

Cess Pools 100 Feet

Leaching Pit 100 Feet

Pit Privy 100 Feet

Subsurface Seepage Tile 100 Feet
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Manure Piles 100 Feet
Septic Tank 100 Feet
Sewers (Cast iron with water tight, 50 Feet

leaded or mechanical joints)

Footing Drains (No connection to a 10 Feet
sewer or a sump handling sewage)

Pump House Floor Drain (Cast iron 2 Feet
with water tight joints and having free fall
discharge to ground surface)

When the upper formations are more pervious, the lateral distances shall be
increased (i.e., double the distance for highly pervious gravel formations).

5.1.4 Flood water. Locations subject to flooding should be avoided. If no
reasonable alternate site exists, wells may be constructed in flood zones providing special
protective construction is included.

5.1.5 Vertical closed loop systems / wells. Vertical closed loop
systems and wells shall not be located closer than fifty (50) feet to a septic tank, its field
lines, or other water supply wells used for human consumption. This requirement may be
waived. An approved waiver may be requested by contacting the Commission office by
telephone or mail. Written approval must be obtained from the Commission prior to
construction of the well.

5.1.6 Open loop systems / wells. The location of open loop wells
shall meet the same criteria as water wells used for domestic or human consumption.

5.1.7 Industrial and irrigation wells. No industrial or irrigation well
shall be located nearer than one hundred (100) feet to any other well producing potable
water. It is recommended that locations subject to flooding be avoided. If no reasonable
alternate exists, wells should be constructed with the casing terminating two (2) feet
above the maximum known flood water elevation.
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5.1.8 Relations to buildings. With respect to buildings, the location of
a well shall be as follows:

5.1.8.1 Adjacent to building. When a well must be located adjacent to
a building, it shall be located so that the center line of the well extended vertically will
clear any projection from the building by not less than ten (10) feet. The well shall also
be located at least ten (10) feet away from any power lines.

5.1.8.2 Inside building. The casing top of a well and any other opening
shall not terminate in the basement of any building, or in any pit, room or space which is
below ground surface or connected to a basement, which is not properly drained or
pumped. Where it is necessary to seal out seep water or rain water in small diameter
wells that are underground, National Water Well Association approved pitless adapters,
or an approved seal, shall be used.

5.2 Design factors. The design of each well shall include consideration
of the following:

5.2.1 Natural protection. Location of the well shall include utilization
of every natural protection available to promote sanitary conditions.

5.2.2 Undesirable geological formations. The exclusions of water
bearing formations which are or may become contaminated formations which have
undesirable characteristics.

5.2.3 Durability. The use of construction methods and materials which will
result in a durable well producing safe water, without excessive sediment and sand, or
harmful bacteria.

5.3 Materials and technical reguirements.

5.3.1 Construction water. Water used in the drilling process should be
obtained from a source which will not result in contamination of the well. It is required
that an appropriate amount of chlorine solution be added to the construction water in
order to protect the well from contamination. Please refer to the tables in Section 11 to
determine the proper amount of chlorine to use.

5.3.2 Plumbness and alignment. Each drilled well shall be tested for
plumbness and alignment and the bore of the hole shall be sufficiently plumb and straight
to receive the casing without binding. The casing shall be sufficiently plumb and straight
so that it will not interfere with installation and operation of the pump.

5.3.3 Yield. Each well shall be tested for yield and draw down by pump,
bailer, or air.

5.4 Casing. The casing shall be installed where the purpose of casing is to
seal off surface, near surface, or deeper contaminants or where the purpose is to retain the
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wall of the well in addition to repelling outside contaminants. In selection of casing pipe,
consideration shall be given to the strain to which the pipe will be subjected during
construction and the corrosiveness of the water with which it comes in contact. Used or
reject pipe is not acceptable.

5.4.1 Temporary (outer) casing. Casing intended for construction
purposes only shall be of weight and design as necessary to be watertight and permit
installation without distortion or rupture to the specified depth.

5.4.2 Grouting guides. Protective casing that is to be grouted in the drill
hole should have sufficient guides welded to the casing to permit the unobstructed flow
and disposition of the thickness of grout specified.

5.4.3 Screens. Screen openings shall provide the maximum amount of
open area consistent with the strength of screen and the grading of the water bearing
formation or gravel pack. The opening shall permit maximum transmitting ability
without clogging or jamming.

5.4.4 Joints. All casing pipe joints shall be watertight welded construction
or threaded couplings.

5.4.5 Upper terminal. The casing, well curb or riser pipe shall be
terminated at a height above ground surface consistent with the proposed plans for a
pump house and pump installation but not less than eight (8) inches above ground surface
or twenty-four (24) inches above maximum high-water level where flooding occurs.

5.4.6 Steel casing for domestic, individual, and stock

wells. Casing for domestic, individual and stock wells of steel construction shall be as
follows: Minimum eleven (11) pound black steel pipe may be used in consolidated
formations. ASA Galvanized Standard Weight Schedule 40 pipe, one (1) inch I.D. to
four (4) inches 1.D. pipe size and weight are covered in Rule 11. 4.090-inch I. D.
galvanized pipe, 9-1/2 pound (schedule 30) may be used on a statewide basis with the
following provision that any failure of this weight pipe within a five (5) year period be
replaced by the contractor at no cost to the landowner.

5.4.7 PVC casing. Effective January 1, 1989, PVC plastic casing may be
used provided the PVC pipe is manufactured as water well casing and is permanently
marked as well casing. The casing shall be made to ASTM F480. The Contractor shall be
responsible to assure that the PVC wall thickness shall be sufficient to withstand both the
formation and hydrostatic pressures imposed on the casing during its installation and
development. PVC casing shall be used only when construction practices will allow the
bore hole to remain open during casing installation and the casing can be lowered freely
without driving.

5.4.8 Fiberglass casing. Fiberglass reinforced plastic well casing,
tested in accordance with ASTM D1180 (American Society Testing Materials), may be
used where judged desirable by the contractor and approved by the customer, in
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consolidated and unconsolidated formations. Each coupling shall form a watertight seal.
Pipe having a minimum bursting pressure of 660 PSI may be used.

5.4.9 Casing of industrial and irrigation wells.

5.4.9.1 General. All casing, including steel shall be strong enough to resist
the forces imposed during installation and other forces that can be expected after
installation. It shall be the contractor’s responsibility to see that all casing used in
industrial and irrigation wells will not collapse. Any material used in construction of
industrial and irrigation wells that collapses or breaks within (5) five years shall be
renewed with a material strong enough to withstand the stress or pressure without charge

to the customer.

5.4.9.2 PVC casing. PVC 160 PSI NSF or stronger material
classification may be used in construction of industrial and irrigation wells, where judged
desirable by the contractor and approved by the customer in unconsolidated formations.
All pipes shall be permanently marked under a method suitable to the National Sanitation
Foundation. Plastic pipe must be made of new, not reclaimed material.

5.4.9.3 Joints. The joints of all casing shall be watertight and plumb and in
alignment. All casing shall be installed to seal off water bearing formations that contain
undesirable water (such as saline) and prevent water from the surface entering the fresh
water aquifer so as not to contaminate them. Each joint of PVC pipe shall have a
minimum of four (4) screws or rivets in the coupling.

5.4.10 Casing in consolidated formations. Metal or plastic casing
shall extend a minimum of one (1) foot into solid bedrock or slate in a cement or
Bentonite seal at least one (1) inch thick from rock upward for five (5) feet. In wells
where consolidated formations, such as bedrock or slate, occur as a definable unit, the
casing shall be set into the consolidated formation and sealed below all crevices that
would normally release water of inferior quality into the well. Plastic casing may be used
to case through overburden in consolidated formations, providing the casing meets the
requirements for the depth being cased.

5.4.10.1 Rock below creviced formation. The diameter of the drill
hole through the creviced formation shall be a minimum of two (2) inches greater than
the diameter of the casing. If an outer casing is left in place in the earth mantle, the
annular opening around that casing shall be sealed as outlined in Rule 5.4.11. All wells
constructed in consolidated formations shall be cased a minimum of ten (10) feet from
ground surface or one (1) foot minimum into the consolidated formation.! All casing left
permanently installed in consolidated formations shall be grouted with the appropriate
materials, as outlined in Rule 5.5, from the bottom of the casing upward five (5) feet.
Where a desirable water bearing formation underlies a crevice or undesirable water
bearing formation, the overlaying formation should be completely grout sealed and
watertight. Drilling construction should extend into the desired formation.
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ITen feet from ground surface or one foot minimum into the consolidated
formation means that wells must be cased at least ten feet. Wells will never have less than
5 feet of cement or Bentonite grout in the annulus. Wells must also be cased at least one
foot into consolidated formations. Minimum of one foot into consolidated rock means
that many times even thought the formation is consolidated, ground water, at a particular
depth would be undesirable and additional casing and grout to a depth greater than one
foot into consolidated formation is required.

5.4.11 Casing in unconsolidated formations. Unconsolidated
formations such as sand and gravel may extend to or near the ground surface. Generally,
however, they lie below the ground surface at varying depths and are covered by an over
burden of earth. The kind, nature and depth of the over burden are factors in determining
how a well shall be constructed. Wells constructed in unconsolidated formations shall
have a permanent casing installed, in which the casing or screen shall extend the
complete length of the drill hole. A minimum of the upper ten (10) feet shall be filled
with grout after the casing is in place.

5.4.11.1 Gravel wall construction. When an oversized drill hole is
constructed to permit the placement of a gravel wall around the well screen or perforated
casing, the annular opening between the casing and the drill hole shall be sealed in the
top twenty (20) feet with concrete, cement, or Bentonite grout. If a permanent outer
casing is installed, it shall extend to a depth of at least twenty (20) feet depending on the
formations present, the annular opening between the drill hole and the outer casing shall
be sealed as provided for in Rule 5.4.12. The annular opening between inner and outer
casings shall be filled with concrete, cement, or Bentonite grout in the upper twenty (20)
feet.

5.5 Grouting.

5.5.1 Sand and cement grout. This mixture should consist of cement,
sand and water, in the proportion of one bag of cement (94 pounds) and an equal volume
of dry sand to not more than six (6) gallons of clean water.

5.5.2 Neat cement grout. This mixture should consist of one bag of
cement (94 pounds) to not more than six (6) gallons of clean water. Additives up to 6%
by weight to increase fluidity may be used.

5.5.3 Concrete. This mixture should consist of cement, sand, aggregate
(gravel), and water in the proportion of one bag of cement (94 pounds) and an equal
amount of dry sand and aggregate and clean water. Concrete can be used in the top ten
(10) feet of the annular space around the casing of the large diameter wells when the
annular space is larger than two (2) inches from the outside of the casing wall to the face
of the bore hole. Aggregate shall be no larger than 1/5 of the dimension between the
outside casing and the face of the bore hole. All concrete shall be placed to prevent
voids.
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5.5.4 Bentonite grout. Bentonite or sealing clay grout is a manufactured
clay product that expands in contact with moisture to form a seal that prevents the
movement of water and may be used in consolidated and unconsolidated formations. It is
the responsibility of the contractor to make the viscosity of the bentonite thick enough to

seal out all contaminates.

5.5.5 Grouting of metal-cased wells. Metal casing shall be encased
in a cement seal at least two (2) inches thick from ground level to a distance of at least
ten (10) feet below established ground surface.

5.5.6 Grouting of curbed wells. Curbed wells shall be concreted at
least six (6) inches thick poured monolithically from the upper terminal to a distance of at
least ten feet below established ground surface.

5.6 Well seals or caps.

5.6.1 General. Well seals or caps installed on wells shall be securely
capped. The seal may provide ventilation but shall be sufficiently tight and secure to
prohibit foreign objects, insects and other creatures from entering the well. The well seal
shall be secure to prohibit entrance to the well from unauthorized persons without tools or

excessive physical exertion.

5.6.2 Timing. The well seal or cap shall be installed immediately upon
completion of the well and prior to departure of the driller and or contractor or his drilling
equipment from the well site. An effort should be made by the driller or contractor to
ensure that the well seal or cap provided/installed is compatible to the type of pump and
pipe to be installed.

5.6.3 Seals or caps when pump installed. Well seals or caps shall
be installed on all water wells after pump installation and shall be securely capped. The
seal MAY provide ventilation but be sufficiently tight and secure to prohibit foreign
objects, contamination, insects and other pests from entering the well. The well seal shall
be secure to prohibit entrance to the well from unauthorized persons without tools or
excessive physical exertion. All wells in consolidated areas will be vented with insect
proof vents. If the well is located inside a building it shall be vented to the outside.

5.6.4 Pitless adapters. Pitless adapters shall be installed in a manner
that excludes entrance of water or other materials into the well.

5.6.5 Test holes. The contractor shall insure that the well/hole is capped
to prevent injury or pollution. If the test well is abandoned, then the well shall be
plugged as outlined in Rule 5.8.

5.7 Disinfection.

5.7.1 General. Every new well, or existing water supply system that has
been disrupted for service or repair, should be disinfected before it is returned to use.
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Water in the well and storage tank should be treated with a strong chlorine solution to
destroy disease organisms. All pipe lines and fixtures in the distribution system should be
rinsed and flushed with chlorinated water. All wells, excluding irrigation, will be
disinfected.

5.7.2 Timing. If the constructor of the well is also responsible for preparing
the well for the pump installation and making the pump installations, disinfection may be
postponed until his work is completed. In the event the constructor does not have this
responsibility, it is required before capping the well that an appropriate amount of
chlorine solution be introduced into the well.

5.7.3 Disinfection and pump installation. At the time of new

pump installation or reinstallation of an existing pump, the water system shall be
chlorinated to a minimum concentration of 50 ppm for a minimum of 24 hours. Each
well shall be disinfected by tablets and/or liquid.

5.7.4 Water. Water, which has contacted pipe or equipment used in
chemigation, shall not be allowed to back siphon or be used to backwash the well.

5.7.5 Emergencies. If an emergency exists, the water system may be
used, provided, the system is not for human consumption, and the system is disinfected as
soon as the situation permits. Refer to the tables in Section 11 for guidance on
administering chlorine.

5.8 Plugging or abandonment of wells.

5.8.1 General. To restore geologic and hydrogeologic conditions existing
prior to a well’s construction, any person who abandons an abandoned well, as defined in
Rule 10.28, must use methods and materials that will protect the ground water from
surface contamination and prohibit cross-contamination (co-mingling) of aquifers. Clay,
cement, or bentonite will be allowed to plug wells with certain restrictions applied when
using bentonite.

5.8.2 Dry holes. If no water is encountered and the landowner does not wish
to abandon the well in the event that he might plan further development of the well at a
later date, the contractor shall complete the well according to the rules and-regulations,
including casing, sealing, and capping the well.

5.8.3 File well abandonment form. All wells plugged in the State
should be reported by the water well contractor to the AWWCC on a well abandonment
form to be approved by the AW WCC within ninety (90) days of abandonment.

5.8.4.1 Consolidated formations. When information has been

obtained about a well completed in a single consolidated aquifer from a water well
construction report, geophysical data, or usage of a down-hole camera, the well shall be

Page 22



MARK-UP Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

plugged with cement, clay, or bentonite to a depth of fifty (50) feet below the bottom of
the surface casing, with a minimum depth of one hundred (100) feet of depth below land
surface. The remaining depth of the well may be filled with clean sand or pea gravel.
Wells completed in more than one major aquifer must have a minimum fifty (50) foot
clay, cement, or bentonite seal emplaced in the borehole within each confining unit
between the aquifers, and between any aquifer and the surface overburden.

5.8.4.2 No information. If no information on well construction is
available, the well must be filled from bottom to within two (2) feet of land surface with
clay, cement, or bentonite in a manner that will protect the ground-water flow system.

5.8.5 Unconsolidated formations. All wells in unconsolidated
formations will be filled with sand or natural material to twelve (12) feet of ground
surface, from twelve (12) feet to two (2) feet with bentonite or cement.

5.8.6 Usage of packers. Packers should be emplaced in wells overlying
flowing artesian aquifers, or aquifers with more than seventy-five (75) feet hydrostatic
head to curtail flow prior to plugging and prevent intercommunication of aquifers.

5.8.7 Usage of bentonite.

5.8.7.1 Chips. Bentonite chips may only be used to plug a well if the well’s
diameter is four (4) inches or more, the well’s depth is less than six hundred (600) feet
below land surface, and the well contains less than five hundred (500) feet of standing

water.

5.8.7.2 Slurries. Bentonite slurries are not allowed for well abandonment in
the unsaturated zone (above water level).

5.8.7.3 Prohibited use of bentonite under certain
conditions. Bentonite should only be used in accordance with package label
recommendations.

5.8.8 Caves. A driller should contact AWWCC staff for specific
abandonment procedures if he encounters caves while drilling.

5.9 Fracturing.

5.9.1 General. Fracturing includes the use of explosives, acid, or pumping
fluids (hydrofracturing) into a water well. A Driller registered in category 4 shall
supervise hydrofracturing. A driller registered in category 1-3 may use explosives or acid
without being registered in category 4. Wells which do not meet the requirements of

these construction regwlations rules shall not be fractured.

5.9.2 Water. Water used in fracturing must be free of contamination and
chlorinated to fifty (50) milligrams per liter chlorine prior to injection.
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5.9.3 Relation to sources of contamination. Water wells located
closer than one hundred (100) ft. to any potential source of contamination shall not be
fractured.

5.9.4 Process. The following action must take place when hydrofracturing
a water well:

1. Analysis of the well site and well to determine the location of other wells
and potential sources of contamination in the immediate vicinity. Determine if the well
needs repair and if so bring up to standards. Determine the effect on geological
formations and ground water.

2. Conduct a test and estimate well yield.

3. Advise owner of hazards and potential liability of fracturing.

4. Disinfect well to be fractured to 50 milligrams per liter chlorine.
5. Fracture well.

Reinstall pump equipment.

Disinfect well and pump equipment.

Pump well to recover no less than the amount of water injected.

A S

Conduct test and estimate well yield.

10. Complete a construction report. On the report, in the space provided for
description of formation, indicate the depth and PSI (or amount of explosive) of each
zone fractured.

* The above steps are not meant to be all inclusive. The contractor remains
responsible and liable for damages to the well or wells in the immediate vicinity resulting
from hydrofracturing, even though the Contractor may have complied with these

regulations rules.

5.9.5 Consolidated formations. Fracturing PSI shall not be excessive.

Section 6. Special well construction technigues

6.1 _Artesian wells. In known artesian territories, initial drilling operations
shall extend into but not through the formation confining the water. The casing shall be
installed and the annular opening between the drill hole and casing sealed with cement or
Bentonite grout and allowed to set. The hole shall then be extended into artesian
formation. Flow control from the well shall be provided by valved pipe connections,
watertight pump connections, or receiving reservoirs set at an altitude corresponding to
the artesian head.
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6.2 Driven, dug, or bored wells. Wells in this classification are dug,
bored or driven, unless the type or purpose of the well applies to all methods of well
construction (test holes, heat pump wells etc.).

6.2.1 Driven wells. On all driven wells there shall be an outer casing
grouted from ground surface to a minimum ten (10) feet depth. Plastic or steel casing
that will accommodate the outside diameter of the pipe being driven shall be placed in a
hole that has a minimum diameter of four (4) inches larger than the surface casing. This
should give a minimum of two (2) inches thickness of grout.

6.2.2 Dug or bored wells. Every dug or bored well shall have a
continuous watertight lining of steel casing or concrete pipe extending from above
ground surface to a depth of at least ten (10) feet below the ground surface. When more
than one formation bearing suitable water exists, the lower formation should be used.
The lining in the producing zone shall readily admit water and shall be structurally sound

to withstand external pressures.

6.2.3 Annular openings. The open space between the excavation and the
installed lining shall be sealed with grout. If the first ten (10) feet of the casing is jointed,
such as concrete, and would allow surface water to seep into cracks of casing, the grout
will continue from the ten (10) foot seal to ground level.

6.2.4 Upper terminal. The watertight lining shall extend at least eight (8)
inches above finished ground surface. A cover slab at least two and one half (2 1/2)
inches thick, adequately reinforced and having a diameter sufficient to overlap the lining
by two (2) inches shall be provided. The top of the slab shall be sloped to drain to all
sides and a watertight joint made where the slab rests on the well lining using cement
mortar or a mastic compound. A manhole, if installed, shall consist of a metal curb cast
in the slab and extending four (4) inches above the slab. The manhole shall have a
watertight covering having sides to overhang the curb at least two (2) inches. Adequately
sized pipe (plastic pipe may be used) shall be cast in place in the slab, extending at least
eight (8) inches above the slab, to accommodate the type of pump or pump piping
proposed for the well. If the well contractor does not install the pump, a cap (seal) will
be placed on top of the pipe. The owner or licensed driller may cut off the cap and must
leave a minimum of two (2) inches above the slab.

6.3 Industrial and irrigation wells. This section applies to wells
constructed for purposes other than human consumption.

6.3.1 Outer casing seal for gravel well industrial and

irrigation wells. Industrial wells shall be sealed with a concrete slab or grouted or
both. Irrigation wells shall be sealed with a bentonite seal. It is optional to use a slab for
an irrigation well.
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6.3.1.1 Slabs. Slabs must be of reinforced concrete and at least four (4)
inches thick and have a diameter sufficient to overlap the drill hole by two (2) feet. The
top of the slab shall be sloped to drain to all sides.

6.3.1.2 Grout. Grout must be composed of sodium montmorillonite clay,
also known as Bentonite, cement, or a sodium montmorillonite (Bentonite)-cement
mixture and shall fill the annular opening between the casing and the drill hole in the
upper ten (10) feet.

6.3.1.3 Timing. If noted on the Report of Water Well Construction, a slab
may be placed on non-grouted wells within one year of the date of construction to allow
for settling.

6.3.1.4 Gravel refill pipes. Gravel refill pipes may be installed if they
terminate above the concrete slab surface and are provided with watertight caps.

6.3.2 Public notice. Each new industrial or irrigation well and each

existing industrial or irrigation well when brought under the rules and-regulations of the
Act shall have a weatherproof sign attached in a conspicuous location stating that "THIS
WATER IS NOT FOR DRINKING PURPOSES" or a suitable decal of weatherproof
material.

6.3.3 Casing, screen, and all material for industrial and

irrigation wells of steel construction over four inches in diameter.
The minimum wall thickness shall be seven gauge or .1875. All material used shall not
allow sand or sediment to enter a well. Where there is an acid condition screen material
may be stainless steel, plastic, bronze, or other material suitable for the water and ground
formations in which the well has been completed.

6.3.4 Gravel refill pipes. Gravel refill pipes may be installed if they
terminate above ground surface and are provided with water tight caps.

6.3.5 Artificial pack. Wells designed for placement of an artificial pack
shall be provided with an adequate screen having openings based upon size of the gravel.
The well shall be developed to insure free entry of water without sediment.

6.4 Geothermal (heat pump) wells. Heat pump wells are designed
for two major types of Heat pump Systems.

6.4.1 Closed loop or earth coil. Fluid is circulated in a continuous
unbroken pipe beneath the surface of the earth or under ponds, swimming pools, lakes or
in a medium where the system can obtain a sufficient cooling or heat exchange.
Normally no fluid is gained or lost. Depths of installation vary and are dependent upon
the type and size of closed loop system, the land area available, soils/formation, climate,
and seasonal variation in ground temperature, etc. There are three types of closed loop
heat pump well systems:
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6.4.1.1 Horizontal system. A closed loop system where pipes are
installed horizontally under the earth's surface or under ponds, swimming pools, lakes,
etc.

6.4.1.2 Vertical system. A closed loop system where pipes are
vertically installed beneath the surface of the earth.

6.4.1.3 Combination horizontal and vertical system. A system
that has pipes installed beneath the earth's surface horizontally and vertically.

6.4.1.4 Direct exchange (DX) wells. A small diameter bore hole
constructed for the purpose of sinking or sourcing thermal energy between the direct
exchange loop and the earth.

6.4.1.4.1 Additional construction standards.
1. A DX well shall comply with Commission Rules 5.1 and 5.2

2. The DX well does not have to be completely vertical.

3. The DX well casing is a metal tube with the bottom capped, running from the
bottom of the bore hole to within 1 foot of the top of the bore hole. A thermal fluid can
be used to fill the DX Well Casing to within 2 feet of the top of the DX Well casing. A
water tight sealing material will be used to seal the top of the DX Well Casing. The
material can be silicone, latex, or other material suitable for the seal. The DX Well

Casing shall comply with Rule 5.5.5.

4, DX Well Casing will be required if the pH of the material around the DX
Loop can not be corrected to a pH of 8.5 or greater with the use of back fill or grout.

5. Ifthe DX well Casing material is steel, then no cathodic protection is
required. (The DX Loop is Copper, which is more noble than steel; therefore, the steel
acts as cathodic protection.) The joints will be threaded or welded.

6. Ifthe DX Well Casing material is copper, cathodic protection is required. The
Joint will be welded using Arkansas Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and
Refrigeration (HVACR) standards for joining Refrigeration copper.

7. The DX Loop can be constructed of Type L copper tubing (ACR) Any joint
must comply with HVACR standards for joining Refrigeration Copper. The copper
tubing’s length and diameter must be sized for proper refrigerant flow.

6.4.2 Open loop or water source. Water is obtained from a source
(water well, lake, river, etc.) and circulated, usually one time, for the purpose cooling or
heat exchange. Water quality, quantity and disposal are primary concerns with open loop
systems. There are three types/categories of open loop well systems:
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6.4.2.1 General. Open loop wells shall be constructed in the same manner
and conform to rules for wells used for domestic purposes. This shall pertain to the
supply well and return well.

6.4.2.2 Single well open system. Water is obtained from a well,
circulated and returned to the same well.

6.4.2.3 Dual well open system. Water is obtained from a supply well,

circulated, and injected/dumped into a return well. These wells may be designed to
switch roles and the return well becomes the supply well, the supply well the return well.

6.4.2.4 Single well / waste open system. Water is obtained from a
well, circulated, and dumped/wasted into some other medium (land surface, lake, pond,
ditch, sewer, etc.).

6.4.3 Vertical closed loop systems / wells. The Contractor is
responsible and shall insure that water quantity and quality are not adversely affected.

6.4.3.1 Grouting. Closed loop wells constructed in consolidated
formations shall be back filled with grout (prescribed in Rule 5.5) the entire length of the
bore hole. Wells constructed in unconsolidated formations may be back filled with
cuttings, sand, or native material, provided the material does not adversely affect the
quality of the ground water. The upper ten (10) feet (minimum requirement) of wells
constructed in unconsolidated formations shall be grouted (prescribed in Rule 5.5). A
well meeting requirements for a domestic water well is not required to be back filled.

6.4.3.2 Horizontal excavation. The top of the bore hole may
terminate at the bottom of the excavation for installation of horizontal pipes. The
horizontal excavation is not required to be back filled with grout. The grout shall be
placed at least 10 feet below the bottom of the excavation in unconsolidated formations.

6.4.4 Approved fluids. The fluid or liquid used for circulation must be an
approved fluid. Fluids which are highly combustible, corrosive or toxic will not be used.
A list of approved fluids will be maintained by the Commission. Ethylene Glycol is not
an approved fluid. Approved fluids include but are not limited to: water, salt water,
calcium chloride, food quality propylene glycol.

6.4.5 Joints and fittings. All joints and fittings installed and buried

shall be heat, socket or butt fused. Glue or clamps shall not be used below ground level
unless the joint or connection serves as a service outlet, and the joint or connection is not
covered with earth.

6.4.6 Circulating pipes. The circulating pipes shall be made of approved
materials. Approved circulating pipe are approved gas rated materials such as
polyethylene and polybutylene. Polyvinyl chloride (PVC) material is not acceptable for
circulating pipes for closed loop systems, below ground level. Polyethylene pipe meeting
or exceeding PPI PE 3408, ASTM D 3350, cell classification 355434C, SDR-11 is
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approved. Polybutylene pipe meeting or exceeding ASTM D 3309, rated at 160 PSI at 73
degrees Fahrenheit and also 100 PSI at 180 degrees Fahrenheit, is approved.

6.4.7 Pressure testing. Pipes shall be pressure tested at 150% of
maximum working pressure for 15 minutes prior to installation and shall not leak.

6.5 Monitoring and piezometer wells. This rule applies to
monitoring well construction. Monitoring wells are exempted from the construction
requirements established in Sections 4 through 16 of these rules and-regulations. Design
and Construction Techniques published by the Environmental Protection Agency in
RCRA GROUND-WATER MONITORING TECHNICAL ENFORCEMENT
GUIDANCE DOCUMENT (TEGD) shall be used as a guide in the location,
construction, and design of monitoring wells. The latest publication of this document
may be obtained by contacting: Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission. 101
East Capitol Avenue, Suite 350, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201, phone (501) 682-1025.
Ask for the RCRA book on monitor wells - cost $22.00.

6.6 Test and sample wells. Water wells constructed for the purpose of
locating, or sampling ground water or other scientific purposes shall be constructed in a
manner which shall not contaminate ground water or provide a conduit to further
contaminate ground water.

6.7 Public and semi-public wells. Wells for public and semi-public
water systems shall be located, designed, and constructed in accordance with the
respective regwlations rules of the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) and shall have
written approval from the ADH prior to the start of construction. If uncertain that a well
is public or semi-public, the well contractor shall obtain a written determination from the

ADH prior to construction.

Section 7. Pump installation

7.1 General. Installation shall be in accordance with the manufacturer's

recommendation and these regwlations rules. All pump installations shall be designed
and installed to prevent contamination of the well.

7.2 Licensing and registration. Pump installation shall be by a
licensed Water Well Contractor and registered pump installer.

7.3 Efficiency. Pump capacity shall be consistent with intended use and

yield characteristics of the well. The pumping capacity of the pump installed in a well
shall be consistent with the intended use of the ground water and with the yield

characteristics of the well.

7.4 Location of pressure tanks and switches. Pressure tanks

and switches shall be located above ground or in a pit or basement that is adequately
drained. A pressure tank may be buried provided, the tank is designed for installation
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below ground. Tanks designed for use inside the bore of a water well must be designed
for that purpose and approved by the Commission.

7.5 Venting of gasses. Toxic or flammable gases shall be vented from a
well to the outside above roof level or a point where they will not produce a hazard.

7.6 Upper terminal. Pump Installers shall leave no less than eight inches
of casing above normal ground level.

7.7 Temporary seal. Ifthe pump equipment is not installed at the time
drilling is completed, all openings to the well must be closed to prevent pollution or
vandalism. After installation, all open spaces must be sealed off to prevent
contamination of the ground water.

7.8 Pipe drop, wire, etc. All pipe drop, wire, pumps and other pumping
equipment shall be clean and installed to permit removal and repair of all equipment. If
equipment or tools are lost in the well and not recovered a statement describing the item
or items lost shall be attached to the installation report, or, maintained in the contractor's
records, when no report is required.

7.9 Well tanks. Well tanks installed shall be adequate to meet the needs of
the water system.

7.10 Plumbness. All pumps shall be installed in a plumb manner so as not
to interfere with proper operation or efficiency, and not cause excessive wear on pumping
equipment.

7.11 Prevention from contamination. Pumping Equipment shall be
installed in such a manner to discourage the entrance of contamination into the ground
water. Discharge pipes shall include devices which will discourage the entrance of
animals.

7.12 Check valves. Pumping Equipment installed, which may be used in
conjunction with chemigation shall employ at least one check valve or other back
siphoning device between the well head and point of entrance of the foreign substances.

7.13 Submersible pump installation.

7.13.1 Check valves. Submersible Pumps shall have no less than two (2)
check valves installed. One check valve must be installed above ground. Submersible
Pumps used for irrigation are excluded from this requirement.

7.13.2 Wire. Wire shall be secured to the drop pipe in a manner which will
support the weight of the wire and keep the wire close to the pipe.
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7.13.3 Torque arrestors and cable guards. Torque arresters and
cable guards shall be used on all submersible installations. Torque arresters are not
required for pump installation using steel pipe or schedule 80 PVC.

7.13.4 Clamps. All clamps used shall be all stainless steel.

7.14 Jet pump installation.

7.14.1 Check valves. Jet Pumps shall have a check valve installed on the
discharge side of the pressure tank.

7.14.2 Approved pipe drop. Polyethylene plastic pipe and fittings shall
be a minimum of SDR-7 PE-2306, with a pressure rating of 160 PSI and is approved for
use as the drop pipe in jet pump installations.

7.14.3 Clamps. All clamps used shall be all stainless steel.

7.15 Turbine pumps.

7.15.1 Steel column pipe for line shaft turbine pumps.
Column pipe for irrigation wells shall be of .188 steel wall thickness. Flange or threaded
steel column pipe shall be used on turbine pump installation. Plastic Column Pipe for
turbine pump installation may be used provided the pipe meets or exceeds specifications.

7.-16 Pressure systems.

7.16.1 Relief valve. All pressure systems will have a pressure relief valve
installed between the well seal and pressure switch.

7.17 Power and control wiring. Licensees and registrants may run
power and control wiring from a disconnect box to water well equipment without
obtaining an electrician's license. Licensees and registrants may not alter the existing
electrical service to any building or structure. (See Act 493 of 1999) All wiring must
meet the requirements of the National Electrical Code 1999 edition, of the National Fire
Protection Association, or any updates or new editions of the National Electrical Code
adopted by the Board of Electrical Examiners after notice and public hearing.

Section 8. Rig permits and rig confiscation.

8.1 General. A contractor who owns and operates a water well rig shall

follow the Commission’s rig permitting requirements. Each rig owned and operated by a
contractor shall have a separate permit per permit year. Rig permits are not transferable.

8.1.1 Rig operation. No water well contractor shall operate a rig or permit
an employee to operate a rig unless the contractor holds a valid rig permit issued by the
Commission. The contractor shall firmly and conspicuously attach the permit to the rig
for which it was issued.
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8.2 Requirements. In order to obtain a rig permit, a contractor must hold a
valid license, make proper application for a rig permit and pay the required permit fee.

8.3 Expiration. Rig permits shall expire on July 31 each year. The
contractor must renew the rig permit annually by applying for the renewal no later than
thirty (30) days after the expiration date.

8.3.1 Late fee. Afier August 31 of each year, the Commission shall not

renew a rig permit unless the application, applicable fee and a late penalty of twenty-five
dollars ($25) is submitted.

8.4 Rig Confiscation. Those persons who continuously violate Arkansas
law and these rules and-regulations requiring that they obtain the proper registration,
licensure, and training for construction of water wells as well as the proper bond to
protect well owners are subject to forfeiture of certain property and proceeds in
accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 17-50-401, et seq.

Section 9. Excessive Sediment.

9.1 Excessive sediment standards. The following standards shall

be used to determine when excessive sediment exists in a well. Excessive sediment will
be determined using EPA Test Method 160.5 (Imhoff Cone). Amounts in excess of the
below standards are considered excessive.

1. 1 mg/liter - water to be used directly in contact with, or in the processing of,
food and beverages.

2. 5 mg/liter - water for homes, institutions, municipalities, and industries.

3. 10 mg/liter - water for sprinkler irrigation systems, industrial evaporative
cooling systems, and any other use where a moderate amount of sediment is not
especially harmful.

4. 15 mg/liter - water for flood-type irrigation

9.2 Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

Excessive Sediment Protocol. When determining whether a well produces
excessive sediment in accordance with the above standards, Commission staff shall use
the following procedure for collecting samples.

9.2.1 Routine water well inspections. Routine water well
inspections for which no specific complaint of excessive sediment has been received shall
include the following sampling process using EPA Test Method 160.5 (Imhoff Cone) and
USGS approved 500 ml sample bottles:

1. The well shall be purged by three (3) volumes of water,
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2. Five (5) samples shall be collected over a two (2) hour period, spaced at a
minimum of twenty (20) minute intervals,

3. Sediment volume shall be estimated from all five (5) samples and averaged to
determine the amount of sediment produced by the well, and

4. Data shall be recorded on an AWWCC inspection form.

If it is determined that the sediment amount exceeds 5 mg/L, the AWWCC staff member
shall follow the protocol outlined in 9.2.1.2.

9.2.1.2 Investigation of excessive sediment complaints or

wells that produce more than 5 mg/L of sediment. If a complaint of
excessive sediment is received, or if a routine well inspection reveals that a well is
producing more than 5 mg/L of sediment, the following sampling process using EPA Test
Method 160.5 (Imhoff Cone) and USGS approved 500 ml sample bottles shall be
followed:

1. Staff inspectors shall coordinate with an ANRC registered geologist or
engineer who has been trained in water quality data collections. These two individuals

will conduct the sampling of the well in question,
2. The well shall be purged by three (3) volumes,

3. Five (5) samples shall be collected over a two (2) hour period, spaced at a
minimum of twenty (20) minute intervals,

4. At the time of sampling, a data collection sheet shall be completed. The data
collection sheet shall include, at a minimum:

a. Date,

b. Time each sample was collected,

c. Well location to include longitude and latitude,

d. Well owner information,

¢. Location where the sample was taken (i.e. faucet in the home, etc.),
f. Photos, if possible,

g. Aquifer information, and

h. General description of the area including a site sketch if possible,

5. All efforts to prevent sample contamination shall be used to include the use of
the USGS approved 500 ml sample bottles. After the samples are collected, the bottles
are to be sealed and labeled with the date and the initials of the person collecting the

sample, and
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6. Following the sealing of the samples, a “Chain of Custody” form shall be
completed by the employee who completed the sampling and shall include:

a. Information from the data collection sheets,

b. Names of the personnel collecting the samples,

¢. Name and Location of the lab the sample was taken to,

d. Initials of the lab personnel who accepted delivery of the samples, and

7. Samples shall be placed on ice and kept at cool temperatures until they are
delivered to a qualified water quality testing laboratory. The samples shall be delivered
to a qualified laboratory within seventy-two (72) hours of collection.

8. Sediment volume shall be estimated from all five (5) samples and averaged to
determine the amount of sediment produced by the well using EPA Test Method 160.5

Section 10. Definitions

For the purpose of these rules anrd-regulations, the following definitions shall
apply:

10.1 Commission means the Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission
as created by Section 5 of Act 641 of 1969, as amended.

10.2 Water well means any excavation that is drilled, redrilled, cored, bored,
washed, driven, dug, jetted or otherwise artificially constructed for the purpose of
locating, acquiring, diverting or artificially recharging ground water; but such terms do
not include an excavation made for the purpose of obtaining or for prospecting for oil,
natural gas, minerals, or products of mining or quarrying, or for inserting media to
repressure oil or natural gas, or other products. (Subsection E, Section 3, of Act 641 of
1969).

10.3 Heat pump wells-means any excavation that is drilled, redrilled, cored,
bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted or otherwise artificially constructed for the purpose of
obtaining or exchanging geothermal energy for use with ground water source air condi-
tioning or heat pump systems. The excavation may have pipes installed inside the
excavation to circulate or discharge various fluids for the above said use and purpose and
the well may or may not be back filled after excavation. (Subsection H, Section 3, of Act
641 of 1969).

10.4 Well construction means the act of setting up the rig for and engaging in
the excavation of a water well, the modification of the borehole, the setting or removal of
casing up to the point of installing or repairing pump equipment, and plugging abandoned
water welis.
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10.5 Aquifer means a water bearing formation that transmits water in sufficient
quantity to supply a well.

10.6 Established ground surface means the elevation of the ground surface at
the site of the well.

10.7 Non-pumping (static) water level means the elevation of the water
surface in a well when no water is being pumped.

10.8 Annular space means the opening between a well hole excavation and the
well casing or curb, or between a casing pipe and a liner pipe.

10.9 Well seal means an arrangement or device used to cap a well or to
establish closure of the junction of a well pump or piping with the well casing at the
upper terminal of the well.

10.10 Unconsolidated formation means a geological formation above bedrock
such as sand or gravel which is caving in nature.

10.11 Consolidated formation means a geological formation which is firm such
as rock, slate or clay that will not cave.

10.12 Owner means the persons who own the property on which the well is
being constructed.

10.13 Rig means the machinery used in the construction or repair of water wells.
As used in this definition the word "machinery" shall not be construed to include vehicles
or any other equipment used in the transportation, or as the foundation, or any other com-
ponent part, of the apparatus specifically designed and used in the construction or repair

of water wells.

10.14 Chemigation means any activity or method which adds a foreign
substance; such as fertilizers, herbicides, fungicides, pesticides, and other substances or
chemicals, to a water system through mechanical or manual means.

10.15 Backwash means the surging effect or reversal of water flow in a well.

10.16 Pressure system means a system that includes a switch or other cut off
device that operates off of the water pressure, generated by the same system.

10.17 Excessive sediment means sediment which is excessive for the purpose or
intended use of the well as measured using EPA Test Method 160.5 (Imhoff Cone).

10.18 Sediment - All particles or materials which are not suspended in standing
water. Natural occurring minerals and elements such as iron, sodium, silica, lignite,
manganese, etc. may also be used to calculate sediment provided the minerals are not

suspended.

10.19 Undesirable geological formations are formations that produce water
which have characteristics that are not conducive to the use or purpose for which the well
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is to be used. The characteristics of each Geological Formation vary greatly depending
upon the location and depth of each formation. Formations with undesirable
characteristics are considered undesirable relative to other formations at the same
location which can produce water for the intended use, which are known to have the
desired quality.

10.20 Ground water - Water occurring in the ground.
10.21 Surface water- Water located above the ground.

10.22 Harmful bacteria - The presence of coliform bacteria constitutes the
presence of harmful bacteria.

10.23 Saturated zone - The subsurface zone in which all openings are full of
water.

10.24 Contamination - The degradation of natural water quality as a result of
man's activities. There is no implication of any specific limits, since the degree of
permissible contamination depends upon the intended end use, or uses, of the water.

10.25 Monitoring wells - Wells constructed for the purpose of locating and
sampling for Engineering or Geological data.

10.26 Static water level - The level water naturally reaches in a well, at
atmospheric pressure.

10.27 Well yield - The volume of water discharged from the well after
construction expressed in gallons per minute (gpm) or gallons per hour (gph). Well yield
is an estimate of the total volume of water the well is capable of producing at the time of
construction.

10.28 Abandoned water well means a well whose use has been permanently
discontinued. Any well shall be deemed abandoned which is in such a state of disrepair
that continued use for the purpose of obtaining ground water is impractical.

10.29 Standard dimension ration (SDR) - Outside diameter in inches divided
by the wall thickness in inches.

10.30 Master plumber - A person currently holding a valid master plumbers
license pursuant to Arkansas Code Ann. 17-31-101 et. seq.

10.31 Master electrician - A person currently holding a valid master
electricians license pursuant to Arkansas Code Ann. 17-25-101 et. seq. and 20-31-101 et.
seq.

10.32 Water well contractor means any person (including a partnership or
corporation) who engages in the business of well construction or pump installation or
repair, exclusive of surveying or other acts preparatory to the construction of a water
well.

Page 36



MARK-UP Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

10.33 Water well driller means any natural person, whether connected with a
firm, partnership, corporation, or other public or private association, who engages for
compensation in well construction.

10.34 Pump installer means any natural person, whether connected with a firm,
partnership, corporation, or public or private association, who engages for compensation
in pump installation or repair.

10.35 Public well means any well supplying water to a public water system as
defined and regulated by the Arkansas Department of Health. In general, this means a
well serving or anticipated to serve 15 or more connections or an average of at least 24

individuals 60 or more days in a year.

10.36 Semi-public well means any well supplying water to a semi-public water
system as defined and regulated by the Arkansas Department of Health. In general, this
means a well supply made available to the public for drinking or used in connection with
the manufacturing, processing, or handling of ice, food, or drink.

10.37 Apprentice means a natural person who under the supervision of a
registered Water Well Pump Installer or registered Water Well Driller is obtaining the
knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary to obtain a Certificate of Registration as a
Water Well Pump Installer or Water Well Driller.

10.38 Apprenticeship program means a program developed by the
Commission pursuant to § 17-50-312 to develop certain minimum knowledge, skills or
abilities in those natural persons desiring registration as Pump Installers or Water Well

Drillers.

10.39 Direct exchange well means a small diameter bore hole constructed for
the purpose of sinking or sourcing thermal energy between the direct exchange loop and
the earth.

10.40 Direct exchange loop means a continuous unbroken pipe beneath the
surface of the earth that circulates refrigerant for the purpose of sinking or sourcing
thermal energy between the direct exchange loop and the earth.

10.41 Thermal fluid means a fluid used to transfer thermal energy. The thermal
fluid must be biodegradable and non-toxic in soil or water.

10.42 Unsaturated zone means the subsurface zone, usually starting at the land
surface, which contains both air and water.

10.43 Bentonite means altered volcanic ash consisting of an assemblage of clay
minerals, primarily montmorillonite, a swelling clay.

10.44 Major aquifers mean water-bearing layers of rock or sediment capable of
yielding water in large quantities to wells or springs. These aquifers include the Boone
aquifer, and those of the Ozark aquifer system such as the Roubidoux formation and

Gunter sandstone.
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10.45 Packer means a piece of downhole equipment that consists of a sealing
device, a holding or setting device, and an inside passage for fluids.

10.46 Contraband property means property of any nature, including personal,
tangible, or intangible, but not real property, that is used or intended to be used in
violation of Ark. Code Ann. § 17-50-104.

10.47 Pumping equipment means all machinery and parts of pumps such as
deep well turbine pumps with right angle gear drive, vertical hollow shaft motors, jet
pumps and motors, submersible pumps and motors, and other parts and fittings installed
or attached to the well. It does not include cooling units, horizontal electric motors, heat
pump circulating pipe, and stationary diesel or gas engines.

10.48 Returning military veteran means a former member of the United States
Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than
dishonorable.

[Remainder of this page purposefully left blank. Rules continue on next page.]
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Section 11. Tables

Table 1. Casing Dimensions.

Size External Internal Thickness Weight (Lbs. / Ft.)
plain end Threaded
and coupled
1.00 1.315 1.049 133 1.68 1.70
1.25 1.660 1.049 .140 2.27 2.30
1.50 1.900 1.610 145 2,72 2.75
2.00 2.375 2.061 154 3.65 3.75
2.50 2.875 2.469 203 5.79 5.90
3.00 3.500 3.068 216 7.58 7.70
3.50 4.000 3.548 226 9.11 9.25
4.00 4.500 4.026 237 10.70 11.00
5.00 5.563 5.047 258 14.62 15.00

Page 39




MARK-UP Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission

Table 2. Chlorine Compound Required to Produce a 50-mg / |
Solution in 100 ft (30.5 m) of Water-Filled Casing*

Casing Diameter | Volume 100ft. 65% HTH, 25% Chloride of | 5.25% Purex,
(30.5m) Perchloron, etc. | Lime (dry Chlorox,
(dry weight) weight)H etc.(sodium
hypochlorite)
(liquid measure)
in mm gal m3 oz g oz g oz 1
2 51 16.3 0.06 02 5.7 0.5 142 2 0.06
4 102 653 0.25 0.7 19.8 2 56.7 9 0.3
6 152 147 0.56 2 56.7 4 113 20 0.6
8 203 261 .99 3 85.1 7 198 34 1.0
10 254 408 1.5 4 113 11 312 56 1.7
12 305 588 2.2 6 170 16 454 80 24
16 406 1,045 4.0 11 312 28 794 128 3.8
20 508 1,632 6.2 17 482 43 1,219 214 64
24 610 2,350 8.9 24 680 63 1,786 298 8.7

Note: Liquid sodium hypochlorite in a 12-percent solution is often sold for use in water
and wastewater treatment plants, and as a commercial bleach or for use in swimming
pools. Utilizing a solution of this nature would call for a liquid (chemical) measure equal
to one-half the volumes presented in column 5.

*EPA recommends a minimum concentration of 100 mg/ 1 available chlorine. To obtain
this concentration, double the amounts indicated.

Where a dry chemical is used, it should be mixed with water to form a chlorine solution
before putting it into the well.
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Table 3. How to Sanitize a Water System to 400 ppm using
Autotrol's Well Sanitizer Pellets. Autotrol's pellets contain 70% calcium
hypochlorite and 30% inert material.

For each 100 feet of water depth use*
Well Diameter-Inches | Weight of Pellets Cups of Pellets Number of Pellets

Ibs. - oz.
2 0-1.5 1/4 40
3 0-3.0 2/5 80
4 0-6.0 3/4 140
5 0-80 1 200
6 0-12.0 1-172 300
8 1-50 2-172 500
10 2-0 4 800
12 3-0 6 -
24 12-0 24 .-
36 26-0 --- .-

* To produce a 400 PPM chlorine dosage
Note: Pellets Weight = 1.14 gram each, 25 pellets/oz., 400 pellets/lb.
1 cup of pellets = 1/2 1b., or 8 oz., or 200 pellets

Autotrol Corporation's Well Sanitizer chlorinating pellets can be used for well, storage
tank, or cistern sanitization. The number of pellets used will depend on the amount of
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water in the system to be sanitized. To produce a 400 ppm chlorine concentration, to
sanitize a water system, use one-half (1/2) pound chlorination pellets for each 100 gallons
of water in the system (1/2 1b/100 gal = 8 0z/100 gal = 200 pellets/100 gal = 1 cup
pellets/100 gal). Table 3 shows how many pellets to use per 100 feet of water in various
diameter wells.

Drilled Wells

1. Remove the cap or seal from the casing and measure the depth of the water in the
well, then refer to the Table to determine how many chlorine pellets should be used. In
some instances, removing the seal to measure the water can be a difficult task, and it is
easier to estimate well and water depth from well log or other records.

2. Remove well cap and determine if there is an unobstructed path from the top of the
well to the water level. If it is not possible to remove the well cap, remove vent or
sanitization access plug.

3. Drop one pellet into the well and listen to hear if it hits the water. If the pellet hits the
water, drop one-half (1/2) the number of pellets determined to be needed into the well.
These will sink to the bottom and sanitize the lower part of the well.

4. Mix the remaining pellets in a few gallons of water in a CLEAN plastic container and
pour the solution into the well.

5. In order to mix the chlorine thoroughly throughout the entire water system, it is
necessary to recirculate the water in the well. This can be accomplished by connecting a
hose to an outside silcock that is located after the pressure tank. Use hose to run water
back down the well (this also rinses upper portion of well). After about 15 minutes of
recirculation the water, a strong chlorine odor should be apparent. Turn off hose.

6. Bypass water softener and filters and open each water outlet in the water system until
chlorine is present in water. This procedure assures that all the water in the system is
chlorinated.

7. Allow the chlorinated water to stand in the system for at least six (6) hours, and
preferably overnight. After this, open an outside faucet and flush system until water runs
chlorine free. Repeat flush operation on each faucet in system.

Note:

A. Chlorine may break loose iron deposits, slime and organic material.
This material will make the water run colored. The material broken loose
may plug pump screens. DO NOT CONTINUE TO RUN PUMP IF
WATER DOESN'T FLOW.

B. The high level of chlorine required to sanitize a water system is
corrosive to most metals and chlorine solution must not be allowed to
remain in water system more than 36 hours before being completely
flushed from system.
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8. After system has been completely flushed, perform a bacterial analysis on the water
following all applicable procedures.

Large Diameter Bored Wells

Calculate the volume of water in well by determining the total cubic inches or cubic feet
of water in the well. Each 231 cubic inches of water is equal to one gallon. Each cubic
foot of water is 7.5 gallons of water. Use 1/2 pound of chlorine pellets for each 100
gallons of water in well. Dissolve pellets in clean, plastic pail and add to well. Pour two
cups of pellets directly into well. Connect a garden hose to a faucet in water system and
run water from hose back down well. When strong chlorine odor is present in hose water,
wash down sides of well with chlorinated water. Proceed with steps Nos. 6, 7 and 8 of

instructions for Drilled Wells.

Springs and Cisterns

Mix about 1/2 cup of pellets in 5 gallons of water use this to scrub the walls of the spring
box or holding tank. With a constant flow of fresh water from the spring there is probably
no way of detaining the chlorine solution in the reservoir for more than a few minutes.
However, the chlorinated water should flow through the pipeline to disinfect the
distribution system. Cisterns can be disinfected in the same way, but a source of clean
water will be needed to flush the dirty waste out of the system.

Note: This product is intended to sanitize a water supply system that has been
temporarily contaminated and is not intended to solve a recurring contamination problem.

NOTE: These regtlations rules are the minimum requirements for water wells
constructed in Arkansas.

< For additional information pertaining to public or semi-public water systems, contact
the Arkansas Department of Health.

< For information regarding water use reporting, water rights, and ground water
diversions, contact the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission, a Division of the

Arkansas Department of Agriculture.

< For information on having your well water sampled, contact your local county
sanitarian, county health unit.

< For additional information on water well construction or if you believe you have a
complaint, contact the Arkansas Water Well Construction Commission, a Division of

the Arkansas Department of Agriculture.

< For Underground Storage Tank information, contact the Arkansas Department of

Envirenmental-Quality Energy and Environment.
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.

State of Arkansas

Act 820 of the Regular Session

As Engrossed:  $3/28/19

92nd General Assembly 1

Regular Session, 2019

SENATE BILL 564

By: Senators Irvin, 7. Garner, J. Hendren, D. Wallace

By: Representative Bentley

For An Act To Be Entitled

AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING
MILITARY VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW AND APPROVAL
OF RULES SUBMITTED BY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
ENTITIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

BE IT ENACTED BY

SECTION 1.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY
SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING MILITARY
VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW
AND APPROVAL OF RULES SUBMITTED.

THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative Intent.

The General Assembly finds that:

(1)

The current law regarding the issuance of licenses,

certificates, and permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in

a profession, trade, or employment in this state continues to constitute a

hardship on active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

their spouses;
(2)

Acts 2017, No. 248, amended the law to require that all

state boards and

commissions promulgate rules to expedite the process and

U
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for active duty

service members, returning military veterans, and their spouses;

(3) State boards and commissions required to promulgate rules by

Acts 2017, No. 248, have failed to do so in accordance with the law; and

(4) Automatic licensure is necessary to remedy these hardships

and allow active duty service members, returning military veterans, and their

spouses to engage in their chosen professions.

Section 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is amended to read as follows:
17-1-106. Licensure, certification, or permittingof Automatic
licensure for active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

spouses — Definitien Definitions.

(a) As used in this sections:

(1) "Automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational

licensure without an individual’s having met occupational licensure

requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the occupational

licensing entity;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession;

(3) "Occupational licensure” means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

. . . . - 3 » - ¢
that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(4) “returning Returning military veteran” means a former member
of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under
circumstances other than dishonorable.

(b) (1) A _state board or commission that-issues licensesycertificatesy

{ An occupational licensing entity shall

full licensure or certification or permitting automatic licensure to engage

in an occupation or profession if the to an individual who is the holder in

good standing of a substantially equivalent licensey—certificate,or permit
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occupational license issued by another state, territory, or district of the

United States and is:

1)(A) An active duty military service member stationed in the

State of Arkansas;
<23(B) A returning military veteran applying for licensure

within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty; or

{33>(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions b)(1l)
(b)(1)(A) and 23 (b) (1) (B) of this section.

(2) However, an occupational licensing entity shall be required

to provide automatic licensure if the proposed rules are not approved as

required under subsection (d)(2) of this section.

(c) A—s%ate—beafd—ef—eemmissiea—sha}i—expedite—Ehe—pfeeess—aad
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules recommending

an expedited process and procedure for occupational licensure instead of

automatic licensure as provided under subsection (b) of this section to the

Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council.

(d) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council shall:

(1) Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing

entity as submitted for public comment and at least thirty (30) days before

the public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure

Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.; and

(2) Approve the proposed rules submitted under subsection (c¢)

based on:

(A) A determination of whether the expedited process and

procedure provide the least restrictive means of accomplishing occupational

4 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTPO38
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

licensure; and

(B) Any other criteria the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to

achieve the objectives of this section.

(e) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council may:

(1) Establish a subcommittee to assist in the duties assigned

under this sectiong

(2) Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to one

(1) or more subcommittee of the Legislative Council, including without

limitation a subcommittee created under subdivision (e)(1l) of this section;

or

(3) Delegate its duties under this section to one (1) or more

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, subject to final review and

approval of the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council.

(f) An occupational licensing entity shall:

(1) Submit proposed rules authorized under subsection (c) of

this section to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council for review and approval before the proposed rules are

promulgated under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et

seq.; and

(2) Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth,

Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of

automatic licenses and expedited occupational licenses granted under this

section to:

(A) Active duty military service members stationed in the

State of Arkansas;

(B) Returning military veterans applying within one (1)

year of his or her discharge from active duty; or

(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (£)(2) (A)

and (f)(2)(B) of this section.

SECTION 3. TEMPORARY LANGUAGE. DO NOT CODIFY. An occupational

licensing entity proposing rules recommending an expedited process and

5 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP0O38
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procedure for occupational licensure instead of automatic licensure as

provided under § 17-1-106(b) to the Administrative Rules and Regulations

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council shall complete the review and

approval process of the proposed rules required by § 17-1-106 within one (1)

vear of the effective date of this act.

/s/Irvin

APPROVED: 4/9/19
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 990 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19
92nd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 451

By: Senator J. Cooper
By: Representative Dalby

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS TO
OBTAIN CONSISTENCY REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND
CHECKS AND DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE; AND
FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND
OCCUPATIONS TO OBTAIN CONSISTENCY
REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS AND
DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;

(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (1l1) states chosen to

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;

(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational
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As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry;

and

(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for

substantive legislative reform, which are to:

(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are

responsive to new legislationg
(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of

subsections of rules;

(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;

(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional

licenses; and

(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:

(1) New occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities; and

(ii) Existing occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to establish provisions

to allow certain agencies to consider occupational relevance with regard to

criminal background issues.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additional
chapter to read as follows:
CHAPTER 2
OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS

17-2-101. Definitions.
As used in this subchapter:

(1) "Criminal record" means any type of felony or misdemeanor

conviction;

(2) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

2 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession: and

(3) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.

17-2-102. Licensing restrictions based on criminal records.

(a) An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued

by a licensing entity if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo

contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any

court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in

another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, unless the

conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record

Sealing Act of 2013, § 16-90-1401 et seq., or otherwise previously sealed,

pardoned or expunged under prior law:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited
in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103;
(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;

(5) FKidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-

(7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-

(8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;:

(9) Agpravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103:

(10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;

(l1) Aggravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;

(13) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an

emplovee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y

felony;
(l4) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited

in § 5-13-301;

3 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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1 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

2 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
3 (17) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

4 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third

5 degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127;

6 (19) Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

7 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 —
8 5-26-306;

9 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

10 first degree, as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

11 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
12 prohibited in § 5-27-205;

13 (23) Permitting the abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-
14 2213

15 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
16 visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual

17 conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
18 explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
19 child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
20 performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402,
21 and 5-27-403;
22 (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
23 (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
24 prohibited in § 5-27-605;
25 (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
26 (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
27 (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
28 (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
29 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
30 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,

31 §§ 5-64-101 — 5-64-510, as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401, and §§ 5-64-
32 419 — 5-64-442;

33 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
36 in § 5-70-104;

35 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229;

36 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal

4 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

solicitation, or criminal conspiracy, as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,

5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this

subsection; and

(36) All other crimes referenced in this title.

(b)(1l) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in

subsection (a) of this section, a licensing entity may waive disqualification

or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver

is made by:
(A) An affected applicant for a license; or
(B) The individual holding a license subject to
revocation.
(2) A basis upon which a waiver may be granted includes without
limitation:

(A) The age at which the offense was committed:

(B) The circumstances surrounding the offense;

(C) The length of time since the offense was committed;

(D) Subsequent work history since the offense was

committed;
(E) Employment references since the offense was committed:

(F) Character references since the offense was committed:

(G) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license:

and
(H) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the

applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.

(c) If an individual has a valid criminal conviction for an offense

that could disqualify the individual from receiving a license, the

disqualification shall not be considered for more than five (5) vears from

the date of conviction or incarceration or on which probation ends, whichever

date is the latest, if the individual:

(A) Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual

offense; and
(B) Has not been convicted of any other offense during the five-

year disqualification period.

(d) A licensing entity shall not, as a basis upon which a license mavy

be granted or denied:

(1) Use vague or generic terms, including without limitation the

5 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

phrase "moral turpitude" and "good character"; or

(2) Consider arrests without a subsequent conviction.

(e) Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall

result in permanent disqualification for licensure:
(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;
(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;
(3) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(4) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or amn

employvee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y

felony;
(5) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103:
(6) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

(7) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-

124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;

(8 Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(9) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

(10) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
prohibited in § 5-27-205;
(11) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-

28-103; and

(12) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.

(f) This chapter does not preclude a licensing entity from taking

emergency action against a licensee as authorized under § 25-15-211 for the

sake of public health, safety, or welfare.

(g) The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection

(e) of this section does not apply to an individual who holds a valid license

on the effective date of this chapter.

(h) This section does not apply to licensure or certification:

(1) Of professions not governed by this title;

(2) Of polygraph examiners and voice stress analysis examiners

under § 17-39-101 et seq.; or

(3) Of private investigators and private security agencies under

the Private Security Agency, Private Investigator, and School Security

Licensing and Credentialing Act, § 17-40-101 et seq.
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17-2-103. Prelicensure criminal background checks.

(a)(l) An individual with a criminal record may petition a licensing

entity at any time for a determination of whether the criminal record of the

individual will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether or not

he or she could obtain a waiver under § 17-2-102(b).

(2) The petition shall include details on the criminal record of

the individual.

(b)(l) A licensing entity may require that the applicant undergo a

state and federal criminal background check as required by the licensing

entity for all applicants for a license.

(2) The petitioner under subsection (a) of this section shall be

responsible for payment for the state and federal criminal background check.

17-2-104. Rules.

(a) A licensing entityv shall adopt or amend rules necessary for the

implementation of this chapter.

(b) (1) When adopting or amending rules to implement this chapter, the

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §
25-15-204(f) :

(A) On or before January 1, 2020: or

(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by

January 1, 2020, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.

(2) A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the

Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1,

2020, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval

before January 1, 2020.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-11-302(b), concerning application and
certificate of registration to become a registered abstracter, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) The application shall be in a form prepared by the board and

shall contain such information as may be necessary to assist the board in

registration and

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-11-304(a), concerning issuance or

7 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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reapplication for a certificate of registration by the Arkansas Abstracters’
Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a) If the applicant satisfactorily passes the examinations andis—of
good moral-echaraeter, the applicant shall be certified as a registered
abstracter, and the certificate provided for shall be issued to him or her.
The privileges granted by the certificate shall continue unless revoked, as
provided in this chapter, or unless the certificate is otherwise surrendered

to the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-11-340(a), concerning the revocation of
certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas Abstracters’ Board is authorized, after a hearing as
provided in § 17-11-341, to cancel and revoke any certificate of registration
issued to any person under the provisions of this chapter:

(1) For a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter;

(2) Upon a conviction of the holder of such a certificate of a
crime invelving-moral turpitude under § 17-1-102; or

(3) If the board finds the holder to be guilty of habitual

carelessness or of fraudulent practices in the conduct of the business of

abstracting.

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-11-341(a)(l), concerning the procedure
of appeal for revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a)(l) Upon a verified complaint being filed with the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board or upon the board’s own motion filing a complaint charging
the holder of a certificate of registration with a violation of any of the
provisions of this chapter, or conviction of a crime involving meral
turpitudey—or—with under § 17-2-102 or habitual carelessness or fraudulent

practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting, or charging the

holder of a certificate of authority with failure to furnish the bond or
bonds, or other securities, required by § 17-11-324, or with failing to have
employed a registered abstracter as provided in § 17-11-301, or with a
violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, the board shall

immediately notify in writing by registered mail, with return receipt, the

8 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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holder of the certificate of the filing of the complaint and furnish the

holder with a copy of the complaint.

SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 17-12-301 is amended to read as follows:

17-12-301. Requirements generally — Definition.

(a) A certificate as a certified public accountant shall be granted by
the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy to any person ef geed-—moral
chomaekes:

(1) Who has met the education and experience requirements set
forth in this chapter and by the board; and

(2) Who has passed an examination in accounting and auditing and

such related subjects as the board shall determine to be appropriate.

Lo Metsdas of ha peslicnmiic—sdohs of anmeal

{eyx{1)(b)(l) Any person who has received from the board a certificate

as a certified public accountant which is currently in full force and effect
shall be styled and known as a “certified public accountant” and may also use
the abbreviation “CPA”.

(2) The board shall maintain a list of certified public

accountants.
(c) Any certified public accountant may also be known as a public

9 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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accountant.

SECTION 8. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(d), concerning the criminal
background check for initial licensure of accountants, is amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background checks, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the

eomd-ssdon—by—che applicent sfeny offense licted dp pubocetdon—{e)—oi this
sectien.

SECTION 9. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(e), concerning the criminal

background check for initial licensure of accountants, is repealed.

SECTION 10. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601(a)(5) and (6), concerning the
grounds for revocation or suspension of licensure of accountants, are amended
to read as follows:

(5) Conviction of a felony under the law of any stateeorof the
United States § 17-2-102;

(6) Conviction of any crime an element of which is dishonestyy
or fraudy—er—moral—turpitude under the law of any state or of the United

States;

SECTION 11. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601, concerning the grounds for
revocation or suspension of licensure of an accountant, is amended to add an
additional subsection to read as follows:

(¢) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the Arkansas

State Board of Public Accountancy may refuse to issue a license to or

reinstate a license of a person who has been convicted of a felony involving

theft or fraud, regardless of the amount of time that has elapsed since the

conviction.

10 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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SECTION I12. Arkansas Code § 17-14-203(12)(C)(i), concerning the powers
and duties regarding criminal background checks of the Arkansas Appraiser
Licensing and Certification Board, is amended to read as follows:

(1) During the five (5) years immediately preceding
the date of the application was convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo
contendere to, a crime that would call into question the applicant’s fitness
for registration, licensure, or certification, inecluding without limitation a
crime involving:

{a) Moral turpitude;
b)) (a)(l) An act substantially related to
the qualifications, functions, or duties of an appraiser.

(2) A crime or act may be deemed
substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of an
appraiser if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or
potential unfitness of a person applying for or holding a real property
appraiser credential to perform the functions authorized by the credentialj;

4e>(b) Taking, appropriating, or retaining the
funds or property of another;

{+4)>(c) Forging, counterfeiting, or altering an
instrument affecting the rights or obligations of another;

4e)(d) Evasion of a lawful debt or obligation,
including without limitation a tax obligation;

£)(e) Trafficking in narcotics or controlled
substances;

42)>(f) Violation of a relation of trust or
confidence;

£th)>(g) Theft of personal property or funds;

£4)(h) An act of violence or threatened
violence against persons or property; or

+3>(i) A sexually related crime or act under §

5-14-101 et seq.;

SECTION 13, Arkansas Code § 17-14-206(a)(3), concerning complaints and
disciplinary procedures of the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification

Board for licensees, is repealed.

(3)4A) Convietion i jurisdiets £ i sd
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. T 1 Lrud £ fal
LB A plesef nsle sontenders—erro—ssntest—challbe
1d 1 feti £ 1 £ +hg ;

SECTION 14. Arkansas Code § 17-14-405(b)(3), concerning requirements
for registration under the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act, is
amended to read as follows:

(3)(A) The name, address, and contact information of any person
that owns ten percent (10%) or more of the appraisal management company.
(B) Any person owning more than ten percent (10%) of an

appraisal management company in this state shalls+

boardy—and

i)y Submit submit to a state criminal background

check and a national fingerprint-based criminal background check performed by
the Federal Bureau of Investigation in compliance with federal law and

regulations;

SECTION 15. Arkansas Code § 17-14-410(a)(3), concerning the
disciplinary authority, enforcement, and hearings under the Appraisal
Management Company Registration Act, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
found guilty of:
(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102; or

(B) Within the past ten (10) years:
(i) A misdemeanor involving mortgage lending or real
estate appraising; or
(ii) An offense involving breach of trusty—meral
furpitudey or fraudulent or dishonest dealing;

SECTION 16. Arkansas Code § 17-15-102(3), concerning the definition of

"good moral character" related to architects, is repealed.
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SECTION 17. Arkansas Code § 17-15-304(b)(l), concerning examinations
to be a registered and licensed architect, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(l) To be qualified for admission to an examination to practice

architecture in the State of Arkansas, an applicant must shall be at least

twenty-one (21) years of age and—of good meral charaeter.

SECTION I18. Arkansas Code § 17-15-308(5), concerning grounds for
revocation of a license for an architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate of registration has

been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 19. Arkansas Code § 17-16-105(a)(8), concerning the
registration requirements for an athlete agent under the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act, is amended to read as follows:

(8) whether the applicant or any person named pursuant to
paragraph (7) has been convicted of a crime that, if committed in this State,
would be a crime involving meral turpitude or a felony listed under § 17-2-

102, and identify the crime;

SECTION 20. Arkansas Code § 17-17-308(6), concerning the suspension or
revocation of a license of an auctioneer, is amended to read as follows:
(6) Being convicted of a criminal offense involving meral

turpitudeor a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a court of competent

jurisdiction of this or any other jurisdiction;

SECTION 21. Arkansas Code § 17-19-203(3), concerning character

references for a professional bail bondsman license, is amended to read as

follows:
(3) Sueh other Provide other proof as the board may require that

he or she is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good

personal and business reputation and has not been convicted of a felony er

any—-offense—inveolving -meral—turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.
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SECTION 22. Arkansas Code § 17-19-210(b)(l), concerning the suspension
and penalties for a professional bail bondsman licensee, is amended to read
as follows:

(1) Violated any provision of or any obligation imposed by this
chapter or any lawful rule, regulatieny or order of the board or has been

convicted of a felony er—any offensedinvelwing moral turpitude listed under §
17-2-102;

SECTION 23. Arkansas Code § 17-20-302 is amended to read as follows:
17-20-302. Qualifications of applicants.
Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration
to practice as a registered barber who:
(1) Is qualified under this chapter;
{2y Ts of good-moral character ond temperate—habitsy
43)(2) Has passed a satisfactory examination conducted by the
State Board of Barber Examiners to determine his or her fitness to practice
barbering;
{4)(3) Is at least sixteen and one-half (16 %) years of age; and
{5)(4) Has received training approved by the appropriate

licensing authorities.

SECTION 24. Arkansas Code § 17-20-308(1)(A), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action of barbers, is amended to read as follows:
(1)(A) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 shown by a

certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.

SECTION 25. Arkansas Code § 17-24-307(3), concerning the grounds for
revocation, suspension, or refusal of license issued by the State Board of
Collection Agencies, is repealed.

(3} Convietion of tme_invelyd 1 rurpitud

SECTION 26. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305(a), concerning the
qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Contractors Licensing Board, in determining the qualifications
of any applicant for an original license or any renewal license, shall, among

other things, consider the following:
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(1) Experience;

(2) Ability;

{3) Charaeter;

4+4>(3) The manner of performance of previous contracts;

£5)(4) Financial condition;

£63>(5) Equipment;

+1)(6) Any other fact tending to show ability and willingness to
conserve the public health and safety; and

48)(7) Default in complying with the provisions of this chapter
or any—ether another law of the state.

SECTION 27. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305, concerning the qualifications

for a contractors license, is amended to add an additional subsection to read

as follows:
(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the board may

consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or

registration of a contractor under this chapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;:

(2) Conviction of voyveurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;
(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.; and
(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applyving for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 28. Arkansas Code § 17-25-507, concerning the qualifications
for a contractors license through the Residential Contractors Committee, is
amended to add an additional subsection to read as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the committee

may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or
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registration of a contractor under this subchapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;

(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;

(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.: and

(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the gqualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 29. Arkansas Code § 17-26-105(10), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action for cosmetology and other related occupations, is amended
to read as follows:

(10) Conviction under the laws of the United States or any state
or territory of the United States of a crime that is:
(A) Is—a A felony er—misdemeanor listed under § 17-2-102,

as evidenced by a certified copy of a court record or by license application;

and

(B) Iavelwves A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or is in

any way related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry,
unless the applicant or licensee can demonstrate to the board’s satisfaction
that the applicant or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant

the public trust;

SECTION 30. Arkansas Code § 17-26-201(c), concerning the membership of
the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, is amended to read as follows:
(c) The committee shall be composed of the following representatives
from within the cosmetology industry who are ef good meral eharaeterand-whe
are at least twenty-five (25) years of age:
(1) One (1) member shall be a licensed cosmetologist actively

engaged in practicing the art of cosmetology for at least five (5) years at
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the time of appointment;

(2) One (1) member shall be a licensed nail technicianj

(3) One (1) member shall be an owner of a licensed school of
cosmetology or shall be a director of cosmetology at a state-supported
school;

(4) One (1) member shall be a licensed aesthetician; and

(5) Three (3) members shall represent the cosmetology industry

at large or a related field.

SECTION 31. Arkansas Code § 17-27-301(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed professional counselor, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The applicant is highly regarded in personalecharacter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 32. Arkansas Code § 17-27-303(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 1, 1998, is
amended to read as follows:

(2) The applicant is highly regarded in persenal—echaraecter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 33. Arkansas Code § 17-27-313 is amended to read as follows:

17-27-313. Criminal background checks.

(a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling may require each
applicant for license renewal and each first-time applicant for a license
issued by the board to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department
of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check,
to be conducted by the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas
State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(b) The check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and
shall include the taking of fingerprints.

(¢) The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and
shall be responsible for the payment of any fee associated with the criminal
background check.

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
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+£3¢1)(e) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of

provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.
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be—rederadboshe bosrd vpen-the ogucpis o
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(f) For the purposes of this section, the board shall follow the

licensing restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102.
My (g)(l) Any information received by the board from the

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—te
under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure, or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation, or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
+)r(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.
+3>(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established under this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
background check.

4+k){(j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and-regulations to
fully implement the provisions of this section.

SECTION 34. Arkansas Code § 17-29-311(a)(l), concerning the sanctions
and prohibited conduct of embalmers and funeral directors, is amended to read

as follows:
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(1) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 35. Arkansas Code § 17-30-305(a)(2)(A), concerning the

administrative violations and penalties for an engineer, is amended to read

as follows:
(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 36. Arkansas Code § 17-31-303(c), concerning application for

registration with the Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters, is

repealed.

SECTION 37. Arkansas Code § 17-31-309(b), concerning revocation of a

certificate for a registered forester, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(1) The board may revoke the certificate of any registered forester

who has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or who is found

guilty by the board of any fraud, deceit, gross negligence,

misrepresentation, willful violation of contract, misconduct, or gross

incompetence.

(2) The board shall investigate such charges.

SECTION 38. Arkansas Code § 17-32-304(a)(l), concerning the

qualifications for a geologist-in-training certificate, is repealed.

H—DBe—sfgeod—aihical——charastersy

SECTION 39. Arkansas Code § 17-32-311(a)(3), concerning the denial,
suspension, or revocation of a registration certificate of a geologist, is

amended to read as follows:
(3) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 40. Arkansas Code § 17-35-301(c)(2), concerning the
registration of interior designers, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has not been convicted of an offense listed under § 17-2-102

that bears directly on the fitness of the applicant to be registered;
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SECTION 41, Arkansas Code § 17-35-305(5), concerning grounds of
revocation for a license of an interior designer, is amended to read as
follows:

(5) The holder of the registration has been guilty of a felony
listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 42, Arkansas Code § 17-36-303(a), concerning examination for
licensure as a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(a) An applicant for licensure shall:
(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and
L Peef sood meral cheresters ond
433(2) Pass an examination covering the matters confronting
landscape architects that is prepared by:
(A) The Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, and Interior Designers; or
(B) Another entity as selected by the Arkansas State Board

of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers.

SECTION 43. Arkansas Code § 17-36-306(5), concerning the grounds of
revocation for a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate has been guilty of
a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 44. Arkansas Code § 17-42-311(a), concerning violations of the
real estate license law, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The following acts, conduct, or practices are prohibited, and any
licensee found guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action as provided in
§ 17-42-312;

(1) Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or
concealment;

(2) Violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules
orregulations adopted pursuant—te under this chapter or any order issued
under this chapter;

(3) Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to
a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving meral turpitude violence,

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether
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the imposition of sentence has been deferred or suspended;

(4) Making any substantial misrepresentation;

(5) Making, printing, publishing, distributing, or causing,
authorizing, or knowingly permitting the making, printing, publication, or
distribution of false statements, descriptions, or promises of such character
as to reasonably induce, persuade, or influence any person to act thereon;

(6) Failing within a reasonable time to account for or to remit
any moneys coming into his or her possession which belong to others;

(7) Committing any act involving meral turpitude violence,
fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness;

(8) Acting for more than one (1) party in a transaction without
the knowledge of all parties for whom he or she acts or accepting a
commission or valuable consideration for the performance of any of the acts
specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal
broker under whom he or she is licensed;

(9) Acting as a broker or salesperson while not licensed with a
principal broker, representing or attempting to represent a broker other than
the principal broker with whom he or she is affiliated without the express
knowledge and consent of the principal broker, or representing himself or
herself as a salesperson or having a contractual relationship similar to that
of a salesperson with anyone other than a licensed principal broker;

(10) Advertising in a false, misleading, or deceptive manner;

(11) Being unworthy or incompetent to act as a real estate
broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
public;

(12) Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any person
for acts or services performed in violation of this chapter, including paying
a commission or other valuable consideration to an unlicensed person for
participation in a real estate auction; and

(13) Any other conduct, whether of the same or a different
character from that specified in this section, which constitutes improper,

fraudulent, or dishonest dealing.

SECTION 45, Arkansas Code § 17-42-315(f), concerning the criminal
background check for real estate licensees, is amended to read as follows:

(f) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, a person
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shall not receive or hold a license issued by the commission if the person
has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony listed
under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meralturpitude violence, fraud,

dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

SECTION 46. Arkansas Code § 17-42-509(c)(3), concerning the issuance
or denial of a license for an instructor of real estate education license, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) The person or entity has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere

to or been found guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or a misdemeanor

involving violence, fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonest or dishonorable

dealing in a court of competent jurisdiction; or

SECTION 47. Arkansas Code § 17-42-515(3), concerning the violations
that disqualify for a real estate educator license or licensee, is amended to
read as follows:

(3) Committing an act, a felony listed under § 17-2-102, or a
crime involving meral turpitude violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness,

or untrustworthiness regardless of whether the imposition of the sentence has

been deferred or suspended;

SECTION 48. Arkansas Code § 17-43-303(a), concerning the application
for examination for a sanitarian certificate of registration, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall admit to examination
any person who makes application to the Secretary of the Arkansas State Board
of Sanitarians on forms prescribed and furnished by the boardy and pays an
application fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) to defray the expense of

examination

SECTION 49. Arkansas Code § 17-43-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-43-307. Reciprocity.

The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall issue a certificate of
registration without examination to any person who makes application on forms

prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a registration fee of ten dollars
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($10.00), and submits satisfactory proof that he or she:

Ho—Te—ef gead nowel chawoaiomy

£2>(l) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of environmental sanitation; and

+3)(2) 1Is registered as a sanitarian in a state in which the
qualifications for registration are not lower than the qualifications for

registration in this state at the time he or she applies for registration.

SECTION 50. Arkansas Code § 17-43-309(a), concerning the grounds for
suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a sanitarian certificate of
registration, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians may suspend, revoke, or
refuse to renew a certificate of registration upon proof that the applicant+

Hy—Te—neis—sef secd—chorastor—ez
4{2)—7Is is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,

incompetency, or misconduct in relation to his or her duties as a sanitarian.

SECTION 51. Arkansas Code § 17-47-302(a), concerning the eligibility
and application for registration as a professional soil classifier or soil
classifier-in-training, is amended to read as follows:

(a) To be eligible for registration as a professional soil classifier
or certification as a soil classifier-in-training, an applicant mustt+

H—Pe-sf-meed cherocter pnd eepukaiion;—oand
{2)—Submit shall submit a written application to the Arkansas

State Board of Registration for Professional Soil Classifiers containing sueh

information as the board may require, together with five (5) references,

three (3) of which shall be professional soil classifiers having personal
knowledge of his or her soil classifying experience or, in the case of an
application for certification as a soil classifier-in-training, three (3)

character references.

SECTION 52. Arkansas Code § 17-47-311 is amended to read as follows:

17-47-311. Disciplinary actions — Grounds.

The Arkansas State Board of Registration for Professional Soil
Classifiers shall have the power to suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke the

certificate of registration of, or reprimand, any registrant who is guilty
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of:
(1) Fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate of registration;
(2) Gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the

practice of soil classifying;

(3) A felony listed under § 17-2-102 or—erime—invelwving moral
turpitude; or

(4) A violation of the code of ethics adopted and promulgated by

the board.

SECTION 53. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(a), concerning the
qualifications for certification as a surveyor, is amended to read as
follows:

(a) A person who shows to the satisfaction of the State Board of
Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that he or
she is a person eof-goed—eharacter and reputationand over twenty-one (21)
years of age shall-be is eligible for licensure as a professional surveyor if
he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure to engage in the
practice of land surveying issued to him or her on the basis of a written
examination by proper authority of a state, territory, possession of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on
requirements and qualifications as shown on his or her application that in
the opinion of the board are equal to or higher than the requirements of this
chapter may be licensed at the discretion of the board;

(2)(A) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more approved by the board, followed by at least two (2) years of
land surveying that must be surveying experience of a character satisfactory
to the board, who has passed a written examination designed to show that he
or she i1s qualified to practice land surveying in this state, may be licensed
if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of teaching land surveying in an approved
engineering or surveying curriculum may be considered as equivalent to one
(1) year of land surveying experience; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (a) (2)

of this section and who has six (6) years or more of active experience in
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land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is qualified to practice
land surveying may be granted a certificate of licensure to practice land
surveying in this state if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be
considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding

two (2) years.

SECTION 54. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(c), concerning the
qualifications for licensure as a surveyor intern, is amended to read as
follows:

(e} A person whe—ehewre—to—the setisfeetion of the bosrd thet he ox she
is—a persen—of goodcharacter shall be eligible for licensure as a surveyor
intern if he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure as a surveyor
intern issued to him or her on the basis of a written examination by proper
authority of a state, territory, possession of the United States, the
District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on requirements and
qualifications as shown on his or her application, which requirements and
qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are equal to or higher than the
requirements of this chapter, may be licensed as a surveyor intern at the
discretion of the board;

(2) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses, or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more, approved by the board, who has passed a written examination
designed to show that he or she is proficient in surveying fundamentals, may
be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (e)(2)
of this section and who has four (4) years or more of active experience in
land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is proficient in
surveying fundamentals may be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be

considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding
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two (2) years.
SECTION 55. Arkansas Code § 17-48-205(a)(2)(A), concerning the

administrative violations and penalties of a surveyor, is amended to read as

follows:

(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 56. Arkansas Code § 17-50-301(a)(2), concerning applicant
qualifications for registration as a certified water well driller or

certified pump installer, is repealed.

2T s et seed-meorel sharsstery

SECTION 57. Arkansas Code § 17-52-308(b)(3), concerning complaints
against and disciplinary procedures for a home inspector, is amended to read

as follows:

(3)4A)> Conviction in—eany jurisdietion of a-misdemeanor invelving
moralturpitude—or of any felony listed under § 17-2-102~

SECTION 58. Arkansas Code § 17-52-315(a), concerning the application
for registration as a home inspector, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Any person applying for registration or renewal of registration as
a home inspector shall be—eof good moral charecterand shall submit to the
Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board:

(1) An application under oath upon a form to be prescribed by
the board;

(2) A current certificate of insurance issued by an insurance
company licensed or surplus lines approved to do business in this state that
states that the applicant has procured general liability insurance in the
minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and, if applicable,
workers’ compensation insurance; and

(3) The required registration or registration renewal fee with

the application.

SECTION 59. Arkansas Code § 17-81-304(a)(2), concerning the

28 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N N BN

10

12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36

As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

application for licensure as a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The applicant must submit proof satisfactory to the board of

graduation from a chartered school or college of chiropractic as herein

described and file with his or her application the affidavits of at least two

(2) licensed and reputable doctors of chiropractic shewing-him—er-her—tobe
efsocd—meral charoetes,

SECTION 60. Arkansas Code § 17-81-305(a)(6), concerning the

qualifications of applicants for licensure as a chiropractor, is repealed.

+6)>—Be of -good moral characters

SECTION 61. Arkansas Code § 17-81-318(e), concerning the criminal
background check required for a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:

(e) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a person
shall not receive or hold a license issued by the board if the person has
been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony listed

under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meral turpitudey fraud, dishonesty,

untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness, or is a registered sex offender or

required to register as a sex offender.

SECTION 62. Arkansas Code § 17-82-304(b), concerning the licensing
procedure for dentists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant:
(1) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age andeof good
morel—reputationandecharacter;
(B) Submit upon request suweh proof as required by the
board may regquire touching upon agey echaraetery and fitness; and
(C) Have been graduated from an American Dental
Association-accredited college of dentistry with the degree of Doctor of
Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine; or
(2) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and—of—good
meral-reputation—-and-eharaeter;
(B) Have graduated from a college of dentistry in North

America with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental

29 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N NN =

W W W W W W W N N N NN N N NN NN = = = = = = =
N W P W N~ O W 00NN D WL O WO 0NN WD~ O

As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

Medicine, or an equivalent degree approved by the board;

(C) Have passed an examination approved by the board and
authorized under § 17-82-303;

(D) Be a resident of the State of Arkansas and the United
States and be in compliance with federal laws of immigration; and

(E) Serve a period of at least ome (1) year under a
provisional license issued by the board to foreign graduates and successfully
complete the monitoring requirements as ordered by the board at the time the

provisional license is issued.

SECTION 63. Arkansas Code § 17-82-306(b), concerning the licensing
procedures for dental hygienists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant must shall:
{1 Beof good-moral reputetionand charactery
{2)(1l) Have graduated from a dental hygiene program which is
accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation and approved by the board for the training of dental
hygienists; and
43)(2) Submit upon request sweh proof as required by the board
may require touching upon charaeter—and fitness.

SECTION 64. Arkansas Code § 17-82-308(b)(3), concerning the
credentials for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in other states, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate from the authority which issued the license,
setting forth the applicant’s meral reputation—and charaetery history with
the board, professional ability, and such other information or data as the

board may deem necessary or expedient.

SECTION 65. Arkansas Code § 17-82-316(c)(3), concerning the revocation
or suspension of a license for a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental
assistant, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The commission of any criminal operation; habitual
drunkenness for a period of three (3) months; insanity; adjudication of
insanity or mental incompetency if deemed detrimental to patients; conviction

of an—dinfaomous erime or a felony listed under § 17-2-102; addiction to
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narcotics; immoral, dishonorable, or scandalous conduct; professional
incompetency; failure to maintain proper standards of sanitation or failure
otherwise to maintain adequate safeguards for the health and safety of
patients; or employment in the practice of the profession of any drug,
nostrum, unknown formula, or dangerous or unknown anesthetic not generally

used by the dental profession;

SECTION 66. Arkansas Code § 17-82-802 is amended to read as follows:

17-82-802. License eligibility.

A person shall not be eligible to receive or hold a license to practice
dentistry or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas State Board

of Dental Examiners if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or

has been found guilty of either an infamous—erime that woeuld impaect his—eoxr

a felony
pardoned listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 67. Arkansas Code § 17-83-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-83-307. Grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension.

The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board may refuse to issue or renew a
license or may revoke or suspend a license issued under this chapter for any
of the following, but is not limited to:

(1) Violation of a provision of this chapter;
(2) Engaging in unprofessional conduct or gross incompetence as
defined by the rules of the board or violating the standards of professional

responsibility adopted and published by the board; or

(3) Conviction in—this or-any other stateof any erime thatisa

feleny—in this state of a felony listed under § 17-2-1024+e*
Ha—Ceavietien—cfeo—felonydn o federal ceu=t,

SECTION 68. Arkansas Code § 17-84-304(a)(3), concerning the
qualifications for licensure and internship for hearing instrument
dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) Show to the satisfaction of the board that he or she:
(A) Is twenty (20) years of age or older; and

(B) Has an education equivalent of two (2) or more years
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of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college
or universitys+—and
L0y Ts—ef gosd memal—charaetes,

SECTION 69. Arkansas Code § 17-84-308(a)(l), concerning the
suspension, revocation, nonissuance, or nonrenewal of a hearing instrument
dispenser license, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Being convicted of a crime invelwing meoral turpitude—A

suspensiony,revoecationy—or-refusal te—issueor renew listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 70. Arkansas Code § 17-86-203(e)-(h), concerning the powers

and duties of the State Board of Health regarding massage therapy licenses,

are amended to read as follows:

(e)41) For purposes of this section, an—-applicant—is not—eligibleto

the board shall follow the licensing restrictions based on criminal records
under § 17-2-102.
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

SECTION 71, Arkansas Code § 17-86-303(a)(1l), concerning qualifications

for licensure as a massage therapist, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Furnish to the Department of Health satisfactory proof that

he or she is eighteen (18) years of age or older and—ef -good-meral-charaeter;

SECTION 72. Arkansas Code § 17-86-311(a), concerning the disciplinary
actions and penalties for massage therapists, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee may deny,
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

suspend, place on probation, or revoke a license upon any one (1) of the
following grounds:

(1) GConwvietion-ofy finding of guilty or entry of a plea—of

felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Malpractice or gross incompetency;

(3) The use in advertisements of untruthful or improbable
statements or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning the
licensee’s professional excellence or abilities;

(4) Habitual drunkenness or habitual use of any illegal drugs;

(5) Serving alcoholic beverages at the c¢linic or school in a

room where massage therapy is being performed or in a massage therapy school;

(6) Moral turpitude—or immeral or unprofessional Unprofessional

conduct;

(7) Failure to comply with the Department of Health’s Massage
Therapy Code of Ethics or any valid regulation or order of the committee;

(8) Invasion of the field of practice of any profession for
which a license is required, the diagnosis of ailments, diseases, or injuries
of human beings, the performance of osseous adjustments, prescription of
medications, or other breaches of the scope of practice of massage therapy;

(9) Failure of any licensee to comply with this chapter; or

(10) Failure to have licensed personnel to perform massage

therapy techniques in his or her clinic or school.

SECTION 73. Arkansas Code § 17-87-301(a), concerning the
qualifications for an applicant for licensure as a registered nurse, is
amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualifications. Before taking the examination or before the
issuance of a license by endorsement, an applicant for a license to practice
professional nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing
written evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

)—Es—-of pood—meral charaeters

42¥(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed the required approved professional nursing
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451
education program.

SECTION 74. Arkansas Code § 17-87-304(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed practical nurse,
is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualifications. An applicant for a license to practice practical
nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing evidence,
verified by oath, that the applicant:

H—Ts—sefgesd—mered—chasaetery

42)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of practical nurses and holds a diploma or
certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this requirement if the

board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 75. Arkansas Code § 17-87-305(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychiatric
technician nurse, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualifications. An applicant for a license to practice
psychiatric technician nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of
Nursing evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

H—Te—ef soodwmeomal chapasteny

42)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

£3)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of psychiatric technician nurses and holds a
diploma or certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this

requirement if the board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 76. Arkansas Code § 17-87-312(d)-(1), concerning criminal
background checks for nurses, are amended to read as follows:
(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
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As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant
seetion.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing
restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided

{19) TIneest-—-asprohibiteddin § 526202+
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

(£)(1)4A) The board may issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for

licensure to a first-time applicant pending the results of the criminal

background check.
{B)>(2) The permit shall be valid for no more than six (6)
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As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

months.

4 (g)(l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—to

under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
4i)y(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.
{3)(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

&)(j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and—regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

§ 5-28-1034+—and
L bepenoas—prehibiced dn-§ &5 238 501

SECTION 77. Arkansas Code § 17-87-707(a)(l), concerning disciplinary
actions for nurses, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Has been found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere

to:
(A) Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure

a medication assistive person certificate; or

(B) Providing services as a medication assistive person
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As Engrossed: $3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

without a valid certificate; er

(C)—Commitei ime_of moral turpitud

SECTION 78. Arkansas Code § 17-88-302(2), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist, is

repealed.

L20 The gwmpliceni wustbe—efiosed—morsl—choraeteny

SECTION 79. Arkansas Code § 17-88-309(b)(4), concerning the denial,
revocation, or suspension of an occupational therapist license, is amended to
read as follows:

(4) Being convicted of a erimey-otherthan miner offenses

(1] A 1a Ao o €6 Aanoac??

therapyassistant felony listed under § 17-2-102; and

SECTION 80. Arkansas Code § 17-89-302(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing
optician, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Every applicant for examination as a licensed dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, efgood-meral
eharaetery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) Is a graduate of a school of opticianry whose curriculum
consists of at least eighteen (18) months of didactic and practical
instruction which is accredited by a national accreditation organization and
approved by the board; or

(2)(A) Has been engaged in the providing of ophthalmic
dispensing services, as defined in this chapter, in the State of Arkansas for
a period of not less than five (5) years immediately before applicationm.

(B) No more than three (3) years may consist of:
(i) Working in a qualified service optical
laboratory approved by the board; or

(ii) Providing ophthalmic dispensing services under
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As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed or registered dispensing
optician, Arkansas-licensed optometrist, or Arkansas physician skilled in

diseases of the eye.

SECTION 81. Arkansas Code § 17-89-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-89-303. Qualifications — Registered dispensing opticians.

Every applicant for examination as a registered dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-ome (21) years of age, ofpgeood-meral
eharactery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ dispensing experience in
Arkansas under the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed optometrist or
Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye;

(2) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ experience under the
direct supervision of a licensed or registered dispensing optician holding a
certificate of licensure or registry in the State of Arkansas, one (1) year
of which may be while working in a qualified full-service optical laboratory
approved by the board; or

(3) 1Is a graduate of an approved school of opticianry which has

been accredited by a national accreditation organization and is recognized by

the board.

SECTION 82. Arkansas Code § 17-89-305(b), concerning reciprocity for
dispensing opticians, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The certificate may be issued without a written or practical
examination upon payment of the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the
Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and upon
satisfactory proof that the applicant:

(1) Is qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

A —Te—eisesd—merslcheroctesy

43)(2) Has provided ophthalmic dispensing services to the public
as a dispensing optician in the state of licensure or registration for a
period of at least five (5) years for licensure or three (3) years for
registration immediately before his or her application for reciprocity to
this state; and

£4)(3) 1Is licensed or registered in a state which grants like
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As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

reciprocal privileges to opticians who hold certificates of licensure or

registry issued by this state.

SECTION 83. Arkansas Code § 17-89-306(b), concerning an ophthalmic
dispensers from nonlicensing states seeking licensure as a dispensing
opticians in Arkansas, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The applicant must shall:

(1) Be qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

{2y Pe-ef gepd mowel—chazseters

{3)(2) Have been engaged in ophthalmic dispensing as described
in § 17-89-102(4) for a period of:

(A) Five (5) years for applicants for licensure, of which
no more than three (3) years may be while working in a qualified full-service
optical laboratory approved by the board; or

(B) Three (3) years for applicants for registry, of which
no more than one (1) year may be while working in a qualified full-service
laboratory approved by the board immediately before the date of application;

£+4)(3) Successfully complete the written and practical
examination for licensure or registry prepared and conducted by the board;
and

45)(4) Have paid the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the

Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians.

SECTION 84. Arkansas Code § 17-89-309(a)(3), concerning grounds of
denial, suspension, or revocation of a licensure or registration of an
ophthalmic dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The applicant, licensee, or registrant being convicted of a

felony listed under § 17-2-102 in-eay-stateor federal ecourtyand neot

SECTION 85. Arkansas Code § 17-90-301(b), concerning examinations for
licensure as an optometrist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) Every applicant for examination shall present satisfactory

evidence that he or she is:
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As Engrossed: $S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

(1) Owver At least twenty-one (21) years of age;
(2) A successful candidate having passed all parts of the
National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination since January 1, 1997;

and

LE—0f soed weral-—choranzer—ond
£4>(3) A graduate of a college of optometry that has been

accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the

American Optometric Associatiom.

SECTION 86. Arkansas Code § 17-90-302(c)(3), concerning licensure by
endorsement for optometrists, is amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate of good standing from each authority which
issued the license, setting forth the applicant’s meral-reputation and
eharaetery history with the authority, professional ability, continuing
education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of

Optometry may deem necessary or expedient;

SECTION 87. Arkansas Code § 17-90-305(a)(3), concerning the grounds

for denial, revocation, or suspension of an optometrist license, is amended

to read as follows:
(3) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or the

conviction of a misdemeanor, if the misdemeanor conduct would denote an

impairment in the ability to practice optometry;

SECTION 88. Arkansas Code § 17-91-101(a), concerning the licensing
requirements for an osteopathic physician, is amended to read as follows:
(a) The Arkansas State Medical Board shall accept for licensure by
examination any person who:
(1) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
(2) 1Is a citizen of the United States;
12— of soad memel cherositeny
£4)(3) Has not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional
conduct as defined in the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et
seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq.;
{5)(4) 1Is a graduate of an osteopathic college of medicine whose

course of study has been recognized by the Department of Education of the
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American Osteopathic Association; and
£6)(5) Has completed a one-year internship in a hospital
approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic

Association.

SECTION 89. Arkansas Code § 17-92-305(a), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a pharmacist, is amended to read as follows:
(a) Each applicant for examination as a pharmacist shall:

(1) $&hall-be Be not less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and

£+3>(2) Shall have Have:

(A) Graduated and received the first professional

undergraduate degree from a pharmacy degree program which has been approved
by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or

(B) Graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy,
completed a transcript verification program, taken and passed a college of
pharmacy equivalency exam program, and completed a process of communication
ability testing as defined under board regulations so that it is assured that

the applicant meets standards necessary to protect public health and safety.

SECTION 90. Arkansas Code § 17-92-311(a)(3), concerning grounds for
revocation, suspension, or nonrewal of licensure or registration, is amended
to read as follows:

(3) The person has been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo
contendere in a criminal proceeding, regardless of whether or not the
adjudication of guilt or sentence is withheld by a court of this state,
another state, or the United States Government for:

(A) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(B) Any act involving meral—turpitudey gross immoralityy
or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a

licensee; or
(C) Any violation of the pharmacy or drug laws or rules of
this state, or of the pharmacy or drug statutes, rules, and regulations of

any other state or of the United States Government;

SECTION 91. Arkansas Code § 17-92-317(e), concerning criminal
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background check requirements for an intern or pharmacist license or a

pharmacy technician registration, is amended to read as follows:
(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-1-103, ne—person—shall be a

person is not eligible to receive or hold an intern or pharmacist license or

pharmacy technician registration issued by the board if that person has
pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty of, any of the
following offenses, regardless of whether an adjudication of guilt or
sentencing or imposition of sentence is withheld, by any court in the State
of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any
similar offense by a federal court:

(1) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Any act involving meral turpitudey gross immorality,

dishonesty, or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties

of a person holding the license or registration; or

(3) Any violation of Arkansas pharmacy or drug law or
regulations, including, but not limited to, this chapter, the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq., and the Food, Drug, and

Cosmetic Act, § 20-56-201 et seq.

SECTION 92. Arkansas Code § 17-93-303(b), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a physical therapist, is amended to read as
follows:

(b) Each physical therapist applicant shall:

(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;

L2 Pe-cf-good—meral—charasitery

{3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the board;

44)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the

board; and
£5)(4) Submit fees as determined by the board.

SECTION 93. Arkansas Code § 17-93-304(b), concerning qualification of

applicants for licensure as a physical therapist assistant, is amended to

read as follows:
(b) Each physical therapist assistant applicant shall:
(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
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2—TPe—sicesd—merel—eharoeitesy
£3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy

accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the Arkansas State
Board of Physical Therapy;

44)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy; and

45)(4) Submit fees as determined by the Arkansas State Board of
Physical Therapy.

SECTION 94. Arkansas Code § 17-93-308(a)(4), concerning the
revocation, suspension, or denial of licensure for physical therapists, is

repealed.

SECTION 95. Arkansas Code § 17-93-412(a)(1l), concerning the
revocation. suspension, or denial of a license for an athletic trainer, is

amended to read as follows:

(1) Been convicted of a felony er misdemeanor—invelving moral

SECTION 96. Arkansas Code § 17-95-104(a)(2), concerning a hospital’s

duty to report physician misconduct, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The hospital shall also report any other formal disciplinary
action concerning any such physician taken by the hospital upon

recommendation of the medical staff relating to professional ethics, medical
incompetence, moral turpitudey or drug or alcohol abuse.

SECTION 97. Arkansas Code § 17-95-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-95-307. License eligibility.

No A person shall be is not eligible to receive or hold a license to
practice medicine or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas

State Medical Board if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or

has been found guilty of either -an—infamouserime—that would impaet—hisor
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her—ability topraeticemediecine—in the State—eof Arkansas—er a felony listed
under § 17-2-102y—regardless—of whether the eonvietionhas—been—sealedy
erpunzedy——sarpordenad.

SECTION 98. Arkansas Code § 17-95-403(b)(2), concerning qualification
of applicants for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Is—of good-moral-echaraeterand-has Has not been guilty of

acts constituting unprofessional conduct as defined in § 17-95-409;

SECTION 99. Arkansas Code § 17-95-408(d)(2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meral-character and professional qualifications of the applicant
upon notice and hearing before ordering reinstatement. Unless such a showing
shall thereupon be made to the board as would entitle the applicant to the

issuance of an original license, reinstatement shall be denied.

SECTION 100. Arkansas Code § 17-95-409(a)(2)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a physician license, is
amended to read as follows:

(A) (i) Conviction of eny—erimeinvelwving moral turpitude
er—econvietion—of a felony listed under § 17-2-102.
(ii) The judgment of any such conviction, unless

pending upon appeal, shall be conclusive evidence of unprofessional conduct;

SECTION 101. Arkansas Code § 17-95-903(b)(7), concerning

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a graduate registered

physician, is repealed.

Lh—Ts—sf gosd moral chesmeatesrand

SECTION 102. Arkansas Code § 17-95-910 is amended to read as follows:
17-95-910. Violation.

Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline a graduate registered physician who:

(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a

license;
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(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;

(3) Violates any provision of this subchapter or any rules
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;

(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) 1Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to the extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a graduate registered
physician; or

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a graduate
registered physiciany—e¥

L Has—eemmdstad—orn—aetof meralturpituda,

SECTION 103. Arkansas Code § 17-96-303(a), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a podiatrist, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Ne—person—shall be—entitled—to A person shall not take any

examination for such registration unless that person shall furnish the

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine with satisfactory proof that he or she:

(1) Is twenty-one (21) years of age or over; and

Lo ——Te—afsosdmerslchoroctery ond

43)(2) Has received a license or certificate of graduation from
a legally incorporated, regularly established school of podiatric medicine
recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American
Podiatric Medical Assoclation within the states, territories, districts, and

provinces of the United States or within any foreign country.

SECTION 104. Arkansas Code § 17-96-308(c)(2)(C), concerning the
definition of "unprofessional and dishonest conduct" regarding podiatric

medicine licensure, is repealed.

(C)—Bed 1 : ce o L ] e

SECTION 105. Arkansas Code § 17-97-201(a)(5)(B), concerning the
membership of the Arkansas Psychology Board, is amended to read as follows:
(B) The Governor shall remove any member from the board if
he or she:
(1) Ceases to be qualified;

(ii) Fails to attend three (3) successive board
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meetings without just cause as determined by the board;
(iii) Is found to be in violation of this chapter;
(iv) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found
guilty of a felony er—ean—unlawful aet—invelving moral turpitude listed under

§ 17-2-102 by a court of competent jurisdiction; or

(v) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found

guilty of malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in relation to his or her

board duties by a court of competent jurisdictiom.

SECTION 106. Arkansas Code § 17-97-302(b)(l), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) (1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

LA Te of ssed-memsl—shazasters

{B)(A) Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from
an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory
standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a
doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board
that the training required therefor is substantially similar;

4C)(B) Has had at least two (2) years of experience in
psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with
at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral work;

{P)(C) 1Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing
examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems necessary;

E)X(D) Is not considered by the board to be engaged in

unethical practice;
{E)}(E) Has applied for a criminal background check and has

not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the

offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and
4G)(F) Has not failed an examination given by the board

within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 107. Arkansas Code § 17-97-303(b)(1), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychological examiner, is

amended to read as follows:
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(b)(l) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

L efzeodmerel—shorasteny

48)(A) Has a master’s degree in psychology or a closely
related field from an accredited educational institution recognized by the
board as maintaining satisfactory standards;

4G)(B) 1Is competent as a psychological examiner as shown
by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems
necessary;

{B)>(C) 1Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
unethical practice;

{E)(D) Has applied for a criminal background check and has
not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and

{E)}(E) Has not failed an examination given by the board
within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 108. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1)(C), concerning the
qualifications for examination for a provisional license as a psychologist,

is repealed.

Lo Tes seod merel—chorostesy

SECTION 109. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1l)(F), concerning the
qualifications for a provisional license for psychologists and psychological
examiners, is amended to read as follows:

(F) Has not been convicted of a—erime invelwing moral turpitude
or a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 110. Arkansas Code § 17-97-308(f)(2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to read as follows:
(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meral-eharaeter—and professional qualifications of the applicant

as in the case of an original application.

SECTION 111. Arkansas Code § 17-97-312(d)-(m), concerning criminal

background checks for psychologists and psychological examiners, are amended
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to read as follows:
(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the

applicant 4
seetion,
(e) At the conclusion of any background check required by this
section, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police
shall promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant.
(f) TFor purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Execeptaspreovided
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{15) Rape as prohibitedin § 5-14-103¢
(16)—S 1 ind Lol hild hibited in § 5-14-110
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(g){)> The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of
provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.

4i)¢)-(h)(l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuvant—+te

under this section shall not be available for examination except by the

affected applicant for licensure or his or her authorized representative or
the person whose license is subject to revocation or his or her authorized
representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the

custody of the department.

+3>(i) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

3 (j) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
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section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
(k) The board shall adopt the necessary rules amd regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

SECTION 112. Arkansas Code § 17-98-302(a), concerning admission to
examination for licensure as a disease intervention specialist, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall admit to
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examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the State
Board of Disease Intervention Specialists on forms prescribed and furnished
by the board, pays an application fee set by the board to defray the expense
of examination, and submits satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:

Ho—Te—eo—persen—aigood-morsl choractars

{2)(l) Meets the minimum educational requirements;

{3)(2) Meets the minimum specialized training requirements, as
determined by the board;

+4)(3) Has had two (2) years of field experience in human
immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; and

45)(4) 1Is actively engaged in the field of human
immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention at the time

he or she makes application.

SECTION 113. Arkansas Code § 17-98-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-98-303. Issuance of certificate without examination.

The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall issue a
certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes
application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a

registration fee set by the board, and submits satisfactory proof that he -or

she:

I Ts of seed merel cherasiters

2)(1l) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of human immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention;
and

+3)(2) 1Is registered as a disease intervention specialist in a
state in which the qualifications for registration are not lower than the
qualifications for registration in this state at the time he or she applies

for registration.

SECTION 114. Arkansas Code §§ 17-98-305 and 17-98-306 are amended to
read as follows:

17-98-305. Application for reinstatement.

(a) A former registered disease intervention specialist whose
certificate has expired or has been suspended or revoked may make application

for reinstatement by paying a renewal fee and submitting satisfactory proof
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to the State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists that he or she has
complied with the continuing education requirements.
(b) The board shall consider the meral-charseter and professional

qualifications of the applicant as in the case of an original application.

17-98-306. Refusal to renew — Suspension or revocation.
The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists may refuse to renew
or may suspend or revoke a certificate upon proof that the applicant+
T sastof seed chorosieror
{2)—Is is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
incompetency, or misconduct relative to his or her duties as a disease

intervention specialist.

SECTION 115. Arkansas Code § 17-99-302(b), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for licensure as a respiratory care practitioner, is amended
to read as follows:

(b) Each applicant must shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

23— Pe of sesd-mewatchorosteny

43)(2) Have been awarded a high school diploma or its
equivalent;

443(3) Have satisfactorily completed training in a respiratory
care program which has been approved by the Arkansas State Respiratory Care
Examining Committee, to include adequate instruction in basic medical
science, clinical science, and respiratory care theory and procedures; and

{5)(4) Have passed an examination approved by the Arkansas State
Medical Board and the committee, unless exempted by other provisions of this

chapter.

SECTION 116. Arkansas Code § 17-99-307(3), concerning the grounds for
denial, suspension, or revocation of a respiratory care practitioner license,

is repealed.

SECTION 117. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(b), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
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audiologist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) To be eligible for licensure by the board as a speech-language
pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

{13 Re—of secd-merel—chasoaicrs

{2)(1l) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or a master’s degree in audiology obtained on or before
December 30, 2006, or a doctoral degree obtained after January 1, 2007, from
an educational institution recognized by the board;

43)(2) Submit evidence of the completion of the educatiomal,
clinical experience, and employment requirements, which shall be based on
appropriate national standards and prescribed by the rules adopted under this
chapter; and

{4)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board before the

board approves a license.

SECTION 118. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(d), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for provisional licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
audiologist, is amended to read as follows:

(d) To be eligible for provisional licensure by the board as a speech-

language pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

L1 Beof-sssd—meret—echorastery

{2)(l) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or audiology, as the case may be, from an educational
institution recognized by the board;

43)(2) Be in the process of completing the postgraduate
professional experience requirement; and

+)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board.

SECTION 119. Arkansas Code § 17-100-307(a)(3), concerning the grounds
for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or other disciplinary
action for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, is amended to read

as follows:

(3)(A) Being convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 4n
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46)(B) At the direction of the board, and after due notice

and an administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of applicable
Arkansas laws, the license of the person so convicted shall be suspended or
revoked or the board shall decline to issue a license when:

(i) The time for appeal has elapsed;

(ii) The judgment of conviction has been affirmed on
appeal; or

(iii) An order granting probation has been made
suspending the imposition of sentence, without regard to a subsequent order
under the provisions of state law allowing the withdrawal of a guilty plea
and the substitution of a not guilty plea, or the setting aside of a guilty

verdict, or the dismissal of the acquisition, information, or indictment;

SECTION 120. Arkansas Code § 17-101-305(a)(4)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a veterinarian license, is
amended to read as follows:

(4)(A) Conviction of a felony er—ether erime invelving meral
turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 121. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(a)(3), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,
is amended to read as follows:

(3) Before any applicant shall be eligible for an examination,

the applicant shall furnish satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:

43)(A) Has successfully completed not fewer than sixty
(60) semester credit hours of college education, to include a minimum of
thirty (30) semester credit hours in the field of science; and

46)(B) Has completed a program in acupuncture and related

techniques and has received a certificate or diploma from an institute
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approved by the board as described in this section. The training received in
the program shall be for a period of no fewer than four (4) academic years
and shall include a minimum of eight hundred (800) hours of supervised

clinical practice.

SECTION 122. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(c)(4), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,

is amended to read as follows:

(4) Not have been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

and

SECTION 123. Arkansas Code § 17-103-305(b), concerning the grounds for

renewal, revocation, or suspension of a social worker license, is amended to

read as follows:

(b) The board shall refuse to issue or shall revoke the license of a

person who has been found guilty of a felonyy—anyerimedinvelwing moral
furpitudey listed under § 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence,

dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the wvulnerable

unless the person requests and the board grants a waiver under § 17-103-

307(f).

SECTION 124. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(1)(D), concerning

qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed social worker, is

repealed.

Dy —Hes—sesd—merel—choraetary

SECTION 125. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(2)(1)(G), concerning

qualifications for a Licensed Social Worker license, is amended to read as

follows:
(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felony, any—erime invelving moral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 126. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(b)(1)(G), concerning the

qualifications for a Licensed Master Social Worker license, is amended to
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read as follows:

(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felonyy—any-erime—invelving meral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 127. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(c)(l)(H), concerning the
qualifications for a Licensed Certified Social Worker license, is amended to
read as follows:

(H) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found

guilty of a felonyy—anyerime invelving moral turpitudey listed under § 17-2-

102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach

of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 128. Arkansas Code § 17-103-307(d)-(k), concerning criminal
background check requirements for social workers, are amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant
seetion.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing
restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided
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prolhibiced Sm £ £ 07 £05.
(27} Fel 1ul 1 hibited in § 5-28-103

£ (£) (1) Information received by the board from the Identification
Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police under this section shall
not be available for examination except by the affected applicant for
licensure or his or her authorized representative or the person whose license
is subject to revocation or his or her authorized representative.

{(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
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custody of the department.

4h)(g) Information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

£i)y(h) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section do not extend to any document created for purposes other than the
criminal background check.

+3)>(i) The board shall adopt the necessary rules to fully implement

the provisions of this section.
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(L) hibited in § 5 38 301

SECTION 129. Arkansas Code § 17-104-312(3)(F), concerning violations
of the Perfusionist Licensure Act, is amended to read as follows:
(F) A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of
guilt of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or any offense substantially

related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a perfusionist, in

which event the record shall be conclusive evidence; or

SECTION 130. Arkansas Code § 17-105-102(b)(6), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a physician assistant, is

repealed.

fe—Te—ef soed-mewed chomostemy

SECTION 131. Arkansas Code § 17-105-113 is amended to read as follows:
17-105-113. Violation.
Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline any physician assistant who:
(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a
license;
(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;
(3) Violates any provision of this chapter or any regulations
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;
(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) 1Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to such an extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a physician assistant;

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a physician

assistant; or
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L Fas——cemmited—ar—actof morel tvesituder—ear

48)>(7) Represents himself or herself as a physician,

SECTION 132, Arkansas Code § 17-106-107(a)(2), concerning the
licensing requirements for healthcare professionals who use radioactive
materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on
human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as
follows:

(2) Submit satisfactory evidence verified by oath or affirmation
that the applicant:

(A) Is qualified to administer radioactive materials or
operate medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation upon human
beings;

LB—Te—eizead—mered—cheracteny

{6)(B) 1Is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time
of application; and

4B)(C) Has been awarded a high school diploma or has

passed the General Educational Development Test or the equivalent.

SECTION 133, Arkansas Code § 17-106-110(a)(2), concerning discipline
for healthcare professionals who use radioactive materials or medical
equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for

diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in—a

SECTION 134. Arkansas Code § 17-107-310(l), concerning disciplinary

action for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, is amended to read as

follows:
(1) Has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found

guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;
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As Engrossed:

S3/18/19 H4/3/19

/8/J. Cooper

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1011 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/4/19 54/5/19
92nd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 1255

By: Representative Dotson

By: Senator Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO PROMOTE, RECRUIT, AND RETAIN A HIGHLY
SKILLED WORKFORCE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS; TO AMEND
THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND
CERTIFICATION FOR CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND RECIPROCITY
FOR LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING,
REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND
RECIPROCITY FOR LICENSING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-1-107 is amended to read as follows:

17-1-107. Reinstatement of licenses — Definition.

ORI o428:201 12:12:47 LDoe
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As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19 HB1255

{)y(a) A An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt reduced

requirements for reinstatement of a licemnse, registration, permit, or
certification for a person who:
(1) Demonstrates that he or she:
(A) Was previously licensed, registered, permitted, or
certified to practice in the field of his or her profession at any time in
this state;

(B) Held his or her license, registration, permit, or

certification in good standing at the time of licensing, registration,

permitting, or certification;

(C) Did not have his or her license, registration, permit,

or certification revoked for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;
(D) 1Is not holding a suspended or probationary license,

registration, permit, or certification in any state; and

(E) Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any reinstatement fee required by law.

{e}(b) The occupational licensing entity may require that sufficient
competency in a particular field be demonstrated by:

(1) Proficiency testing;

(2) Letters of recommendation; or

(3) Both proficiency testing and letters of recommendation.

£ (c)(1l) Except as provided under subdivision {e)}¢2}(b) of this
section, the occupational licensing entity shall not require a person who
meets the requirements of subsection (a) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
licensing, registration, permitting, or certification of a new professional
in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the person to
participate in continuing education or training if the continuing education
or training is required for all professionals in the field to maintain the
license, registration, permit, or certification.

{e)(d) A person shall not be required to comply with requirements

2 04-05-2019 12:12:17 MLD065
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As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19 HB1255

under this section to obtain reinstatement of his or her license,
registration, permit, or certification if the person meets the requirements

for reciprocity.

£)(e) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an original license, registration, permit, or certification, or of a person

currently holding a license, registration, permit, or certification, then the

occupational licensing entity may require a person seeking reinstatement

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as

the applicant for an original license, registration, permit, or

certification, or as the person currently holding a license, registration,

permit, or certification.
{g)(f) (1) As used in this section, "occupational licensing entity"

means an agency, office, council, bureau, board, commission, department,

committee, or other authority of the govermment of the State of Arkansas,
whether within or subject to review by another agencyy except—the General
Assembly, the courtsy andthe Governory that has the duty to license,

register, permit, certify, or otherwise approve a person to work in a
particular field or industry.

(2) As used in subdivision (f)(l) of this section "agency"

does not include the General Assembly, the courts, or the Governor.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-108, as added by Acts 2019, No. 426,

is amended to read as follows:

17-1-108. Expedited temporary and provisional licensure — Legislative

intent.

(a)(l) It is the intent of the General Assembly to ensure that an

individual may be credentialed to work in Arkansas if he or she generally

demonstrates -the skills and ethics required by state law based on the

individual’s experience and credentials in another state.

(2) It is not the intent of the General Assembly to cause the

licensing entity to engage in simple comparisons of the required hours of

training and other personal qualifications under Arkansas’s occupational

licensing statutes with those qualifications required in the state where the

individual is credentialed.

£{a)(b) As used in this section:

(1) "Individual"” means a natural person, firm, association,

3 04-05-2019 12:12:17 MLDO65
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As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19 HB1255

partnership, corporation, or other entity that may hold an occupational
licensure;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,
commission, committee, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state
government having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or
otherwise authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession; and

(3) "Occupational licensure'" means a license, certificate,
registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule
that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession.

(b} (c) An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt the least
restrictive requirements for occupational licensure for an individual who:

(1) Demonstrates that he or she:

(A) Holds an occupational licensure that is substantially
similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or profession in
another state, territory, or district of the United States;

(B) Holds his or her occupational licensure in good
standing;

(C) Has not had his or her occupational licensure revoked
for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary
occupational licensure in any state, territory, or district of the United
States; and

(E) Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any occupational licensure fee required by law or rule.

{e) I} A)(d) (1) (A) An occupational licensing entity shall comply with
the requirements under subsection {b}(c) of this section by adopting the
least restrictive rule that allows for reciprocity or licensure by
endorsement.

(B) The rule adopted under subdivision {e){1)-{A}(d) (1) (A)
of this section shall provide the procedure by which an occupational
licensing entity shall grant a temporary and provisional occupational

licensure for ninety (90) days or longer to an individual under subsection

4 04-05-2019 12:12:17 MLDO65
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As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19 HB1255

b} (c) of this section if presented with evidence of a current and active
occupational licensure that is substantially similar to practice in the field
of his or her occupation or profession in another state, territory, or
district of the United States.

(2) If a state, territory, or district of the United States does
not require occupational licensure for a profession that requires
occupational licensure in this state, an occupational licensing entity shall
adopt a rule that is least restrictive to permit an individual who is
sufficiently competent in his or her field to obtain occupational licensure
for that occupation or profession in this state.

(3) The occupational licensing entity may require additional
state-specific education for an individual with an occupational licensure in
another state, territory, or district of the United States that does not
offer reciprocity similar to reciprocity under this section to individuals
with occupational licensure in this state.

«d)i}(e)(l) Except as provided under subdivision {d}{1}(e)(2) of this
section, an occupational licensing entity shall not require an individual who
meets the requirements of subsection {b}(c) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
occupational licensure of a new professional in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
to participate in continuing education or training if the continuing
education or training is required for all professionals in the field to
maintain the occupational licensure.

e} (f) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an initial occupational licensure or of a—persen an individual currently
holding an occupational licensure, then the occupational licensing entity may

require a—persor an _individual seeking his or her occupational licensure

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as
the applicant for an initial occupational licensure or as the persen
individual currently holding an occupational licensure.

£)(g) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
applying for occupational licensure under this section to meet any bonding,
financial statement, or insurance requirements that are applicable to all
applicants.

«g)(h) This section shall not apply to:
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As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19 HB1255

(1) Reciprocity or license by endorsement provisions under §§
17-12-308, 17-26-315, 17-27-308, 17-28-306, 17-31-308, 17-36-304, 17-42-305,
17-43-307, 17-83-305, 17-88-305, 17-89-305, 17-90-302, 17-92-114, 17-92-308,
17-93-414, 17-97-306, 17-99-304, 17-100-304, and 17-103-302; or

(2) The occupational licensing entities that administer the
reciprocity provisions under subdivision g}{1)}(h)(l) of this section.

(k) (i) An occupational licensing entity may enter into written
agreements with similar occupational licensing entities of another state,
territory, or district of the United States as necessary to assure for that
licensees in this state have comparable nonresident licensure opportunities
as those opportunities available to nonresidents by occupational licensing

entities in this state.

/s/Dotson

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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