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RULES AND REGULATIONS

ARTICLE I. Description

Section 1. The Act establishing the Arkansas Board of Hearing Instrument Dispensers provides
for examination and licensing of persons who fit and dispense hearing instruments in the State of
Arkansas.

Section 2. Information regarding this Board may be obtained by writing-the Board's Executive-
Directorat1020-Davis-Street-Conway;-AR72034-accessing the board’s website.

ARTICLE Il. Meeting of the Board

Section 1. The Board shall meet at least twice a year at a time and place designated by the
Chairman of the Board in his official call of such meetings. Provided, however, additional special
meetings may be held, if in the discretion of the Chairman of the Board, such special meetings are
necessary.

Section 2. Regular meetings may be called by the Chairman of the Board giving ten (10) days
notice thereof. Such notice shall be in writing and shall set forth the time and place of such meeting.
Special meetings of the Board may be called by the Chairman, at any reasonable time, or shall be called
by the Chairman at any time upon the request of a majority of the members of the Board.

Section 3. Five (5) of the Seven (7) eight{8)}-members of the Board shall constitute a quorum.
If a quorum is not present at the time of such called meeting, the meeting shall be adjourned to a day to
be designated by the Chairman.

ARTICLE lll. Duties and Powers of the Board

Section 1. It shall be the duty of the Chairman of the Board to preside at all meetings of the
Board. The Chairman shall exercise general supervision of the affairs of the Board, and shall have the
usual powers of such office and any other powers and duties as the Board may direct.

Section 2. It shall be the duty of the Vice-Chairman to preside at any meeting at which the
Chairman is unable to attend. The Vice-Chairman shall assume the duties of Chairman in case the
Chairman becomes unable, for whatever reason, to handle the affairs of the Board. If neither the
Chairman nor Vice-Chairman is available, the Secretary-Treasurer shall preside and/or handle the affairs
of the Board.

Section 3. It shall be the duty of the Secretary-Treasurer, or with Board approval, the duty of the
Executive Director, to keep all the minutes and records of the Board. The Secretary-Treasurer or
Executive Director shall have custody of all fees received by the Board, including application fees, license
fees, renewal fees, fines, penalties, and other payments, and shall be responsible for such funds, and
shall make an annual report to the appropriate authorities regarding the disbursement of these funds.
The Secretary-Treasurer or Executive Director shall, with the approval of the Board, be responsible for
the preparation of the annual budget of the Board. The Executive Director of the Board is covered by the
Self-Insured Bond Program for Arkansas Government and Political Sub-divisions.



Section 4. Officers shall be elected annually at the first regular meeting held after June 30.

Section 6-5. The fee schedule, as set by the Board, is as follows:

(Aa)  application fee $200.00 $100.00
(Bb)  practical examination fees $225.00
written— $450.00
ear mold $25.00
audiometric $25.00
law and regulations $25.00
(€c)  re-examination fee same as fee for portion repeated
(Bd) internship fee $1450.00 $100.00
(Ee) registration fee $50.00
(Ff) annual license fee $225.00 $100.00
(6g) late payment penalty {within-30-days)}—10%ofannuaticensefee-of 10% of the annual
license fee if paid within thirty (30) days after expiration.
(Hh)  license reinstatement fee $300.00-one and one-half (1 %) times
the annual license fee, if the renewal is not paid within the thirty (30) day grace period.
(H) endorsement to another state $20.00
(<) replacement or duplicate license $25.00
(k) insufficient funds $25.00
(L) CEU approval $50.00 per CE Unit

Section 7-6. The fee set out in Section (L) of Article Il {6)-(5) shall be paid by the entity or
individual requesting the approval and shall be good for twelve (12) months from the date of notice from
the board of approval or denial.

ARTICLE IV. Forms
All forms and other printed material necessary for the administration of the Board’s duties this-Act
shall be approved by a majority of the Board.

ARTICLE V. Application for License

A)Section 1. Applications for an Arkansas hearing instrument dispenser’s license or internship
must be made on forms provided by the Board. Applications submitted on forms other than originals
furnished by the Board will not be accepted by the Board.

—€B+§gg1|gn 2. Appl|cat|on forms may be obtained by wr|t|ng to the Board’s Execut|ve Director at

020D ORW b ino-the se-Dire 0 6146. The

Board’s Executlve Dlrector Contact mformatlon may be obtalned by accessing the board s website. A copy
of the current statutory provisions and Board rules and-regulations governing the fitting and sale of hearing
instruments will be provided with the application form.

+CS)-Section 3. All application forms must be completed in full. Incomplete applications will be
returned to the applicant, and shall not be considered until all information is completed. All application
forms must be accompanied by a check or money order in the amount, and covering the fees, specified
on the face of the application. Appropriate fees shall be charged by the Board to any applicant whose
check is returned by the bank.



{B) Section 4. Completed applications for examination must be received by the Board through
the Executive Director no later than thirty (30) days prior to the examination. Completed applications
received or completed less than thirty (30) days before the examination next scheduled will not be
considered for that examination, but will be considered for the following examination.

{E) Section 5. Any person furnishing false information on any application shall be denied the right
to take the examination, or to participate in the internship program,- erif-If the applicant has been licensed
before such false information is made known to the Board, such license shall be subject to suspension or
revocation. If a person has begun the internship program before such false information is made known to
the board, the intern is subject to expulsion from the program.

ARTICLE VI. Internship Program
{A) Section 1. No person shall train or supervise an intern unless he/she has complied with the
requirements of Ark. Code Ann. Section 17-84-304.

{B) Section 2. No licensed hearing instrument dispenser or audiologist, qualified to act as a
sponsor of an intern, shall have more than twe-one {2)-(1) interns-intern in the training program under
his/her supervision at any one time.

{C) Section 3. No intern sponsor shall knowingly allow or require any intern under his/her
supervision to practice the dispensing of hearing instruments except under his/her direct, personal, and
physical supervision, nor knowingly allow or require such intern to work out of any office other than
his/her own.

{B) Section 4. Each sponsor must submit, in writing, to the Board, at the time application is
submitted, an outline of the training program he/she intends to use for each intern he/she sponsors. Such
training program must be approved by the Board prior to the issuance of any internship certificate. The
Board may prepare and distribute model training program outlines.

{E) Section 5. At the time the internship is completed and before the intern will be allowed to take
the licensure examination, the sponsor must submit to the Board a written report on a form furnished by
the Board and verifying-under oath that the intern has successfully completed the prescribed internship
program. Each sponsor must notify the Board in writing, within ten (10) days, by certified mail, of any
intern who abandons his/her internship program before cempleted-completion.

“F)-Section 6. An intern may change sponsors, for good cause shown, with the permission of the
Board.

{G) Section 7. Any intern who abandons his/her internship program before completion must
reapply and complete a new one (1) year internship program.

=) Section 8. Any person sponsoring an intern must agree to be accountable to the Board of

Hearing Instrument Dispensers in all matters concerning the internship.

ARTICLE VII. Examination
Section 1. Fhe-examination




The written portion of the licensing examination is a standardized exam administered by the International
Hearing Society (IHS). Upon approval for license by examination, the Board will notify IHS of the
applicant’s eligibility to take or retake the written exam. IHS will then notify the applicant by email of
his/her eligibility to schedule the written portion of the exam. Applicants should not contact IHS directly
before being notified of approval to take the written exam, as eligibility and approval are determined by
the Board. IHS charges a fee for the exam, which the applicant will pay directly to IHS upon registration
for the written examination.

IHS will send examination scores to the Board, and the Board will send a pass or fail notification
to the applicant by email and reqular mail (applicants should maintain updated contact information with
the Board). The Board may follow the pass or fail recommendations set out by IHS.

Section 2. The-examination-may-be written-orpracticalor-beth,-and-Upon passing the written

portion of the exam, the applicant is eligible to take the practical portions of the licensing exam, which
shall consist of the subject matter contained in Ark. Code Ann. Section 17-84-304305 and shall be given
at least one (1) time per year, following a regular Board meeting.

Section 3. The practical portion of the examination will include testing of the applicant’s
knowledge of the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. 17-84-101, et seq. and the Rules of the Board of Hearing
Instrument Dispensers.

Section 3-4. Once the Board receives a written recommendation by the sponsor of a person
participating in a valid internship program who has successfully completed his/her first six months of the
internship program, that intern may take the licensing-examination-written exam. atanyregulartestdate
setunder-Sectiont-of this-Article—Upon passing the written portion of the exam, that intern may take the
practical portions of the licensing exam, which shall consist of the subject matter contained in Ark. Code
Ann. Section 17-84-305 and shall be given at least one (1) time per year, following a reqular Board

meeting.

(@A h-An attempt by an
intern to pass the heensmg—examlnahon shall count against the three (3) aIIowed attempts to successfully
pass the licensing examlnatlon as stated in Ark. Code Ann. Sectlon 17 84- 305(d) Before an-intern who

intern must complete the internship program before re-examination.

(b) An intern must work in the same physical location as the intern’s sponsor.

(c) Every audiogram and purchase order performed by any intern must be approved, initialed and
dated by his/her sponsor.

{b}-(d) An intern who satisfactorily passes the licensing examination during his/her internship
program may complete the internship program under the oversight of the sponsor without the sponsor’s

d|rect personal and phy5|cal superV|S|on #—heepshewetkswthﬂm—heanngrmst&%entdﬁpenang




Section 5.
mtenqst%peprepeauherntemshtpeesenbed—mAGMl&-s%An intern must repeat the |nternsh|p

application and program if the intern:

(a)Fails to pass any part of the examination within eighteen (18) months of the Board’s approval
of the intern’s initial internship; or

(b)Fails to pass the exam as a whole after three (3) attempts.

Section 6. An applicant for licensure who has not completed the internship program must re-
apply for licensure by examination if the applicant fails to pass any part of the examination within one (1)
year of the board’s approval of the applicant’s initial application, and shall be required, if applicable, to
complete the internship program as described in ACA 17-84-304.

ARTICLE VIIl. Annual License Renewal; Inactive Status

Section 1. The annual license renewalfee and the information required by Article VIII (3) shall
be paid-submitted by each license holder to the Executive Director on or before the expiration date of
his/her current license or renewal. All such licenses shall expire on June 30 each year, unless otherwise
specified by the Board, and all licenses shall be renewed annually. Responsibility for the paymentof
suchrenewalrenewal of a license shall rest with the license holder, and if reminders of such renewal are
sent by the Executive Director, it shall be as a courtesy only and shall not be deemed a responsibility of
the Board.

Section 2. Renewal shall be judged delinquent if either the annual license fee or the renewal
information is not postmarked before midnight of the date of expiration._

(a) A delinquent license may be renewed within thirty (30) days of the date of expiration and-may
only-berenewed-afterthat-date-by the payment of the annual license fee, plus a efa-penalty of ten (10%)
percent of the annual renewallicense fee, and the subm|SS|on of the renewal |nformat|0n reqmred by
Article VIII (3). : :
of expiration-

(b) If the renewal information and license fee, plus penalty, is not paid-submitted within the thirty
(30) day period following the date of expiration, the license shall be considered revoked for non-payment
of repewal-license fees. Any license considered revoked for non-payment of renrewal-license fees, shall

may be relnstated by the Board upon payment of the reqwred &fee aepresenbedbythe%eard%nd

ense-and submission of

the renewal |nformat|on

(c) If the licenserenewalannual license fee and/or the renewal information is delinquent by at
least sixty (60) days, the licensee shall be reexamined prior to the renewal of the license.

Section 3. Each licensee applying for renewal of his/her license shall furnish to the Arkansas
Board of Hearing Instrument Dispensers the following:

(a) Proof of attending, during the preceding year, a minimum of twelve (12) hours of board-
approved continuing education in the methods and technlques of testing and fitting hearlnq |nstruments

(i) All continuing education courses, including course content and presenter’s qualifications must
be submitted to the Board for pre-approval before such courses are taken by the licensee.



(i) Failure to receive Board approval of continuing education hours prior to the end of the
license year shall be sufficient cause for non-renewal of the license.

&) (i) Up to twe-{2)-four (4) continuing education hours may be earned via courses taken
over the internet for any one renewal period. Each internet course must be fully completed prior
to the end of the license year in which it is commenced. Proof of passage must be supplied in
writing at the time of renewal for the upcoming year.

{# (iv) The required one hour of ethics cannot be earned through an internet course.
The ethics hour must include a discussion of the statutes, rules and-regulations of the State of
Arkansas pertaining to hearing instrument dispensers and shall be presented by an Arkansas
licensed Audiologist or Arkansas licensed hearing instrument dispenser.;

(b) Written evidence of annual calibration of all audiometers and tympanometer
used by the license holder to current national standards.;

(c)A blank copy of the currently used bill of sale or comparable document provided to
patients as required by Ark. Code Ann. 17-84-104; and

(d)A statement regarding whether the licensee is engaged in the practice of dispensing
in-office assembled hearing instruments.

Section 4. Any hearing instrument dispenser who, because of iliness or other
unavoidable circumstance, is unable to comply with the requirements for license renewal, may
make application to the Board stating the circumstances as to why he/she is unable to so
comply, and the Board, in its discretion, may relieve the applicant from complying for such time
and under such circumstances as the Board deems proper.

Section 5. Inactive Status. A licensee may be placed on inactive status by submitting a
written request to the Board at the time of license renewals. A licensee electing inactive status shall
pay a reduced fee of fifty (50) percent of the current renewal fee. A licensee may resume active status
by submitting a written request to the Board, paying the full renewal fee, and following any
requirements listed in this Section.

(a) A licensee on inactive status may not actively engage in the practice of dispensing
hearing instruments and must submit a statement acknowledqging that at the time he/she elects
inactive status.

(b) Continuing Education requirements under Article VIII Section 3(a) shall be waived
for a licensee on inactive status. A licensee who resumes active status does not need to meet
the annual Continuing Education requirements by the end of his/her first year after returning
from inactive status, but he/she must attend twelve (12) hours of Board-approved continuing
education, including one (1) hour of ethics, by the end of the second year after returning to
active status.

(c) A licensee on inactive status shall be exempt from the requirements of Article VIl
Section 3(b)-(c). A licensee electing to return to active status must comply with those sections
before returning to active status.

(d) A licensee on inactive status may renew their license on an annual basis at the
reduced renewal fee.

ARTICLE IX. Standards of Practice



Section 1. Testing. ln-erderto-To insure-ensure accurate testing or screening, the
maximum allowable ambient noise level shall not exceed 55dB (A scale) wherever the testing or
screening is conducted. The ambient noise level shall be measured on the A scale with a
properly calibrated electronic sound level meter, and shall be recorded on the audiogram prior to
testing or screening. All equipment must be maintained in good working order and be calibrated
to national standards.

Section 2. All patients shall receive a battery of tests sufficient to determine the type
and degree of hearing loss, and to rule out pathologies that require medical referral. All patients
shall receive a battery of tests that will include tympanometry, pure tone air and bone
conduction, speech reception threshold and speech discrimination with masking when indicated,
and a measurement of most comfortable listening level (MCL), and a measurement of
uncomfortable listening level (UCL).

Section 3. Fitting. Beginning-January-1,-2007-all-All licensees shall include in their

sales agreements the terms of all licensee’s warranties and/or guarantees.

Section 4. Verification. Evaluation of objective hearing aid performance with hearing
instrument(s) in place must be done. This can be accomplished by way of “sound field” testing
or “real ear measurement” testing, according to equipment manufacturer’s specifications. The
results of the verification shall be documented and made available to the board upon request.

Section 5. Validation. All licensees shall record in the patient’s file all patient
complaints, questionnaires, tests administered, results observed, adjustments made to the
hearing instrument, and recommendations made to the patient.

Section 6. All licensees operating an established place of business shall maintain their
records pertaining to fitting and dispensing hearing instruments to consumers for a period of five
(5) years. All such licensees shall furnish copies of a patient’s records to him or her, upon
request within a reasonable period, eftime-not to exceed thirty (30) days. A licensee may
assess a reasonable records fee not to exceed one dollar ($1.00) per page for the first five (5)
pages and twenty-five cents ($.25) for each additional page. All such licensees who cease the
active practice of dispensing hearing instruments shall make adequate provisions for a
consumer-patient to obtain copies of his or her records upon reasonable request.

ARTICLE X. Unethical Conduct; Termination of Internship

Section 1. It shall be the responsibility of each licensee or intern to be familiar with and
to avoid commission of any of the acts regarded as unethical practices by this Act. Full
responsibility for the ethical conduct of an intern shall rest with the sponsor.

Section 2. A sponsor may terminate an intern for unethical or dishonest conduct, or for
other good cause. Within ten (10) days the sponsor shall notify the Board of such termination
by certified mail, explaining in full the grounds for such termination.

Section 3. Any intern deprived of his/her sponsorship by termination may request a
hearing by the Board. If a majority of the Board shall find him/her blameless of the charges,
he/she shall be free to seek sponsorship with the same or another license holder. Upon
application by a new sponsor, his/her internship may be reinstated, with no payment of fee or
penalty. If the Board shall find him/her guilty as charged, the Board, in its discretion, may
suspend or revoke the internship.

Section 4. Any licensee or intern who violates any FBA-rules-andiorFederalfederal
regulations regarding screening or testing for the purpose of dispensing or selling of hearing
instruments, or HHPPA HIPAA regulations concerning patient confidentiality shall be deemed in
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violation of Ark. Code Ann. Section 17-84-308, and shall be subject to the penalties contained
therein.

ARTICLE XI. Filing of Charges and Investigation

Section 1. Any person may make-charges-in-writing-file a written complaint with this
Board against any licensee or intern or unlicensed person in this state, charging said person with

having violated the provisions of the Board'’s statutes or rules.

d{%pensepepmte#wperson against whom a complaint has been filed with the Board shall be

given the opportunity to respond to the complaint in writing. The complainant shall have twenty
(20) days, from the date of receipt of the complaint, to respond.

Section 3. The Board may initiate an investigation, act upon its own motion, or upon
written complaint. An investigation may be conducted by one or more of the Board members or

agents of the Board.

Section 4. If a complaint is filed by a current board member, that board member shall not
participate in discussion or vote in any hearing that is held pursuant to the complaint.

Section 5 4. If, after investigation, the Board finds the complaint justified, further action
taken by the Board shall be governed by the Administrative Procedures Act, Act434-0f1967 as-
amended;-Ark. Code Ann. Section 25-15-201, et. seq.

ARTICLE XIl Xill. Established Place of Business
Section 1. On his/her application to the Board for a license by examination, or an
internship, the applicant shall state the following:

(a) The applicant’s name and residence address.

(b) The name of the established place of business in which he/she conducts business.

(c) The physical location or address of that established place of business.

(d) The mailing address and business phone number of that established place of business.

(e) A listing of the equipment used in the practice of fitting and dispensing of hearing
instruments.

(f) The name and license number of the person in charge of that established place of
business.

(g) The name and business address, if different of the person or persons financially

responsible for that established place of business.

(h)A statement regarding whether the applicant will be engaged in the practice of

dispensing in- office assembled hearing instruments.

Section 2. The established place of business identified by the applicant shall be the
place where the applicant’s license or certificate shall be regularly displayed, and shall contain
adequate equipment and supplies for serving the needs of the public.

8



Section 2-3. A person who holds a license or internship must notify the board by certified
letter of every change in his or her establlshed place of business and all satelllte locations within
ten (10) davs of any Chanqe A

wﬂhqelcewsmsseteu%m A;IeGedeAm%Seet@#Hl—S#%Q Fa|Iure to give notlce requwed in
this Section shall be deemed unethical conduct.

Section 3-4. At the time a license or internship is issued or approved, and for each
renewal thereof, an identification card bearing the expiration date of the license or internship,
and the name of the licensee or intern shall be issued. Said card shall be kept in the physical
possession of the licensee or intern at all times during the performance of his/her duties. On the
request of any client or prospective client, Board member, peace officer, or any other person
and in relation to the holder’s practice of fitting and dispensing hearing instruments, he/she shall
permit his/her identification card to be inspected for the purpose of identification.

Section 5. By accepting or renewing a license, the licensed hearing instrument dispenser

grants permission for the investigator, or other designee appointed by the board, to enter
the licensee’s establishment or place of business without prior notice.

ARTICLE Xl X}V. Sale of Hearing Instruments to Children

Section 1. It shall be considered a violation of Ark. Code Ann. Section 17-84-101, et.
seq., to fit a child under the age of eighteen (18) years of age with a hearing instrument for the
first time unless the child has had, in the past six (6) months a medical examination by an
otolaryngologist and an audiological examination by an audiologist holding the Certificate of
Clinical Competence, and such examination indicates the need for a hearing instrument.

Section 2. No child under the age of eighteen (18) years who has been fitted with a
hearing instrument, shall be fitted with a different hearing instrument unless a medical
examination by an otolaryngologist and an audiological examination by an audiologist holding
the Certificate of Clinical Competence has been performed within the past two (2) years.

ARTICLE X|V XV. Violation of State Hearing Instrument Law Across State Lines

Disciplinary action regardingthefitting-and-dispensing-of-hearing-instruments-by a
regulatory Bboard of another state against a person licensed by this Board, may be grounds for

disciplinary action against the person by the Arkansas Board of Hearing Instrument Dispensers.

Effective1-15-20114
ARTICLE XV. neral ndards for Mobil ni
Section 1. A licensee or intern working within a “mobile unit” as defined by Act 373 of

2017 is required to comply with all Board statues and rules, including, without limitation. Article
IX and XllIl herein.

Section 2. A person engaging in the practice of dispensing hearing instruments shall
notify the Board by certified mail at least thirty (30) days in advance of conducting business as
a mobile unit. The notification shall include:

(a)The dates of operation of the mobile unit,

(b)Times of operation of the mobile unit, and
9




(c)Locations of operation of the mobile unit.

ARTICLE XVI Licensure by Reciprocity

Section 1. An applicant applying for reciprocal licensure shall meet the following

requirements:
(a) The applicant shall hold a substantially similar license in another United States
jurisdiction.

(1) Alicense from another state is substantially similar to an Arkansas Hearing
Instrument Dispenser license if the other state’s licensure qualifications require
or the applicant otherwise has obtained:

(i) Two (2) or more years of college education from a regionally
accredited college or university, graduation from an American
Conference of Audioprosthology (ACA) Program, or a National Board
for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences (NBCHIS) certificate;
and
(ii) Passage of the written examination administered by the International
Hearing Society.
(2) The applicant shall hold his or her occupational licensure in good standing;
(3) The applicant shall not have had a license revoked for:
(i) An act of bad faith; or
(i) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(4) The applicant shall not hold a suspended or probationary license in a United
States jurisdiction:;

(b) The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in the field of dispensing hearing
instruments; and
(c) The applicant must be at least twenty (20) years of age.

Section 2. An applicant shall submit a fully-executed application, the required fee, and the

documentation described below.

(a) As evidence that the applicant’s license from another jurisdiction is substantially similar
to Arkansas’s, the applicant shall submit the following information:

(1) Evidence of current and active licensure in that state. The Board may verify
this information online if the jurisdiction at issue provides primary source
verification on its website or by telephone to the other state’s licensing board;
and

(2) Evidence that the other state’s licensure requirements match those listed in
Section 1(a)(1). The Board may verify this information online or by telephone to
the other state’s licensing board.

(b) To demonstrate that the applicant meets the requirements in Section 1(a)(2)--(4), the
applicant shall provide the Board with:

(1) The names of all states in which the applicant is currently licensed or has been
previously licensed; and

(2) Letters of good standing or other information from each state in which the
applicant is currently or has ever been licensed showing that the applicant has
not had his license revoked for the reasons listed in Section 1(a)(3) and does
not hold a license on suspended or probationary status as described in Section
1(a)(4) The Board may verify this information online if the jurisdiction at issue
provides primary source verification on its website or by telephone to the other
state’s licensing board.

(c) As evidence that the applicant is sufficiently competent in the field of dispensing
hearing instruments, an applicant shall:

(1) Pass the practical application examination listed in Article VII, Sections 2 and 3

10




and;

(2) Submit three (3) letters of recommendation from licensed hearing instrument
dispensers in the applicant’'s home state attesting to the applicant’s skills and
competence.

(d) The applicant shall also provide proof of completion of the education requirements
referenced in Section 1 (a)(1)(i) by submitting a certified college transcript, proof of
graduation from an ACA program, or certification from NBCHIS.

Section 3. Temporary and Provisional Licenses.

(a) The Board shall issue a temporary and provisional license immediately upon receipt of
the application, the required fee, and the documentation required under Section 2(a)(1)
and (2).

(b) The temporary and provisional license shall be effective for ninety (90) days or until the
Board makes a decision on the application, unless the Board determines that the
applicant does not meet the requirements in Section 1 of this rule, in which case the
provisional and temporary license shall be immediately revoked.

(c) An applicant may provide the rest of the documentation required above in order to
receive a license, or the applicant may only provide the information necessary for the
issuance of a temporary and provisional license.

Section 4. Licensure for an Individual from a State that Does not License Hearing
Instrument Dispensers.

(a) An applicant from a state that does not license hearing instrument dispensers shall
meet the following requirements:

(1) The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in the field of dispensing hearing
instruments;

(2) The applicant shall have obtained two (2) or more years of college education
from a regionally accredited college or university, graduation from an American
Conference of Audioprosthology Program, or a National Board for Certification
in Hearing Instrument Sciences certificate; and

(3) The applicant must be at least twenty (20) years of age.

(b) An applicant shall submit a fully-executed application, the required fee, and the
documentation described below.

(1) As evidence that the applicant is sufficiently competent in the field of
dispensing hearing instruments, the applicant shall:

(i) Pass the written examination administered by the International
Hearing Society;

(i) Pass the practical application examination listed in Article VII,
Sections 2 and 3; and

(i)  Submit three (3) letters of recommendation from hearing
instrument dispensers in the applicant’s home state attesting to the
applicant’s skills and competence.

(2) The applicant shall also provide proof of completion of the education
requirements referenced in Section 1 (a)(1)(i) by submitting a certified college

transcript, proof of graduation from an ACA program, or certification from
NBCHIS.

ARTICLE XVII. Licensure for Active Duty Military, Returning Veterans, and Spouses.

Section 1. As used in this subsection,
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(a) “automatic licensure” means the granting of occupational licensure without an
individual's having met occupational licensure requirements provided under Title 17 of
the Arkansas Code or by these Rules.

(b) “returning military veteran” means a former member of the United States Armed Forces

who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than dishonorable.

Section 2. The Board shall grant automatic licensure to an individual who holds a

substantially equivalent license in another U.S. jurisdiction and is:

(a) An active duty military service member stationed in the State of Arkansas;

(b) A returning military veteran applying for licensure within one (1) year of his or
discharge from active duty; or

(c) The spouse of a person under Article XVII Section 42 (a) or (b).

Section 3. The Board shall grant such automatic licensure upon receipt of all of the below:

(a) Payment of the initial licensure fee;

(b) Evidence that the individual holds a substantially equivalent license in another state;
and

(c) Evidence that the applicant is a qualified applicant under Article XVIl Section 42 (a),

(b), or (c).
ARTICLE XVIII. Pre-Licensure Criminal Background Check.

Section 1. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-licensure
determination of whether the individual’s criminal record will disqualify the individual from
licensure and whether a waiver may be obtained.

Section 2. The individual must obtain the pre-licensure criminal background check petition
form from the Board.

Section 3. The Board will respond with a decision in writing to a completed petition within a

reasonable time.

Section 4. The Board’s response will state the reasons for the decision.

Section 5. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined by the
information provided by the individual.

Section 6. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal
background check petition is not subject to appeal.

Section 7. The Board will retain a copy of the petition and response and it will be reviewed
during the formal application process.

ARTICLE XIX. Waiver request for Disqualifying Criminal Offenses.

Section 1. If an individual has been convicted of an offense listed in A.C.A. Section 17-23-
102(a), except those permanently disqualifying offenses found in subsection (e), the Board
may waive disqualification of a potential applicant or revocation of a license based on the
conviction if a request for a waiver is made by:

(a) An affected applicant for a license; or

(b) An individual holding a license subject to revocation.

Section 2. The Board may grant a waiver upon consideration of the following, without
limitation:

12



(a) The age at which the offense was committed;

(b) The circumstances surrounding the offense;

(¢) The length of time since the offense was committed;

(d) Subsequent work history since the offense was committed;

(e) Employment references since the offense was committed;

(f) Character references since the offense was committed:;

(a) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license; and

(h) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the applicant does not pose a
threat to the health or safety of the public.

Section 3. A request for a waiver, if made by an applicant, must be in writing and
accompany the completed application and fees.

Section 4. The Board will respond with a decision in writing and will state the reasons for

the decision.

Section 5. An appeal of a determination under this section will be subject to the
Administrative Procedures Act Section 25-15-201 et seq.

Effective (Insert date here)
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 426 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/13/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 1301

By: Representative Cozart

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO CREATE THE RED TAPE REDUCTION EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSURE ACT; TO AUTHORIZE
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING ENTITIES TO GRANT EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSING FOR CERTAIN
INDIVIDUALS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO CREATE THE RED TAPE REDUCTION
EXPEDITED TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL
LICENSURE ACT; TO AUTHORIZE OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING ENTITIES TO GRANT EXPEDITED
TEMPORARY AND PROVISIONAL LICENSING FOR
CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Title.

This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Red Tape Reduction

Expedited Temporary and Provisional Licensure Act."

SECTION 2. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;

(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (ll) states chosen to

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and

NINEERUA -
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;

(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational

licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry;

and

(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for

substantive legislative reform, which are to:

(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are

responsive to new legislation;

(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of

subsections of rules;

(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;

(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional

licenses; and

(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:

(i) New occupational licensure and occupational

licensing entities; and

(ii) Existing occupational licensure and

occupational licensing entities.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to authorize occupational

licensing entities to identify types of individuals or entities that may be

issued temporary or provisional licenses.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code Title 17, Chapter 1, Subchapter 1, is amended
to add an additional section to read as follows:

17-1-108. Expedited temporary and provisional licensure.

(a) As used in this section:

(1) "Individual" means a natural person, firm, association,

partnership, corporation, or other entity that may hold an occupational

licensure;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession;

and

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.
(b) An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt the least

restrictive requirements for occupational licensure for an individual who:

(1) Demonstrates that he or she:

(A) Holds an occupational licensure that is substantially

similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or profession in

another state, territory, or district of the United States;

(B) Holds his or her occupational licensure in good

standing;
(C) Has not had his or her occupational licensure revoked

for:

(i) An act of bad faithj; or

(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary

occupational licensure in any state, territory, or district of the United

States; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any occupational licensure fee required by law or rule.

(c)(1)(A) An occupational licensing entity shall comply with the

requirements under subsection (b) of this section by adopting the least

restrictive rule that allows for reciprocity or licensure by endorsement.

(B) The rule adopted under subdivision (c) (1) (A) of this

section shall provide the procedure by which an occupational licensing entity

shall grant a temporary and provisional occupational licensure for ninety

(90) days or longer to an individual under subsection (b) of this section if

presented with evidence of a current and active occupational licensure that

is substantially similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or

profession in another state, territory, or district of the United States.

(2) If a state, territory, or district of the United States does

3 02-13-2019 09:17:59 JMB083
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not require occupational licensure for a profession that requires

occupational licensure in this state, an occupational licensing entity shall

adopt a rule that is least restrictive to permit an individual who is

sufficiently competent in his or her field to obtain occupational licensure

for that occupation or profession in this state.

(3) The occupational licensing entity may require additional

state-specific education for an individual with an occupational licensure in

another state, territory, or district of the United States that does not

offer reciprocity similar to reciprocity under this section to individuals

with occupational licensure in this state.

(d) (1) Except as provided under subdivision (d)(2) of this section, an

occupational licensing entity shall not require an individual who meets the

requirements of subsection (b) of this section to participate in the

apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to

occupational licensure of a new professional in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual

to participate in continuing education or training if the continuing

education or training is required for all professionals in the field to

maintain the occupational licensure.

(e) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for an

initial occupational licensure or of a person currently holding an

occupational licensure, then the occupational licensing entity may require a

person seeking his or her occupational licensure under this section to meet

the same criminal background check requirements as the applicant for an

initial occupational licensure or as the person currently holding an

occupational licensure.

(f) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual

applying for occupational licensure under this section to meet any bonding,

financial statement, or insurance requirements that are applicable to all

applicants.
(¢) This section shall not apply to:

(1) Reciprocity or license by endorsement provisions under §§
17-12-308, 17-26-315, 17-27-308, 17-28-306, 17-31-308, 17-36-304, 17-42-305,
17-43-307, 17-83-305, 17-88-305, 17-89-305, 17-90-302, 17-92-114, 17-92-308,
17-93-414, 17-97-306, 17-99-304, 17-100-304, and 17-103-302; or

(2) The occupational licensing entities that administer the
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As Engrossed: H2/13/19 HB1301

reciprocity provisions under subdivision (g)(l) of this section.

(h) An occupational licensing entity may enter into written agreements

with similar occupational licensing entities of another state, territory, or

district of the United States as necessary to assure for licensees in this

state have comparable nonresident licensure opportunities as those

opportunities available to nonresidents by occupational licensing entities in

this state.

/s/Cozart

APPROVED: 3/12/19

5 02-13-2019 09:17:59 JMB083



O 00 N o U1 &~ LW N =

W W W LW LW LW LD DD DN DN DN DD DNDMNDNDNDNNMNDDNDN = = = 2 = = = = = =
AN L1~ LW NN R O W 0 N O I M W NN HF O O 0N OV M W N = O

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 820 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed:  $3/28/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 564

By: Senators Irvin, 7. Garner, J. Hendren, D. Wallace
By: Representative Bentley

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING
MILITARY VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW AND APPROVAL
OF RULES SUBMITTED BY OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
ENTITIES; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING THE
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSURE OF ACTIVE DUTY
SERVICE MEMBERS, RETURNING MILITARY
VETERANS, AND THEIR SPOUSES; TO PROVIDE
AUTOMATIC LICENSURE; TO REQUIRE REVIEW
AND APPROVAL OF RULES SUBMITTED.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative Intent.

The General Assembly finds that:

(1) The current law regarding the issuance of licenses,

certificates, and permits required to enable the holder to lawfully engage in

a profession, trade, or employment in this state continues to constitute a

hardship on active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

their spouses;

(2) Acts 2017, No. 248, amended the law to require that all

state boards and commissions promulgate rules to expedite the process and
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

procedures for full licensure, certification, or permitting for active duty

service members, returning military veterans, and their spouses;

(3) State boards and commissions required to promulgate rules by

Acts 2017, No. 248, have failed to do so in accordance with the law; and

(4) Automatic licensure is necessary to remedy these hardships

and allow active duty service members, returning military veterans, and their

spouses to engage in their chosen professions.

Section 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-106 is amended to read as follows:

17-1-106. Lieensureycertificationy, or permitting of Automatic

licensure for active duty service members, returning military veterans, and

spouses — Definitien Definitions.

(a) As used in this sectiony:

(1) "Automatic licensure" means the granting of occupational

licensure without an individual’s having met occupational licensure

requirements provided under this title or by the rules of the occupational

licensing entity;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,

commission, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government

having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise

authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession;

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,

registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule

that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession; and

(4) “returning Returning military veteran” means a former member
of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under

circumstances other than dishonorable.

(b)(1l) A-state board or commission that issues licensesy certifiecatesy

trade; or employment—in this state An occupational licensing entity shall

aﬂewgrant A€ o OWERE RaIviaud O ecure—emp+Loymen = A—3a empo
14 L g1 . Ll letd 1 14 . .
full liecensure or certifiecation or permitting automatic licensure to engage

in an occupation or profession if the to an individual who is the holder in

good standing of a substantially equivalent liecensey; ecertificate; or permit
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occupational license issued by another state, territory, or district of the

United States and is:

5 (A) An active duty military service member stationed in the
State of Arkansas;

42)(B) A returning military veteran applying for licensure

within one (1) year of his or her discharge from active duty; or
43)(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions {b)}{1)
(b) (1) (A) and 2) (b)(1)(B) of this section.

(2) However, an occupational licensing entity shall be required

to provide automatic licensure if the proposed rules are not approved as

required under subsection (d)(2) of this section.

(c) A-state boardor commissionshall expedite the process—and
. e full 14 L£3 . sy . he follows
i ndividualss
(1) A . . 13 . 1 . 14 !
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

An occupational licensing entity may submit proposed rules recommending

an expedited process and procedure for occupational licensure instead of

automatic licensure as provided under subsection (b) of this section to the

Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council.

(d) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council shall:

(1) Review the proposed rules of an occupational licensing

entity as submitted for public comment and at least thirty (30) days before

the public comment period ends under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure

Act, § 25-15-201 et seq.; and

(2) Approve the proposed rules submitted under subsection (c)

based on:

(A) A determination of whether the expedited process and

procedure provide the least restrictive means of accomplishing occupational

4 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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licensure; and

(B) Any other criteria the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council determines necessary to

achieve the objectives of this section.

(e) The Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council may:

(1) Establish a subcommittee to assist in the duties assigned

under this section;

(2) Assign information filed with the Administrative Rules and

Regulations Subcommittee of the Legislative Council under this section to one

(1) or more subcommittee of the Legislative Council, including without

limitation a subcommittee created under subdivision (e)(l) of this section;

or

(3) Delegate its duties under this section to one (1) or more

subcommittees of the Legislative Council, subject to final review and

approval of the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council.

(f) An occupational licensing entity shall:

(1) Submit proposed rules authorized under subsection (c) of

this section to the Administrative Rules and Regulations Subcommittee of the

Legislative Council for review and approval before the proposed rules are

promulgated under the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, § 25-15-201 et

seq.; and

(2) Provide to the House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth,

Legislative and Military Affairs an annual report stating the number of

automatic licenses and expedited occupational licenses granted under this

section to:

(A) Active duty military service members stationed in the

State of Arkansas;

(B) Returning military veterans applying within one (1)

year of his or her discharge from active duty; or

(C) The spouse of a person under subdivisions (f) (2) (A)

and (f)(2)(B) of this section.

SECTION 3. TEMPORARY LANGUAGE. DO NOT CODIFY. An occupational

licensing entity proposing rules recommending an expedited process and

5 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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As Engrossed: S3/28/19 SB564

procedure for occupational licensure instead of automatic licensure as

provided under § 17-1-106(b) to the Administrative Rules and Regulations

Subcommittee of the Legislative Council shall complete the review and

approval process of the proposed rules required by § 17-1-106 within one (1)

year of the effective date of this act.

/s/Irvin

APPROVED: 4/9/19

6 03-28-2019 14:12:35 DTP038
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 990 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19
92nd General Assembly B 1
Regular Session, 2019 SENATE BILL 451

By: Senator J. Cooper
By: Representative Dalby

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS TO
OBTAIN CONSISTENCY REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND
CHECKS AND DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE; AND
FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAWS REGARDING CRIMINAL
BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PROFESSIONS AND
OCCUPATIONS TO OBTAIN CONSISTENCY
REGARDING CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS AND
DISQUALIFYING OFFENSES FOR LICENSURE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. DO NOT CODIFY. Legislative findings and intent.

(a) The General Assembly finds that:

(1) Arkansas is taking a leading role in the nationwide pursuit

of reforms to the system of occupational licensing;

(2) Arkansas became one (1) of eleven (ll) states chosen to

participate in the Occupational Licensing Policy Learning Consortium, an

initiative funded by a grant from the United States Department of Labor and

supported in partnership with the National Conference of State Legislatures,

the Council of State Governments, and the National Governors Association;

(3) Governor Asa Hutchinson appointed seventeen (17) individuals

to the Red Tape Reduction Working Group to review and address occupational
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licensing regulations that create unnecessary barriers to labor market entry;

and

(4) The Red Tape Reduction Working Group issued a final report

to the Governor in the fall of 2018 with five (5) recommendations for

substantive legislative reform, which are to:

(A) Establish an expedited procedure for occupational

licensing entities to collectively submit administrative rules that are

responsive to new legislation;

(B) Extend Acts 2017, No. 781, to allow repeal of

subsections of rules;

(C) Establish provisions to allow certain agencies to

consider occupational relevance with regard to criminal background issues;

(D) Authorize occupational licensing entities to identify

types of individuals or entities that may be issued temporary or provisional

licenses; and

(E) Establish a systematic process for review of:

(i) New occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities; and

(ii) Existing occupational licenses and occupational

licensing entities.

(b) It is the intent of the General Assembly to establish provisions

to allow certain agencies to consider occupational relevance with regard to

criminal background issues.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code Title 17 is amended to add an additional
chapter to read as follows:
CHAPTER 2
OCCUPATIONAL CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS

17-2-101. Definitions.

As used in this subchapter:

(1) "Criminal record" means any type of felony or misdemeanor

convictions

(2) "Licensing entity" means an office, board, commission,

department, council, bureau, or other agency of state government having

authority to license, certify, register, permit, or otherwise authorize an

2 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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individual to engage in a particular occupation or profession; and

(3) "License" means a license, certificate, registration,

permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule that is

required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or

profession.

17-2-102. Licensing restrictions based on criminal records.

(a) An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued

by a licensing entity if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo

contendere to or been found guilty of any of the following offenses by any

court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in

another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, unless the

conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive Criminal Record

Sealing Act of 2013, § 16-90-1401 et seq., or otherwise previously sealed,

pardoned or expunged under prior law:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree and second degree as prohibited
in §§ 5-10-102 and 5-10-103;
(3) Manslaughter as prohibited in § 5-10-104;

(4) Negligent homicide as prohibited in § 5-10-105;

(5) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(6) False imprisonment in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-

(7) Permanent detention or restraint as prohibited in § 5-11-

(8) Robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-102;

(9) Aggravated robbery as prohibited in § 5-12-103;

(10) Battery in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-13-201;

(11) Ageravated assault as prohibited in § 5-13-204;

(12) Introduction of a controlled substance into the body of

another person as prohibited in § 5-13-210;

(13) Aggoravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class Y

felony;

(14) Terroristic threatening in the first degree as prohibited

in § 5-13-3013

3 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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1 (15) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

2 (16) Sexual indecency with a child as prohibited in § 5-14-110;
3 (17) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

4 (18) Sexual assault in the first degree, second degree, third

5 degree, and fourth degree as prohibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-127;

6 (19) 1Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

7 (20) Offenses against the family as prohibited in §§ 5-26-303 —
8 5-26-306;

9 (21) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

10 first degree, as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

11 (22) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as
12 prohibited in § 5-27-205;

13 (23) Permitting the abuse of a minor as prohibited in § 5-27-
14 2213

15 (24) Engaging children in sexually explicit conduct for use in
16 visual or print media, transportation of minors for prohibited sexual

17 conduct, pandering or possessing visual or print medium depicting sexually
18 explicit conduct involving a child, or use of a child or consent to use of a
19 child in a sexual performance by producing, directing, or promoting a sexual
20 performance by a child, as prohibited in §§ 5-27-303 — 5-27-305, 5-27-402,
21 and 5-27-403;
22 (25) Computer child pornography as prohibited in § 5-27-603;
23 (26) Computer exploitation of a child in the first degree as
24 prohibited in § 5-27-605;
25 (27) Felony adult abuse as prohibited in § 5-28-103;
26 (28) Theft of property as prohibited in § 5-36-103;
27 (29) Theft by receiving as prohibited in § 5-36-106;
28 (30) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301;
29 (31) Burglary as prohibited in § 5-39-201;
30 (32) Felony violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act,

31 §§ 5-64-101 — 5-64-510, as prohibited in the former § 5-64-401, and §§ 5-64-
32 419 — 5-64-442;

33 (33) Promotion of prostitution in the first degree as prohibited
34 in § 5-70-104;

35 (34) Stalking as prohibited in § 5-71-229;

36 (35) Criminal attempt, criminal complicity, criminal

4 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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solicitation, or criminal conspiracy, as prohibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,

5-3-301, and 5-3-401, to commit any of the offenses listed in this

subsection; and

(36) All other crimes referenced in this title.

(b)(1) If an individual has been convicted of a crime listed in

subsection (a) of this section, a licensing entity may waive disqualification

or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a request for a waiver

is made by:

(A) An affected applicant for a license; or

(B) The individual holding a license subject to
revocation.

(2) A basis upon which a waiver may be granted includes without

limitation:

(A) The age at which the offense was committed;

(B) The circumstances surrounding the offense;

(C) The length of time since the offense was committed;

(D) Subsequent work history since the offense was
committed;

(E) Employment references since the offense was committed;

(F) Character references since the offense was committed;

(G) Relevance of the offense to the occupational license;
and

(H) Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the

applicant does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.

(c) If an individual has a valid criminal conviction for an offense

that could disqualify the individual from receiving a license, the

disqualification shall not be considered for more than five (5) years from

the date of conviction or incarceration or on which probation ends, whichever

date is the latest, if the individual:

(A) Was not convicted for committing a violent or sexual

offense; and

(B) Has not been convicted of any other offense during the five-

yvear disqualification period.

(d) A licensing entity shall not, as a basis upon which a license may

be granted or denied:

(1) Use vague or generic terms, including without limitation the
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phrase "moral turpitude" and "good character"; or

(2) Consider arrests without a subsequent conviction.

(e) Due to the serious nature of the offenses, the following shall

result in permanent disqualification for licensure:

(1) Capital murder as prohibited in § 5-10-101;

(2) Murder in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-10-102 and

murder in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-10-103;

(3) Kidnapping as prohibited in § 5-11-102;

(4) Aggravated assault upon a law enforcement officer or an

employee of a correctional facility as prohibited in § 5-13-211, if a Class ¥

felony;
(5) Rape as prohibited in § 5-14-103;

(6) Sexual extortion as prohibited in § 5-14-113;

(7) Sexual assault in the first degree as prohibited in § 5-14-

124 and sexual assault in the second degree as prohibited in § 5-14-125;

(8) 1Incest as prohibited in § 5-26-202;

(9) Endangering the welfare of an incompetent person in the

first degree as prohibited in § 5-27-201;

(10) Endangering the welfare of a minor in the first degree as

prohibited in § 5-27-205;

(11) Adult abuse that constitutes a felony as prohibited in § 5-

28-103; and

(12) Arson as prohibited in § 5-38-301.

(f) This chapter does not preclude a licensing entity from taking

emergency action against a licensee as authorized under § 25-15-211 for the

sake of public health, safety, or welfare.

(g) The permanent disqualification for an offense listed in subsection

(e) of this section does not apply to an individual who holds a valid license

on the effective date of this chapter.

(h) This section does not apply to licensure or certification:

(1) Of professions not governed by this title;

(2) Of polygraph examiners and voice stress analysis examiners

under § 17-39-101 et seq.; or

(3) Of private investigators and private security agencies under

the Private Security Agency, Private Investigator, and School Security

Licensing and Credentialing Act, § 17-40-101 et seq.
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17-2-103. Prelicensure criminal background checks.

(a)(1) An individual with a criminal record may petition a licensing

entity at any time for a determination of whether the criminal record of the

individual will disqualify the individual from licensure and whether or not

he or she could obtain a waiver under § 17-2-102(b).

(2) The petition shall include details on the criminal record of

the individual.

(b)(1) A licensing entity may require that the applicant undergo a

state and federal criminal background check as required by the licensing

entity for all applicants for a license.

(2) The petitioner under subsection (a) of this section shall be

responsible for payment for the state and federal criminal background check.

17-2-104. Rules.

(a) A licensing entity shall adopt or amend rules necessary for the

implementation of this chapter.

(b) (1) When adopting or amending rules to implement this chapter, the

final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State for adoption under §
25-15-204(f):

(A) On or before January 1, 2020; or

(B) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred by

January 1, 2020, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.

(2) A licensing entity shall file the proposed rule with the

Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of January 1,

2020, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for approval

before January 1, 2020.

SECTION 3. Arkansas Code § 17-11-302(b), concerning application and
certificate of registration to become a registered abstracter, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) The application shall be in a form prepared by the board and

shall contain such information as may be necessary to assist the board in

registration andteodetermine if the applicantis of good moral charaeter.

SECTION 4. Arkansas Code § 17-11-304(a), concerning issuance or
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reapplication for a certificate of registration by the Arkansas Abstracters’
Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a) If the applicant satisfactorily passes the examinations and—is—ef
good-moral charaeter, the applicant shall be certified as a registered
abstracter, and the certificate provided for shall be issued to him or her.
The privileges granted by the certificate shall continue unless revoked, as
provided in this chapter, or unless the certificate is otherwise surrendered

to the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board.

SECTION 5. Arkansas Code § 17-11-340(a), concerning the revocation of
certificates authorized by the Arkansas Abstracters’ Board, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas Abstracters’ Board is authorized, after a hearing as
provided in § 17-11-341, to cancel and revoke any certificate of registration
issued to any person under the provisions of this chapter:

(1) For a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter;

(2) Upon a conviction of the holder of such a certificate of a
crime invelwing meral turpitude under § 17-1-102; or

(3) If the board finds the holder to be guilty of habitual

carelessness or of fraudulent practices in the conduct of the business of

abstracting.

SECTION 6. Arkansas Code § 17-11-341(a)(l), concerning the procedure
of appeal for revocation of certificates authorized by the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board, is amended to read as follows:

(a)(l) Upon a verified complaint being filed with the Arkansas
Abstracters’ Board or upon the board’s own motion filing a complaint charging
the holder of a certificate of registration with a violation of any of the
provisions of this chapter, or conviction of a crime involving meral

turpitude;or—with under § 17-2-102 or habitual carelessness or fraudulent

practices in the conduct of the business of abstracting, or charging the
holder of a certificate of authority with failure to furnish the bond or
bonds, or other securities, required by § 17-11-324, or with failing to have
employed a registered abstracter as provided in § 17-11-301, or with a
violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, the board shall

immediately notify in writing by registered mail, with return receipt, the
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holder of the certificate of the filing of the complaint and furnish the

holder with a copy of the complaint.

SECTION 7. Arkansas Code § 17-12-301 is amended to read as follows:

17-12-301. Requirements generally — Definition.

(a) A certificate as a certified public accountant shall be granted by
the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy to any person of geoed -meral
character:

(1) Who has met the education and experience requirements set
forth in this chapter and by the board; and
(2) Who has passed an examination in accounting and auditing and

such related subjects as the board shall determine to be appropriate.

(13 2

a—histeryeof+

() Noti £ 41 14 , Lol e 1.
ey (b)(l) Any person who has received from the board a certificate

as a certified public accountant which is currently in full force and effect
shall be styled and known as a “certified public accountant” and may also use
the abbreviation “CPA”.

(2) The board shall maintain a list of certified public
accountants.

(c) Any certified public accountant may also be known as a public

9 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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SECTION 8. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(d), concerning the criminal
background check for initial licensure of accountants, is amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background checks, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the

commission-bythe applicant of any offense listed in subsection (e)of this

seetion.

SECTION 9. Arkansas Code § 17-12-303(e), concerning the criminal

background check for initial licensure of accountants, is repealed.

SECTION 10. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601(a)(5) and (6), concerning the
grounds for revocation or suspension of licensure of accountants, are amended
to read as follows:

(5) Conviction of a felony under the law of any state or of the
United States § 17-2-102;
(6) Conviction of any crime an element of which is dishonestysy

or fraudyer meral turpitude under the law of any state or of the United
States;

SECTION 11. Arkansas Code § 17-12-601, concerning the grounds for
revocation or suspension of licensure of an accountant, is amended to add an
additional subsection to read as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the Arkansas

State Board of Public Accountancy may refuse to issue a license to or

reinstate a license of a person who has been convicted of a felony involving

theft or fraud, regardless of the amount of time that has elapsed since the

conviction.
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SECTION 12. Arkansas Code § 17-14-203(12)(C) (i), concerning the powers
and duties regarding criminal background checks of the Arkansas Appraiser
Licensing and Certification Board, is amended to read as follows:

(i) During the five (5) years immediately preceding
the date of the application was convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo
contendere to, a crime that would call into question the applicant’s fitness
for registration, licensure, or certification, including without limitation a
crime involving:

{a)—Moral turpitudes
b)rH(a)(l) An act substantially related to
the qualifications, functions, or duties of an appraiser.

(2) A crime or act may be deemed
substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of an
appraiser if, to a substantial degree, the crime or act evidences present or
potential unfitness of a person applying for or holding a real property
appraiser credential to perform the functions authorized by the credentialj;

4e)(b) Taking, appropriating, or retaining the
funds or property of another;

44> (c) Forging, counterfeiting, or altering an
instrument affecting the rights or obligations of another;

4e)(d) Evasion of a lawful debt or obligation,
including without limitation a tax obligation;

+£)(e) Trafficking in narcotics or controlled
substances;

42)(f) Violation of a relation of trust or
confidence;

) (g) Theft of personal property or funds;

43i)(h) An act of violence or threatened
violence against persons or property; or

(i) A sexually related crime or act under §
5-14-101 et seq.;

SECTION 13. Arkansas Code § 17-14-206(a)(3), concerning complaints and
disciplinary procedures of the Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification

Board for licensees, is repealed.

(3} (A} Convietion i urisdietd : i sd
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. L 1 feud e fol
{B)—A plea—of nolo contendereor nocontest-shall be
id . s s e 1 £ rhi .

SECTION 14. Arkansas Code § 17-14-405(b)(3), concerning requirements
for registration under the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act, is
amended to read as follows:

(3)(A) The name, address, and contact information of any person
that owns ten percent (10%) or more of the appraisal management company.
(B) Any person owning more than ten percent (10%) of an

appraisal management company in this state shalls

{i)>—Be of sood moral character, as determined by the
boards—and

{ii)—Submit submit to a state criminal background
check and a national fingerprint-based criminal background check performed by
the Federal Bureau of Investigation in compliance with federal law and

regulations;

SECTION 15. Arkansas Code § 17-14-410(a)(3), concerning the
disciplinary authority, enforcement, and hearings under the Appraisal
Management Company Registration Act, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been
found guilty of:
(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102; or

(B) Within the past ten (10) years:
(i) A misdemeanor involving mortgage lending or real
estate appraising; or
(ii) An offense involving breach of trustymeral
turpitudey or fraudulent or dishonest dealing;

SECTION 16. Arkansas Code § 17-15-102(3), concerning the definition of

"good moral character" related to architects, is repealed.

(13 ”

1isel he £idued bt : i b ] 14
i . blie £ ] . £ healtl e | elfare.
(B} Evid £ inabili 1 el b duei

12 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236



O 00 N o U1 &~ LW N =

W W W LW LW LW LD DD DN DN DN DD DNDMNDNDNDNNMNDDNDN = = = 2 = = = = = =
AN L1~ LW NN R O W 0 N O I M W NN HF O O 0N OV M W N = O

As Engrossed: S3/18/19 H4/3/19 SB451

inelud : s : eg setifving diceinli Jor § 1715
308+

SECTION 17. Arkansas Code § 17-15-304(b)(l), concerning examinations
to be a registered and licensed architect, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(l) To be qualified for admission to an examination to practice

architecture in the State of Arkansas, an applicant must shall be at least

twenty-one (21) years of age andof good moral charaeter.

SECTION 18. Arkansas Code § 17-15-308(5), concerning grounds for
revocation of a license for an architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate of registration has

been guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 19. Arkansas Code § 17-16-105(a) (8), concerning the
registration requirements for an athlete agent under the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act, is amended to read as follows:

(8) whether the applicant or any person named pursuant to
paragraph (7) has been convicted of a crime that, if committed in this State,
would be a crime involving meral turpitudeor a felony listed under § 17-2-

102, and identify the crime;

SECTION 20. Arkansas Code § 17-17-308(6), concerning the suspension or
revocation of a license of an auctioneer, is amended to read as follows:
(6) Being convicted of a criminal offense involving meral

turpitude—or a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in a court of competent

jurisdiction of this or any other jurisdiction;

SECTION 2I1. Arkansas Code § 17-19-203(3), concerning character
references for a professional bail bondsman license, is amended to read as
follows:

(3) Suehother Provide other proof as the board may require that

he or she is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good

personal and business reputation and has not been convicted of a felony er

any—offenseinvelving moral turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.
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SECTION 22. Arkansas Code § 17-19-210(b)(l), concerning the suspension
and penalties for a professional bail bondsman licensee, is amended to read
as follows:

(1) Violated any provision of or any obligation imposed by this
chapter or any lawful rule, regulatieny or order of the board or has been

convicted of a felony er—any eoffense—invelving moral turpitude listed under §
17-2-102;

SECTION 23. Arkansas Code § 17-20-302 is amended to read as follows:
17-20-302. Qualifications of applicants.
Any person shall be qualified to receive a certificate of registration
to practice as a registered barber who:
(1) 1Is qualified under this chapter;
{2)y—ILs—of good moral character and temperate habits;

(2) Has passed a satisfactory examination conducted by the

¢

State Board of Barber Examiners to determine his or her fitness to practice
barbering;

>(3) 1Is at least sixteen and one-half (16 %) years of age; and

¢

4) Has received training approved by the appropriate

licensing authorities.

SECTION 24. Arkansas Code § 17-20-308(1l)(A), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action of barbers, is amended to read as follows:

(1) (A) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 shown by a

certified copy of the record of the court of conviction.

SECTION 25. Arkansas Code § 17-24-307(3), concerning the grounds for
revocation, suspension, or refusal of license issued by the State Board of

Collection Agencies, is repealed.

(3} Convietd e Lme invelid ] rudes

SECTION 26. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305(a), concerning the
qualifications for a contractors license, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Contractors Licensing Board, in determining the qualifications
of any applicant for an original license or any renewal license, shall, among

other things, consider the following:

14 04-03-2019 15:40:16 JMB236
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(1) Experience;

(2) Ability;

|

(3) The manner of performance of previous contracts;

3
4) Financial condition;

(
(5) Equipment;
(

28

3

5
6) Any other fact tending to show ability and willingness to
conserve the public health and safety; and

£8)(7) Default in complying with the provisions of this chapter

or any—ether another law of the state.

SECTION 27. Arkansas Code § 17-25-305, concerning the qualifications
for a contractors license, is amended to add an additional subsection to read
as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the board may

consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or

registration of a contractor under this chapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;

(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;

(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.; and

(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 28. Arkansas Code § 17-25-507, concerning the qualifications
for a contractors license through the Residential Contractors Committee, 1is
amended to add an additional subsection to read as follows:

(c) In addition to the offenses listed in § 17-2-102, the committee

may consider the following offenses when determining fitness for licensure or
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registration of a contractor under this subchapter:

(1) Conviction of a crime with an element of dishonesty or fraud

under the laws of this state, another state, or the United States;

(2) Conviction of voyeurism as prohibited in § 5-16-101 and § 5-

16-102;

(3) Conviction under the Arkansas Hot Check Law, § 5-37-301 et

seq.; and

(4)(A) A crime or act that is substantially related to the

qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor.

(B) A crime or act may be deemed substantially related to

the qualifications, functions, or duties of a contractor if, to a substantial

degree, the crime or act evidences present or potential unfitness of a person

applying for or holding a contractors license or registration to perform the

functions authorized by the license or registration.

SECTION 29. Arkansas Code § 17-26-105(10), concerning grounds for
disciplinary action for cosmetology and other related occupations, is amended
to read as follows:

(10) Conviction under the laws of the United States or any state
or territory of the United States of a crime that is:

(A) I¥s—a A felony er misdemeanor listed under § 17-2-102,

as evidenced by a certified copy of a court record or by license application;
and

(B) Invelwves A misdemeanor involving dishonesty or is in

any way related to the practice or teaching of the cosmetology industry,
unless the applicant or licensee can demonstrate to the board’s satisfaction
that the applicant or licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant

the public trust;

SECTION 30. Arkansas Code § 17-26-201(c), concerning the membership of
the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, is amended to read as follows:
(c) The committee shall be composed of the following representatives
from within the cosmetology industry who are ef good meral charaecter and whe
are at least twenty-five (25) years of age:
(1) One (l) member shall be a licensed cosmetologist actively

engaged in practicing the art of cosmetology for at least five (5) years at
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the time of appointment;

(2) One (1) member shall be a licensed nail technician;

(3) One (1) member shall be an owner of a licensed school of
cosmetology or shall be a director of cosmetology at a state-supported
school;

(4) One (1) member shall be a licensed aesthetician; and

(5) Three (3) members shall represent the cosmetology industry

at large or a related field.

SECTION 3I. Arkansas Code § 17-27-301(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed professional counselor, is amended to read as follows:

(2) The applicant is highly regarded in personalecharaeter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 32. Arkansas Code § 17-27-303(2), concerning qualifications
for a licensed marriage and family therapist before January 1, 1998, is
amended to read as follows:

(2) The applicant is highly regarded in personalecharaeter and

professional ethics;

SECTION 33. Arkansas Code § 17-27-313 is amended to read as follows:

17-27-313. Criminal background checks.

(a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling may require each
applicant for license renewal and each first-time applicant for a license
issued by the board to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department
of Arkansas State Police for a state and national criminal background check,
to be conducted by the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas
State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigatiom.

(b) The check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and
shall include the taking of fingerprints.

(c) The applicant shall sign a release of information to the board and
shall be responsible for the payment of any fee associated with the criminal
background check.

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall

forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
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licitacd i minal . hibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202,5
3301 1 5 3_40] . e e listed in thi ] fon.

5> (e) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of
provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.
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be-—waived by—the board uponthe request—of+
(AY— cg . 13 for 14 .

(C) Ot} ‘4 . . 1 1 14 1
not—pose—athreat to the health or safety of children.

(f) For the purposes of this section, the board shall follow the

licensing restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102.
hH(g) (1) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuwant—teo

under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure, or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation, or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.

43i)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established under this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this
background check.

4> (j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

SECTION 34. Arkansas Code § 17-29-311(a)(l), concerning the sanctions
and prohibited conduct of embalmers and funeral directors, is amended to read

as follows:
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(1) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 35. Arkansas Code § 17-30-305(a)(2)(A), concerning the
administrative violations and penalties for an engineer, is amended to read
as follows:

(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 36. Arkansas Code § 17-31-303(c), concerning application for
registration with the Arkansas State Board of Registration for Foresters, is

repealed.

(o)A hall be olipible £ . . e ]
. e 1 el i fon.

SECTION 37. Arkansas Code § 17-31-309(b), concerning revocation of a
certificate for a registered forester, is amended to read as follows:
(b)(l) The board may revoke the certificate of any registered forester

who has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or who is found

guilty by the board of any fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
misrepresentation, willful violation of contract, misconduct, or gross
incompetence.

(2) The board shall investigate such charges.

SECTION 38. Arkansas Code § 17-32-304(a)(l), concerning the

qualifications for a geologist-in-training certificate, is repealed.

(l) Be 9£ geed ethjea eharaete%'

SECTION 39. Arkansas Code § 17-32-311(a)(3), concerning the denial,
suspension, or revocation of a registration certificate of a geologist, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 40. Arkansas Code § 17-35-301(c)(2), concerning the
registration of interior designers, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has not been convicted of an offense listed under § 17-2-102

that bears directly on the fitness of the applicant to be registered;
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SECTION 4I. Arkansas Code § 17-35-305(5), concerning grounds of
revocation for a license of an interior designer, is amended to read as
follows:

(5) The holder of the registration has been guilty of a felony
listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 42. Arkansas Code § 17-36-303(a), concerning examination for
licensure as a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(a) An applicant for licensure shall:
(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and
2)—Be—of good moral character;y—and
43)(2) Pass an examination covering the matters confronting
landscape architects that is prepared by:
(A) The Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape
Architects, and Interior Designers; or

(B) Another entity as selected by the Arkansas State Board

of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers.

SECTION 43. Arkansas Code § 17-36-306(5), concerning the grounds of
revocation for a landscape architect, is amended to read as follows:
(5) The holder of the license or certificate has been guilty of

a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 44. Arkansas Code § 17-42-311(a), concerning violations of the
real estate license law, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The following acts, conduct, or practices are prohibited, and any
licensee found guilty shall be subject to disciplinary action as provided in
§ 17-42-312:

(1) Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or
concealment;

(2) Violating any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules
or—regulations adopted pursuant—teo under this chapter or any order issued
under this chapter;

(3) Being convicted of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to

a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or crime involving meral turpitude violence,

fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness regardless of whether
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the imposition of sentence has been deferred or suspended;

(4) Making any substantial misrepresentation;

(5) Making, printing, publishing, distributing, or causing,
authorizing, or knowingly permitting the making, printing, publication, or
distribution of false statements, descriptions, or promises of such character
as to reasonably induce, persuade, or influence any person to act thereon;

(6) Failing within a reasonable time to account for or to remit
any moneys coming into his or her possession which belong to others;

(7) Committing any act involving meral turpitude violence,
fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness;

(8) Acting for more than one (1) party in a transaction without
the knowledge of all parties for whom he or she acts or accepting a
commission or valuable consideration for the performance of any of the acts
specified in this chapter from any person except the licensed principal
broker under whom he or she is licensed;

(9) Acting as a broker or salesperson while not licensed with a
principal broker, representing or attempting to represent a broker other than
the principal broker with whom he or she is affiliated without the express
knowledge and consent of the principal broker, or representing himself or
herself as a salesperson or having a contractual relationship similar to that
of a salesperson with anyone other than a licensed principal broker;

(10) Advertising in a false, misleading, or deceptive manner;

(11) Being unworthy or incompetent to act as a real estate
broker or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the
public;

(12) Paying a commission or valuable consideration to any person
for acts or services performed in violation of this chapter, including paying
a commission or other valuable consideration to an unlicensed person for
participation in a real estate auction; and

(13) Any other conduct, whether of the same or a different
character from that specified in this section, which constitutes improper,

fraudulent, or dishonest dealing.

SECTION 45. Arkansas Code § 17-42-315(f), concerning the criminal
background check for real estate licensees, is amended to read as follows:

(f) Except as provided in subsection (g) of this section, a person
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shall not receive or hold a license issued by the commission if the person
has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to a felony listed
under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meral turpitude violence, fraud,

dishonesty, untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness.

SECTION 46. Arkansas Code § 17-42-509(c)(3), concerning the issuance
or denial of a license for an instructor of real estate education license, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) The person or entity has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere

to or been found guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or a misdemeanor

involving violence, fraud, misrepresentation, or dishonest or dishonorable

dealing in a court of competent jurisdiction; or

SECTION 47. Arkansas Code § 17-42-515(3), concerning the violations
that disqualify for a real estate educator license or licensee, is amended to
read as follows:

(3) Committing an act, a felony listed under § 17-2-102, or a
crime involving meral turpitude violence, fraud, dishonesty, untruthfulness,

or untrustworthiness regardless of whether the imposition of the sentence has

been deferred or suspended;

SECTION 48. Arkansas Code § 17-43-303(a), concerning the application
for examination for a sanitarian certificate of registration, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall admit to examination
any person who makes application to the Secretary of the Arkansas State Board
of Sanitarians on forms prescribed and furnished by the boardy and pays an

application fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) to defray the expense of

examination,and-submits—evidence satisfactory tothe board that he or she is

SECTION 49. Arkansas Code § 17-43-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-43-307. Reciprocity.

The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians shall issue a certificate of
registration without examination to any person who makes application on forms

prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a registration fee of ten dollars
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($10.00), and submits satisfactory proof that he or she:

{1)—TIs—of good moral characters

42)(1) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of environmental sanitation; and

£3)(2) 1Is registered as a sanitarian in a state in which the
qualifications for registration are not lower than the qualifications for

registration in this state at the time he or she applies for registration.

SECTION 50. Arkansas Code § 17-43-309(a), concerning the grounds for
suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew a sanitarian certificate of
registration, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians may suspend, revoke, or
refuse to renew a certificate of registration upon proof that the applicant+

{1)—Is notof good charactersyor
{2)>—*¥s is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,

incompetency, or misconduct in relation to his or her duties as a sanitarian.

SECTION 51. Arkansas Code § 17-47-302(a), concerning the eligibility
and application for registration as a professional soil classifier or soil
classifier-in-training, is amended to read as follows:

(a) To be eligible for registration as a professional soil classifier
or certification as a soil classifier-in-training, an applicant musts

1)—Beof good character and reputations—and
{2)—Submit shall submit a written application to the Arkansas

State Board of Registration for Professional Soil Classifiers containing sueh
information as the board may require, together with five (5) references,
three (3) of which shall be professional soil classifiers having personal
knowledge of his or her soil classifying experience or, in the case of an
application for certification as a soil classifier-in-training, three (3)

character references.

SECTION 52. Arkansas Code § 17-47-311 is amended to read as follows:

17-47-311. Disciplinary actions — Grounds.

The Arkansas State Board of Registration for Professional Soil
Classifiers shall have the power to suspend, refuse to renew, or revoke the

certificate of registration of, or reprimand, any registrant who is guilty
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of:

(1) Fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate of registration;

(2) Gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the
practice of soil classifying;

(3) A felony listed under § 17-2-102 er—erime invelwing meral
turpitude; or

(4) A violation of the code of ethics adopted and promulgated by

the board.

SECTION 53. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(a), concerning the
qualifications for certification as a surveyor, is amended to read as
follows:

(a) A person who shows to the satisfaction of the State Board of
Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that he or
she is a person eof geood character and reputationand over twenty-one (21)
years of age shall be is eligible for licensure as a professional surveyor if
he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure to engage in the
practice of land surveying issued to him or her on the basis of a written
examination by proper authority of a state, territory, possession of the
United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on
requirements and qualifications as shown on his or her application that in
the opinion of the board are equal to or higher than the requirements of this
chapter may be licensed at the discretion of the board;

(2) (A) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more approved by the board, followed by at least two (2) years of
land surveying that must be surveying experience of a character satisfactory
to the board, who has passed a written examination designed to show that he
or she is qualified to practice land surveying in this state, may be licensed
if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of teaching land surveying in an approved
engineering or surveying curriculum may be considered as equivalent to one
(1) year of land surveying experience; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (a)(2)

of this section and who has six (6) years or more of active experience in
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land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is qualified to practice
land surveying may be granted a certificate of licensure to practice land
surveying in this state if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be
considered as one (l) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding

two (2) years.

SECTION 54. Arkansas Code § 17-48-203(c), concerning the
qualifications for licensure as a surveyor intern, is amended to read as
follows:

(c) A person who—shews—to—the satisfaection of the board that he or she
is—a person—of good charaeter shall be eligible for licensure as a surveyor
intern if he or she qualifies under one (1) of the following provisions:

(1) A person holding a certificate of licensure as a surveyor
intern issued to him or her on the basis of a written examination by proper
authority of a state, territory, possession of the United States, the
District of Columbia, or any foreign country, based on requirements and
qualifications as shown on his or her application, which requirements and
qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are equal to or higher than the
requirements of this chapter, may be licensed as a surveyor intern at the
discretion of the board;

(2) A graduate from an approved engineering curriculum with
sufficient surveying courses, or a surveying technology curriculum of two (2)
years or more, approved by the board, who has passed a written examination
designed to show that he or she is proficient in surveying fundamentals, may
be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified; or

(3)(A) An applicant who cannot qualify under subdivision (c)(2)
of this section and who has four (4) years or more of active experience in
land surveying of a character satisfactory to the board and who has passed a
written examination designed to show that he or she is proficient in
surveying fundamentals may be licensed if he or she is otherwise qualified.

(B) Each year of satisfactory work in an approved
engineering or engineering technology curriculum majoring in surveying may be

considered as one (1) year of experience in land surveying, but not exceeding
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two (2) years.

SECTION 55. Arkansas Code § 17-48-205(a)(2)(A), concerning the
administrative violations and penalties of a surveyor, is amended to read as

follows:

(A) A felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 56. Arkansas Code § 17-50-301(a)(2), concerning applicant
qualifications for registration as a certified water well driller or

certified pump installer, is repealed.

{2)—Isof good moral characters

SECTION 57. Arkansas Code § 17-52-308(b)(3), concerning complaints
against and disciplinary procedures for a home inspector, is amended to read
as follows:

(3)€A) Conviction in—any jurisdiction—of a misdemeanor—involving
moral turpitudeor of any felony listed under § 17-2-102-
B)—A plea—of nolo contendere or nocontest—is considered

s e 1 £ thi fon;

SECTION 58. Arkansas Code § 17-52-315(a), concerning the application
for registration as a home inspector, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Any person applying for registration or renewal of registration as
a home inspector shall beeof good moral charaeterand shall submit to the
Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board:

(1) An application under oath upon a form to be prescribed by
the board;

(2) A current certificate of insurance issued by an insurance
company licensed or surplus lines approved to do business in this state that
states that the applicant has procured general liability insurance in the
minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and, if applicable,
workers’ compensation insurance; and

(3) The required registration or registration renewal fee with

the application.

SECTION 59. Arkansas Code § 17-81-304(a)(2), concerning the
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application for licensure as a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The applicant must submit proof satisfactory to the board of
graduation from a chartered school or college of chiropractic as herein

described and file with his or her application the affidavits of at least two

(2) licensed and reputable doctors of chiropractic shewing him eor her to be
of sood-—moral character.

SECTION 60. Arkansas Code § 17-81-305(a)(6), concerning the

qualifications of applicants for licensure as a chiropractor, is repealed.

{6)—Be—of good moral characters

SECTION 6I. Arkansas Code § 17-81-318(e), concerning the criminal
background check required for a chiropractor, is amended to read as follows:

(e) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a person
shall not receive or hold a license issued by the board if the person has
been convicted of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any felony listed
under § 17-2-102 or a crime involving meral turpitudey fraud, dishonesty,

untruthfulness, or untrustworthiness, or is a registered sex offender or

required to register as a sex offender.

SECTION 62. Arkansas Code § 17-82-304(b), concerning the licensing
procedure for dentists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant:
(1) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age and—of good
moral reputationand charaeter;
(B) Submit upon request sueh proof as required by the
board may require touching upon ageyeharaetery and fitness; and
(C) Have beern graduated from an American Dental
Association-accredited college of dentistry with the degree of Doctor of
Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine; or
(2) Must Shall:
(A) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age andof good
moral reputation and charaecter;
(B) Have graduated from a college of dentistry in North

America with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery, Doctor of Dental
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Medicine, or an equivalent degree approved by the board;

(C) Have passed an examination approved by the board and
authorized under § 17-82-303;

(D) Be a resident of the State of Arkansas and the United
States and be in compliance with federal laws of immigration; and

(E) Serve a period of at least one (l) year under a
provisional license issued by the board to foreign graduates and successfully
complete the monitoring requirements as ordered by the board at the time the

provisional license is issued.

SECTION 63. Arkansas Code § 17-82-306(b), concerning the licensing
procedures for dental hygienists, is amended to read as follows:
(b) An applicant must shall:

{1)—Beof good moral reputation and character;

42)(1l) Have graduated from a dental hygiene program which is
accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental
Accreditation and approved by the board for the training of dental
hygienists; and

43)(2) Submit upon request sueh proof as required by the board
may require touching upon eharaeterand fitness.

SECTION 64. Arkansas Code § 17-82-308(b)(3), concerning the
credentials for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in other states, is
amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate from the authority which issued the license,
setting forth the applicant’s meral reputation—and echaraetery history with
the board, professional ability, and such other information or data as the

board may deem necessary or expedient.

SECTION 65. Arkansas Code § 17-82-316(c)(3), concerning the revocation
or suspension of a license for a dentist, dental hygienist, or dental
assistant, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The commission of any criminal operation; habitual
drunkenness for a period of three (3) months; insanity; adjudication of
insanity or mental incompetency if deemed detrimental to patients; conviction

of an—infamous—erime or a felony listed under § 17-2-102; addiction to
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narcotics; immoral, dishonorable, or scandalous conduct; professional
incompetency; failure to maintain proper standards of sanitation or failure
otherwise to maintain adequate safeguards for the health and safety of
patients; or employment in the practice of the profession of any drug,
nostrum, unknown formula, or dangerous or unknown anesthetic not generally

used by the dental profession;

SECTION 66. Arkansas Code § 17-82-802 is amended to read as follows:

17-82-802. License eligibility.

A person shall not be eligible to receive or hold a license to practice
dentistry or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas State Board

of Dental Examiners if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or
has been found guilty of either an infamouserime that would impaethis or

1 bild . . 1 hved . he S £ Ayl
a felony fetd

pardoned listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 67. Arkansas Code § 17-83-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-83-307. Grounds for denial, revocation, or suspension.

The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board may refuse to issue or renew a
license or may revoke or suspend a license issued under this chapter for any
of the following, but is not limited to:

(1) Violation of a provision of this chapter;

(2) Engaging in unprofessional conduct or gross incompetence as
defined by the rules of the board or violating the standards of professional
responsibility adopted and published by the board; or

(3) Conviction in—this—er any other state of any erime that isa
felony inthis state of a felony listed under § 17-2-1024eo%¢

{4)—GConvietionof a felony in a federal ecourt.

SECTION 68. Arkansas Code § 17-84-304(a)(3), concerning the
qualifications for licensure and internship for hearing instrument
dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) Show to the satisfaction of the board that he or she:
(A) 1Is twenty (20) years of age or older; and

(B) Has an education equivalent of two (2) or more years
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of accredited college-level course work from a regionally accredited college
or universitys—and
{6)—TIs—of good -moral character.

SECTION 69. Arkansas Code § 17-84-308(a)(l), concerning the
suspension, revocation, nonissuance, or nonrenewal of a hearing instrument
dispenser license, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Being convicted of a crime invelving meoral turpitudeA

| ok ) i fied by the 4ud he clerk of tl
] ] o 1 ehall l ffie id

suspensiony revocationy or refusal to issue or renew listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 70. Arkansas Code § 17-86-203(e)-(h), concerning the powers

and duties of the State Board of Health regarding massage therapy licenses,

are amended to read as follows:

(e){) For purposes of this section, an—applicantis noteligible teo

the board shall follow the licensing restrictions based on criminal records

under § 17-2-102.
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SECTION 71. Arkansas Code § 17-86-303(a)(l), concerning qualifications

for licensure as a massage therapist, is amended to read as follows:

(1) Furnish to the Department of Health satisfactory proof that

he or she is eighteen (18) years of age or older and of good moral charaecter;

SECTION 72. Arkansas Code § 17-86-311(a), concerning the disciplinary
actions and penalties for massage therapists, is amended to read as follows:

(a) The Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee may deny,
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suspend, place on probation, or revoke a license upon any one (1) of the
following grounds:

(1) ¢ s £ £inds e i1 e 1 e

felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Malpractice or gross incompetency;

(3) The use in advertisements of untruthful or improbable
statements or flamboyant, exaggerated, or extravagant claims concerning the
licensee’s professional excellence or abilities;

(4) Habitual drunkenness or habitual use of any illegal drugs;

(5) Serving alcoholic beverages at the clinic or school in a

room where massage therapy is being performed or in a massage therapy school;

(6) Moral turpitude or immoral or unprofessienal Unprofessional

conduct;

(7) Failure to comply with the Department of Health’s Massage
Therapy Code of Ethics or any valid regulation or order of the committee;

(8) Invasion of the field of practice of any profession for
which a license is required, the diagnosis of ailments, diseases, or injuries
of human beings, the performance of osseous adjustments, prescription of
medications, or other breaches of the scope of practice of massage therapy;

(9) Failure of any licensee to comply with this chapter; or

(10) Failure to have licensed personnel to perform massage

therapy techniques in his or her clinic or school.

SECTION 73. Arkansas Code § 17-87-301(a), concerning the
qualifications for an applicant for licensure as a registered nurse, is
amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. Before taking the examination or before the
issuance of a license by endorsement, an applicant for a license to practice
professional nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing
written evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

1H)—Isof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed the required approved professional nursing
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education program.

SECTION 74. Arkansas Code § 17-87-304(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed practical nurse,
is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. An applicant for a license to practice practical
nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of Nursing evidence,
verified by oath, that the applicant:

{1)—TIs—of good moral characters

42)(1) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of practical nurses and holds a diploma or
certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this requirement if the

board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 75. Arkansas Code § 17-87-305(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed psychiatric
technician nurse, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Qualificatioms. An applicant for a license to practice
psychiatric technician nursing shall submit to the Arkansas State Board of
Nursing evidence, verified by oath, that the applicant:

H—Isof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Has completed an approved high school course of study or
the equivalent thereof as determined by the appropriate educational agency;
and

43)(2) Has completed a prescribed curriculum in a state-approved
program for the preparation of psychiatric technician nurses and holds a
diploma or certificate therefrom. However, the board may waive this

requirement if the board determines the applicant to be otherwise qualified.

SECTION 76. Arkansas Code § 17-87-312(d)-(l), concerning criminal
background checks for nurses, are amended to read as follows:
(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the

Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
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forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant in—the commissionof any offense listed in subseetion(e)of this
seetion.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided

hibited in §§ 5-14-124 — 5-14-1274
19y 1 hibited in § 5-26-202;
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(20} Fel ce . he £amil hibited in §§ 5
26-303—5-26-306+

licitati iminal . hibited in §§ 5-3-201, 5-3-202, 5
3_30] 1 5_3_401 . £ i eg listed in thi | fon.

(£f)(1)4A)> The board may issue a nonrenewable temporary permit for

licensure to a first-time applicant pending the results of the criminal
background check.
4B)(2) The permit shall be valid for no more than six (6)
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months.

(C) Ot} ‘4 . . 1 1 14 1
not—posea threat to the health or safety of the publie-

H(g)(l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—te

under this section shall not be available for examination except by:
(A) The affected applicant for licensure or his or her
authorized representative; or
(B) The person whose license is subject to revocation or
his or her authorized representative.
(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
custody of the Department of Arkansas State Police.

43)(h) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

£5>(i) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
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) (j) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and-regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

L) hibited—in § 5-33-301.

SECTION 77. Arkansas Code § 17-87-707(a)(l), concerning disciplinary
actions for nurses, is amended to read as follows:
(1) Has been found guilty of or pleads guilty or nolo contendere
to:
(A) Fraud or deceit in procuring or attempting to procure
a medication assistive person certificate; or

(B) Providing services as a medication assistive person
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without a valid certificate; e®

(0} Committs Lme_of 1 frudes

SECTION 78. Arkansas Code § 17-88-302(2), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as an occupational therapist, is

repealed.

{2)—The-applicant -must-be of good -moral characterys

SECTION 79. Arkansas Code § 17-88-309(b)(4), concerning the denial,

revocation, or suspension of an occupational therapist license, is amended to

read as follows:

(4) Being convicted of a erimey; other than minor offenses

therapyassistant felony listed under § 17-2-102; and

SECTION 80. Arkansas Code § 17-89-302(a), concerning the
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing
optician, is amended to read as follows:

(a) Every applicant for examination as a licensed dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good meoral
charaetery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) 1Is a graduate of a school of opticianry whose curriculum
consists of at least eighteen (18) months of didactic and practical
instruction which is accredited by a national accreditation organization and
approved by the board; or

(2) (A) Has been engaged in the providing of ophthalmic
dispensing services, as defined in this chapter, in the State of Arkansas for
a period of not less than five (5) years immediately before application.

(B) No more than three (3) years may consist of:
(i) Working in a qualified service optical
laboratory approved by the board; or

(ii) Providing ophthalmic dispensing services under
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the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed or registered dispensing
optician, Arkansas-licensed optometrist, or Arkansas physician skilled in

diseases of the eye.

SECTION 81. Arkansas Code § 17-89-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-89-303. Qualifications — Registered dispensing opticians.

Every applicant for examination as a registered dispensing optician
shall present satisfactory evidence to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing
Opticians that he or she is over twenty-one (21) years of age, of good meoral
eharaetery a high school graduate or the equivalent thereof, and either:

(1) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ dispensing experience in
Arkansas under the direct supervision of an Arkansas-licensed optometrist or
Arkansas-licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye;

(2) Has a minimum of three (3) years’ experience under the
direct supervision of a licensed or registered dispensing optician holding a
certificate of licensure or registry in the State of Arkansas, one (1) year
of which may be while working in a qualified full-service optical laboratory
approved by the board; or

(3) 1Is a graduate of an approved school of opticianry which has
been accredited by a national accreditation organization and is recognized by

the board.

SECTION 82. Arkansas Code § 17-89-305(b), concerning reciprocity for
dispensing opticians, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The certificate may be issued without a written or practical
examination upon payment of the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the
Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and upon
satisfactory proof that the applicant:

(1) 1Is qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

{2)—Its—of good moral charactersy

43)(2) Has provided ophthalmic dispensing services to the public
as a dispensing optician in the state of licensure or registration for a
period of at least five (5) years for licensure or three (3) years for
registration immediately before his or her application for reciprocity to
this state; and

€4)(3) 1Is licensed or registered in a state which grants like
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reciprocal privileges to opticians who hold certificates of licensure or

registry issued by this state.

SECTION 83. Arkansas Code § 17-89-306(b), concerning an ophthalmic
dispensers from nonlicensing states seeking licensure as a dispensing
opticians in Arkansas, is amended to read as follows:

(b) The applicant must shall:

(1) Be qualified under the provisions of this chapter;

{2)—Be—of good -moral characters

43)(2) Have been engaged in ophthalmic dispensing as described
in § 17-89-102(4) for a period of:

(A) Five (5) years for applicants for licensure, of which
no more than three (3) years may be while working in a qualified full-service
optical laboratory approved by the board; or

(B) Three (3) years for applicants for registry, of which
no more than one (1) year may be while working in a qualified full-service
laboratory approved by the board immediately before the date of application;

€4)(3) Successfully complete the written and practical
examination for licensure or registry prepared and conducted by the board;
and

£5)(4) Have paid the fee prescribed in § 17-89-304(f) to the

Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians.

SECTION 84. Arkansas Code § 17-89-309(a)(3), concerning grounds of
denial, suspension, or revocation of a licensure or registration of an
ophthalmic dispensers, is amended to read as follows:

(3) The applicant, licensee, or registrant being convicted of a

felony listed under § 17-2-102 in—any state or federal ecourty and net

SECTION 85. Arkansas Code § 17-90-301(b), concerning examinations for
licensure as an optometrist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) Every applicant for examination shall present satisfactory

evidence that he or she is:
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(1) ©Ower At least twenty-one (21) years of age;

(2) A successful candidate having passed all parts of the
National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination since January 1, 1997;
and

{3)—0f good-moral -character;—and

4)(3) A graduate of a college of optometry that has been
accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education of the

American Optometric Association.

SECTION 86. Arkansas Code § 17-90-302(c)(3), concerning licensure by
endorsement for optometrists, is amended to read as follows:

(3) A certificate of good standing from each authority which
issued the license, setting forth the applicant’s meral reputationand
charaetery history with the authority, professional ability, continuing
education compliance, and other information or data as the State Board of

Optometry may deem necessary or expedient;

SECTION 87. Arkansas Code § 17-90-305(a)(3), concerning the grounds
for denial, revocation, or suspension of an optometrist license, is amended
to read as follows:

(3) Conviction of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or the

conviction of a misdemeanor, if the misdemeanor conduct would denote an

impairment in the ability to practice optometry;

SECTION 88. Arkansas Code § 17-91-101(a), concerning the licensing
requirements for an osteopathic physician, is amended to read as follows:
(a) The Arkansas State Medical Board shall accept for licensure by
examination any person who:
(1) 1Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
(2) 1Is a citizen of the United States;
{3)—Its—of good moral charactersy
£4)(3) Has not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional
conduct as defined in the Arkansas Medical Practices Act, § 17-95-201 et
seq., § 17-95-301 et seq., and § 17-95-401 et seq.;
£5)(4) 1Is a graduate of an osteopathic college of medicine whose

course of study has been recognized by the Department of Education of the
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American Osteopathic Association; and
46)(5) Has completed a one-year internship in a hospital
approved by the American Medical Association or the American Osteopathic

Association.

SECTION 89. Arkansas Code § 17-92-305(a), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a pharmacist, is amended to read as follows:
(a) Each applicant for examination as a pharmacist shall:
(1) Shall be Be not less than twenty-one (21) years of age; and
£2)—Shall be of good meral character and temperate habitsiand
£3)>(2) Shall -have Have:

(A) Graduated and received the first professional
undergraduate degree from a pharmacy degree program which has been approved
by the Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy; or

(B) Graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy,
completed a transcript verification program, taken and passed a college of
pharmacy equivalency exam program, and completed a process of communication
ability testing as defined under board regulations so that it is assured that

the applicant meets standards necessary to protect public health and safety.

SECTION 90. Arkansas Code § 17-92-311(a)(3), concerning grounds for
revocation, suspension, or nonrewal of licensure or registration, is amended
to read as follows:

(3) The person has been found guilty or pleaded guilty or nolo
contendere in a criminal proceeding, regardless of whether or not the
adjudication of guilt or sentence is withheld by a court of this state,
another state, or the United States Government for:

(A) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;
(B) Any act involving meral turpitudey gross immoralityy

or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a

licensee; or
(C) Any violation of the pharmacy or drug laws or rules of
this state, or of the pharmacy or drug statutes, rules, and regulations of

any other state or of the United States Government;

SECTION 91. Arkansas Code § 17-92-317(e), concerning criminal
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background check requirements for an intern or pharmacist license or a

pharmacy technician registration, is amended to read as follows:
(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of § 17-1-103, no—person—shall be a

person is not eligible to receive or hold an intern or pharmacist license or

pharmacy technician registration issued by the board if that person has
pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has been found guilty of, any of the
following offenses, regardless of whether an adjudication of guilt or
sentencing or imposition of sentence is withheld, by any court in the State
of Arkansas or of any similar offense by a court in another state or of any
similar offense by a federal court:

(1) Any felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(2) Any act involving meral turpitudey gross immorality,

dishonesty, or which is related to the qualifications, functions, and duties

of a person holding the license or registration; or

(3) Any violation of Arkansas pharmacy or drug law or
regulations, including, but not limited to, this chapter, the Uniform
Controlled Substances Act, § 5-64-101 et seq., and the Food, Drug, and
Cosmetic Act, § 20-56-201 et seq.

SECTION 92. Arkansas Code § 17-93-303(b), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a physical therapist, is amended to read as
follows:

(b) Each physical therapist applicant shall:

(1) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;

{2)—Beof good moral charaectersy

3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the board;

£4)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
board; and

45)(4) Submit fees as determined by the board.

SECTION 93. Arkansas Code § 17-93-304(b), concerning qualification of
applicants for licensure as a physical therapist assistant, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) Each physical therapist assistant applicant shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
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{2)—Beof good moral characters

3)(2) Have graduated from a school of physical therapy
accredited by a national accreditation agency approved by the Arkansas State
Board of Physical Therapy;

44)(3) Have passed examinations selected and approved by the
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy; and

45)(4) Submit fees as determined by the Arkansas State Board of

Physical Therapy.

SECTION 94. Arkansas Code § 17-93-308(a) (4), concerning the
revocation, suspension, or denial of licensure for physical therapists, is

repealed.

(4} Has 1 icted of ime imvolvi 1 Ceudes

SECTION 95. Arkansas Code § 17-93-412(a)(l), concerning the
revocation. suspension, or denial of a license for an athletic trainer, is

amended to read as follows:

(1) Been convicted of a felony er misdemeanoerinvelwving moral

SECTION 96. Arkansas Code § 17-95-104(a)(2), concerning a hospital’s

duty to report physician misconduct, is amended to read as follows:
(2) The hospital shall also report any other formal disciplinary
action concerning any such physician taken by the hospital upon

recommendation of the medical staff relating to professional ethics, medical

incompetence, meralturpitudey or drug or alcohol abuse.

SECTION 97. Arkansas Code § 17-95-307 is amended to read as follows:

17-95-307. License eligibility.

Ne A person shall -be is not eligible to receive or hold a license to
practice medicine or another healthcare profession issued by the Arkansas

State Medical Board if the person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or

has been found guilty of either an infamous erime that would impaethis or
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herability to praetice medicine in the State of Arkansas—or a felony listed
under § 17-2-102y regardless—of whether the convietion has been sealedy
expunged,—or pardoned.

SECTION 98. Arkansas Code § 17-95-403(b)(2), concerning qualification
of applicants for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Is—of good moral charaeter and has Has not been guilty of

acts constituting unprofessional conduct as defined in § 17-95-409;

SECTION 99. Arkansas Code § 17-95-408(d) (2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a physician, is amended to read as follows:

(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meoral echaraeterand professional qualifications of the applicant
upon notice and hearing before ordering reinstatement. Unless such a showing
shall thereupon be made to the board as would entitle the applicant to the

issuance of an original license, reinstatement shall be denied.

SECTION 100. Arkansas Code § 17-95-409(a)(2)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a physician license, is
amended to read as follows:

(A)(i) Conviction of anyerime dinvolwving moral turpitude
or——convietion—of a felony listed under § 17-2-102.

(ii) The judgment of any such conviction, unless

pending upon appeal, shall be conclusive evidence of unprofessional conduct;

SECTION 101. Arkansas Code § 17-95-903(b)(7), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a graduate registered
physician, is repealed.

H—IEs—of good moral charaecters and

SECTION 102. Arkansas Code § 17-95-910 is amended to read as follows:
17-95-910. Violationm.
Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline a graduate registered physician who:
(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a

license;
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(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;

(3) Violates any provision of this subchapter or any rules
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;

(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) 1Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to the extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a graduate registered
physician; or

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a graduate
registered physiciany—er

+H)—Has committedan—actof moral turpitude.

SECTION 103. Arkansas Code § 17-96-303(a), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a podiatrist, is amended to read as follows:

(a) No—person—shall be entitledto A person shall not take any

examination for such registration unless that person shall furnish the

Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine with satisfactory proof that he or she:
(1) 1Is twenty-one (21) years of age or over; and
{2)—Is—of good moral character;yand
43)(2) Has received a license or certificate of graduation from

a legally incorporated, regularly established school of podiatric medicine

recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American

Podiatric Medical Association within the states, territories, districts, and

provinces of the United States or within any foreign country.

SECTION 104. Arkansas Code § 17-96-308(c)(2)(C), concerning the
definition of "unprofessional and dishonest conduct" regarding podiatric

medicine licensure, is repealed.

. . . . .
.

SECTION 105. Arkansas Code § 17-97-201(a)(5)(B), concerning the
membership of the Arkansas Psychology Board, is amended to read as follows:
(B) The Governor shall remove any member from the board if
he or she:
(i) Ceases to be qualified;

(ii) Fails to attend three (3) successive board
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meetings without just cause as determined by the board;
(iii) Is found to be in violation of this chapter;
(iv) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found

guilty of a felony er—anunlawful aet invelwving moral turpitude listed under
§ 17-2-102 by a court of competent jurisdiction; or

(v) Pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found
guilty of malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in relation to his or her

board duties by a court of competent jurisdiction.

SECTION 106. Arkansas Code § 17-97-302(b)(l), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) (1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

{A)—TIs of good moral characters

4B)(A) Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from
an accredited institution recognized by the board as maintaining satisfactory
standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a
doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board
that the training required therefor is substantially similar;

46)(B) Has had at least two (2) years of experience in
psychology of a type considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with
at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral work;

D) (C) Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing
examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems necessary;

E)(D) Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
unethical practice;

E)(E) Has applied for a criminal background check and has
not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and

46)(F) Has not failed an examination given by the board

within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 107. Arkansas Code § 17-97-303(b)(l), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a psychological examiner, is

amended to read as follows:
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(b)(1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with
satisfactory evidence that he or she:

{A)y—Ts—of good -moral characters

4B)(A) Has a master’s degree in psychology or a closely
related field from an accredited educational institution recognized by the
board as maintaining satisfactory standards;

46)(B) 1Is competent as a psychological examiner as shown
by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the board deems
necessary;

D) (C) 1Is not considered by the board to be engaged in
unethical practice;

4E)(D) Has applied for a criminal background check and has
not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to any of the
offenses listed in § 17-97-312(f); and

E)(E) Has not failed an examination given by the board

within the preceding six (6) months.

SECTION 108. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1l)(C), concerning the
qualifications for examination for a provisional license as a psychologist,

is repealed.

6)—Hasgood moral charaecters

SECTION 109. Arkansas Code § 17-97-305(d)(1l)(F), concerning the
qualifications for a provisional license for psychologists and psychological

examiners, is amended to read as follows:

(F) Has not been convicted of a—erime invelwving moral turpitude
or a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

SECTION 110. Arkansas Code § 17-97-308(f)(2), concerning annual
registration for licensure as a psychologist, is amended to read as follows:
(2) 1If application for reinstatement is made, the board shall
consider the meral charaeter and professional qualifications of the applicant

as in the case of an original application.

SECTION 111. Arkansas Code § 17-97-312(d)-(m), concerning criminal

background checks for psychologists and psychological examiners, are amended
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to read as follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant in-the commission of any offense listed in subsection (£)of this
seetion.

(e) At the conclusion of any background check required by this
section, the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police
shall promptly destroy the fingerprint card of the applicant.

(f) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Execept—as—provided
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(16} S 1 ind Lol hild hibited in § 5-14-1103

(35} Criminal tminal lied  minal
licitati i minal . hibited 4n 8§ 53201 5.3 2025
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3_30] 1 5 3 40 . e cs listed in thi ] .

(g)4H) The board may issue a six-month nonrenewable letter of

provisional eligibility for licensure to a first-time applicant pending the

results of the criminal background check.

Gy ot i d 1 . 1 1 14 1
not—pose—a—threatto—the health or safety of children~

HH-(h)(1l) Any information received by the board from the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police pursuant—te
under this section shall not be available for examination except by the
affected applicant for licensure or his or her authorized representative or
the person whose license is subject to revocation or his or her authorized
representative.

(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the

custody of the department.

(i) Any information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

> (j) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
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section shall not extend to any document created for purposes other than this

background check.
1) (k) The board shall adopt the necessary rules and-regulatiens to

fully implement the provisions of this section.

Ly hibited in § 5-38-30L.

SECTION 112. Arkansas Code § 17-98-302(a), concerning admission to
examination for licensure as a disease intervention specialist, is amended to
read as follows:

(a) The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall admit to
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examination any person who makes application to the Secretary of the State
Board of Disease Intervention Specialists on forms prescribed and furnished
by the board, pays an application fee set by the board to defray the expense
of examination, and submits satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:
H)—Isa person—of good moral charaecters
£2)(1) Meets the minimum educational requirements;

3)(2) Meets the minimum specialized training requirements, as
determined by the board;
44)(3) Has had two (2) years of field experience in human
immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention; and
£5)(4) 1Is actively engaged in the field of human

immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention at the time

he or she makes application.

SECTION 113. Arkansas Code § 17-98-303 is amended to read as follows:

17-98-303. Issuance of certificate without examination.

The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists shall issue a
certificate of registration without examination to any person who makes
application on forms prescribed and furnished by the board, pays a
registration fee set by the board, and submits satisfactory proof that he or
she:

H—Isof good moral charaectersy

42)(l) Has had at least two (2) years’ experience in the field
of human immunodeficiency virus/sexually transmitted disease intervention;
and

£3)(2) 1Is registered as a disease intervention specialist in a
state in which the qualifications for registration are not lower than the
qualifications for registration in this state at the time he or she applies

for registration.

SECTION 114. Arkansas Code §§ 17-98-305 and 17-98-306 are amended to
read as follows:

17-98-305. Application for reinstatement.

(a) A former registered disease intervention specialist whose
certificate has expired or has been suspended or revoked may make application

for reinstatement by paying a renewal fee and submitting satisfactory proof
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to the State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists that he or she has
complied with the continuing education requirements.
(b) The board shall consider the meral-eharaeter—and professional

qualifications of the applicant as in the case of an original application.

17-98-306. Refusal to renew — Suspension or revocation.
The State Board of Disease Intervention Specialists may refuse to renew
or may suspend or revoke a certificate upon proof that the applicant+
{1)—TIs not—of good-character;or
{2)>—TIs is guilty of fraud, deceit, gross negligence,
incompetency, or misconduct relative to his or her duties as a disease

intervention specialist.

SECTION I115. Arkansas Code § 17-99-302(b), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for licensure as a respiratory care practitioner, is amended
to read as follows:

(b) Each applicant must shall:

(1) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

2)—Beof good moral characters

43)(2) Have been awarded a high school diploma or its
equivalent;

44)(3) Have satisfactorily completed training in a respiratory
care program which has been approved by the Arkansas State Respiratory Care
Examining Committee, to include adequate instruction in basic medical
science, clinical science, and respiratory care theory and procedures; and

45)(4) Have passed an examination approved by the Arkansas State

Medical Board and the committee, unless exempted by other provisions of this

chapter.

SECTION 116. Arkansas Code § 17-99-307(3), concerning the grounds for
denial, suspension, or revocation of a respiratory care practitioner license,

is repealed.

(3} Has 1 i eted of e invelwd ]  cudes

SECTION 117. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(b), concerning qualifications

of an applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
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audiologist, is amended to read as follows:
(b) To be eligible for licensure by the board as a speech-language
pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

1)—Be of good-moral charaeters

42)(1) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or a master’s degree in audiology obtained on or before
December 30, 2006, or a doctoral degree obtained after January 1, 2007, from
an educational institution recognized by the board;

3)(2) Submit evidence of the completion of the educational,
clinical experience, and employment requirements, which shall be based on
appropriate national standards and prescribed by the rules adopted under this
chapter; and

44)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board before the

board approves a license.

SECTION I118. Arkansas Code § 17-100-302(d), concerning qualifications
of an applicant for provisional licensure as a speech-language pathologist or
audiologist, is amended to read as follows:

(d) To be eligible for provisional licensure by the board as a speech-
language pathologist or audiologist, a person shall:

1H)—Beof good moral charactersy

42)(l) Possess at least a master’s degree in the area of speech-
language pathology or audiology, as the case may be, from an educational
institution recognized by the board;

43)(2) Be in the process of completing the postgraduate
professional experience requirement; and

44)(3) Pass an examination approved by the board.

SECTION 119. Arkansas Code § 17-100-307(a)(3), concerning the grounds
for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or other disciplinary
action for speech-language pathologists and audiologists, is amended to read

as follows:

(3)(A) Being convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 im
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{6)(B) At the direction of the board, and after due notice

and an administrative hearing in accordance with the provisions of applicable
Arkansas laws, the license of the person so convicted shall be suspended or
revoked or the board shall decline to issue a license when:

(i) The time for appeal has elapsed;

(ii) The judgment of conviction has been affirmed on
appeal; or

(iii) An order granting probation has been made
suspending the imposition of sentence, without regard to a subsequent order
under the provisions of state law allowing the withdrawal of a guilty plea
and the substitution of a not guilty plea, or the setting aside of a guilty

verdict, or the dismissal of the acquisition, information, or indictment;

SECTION 120. Arkansas Code § 17-101-305(a)(4)(A), concerning the
grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a veterinarian license, is
amended to read as follows:

(4) (A) Conviction of a felony er—ether erime invelwing meoral
turpitude listed under § 17-2-102.

SECTION 121. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(a)(3), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,
is amended to read as follows:

(3) Before any applicant shall be eligible for an examination,

the applicant shall furnish satisfactory proof to the board that he or she:

Ay T e . 1 ol by £ild Ceh R 1
14 . 1 ££3davs e 1 (2) b3 . 1
attestto his or her character;
4B)(A) Has successfully completed not fewer than sixty
(60) semester credit hours of college education, to include a minimum of
thirty (30) semester credit hours in the field of science; and
46)(B) Has completed a program in acupuncture and related

techniques and has received a certificate or diploma from an institute
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approved by the board as described in this section. The training received in
the program shall be for a period of no fewer than four (4) academic years
and shall include a minimum of eight hundred (800) hours of supervised

clinical practice.

SECTION 122. Arkansas Code § 17-102-304(c)(4), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for provisional licensure as an acupuncturist,
is amended to read as follows:

(4) Not have been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

and

SECTION 123. Arkansas Code § 17-103-305(b), concerning the grounds for
renewal, revocation, or suspension of a social worker license, is amended to
read as follows:

(b) The board shall refuse to issue or shall revoke the license of a

person who has been found guilty of a felonyy—anyerime invelving moral
turpitudey listed under § 17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence,

dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable
unless the person requests and the board grants a waiver under § 17-103-

307(f).

SECTION 124. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(l)(D), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a licensed social worker, is

repealed.

{D)—Hasgood moral charaecters

SECTION 125. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(a)(l)(G), concerning
qualifications for a Licensed Social Worker license, is amended to read as
follows:

(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felonyy any erime invelwving meoral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 126. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(b)(l)(G), concerning the

qualifications for a Licensed Master Social Worker license, is amended to
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read as follows:

(G) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been

found guilty of a felonyyanyerime invelving moral turpitudey listed under §

17-2-102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit,

breach of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 127. Arkansas Code § 17-103-306(c)(l)(H), concerning the
qualifications for a Licensed Certified Social Worker license, is amended to
read as follows:

(H) Has not pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been found

guilty of a felonyyeany erimeinvelving moral turpitudey listed under § 17-2-

102 or criminal offense involving violence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, breach

of client trust, or abuse of the vulnerable;

SECTION 128. Arkansas Code § 17-103-307(d)-(k), concerning criminal
background check requirements for social workers, are amended to read as
follows:

(d) Upon completion of the criminal background check, the
Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police shall
forward to the board all releasable information obtained concerning the
applicant inthe commission of any offense listed in subseetion (e) of this
seetien.

(e) For purposes of this section, the board shall follow the licensing

restrictions based on criminal records under § 17-2-102. Exeept—as—provided

4y Negld homicid hibited in & 5101053
5y xid . hibited in § 511 102
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6} False imprs in the £i . hibited in § 5

(26} ¢ loitati : hild im the £ ;
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hibited in § 5-27-605
(27} Fel tle al hibited in § 5-28-103;

e (f) (1) Information received by the board from the Identification
Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police under this section shall
not be available for examination except by the affected applicant for
licensure or his or her authorized representative or the person whose license
is subject to revocation or his or her authorized representative.

(2) No record, file, or document shall be removed from the
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custody of the department.

1) (g) Information made available to the affected applicant for
licensure or the person whose license is subject to revocation shall be
information pertaining to that person only.

4i)(h) Rights of privilege and confidentiality established in this
section do not extend to any document created for purposes other than the
criminal background check.

43>(i) The board shall adopt the necessary rules to fully implement

the provisions of this section.
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Ly hibited_in § 5-38-301

SECTION 129. Arkansas Code § 17-104-312(3)(F), concerning violations
of the Perfusionist Licensure Act, is amended to read as follows:
(F) A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or a finding of

guilt of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 or any offense substantially

related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a perfusionist, in

which event the record shall be conclusive evidence; or

SECTION 130. Arkansas Code § 17-105-102(b)(6), concerning
qualifications of an applicant for licensure as a physician assistant, is

repealed.

{6)—TIs—of good-moral characters

SECTION 131. Arkansas Code § 17-105-113 is amended to read as follows:
17-105-113. Violation.
Following the exercise of due process, the Arkansas State Medical Board
may discipline any physician assistant who:
(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or attempts to obtain a
license;
(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license;
(3) Violates any provision of this chapter or any regulations
adopted by the board pertaining to this chapter;

(4) 1Is convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;

(5) Is a habitual user of intoxicants or drugs to such an extent
that he or she is unable to safely perform as a physician assistant;

(6) Has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or has a mental
condition that renders him or her unable to safely perform as a physician

assistant; or
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7y & . . e 1 rudes
48)(7) Represents himself or herself as a physician.

SECTION 132. Arkansas Code § 17-106-107(a)(2), concerning the
licensing requirements for healthcare professionals who use radioactive
materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on
human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as
follows:

(2) Submit satisfactory evidence verified by oath or affirmation
that the applicant:

(A) 1Is qualified to administer radioactive materials or
operate medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation upon human
beings;

B)—Is of good moral characters

6)(B) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age at the time
of application; and

B> (C) Has been awarded a high school diploma or has

passed the General Educational Development Test or the equivalent.

SECTION 133. Arkansas Code § 17-106-110(a)(2), concerning discipline
for healthcare professionals who use radioactive materials or medical
equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for

diagnostic or therapeutic purposes, is amended to read as follows:

(2) Has been convicted of a felony listed under § 17-2-102 in—-a

SECTION 134. Arkansas Code § 17-107-310(1l), concerning disciplinary
action for orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, is amended to read as
follows:

(1) Has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found

guilty of a felony listed under § 17-2-102;
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APPROVED: 4/15/19
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 1011 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: H2/4/19 S4/5/19
92nd General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2019 HOUSE BILL 1255

By: Representative Dotson

By: Senator Hester

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO PROMOTE, RECRUIT, AND RETAIN A HIGHLY
SKILLED WORKFORCE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS; TO AMEND
THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND
CERTIFICATION FOR CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND RECIPROCITY
FOR LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE LAW CONCERNING LICENSING,
REGISTRATION, AND CERTIFICATION FOR
CERTAIN PROFESSIONS; AND TO ESTABLISH A
SYSTEM OF ENDORSEMENT, RECOGNITION, AND
RECIPROCITY FOR LICENSING.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 17-1-107 is amended to read as follows:

17-1-107. Reinstatement of licenses — Definition.

(T s 209 121207 LS
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{b)(a) A An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt reduced

requirements for reinstatement of a license, registration, permit, or
certification for a person who:
(1) Demonstrates that he or she:
(A) Was previously licensed, registered, permitted, or
certified to practice in the field of his or her profession at any time in
this state;

(B) Held his or her license, registration, permit, or

certification in good standing at the time of licensing, registration,

permitting, or certification;

(C) Did not have his or her license, registration, permit,

or certification revoked for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;
(D) 1Is not holding a suspended or probationary license,

registration, permit, or certification in any state; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and
(2) Pays any reinstatement fee required by law.

4e)(b) The occupational licensing entity may require that sufficient

competency in a particular field be demonstrated by:
(1) Proficiency testing;
(2) Letters of recommendation; or
(3) Both proficiency testing and letters of recommendation.
- (c)(l) Except as provided under subdivision 4e)}{2)(b) of this

section, the occupational licensing entity shall not require a person who

meets the requirements of subsection (a) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
licensing, registration, permitting, or certification of a new professional
in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the person to

participate in continuing education or training if the continuing education
or training is required for all professionals in the field to maintain the
license, registration, permit, or certification.

4e)(d) A person shall not be required to comply with requirements
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under this section to obtain reinstatement of his or her license,
registration, permit, or certification if the person meets the requirements

for reciprocity.

+£)(e) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an original license, registration, permit, or certification, or of a person

currently holding a license, registration, permit, or certification, then the

occupational licensing entity may require a person seeking reinstatement

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as

the applicant for an original license, registration, permit, or

certification, or as the person currently holding a license, registration,

permit, or certification.

4g)(f) (1) As used in this section, "occupational licensing entity"

means an agency, office, council, bureau, board, commission, department,

committee, or other authority of the government of the State of Arkansas,
whether within or subject to review by another agencysy—exeept—the General
Assemblyy,the ecourtsyand the Governory that has the duty to license,

register, permit, certify, or otherwise approve a person to work in a
particular field or industry.

(2) As used in subdivision (f)(l) of this section "agency"

does not include the General Assembly, the courts, or the Governor.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code § 17-1-108, as added by Acts 2019, No. 426,
is amended to read as follows:

17-1-108. Expedited temporary and provisional licensure — Legislative

intent.

(a)(l) It is the intent of the General Assembly to ensure that an

individual may be credentialed to work in Arkansas if he or she generally

demonstrates the skills and ethics required by state law based on the

individual’s experience and credentials in another state.

(2) It is not the intent of the General Assembly to cause the

licensing entity to engage in simple comparisons of the required hours of

training and other personal qualifications under Arkansas’s occupational

licensing statutes with those qualifications required in the state where the

individual is credentialed.

{a)(b) As used in this section:

(1) "Individual" means a natural person, firm, association,
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partnership, corporation, or other entity that may hold an occupational
licensure;

(2) "Occupational licensing entity" means an office, board,
commission, committee, department, council, bureau, or other agency of state
government having authority to license, certify, register, permit, or
otherwise authorize an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession; and

(3) "Occupational licensure" means a license, certificate,
registration, permit, or other form of authorization required by law or rule
that is required for an individual to engage in a particular occupation or
profession.

4b)(c) An occupational licensing entity shall by rule adopt the least
restrictive requirements for occupational licensure for an individual who:

(1) Demonstrates that he or she:

(A) Holds an occupational licensure that is substantially
similar to practice in the field of his or her occupation or profession in
another state, territory, or district of the United States;

(B) Holds his or her occupational licensure in good
standing;

(C) Has not had his or her occupational licensure revoked
for:

(i) An act of bad faith; or
(ii) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;

(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary
occupational licensure in any state, territory, or district of the United
States; and

(E) 1Is sufficiently competent in his or her field; and

(2) Pays any occupational licensure fee required by law or rule.

‘e H)A)(d) (1) (A) An occupational licensing entity shall comply with
the requirements under subsection {b)(c) of this section by adopting the
least restrictive rule that allows for reciprocity or licensure by
endorsement.

(B) The rule adopted under subdivision {e)}(I)}€A)}(d) (1) (A)
of this section shall provide the procedure by which an occupational
licensing entity shall grant a temporary and provisional occupational

licensure for ninety (90) days or longer to an individual under subsection
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b)(c) of this section if presented with evidence of a current and active
occupational licensure that is substantially similar to practice in the field
of his or her occupation or profession in another state, territory, or
district of the United States.

(2) If a state, territory, or district of the United States does
not require occupational licensure for a profession that requires
occupational licensure in this state, an occupational licensing entity shall
adopt a rule that is least restrictive to permit an individual who is
sufficiently competent in his or her field to obtain occupational licensure
for that occupation or profession in this state.

(3) The occupational licensing entity may require additional
state-specific education for an individual with an occupational licensure in
another state, territory, or district of the United States that does not
offer reciprocity similar to reciprocity under this section to individuals
with occupational licensure in this state.

{d)1)(e)(l) Except as provided under subdivision {d)}{1)(e)(2) of this
section, an occupational licensing entity shall not require an individual who
meets the requirements of subsection b)(c) of this section to participate in
the apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite to
occupational licensure of a new professional in the field.

(2) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
to participate in continuing education or training if the continuing
education or training is required for all professionals in the field to
maintain the occupational licensure.

4e)(f) If a criminal background check is required of an applicant for

an initial occupational licensure or of a—persemn an individual currently
holding an occupational licensure, then the occupational licensing entity may

require a—perseon an individual seeking his or her occupational licensure

under this section to meet the same criminal background check requirements as
the applicant for an initial occupational licensure or as the persen
individual currently holding an occupational licensure.

£)(g) The occupational licensing entity may require the individual
applying for occupational licensure under this section to meet any bonding,
financial statement, or insurance requirements that are applicable to all
applicants.

4g)(h) This section shall not apply to:
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(1) Reciprocity or license by endorsement provisions under §§
17-12-308, 17-26-315, 17-27-308, 17-28-306, 17-31-308, 17-36-304, 17-42-305,
17-43-307, 17-83-305, 17-88-305, 17-89-305, 17-90-302, 17-92-114, 17-92-308,
17-93-414, 17-97-306, 17-99-304, 17-100-304, and 17-103-302; or

(2) The occupational licensing entities that administer the
reciprocity provisions under subdivision {(g)(1)}(h) (1) of this section.

B} (i) An occupational licensing entity may enter into written
agreements with similar occupational licensing entities of another state,
territory, or district of the United States as necessary to assure fer that
licensees in this state have comparable nonresident licensure opportunities
as those opportunities available to nonresidents by occupational licensing

entities in this state.

/s/Dotson

APPROVED: 4/15/19
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