

Arkansas Department of Health

Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy

P.O. Box 250254 • Little Rock, AR 72225 • (501) 228-7100 • Fax: (501)228-0294 arptb@arkansas.gov • www.arptb.org

Governor Asa Hutchinson Jose' Romero, MD, Secretary of Health

2021 Evaluation and Restructuring of Fees – Act 932

Prior to approval of Act 932 of 2021, the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy approved revised rules to reduce fees on October 1, 2020. The rules amendments were approved by Arkansas Legislative Council on May 19, 2021 and went into effect on July 1, 2021 as follows:

Physical Therapists:

Application Fee - \$50.00 Endorsement (Reciprocity) - \$160 100.00

Annual Renewals - \$75 70.00

Late Fee - \$100

Jurisprudence Examination Fee - \$10.00

Reinstatement Fee - \$75.00

Physical Therapist Assistants:

Application Fee - \$50.00

Endorsement (Reciprocity) - \$\frac{110}{100.00}

Annual Renewals - \$50 45.00

Late Fee - \$100

Jurisprudence Examination Fee - \$10.00

Reinstatement Fee - \$50.00

Fiscal Impact Statement

In addition to the fee reductions shown above, the Board joined the Physical Therapy Compact on February 20, 2020, which reduced the number of reciprocity applications. Instead of applying by reciprocity, a licensee can receive Arkansas licensure privileges through the Physical Therapy Compact. A total of 24 states are members of the PT Compact. Six states have enacted legislation to join the PT Compact. Surrounding states issuing and accepting compact privileges are Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Texas. Alabama and Kansas have enacted legislation to join the PT Compact. The fee paid to the Physical Therapy Compact by licensees for Arkansas privileges is \$50.00. It is estimated that the \$70.00 decrease in reciprocity fees and the decrease in reciprocity applications due to the compact will have a financial impact of approximately \$7,000.00 annually in the Board's income. As shown above, the renewal fee for all licensees was decreased by \$5.00. The \$5.00 will reduce fees by approximately \$19,500.00 in annual income for the Board. It is estimated that the reduction in fees will have a financial impact for the Board of approximately \$26,500.00 annually.

Use of Licensure Fees:

Payroll for two staff members
Extra help (used mostly for renewal period)
Stipends for board members
Mileage for board members
Investigation (if needed for complaints)
Various monthly expenses

Fees:

State	PT	PTA	PT Exam	PTA Exam	PT	PTA	Other Fees
State	Reciprocity	Reciprocity	FIEXAIII	PTA EXAIII	Renewal	Renewal	Other rees
*AR	\$100	\$100	\$50	\$50	\$70	\$45	PT Reinstatement - \$145 total PTA Reinstatement - \$95 total Renewal late fee - \$100 CE Late fee - \$50 per month Verification – NC Duplicate card – NC Compact - \$50
rees i	TOIII SUITOUI	iluling States	<u>.</u>				
**AL	\$100	\$100	\$100	\$100	\$130	\$93	PT Expired Renewal Fee - \$230 PTA Expired Renewal Fee - \$193 Restoration Fee - \$50 License Reprint - \$5
*GA	\$75	\$75	\$75	\$75	\$65	\$45	PT Late fee - \$90 PTA late fee - \$55 Reinstatement - \$100 - \$150
IL	\$100	\$100	\$100	\$100	\$30	\$30	Restoration - \$50 plus lapsed renewal fees – Max \$200 Verification Fee - \$20 Approval of CE Sponsor - \$500, Renewal of Sponsor - \$250
**KS	\$80	\$80	\$80	\$80	\$70	\$70	Late fee +\$5 Reinstatement - \$80 Certified copy - \$15 Duplicate cert - \$15 Temporary - \$25
*KY	\$225	\$225	\$225	\$225	\$210 biennium	\$190 biennium	Verification - \$40 Billfold license - \$15 Wall cert - \$25 Mailing list - \$150 Reinstatement - \$225
*LA	\$250/390	\$250	\$250	\$250	\$280 biennium	\$280 biennium	Late fee - \$400/\$120 Reinstatement - \$475 Duplicate wall license - \$50 Pre-approval of CE to licensee - \$20

***	ćar	¢2F	¢25	¢25	Ć E O	ĊE0	Deinstatement 625
*MO	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$50	\$50	Reinstatement - \$25
							Endorsement of board
							scores - \$25
	1	1	1	1	4		Late renewal - \$25
*MS	\$275	\$250	\$275	\$250	\$150	\$125	Late Renewal - \$150
							License cert replacement
							fee - \$35
							Duplicate license cert -
							\$35
							License verification \$35
							Inactive status fee - \$50
							Mailed copy of
							regulations - \$10
*OK	\$150	\$135	\$150	\$135	\$90	\$60	Verification - \$25
							Other fees unclear
*TN	\$200	\$190	\$200	\$190	\$55	\$45	Verification - \$25
					biennium	biennium	Reinstatement - \$100
							State Regulatory Fee
							biennial - \$10
							License fee - \$25
							Provisional - \$25
							Late renewal - \$50
*TX	\$190	\$125	\$190	\$125	\$248	\$184	PT Temp - \$80
							PTA Temp - \$60
							PT Provisional License -
							\$80
							PTA Provisional - \$75
							Active to Inactive - \$124
							Retired status - \$25
							Late fee - \$372 - \$496
							Verification fee - \$50
							Duplicate license - \$30
							Facility Registration - \$215
							Facility Renewal - \$220
							·
	1	1	1	L	1	1	J

^{*} Compact member state – actively issuing and accepting compact privileges

^{**} Enacted legislation – not yet issuing or accepting compact privileges

Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law. Act 932 of the Regular Session

1 2	State of Arkansas 93rd General Assembly	A Bill	
3	Regular Session, 2021		HOUSE BILL 1612
4	regular Session, 2021		110052 1112 1012
5	By: Representative Cozart		
6			
7		For An Act To Be Entitled	
8	AN ACT TO RE	EQUIRE EVALUATION AND RESTRUCTU	JRING OF
9	LICENSURE FE	EES RELATED TO THE PRACTICE OF	PHYSICAL
10	THERAPY; AND	FOR OTHER PURPOSES.	
11			
12			
13		Subtitle	
14	TO REQ	UIRE EVALUATION AND RESTRUCTUR	ING
15	OF LIC	ENSURE FEES RELATED TO THE PRAC	CTICE
16	OF PHY	SICAL THERAPY.	
17			
18			
19	BE IT ENACTED BY THE GEN	NERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF	ARKANSAS:
20			
21	SECTION 1. DO NOT	CODIFY. Evaluation and restr	ructuring of licensure
22	fees related to practice	of physical therapy.	
23	(a)(l) The Arkans	sas State Board of Physical The	erapy shall conduct an
24	evaluation of licensure	fees related to the practice of	of physical therapy,
25	including the license by	reciprocity fee, and restruct	ture the fees.
26	<u>(2) The eva</u>	aluation described in subdivisi	ion (a)(l) of this
27	section shall include:		
28	(A) A	A fiscal impact statement;	
29	<u>(B) 1</u>	Information about the use of li	icensure fees; and
30	<u>(C)</u> A	A comparison of licensure fees	related to physical
31	therapy in the surroundi	ng states.	
32	(b)(l) The board	shall report on the findings of	of the activities
33	described in subsection	(a) of this section to the Leg	gislative Council or an
34		e of the Legislative Council.	
35	<u>(2) The re</u> p	oort described in subdivision ((b)(l) of this section
36	shall include recommenda	ations for legislative changes	or rule changes, or

1	both.
2	(3)(A) If the report includes recommendations for rule changes,
3	the board shall promulgate rules necessary to implement the recommendations
4	under this section.
5	(B) When adopting rules to implement the recommendations
6	under this section, the final rule shall be filed with the Secretary of State
7	for adoption under § 25-15-204(f):
8	(i) On or before December 31, 2021; or
9	(ii) If approval under § 10-3-309 has not occurred
10	by December 31, 2021, as soon as practicable after approval under § 10-3-309.
11	(C) The board shall file the proposed rule changes with
12	the Legislative Council under § 10-3-309(c) sufficiently in advance of
13	December 31, 2021, so that the Legislative Council may consider the rule for
14	approval before December 31, 2021.
15	
16	
17	APPROVED: 4/26/21
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33 34	
34 35	
36	
20	