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These amendments replace the current rules for the Forgiveness of Student Loan Program, which
were last updated in 2007. Since that time, statutes affecting the Program have been enacted, such
as the Transformation and Efficiencies Act of 2019 and Act 282 of 2021, which changed the timing
of loan-forgiveness payments for eligible employees.

Rules for Administration of the Arkansas Rehabilitation Services
Forgiveness of Student Loan Program
Act 1275-6£2007 282 of 2021

INTRODUCTION

Act 4275 282 of 208721, effective July 3+ 28, 208721, established amended and re-authorized the

Arkansas Rehabilitation Services ARS) Forgiveness of Student Loan Program Pregram)te,

which assists qualified eligible eurrent employees and-newly-hiredrehabilitation—counselers
employed-by—ARS with the repayment of qualifying student loans ineurred—while—pursuing

eredentials-that-arerequiredfor-employment. fllhe—aet—prewdes—&lat—ARS—shaH—adfmster—the
Program-and-promulgate-rulesfor-its-administration- The Forgiveness of Student Loan Program

(Program) was originally authorized by Act 1275 of 2007. Arkansas Rehabilitation Services
(ARS). as the administrator of the Programt, is authorized by Act 282 to promulgate rules regarding
Program eligibilitv. pavments. and management.

PROVISIONS- OFACTF1275-OFE-2007

ELIGIBILITY

Individuals who meet the criteria below are eligible for participation in the Program:

1. Emplovment with ARS.

2. Completion of a six-month probationary period. beginning with the first day of ARS
employment.
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3. Proof the individual has incurred student-loan debt resulting from obtaining a bachelor’s
or master’s degree in the field of vocational rehabilitation:

a. Documentation of the name and address of the student-loan creditor.

b. A pavoff amount for the loan owed to the creditor. current within 30 days of the
individual’s application to the Program.

¢. Documentation. such as a transcript or diploma from an educational institution.
confirming that the individual received a degree in one of the following fields:

Rehabilitation Counseling:

Social Work:

Psychology:

Disability studies:

Education. including Special Education:

Counseling. other than Rehabilitation Counseling (master’s
level only): and

e Counselor Education (master’s level only).

4. Execution of an agreement bv which the individual acknowledges. among other
requirements. that ARS will not issue payments under the Program if the individual resigns
or is terminated for cause.

PROGRAM PAYMENTS
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Pavments made bv ARS under the Prooram will satisfv the following criteria:

1. Payments will be issued directly to the student-loan creditor identified by the individual at
the time of application to the Program.

2. Each installment will be the lesser of $2.000.00. or the current loan-payoff amount.

3. Each installment is conditioned upon the participant’s continual emplovment over the two
vears preceding the date that the pavment is issued.
For example. an individual who is determined eligible on August 1st of State Fiscal Year
2022 must be employed until August 1st of State Fiscal Year 2024 in order for an
installment to be issued.

4. Participants may receive up to five installments. not to exceed $10.000.00. under the
Program.

5. Total pavments under the Program in a given State Fiscal vear shall not exceed $80.000.00.

PROGRAM MANAGEMENT

Pursuant to Act 282 of 2021. the following rules for Program Management will apply:

1.

2.

Individuals may submit an application for eligibility once per State Fiscal Year.

Each subsequent application must include all documents required to demonstrate
eligibility. However. subsequent applications may refer to documents submitted with the
original. approved application regarding the individual’s degree in the field of vocational
rehabilitation.

In all events. eligible participants must re-certify their loan payvoff amounts within 30 davs
of a payment coming due.
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a. For example. an individual whose application was approved on August 1st of State
Fiscal Year 2022 must submit a current loan payoff amount 30 davs prior to August
1st of State Fiscal Year 2024.

b. Program staff will send a written reminder of this requirement to eligible
participants at least 60 davs before a payment comes due.
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 282 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas

93rd General Assembly A B 111

Regular Session, 2021 HOUSE BILL 1200

By: Representative J. Mayberry
By: Senators K. Hammer, J. English

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND THE ARKANSAS REHABILITATION SERVICES
FORGIVENESS OF STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM; TO CLARIFY
REQUIREMENTS FOR ELIGIBILITY; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND THE ARKANSAS REHABILITATION
SERVICES FORGIVENESS OF STUDENT LOAN
PROGRAM; AND TO CLARIFY REQUIREMENTS FOR
ELIGIBILITY.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code § 25-30-206 is amended to read as follows:

25-30-206. Arkansas Rehabilitation Services Forgiveness of Student

Loan Program.
(a) There is established the Arkansas Rehabilitation Services

Forgiveness of Student Loan Program to assist counselors—employed by eligible
employees of Arkansas Rehabilitation Services with the repayment of student

loans.
(b) (1) The program shall be administered by Arkansas Rehabilitation

Services.

(2) Arkansas Rehabilitation Services shall promulgate rules for
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{B)—Ten—thousand-dellars{($105000)—per—employee regarding

eligibility, payment, and program management consistent with this section.

(c) An emplovee of Arkansas Rehabilitation Services is required to

satisfy the following in order to be eligible for the program:

(1) Completion of a six-month probationary period, beginning

with the first day of employment with Arkansas Rehabilitation Services;

(2) Provision of proof that the employee incurred student loan

debt for purposes of obtaining a degree in the field of vocational

rehabilitation, including without limitation the name and address of the

student loan creditor;

(3) Provision of proof that the student loan is unpaid at the

time the emplovee applies for the program: and

(4) Execution of a contract in which the employee agrees that

Arkansas Rehabilitation Services is not oblisated to issue further pavments

under the program if the employee resigns or is terminated for cause while

participating in the program.

(d) Payments under the program are made directly to the emplovee’s

student loan creditor and are subject to the following limitations:

(1) A payment shall be issued in installments not to exceed two

thousand dollars ($2,000);
(2) An eligible employee is required to have been continually

employved by Arkansas Rehabilitation Services for the two (2) years prior to

issuance of an installment in order to receive the installment; and
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(3) An eligible emplovee mav receive no more than ten thousand

dollars ($10,000) or up to five (5) installments under the program.

(e) The total payments to all employees under the program shall not

exceed eighty thousand dollars ($80,000) per fiscal vear.

APPROVED: 3/8/21
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