
ACT 595 REPORT 

ACT 360 

DESCRIPTION: TO ESTABLISH THE STATE CRIME LABORATORY STUDENT LOAN 

FORGIVENESS PROGRAM. 

STATUS: The student loan forgiveness rule was approved by the Governor on September 30, 

2021. Rules were filed with BLR and the Secretary of State's Office the same day. Notice was 

published to the public on October 3,2021, published for three (3) consecutive days in the 

Arkansas Democrat Gazette, and was also posted to the ASCL website. The public comment 

period ended on November 5, 2021 and was approved by the Arkansas State Crime Lab Board. 

ASCL rule was approved by Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and are being filed with 

the Secretary of State’s Office and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is 

January 1, 2022.  

NEW RULE 

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Kermit Channell, ASCL Director 

ACT 792 

DESCRIPTION: TO REQUIRE TRAINING CONCERNING A LAW ENFORCEMENT 

OFFICER'S DUTY TO INTERVENE WHEN THE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER 

OBSERVES THE USE OF EXCESSIVE FORCE BY ANOTHER LAW ENFORCEMENT 

OFFICER. 

STATUS: CLEST Rule 1002 was approved by the Governor on September 30, 2021. The 

Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training filed its proposed rule 

packet with the Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) on September 30, 2021. The Commission 

published notice in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Sunday, October 3, 2021, beginning the 

public comment period. As required, the public notice circulated in the Democrat-Gazette for 

three consecutive days and the proposed rules were posted on the Commission’s website. The 

30-day comment period expired on November 5, 2021. The Commission received no comments

during the comment period. On November 17, 2021, the Commission voted to move forward

with the proposed rules submitted to BLR in September. CLEST Rule was approved the Public

Health Welfare and Labor Subcommittee on December 6th. CLEST rule was also approved by

Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and is being filed with the Secretary of State’s Office

and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is January 1, 2022.

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULE 

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Jami Cook, CLEST Director; Brad 

King, CLEST Deputy Director 

ACT 218 

DESCRIPTION: CONCERNING LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY ORGANIZATION, 

STAFFING, AND PERSONNEL MATTERS. 

STATUS:   CLEST   Rule   1034    was   approved by the Governor on September 30, 2021. The 

Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training filed its proposed rule 

packet with the Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) on September 30, 2021. The Commission 



published notice in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Sunday, October 3, 2021, beginning the 

public comment period. As required, the public notice circulated in the Democrat-Gazette for 

three consecutive days and the proposed rules were posted on the Commission’s website. The 

30-day comment period expired on November 5, 2021. The Commission received no comments 
during the comment period. On November 17, 2021, the Commission voted to move forward 
with the proposed rules submitted to BLR in September. CLEST Rule was approved the Public 
Health Welfare and Labor Subcommittee on December 6th. CLEST rule was also approved by 
Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and is being filed with the Secretary of State’s Office 
and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is January 1, 2022.

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULE 

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Jami Cook, CLEST Director; Brad 

King, CLEST Deputy Director 

ACT 765 

DESCRIPTION: The Act permits Arkansas taxpayers to contribute a portion of their tax refund 

(or include additional amount with their tax payment) to the Law Enforcement Family Relief 

Trust Fund. The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, or his or her designee, may then 

distribute money from the fund to families of Arkansas-certified law enforcement officers who 

are killed in the line of duty or diagnosed with a terminal illness. 

STATUS: The DPS portion of the Rules have been drafted and submitted (10/8/21) to the 

appropriate employees of the Department of Finance and Administration to ensure compliance 

and coordination with all DFA rules necessary to carry out the Program. See A.C.A. § 26-51- 

2511(b)(3). Rules were delivered to the Governor’s office on November 12, 2021 and approved 

on January 10, 2022. Rules were filed with the Secretary of State’s office and BLR on January 

13, 2022. Public notice was published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. 
The public comment period ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during 
the comment period. 

NEW RULE 

CONTACT PERSON(S): Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney 

ACT 841 

DESCRIPTION: The Act creates an income tax credit for a retired law enforcement officer who 

volunteers or works as a temporary or part-time employee for the Division of Arkansas State 

Police investigating cold cases. 

STATUS: The first draft of these rules was submitted (10/4/21) to the Department of Finance 

and Administration for consultation and approval. See A.C.A. § 26-51-515(f)(2). Rules were 

delivered to the Governor’s office on November 12, 2021 and approved on January 10, 2022. 

Rules were filed with the Secretary of State’s office and BLR on January 13, 2022. Public notice 

was published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. The public comment 
period ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during the comment period. 

NEW RULE 



CONTACT PERSON(S): Major David Lafferty, ASP Criminal Investigation Division 

Commander; Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney 

ACT 135 

DESCRIPTION: The Act requires any licensing entity to issue automatic or expedited licensure to 

certain military-affiliated individuals. 

STATUS: Rule 2.17 of the ASP Rules for Licensing and Regulation of Private Investigators, 

Private Security Agencies, Alarm Systems Companies, Polygraph Examiners, and Voice Stress 

Analysis Examiners and Rule 5.4 of the ASP Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing Rules have 

been amended to comply with Act 135. ASP rules for Licensing and Regulations were delivered 

to the Governor’s office on November 22, 2021 and approved on January 10, 2022. Rules were 

filed with the Secretary of State’s office and BLR on January 13, 2022. Public notice was 
published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. The public comment period 
ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during the comment period. 

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULES 

CONTACT PERSON(S): Major Lindsey Williams, ASP Regulatory and Building 

Division Commander; Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney 




