ACT 595 REPORT

ACT 360

DESCRIPTION: TO ESTABLISH THE STATE CRIME LABORATORY STUDENT LOAN FORGIVENESS PROGRAM.

STATUS: The student loan forgiveness rule was approved by the Governor on September 30, 2021. Rules were filed with BLR and the Secretary of State's Office the same day. Notice was published to the public on October 3,2021, published for three (3) consecutive days in the Arkansas Democrat Gazette, and was also posted to the ASCL website. The public comment period ended on November 5, 2021 and was approved by the Arkansas State Crime Lab Board. ASCL rule was approved by Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and are being filed with the Secretary of State's Office and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is January 1, 2022.

NEW RULE

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Kermit Channell, ASCL Director

ACT 792

DESCRIPTION: TO REQUIRE TRAINING CONCERNING A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER'S DUTY TO INTERVENE WHEN THE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER OBSERVES THE USE OF EXCESSIVE FORCE BY ANOTHER LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER.

STATUS: CLEST Rule 1002 was approved by the Governor on September 30, 2021. The Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training filed its proposed rule packet with the Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) on September 30, 2021. The Commission published notice in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Sunday, October 3, 2021, beginning the public comment period. As required, the public notice circulated in the Democrat-Gazette for three consecutive days and the proposed rules were posted on the Commission's website. The 30-day comment period expired on November 5, 2021. The Commission received no comments during the comment period. On November 17, 2021, the Commission voted to move forward with the proposed rules submitted to BLR in September. CLEST Rule was approved the Public Health Welfare and Labor Subcommittee on December 6th. CLEST rule was also approved by Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and is being filed with the Secretary of State's Office and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is January 1, 2022.

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULE

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Jami Cook, CLEST Director; Brad King, CLEST Deputy Director

ACT 218

DESCRIPTION: CONCERNING LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY ORGANIZATION, STAFFING, AND PERSONNEL MATTERS.

STATUS: CLEST Rule 1034 was approved by the Governor on September 30, 2021. The Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training filed its proposed rule packet with the Bureau of Legislative Research (BLR) on September 30, 2021. The Commission

published notice in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette on Sunday, October 3, 2021, beginning the public comment period. As required, the public notice circulated in the Democrat-Gazette for three consecutive days and the proposed rules were posted on the Commission's website. The 30-day comment period expired on November 5, 2021. The Commission received no comments during the comment period. On November 17, 2021, the Commission voted to move forward with the proposed rules submitted to BLR in September. CLEST Rule was approved the Public Health Welfare and Labor Subcommittee on December 6th. CLEST rule was also approved by Rules Subcommittee December 15, 2021 and is being filed with the Secretary of State's Office and the State Library the same day. Effective date for all rules is January 1, 2022.

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULE

CONTACT PERSON: Amanda Yarbrough, DPS Attorney; Jami Cook, CLEST Director; Brad King, CLEST Deputy Director

ACT 765

DESCRIPTION: The Act permits Arkansas taxpayers to contribute a portion of their tax refund (or include additional amount with their tax payment) to the Law Enforcement Family Relief Trust Fund. The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety, or his or her designee, may then distribute money from the fund to families of Arkansas-certified law enforcement officers who are killed in the line of duty or diagnosed with a terminal illness.

STATUS: The DPS portion of the Rules have been drafted and submitted (10/8/21) to the appropriate employees of the Department of Finance and Administration to ensure compliance and coordination with all DFA rules necessary to carry out the Program. *See* A.C.A. § 26-51-2511(b)(3). Rules were delivered to the Governor's office on November 12, 2021 and approved on January 10, 2022. Rules were filed with the Secretary of State's office and BLR on January 13, 2022. Public notice was published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. The public comment period ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during the comment period. The rules were presented to and tabled by the Rules Subcommittee on 4/20/2022, to resolve some concerns of the bill's author.

NEW RULE

CONTACT PERSON(S): Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney

<u>ACT 841</u>

DESCRIPTION: The Act creates an income tax credit for a retired law enforcement officer who volunteers or works as a temporary or part-time employee for the Division of Arkansas State Police investigating cold cases.

STATUS: The first draft of these rules was submitted (10/4/21) to the Department of Finance and Administration for consultation and approval. See A.C.A. § 26-51-515(f)(2). Rules were delivered to the Governor's office on November 12, 2021 and approved on January 10, 2022. Rules were filed with the Secretary of State's office and BLR on January 13, 2022. Public notice was published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. The public comment period ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during the comment period. Rules were approved by Rules Subcommittee April 20, 2022, and is being filed with the Secretary of State's Office and the State Library 4/26/2022.

NEW RULE

CONTACT PERSON(S): Major David Lafferty, ASP Criminal Investigation Division Commander; Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney

<u>ACT 135</u>

DESCRIPTION: The Act requires any licensing entity to issue automatic or expedited licensure to certain military-affiliated individuals.

STATUS: Rule 2.17 of the ASP Rules for Licensing and Regulation of Private Investigators, Private Security Agencies, Alarm Systems Companies, Polygraph Examiners, and Voice Stress Analysis Examiners and Rule 5.4 of the ASP Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Licensing Rules have been amended to comply with Act 135. ASP rules for Licensing and Regulations were delivered to the Governor's office on November 22, 2021 and approved on January 10, 2022. Rules were filed with the Secretary of State's office and BLR on January 13, 2022. Public notice was published Sunday, January 23, 2022 – Tuesday, January 25, 2022. The public comment period ended on February 22, 2022. No comments were received during the comment period. Rules were reviewed by the Rules Subcommittee as an expedited license and has been submitted for placement on the May agenda for approval.

AMENDMENT TO EXISTING RULES

CONTACT PERSON(S): Major Lindsey Williams, ASP Regulatory and Building Division Commander; Joan Shipley, DPS Attorney