

Following are policies issued by Arkansas Community Correction with an effective date from January 1 through March 31, 2016. The Employee Timekeeping and Compensation AD, which went into effect in December, is also included in this report because it was inadvertently omitted from the agency's previous report.

Document Title	Effective Date
Agency Organization, Mission, Planning, & Management AD 16-	2/29/2016
10	
Central Office Key Control AD 16-01	2/22/2016
Escapes AD16-11	3/1/2016
Transitional Housing Facility License AD 16-12	3/11/2016
Reentry Facilities AD 16-13	3/11/2016
Inclement Weather AD 16-18	1/22/2016
Employee Timekeeping and Compensation AD 15-04	12/18/2015

.

3





Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union Nation Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 (501) 682-9510 (501) 682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: AD 15-04 EMPLOYEE TIMEKEEPING AND COMPENSATION

TO: ARKANSAS COMMUNITY CORRECTION (ACC) EMPLOYEES

FROM: SHEILA SHARP, DIRECTOR

SUPERSEDES: AD 10-10

APPROVED: _____Signature on file _____EFFECTIVE: December 18, 2015

I. APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to all ACC employees.

II. POLICY. All ACC positions are classified as exempt, nonexempt or 207(k) (7K) law enforcement exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Supervisors of nonexempt and 7K law enforcement employees are required to hold employees accountable to the established regular workweek standard unless overtime hours of work are necessary and approved to facilitate operations.

III. DEFINITIONS.

A. Banked Time. Balance of accrued leave (annual, sick, overtime or holiday).

B. Overtime. Time physically worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek for nonexempt employees and in excess of 86 hours in a 2-week pay period for 7K exempt employees.

C. Straight Time. Time physically worked up to 40 hours in a pay period for non-exempt employees and up to 86 hours in a pay period for 7K exempt employees.

D. Promotion. An employee's change in duty assignment from a position in one classification to a position in another classification of a higher salary grade.

E. Demotion. An employee's change in duty assignment from a position in one classification to a position in lower classified position

F. Lateral Transfer. Transferring to another position within the state under the same job classification of title, grade, and pay as their current position.

IV. TIME KEEPING

A. Time Sheets. All time sheets must reflect the exact time the employee physically worked, any paid leave, and leave without pay.

B. Time Entry Requirements. All timekeepers must have ALL time entered by noon on the second Wednesday of each bi-weekly pay period. It is mandatory for timekeepers to contact the HRS with any time entry questions that would affect payroll after the noon deadline.

C. Light Duty and/or Part-Time. ACC is a full time employer only and does not have any positions that can be utilized as light duty and/or part-time.

D. Timekeeping Records. Non-exempt and 7K exempt employees must accurately complete and submit time sheets in sufficient time for the timekeeper to meet the payroll schedule. All employees must complete leave request forms and comply with guidance in this policy.

E. Determining FLSA Designation. FLSA designations for each position classification within the state Classification and Compensation Act are determined and assigned by OPM. If the FLSA designation of the position occupied by the employee is in question, the appropriate Deputy Director must contact the HRS Administrator and request a classification status review. The HRS Administrator will submit the Request for Review to OPM.

F. Non-Exempt. Non-exempt employees are those whose functional job duties and responsibilities do not meet the FLSA exemption test and who are compensated with time on a multiple of their hourly rate of pay for overtime. All time sheets must reflect the exact time the non-exempt employee physically worked. Actual time physically worked above 40 hours in a scheduled workweek is accrued at the rate of time and one-half. The employee will be paid for overtime exceeding 240 hours.

G. Exempt. Employees whose positions meet specific tests established by the FLSA and state law and are exempt from the FLSA overtime provisions requirements. Exempt employees are paid on an annual salary basis.

H. 7K Law Enforcement (Partially Exempt). Employees categorized as 7K law enforcement personnel are partially exempt from the FLSA and will record time based on a standard 14-day work period (80 to 86 hours). The partial exemption provides that employees are paid at their regular work schedule rate of pay for the first 80 hours they physically work. Those hours physically worked between 80 and 86 hours will be counted as straight time and placed in the employee's banked straight time account. Any time physically worked in excess of 86 in the 14-day work period is counted at a rate of one and one half times and is banked in the employee's overtime account. The 7K exempt employee will be paid for overtime exceeding 480 hours. I. Leave Records. Supervisors and timekeepers must ensure timekeeping records are forwarded to the new supervisor and timekeeper when an employee transfers, promotes or demotes to another position within the ACC. When an employee leaves the agency, leave records are to be maintained by the timekeeper under the records retention policy.

J. Quarterly Timekeeper Reporting Requirement and Employee Review of Leave Balance. At the end of each quarter, the timekeeper is responsible for notifying employees of their leave balances. Each employee must review the leave balances and indicate agreement to the leave information provided. If there is a discrepancy or disagreement, the employee will request the timekeeper to perform an audit of the leave in question. If an adjustment is required, the findings of the audit must be reported to HRS so the leave balance can be reviewed and adjusted to reflect the correct leave activity. After appropriate audit, review and correction, the timekeeper must print the PT 50 screen and obtain the employee's signature. Timekeepers must maintain the signed document in the employee file.

K. Use of Banked Holidays, Straight Time and Overtime. Overtime may only be worked with the approval of an Assistant Area Manager, Assistant Center Supervisor, staff supervisor, or higher. "Authorization to Work Overtime" form must be used to request overtime. Employees are required to use banked leave in the following sequence: holiday, overtime, straight time, annual leave, and leave without pay (LWOP) unless an exception is permitted in this policy. If an employee requests annual leave, the timekeeper must check leave balances and charge leave in the same sequence. The timekeeper will correct the employee initial the change. An employee who requests to use banked holidays, straight time, overtime or annual leave may be permitted to do so within a reasonable period after making the request as long as it does not affect critical operations of the agency. The minimum amount of banked holiday, straight time or overtime that can be requested is fifteen (15) minutes. If an employee is in danger of losing annual leave at the end of the year, a supervisor may allow the employee to use annual leave before using banked holiday, straight time, and overtime.

L. Leave Time. Benefit vs. Entitlement. Benefits consist of holidays, annual and sick leave. Entitlements are overtime and straight time. Under no circumstance must a benefit be converted into an entitlement by counting it toward the hours the employee physically works. For example, a non-exempt employee uses 8 hours sick leave on Monday, then physically works 10 hours on Tuesday, 9 hours on Wednesday, 8 hours on Thursday and 8 hours on Friday. The employee would have a total of 35 hours physically worked and 8 hours of sick leave for a total of 43 hours. Forty (40) hours is all that is required for the pay week. Therefore, the number of sick leave hours charged must be reduced from 8 to 5. Timekeepers should inform the supervisor and employee of the necessary corrections, have the changes to a time sheet and leave slip initialed by the employee and supervisor and then make the appropriate changes to AASIS. Under no circumstance will 3 hours be added to the employee's banked straight time account.

V. COMPENSATION

A. Upon Hire. The ACC will not transfer holidays, straight time, or overtime from other State agencies.

B. Promotion. An employee who is promoted shall receive the maximum annual salary for which he or she is eligible as follows:

1. For a promotion to a position of a higher grade on the same pay plan, the employee's maximum rate of pay shall be increased by ten percent (10%).

2. For a promotion from a position on the career service pay plan to a position on the professional and executive pay plan, the employee's maximum rate of pay shall be increased by twelve (12%).

3. An employee who upon promotion is receiving a rate of pay below the lowest entrance pay level established for the new grade shall be adjusted to that lowest entrance pay level for that grade; however, an employee's rate of pay upon promotion shall not exceed the maximum pay level of the grade assigned to the classification, unless the employee is eligible for the career pay level on the career service pay plan.

4. When an employee promotes to a different agency or institution, the originating agency or institution must pay all accumulated compensatory time and overtime to the employee at the time of transfer.

5. Non-exempt employees promoting to an exempt classification must have all accumulated compensatory time and overtime paid at the time of transfer. Payment will be at the rate prior to promotion.

C. Job Series Promotions

1. Correctional Officer (Residential Supervisors)

Only an ACC CO I may become eligible to be promoted to a Corporal. This promotion will be processed following Human Resources' (HR) receipt of a Promotion Recommendation Form with authorized signatures. The authorized signatures verify that the CO I have met the following criteria:

- completed the one year probationary period,
- completed the RSBT Training Academy within the first 12 months of employment with ACC
- obtained an overall a "satisfactory" in the most current performance evaluation rating,
- and is free from disciplinary action greater than a verbal warning.

Promotion will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the promotion will not go into effect until the Promotion Recommendation Form is received in HR. The documentation provided to HR will be placed in the employee's personnel file.

If an employee cannot attend the required RSBT Academy within the first 12 months of employment due to extenuating circumstances, the Deputy Director of Residential Services must approve a requested extension. If approved, the employee will not receive a promotion to a Corporal until completion of the required RSBT Academy and previously stated eligibility criteria.

2. Parole/Probation Officer

a. Promotion from PPO I to PPO II

Only an ACC PPO I may become eligible to be promoted to a PPO II. This promotion will be processed following Human Resources' (HR) receipt of a copy of the signed F7 (Application for Award of Law Enforcement Officer Certificate) submitted to the Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training (CLEST) authorized signatures. The authorized signatures verify that the PPO I have met the following criteria:

- Completed the one year probationary period,
- successfully completed ACC basic PPO Training Academy, as well as Firearms Qualification
- obtained an overall "satisfactory" in the most current performance evaluation rating,
- and is free from disciplinary action greater than a verbal warning.

Promotion will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the promotion will not go into effect until the official certification is received in HR from CLEST. The documentation provided to HR will be placed in the employee's personnel file.

If an employee cannot attend the required PPO Academy within the first 12 months of employment due to extenuating circumstances, the Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services must approve a requested extension. If approved, the employee will not receive a promotion to a PPO II until completion of the required PPO Academy and previously stated eligibility criteria.

b. Promotion from PPO II to an Agent

Only ACC employees in PPO II positions (excluding those assigned to institutions) may voluntarily apply for promotion to a Parole/Probation Agent (Agent). The PPO II must meet the following criteria for the promotion:

- served in a PPO II position for two consecutive years immediately prior to application for Agent.
- must be current on firearms requalification prior to his/her scheduled Promotion Board interview;
- obtained an overall satisfactory for the past 2 years as a PPO II, with no disciplinary action (excluding verbal warnings) during the same period;

- must be current on defensive tactics refresher course prior to his/her scheduled PB interview;
- passed the PPA written examination with a minimum of 80%. If an employee fails the written examination, that employee will have an additional opportunity to take and pass the examination with a minimum score of 80%. If the employee fails the examination the second time, the employee must wait a period of six months to retake the examination and must pass with a minimum score of 80%; and
- successfully complete ACC's Leadership Course before scheduled Promotion Board interview
- must have current First Aid/CPR certifications
- received a favorable promotion recommendation by the Promotion Board.

If a PPO II receives a disciplinary of a written warning or greater, the employee's two consecutive years will start over

Promotions will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the promotion will not go into effect until the completed Parole–Probation Recommendation Summary form is received in HR. The documentation provided to HR will be placed in the employee's personnel file.

D. Demotion. When an employee is demoted for cause or voluntarily solicits a demotion, his or her rate of pay shall be:

1. Fixed at the rate equal to ten percent (10%) less than the employee's rate of pay at the time of the demotion for demotions of one or more grades on the career service pay plan or on the professional and executive pay plan.

2. Fixed at a rate equal to twelve percent (12%) less than the employee's rate of pay at the time of demotion for demotions of one (1) or more grades from a position on the professional and executive pay plan to a position on the career service pay plan.

3. If the employee's salary falls below the entry pay level of the new grade upon demotion, his/her salary will be adjusted to entry level for that grade.

4. An employee's rate of pay upon a demotion cannot exceed the amount provided by the maximum pay level of the grade assigned to the classification, unless the employee is eligible for career pay level of the career service pay plan.

5. An employee returning within 12 months after a promotion to a position or classification that they previously occupied is eligible for a rate of pay not greater than that for which the employee would have been eligible had they remained in the lower-graded classification.

E. Retirement. Employees are permitted to defer to the State 457 Deferred Compensation Plan for all, or a portion, of their final lump sum monies (comprised of unused sick or vacation leave) provided the employee follows the requirements of the program. For more

information on Deferred Compensation please go to <u>https://myplan.ingplans.com/eportal/welcome.do</u>. Employees should discuss this option with HRS before their termination due to retirement.

F. Termination. Upon termination from employment, the employee shall receive payment for any unused holidays, straight time and overtime at the employee's final regular rate of pay.

G. Pay Periods. Biweekly pay periods run from Sunday of one week through Saturday of the following week. Employees are paid every other Friday for time worked through the preceding payroll cycle. The time sheet is used to record hours worked by non-exempt and 7K exempt employees during the pay period. A pay period schedule is retained in HRS.

H. Meal, Rest and Fitness Breaks. Generally, non-exempt employees assigned to posts or workstations requiring constant staffing are allowed a 15-minute paid rest break in the morning and in the afternoon, at times approved by the supervisor. They must be completely relieved of their duties and free to leave the post during this time. Although other employees may be allowed the same, it is not a right, but a privilege at the discretion of the supervisor. When rest breaks are authorized, they may be combined for the purpose of participating in fitness activities and may not exceed 30 minutes.

All employees are allowed a 30 to 60 minute lunch break, depending on their approved work schedule. This break may not be combined with rest breaks, nor taken to leave work early or arrive late. When an employee does not take a break during the day the benefit is lost. Aside from the breaks described above, there are no other authorized breaks (e.g., smoking, etc.).

I. On-Call Time. Time spent on-call, under circumstances where the time can be used effectively for personal purposes, is not compensable. Generally, an employee who is not required to remain on ACC premises but is merely required to leave word with ACC officials where he/she may be reached or carry a cell phone while "on-call." To be considered as compensable on-call time, an employee must be restricted from using the time for his or her personal pursuits. Should an employee be called in while on-call, pay begins when the employee receives the call. The employee must report immediately and no later than 1 hour after receiving the call. An employee who reports later than 1 hour will be paid beginning upon arrival. Should the employee be released before the end of the shift or the end of their regular work schedule, on-call pay will be stopped when the employee leaves the premises.

J. Workers Compensation. Employees who are absent from work due to a temporary occupational injury or illness and who are entitled to Workers' Compensation benefits may use their accrued leave as a supplement to such benefits not to exceed the employee's regular salary rate of pay per pay period. Contact the ACC Benefits Analyst in Human Resources for more information.

K. Over-payments. Employees are responsible for monitoring personal bank account direct deposits from ACC to ensure accurate compensation. In the event of an overpayment, the employee must contact his/her supervisor and Human Resources Section immediately for corrective action. Employees will be held accountable for refunding all

overpayments back to the agency. An employee's lack of cooperation in refunding the agency can lead to disciplinary action up to termination.

L. Compensable Time for Training/Travel. If an ACC employee is required to attend training or a meeting on a weekend or regular day off, the time must be counted as time worked. It must be counted toward the pay period. Any time worked over these scheduled hours may be counted as straight or over time, whichever applies. Travel to and from training is also compensable as time worked. Travel time for training begins from the employee's physical place of employment and ends upon return to the employee's work location. If unforeseeable events prevent an employee from arriving at their destination in a timely manner, the supervisor must be notified immediately. Specific questions regarding whether training time is compensable should be directed to the HRS Administrator. Employees must receive approval before attending training. Hours in preparation for a license or certification exam cannot be counted toward compensated time.

VI. Forms List

Authorization to Work Overtime Leave Request for Employee Time Sheet Weekly Parole/Probation Promotion Summary Promotion Recommendation Form



Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-08 INCLEMENT WEATHER

TO: ARKANSAS COMMUNITY CORRECTION EMPLOYEES

FROM: SHEILA SHARP, DIRECTOR

SUPERSEDES:

APPROVED: Signature on file _____ EFFECTIVE: January 22, 2016

I. APPLICABILITY. This directive applies to all Arkansas Community Correction employees.

II. POLICY. This specifies certain provisions for employees to follow in regards to severe weather.

III. PURPOSE. The general policy regarding inclement weather is that ACC does not normally close its offices because of hazardous driving conditions. However, the obligation to provide services to the citizens of the State must be both balanced with the risk of danger to State employees. It is, therefore, appropriate that guidelines reflecting both the needs of our citizens and employees safety are established.

IV. DEFINITIONS.

- A. "Closure" means a temporary stoppage of agency operations due to extreme conditions.
- **B**. "Critical personnel" means individuals assigned by the ACC Director as essential to operations during curtailment or closure.
- C. "Inclement weather" means extreme weather conditions that interfere with normal agency operations.

V. SPECIFIC PROVISIONS.

A. In the Little Rock Metropolitan Area:

- In the event of early morning severe inclement weather conditions, the Governor's Office will determine whether the inclement weather policy will be placed into effect and will announce its implementation as soon as possible and should include the affected counties. Employees are not to rely solely on the media and social media regarding delays or closures of state offices.
- On days declared to be covered by the inclement weather policy, all employees should be at their work stations by 10:00 a.m. or the designated time. Employees arriving by 10:00 a.m. or the designated time will be given credit for a full day's attendance. Employees arriving after 10:00 a.m. or the designated time will be charged the full amount of time involved in the tardiness, and employees not coming to work at all will be charged a full day's absence.

• When severe inclement weather occurs during office hours, the Director has the discretion to allow employees to leave work early for safety reasons if the Governor has not announced closure of state offices. Decisions to allow employees to leave work early, however, should recognize the requirement to maintain designated critical personnel and assure service delivery to the citizens for the full work day. Employees who were on the job, and who were allowed to leave early, will be charged leave for that time, unless the Director advises that state offices will close.

The Director may designate critical personnel who will be required to reach their work stations by the time of regular office opening, regardless of weather related conditions, to assure that offices are open to the public and services are provided. Prior designation will allow critical personnel to prepare for weather conditions, and if need be, provide alternative methods of getting to work.

- B. Offices outside of the Little Rock Metropolitan Area:
 - Area Managers, with the approval of the Deputy Director of Field Services, will determine when the inclement weather policy is implemented based on weather conditions in their assigned Areas of the State. If the Deputy Director of Field Services chooses to delegate this authority, such delegation should be communicated immediately. Employees must contact their immediate supervisor with any questions or concerns when bad weather exists.
 - When the inclement weather policy is implemented in an Area outside the Little Rock metropolitan area, the attendance provisions applicable to employees in the Little Rock metropolitan area will be applied to employees in the affected Area.
 - C. Twenty-four Hour and Seven-day Facilities:
 - For ACC Centers that are required to be open 24 hours each day or are normally open seven days a week, the Center Supervisor will follow approved policies and procedures that cover facility operations during periods of inclement weather. These policies and procedures should balance the requirements for client care and/or public access against the safety of facility employees. For example, a residential care facility would require staffing regardless of weather conditions whereas a museum facility could be closed if necessary without detriment to the public.





Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-13 REENTRY FACILITIES

TO: ARKANSAS COMMUNITY CORRECTION EMPLOYEES

FROM: SHEILA SHARP, DIRECTOR

SUPERSEDED: None

APPROVED: Signature on File EFFECTIVE: March 11, 2016

I. APPLICABILITY

This policy applies to Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) employees, applicants for and recipients of a Reentry Facility License, owners, operators, volunteers, and staff members of licensed Reentry Facilities.

II. POLICY STATEMENT

Reentry Facilities must meet or exceed the minimum standards and requirements established in this policy to ensure a structured, positive, and safe environment for residents, reduce recidivism, provide employment assistance and treatment, promote public safety, maintain the principles of evidence based practices, and establish a seamless transition back to the community.

III. DEFINITIONS

- A. Applicant. Any individual, group, business or organization that has applied to receive an Arkansas Community Correction Reentry Facility License.
- **B.** Reentry Facility. An ACC licensed facility providing housing and programming for one or more residents transferred to ACC. A residents' home or the residence of a resident's family member will not be considered a Reentry Facility for purposes of this directive. To operate a Reentry Facility in the state of Arkansas a person/group must apply for, obtain, and maintain an approved license from ACC.
- **C.** Licensing Authority. ACC is the authority for licensing Reentry Facilities. Facilities are licensed for one year with provisions for renewal as specified in this policy and in the Request for Qualifications (RFQ) from the Arkansas Office of State Procurement (OSP)

- D. Reentry Officer: The liaison between a licensed Reentry Facility and ACC.
- **E. Reentry Housing Coordinator:** The individual assigned to monitor Reentry Facilities, to serve as the liaison between the facility and ACC for compliance issues, and to supervise the billing process.
- **F. Reentry Placement Coordinator:** The individual responsible for the screening and selection of inmates for placement in a Reentry Facility.
- **G.** Licensure Requirements. The information referred to in this Administrative Directive given to applicants of a facility license listing the minimum items and areas that will be inspected during the application process.

IV. PROCEDURES

A. Application: Applicants may contact the Reentry Housing Coordinator for a Reentry Facility license packet. The application packet will also be posted on the ACC website. Applications, documents, and fees submitted for licensure consideration will not be returned. The completed application packet will be sent to the Reentry Housing Coordinator at the Central Office of ACC. The non-refundable fee for the initial Reentry Facility license is \$250. The non-refundable fee for the annual renewal of the Reentry Facility license is \$100. ACC reserves the right to waive licensing fees.

For initial licensure or proposed new location, the applicant must comply with all applicable laws including AR Code § 12-25-101 (2012)

(a) (1) No state agency, board, commission, or governing body of any municipality or county shall approve the location or construction of any community-based residential facility housing juveniles or adults adjudicated or convicted of any sexual or violent offense or any other offense that would constitute a Class C felony or higher, even if the facility otherwise conforms to applicable zoning ordinances, until a public hearing is conducted in the municipality or county of the proposed location of the facility at least thirty (30) days prior to the contracting for the acquisition of any property on which to locate the proposed facility or any existing structure in which to locate the proposed facility by the owner, operator, or care provider of the proposed facility.

(2) No community-based residential facility housing juveniles or adults adjudicated or convicted of any sexual or violent offense or any other criminal offense that would constitute a Class C felony or higher shall be located or constructed within any municipality or county of this state until a public hearing is conducted in the municipality or county of the proposed location of the facility at least thirty (30) days prior to the contracting for the acquisition of any property on which to locate the proposed facility or any existing structure in which to locate the proposed facility by the owner, operator, or care provider of the proposed facility.

(b) All residents within one thousand feet (1000') of the proposed location of the facility shall be notified by mail at least ten (10) days prior to the day of the hearing.

The ACC Housing Coordinator will review the application packet for completion and conduct the background checks on individuals submitted as staff (paid and volunteer) by the owner/operator. If all submitted paperwork is approved, the Housing Coordinator will arrange for the physical inspection of the property and buildings.

B. Licensure: The Reentry Facility Review Team for the licensure and annual inspections of facilities will be determined by the Housing Coordinator.

A Stage 1 Reentry Facility License will be granted for the applicant to be placed on the Office of State Procurement qualified vendor list. Qualifications to be granted a Stage 1 Reentry Facility License may include:

- Proof of a person, group, or organization capable of operating a Reentry Facility.
- Proof of a financial plan capable of sustaining an ongoing Reentry Facility operation.
- If the applicant is a current or former vendor for the State of Arkansas, proof of having been a viable operation without corrective action taken against them.

If placed on the qualified vendor list with a Stage 1 Reentry Facility License, the vendor will have 6 months from the date of that initial license to meet the requirements to obtain a Stage 2 Reentry Facility License. The Stage 2 license is the actual and final Reentry Facility License. No facility may admit residents without a Stage 2 Reentry Facility License. The requirements to obtain a Stage 2 license are included on the Minimum Requirements check list, and the ACC inspection of the facility.

Once a Stage 2 Reentry License has been obtained the vendor must provide the Office of State Procurement with a copy of that license that was issued by Arkansas Community Correction.

Licenses will be issued only for the premises and persons specified in the application and are not transferable. Separate licenses are required for reentry facilities maintained on separate premises, even though they are operated under the same management. The facility cannot accept resident placements until the license to operate an ACC Reentry Facility has been issued and the Office of State Procurement has placed the facility on the Qualified Vendor List.

The Housing Coordinator, for due cause, may recommend to the Chief Deputy Director that a facility license be suspended or revoked. The Chief Deputy Director may assign ACC staff or any other local, state, or federal agency to assist in a facility investigation. In the event of a recommendation for denial of an application or the suspension or revocation of license, the applicant may appeal the denial to the Director of the agency within 30 days of the written recommendation for denial/suspension/revocation.

When a license is renewed, it will be from the previous license expiration date, not any possible extended inspection date. A facility that wishes to renew its license must have all required paperwork and fees submitted to the Housing Coordinator no later than 30 days prior to the license's expiration.

All areas of the licensed facility and all records related to the care and protection of residents, including resident and employee records, must be open for inspection by ACC for the purpose of enforcing policy and regulations at any time, regardless of prior notification.

- **C.** Past Performance: In accordance with provisions of State Procurement Law, specifically OSP Rule R5:19-11-230(b)(1), a vendors past performance with the state may be used to determine if the vendor is "responsible". Proposals submitted by vendors determined to be non-responsible shall be disqualified.
- **D. Request for Qualifications:** In addition to obtaining a Reentry Facility license, the Reentry Facility must be placed on the Qualified Vendor List by properly responding to the Arkansas Community Correction RFQ for a Reentry Facility.
- **E.** Billing: When a facility has met the conditions of licensure and has been approved by the OSP to be placed on the Qualified Vendor list, ACC will reimburse the facility monthly for resident housing at the approved reimbursement rate for up to the length of time stated in the RFQ. The billing process will follow the instructions stated on the RFQ and may include the use of electronic monitoring for housing verification. During a period of license suspension, payment may be withheld or reduced pending satisfactory implementation of an approved corrective action plan. The payment schedule for ACC and for residents is as follows:
 - Phase I: \$30.62/day, paid from ACC to Reentry Facility
 - Phase II and III: \$26.12/day paid from ACC to Reentry Facility and up to \$14.00/day paid from the resident to the Reentry Facility.
 - Phase IV: \$60.00 (one time reimbursement) from ACC to Reentry Facility responsible for the resident during Phase IV.
- **F. Operation of a Reentry Facility:** Reentry Facility must provide supervision, housing and evidence based programs (EBP) and services directed at addressing criminogenic risk factors aimed at reducing recidivism among the target population. At a minimum, the programs must be in compliance with ACC Reentry Minimum Requirements (Attachment A) included at the time the contract agreement begins. The programs must include:
 - Employment skills
 - Job placement
 - Reentry planning
 - Criminal thinking and lifestyle

- Family reunification
- Pro-social support systems
- Education (GED or higher education)
- Substance abuse treatment
- Housing planning and placement

V. MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS

Reentry Facility **must** be licensed as an ACC Reentry Facility, prior to receiving residents.

VI. REENTRY FACILITY REQUIREMENTS

- A. Reentry Facility must develop curriculum which uses evidence-based programs or services directed at addressing the criminogenic risk factors and stabilizing needs of the resident, which, if left unaddressed, could lead to community supervision violations and/or criminal reoffending.
- **B.** Reentry Facility must provide all personnel, management, security, equipment supplies, and services necessary for performance of all aspects of the contract.
- C. Reentry Facility must comply with all applicable federal, state, and local land use, building, and zoning codes, Corrections policies and procedures, as set forth by ACC.
- **D.** Reentry Facility must accept all resident placements from ACC if allowable by city, county, and state laws. Justifiable reasons include any that would result in the violation of local and/or state laws. Reentry Facility must provide, in writing, the reason for denial.
- E. Reentry Facility must meet or exceed the minimum standards and requirements established in this policy.
- F. Reentry Facility must maintain a resident account system for management of all resident funds. The account system must be kept secure and at no time shall a resident have direct access to his/her funds. Request must be made from the resident to the reentry facility for funds, if necessary. Residents are allowed to request up to \$30 per week from their account for approved purchases. Residents must not have individual bank accounts. Paychecks should include both the reentry facility name and the resident's name. If returned to ADC, a money order with the resident's name and ADC number shall be mailed to the following address for the total of the remaining funds and a completed Deposit Form (attached). Funds owed to the reentry facility may be deducted prior to returning the remaining funds.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION TRUST FUND CENTRALIZED BANKING P.O. BOX 8908 PINE BLUFF, AR 71611

- **G.** Reentry Facility staff must conduct drug test at least twice weekly of all residents. Reentry Facility staff must notify the ACC Reentry Officer of any resident's positive drug/alcohol test results immediately by phone. Reentry Facilities must utilize at least an 8 panel drug test and a test for K2.
- **H.** Reentry Facility staff must respond to and notify the ACC Reentry Officer of subpoenas, court orders, search and/or arrest warrants.
- I. Reentry Facility staff must notify ACC immediately of any resident's violent or threatening behavior, endangerment of others, or awareness of a resident's attempted or actual escape from the facility.
- J. The Reentry Facility must possess an established chain-of-command. The chain-ofcommand shall be shown on an organization chart that includes a description of each position, outlining the management structure, responsibility, and contact information of each paid staff member. The organization chart shall be provided to ACC upon licensure.
- **K.** Reentry Facility must have trained staff on duty on the premises to provide 24 hour coverage, seven days a week. Trained staff refers to staff that have completed a training block developed by ACC within 10 days of hire or assignment. The facility must maintain a resident to staff ratio of at least 25:1. This coverage is to ensure safety of all staff and residents and secure supervision of all residents.
- L. Reentry Facility staff shall complete and document daily scheduled and unscheduled counts. Residents not present during count shall be accounted for through sign out logs and/or approved employment schedules. Counts shall be conducted at least twice per shift and at every shift change for the reentry facility.
- M. Reentry Facility must ensure residents will not supervise, manage, or have authority over other residents at any point during their stay at the reentry facility. This does not restrict the hiring of staff with criminal convictions; however, staff who are on supervision may not supervise, manage, or have authority over residents.
- N. Reentry Facility must pass an annual Health Department inspection, if meals are prepared for all residents in a central kitchen, and inspection by the fire department and provide documentation of passing to ACC upon receipt.
- **O.** For any resulting contracts, all facilities must comply with local state fire regulations and applicable planning and zoning ordinances.

VII. PROHIBITED STAFF BEHAVIOR

Reentry Facility staff shall not under any circumstance:

- A. Exchange personal gifts or favors with residents, their family, or their friends.
- **B.** Accept any form of bribe or unlawful inducement.
- C. Discriminate against any resident on the basis of race, religion, creed, gender, national origin, disability, charge/offense, or other individual characteristics.
- D. Employ corporal punishment or unnecessary physical force.
- E. Subject residents to any form of physical or mental abuse.
- F. Withhold information from ACC including threats to the security of the facility, its staff, visitors, or community. This can lead to termination of contract.

VIII. FACILITY POLICY AND PROCEDURE

- A. Reentry Facility must develop and implement written policies and procedures, staff schedules, and security related practices that meet or exceed the requirements of the RFQ, the ACC Reentry Facility Program Schedule, Administrative Directive, and State and federal statutes. ACC shall have final approval of facility policies and procedures.
 - 1. The facility policies and procedures must be reviewed and updated at least annually and reviewed by ACC upon renewal of the license.
 - 2. A copy of all policy and procedures shall be provided to ACC Reentry Division. Updates and changes must be provided to ACC thirty (30) days prior to incorporation.
- **B.** Reentry Facility shall have written policy and procedures manual to include, but is not limited to, the following policies:
 - 1. Resident Case Management
 - 2. Resident Discipline
 - 3. Resident Passes
 - 4. Resident Grooming
 - 5. Release Processing
 - 6. Escape
 - 7. Zero Tolerance for Sexual Harassment or Abuse
 - 8. No Smoking or Tobacco Use
 - 9. Hostage Situations
 - 10. Any other policies pertaining to the operation and oversight of the Reentry Facility deemed necessary

- C. Reentry Facility must have a written policy and procedure which specifies fire prevention, regulations and practices to ensure the safety of residents, visitor, and staff for each location. At minimum, policy and procedure must address the following:
 - 1. Provision of fire emergency planning sessions for staff and residents at least quarterly, with written documentation.
 - 2. Written evacuation plan posted for all residents to see.
 - 3. Working smoke detectors in each room that houses a resident.
- **D.** Reentry Facility must have written policy and procedures for emergency situations for each location and documented staff training. At a minimum, this must include information concerning:
 - 1. Escapes.
 - 2. Medical emergencies.
 - 3. Housing Contingency Plan

IX. ASSIGNMENT OF RESIDENTS

The target population for Reentry placement is Male and Female inmates confined to an ADC or ACC facility and:

- 1. Who may be within eighteen (18) months of their transfer eligibility (TE) date and meet other legal requirements; and
- 2. Who are moderate or high risk of recidivism as determined by the Arkansas Offender Risk Needs Assessment (ARORA); and/or

X. RESIDENT RISK ASSESSMENT

The intake risk assessment will be done by the Reentry Officer upon transfer to the reentry facility and a copy will be provided to the Reentry Facility for use in the resident's reentry plan. The Reentry Facility shall use the resident risk assessment in the development of an individual reentry plan.

XI. RESIDENT GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

Residents are encouraged and expected to attempt to solve issues and/or problems through informal procedures, such as verbal communication with staff and other residents, prior to submitting a formal grievance. A formal grievance must follow established procedure and timelines.

XII. HEALTHCARE AND MEDICAL INSURANCE

All residents will be screened and submitted for enrollment in health insurance prior to transfer to a reentry facility.

XIII. REENTRY FACILITY INFORMATION

- A. Electronic Monitors: ACC will require the use of electronic monitoring devices for a period of the program. ACC shall have the right to extend the conditions of electronic monitoring for any resident placement in the Reentry Facility.
- **B. Program failure:** A resident may be removed from the program and returned to ADC for continued failures, acts or threats of violence, a positive drug test, or for any reason disrupting the security or good order of the facility.
- **C. PREA Compliance:** Reentry Facilities will fall under the residential conditions of the Prison Rape Elimination Act and must make measurable efforts to obtain compliance with PREA.
- **D. Security Issues:** In the event of a walk away, potential violence, or other issues of a security nature the Reentry Facility should immediately call the ACC Reentry Officer. The ACC Reentry Officer shall immediately notify the Assistant Director of Reentry by phone. For issues of active violence the Reentry Facility should immediately call the local law enforcement authorities and then contact the ACC Reentry Officer.
- E. Should a resident not arrive within thirty (30) minutes of the designated return time, the Reentry Facility will immediately notify the Reentry Officer. Upon arrival, the Reentry Facility will immediately notify ACC and verify the reason for reporting late and determine the appropriate disciplinary action, in accordance with their policy guidelines.

XIV. PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

Reentry Facilities must meet or exceed the following performance standards to remain in compliance with the Reentry Facility license.

- A. Maintain a 90% employment rate for residents at completion of the six month program.
- **B.** Maintain a 90% stable housing rate for residents at completion of the six month program.
- C. Maintain a recidivism rate not less than 20% lower than the statewide recidivism rate.
- **D.** Maintain compliance with all ACC Policies and Procedures regarding the operation and program components of Reentry Facilities.

Failure to meet or exceed these performance standards will result in sanctions placed on the Reentry Facility ranging from a 60 day probationary period in which resident placement will be suspended up to termination of the Reentry Facility license.

XV. COLLABORATION

The following is established to gain continuity and coordination in the management of reentry housing and programing for residents:

- A. The Reentry Facility must provide the names and numbers of those residents in their facility when requested.
- **B.** The ACC Reentry Officer assigned to a facility will investigate and report findings of any complaints, observed or suspected non-compliance with rules, policies, laws and regulations to the Housing Coordinator for possible further referral or action.
- **C.** Facility staff will immediately communicate to the ACC Reentry Officer each positive drug/alcohol test results.
- **D.** Facility staff will respond to and notify the ACC Reentry Officer of such requests as subpoenas, court orders, search and/or arrest warrants.
- E. Facility staff will notify the ACC Reentry Officer immediately of any offender's violent or threatening behavior, endangerment of others, and awareness of a walk away from the facility.
- **F.** The Housing Coordinator will arrange onsite visits and inspections (initial and periodic, announced and unannounced), review reports of critical incidents involving or concerning residents, and make objective recommendations.
- **G.** The Reentry Facility will post office staffing hours and will comply with posted staffing hours. There must be a staff member or volunteer present 24 hours per day.
- **H.** The Reentry Facility will notify the Housing Coordinator of any staff additions with information needed to complete a criminal background check prior to their employment at the Reentry Facility.

XVI. CONTRACT COMPLIANCE

The owner/operator/manager of the facility must comply with all requirements/agreements of the RFQ/Contract as stated in the agreement as well as all requirements of this AD.

XVII. ATTACHMENTS/FORMS

AD 16-13 Form 1 Minimum Requirements Checklist AD 16-13 Form 2 Stage 1 License AD 16-13 Form 3 Stage 2 License

Arkansas Community Correction Reentry Facility Minimum Requirements Checklist

Facility Name:

Date:

During initial license inspections, annual renewal inspections, and unannounced visits by ACC staff, the following Minimum Requirement Checklist will be used. The inspections will not be limited to these items.

Copies of license or inspection by/from:	Inspector's Initials
1. Fire / Safety Inspection Annually	
2. Health Department/Food Service Annually	
3. Business License Initial License or after remodel / repair	
4. Plumbing Code Initial License or after remodel / repair	
5. Electrical Code Initial License or after remodel / repair	
6. Zoning Approval, Public Hearing, or Special Use Permit. Note: for new construction, new location, a public hearing must be held that meets the requirements of Arkansas Law section 12-25-101(a)(2).	
7. Copy of transportation vehicles insurance.	
8. Copy of facility property and liability insurance	
9. List of all staff and volunteers for background check (owner/operator must obtain / maintain consent to release information from staff and volunteers) Note: No person currently on parole may supervise another offender, no person with a propensity for violence may serve as staff member, no person under 21 may serve as a staff member.	
10. Copies of facility disaster plans, evacuation plans, and contingency plans for operations if the facility must be abandoned. Contingency must be ample size.	
11. Copy of policy stating notification of Reentry Officer and procedures when an resident escapes / walks away from the facility.	
12. Copy of facility Policy and Procedure Manual that is unique to this facility	
13. Copy of facility resident orientation materials including facility rules, and consequences for violations.	
14. Copy of programming curriculum.	
15. Admission and discharge policies and procedures	
16. Proof that the facility is pursuing PREA compliance.	
17. Is the facility ADA compliant?	
18. Are resident records confidential, uniform in format and content, and properly secured?	
19. Copy of policy that passes / furloughs for offenders are approved by the Reentry Officer.	
20. Copy of staff listing and staffing hours.	
21. Inspection team proof of adequate space in sleeping rooms for the number of occupants (minimum 50 square feet per intended occupant)	
22. Inspection team proof of individual storage space for offenders clothing and personal items	-
 23. Inspection team proof of minimum ratio of bathrooms (meaning sink, toilet, shower) to offenders (1 to 8) 	

24. Adequate laundry facilities at the Reentry Housing Facility	
25. Inspection team proof of signs posted at all entrances banning weapons except for law enforcement officials/officers	
26. Inspection team proof of facility being equipped with First Aid Kit, fire alarms and that fire suppression equipment continues to comply with annual Fire Inspection	
27. Proof of vendors contacts for employment.	
28. Dining room with tables and chairs.	
29. Adequate Kitchen facilities.	
30. Facilities for programs.	
31. Facilities for break room / day room.	
32. Smoke alarms in Kitchen and all sleeping areas.	
33 . Bulletin board prominently displaying in the facility with postings of rules, fire evacuation plans, emergency protocols, PREA information, emergency staff contact information.	
34. Copy of facility policy concerning equal opportunity for employees.	
35. Copy of facility policy concerning equal opportunity for residents.	
36. Copy of certification with that facility does not employ illegal aliens.	
37. Inspection Team proof that all medication is behind double locks.	
38. Inspection Team proof of facility designee to accept medications.	
39. Check or Money Order attached to application.	

REE		Community STAGE 1 FY LICEN		ATION	
Send	COMPLETED APPLICAT <u>Richard</u> OR FAX TO ACC R	.GUY@ARKAN	ISAS.GOV		
Application Date:					
Facility Name:					
Address:	Street	City	State		Zip
Owner/Operator	Name(Type or Print)		County of Faci	lity	
Telephone Numbe	er		Cell#		
		nments Only	Below This Line		
	on, group, or organizati		operating a Reenti		
	No Comments: _				
🗌 Yes 🗌	No Comments:				
3 If the applicat a viable opera	nt is a current or former ation without corrective	r vendor for the action taken a	e State of Arkansa against them.	is, proof of ha	ving been
Yes] No Comments: _				
Proposed number	of beds:		Male	Female	
ACC Staff:			Date:	,	
Stage 1 License:	Approved] Denied	CC Assistant Direc	ctor of Reentry	y/Designe

ST	munity Correction AGE 2 LICENSE APPLICATION	
Check one: New Application Ren	newal Application Date:	
Facility Name:		
Address: Street	City State	Zip
Owner/Operator:	County of Facility: Name(Type or Print)	
Telephone:	Cell#	
Facility Email Address: Housing Capacity: # of Males	# of Females	
Is the facility accessible to individuals with phys	sical disabilities?	🗌 No
Meals Served: Breakfast		Dinner
Programs ProvidedYesNEmployment Skills	o Services Provided Employment Assistance Mental Health Services Public Transportation Private Transportation Resident Parking Laundry Services	Yes No

Please list the name, position, date of birth, social security number, race and gender (F-Female) (M-Male) for each person who will provide services at the Reentry Facility.

Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB		Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Name(Print or type)	Position	DOB	SS#	Race	Gender
Signature of Applicant/Titl Signature means agreeme regulations and laws con and including withdray Owner/Operator is respo	ent by owner/operato cerning ACC Reentr	y Facilities. Fail ACC and/or ci	ure to comply n vil penalties f	or violation	of state law
staff and volunteers. Date received by ACC:		Appli	ication Complete	ed: 🗌 Yes	No
If no, what action was take Reentry Facility Coordinat	or Signature:				
Approval of ACC Director				Date:	

AD 16-13 Form 3



Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-12 TRANSITIONAL HOUSING FACILITY LICENSE

TO: ARKANSAS COMMUNITY CORRECTION EMPLOYEES

FROM: SHEILA SHARP, DIRECTOR

SUPERSEDED: AD 14-23

APPROVED: <u>Signature on File</u>

EFFECTIVE: March 11, 2016

- I. APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) employees, applicants for and recipients of a Transitional Housing Facility License, owners, operators, and staff members of licensed Transitional Housing Facilities.
- **II. POLICY STATEMENT.** Transitional Housing Facilities must meet or exceed the minimum standards and requirements established in this policy to ensure a structured, positive, and safe environment for residents, to reduce recidivism, to encourage employment and treatment, to provide public safety, to transition offenders back to the community to be productive citizens and to maintain the principles of evidence based practices.

III. DEFINITIONS.

- A. Applicant. Any individual, group, business or organization that has applied to receive an Arkansas Community Correction Transitional Housing license.
- **B.** Transitional Housing Facility. An ACC licensed facility providing housing for one or more residents placed in ACC community supervision. A resident's home or the home of a resident's family member will not be considered a Transitional Housing Facility for purposes of this directive. To operate a facility in the state of Arkansas a person/group must apply for, obtain, and maintain an approved license from ACC.
- **C.** Licensing Authority. ACC is the authority for licensing Transitional Housing Facilities. Facilities are licensed for one year with provisions for renewal as specified in this policy.
- **D. Transitional Housing Coordinator:** The individual assigned to monitor Transitional Housing Facilities, to serve as the liaison between the facility and ACC for compliance issues, and to supervise the billing process.

E. Licensure Requirements. The information referred to in the Administrative Regulation given to applicants of a facility license listing the minimum items and areas that will be inspected during the application process.

IV. PROCEDURES.

A. Application: Applicants may contact the Coordinator for a Transitional Housing Facility license packet or download the application packet from the ACC Public website (dcc.arkansas.gov). Applications, documents, and fees submitted for licensure consideration will not be returned. The completed application packet and any required fees will be sent to the Coordinator at the Central Office of ACC.

For initial licensure or proposed new location, the applicant must comply with the public hearing requirements of Arkansas Code § 12-25-101 (2012)

For initial licensure or proposed new location, the applicant must comply with the public hearing requirements of Arkansas Code, section 12-25-101 (a) (2). "No community-based residential facility housing juveniles or adults adjudicated or convicted of any sexual or violent offense or any other criminal offense that would constitute a Class C felony or higher shall be located or constructed within any municipality or county of this state until a public hearing is conducted in the municipality or county of the proposed location of the facility at least thirty (30) days prior to the contracting for the acquisition of any property on which to locate the proposed facility or any existing structure in which to locate the proposed facility by the owner, operator, or care provider of the proposed facility."

(b) All residents within one thousand feet (1000') of the proposed location of the facility shall be notified by mail at least ten (10) days prior to the day of the hearing.

The ACC Housing Coordinator will review the application packet for completion and complete the background checks on individuals submitted as staff and volunteers by the owner/operator.

B. Licensure: The Transitional Housing Review Team for the licensure and annual inspections of facilities will be determined by the Coordinator and Area Manager.

Licenses will be issued only for the premises and persons specified in the application and are not be transferable. Separate licenses are required for transitional housing facilities maintained on separate premises, even though they are operated under the same management. The facility cannot admit any ACC residents until the license to operate a Transitional Housing Facility has been issued.

The Housing Coordinator, for due cause, may recommend to the Chief Deputy Director that a facility license be suspended or revoked. The Chief Deputy Director may assign ACC staff or any other local, state, or federal agency to assist in a facility investigation. In the event of a recommendation for denial of an application or the suspension or revocation of license, the applicant may appeal the denial to the Director of the agency within 30 days of the written recommendation for denial/suspension/revocation. Applicants may appeal the decision of the Director in writing within 30 days of that decision to the Board of Corrections whose decision is final.

When a license is renewed, it will be from the previous license expiration date, not any possible extended inspection date. A facility that wishes to renew its license must have all required paperwork and fees submitted to the Coordinator no later than 30 days prior to the license's expiration.

All areas of the licensed facility and all records related to the care and protection of residents, including resident and employee records, must be open for inspection by ACC for the purpose of enforcing policy and regulations.

The licensing procedure for self-governed facilities that are proven to be such by Best Practices may use a modified application/licensure procedure as approved by the Director.

- **C. Request for Qualifications:** After obtaining a license, the owner/operator may choose to obtain a contract by responding to the Arkansas Community Correction Request for Qualifications. When obtained, the facility may bill ACC for limited reimbursement for housing residents as stated in the contract. The Request for Qualifications is available from the ACC website, from the Coordinator, and from the ACC Purchasing Department.
- **D. Past Performance:** In accordance with provisions of State Procurement Law, specifically OSP Rule R5:19-11-230(b)(1), a vendors past performance with the state may be used to determine if the vendor is "responsible". Proposals submitted by vendors determined to be non-responsible shall be disqualified.
- **E. Billing:** When a facility has met the conditions of licensure and has been approved by the Office of Procurement for payment as a vendor, ACC will reimburse the facility for resident housing at the approved reimbursement rate for up to 90 or 120 days, depending on the classification of the offender, from the date of release from an ADC or ACC facility. A facility may not bill ACC for housing a resident prior to their approval as a vendor. The billing process will follow the instructions stated on the Request for Qualification and may include the use of electronic monitoring for residential verification. During a period of license suspension payment may be withheld or reduced pending satisfactory implementation of an approved corrective action plan as specified in the Request for Qualifications.

ACC shall reimburse licensed transitional houses according to the following schedule:

Moderate risk, High risk, level 1 and level 2 sex offenders: Length of stay: 90 days Reimbursement:

- Day 1-45: \$30.00/day
- Day 46-90: \$20.00/day
- Offender per diem: \$14.00/day starting on the first day of full time employment.

Level 3 and level 4 sex offenders: Length of stay: 120 days Reimbursement:

- Day 1-60: \$50.00
- Day 61-120: \$40.00
- Offender per diem: \$14.00/day starting on the first day of full time employment.

- **F.** Acceptance of Residents: Licensed transitional facilities must review and accept all submitted applications, unless justifiable reasons are present. Justifiable reasons include, but are not limited to, acceptance of a resident which would result in the violation of any city, county, or state laws. The transitional facility must provide the reason for denial to the applicant, in writing.
- **G. Resident Employment:** The vendor is required to aid the resident in seeking employment. The resident must be at the facility for seven (7) days prior to beginning employment. The resident must be fully employed by day 45 and maintain full time employment through the duration of their time at the transitional housing facility.

Upon obtaining employment, the facility shall complete employment checks to verify the legitimacy and nature of the employment. The facility shall review residents' pay stubs to ensure the resident is making at least minimum wage and having taxes withdrawn.

The vendor may not require or allow the resident to work without payment at any employment that pays less than Arkansas minimum wage, whether that employment is outside of the facility or for the facility. The resident may not "volunteer" to work without pay or work to have their bill from the vendor reduced. The resident will be paid in full and will in turn make payments to the vendor if owed. Employment and payment records for residents will be made available upon the request of ACC.

- H. Facility Programming: The vendor is expected to provide applicable programming which addresses identified criminogenic and other needs for residents at the facility. Applicable programming may include drug and alcohol programs, education services, and stable housing assistance. Programming can be provided through referrals to local service providers and in house classes.
- I. Facility Fees: Residents, their families, and any other financial source may not be charged any fees, other than the per diem, (e.g. admission, filing, and other entry fees) for transitional housing. No facility may charge residents additional fees for services or fines for policy violations other than the actual costs of transportation and laundry.
- J. Staff Coverage: Licensed transitional houses must have trained staff (paid or volunteer) on premises to provide 24 hour supervision, 7 days a week. Facilities shall maintain a staff to offender ratio of no less than 1 to 25 at all times.
- **K.** A facility may not withhold any portion of the income of a resident, regardless of the income source, to include Social Security, SSI, SNAP, or any other government or private income source. All resident income, in check or any other form will be the property of the resident. The facility may bill the resident for any authorized costs and the resident will pay the authorized cost from their funds. A receipt will be given to the resident for any and all payments.
- L. ACC will not reimburse licensed Transitional Housing Facilities for residents categorized as a low risk for recidivism. ACC will reimburse for residents with a moderate or high risk for recidivism and level 1 and 2 sex residents at a rate commensurate with current budgets; and will reimburse for residents who are level 3 and 4 sex offenders at a higher rate commensurate with current budgets.

Once a resident has used their maximum reimbursement days as allowed by ACC, the facility may not charge the resident a daily self-pay rate greater than \$30.00 per day.

Payment will be made for residents for date of arrival to the facility; ACC will not be responsible for payment for resident's date of departure.

- M. Monitor Costs: ACC maintains the right to collect applicable costs for Electronic Monitoring devices for residents in transitional housing.
- N. The licensed transitional facility staff shall complete and document daily scheduled and unscheduled counts. Residents not present during count shall be accounted for through sign out logs and/or approved employment schedules. Counts shall be conducted at least twice per shift and at every shift change for the transitional housing facility.
- O. Licensed transitional facilities must provide 3 meals per day with at least one (1) meal being hot. Total calories for the day shall be 2500.
- P. Transitional Facility staff must conduct drug test at least once weekly of all residents. Transitional Facility staff must notify the ACC of any resident's positive drug/alcohol test results immediately by phone. Transitional Facilities must utilize at least an 8 panel drug test and a test for K2.

V. OPERATION OF A TRANSITIONAL HOUSING FACILITY WITHOUT A LICENSE.

- A. Non-Licensed Facility Penalty. If a facility is housing residents for reimbursement without a license, ACC will impose civil penalties not to exceed \$500 per day for each day the violation continues. In addition, alternative sanctions may be imposed pursuant to law (Arkansas law, section 16-93-1603 and section 25-15-217).
- **B.** ACC staff aware of an unlicensed facility being operated in Arkansas must bring this to the attention of the Coordinator. Members of the public may bring unlicensed facilities to the attention of any ACC staff member who will, in turn, notify the Coordinator. The Coordinator will report claims of an unlicensed facility to the Assistant Director of Reentry who will ensure investigation.

VI. PROHIBITED STAFF BEHAVIOR

Transitional facility staff shall not under any circumstance:

- A. Exchange personal gifts or favors with residents, their family, or their friends.
- B. Accept any form of bribe or unlawful inducement.
- C. Discriminate against any resident on the basis of race, religion, creed, gender, national origin, disability, charge/offense, or other individual characteristics.
- D. Employ corporal punishment or unnecessary physical force.
- E. Subject residents to any form of physical or mental abuse.
- F. Withhold information from ACC including threats to the security of the facility, its staff, visitors, or community. This can lead to termination of contract.

VII. COLLABORATION.

The following is established to gain continuity and coordination in the management of transitional housing arrangements for ACC residents:

- **A.** The Institutional Parole Officer will coordinate activities between the transitional housing provider, the Arkansas Parole Board, and the correctional staff as described in the Request for Qualifications provided by the Office of State Procurement.
- **B.** Parole/Probation Area Managers will assign and maintain assignment of a supervision officer to manage cases and coordinate with staff at Transitional Housing Facilities as necessary. The Area Manager may assign others as needed. The assigned officer(s) must be knowledgeable of the minimum standards that are required of the facility.
- **C.** The licensed Transitional Housing Facility must provide the names and numbers of those under supervision that are residing at the facility to ACC staff when requested.
- **D**. The supervision officer assigned to a facility will investigate and report findings of any complaints, observed or suspected non-compliance with rules, policies, laws and regulations to the Area Manager for possible further referral or action.
- E. Area Managers will report any serious violations of policy, procedure, or practice to the Coordinator. The Coordinator will work with the Area Manager towards a resolution of the violation. Area Managers will forward any written complaint by a resident, staff member, or member of the public concerning a facility to the Coordinator to become part of the facility file.
- F. ACC staff and facility staff will communicate to each other positive drug/alcohol test results immediately.
- G. Facility staff will respond to and notify the supervision officer of such requests as subpoenas, court orders, search and/or arrest warrants.
- H. Facility staff will honor ACC travel passes and immediately report violations of travel restrictions to the supervision officer. Facility staff may not grant an out of county pass without the permission of the supervision officer or the parole/probation office.
- I. Facility staff will not, except in the case of emergency or threat of injury or death, dismiss a resident from the facility until they notify the supervision officer or the parole/probation office by phone. The facility should only dismiss a resident for substantial and documented reasons. Dismissal actions are appropriate for such infractions as violence, life threatening actions, property destruction, substantial verbal abuse or violation of the facilities fundamental statutes (alcohol, drugs, etc.).
- J. Facility staff will notify the supervision officer (or his/her office) immediately of any resident's violent or threatening behavior, endangerment of others, and awareness of an abscond or escape from the facility.
- **K**. The Coordinator will arrange onsite visits and inspections (initial and periodic, announced and unannounced), review reports of critical incidents involving or concerning ACC residents, and make objective recommendations.

- L. The facility will post office staffing hours and will comply with posted staffing hours. There must be a staff member / house manager / responsible party present 24 hours per day.
- M. The facility will notify the Transitional Housing Coordinator of any employee additions with information needed to complete a criminal background check.
- N. Arkansas Community Correction shall, at all reasonable times, have the right to enter the facility's work and living areas to inspect, monitor, or otherwise evaluate the quality, appropriateness, and timeliness of work, services, or both, that have been or are being performed.
- VIII. PREA COMPLIANCE: Contracted facilities with populations consisting of at least 50% ACC residents for a majority of the contract year must pursue PREA compliance standards for community confinement.
- **IX. CONTRACT COMPLIANCE:** The owner/operator/manager of the facility must comply with all requirements/agreements of the Request for Qualifications/Contract as stated in the agreement.
 - **X. EQUAL OPPORTUNITY:** Transitional Housing facilities' accommodations and services must be provided without regard to race, color, gender, religion, age, national origin, genetic information, disability or other biases prohibited by state or federal law.

XI. ATTACHMENTS/FORMS:

AD 16-12 Form 1: Transitional Housing Facility Inspection Checklist

Arkansas Community Correction Transitional Housing Facility Inspection Checklist

Facility Name:		Date:
----------------	--	-------

During initial license inspections, annual renewal inspections and unannounced visits by ACC staff, the following Inspection Checklist will be used. The inspections will not be limited to these items.

Note: If application is for renewal, those items marked with an asterisk (*) are not required. The facility must have a separate license for each individual premise, even if they are operated under the same management.

Copies of license or inspection by/from:_____

Inspector's Initials:

1.	Fire / Safety Inspection	
2.	Health Department/Food Service	
3.	Business License	
4 .	Plumbing Code*	
5.	Electrical Code*	
6 .	Zoning Approval, Public Hearing, or Special Use Permit. Note: For an initial license	
	or proposed new location, a public hearing must be held that meets the requirements of Arkansas Law section 12-25-101. *	
7.	If transportation for resident is provided, copy of automobile insurance, proof of vehicle	
	fire suppression equipment and first aid kit in vehicle.	
8.	Copy of facility property and liability insurance	
9.	Itemized list of all fees (initial, monthly, penalty, etc.) charged to residents.	
	Note: Fees must be reasonable.	
10	Itemized list of products or items and their cost sold to residents.	
Į –	Note: Costs must be reasonable.	
11	List of all staff and volunteers for background check (owner/operator must obtain /	
1	maintain consent to release information from staff and volunteers).	5
	Note: No resident currently on parole or probation may supervise another resident; no	ļ
	person with a propensity for violence may serve as staff member.	ļ
12.	1 1 1 1 none plane for operations it	
	the facility must be abandoned.*	×
13.	Copy of facility policy to subpoen as, court orders, arrest warrants.*	ļ
14.	Copy of policy stating notification of ACC staff when an resident escapes or absconds	
	from the facility, or prior notification if discharged.*	ļ
15.	Copy of facility Policy and Procedure Manual that is unique to this facility.*	ļ
16.	Copy of facility resident handbook/orientation materials including facility rules, curtews,	
	admission procedures, and consequences for violations.*	

17 .	Copy of resident handbook/orientation procedures that include facility rules, curfews,	
	and consequences for rule violations.	
18.	Copy of resident orientation materials.*	
<u>19.</u>	Statement of admission and discharge policies and procedures.*	
20.	If the total number of residents averages over 50% of the facility population for the	
	majority of the year, is the facility pursuing PREA compliance?	
21.	Is the facility ADA compliant?	
22.	Are resident records confidential, uniform in format and content, and properly secured?	
23	Proof that each resident has signed a release of information form and that releases of	
	information for medical, treatment or personal reasons have been documented as to why	
	and when and that the resident has been notified of the release.	
24.	Proof of Transitional Housing Facility staff has made, at a minimum, monthly resident	
	notes (positive or negative) to the assigned supervision officer.	<u> </u>
25	Proof of prior authorization from ACC, court, or Parole Board before accepting ACC	
23.	residents into the Transitional Housing Facility.	
26	Proof of Policy stating that facility services are provided without regard to race, color,	-
20.	gender, religion, age, national origin, genetic information, disability or other biases	
	tilitie the State on Federal law'	
	prohibited by State or Federal law* Copy of policy that out of county travel or special passes for residents are approved by	
27.	ACC PRIOR to the travel and are honored.	
28.	Copy of staff listing and staffing hours.	1
29.	Inspection team proof of adequate space in sleeping rooms for the number of occupants	
	(minimum 50 square feet per intended occupant).	
30.	Inspection team proof of individual storage space for residents' clothing and personal	
	items.	
31.	Inspection team proof of minimum ratio of bathrooms (meaning sink, toilet, shower) to	
	residents (1 to 8).	+
32.	Inspection team proof of separation of bedroom/bathroom if co-ed.	+
33.	If facility is a private residence, inspection team proof of separate entrance and service	
	areas for residents.	
34.	A dequate laundry facilities at or near the Transitional Housing Facility.	
35	Inspection team proof of signs posted at all entrances banning weapons except for law	
	enforcement officials/officers.	
36	Inspection team proof of facility being equipped with First Aid Kit, fire alarms and that	
0.	fire suppression equipment continues to comply with annual Fire Inspection.	
27	Inspection team proof that facility can be accessed by residents 24 hours per day.	
31.	Check or money order attached to application in the correct amount.	
<u>38.</u>		

Notes:


Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-11 Escapes

TO: Arkansas Community Correction Employees

FROM: Sheila Sharp, Director

SUPERSEDES: AD 16-03

APPROVED: _____ Signature on File ______ EFFECTIVE: March 1, 2016

- I. APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) employees.
- II. POLICY. Plans and procedures for managing escapes must be readily available to appropriately trained persons. (2-CO-4G-02; 4-ACRS-2A-12 and -7F-06)
 - **A.** Overview. Specific procedures that may be quickly used should an escape occur must be available and appropriate employees must be trained to use them.
 - **B.** Permitting Escape. Pursuant to Arkansas law section 5-54-113, an employee responsible for the supervision of persons detained in correctional facilities or in custody who knowingly permits the escape of a person detained in a correctional facility or in custody pursuant to an arrest for, or a charge or conviction of, a felony of any class, commits the offense of permitting escape in the first degree.
- **III. PROCEDURES.** The first twenty-four hours after the escape are the most critical to the capture effort.
 - A. Escape Process Checklist. When an escape from a reentry facility or community correction center has been confirmed, actions must be taken as described in this policy to include the attached "Escape from a Facility or Reentry Facility Checklist."
 - **B.** Capture Efforts. Capture efforts must be coordinated with the Arkansas State Police, with area parole officers and local law enforcement agencies responsible for public safety in the geographic location.

- **C. After Apprehension.** After apprehending the escapee, the Center Supervisor or Assistant Director for Reentry responsible for the facility must:
 - notify all individuals and agencies alerted at the time of the escape
 - take action pursuant to the Resident Conduct policy
 - take action to return judicial transfers and inmates at a reentry facility to the Arkansas Department of Correction, and
 - take other appropriate actions such as recalling officers from escape posts, recovering equipment and updating eOMIS.

Note: A custody status change in eOMIS from "Escape" to "In Custody" will trigger an automatic telephonic notification to all Vine-registered victims that the escapee has been returned to custody.

IV. ATTACHMENTS.

Attachment 1 Escape from a Facility or Reentry Facility Checklist

AD 16-11 Form 1 Escaped Offender Information

Arkansas Community Correction ESCAPE FROM A FACILITY OR REENTRY FACILITY CHECKLIST

Who / Situation	What To Do / Action
An ACC Facility or	Notify the Center Supervisor or Reentry Officer
reentry facility official who has confirmed an escape	Do not delay notification to gather information. Do provide known information such as the escapee's name, clothing, time/location last seen, mode and direction of travel.
Center Supervisor or Reentry Officer upon notification of an escape from an ACC Facility or reentry facility	 Get as much information as possible from the caller, filling in the Escape Information form Check GPS monitor for location history, if applicable Call the Deputy Dir. of Residential Services or Assistant Director of Reentry Call the Chief Deputy Director Call CACCC and report the escape; ask to have a temporary warrant and BOLO issued Complete incident report in eOMIS File charges for a felony escape with the prosecuting attorney for the jurisdiction where the escape occurred
Deputy Director or Assistant Director of Reentry	 Notify Chief Deputy Director Respond to Incident
Chief Deputy Director	 Assign an Incident Commander Call the Director Call Internal Affairs Administrator (IAA) Call Deputy Director of Communications and Public Affairs
Incident Commander	Respond and Assign Staff
Director and appropriate Deputy/Assistant Director	Comply with the "Immediate Notification Process Within ACC" as described in the policy "Reporting and Investigating Incidents, Hazards and Maltreatment AD"
Central Arkansas Community Correction Center (CACCC)	 When informed of an escape, ask the reporting person for the information on the Escapes form. Issue a temporary escape warrant (this warrant is good for up to 48 hours). Issue a BOLO in the ACIC computer system Email a copy of the BOLO, a recent offender photo and the Escape Information form to the Arkansas State Fusion Center and follow up with a phone call to ensure receipt and to answer any additional questions. In eOMIS do an external movement to change status to "Escaped" [this will initiate VINE notifications] Check eOMIS to determine whether the escapee is a sex offender. If the offender is a sex offender, update the ACIC sex offender registration
	An ACC Facility or reentry facility official who has confirmed an escape Center Supervisor or Reentry Officer upon notification of an escape from an ACC Facility or reentry facility Deputy Director or Assistant Director of Reentry Chief Deputy Director Incident Commander Director and appropriate Deputy/Assistant Director Central Arkansas Community Correction

AD 16-11 as of 3/1/2016

Arkansas Community Correction ESCAPED OFFENDER INFORMATION

Reporting Facility				Date	
Re	porting Facility	Address		Time	
	Escapee's Full 1	Name	E	Escapee's Known Aliases	
<u></u>	PID Numb	er			
Last Seen Date/Time:			Place Last Seen:		
Last Seen By Whom:	N	ame	Title	Telephone	
Possible Motive for Escape:					
Probable Dire Mode of Trav					
Vehicle (if applicable):	Year	Color	Make	Model	

ADDITIONAL PERTINENT INFORMATION

Include number & description of accomplices, possible injuries, weapons, or suspected weapons.

Arkansas Community Correction - ESCAPED	OFFENDER IN	IFORMATION Continued	
Parole/Probation Services Case Record Telephone Card (Inst.) Supervision File (if available) *Inspect Escapee's Clothing & Property Roommates/Friends Questioned OTHER:		Visiting Card Telephone Log eOMIS Pass Requests	

CONTACT THE PERSONS LISTED BELOW FOR POSSIBLE INFORMATION CONCERNING THE ESCAPEE'S LOCATION AND ASK THEM TO CONTACT YOUR FACILITY/LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT IF ESCAPEE IS SIGHTED.

Name	Relationship to Escapee	Address	Phone	**Date/Time	**Staff Initials
				,,,,,,	
Checklist Comp	oleted By:				
Name	(Print)	Date	Time	Signature	

- * Complete an inventory of escapee's personal property and secure it. Look for useful clues and evidence during inventory. Include escapee's living area in the search process.
- ** Indicate the individual making the contact and the date and time of the contact.



Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-01 Central Office Key Control

TO: Arkansas Community Correction Employees

FROM: Sheila Sharp, Director

SUPERSEDES: AM CO 08-01

APPROVED: _____ Signature on File _____ Effective Date: February 22, 2016

- I. APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to ACC Central Office Employees.
- **II. POLICY.** It is Arkansas Community (ACC) policy to safeguard and secure its administrative offices, equipment and other property from unauthorized access.

III. GUIDELINES.

- A. Keys and access to ACC administrative offices and the building will be managed through a uniform key control system on each floor of the central office facility. A key control officer (KCO) will be designated for each floor to issue and recover keys assigned to central office employees, and as requested by the Director, Chief Deputy Director or Deputy Director.
- B. A KCO and one backup per floor have been designated by the Deputy Directors/Director to maintain control of the physical keys to ensure security and control of access to ACC property, central office space and building. The backup will access the key control box only as requested in the absence of the KCO. The KCO will manage the keys to the offices (only the KCO in the Director's office will manage the keys to the building), ensure proper identification of keys and offices, maintain an electronic record of keys issued and recovered, expedite key copies as directed by the Director or Chief Deputy Director, and review key assignments each January to determine accuracy of the key inventory and compliance with this policy. Each KCO must conduct their annual reviews so as not to review their own key control documents but will request the review from a KCO assigned to another floor. The KCO will forward the report to the Director, Chief Deputy Director and Deputy Directors by the end of January annually.

- C. Assignment of a key is made on an as needed basis. Employees do not have a right to an office key. Supervisors must ensure employees have timely access to their work spaces.
- **D.** Unauthorized possession of a central office key does not grant permission to access an office or the building. Management is authorized to seize any unattended or unauthorized key. If a key to an office or the building is lost, stolen, misplaced, or found, contact the KCO and notify your supervisor. The supervisor and/or Deputy Director will determine the level of potential vulnerability if the key is not recovered and pursue the most efficient way of securing the breached area.
- E. No employee may duplicate a building key. No employee may duplicate an office key except the KCO when instructed by the Director or Chief Deputy Director.
- **F.** The KCO must contact the KCO in the Director's office to request a building key, only when one is requested by a supervisor. An employee may be required to defray the replacement cost or be denied a replacement key for lost, stolen or misplaced keys (depending upon the number of prior occurrences).
- **G.** Locks or other door hardware (personal or otherwise) must not be placed on or removed from office doors or other controlled areas without the authorization of the Director, Chief Deputy Director or Deputy Director.
- **H.** Employees are responsible for keys issued to them and must not loan, duplicate or transfer them to anyone outside of their supervisory chain or the KCO.
- I. A master key (single key that allows access to all or most of the spaces in a particular area) may be issued by the Chief and Deputy Directors. The Director must approve issuance of a master key to any others.
- J. Key control boxes will be mounted in a locked room, restricted to those authorized by the Director, Chief Deputy Director or Deputy Director. No more than two duplicate keys will be maintained for each office location (after the current supply of duplicates is exhausted).
- K. Prior to an employee's last work day with ACC, the employee must return the keys to the supervisor who will forward the key to the KCO. The employee must notify the supervisor and the supervisor must notify the KCO and Human Resources (HR) if the key cannot be returned. Broken keys must also be returned to the KCO. The KCO will document return of the broken key (after verification) and will update the record for the return unless a new one is issued at the same time. If an employee does not return assigned keys, he/she must pay the replacement cost for each prior to receiving their last pay check and request clearance from the KCO to be provided to HR to ensure release of the employees' final pay check.

IV. ATTACHMENTS.

AD 16-01 Form 1 Central Office Key Control Assignment AD 16-01 Form 2 Key Inventory Control Sheet

Arkansas Community Correction KEY AND SECURITY DOOR CARD CONTROL FOR CENTRAL OFFICE

Employee Name:

Instructions: To obtain a key to your or others workspace and/or card for access to the building, you must complete columns A and B below, obtain the supervisor's approval signature in column C (If the request is for a master key, the Director's approval is also required) and take this form to the key control officer (KCO). A KCO (selected by the Director or a Deputy Director has been assigned for each floor of the ACC Central Office). Keys will be issued through the supervisor by the KCO only. Security door cards for the building can only be obtained through your supervisor who will contact and authorize the KCO in the Human Resource Section to issue a security door card. Initially, the employee will complete column A and B and have the supervisor (or Director) complete C. The KCO will issue the appropriate office key(s) or security door card, complete columns E, F, G, and H as appropriate and obtain the employee's initial in column D and signatures at the bottom of this form. Issuance of additional keys to this employee must be recorded on this same form. After the KCO issues a key and initials column H, a copy of this document may be provided to the employee upon request. The KCO will maintain the original document until all keys are returned and a subsequent

annual key inventory/audit is completed. Key Types: R = Room, D (previously "B") = Security Door Card, M = Master, S = Stairwell E = Emergency Exit. Reason: 1 = New Employee to Section, 2 = Replace lost/stolen key, 3 = Replace Broken key 4 = Employment Ended

				Key Control Officer			er	
A	В	С	D		Е	F	G	Н
Кеу Туре	Room or Card #	Initial of Supervisor (Director also if master) Issuance Approval	Employee's Initials When Key is Received		Date Keys Issued	Reason Code	Date Keys Were Returned	Key Control Officer Initials
				and parter and				
								l.

My initials above acknowledge receipt of the keys and/or security door cards indicated. I will promptly report any broken, lost or stolen keys/card to my supervisor and the KCO. I will return all keys/cards if I change office locations, if I am temporarily suspended from work, or my employment with ACC Central Office ends. I will not loan or duplicate any key or card assigned to me by officials of ACC.

Employee's Signature

Date

KCO Signature

Date

AD 16-01 Form 1

Arkansas Community Correction KEY INVENTORY CONTROL SHEET

Room#	Туре Кеу	Keys On Hand	Keys Issued	Total Keys	Balance Yes No
<u></u>					
······					1
					1
<u> </u>					
					5
					<u> </u>

KCO: Audited/Review Date:

Findings:

 \Box

Keys consistent with documents Key inventory inconsistent with documents as follows:

AD 16-01 Form 2





Arkansas Community Correction

Two Union National Plaza Building 105 West Capitol, 3rd Floor Little Rock, AR 72201-5731 501-682-9510 (office) 501-682-9513 (fax)

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: 16-10 Agency Organization, Mission, Planning and Management

TO: Arkansas Community Correction Employees

FROM: Sheila Sharp, Director

SUPERSEDES: 14-04

APPROVED: _____Signature on File_____

EFFECTIVE: February 29, 2016

- I. APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to all Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) employees.
- II. POLICY. ACC employees will participate in appropriate activities to establish plans, achieve the agency mission, pursue established goals and objectives, manage resources, and follow accounting and budgeting guidance. (4-ACRS-7D-03 and 4-ACRS-7D-05[P])
- III. AGENCY MISSION. The agency mission is "To enhance public safety by enforcing state laws and court mandates through community partnerships and evidence-based programs that hold offenders accountable while engaging them in opportunities to become law-abiding, productive citizens." (4-APPFS-2A-01, 3D-01, 3D-02, 3D-03, 3D-05, 3D-06. 3D-07, 3D-08, 3D-09, 3D-22)
- IV. GUIDELINES. The following are planning, programming, and management responsibilities:

A. General Management/Operations.

 The Director, Chief Deputy Director, Deputy and Assistant Directors, Administrators, Parole/Probation Managers, Center Supervisors, and others as permitted are responsible for hiring, managing, promoting, and terminating staff, overseeing programs, budgeting, general management and accounting activities in their respective areas. In the absence of a Center Supervisor and when a situation requires, personnel actions, including those that affect an employee's pay, may be taken by the Assistant Center Supervisor following applicable policy guidance. The Treatment Administrator provides Center Supervisors with treatment program support. ACC's management structure is depicted in an organizational chart found on its public website. (4-ACRS-7E-07[P])

- The Director, Chief Deputy Director, Deputy and Parole/Probation Assistant Directors, and Parole/Probation Managers must support supervision strategies and programs that demonstrate best practices to enhance compliance with court and Parole Board ordered conditions. Compliance should be evidenced through such means as program planning documentation, offender case management, and procedures. (4-APPFS-2A-07)
- 3. All employees will follow state and ACC operational, accounting, and budgeting guidance. Agency efforts will support and be consistent with best practices and evidence-based programs and services.
- 4. The Director will meet at least monthly with all senior management personnel and other key staff to discuss agency operations and other issues that need to be brought to their attention. (2-CO-1A-19)

B. Director.

- 1. Chief Executive Officer. The ACC Director, hired by the Board of Corrections, is the agency's chief executive officer and supervises the administration of all facilities, programs and services of the agency.
- 2. Interstate Compact Roles. Arkansas law designates the ACC Director as Compact Administrator. The Compact Administrator serves as a member of the Arkansas Council for Interstate Adult Offender Supervision (Arkansas Council) and as an Arkansas Commissioner to the Interstate Commission. The Arkansas Council exercises oversight and advocacy concerning participation in Interstate Commission activities and performs other council-determined duties including policy development.
- 3. Director Responsibility for Planning and Management. The Director must ensure the following in a manner that ensures agency supervision and service needs with involvement of all levels of staff:
 - annual review and update as needed of the organizational chart, mission statement, long range goals
 - documentation of practical and specific plans for achieving the long-range goals
 - translating goals into measurable objectives for staff accomplishment
 - establishing policies and priorities related to goals
 - ensure the agency's budget request is sufficient to meet objectives, consistent with the mission and goals
 - ensure planning, budgeting, and program management functions are interrelated and all are linked directly with objectives; making revisions as necessary
- C. Chief Deputy Director. The Chief Deputy Director is responsible for the following:
 - 1. Facilitate annual development, progress reporting, review, and updates of agency longrange plans, goals, and mission.
 - 2. Facilitate collaboration and consultation with community interest groups, service agencies, colleges, and other criminal justice agencies on a continuing basis to define the concept and practice of community justice, prevent victimization, provide conflict resolution, and promote public safety. (4-APPFS-1A-01)

- 3. Participate directly or through the Management Team or BOC in federal, state, and regional planning efforts with criminal justice and other agencies.
- 4. Provide an organized system for information gathering, retrieval, and review, which is part of an overall management, planning, and research process (4-APPFS-3D-31)
- 5. Ensure a system is in use for assessing and documenting achievement of goals and objectives.
- 6. Ensure there is an organized system for the collection, storage, retrieval, reporting, review, and analysis of offender information. Agency procedures must control access to and use of the information. (4-ACRS-7D-05 and 4-APPFS-3D-31)

D. Deputy Director of Communications and Public Affairs.

- 1. Facilitate annual review of ACC policies and recommend appropriate revisions to the Management Team and the Board of Corrections.
- 2. Review, update annually, publish, and make available to ACC employees the agency organizational structure reflecting span of control, lines of authority, and communication channels. (4-ACRS-7D-03)
- 3. Facilitate prompt and appropriate responses to requests for information from the public and the media in accordance with agency policy and state and federal laws.

E. Deputy Director of Residential Services and Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services.

- 1. Provide input to the planning and goal development process and support the agency mission and goals. Ensure all levels of staff participate in the development and review of organizational goals, policies, procedures, rules and regulations. Ensure plans and goals are reviewed annually.
- Collaborate and consult with other criminal justice agencies, community interest groups, human service agencies, and colleges on a continuing basis to enhance formulation and evaluation of organizational policies, procedures, rules, and programs. Cooperate with other criminal justice and human service agencies in information gathering, exchange, problem-solving, standardization and education in a manner consistent with law and policy. (4-ACRS 7F-04, 4-ACRS-7D-06, 4-APPFS-3D-16, 4-APPFS-1A-02 4-APPFS-3D-34)
- 3. Conduct an annual systematic review of staffing and other personnel needs to identify requirements for recruitment, training, and staff development and use results to prepare budgetary recommendations; and implement approved changes. (4-ACRS-2A-03[P], 4-APPFS-3A-10)
- 4. Prepare, justify, submit, monitor, and track division budgets in compliance with state and agency guidance and submit written requests with justification when significant budget revisions are necessary and monitor what occurs. (3-3042, 4-APPFS-3D-22)
- 5. Review appropriate electronic Offender Management Information System (eOMIS) reports at least quarterly. (4-APPFS-3D-33)

- 6. Prepare a report every 2 years (in accordance with biennial budget requests) to the Director for presentation to the BOC to identify/describe the following
 - a. collective service needs of offenders.
 - b. goals, objectives, outcome measures, programs, budget, major developments, problems, and plans, as well as services furnished to the courts, parole authority, offenders, and the community. (4-APPFS-3D-09)
- 7. Conduct the following systematic reviews (Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services only):
 - a. Annual review of equipment needs to identify requirements for new, more effective, and/or replacement equipment. (4-APPFS-3D-12)
 - b. Annual review of the sufficiency and efficiency of facility space requirements to meet operational needs. (4-APPFS-3D-13)
 - c. Six month review of performance.
- 8. Participate in budget process and present justification to support budget requests. (3-3040)
- 9. Identify information needs prior to the collection of data; establish or participate in establishing policies and procedures for collecting, recording, organizing, processing, and reporting data developed for management information purposes. (4-APPFS-3D-32)
- 10. Take appropriate actions to demonstrate that the agency has examined, and where appropriate and feasible, implemented strategies that promote recycling, energy and water conservation, pollution reduction, and use of renewable energy alternatives. (2-CO-1A-06-1; 4-ACRS-7D-01-1; 4-APPFS-3D-05-1)
- 11. The Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services must have a written workload formula that allocates work to parole/probation staff and supervisors in an effort to accomplish stated goals. Supervisor to staff ratios may vary depending on case types, staff experience and proximity of staff to the supervisor. (4-APPFS-3A-25)
- 12. The Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services must ensure offices are located in areas that are optimally accessible to offenders, considering places of residence and employment, proximity to transportation networks and proximity to other community agencies. Community input must be sought when considering office locations. (4-APPFS-3D-11)

F. Parole/Probation Managers and Center Supervisors must:

1. Participate in the annual goal and objective setting processes, ensuring goals and objectives pertaining to Parole/Probation or residential program(s) are appropriate and measurable. (4-ACRS-7D-01)

- 2. Lead and manage employees/resources to achieve goals/objectives.
- 3. Report on goals/objectives progress and identify issues.
- 4. Participate in the accounting and budgeting process, to include budget reviews, following appropriate guidance. Prepare an annual written budget with anticipated revenues and expenditures. Request necessary budget adjustments through procedures provided by Administrative Services. (4-ACRS-7D-18 and 4-ACRS-7D-19)
- 5. Assume responsibility for management, control and fiscal operations for assigned Area/Residential Center. Fiscal management tasks may be delegated; however, responsibility remains with the Parole/Probation Manager/Center Supervisor. The Center Supervisor or designee is responsible for the collection and disbursement of offender funds within the facility.
- 6. Meet monthly with key staff members to address such topics as delegating authority, assigning responsibility, supervising work and coordinating efforts. (4-ACRS-7D-35)
- Ensure staff members participate in meetings relevant to their duties and that such meetings occur at least monthly. Meetings should provide an opportunity to exchange ideas, resolve problems, and produce input for policies, procedures or programs. (4-ACRS-7D-36[P], 4-APPFS-3A-29)
- 8. Submit monthly input for the agency performance review report to the BOC.
- 9. Ensure Center Supervisors prepare an annual report on facility activities and roles in the community and submit the reports through the supervisory chain to the Director by September 15 each year. The Center Supervisors will meet with the BOC at least annually to facilitate communication, establish policy, and ensure conformity to legal and fiscal requirements. (4-ACRS-7D-34)

G. Deputy Director for Administrative Services Responsibilities.

- 1. Facilitate development, approval, and submission of annual operating budgets, as required by the Department of Finance and Administration.
- 2. Obtain Director and BOC approval of the annual budget.
- 3. Ensure the budgeting and accounting system links program functions to the resources necessary for their support. (4-ACRS-7D-20)
- 4. Establish and maintain agency accounting and budgeting guidance/procedures.
- 5. Ensure compliance with procedures governing collection, safeguarding, and disbursement of fees. (4-APPFS-3D-25 [P])
- **H. ACC Staff Attorney.** The staff attorney will coordinate the provision of legal assistance for staff as appropriate and as required in the performance of their duties. (4-APPFS-3D-20)
- VI. REFERENCE. Arkansas law section 12-51-104.