Reinstatement Rule Changes

Mark-up version of Section IX of Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification
Board (ALCB) Rules and Regulations

These proposed rules are to implement Act 1066 of the 90" General Assembly and to comply
with the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) reinstaternent requirements. This act pertains
to reinstatement of an appraiser’s credential. Reviewed and adopted by the ALCB Rules,
Regulations, and Policy Committee on August 17, 2016. Reviewed and adopted by the ALCB
at its regular meeting on August 17, 2016.

Arkansas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board proposed changes to its rules:

Section I - General (Q) Complaint Adjudication and Publication of Action

A. Any appraiser who fails to timely renew their registration, license, certification or elecis to surrender
their license/certification while a complaint is pending, will be unable to have their license re-instated
until the complaint has been resolved. i tan-f i ithi

- If a disciplinary hearing or informal conference is pending
at the time of surrender, the scheduled hearings will proceed with or without the appraiser’s participation
and any disciplinary action resulting from the hearing shall be placed in the appraiser’s file and addressed
prior to any reinstatement of their credentials. Appraisers who have their license suspended or revoked are
prohibited from performing any and all duties and responsibilities (researching data, and/or assisting
associates with the development and reporting of real property appraisals).
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D. Credential holders shall file a timely and sufficient renewal application with the Board by the renewal
date each vear. An application shall be deemed filed on the date received by the Board, the date of
electronic submission or, if mailed. the date postmarked. but not the date metered.

E. The Board will issue a new pocket card indicating the new expiration date after receiving evidence of
completion of the required continuing education and appropriate fee. Any credential holder who fails to
complete continuing education requirements will not be eligible to renew their credential,

F. The credential of a SR, SL. CR and CG shall be placed on inactive status unless the appraiser submits
a timely and sufficient renewal application by the expiration date.

G. During the first 184 days of inactive status a credential holder may renew their credential by
submitting the appropriate renewal form. This includes the pavment of renewal fees. a late fee of filt y
dollars ($50) per month or partial month elapsed since the renewal date and submitting the required
continuing education completion certificates.

H. After 185 days up to twelve (12) months of inactive status a credential holder may renew their
credential by submiiting the appropriate renewal form. This includes the pavment of renewal fees and
submitting the required continuing education completion certificates. This includes evidence of
completion of the most recent edition of a_7-Hour National USPAP Update Course {or its AQB apgroved

equivalent).

L. A credential holder who fails to reinstate their appraiser credential within twelve (12) months of the
expiration date of the credential may reinstate their credential by submitting the ap propriate reinstatement
form. This includes payment of the appropriate renewal fee and evidence of the completion of the
required continuing education hours. Credential holders in an inactive status must complete all required
continuing education that would have been required if the credential holder was in an active status. The
required hours must also include the most recent edition of a 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course (or
its AQB approved equivalent). Continuing education hours required are 14 hours per vear for each vear
or partial year the credential was inactive plus any continuing education hours reguired at the time the
credential was placed on inactive status. For example: Number of years inactive x 14 hours + number of
hours due when credential was placed on inactive status = Total number of continuing education hours
that must be submitied. Evidence of completion of the most recent edition of a 7-Hour National USPAP
Update Couirse (or its AQB approved equivalent) must be included in those hours.

J. After January 1, 2017 a credentia! holder whose appraiser credential has been in an inactive status for
more than twelve (12) months shall be required to consent to a backeround check as described below.
Prior to reinstatement the credential holder is required to obtain a state criminal background check and a
national fingerprint-based criminal backeround check performed by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
in compliance with federal law and repulation to determine if the applicant possesses a background that
does not call into question public trust or the applicant’s fitness for registration, licensure. or certification.

K. Credential holders are¢ not authorized to practice or to hold themselves out to the public as appraisers
during the period of time that his or her appraiser credential is inactive. Anv violation of this shall be
grounds for discipline.

L. These renewal and reinstatement rules do not apply to a person who has had his or her appraiser
credential revoked or suspended.




Section X - Continuing Education

A. The purpose of continuing education is to insure that the appraiser participates in a program that
maintains and increases his/her skill, knowledge and competency in real estate appraising.

B. Each licensee or certificate holder shall have completed during the two year period, prior to renewal of
their license or certification, in an even numbered year, (i.¢. 2006, 2008, etc.) 2 minimum of twenty-eight
(28) hours of rea] estate appralsal mstructlon approved for contmumg educatlon credlt by the Board

Heeﬂse-or—eemﬁeate— Indmduals who take advantage of out of stdte contmumg educatlon seminars may
request consideration for credit on an individual basis. They shall submit a request on forms provided by
the Board along with documents outlining the course content and evidence of having attended the course.

Section XII — Fees and Payment of Fees

C. Delinguency Provision (Fees and Continning Education)

Registered, Licensed or Certified appraisers who fail to pay their annual or biennial renewal fees or meet
the required continuing education on or before the renewal deadline, shall be notified immediately that

thelr reglstrallon hcense or cemﬁcate hmsedﬂ&éﬁwﬂaw%ﬁy%oayﬁe—beeem&femmmd%y

1nact1ve.

The notice shall alse advise where applicable that:

(1) No FRT appraisal work may be performed during the interim;

(2) Their names will be removed from the Federal Registry; and,

(3) The appraisal community be apprised of their loss of registration or licensed status.

(4) Any and all appraisal experience claimed by a trainee during a period(s) without being State
Registered will not be considered toward meeting the minimum hourly requirements or in which a State
Registered appraiser has a lapsed registration.

If an appraiser has not made application for reinstatement within sixty days of termination, a demand will
then be made on the certtﬁcate holder to surrender their seal or stamp, pocket card, and wall cert;ﬁcate to
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