AMENDMENT TO REGULATION NO. 28: EDUCATIONAL LICENSE TO PRACTICE MEDICINE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

Pursuant to Act 497 of the 85th General Assembly of the Regular Session of 2005 and amended by Act 1061 of 2017, the Arkansas State Medical Board is empowered to issue an educational license to applicants who meet the following requirements:

1. Be 21 years of age.

 (\mathbf{r}^{2})

7

÷

- 2. Be of good moral character.
- 3. Submit a completed application to the Board.
- 4. Submit a \$400.00 application fee and a \$100.00 licensure-processing fee.
- 5. Be serving as a faculty member in the State of Arkansas or be affiliated with and under the supervision of a faculty member licensed by the Board at an academic medical program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association operated in the State of Arkansas and established by and under the control of a medical school accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or approved by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board to seek accreditation by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
- 6. The educational license to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas shall authorize the practice of medicine only within the clinical and educational programs in the State of Arkansas that are established and administered by a medical school accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or approved by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board to seek accreditation by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education.
- 7. Appear personally before the Arkansas State Medical Board, together with the sponsoring supervising faculty member physician-from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Department where the applicant will be practicing medicine.
- 8. Present to the Board such information as to what department of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences he or she will be practicing medicine and who will be his/her supervisor.
- 9. Said educational license will authorize the licensee to practice medicine only within the clinical and educational programs established and administered by the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences accredited medical school.
- 10. Said educational license will be valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance.

The educational license issued to a licensee will lapse at the end of one year and must be reapplied for by the licensee under the following conditions:

- 1. Submit a completed application to the Arkansas State Medical Board providing such information as the Board requests.
- 2. Pay a renewal fee of \$220.00.
- 3. <u>If requested, appear in person before the Board, together with the Chairman supervising</u> <u>faculty physician</u> of the clinical or educational program, wherein the applicant will be



JUL 06 2017

BUREAU OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH

REGULATION MARKUP

practicing medicine in the State of Arkansas at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

History: Adopted: August 4, 2005; Amended June 5, 2014.

1

÷

ş