

## Occupational Authorizations

# for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, August 25, 2022 at 2:00 PM

### State of Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board

Document

Document Type

**Supporting Evidence Documents** 

EMBRYO TRANSFER TECHNICIAN						
Authorization Type:	Certification	# of Individuals Regula	ted: 2			
Entity Division Name:						
Scope of Practice:	A non-veterinarian embryo transfer technician is a person who performs the biosecure process of inducing increased ovulations within a donor female for the invitro or in vivo production of embryos, the flushing of those embryos, collecting, grading and transferring of those embryos to recipient females, or the cryopreservation of those embryos for storage and later transfer to recipient females.					
	Livestock embryo transfer or transplant services are technician certified by the Board which involves an livestock, and may include basic ultrasonography of transfer associated procedures, and of the uterus to within the transferred embryo at or greater than twe	d shall be limited to nonsurgical f their ovaries to evaluate the re- determine pregnancy by the determine	embryo transfer in sponse to embryo ection of a heartbeat			
Statutory Requirement(s):	Ark. Code Ann. 17-101-316 provides that an individual before engaging in livestock embryo transfer or transfer.					
Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?						
Fees & Penalties						
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency			
Fee	Application	\$1,000.00	Once			
Fee	Renewal	\$250.00	Biennially			
Administrative Rules Do	cuments					

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

12. Livestock Embryo Transfer or Transplant and Livestock Pregnancy Determination.pdf

Prepared on: August 12, 2022 Page 1 of 3

#### State of Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board (Continued)

#### VETERNARY TECHNICIAN/TECHNOLOGIST

Certification # of Individuals Regulated: Authorization Type: 204

**Entity Division Name:** 

Scope of Practice: A veterinary technician is a person who has received an associate degree or its equivalent from a

college-level program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). A

veterinary technologist is a person who is a graduate of a four-year baccalaureate program accredited by the AVMA. Both provide veterinary technology services under the direction and supervision of a licensed veterinarian. Veterinary technology is the performance of all aspects of medical care, services,

and treatment of an animal where a veterinary-client-patient relationship has been established.

Veterinary technology does not include diagnosis, prognosis, surgery, or the prescription of appliances,

drugs, medications, or treatment unless otherwise determined by the board.

Ark. Code Ann. 17-101-306 provides that a person shall not assist in the practice of veterinary medicine Statutory Requirement(s):

as a veterinary technician or veterinary technologist without first applying for and obtaining a

certification from the board and having his or her employment with a licensed veterinarian registered

with the board.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties					
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency		
Fee	Application	\$40.00	Once		
Fee	Renewal	\$25.00	Annually		
Penalty	Delinquent Renewal	\$50.00	Once		
Fee	Re-Issue Original Certificate	\$10.00	Once		
Administrative Rule	Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Rules	VMEB_Rules_063022.pdf				
Supporting Evidence Documents					

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: August 12, 2022 Page 2 of 3

#### State of Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board (Continued)

#### **VETERNARIAN**

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 1271

**Entity Division Name:** 

Scope of Practice: A veterinarian is a person who has received a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from a college of

veterinary medicine accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), or has obtained a certificate issued by the AVMA's Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates indicating that the holder has demonstrated knowledge and skills equivalent to those possessed by a

graduate of an accredited or approved college of veterinary medicine.

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. 17-101-102 (9) (A) The practice of veterinary medicine means: "The diagnosis, treatment, correction, change, relief, or prevention of animal disease, deformity, defect, injury, or other physical or mental condition, including the prescribing or administration of any prescription drug, medicine, biologic, apparatus, application, anesthetic, or other therapeutic or diagnostic substance or technique on any animal, including, but not limited to, acupuncture, dentistry, animal psychology, animal chiropractic, theriogenology, surgery, including cosmetic surgery, any manual, mechanical, biological, or chemical procedure for testing for pregnancy or for correcting sterility or infertility or to tender service or recommendations with regard to any of the above."

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 17-101-312 provides that it is a violation of law for any person to practice or attempt to practice veterinary medicine without being licensed by the board.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties					
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency		
Fee	Application	\$100.00	Once		
Fee	Renewal: Active	\$100.00	Annually		
Fee	Renewal: Inactive	\$25.00	Annually		
Penalty	Delinquent Renewal	\$100.00	Once		
Fee	Temporary Permit	\$50.00	Once		
Fee	Re-Issue Original License	\$10.00	Once		
Fee	Restricted License	\$50.00	Once		
Administrative Rule	Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Rules	VMEB_Rules_063022.pdf				
<b>Supporting Evidence</b>	Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: August 12, 2022 Page 3 of 3