

# Occupational Authorizations

# for the meeting of the

#### ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Monday, August 21, 2023 at 1:30 PM

#### Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling

#### LICENSED ASSOCIATE COUNSELOR (LAC)

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated:

688

Department of Health Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions **Entity Division Name:** 

> (a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling shall issue a license of licensed associate counselor to each applicant who meets the requirements established in § 17-27-301, with the exception of § 17-

A.C.A. 17-27-302

(b) The licensed associate counselor may practice only under direct supervision of a licensed

professional counselor.

(c) The plan for supervision of the licensed associate counselor must be approved by the board before

any actual performance of counseling on the part of the licensed associate counselor.

(d) Any licensed associate counselor may petition the board for licensure review for the licensed professional counselor, provided that the requirements of § 17-27-301(6) have been completed.

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

A.C.A. 17-27-101

(a) It is declared to be the policy of this state that activities of those persons who render service to the public in the counseling area and use the title "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", or "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" should be regulated for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare.

(b) It is the purpose and intent of this chapter to:

(1) Provide for the regulation of the practice of counseling in the State of Arkansas;

(2) Create a board of examiners in counseling and prescribe the duties and powers of the board;

(3) Provide for the examination and licensure of counselors;

(4) Fix penalties for the violation of this chapter;

(5) Impose reasonable fees for applications, licenses, examinations, and other administrative purposes that the board deems necessary and provide for the use of funds derived from the fees; and

(6) Provide for the regulation of the use of the titles "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", and "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" for those who offer counseling services to the public.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Associate to full license fee	\$50.00	Once	
Fee	License renewal	\$200.00	Biennially	
Fee	Non-practicing renewal fee	\$50.00	Biennially	
Penalty	Renewal late fee	\$100.00	Monthly	
Administrative Rule	es Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021_Rules_Cleanwith_TOC_2-9-22.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

Prepared on: August 08, 2023 Page 1 of 5

#### LICENSED ASSOCIATE COUNSELOR (LAC) (Continued)

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

#### LICENSED ASSOCIATE MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST (LAMFT)

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 56

Entity Division Name: Department of Health Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions

Scope of Practice: A.C.A. 17-27-305

(a) The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling shall issue a license as a licensed associate marriage and family therapist to each applicant who meets the requirements of § 17-27-304, with the exception of § 17-27-304(1)(B).

(b) The licensed associate marriage and family therapist may practice only under direct supervision of a licensed marriage and family therapist.

(c) The plan for supervision of the licensed associate marriage and family therapist must be approved by the board before any actual performance of marriage and family therapy by the licensed associate marriage and family therapist.

(d) Any licensed associate marriage and family therapist may petition the board for licensure review for licensed marriage and family therapist, provided the requirements of § 17-27-304(1)(B) have been met.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A. 17-27-101

(a) It is declared to be the policy of this state that activities of those persons who render service to the public in the counseling area and use the title "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", or "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" should be regulated for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare.

(b) It is the purpose and intent of this chapter to:

(1) Provide for the regulation of the practice of counseling in the State of Arkansas;

(2) Create a board of examiners in counseling and prescribe the duties and powers of the board;

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Associate to full license	\$50.00	Once	
Fee	Renewal fee	\$200.00	Biennially	
Fee	Non-practicing renewal fee	\$50.00	Biennially	
Penalty	Renewal late fee	\$100.00	Monthly	
Administrative Rule	es Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021 Rules Clean - with TOC 2-9-22.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

# LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST (LMFT)

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 240

Entity Division Name: Department of Health Division of Health Related Boards and Commissions

Prepared on: August 08, 2023 Page 2 of 5

#### Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling (Continued)

#### LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST (LMFT) (Continued)

Scope of Practice:

A.C.A. 17-27-304

The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling shall issue a license as a marriage and family therapist to each applicant who files an application after January 1, 1998, upon a form and in a manner as the board prescribes accompanied by a fee as set by the board if he or she meets the qualifications set forth in § 17-27-303(1)-(3) and if the applicant provides satisfactory evidence to the board that he or she:

(1) Meets educational experience qualifications as follows:

(A) Educational Requirements. A master's degree or a doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited educational institution or a graduate degree in the allied fields referred to in § 17-27-303(4) from a regionally accredited educational institution and graduate level course work which is equivalent to a master's degree in marriage and family therapy as determined by the board; and (B) Experience Requirements. The applicant has three thousand (3,000) client contact hours of supervised full-time experience in marriage and family therapy acceptable to the board. Two thousand (2,000) client contact hours may be gained for each sixty (60) graduate semester hours earned beyond the master's degree, provided that the hours are clearly related to the field of marriage and family therapy and are acceptable to the board. The applicant may not have less than one thousand (1,000) client contact hours of professional supervised experience; and

(2) Passes an examination or examinations administered by the board.

Statutory Requirement(s):

A.C.A. 17-27-101

(a) It is declared to be the policy of this state that activities of those persons who render service to the public in the counseling area and use the title "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", or "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" should be regulated for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare.

(b) It is the purpose and intent of this chapter to:

(1) Provide for the regulation of the practice of counseling in the State of Arkansas;

(2) Create a board of examiners in counseling and prescribe the duties and powers of the board;

(3) Provide for the examination and licensure of counselors;

(4) Fix penalties for the violation of this chapter;

(5) Impose reasonable fees for applications, licenses, examinations, and other administrative purposes that the board deems necessary and provide for the use of funds derived from the fees; and

(6) Provide for the regulation of the use of the titles "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", and "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" for those who offer counseling services to the public.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Renewal fee	\$250.00	Biennially	
Fee	Non-practicing renewal fee	\$50.00	Biennially	
Penalty	Renewal late fee	\$100.00	Monthly	
Administrative Rule	es Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021_Rules_Clean - with_TOC_2-9-22.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

#### LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR (LPC)

Prepared on: August 08, 2023 Page 3 of 5

### Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling (Continued)

#### LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR (LPC) (Continued)

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 2298

Entity Division Name: Department of Health Division of Health Related Boards and Commmissions

Scope of Practice: A.C.A. 17-27-301

The Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling shall issue a license as a licensed professional counselor to each applicant who files an application upon a form and in the manner that the board prescribes accompanied by a fee as set by the board and who furnishes satisfactory evidence of the following to the board:

- (1) The applicant is not a minor under the laws of Arkansas;
- (2) The applicant is highly regarded in professional ethics;
- (3) The applicant is not in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter and the rules adopted under this chapter;
- (4) The applicant has applied for a criminal background check and has not been found guilty of, or pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, any of the offenses listed in § 17-27-313(e) [repealed];
- (A) The applicant has received a graduate degree from a regionally accredited institution of higher education that is primarily professional counseling in content and has accumulated the graduate semester hours that meet the academic and training content standards established by the board.
- (B) The board shall use the standards for the preparation of counselors prepared by that special professional association nationally as a guide in establishing the standards for counseling;

(6)

- (A) The applicant has three thousand (3,000) client contact hours of supervised full-time experience in professional counseling acceptable to the board.
- (B) Two thousand (2,000) client contact hours of experience may be gained for each sixty (60) graduate semester hours earned beyond the master's degree, provided that the hours are clearly related to the field of counseling and are acceptable to the board.
- (C) The applicant may not have less than one thousand (1,000) client contact hours of professional experience; and

(7)

- (A) The applicant has declared special competencies and demonstrated professional competence in specialty areas by having passed a written, oral, or situational examination or any combination thereof as the board will prescribe.
- (B) Upon the examination of credentials, the board, by a majority of the board members present and voting, may consider those credentials adequate evidence of professional competence and recommend to the Chair of the Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling that a license be approved in that specialty.

Statutory Requirement(s):

A.C.A. 17-27-101

- (a) It is declared to be the policy of this state that activities of those persons who render service to the public in the counseling area and use the title "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", or "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" should be regulated for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare.
- (b) It is the purpose and intent of this chapter to:
- (1) Provide for the regulation of the practice of counseling in the State of Arkansas;
- (2) Create a board of examiners in counseling and prescribe the duties and powers of the board;
- (3) Provide for the examination and licensure of counselors;
- (4) Fix penalties for the violation of this chapter;
- (5) Impose reasonable fees for applications, licenses, examinations, and other administrative purposes that the board deems necessary and provide for the use of funds derived from the fees; and
- (6) Provide for the regulation of the use of the titles "licensed professional counselor", "licensed associate counselor", "licensed marriage and family therapist", and "licensed associate marriage and family therapist" for those who offer counseling services to the public.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from

Yes

Prepared on: August 08, 2023 Page 4 of 5

# **Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling (Continued)**

# LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR (LPC) (Continued)

accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Renewal fee	\$250.00	Biennially	
Fee	Non-practicing renewal fee	\$50.00	Biennially	
Penalty	Renewal late fee	\$100.00	Monthly	
Administrative Rule	es Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021_Rules_Cleanwith_TOC_2-9-22.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: August 08, 2023 Page 5 of 5