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Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers

ARCHITECT

By statutory requirements A.C.A. § 17-15-101 and the rules promulgated thereunder.

An Architect is technically and legally qualified by education, experience, and examination. An 
Architect offers or provides, services in connection with the design and construction, enlargement, or 
alteration of a building or group of buildings, and the space within and surrounding such buildings, 
which is designed for human occupancy or habitation. The services include: planning, providing 
preliminary studies, designs, drawings, specifications, and other technical submissions; and 
administration of construction contracts. 

Department of Labor and Licensing

Licensure 1970# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Initial Licensure $250.00 Once

Fee Renewal of Licensure $100.00 Annually

Penalty Late Fees - One Month $50.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Two Months $100.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 3 Months $150.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 4-12 Months $250.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 13-24 Months $500.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 25-36 Months $750.00 Once

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

ASBALAID_Administrative_Rules_Effective_02072022.docxRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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EXHIBIT C2



ARCHITECTURAL FIRMS

By statutory requirements A.C.A. § 17-15-101 and the rules promulgated thereunder.

An Architectural Firm maintains the preparation of drawings, specifications, reports, and other 
professional work. The Architectural Firm shall have in that office an architect duly registered with the 
board, in full authority and responsible control, having direct knowledge and responsible control of 
such work. 

Department of Labor and Licensing

Licensure 652# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Initial Licensure $250.00 Once

Fee Renewal of Licensure $250.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - One Month $50.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Two Months $100.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Three Monhts $150.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 4-12 Months $250.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 13-24 Months $500.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 25-36 Months $750.00 Once

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

ASBALAID_Administrative_Rules_Effective_02072022.docxRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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EMERITUS

By statutory requirements A.C.A. § 17-15-101 and the rules promulgated thereunder.

An emeritus license may be issued by the board to an architect who is at least sixty-five (65) years of 
age, has retired, and does not practice architecture. 

Department of Labor and Licensing

Licensure 34# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Initial Licensure $20.00 Once

Fee Renewal of Licensure $20.00 Annually

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

ASBALAID_Administrative_Rules_Effective_02072022.docxRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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INTERIOR DESIGNER

By statutory requirements A.C.A § 17-35-101 and the rules promulgated thereunder.

A Registered Interior Designer is a design professional who is qualified by education, experience, and 
examination. A Registered Interior Designer performs services including preparation of working 
drawings and documents relative to non-load-bearing interior construction, materials, finishes, space 
planning, furnishings, fixtures, and equipment. 

Department of Labor and Licensing

Licensure 67# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Initial Licensure $250.00 Once

Fee Renewal of Licensure $100.00 Annually

Penalty Late Fees - One Month $50.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Two Months $100.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Three Months $150.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 4-12 Months $250.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 13-24 Months $500.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 25-36 Months $750.00 Once

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

ASBALAID_Administrative_Rules_Effective_02072022.docxRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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LANDSCAPE ARCHITECT

By statutory requirements A.C.A. § 17-36-101 and the rules promulgated thereunder.

An Landscape Architect provides any service or other work, which requires landscape architectural 
education, experience, and examination. The Landscape Architects performance of professional 
services such as consultation, investigation, reconnaissance, research, associated planning, design, 
preparation of drawings, specifications, and contract documents, and responsible supervision or 
construction management in connection with the development of land areas or water features where, 
and to the extent that, the dominant purpose of such services is landscape development, preservation, 
and enhancement, or determination of land uses, natural land features, and functional and aesthetic 
values. The determination, location, and construction of aesthetically pleasing and functional 
approaches and settings for features in the landscape, plantings, landscape irrigation, landscape lighting 
layout, landscape grading, and landscape drainage. Environmental planning and the design of tangible 
objects and features necessary to the purpose outlined herein.

Department of Labor and Licensing

Licensure 245# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Initial Licensure $250.00 Once

Fee Renewal of Licensure $100.00 Annually

Penalty Late Fees - One Month $50.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Two Months $100.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - Three Months $150.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 4-12 Months $250.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 13-24 Months $500.00 Once

Penalty Late Fees - 25-36 Months $750.00 Once

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

ASBALAID_Administrative_Rules_Effective_02072022.docxRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

 

Arkansas State Board of Architects, Landscape Architects, and Interior Designers 

Department of Labor and Licensing  

 

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this 

occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have 

been documented in the past year? 

Yes, consumers would risk substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this 

occupational authorization. The professional licensing of architects, landscape architects, 

and registered interior designers establishes a standard for minimal competency that is 

critical in professions that impact public health, safety, and welfare.  

The primary responsibility of any architect, landscape architect, and registered 

interior designer is to design environments that are safe, durable, functional, satisfy 

reasonable environmental standards, and contribute esthetically to the surrounding 

community. To accomplish this, the design professional must satisfy the applicable 

requirements of law and demonstrate the correct application of skills and knowledge. It 

must be emphasized that the results of faulty design may be injurious not only to the 

person who engages the design professional but also to the third parties who inhabit or 

use the environment.  

Professional licensing protects consumers and the public by ensuring a baseline 

level of proven qualification and expertise. This ensures that those who hire architects, 

landscape architects, and registered interior designers are protected from incompetent or 

dishonest individuals. 

An instance of specific and substantial harm this year is currently ongoing.   

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being 

harmed by unauthorized practitioners? What specific action was taken by the 

occupational entity? 

The Board has received five consumer complaints. Three cases were closed, due 

to no substantial evidence of a violation of the Arkansas Architectural Act or its rules. 

The consumer was advised to seek legal counsel. In one case the Board levied fines by 

way of  



ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

 

 

a consent agreement: and the unlicensed business was required to apply for licensure.  At 

present, there is one pending case.  

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being 

harmed by authorized practitioners? What specific action was taken by the 

occupational entity? 

The Board has received one consumer complaint. The case was closed, due to no 

substantial evidence of a violation of the Arkansas Architectural Act or its rules. The 

Board handles other complaints that stem from continuing education non-compliance, 

falsifying documentation, and failure to report.   

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an 

authorization in the past year? If so, why?  

  No, there were no applicants that met authorization requirements denied 

authorization in the last year.  

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual 

expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves? 

Annual fee revenue is approximately $558,720. Annual expenses are 

approximately $236,330. The general fund balance is 3.5 million.  

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time 

reserve funds were used? For what purpose? 

I have no documentation of the reserves being used in the past. I know the 

reserves were earmarked for the purchase of a board office building before Act 910 the 

Transformation and Efficiencies Act of 2019.  

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational 

authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be 

underfunded? 

Licensing fees are the agency’s primary source of revenue, with minor amounts of 

revenue provided by interest on CD investments.  

 

 



ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

 

The Board has a strategic plan in place to award tuition and exam scholarships to 

emerging design professionals. The Board wants to allocate a portion of its fees to the 

longevity of the scholarships and other endeavors. A reduction in fees would not 

underfund the agency at this time but could potentially affect the Board’s ability for 

scholarship opportunities.  

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the 

occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, 

women, or minorities? 

We had no applicants fail to be licensed, with the required education, experience, 

and examination. 

The pass rate for the Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) is 55%.  

The pass rate for the Landscape Architects Registration Exam (LARE) ranges 

from 54 – 68%. 

The pass rate for the National Council of Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) 

exam ranges from 55-65%. 

The Board does not track gender or race information. We do track active military, 

veterans, and their spouses who apply for an expedited or temporary license. We 

currently have none.  

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational 

authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? 

What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships? 

No, there are no apprenticeship training opportunities available for architects, 

landscape architects, or interior designers.  

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of 

occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization 

holders? 

Without occupational authorization, there would be no requirements for 

unlicensed individuals to have relevant education and experience in the design 

professions. This means someone with no architectural education could potentially design 

buildings for public use.  



ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

 

Removal of the occupational authorization requirements would also serve to 

disrupt the economic opportunities of registrants.  

The occupational authorization requirements enable design professionals to 

identify their qualifications to the public and clients and require them to satisfy 

continuing education requirements to ensure their knowledge to protect the public 

remains current.  

Without occupational authorization registered interior designers, would be 

stripped of their legal recognition and any ability to practice independently, which would 

cause immediate disruptions to several small, women-owned businesses.  

The removal or reduction of occupational authorization requirements poses the 

biggest risk to public safety.     
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