

Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, January 18, 2024 at 2:00 PM

Arkansas State Board of Registered Professional Sanitarians

SANITARIAN

Authorization Type: Registration # of Individuals Regulated: 97

Entity Division Name:

Scope of Practice: Professionals who hold this registration demonstrate competency in an impressive range of

environmental health topics including vector control, water quality, hazardous materials, air quality, built environment, direct and train personnel to respond to routine or emergency environmental

situations, and provide education to their communities.

Statutory Requirement(s): Arkansas Code §17-43-301 states: No person shall offer his or her service as a registered sanitarian or

use, assume, or advertise in any way any title or description tending to convey the impression that he or she is a registered sanitarian unless he or she is the holder of a current certificate of registration issued

by the Arkansas State Board of Sanitarians.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?



ees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Annual Registration Fee	\$20.00	Annually
Fee	Initial Application Fee	\$20.00	Once
Fee	First Year Registration Fee (upon passing examination)	\$10.00	Once
Fee	Reapplication within 60 days of registration expiration	\$40.00	Once
dministrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Final_Rules_Pertaining_to_State_Board_of_Sanitarians_2022_signed.pdf		
upporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational Entity Questionnaire - Sanitarians.pdf		

Prepared on: December 15, 2023 Page 1 of 1

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

Arkansas State Board of Registered Professional Sanitarians

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year?

The State Board of Registered Sanitarians provides certification and professional oversight to more than just employees of a single state agency or only to professionals working in state government. Registered Sanitarians are one of the registered or licensed occupations accepted for an individual to become apply for Designated Representative License with the Arkansas Department of Health to be an authorized agent to design individual onsite waste (septic) systems. (A.C.A. § 14-236-103, paragraph 14)

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

No complaints received.

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by authorized practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

No complaints received.

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? If so, why?

No applicants were denied authorization.

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?

The program collects approximately \$2,695 in fees annually, with the most recent annual expenses of \$5,431. The current balance of the fund account is approximately \$34,236.

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose?

During the fiscal year 2023, the State Board of Sanitarians expended funds for additional training for the Board members.

Pursuant to Act 114 of 2023, the State Board of Sanitarians is preparing to reduce the annual fees for registration and the testing fees as follows:

Fee		Prior Fee	Reduced Fee
a)	Annual Registration Fee	\$20.00	\$1.00
b)	Application Fee	\$20.00	\$1.00
c)	First Year Registration (Upon passing exam)	\$10.00	\$1.00
d)	Reapplication within 60 days of expiration	\$40.00	\$2.00

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?

There are no other sources of revenue for the Board. See Response to Question #6.

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?

There were no exam failures in the past year. There have been exam failures in years prior, however applicants can take re-take the examination and all have passed the exam on the second examination. Since all have progressed, the board does not track non-progression.

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships?

No.

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?

The professional sanitarian registration as a professional credential. This registration is not required or mandatory to perform any specific tasks or duties; there is no scope of practice associated with this registration. It only designates individuals who have achieved specified academic, experience, and testing requirements. The registration enhances the competence and professionalism of the state's Environmental Health workforce, but otherwise, there would be no known short-term risk to public health if Arkansas did not have this registration, but it does enhance the profession and has benefits for the state.