

Occupational Authorizations

Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians

Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians

DISPENSING OPTICIAN

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 355

Arkansas Department of Health **Entity Division Name:**

17-89-102. Definitions. Scope of Practice:

(3) "Licensed dispensing optician" means any person licensed by the board to engage in ophthalmic

dispensing;

(4)(A) "Ophthalmic dispensing" means the preparation of laboratory work orders, verification, and dispensing of spectacle lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, or parts thereof to the intended wearer on a written prescription from a licensed physician skilled in disease of the eye or from a licensed

optometrist.

(B) "Opthalmic dispensing" shall include:

(i) The measuring, fitting, adapting, and adjusting of spectacle lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, or parts

thereof to the human face;

(ii) The preparation and delivery of work orders to laboratory technicians engaged in grinding lenses and fabrication of evewear:

(iii) The verification of the quality of finished spectacle lenses, spectacles, or eyeglasses; and

(iv) The adjustment or repair of spectacle frames to the human face.

(C) The prescribing, adapting, fitting, duplicating, dispensing, modifying, selling, or supplying of

contact lenses for or to the human eye is specifically excluded;

Statutory Requirement(s): 17-89-301. License or registration required.

Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, any person not licensed to practice medicine or optometry

in Arkansas who shall perform or purport to perform any act described in § 17-89-102(4) must be

licensed or registered by the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians as

provided in this chapter. History. Acts 1981, No. 589, § 3. A.S.A. 1947, § 72-210

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Examination Fee	\$250.00	Once	
Fee	Yearly renewal	\$3.00	Annually	
Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021_Dispensing_Opticians_RulesFinal.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 1 of 2

DISPENSING OPTICIAN APPRENTICE

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 205

Entity Division Name: Arkansas Department of Health

Scope of Practice: 17-89-401. Employment of apprentice dispensing opticians.

(a)(1) Licensed or registered opticians under this chapter may utilize apprentice dispensing opticians to

engage in ophthalmic dispensing as defined in this chapter under their direct personal physical supervision and at the same location where the licensed or registered person dispenses.

(2) However, no licensed or registered dispensing optician shall supervise more than three (3)

apprentices at a given time.

Statutory Requirement(s): 17-89-401. Employment of apprentice dispensing opticians.

b) Apprentices may be employed upon submission of an application for registration as an apprentice dispensing optician to the Arkansas Board of Dispensing Opticians and approval by the board and

payment of a fee to the board in an amount to be determined by the board.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Apprentice Application Fee	\$3.00	Once	
Fee	Apprentice Optician Renewal fee	\$3.00	Annually	
Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document			
Rules	2021_Dispensing_Opticians_RulesFinal.pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 2 of 2

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

ADH - Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

- 1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year? The Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians was established by the Legislature in 1981 to protect the interests of the Arkansas citizens. Consumers and Arkansas citizens would be at risk of harm if this profession was not regulated by a licensing board. Licensure and oversite by a licensing agency helps to ensure that consumers receive proper eyewear, Arkansas citizens could be in danger from improper eyewear. There has been no reported harm documented by the ASBDO in the past year.
- 2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? There have been no complaints made to the Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians, concerning unlicensed person fitting and dispensing eyewear in the last year.
- 3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? There were no complaints received where the consumer was harmed. There were five verbal complaints where the consumer was dissatisfied with treatment, all five were from Optometric offices. They were referred to the ADH Board of Optometry.
- 4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? If so, why? **No**
- 5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves? As of February 1, 2024, the fund balance of the Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians was 286,207. Annual expenses average \$47,000. Fees collected 2023 were

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

- \$60,000. Effective July 1, 2023, the Board's application, license, and renewal fees were reduced by 95% in accordance with recent legislation.
- **6.** If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose? **The Board's reserves have been used for pay plan requests.**
- 7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded? There is no other source of revenue. Application fees, renewal fees, examination fees, and fines alone fund the Arkansas State Board of Dispensing Opticians.
- 8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities? Applicants take a written and a practical exam administered by National Commission of State Opticianry Regulatory Boards. Approximately 20 percent may fail a potion of the examine on the first attempt. An applicant is only required to retest on the portion of the examine they did not pass.
- 9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships? Apprentice Opticians may receive an apprentice certificate that allows them to complete their required apprentice hours under a Licensed Optician, Licensed Optometrist, or a Licensed Arkansas Physician skilled in the disease of the eye with a complete application and a \$3.00 application fee. One hundred percent of applications to become licensed Optician have gone through the apprentice program.
- 10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders? Removing the occupational authorization requirements could be harmful to the citizens of Arkansas, and the consumer receiving improper eye wear that impacts their vision.