

Occupational Authorizations

Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners

Arkansas State Board of Barber Examiners

BARBER TECHNICIAN

Authorization Type: Certification # of Individuals Regulated: 0

Entity Division Name: Department of Labor and Licensing

Scope of Practice: Under direct supervision a technician may assist the barber in shampooing and sanitizing.

Statutory Requirement(s): SUBCHAPTER 5 — BARBER TECHNICIANS

17-20-502. Certification.

17-20-501. Scope of employment.

A certified barber technician may be employed in a licensed barbershop and may assist the barber in shampooing and sanitizing so long as the shampooing and sanitizing is done and performed under the direct personal supervision of a licensed barber. The barber technician shall not be permitted to cut or style hair or otherwise engage in the practice of barbering. History: Acts 1971, No. 541, § 1; A.S.A. 1947, § 71-536; Acts 2017, No. 1060, § 31.

The State Board of Barber Examiners shall issue a barber technician certification to a barbershop that is current with its shop and technician licenses.

History: Acts 1971, No. 541, § 2; 1975, No. 656, § 1; A.S.A. 1947, § 71-537; Acts 2017, No. 1060, §

32.

17-20-503. Certificate authorizing barbershop to continue to employ.

Upon application from a currently licensed barbershop and upon receipt of the application fee of thirty-five dollars (\$35.00), the State Board of Barber Examiners shall issue a certificate authorizing the licensed barbershop to continue to employ not more than two (2) persons as barber technicians.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties					
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency		
Fee	Technician Certificate	\$35.00	Annually		
Fee	Restoration of an expired technicain certificate	\$42.00	Once		
Administrative Rule	Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Rules	Subchapter_5-Barber_Technicians,_17-20-501;_17-20-502;_17-20-503.docx				
Supporting Evidence Documents					

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 1 of 6

BARBER STUDENT

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 500

Entity Division Name: Department of Labor and Licensing

Scope of Practice: The course of instruction in a controlled environment include the following subjects, Scientific

fundamentals for barbering; Physiology; Hygiene; Elementary chemistry relating to sterilization and antiseptics; Massaging and manipulating the muscles of the face, neck, and scalp; Hair cutting;

Bobbing; Waving; Shaving; Beard trimming; and Chemical services.

Statutory Requirement(s): 17-20-420. Application for enrollment.

(a) A school of barbering shall not enroll or admit any student thereto unless the student makes and files in duplicate a duly verified application. This application shall be of such form and contain such matters

as the State Board of Barber Examiners may prescribe.

(b) One (1) copy of the application shall be retained by the school enrolling or admitting the student, and one (1) copy shall be filed by the school with the board, along with the fee prescribed for the

administration of the student application and student license.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Student License	\$20.00	Annually
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	<u>Fees.docx</u>		
Supporting Evidenc	e Documents		

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

BARBER TEACHER MANAGER INSTRUCTOR (TMI)

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 66

Entity Division Name: Department of Labor and Licensing

Scope of Practice: A TMI is in charge of teaching theoretical scientific study, scientific

barbering practice, and general barbering practice.

Statutory Requirement(s): 17-20-406. Teacher manager instructor certification.

(a)(1) Application for examination for a teacher manager instructor certificate shall be filed with the State Board of Barber Examiners on blank forms prepared and furnished by the board and shall be

accompanied by the fee prescribed in § 17-20-409.

(2) A teacher manager instructor shall be a currently licensed barber who has completed a postgraduate course of six hundred (600) hours in barber teacher theory in an approved school.

(3) An applicant for a teacher manager instructor certificate shall take a written test and

demonstrate to the board his or her competency on a subject assigned by the board from the textbook on

one (1) of the following subjects:

(A) Haircutting;

(B) Permanent waving;

(C) Hair coloring;

(D) Hair styling;

(E) Chemical processing; or

(F) Shaving.

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 2 of 6

BARBER TEACHER MANAGER INSTRUCTOR (TMI) (Continued)

- (b) A person who has been continuously licensed or registered in another state to practice barbering and who also meets the requirements under this chapter may be issued a certificate of registration as a registered teacher manager instructor upon making application as required by law and upon payment of the reciprocity fee to obtain registration in this state as a registered barber, plus the teacher manager instructor reciprocity fee.
- (c) A teacher manager instructor shall have received not less than eight (8) hours of additional training in an instructor's training seminar or continuing education course certified by the board before renewal of his or her teacher manager instructor license.

17-20-409. Fees.

- (a) No school or college of barbering shall be approved by the State Board of Barber Examiners and no license shall be issued to operate or conduct any school or college of barbering until the applicant pays the initial license fee of five hundred dollars (\$500). Thereafter the school or college shall pay an annual renewal fee of one hundred fifty dollars (\$150).
- (b) Other fees applicable to barber schools or colleges are:
- (1) Teacher manager instructor examination......\$80.00
- (2) Teacher manager instructor license......40.00
- (3) Restoration of a teacher manager instructor license........48.00.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Certificate to practice as a teacher manager instructor	\$40.00	Annually
Fee	Restoration of an expired teacher manager instructor certificate	\$48.00	Once
Fee	Examination to practice as a teacher manager instructor (TMI)	\$80.00	Once
Administrative Rule	es Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Rules_910.docx		
Supporting Evidence Documents			

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

REGISTERED BARBER Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 2400 Department of Labor and Licensing **Entity Division Name:** Scope of Practice: Barbers are trained to perform, shaving or trimming the beard; Cutting hair; Giving facial and scalp massage or application of oils, creams, lotions, or other preparations, either by hand or mechanical appliances; Singeing, shampooing, or applying chemicals; Applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils, clays, or lotions to the scalp, face, or neck. Statutory Requirement(s): 17-20-301. Certificate required — Prohibitions. (a) Unless certified by the State Board of Barber Examiners as required by this chapter, it shall be unlawful for an individual or entity to: (1) Conduct or operate a barbering establishment, school of barbering, barbershop, or any other place of business in which any occupation of a barber is taught or practiced; (2) Fail to comply with the sanitation provisions of this chapter; (3) Act or attempt to act as a barber; or

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 3 of 6

REGISTERED BARBER (Continued)

- (4) Operate a barbershop unless it is operated under the personal supervision and management of a registered barber.
- (b) A person having charge of a barbering establishment or school of barbering, whether as an owner or an employee, shall not permit any room or part of a room in which any of the branches or practices of barbering are conducted, practiced, or taught to be used for sleeping, for residential purposes, or for any other purpose that would tend to make the room unsanitary.
- (c) A barbering establishment shall have a direct entrance separate and distinct from any entrance in connection with private quarters.
- (d)(1) It shall be unlawful for any individual or entity to employ or to allow to be employed a person not licensed by the board in or about a barber establishment as a barber manager.
- (2) If at any time the name, location, owner, or manager changes at any barbershop or barber school or college, the owner shall report that change by application and be subject to the fee established.
- (3) If a barbering establishment no longer employs a barber, or if a barbering establishment is closed, a new application shall be filed with the board.
- (e) It shall be the responsibility of all barbershop owners to assure that employees of the barbershop or those who work in the establishment have appropriate licenses.
- (f) Barber establishments that have persons licensed by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee shall also have the appropriate current licenses to practice.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Certificate to practice as a barber	\$50.00	Annually
Fee	Restoration of an expired certificate to practice as a barber	\$75.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity application and license fee	\$150.00	Once
Fee	Examination for a certificate to practice as a barber	\$75.00	Once
Administrative Rule	es Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Rules_910.docx		
Supporting Evidenc	e Documents		

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 4 of 6

BARBER SCHOOL

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 17

Entity Division Name: Department of Labor and Licensing - Board of Barber Examiners

Scope of Practice: Training persons to engage in the practice of barbering

Statutory Requirement(s): 17-20-301. Certificate required — Prohibitions.

(a) Unless certified by the State Board of Barber Examiners as required by this chapter, it shall be unlawful for an individual or entity to:

(1) Conduct or operate a barbering establishment, school of barbering, barbershop, or any other place of business in which any occupation of a barber is taught or practiced;

(2) Fail to comply with the sanitation provisions of this chapter;

(3) Act or attempt to act as a barber; or

(4) Operate a barbershop unless it is operated under the personal supervision and management of a registered barber.

(b) A person having charge of a barbering establishment or school of barbering, whether as an owner or an employee, shall not permit any room or part of a room in which any of the branches or practices of barbering are conducted, practiced, or taught to be used for sleeping, for residential purposes, or for any other purpose that would tend to make the room unsanitary.

(c) A barbering establishment shall have a direct entrance separate and distinct from any entrance in connection with private quarters.

(d)(1) It shall be unlawful for any individual or entity to employ or to allow to be employed a person not licensed by the board in or about a barber establishment as a barber manager.

(2) If at any time the name, location, owner, or manager changes at any barbershop or barber school or college, the owner shall report that change by application and be subject to the fee established.

(3) If a barbering establishment no longer employs a barber, or if a barbering establishment is closed, a new application shall be filed with the board.

(e) It shall be the responsibility of all barbershop owners to assure that employees of the barbershop or those who work in the establishment have appropriate licenses.

(f) Barber establishments that have persons licensed by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee shall also have the appropriate current licenses to practice.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$) I	Frequency
Fee	Initial license	\$500.00 C	Once
Fee	Annual renewal	\$150.00 A	Annually

Administrative Rules Documents

No Administrative Rules Documents Provided

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 5 of 6

BARBER SHOP

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 750

Entity Division Name: Department of Labor and Licensing - Board of Barber Examiners

Scope of Practice: A place of business under the supervision of a licensed barber where shaving or trimming the beard;

cutting hair; facial and scalp massage or application of oils, creams, lotions, or other preparations, singeing, shampooing, or applying chemicals; or applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders,

oils, clays, or lotions to the scalp, face, or neck are performed.

Statutory Requirement(s): SUBCHAPTER 3 — BARBER LAW — REGISTRATION

17-20-301. Certificate required — Prohibitions.

- (a) Unless certified by the State Board of Barber Examiners as required by this chapter, it shall be unlawful for an individual or entity to:(1) Conduct or operate a barbering establishment, school of barbering, barbershop, or any other place of business in which any occupation of a barber is taught or practiced;
- (2) Fail to comply with the sanitation provisions of this chapter;
- (3) Act or attempt to act as a barber; or
- (4) Operate a barbershop unless it is operated under the personal supervision and management of a registered barber.
- (b) A person having charge of a barbering establishment or school of barbering, whether as an owner or an employee, shall not permit any room or part of a room in which any of the branches or practices of barbering are conducted, practiced, or taught to be used for sleeping, for residential purposes, or for any other purpose that would tend to make the room unsanitary.
- (c) A barbering establishment shall have a direct entrance separate and distinct from any entrance in connection with private quarters.
- (d)(1) It shall be unlawful for any individual or entity to employ or to allow to be employed a person not licensed by the board in or about a barber establishment as a barber manager.
- (2) If at any time the name, location, owner, or manager changes at any barbershop or barber school or college, the owner shall report that change by application and be subject to the fee established.
- (3) If a barbering establishment no longer employs a barber, or if a barbering establishment is closed, a new application shall be filed with the board.
- (e) It shall be the responsibility of all barbershop owners to assure that employees of the barbershop or those who work in the establishment have appropriate licenses.
- (f) Barber establishments that have persons licensed by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee shall also have the appropriate current licenses to practice.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Registration of a new or previously unregistered barber shop	\$70.00	Once	
Fee	Renewal of barber shop registration certificate	\$50.00	Annually	
Fee	Restoration of an expired barber shop certificate	\$75.00	Once	
Administrative Rules Documents				
Document Type	Document			
Rules	Barber_Law_Registration.docx			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: February 07, 2024 Page 6 of 6

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

Board of Barber Examiners

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

- 1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? Yes, licensing and regulation of the profession ensures that barbers are properly trained and maintain proper sanitation requirements. The agency investigates and resolves consumer complaints while working to protect the health of the public by inspecting barber shops and barber schools, enforcing barber laws, setting the curriculum for the schools and testing applicants who present themselves for examinations. Barbers are trained to ensure that the public is protected from the spread of fungi, parasites, and viruses such as head lice, scabies, ringworm and Mersa. Unlicensed barbers would not be trained in the proper use of chemicals or sanitation. What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year? There has not been an instance of substantial harm documented in the past year. We inspect each barber shop and barber school to ensure licensing and sanitation requirements are being adhered to.
- 2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? There were two complaints received of an unauthorized practitioner working without a license. What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? The parties involved were notified in writing that if they continue to practice without proper licensure, they would be subject to an administrative hearing.
- 3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? There were fourteen complaints received. What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? The parties involved were notified in writing of the complaint received outlining the alleged violation. An inspection was conducted, and a copy of the inspection report given to the practitioner or barber shop manager. If a violation was noted during the inspection, a subsequent inspection was conducted to ensure compliance.

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

- 4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? No
- 5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? In fiscal year 2023 the Board collected approximately \$291,500.00 in revenue and had expenses that totaled \$316,200.00. How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves? \$300,695.00
- 6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? The funds are currently being used on an ongoing basis. For what purpose? Funding salaries, matching and operations.
- 7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? No. Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded? No, however the fee for a barber who let their license lapse for more than three years was reduced by fifty dollars (\$50.00) in 2022.
- 8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? The following data compiled for fiscal year 2022 had a failure rate of approximately 32% and fiscal year 2023 had a failure rate of approximately 22%. Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities? No
- 9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? Currently applicants cannot complete training through vocational, non-traditional education or by apprenticeship. Theory and practical training are taught in a licensed barber school under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor. What percentage of applicant's complete apprenticeships?
- 10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders? Removal of licensure would prevent barbers from obtaining licensure in other states that require a license to practice and would flood the profession with untrained people practicing barbering, therefore causing those with proper training to lose their livelihood. It would put the public at risks for the spread of fungi, parasites such as head lice,

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire

scabies, and ringworm. Unlicensed barbers would not be properly trained to recognize these issues.