Occupational Authorizations



for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE Thursday, March 14, 2024 at 2:00 PM

Department of Health		
ARTIST INSTRUCTOR		
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 176
Entity Division Name:	Cosmetology and Body Art Section	
Scope of Practice:	Department of Health as an artist for at least five or she will offer training; (2) Has worked in a be least five (5) years and has been in compliance w completed the course required under Ark Code § specified field of body art with the Department of sanitation guidelines and requirements by the De- instructor to eight (8) students per instruction ho	the Department who: (1) Has been licensed by the e (5) years in the specified field of body art in which he ody art establishment licensed by the Department for at with Department rules governing body artists; (3) Has § 20-27-1506; (4) Is a registered instructor for the of Health; (5) Has completed a course in safety and epartment; (6) Shall not exceed a ratio of one (1) our; (7) Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and (8) ructional hours from a state approved permanent ctor is a permanent cosmetics artist instructor.
Statutory Requirement(s):	artist trainers, and permanent cosmetics artist) to the Department may adopt appropriate rules reg conditions of establishments which perform pro-	
Pursuant to Arkansas Code	\$17.4.104 do you provide an automatic licensure	e to a uniformed service member stationed in

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Initial Artist Instructor Fee	\$150.00	Once
Administrative Rules	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Body_Art_Rules_2020_(5).pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireBody_Art_FINAL.pdf		
BODY PIERCERS			
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regula	ated: 277
Entity Division Name:	Cosmetology and Body Art Section		
Scope of Practice:	A body piercer is an individual licensed for body pier part of a live human being to create a hole for orname of a body part to insert an anchor with a single stud p	entation or decoration or a sing	gle-point perforation

CTT 1/1

Department of Health (Continued)		
BODY PIERCERS (Cont	inued)	
body piercing procedure shall not include piercing an earlobe with a pre-sterilized disposable, single- use stud or solid needle that is applied using a mechanical device to force the needle or stud through the earlobe.		
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §17-26-601, et seq., requires any body artists (including tattoo artist, body piercers, artist trainers, and permanent cosmetics artist) to be licensed with the Department of Health, and states the Department may adopt appropriate rules regarding the artists, premises, equipment, procedures, and conditions of establishments which perform procedures subject to this subchapter to assure that the premises, equipment, procedures, and conditions are aseptic and do not constitute a health hazard. The Department establishes standards for the application of body art, require licensing of artists and establishments, and require inspections of such establishments.	

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Body Artist Licensing Fee	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	Examination Fee	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Guest Artist License (educational purposes only)	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity Application Fee	\$200.00	Once
Fee	Reinstatement Fee	\$100.00	Once

Administrative Rules Documents

	~ _ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Document Type	Document
Rules	Body_Art_Rules_2020_(5).pdf
Supporting Evidence	e Documents
Document Type	Document
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireBody_Art_FINAL.pdf

PERMANENT COSMETIC ARTIST

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated:	427
Entity Division Name:	Cosmetology and Body Art Section		
Scope of Practice:	A Permanent Cosmetic Artist is an individual licensed utilize the application of pigment placed in the skin by body, including without limitation for the purposes of: micropigmentation; (3) Pigment lightening; (4) Apply limitation: (A) Microblading; (B) Manual methods; (5 permanent lip liner or lip color; and (7) Applying three cosmetics does not include tattooing or a tattooing pro	v a needle or other instrument to bea (1) Scar camouflaging; (2) Scalp ing permanent eyebrows, including) Applying permanent eyeliner; (6) e-dimensional nipples and areola. Pe	without Applying
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §17-26-601, et seq., requires any body artist trainers, and permanent cosmetics artist) to be lic the Department may adopt appropriate rules regarding conditions of establishments which perform procedure premises, equipment, procedures, and conditions are a Department establishes standards for the application o establishments, and require inspections of such establish	censed with the Department of Heal the artists, premises, equipment, press subject to this subchapter to assur- septic and do not constitute a health f body art, require licensing of artis	Ith, and states rocedures, and re that the n hazard. The

PERMANENT COSMETIC ARTIST (Continued)

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Body Artist Licensing Fee	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	Examination Fee	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Guest Artist License (educational purposes only)	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity Application Fee	\$200.00	Once
Fee	Reinstatement Fee	\$100.00	Once

Administrative Rules Documents

Document Type	Document
Rules	Body_Art_Rules_2020_(5).pdf
Supporting Evidence	e Documents
Document Type	Document

71		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireBody_Art_FINAL.pdf	

TATTOO ARTIST

IATIOU ARTIST		
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 672
Entity Division Name:	Cosmetology and Body Art Section	
Scope of Practice:	A tattoo artist is an individual licensed for the tattooing placing designs, letters, scrolls, figures, symbols or any introducing pigments, or by the production of scars to fo other instruments, but not to include permanent cosmetic	other marks upon or under the skin by orm indelible marks with the aid of needles or
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §17-26-601, et seq., requires any body a artist trainers, and permanent cosmetics artist) to be lice the Department may adopt appropriate rules regarding th conditions of establishments which perform procedures premises, equipment, procedures, and conditions are ase Department establishes standards for the application of the establishments, and require inspections of such establish	nsed with the Department of Health, and states he artists, premises, equipment, procedures, and subject to this subchapter to assure that the eptic and do not constitute a health hazard. The body art, require licensing of artists and

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Body Artist Licensing Fee	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	Examination Fee	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Reinstatement Fee	\$100.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity Application Fee	\$200.00	Once

Yes

epartment of Health (Continued)					
ATTOO ARTIST (C	ATTOO ARTIST (Continued)				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency		
Fee	Guest Artist License (educational purposes only)	\$50.00	Once		
Administrative Rules	s Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Rules	Body_Art_Rules_2020_(5).pdf				
Supporting Evidence	Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireBody_Art_FINAL.pdf				

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT CONTRACTOR/CONSULTANT

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated:	9
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Program	n	
Scope of Practice:	All lead-based paint activities, as defined by this rule, who occupied facilities must be performed by the following in set forth in this rule who are: (A) Employed by a licensed particular lead - based paint activity; or (B) Employed as based paint activity. "Licensed contractor" means a firm, association, or other business entity that performs lead - license by the Department. "Licensed consultant" means proprietorship, association, or other business entity that p been issued a license by the Department.	ndividuals certified in the particu d contractor or licensed consultar s an in-house employee for that p , partnership, corporation, sole pr based paint activities and has been a firm, partnership, corporation,	alar disciplines nt for that particular lead - roprietorship, en issued a , sole
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Departme training and examinations for individuals engaged in per subchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures for th individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities and tra for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce rules of this subchapter, including without limitation taking lead (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants that any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew the lice and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certifications notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of the authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administered by Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745.81	forming lead-based paint activiti ne licensing and certification of fi- ining providers engaged in traini- necessary or appropriate to the in gal action in a court of competen satisfy the requirements of this s censes and certifications under the under this subchapter for cause lead-based paint abatement rule by the state, fall under the jurisdi-	ies under this firms and ing individuals mplementation at jurisdiction; ubchapter and his subchapter; and after s are

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Lead-Based Paint Abatement Contractor	\$1,200.00	Annually
Fee	Lead-Based Paint Abatement Consultant	\$1,200.00	Annually
Administrative Rules	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
TS 1 11 TT 1.1 1			

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT CONTRACTOR/CONSULTANT (Continued)

Document TypeDocumentPublic Health andUccupation

Safety

Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Final_.pdf

LEAD-BASED PAINT AB	ATEMENT INSPECTOR	
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 9
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Program	n
Scope of Practice:	"Certified inspector" means an individual who has been to defined by the rules, or a training program which has been program which has been approved by EPA pursuant to 40 been certified by the Department to conduct lead - based samples for the presence of lead in dust and soil for the p clearance testing. A certified inspector must perform lead contractor or consultant, or as an in-house employee.	n accredited by EPA or a state or Indian Tribal) CFR Section 745.324 and the individual has paint inspections. A certified inspector also purposes of lead - based paint abatement
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Department training and examinations for individuals engaged in per- subchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures for the individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities and tra- for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce rules a of this subchapter, including without limitation taking lead (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants that any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew the lice and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certifications notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of the authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administered b Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745.81.	forming lead-based paint activities under this e licensing and certification of firms and ining providers engaged in training individuals necessary or appropriate to the implementation gal action in a court of competent jurisdiction; satisfy the requirements of this subchapter and censes and certifications under this subchapter; under this subchapter for cause and after lead-based paint abatement rules are by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Inspector License Fee	\$150.00	Annually
Fee	Third Party Exam Fee	\$50.00	Once
dministrative Ru	es Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
pporting Eviden	ce Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 1
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Program	n
Scope of Practice:	"Certified project designer" means an individual who ha as defined by this rule, or a training program which has l	

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT PROJECT DESIGNER (Continued)

Tribal program which has been approved by EPA pursuant to 40 CFR Section 745.324 and the individual has been certified by the Department to prepare lead - based paint abatement project designs, occupant protection plans, and abatement reports. A certified project designer must perform lead - based paint project designs, occupant protection plans, and abatement reports for a licensed contractor or consultant, or as an in-house employee.

Statutory Requirement(s): Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Department of Health shall (1) Require and regulate training and examinations for individuals engaged in performing lead-based paint activities under this subchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures for the licensing and certification of firms and individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities and training providers engaged in training individuals for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce rules necessary or appropriate to the implementation of this subchapter, including without limitation taking legal action in a court of competent jurisdiction; (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants that satisfy the requirements of this subchapter and any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew the licenses and certifications under this subchapter; and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certifications under this subchapter for cause and after notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of the lead-based paint abatement rules are authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administered by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745.81.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Project Designer License Fee	\$150.00	Annually
Administrative Rules	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT RISK ASSESSOR

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 9
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Progra	m
Scope of Practice:	"Certified risk assessor" means an individual who has been trained by a licensed training program as defined by this rule, or a training program which has been accredited by EPA or a state or Indian Tribal program which has been approved by EPA pursuant to 40 CFR Section 745.324, and the individual has been certified by the Department to conduct lead - based paint risk assessments and also sample for the presence of lead in dust and soil for the purpose of abatement clearance testing. A certified risk assessments and sampling for lead in dust and soil for the purposes of abatement clearance testing for a licensed contractor or consultant, or as an in-house employee.	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Departmetraining and examinations for individuals engaged in persubchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures for t individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities and tr for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce rules of this subchapter, including without limitation taking let (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants that	rforming lead-based paint activities under this he licensing and certification of firms and aining providers engaged in training individuals necessary or appropriate to the implementation egal action in a court of competent jurisdiction;

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT RISK ASSESSOR (Continued)

any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew the licenses and certifications under this subchapter; and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certifications under this subchapter for cause and after notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of the lead-based paint abatement rules are authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administered by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745.81.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Risk Assessor License Fee	\$150.00	Annually
Fee	Third-Party Exam Fee	\$50.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

LEAD-BASED PAINT AB	ATEMENT SUPERVISOR	
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 7
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Prog	gram
Scope of Practice:	"Certified supervisor" means an individual who has be defined by this rule, or a training program which has program which has been approved by EPA pursuant to been certified by the Department to conduct and supe protection plans and abatement reports. A certified su paint abatements, and must prepare occupant protectic contractor or consultant, or as an in-house employee.	been accredited by EPA or a state or Indian Tribal to 40 CFR Section 745.324 and the individual has ervise abatements, and to prepare occupant upervisor must conduct and supervise lead - based ion plans and abatement reports for a licensed
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Depart training and examinations for individuals engaged in subchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures for individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities and for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce ru of this subchapter, including without limitation taking (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants th any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew the and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certification notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administere Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745	performing lead-based paint activities under this or the licensing and certification of firms and d training providers engaged in training individuals alles necessary or appropriate to the implementation g legal action in a court of competent jurisdiction; that satisfy the requirements of this subchapter and the licenses and certifications under this subchapter; ions under this subchapter for cause and after the lead-based paint abatement rules are red by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the
Pursuant to Arkansas Code	§17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a	uniformed service member stationed in Yes

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who



LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT SUPERVISOR (Continued)

is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Supervisor License Fee	\$150.00	Annually
Fee	Third-Party Exam Fee	\$50.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

LEAD-BASED PAINT AB	ATEMENT TRAINING PROVIDER	
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 2
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Pai	nt Program
Scope of Practice:		thership, corporation, sole proprietorship, association, or a paint training for lead - based paint activities and has
Statutory Requirement(s):	training and examinations for individuals enga subchapter; (2) Establish standards and proced individuals engaged in lead-based paint activit for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enfo of this subchapter, including without limitation (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all appli- any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Ret and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and cer- notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcem	Department of Health shall (1) Require and regulate ged in performing lead-based paint activities under this ures for the licensing and certification of firms and ies and training providers engaged in training individuals orce rules necessary or appropriate to the implementation a taking legal action in a court of competent jurisdiction; cants that satisfy the requirements of this subchapter and new the licenses and certifications under this subchapter; tifications under this subchapter for cause and after nent of the lead-based paint abatement rules are inistered by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the FR 745.81.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Training Provider License	\$900.00	Annually
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

Prepared on: February 16, 2024

LEAD-BASED PAINT ABATEMENT WORKER			
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 10	
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Epidemiology, Lead-Based Paint Pro	ogram	
Scope of Practice:	"Certified abatement worker" means an individual w activities training program, as defined by this rule, o EPA or a state or Indian Tribal program which has be 745.324 and the individual has been certified by the abatements. A certified abatement worker must perfor contractor or consultant, or as an in-house employee	Department to perform lead - based paint orm lead - based paint	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §20-27-2505 provides that the Depart training and examinations for individuals engaged in subchapter; (2) Establish standards and procedures f individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities an for certification under this subchapter; (3) Enforce re of this subchapter, including without limitation takin (4) Issue licenses and certifications to all applicants any rule adopted under this subchapter; (5) Renew th and (6) Suspend or revoke the licenses and certificat notice and opportunity for a hearing. Enforcement of authorized by 40 CFR 745.324, and if not administer Environmental Protection Agency under 40 CFR 745.	n performing lead-based paint activities under this for the licensing and certification of firms and ad training providers engaged in training individuals ules necessary or appropriate to the implementation ng legal action in a court of competent jurisdiction; that satisfy the requirements of this subchapter and he licenses and certifications under this subchapter; tions under this subchapter for cause and after of the lead-based paint abatement rules are ered by the state, fall under the jurisdiction of the	

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Lead-Based Paint Abatement Worker	\$35.00	Annually
dministrative Rules	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	2021_Lead_Based_Paint_Rules_Final.pdf		
upporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Lead-Based_Paint_Program_Finalpdf		

ONSITE WASTEWATER SYSTEM MONITOR			
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 88	
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Health		
Scope of Practice:	A certified monitoring person is an individ the Onsite Wastewater Systems Monitorin	ual certified by the Department to conduct assessments under g Program.	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §14-236-101, et seq., also known as the Arkansas Sewage Disposal Systems Act, provides that the Division of Environmental Health Protection of the Department of Health or its authorized agents shall have general supervision and authority over the location, design, construction, installation, and operation of individual sewage disposal systems, and shall be responsible for the administration of this chapter and of the rules adopted pursuant to this chapter.		

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the

Yes

ONSITE WASTEWATER SYSTEM MONITOR (Continued)

spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Onsite Wastewater System Monitor License Fee	\$50.00	Annually
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	FINAL_OnsiteWastewater_(2022)_signed.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireOnsite_Wastewater_Final.pdf		

SEPTIC SYSTEM DESIGNER/SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEMS DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE				
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 152		
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Health			
Scope of Practice:	Designated Representative (DR). A person certified by the Department to make percolation tests, system designs, and inspections subject to the Authorized Agent's final approval. Designated Representatives shall be registered professional engineers, registered land surveyors, licensed master plumbers, registered sanitarians or other similarly qualified individuals holding current certificates from the State of Arkansas, and shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Authorized Agent prior to their designation as a "Designated Representative" their competency to make percolation tests, designs and final inspections for onsite wastewater systems in accordance with these Rules and when authorized by the Authorized Agent.			
Statutory Requirement(s):	provides that the Division of Environmental authorized agents shall have general supervi	nown as the Arkansas Sewage Disposal Systems Act, I Health Protection of the Department of Health or its ision and authority over the location, design, construction, rage disposal systems, and shall be responsible for the es adopted pursuant to this chapter.		

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Designated Representative License Fee	\$100.00	Annually
Administrative Rules	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	FINAL_OnsiteWastewater_(2022)_signed.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireOnsite_Wastewater_Final.pdf		

SEPTIC TANK CLEANER				
Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated:	204	
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Health			
Scope of Practice:	Any person, firm, corporation, or association which clean portable toilets, or transports septage or sewage within the		n devices,	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code § 17-45-101, et seq., provides the Department of Health with the authority to promulgate rules regulating the septic tank cleaning business, and that so person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association shall engage in the business of septic tank cleaning for compensation without first obtaining a license as provided under law.			

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Septic Tank Cleaner License Fee	\$25.00	Annually
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	FINAL_2022_SEPTIC_TANK_CLEANER_Rule_(signed.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_Questionnaire_Septic_Tank_Cleaners_2024.pdf		

SEPTIC TANK INSTALLER

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 1042
Entity Division Name:	Environmental Health	
Scope of Practice:	A Septic Tank Installer means any person, firm, corporati agency licensed by the department, which constructs, ins systems for others.	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Arkansas Code §14-236-101, et seq., also known as the A provides that the Division of Environmental Health Prote authorized agents shall have general supervision and auth installation, and operation of individual sewage disposal administration of this chapter and of the rules adopted put	ection of the Department of Health or its nority over the location, design, construction, systems, and shall be responsible for the

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member's spouse from accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	Septic Tank Installer License Fee	\$100.00	Annually	
Administrative R	dministrative Rules Documents			

Yes

Department of Health (Department of Health (Continued)		
SEPTIC TANK INSTA	LLER (Continued)		
Document Type	Document		
Kules	FINAL_OnsiteWastewater_(2022)_signed.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Supporting Evidence Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Occupational_Entity_QuestionnaireOnsite_Wastewater_Final.pdf		

Cosmetology and Body Art

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15^{th} of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year?

The consumers would be at risk of substantial harm if the State of Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization. Body Art is one of the few occupations that require direct person to person contact, including, but not limited to, the use of chemicals and preparations to be applied to the skin and other appropriate tools where the public may be harmed from the improper use or failure of protection from the potential fumes and other environmental safety concerns. Notable dangers and concerns of a potentially unsafe environment to vulnerable individuals including sexual misconduct with or without consent from the client, infections, such as fungus, folliculitis, impetigo, ringworm, lice, mycobacterium, methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus ("MRSA"), conjunctivitis, and staph, use of equipment and needles that have not been properly sanitized in between clients, not properly disposing of sharps and use of products and chemicals that have not been approved by the State of Arkansas or the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

To ensure the safety of the licensee and the public, the body art occupation is commonly regulated across the states for health and safety practices. We have received complaints against individuals practicing body art and not licensed by the Arkansas Department of Health ("ADH") or engaging in practice outside the training and certifications the artist has received. The complaints alleged unlicensed and unauthorized individuals performed unsafe procedures to individuals in the public, and alleged licensed artist who are engaging in practices. This can cause serious harm to the public because these individuals did not have the proper training, experience, and requirements to provide sanitary and safe services on the public free from harm.

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

The Department has received 11 complaints regarding unauthorized practitioners of which the Department sent ten cease and desist letters, and one was referred to the local prosecuting attorney.

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

The Department has received one complaint regarding an infection. There were also multiple complaints on establishments for unsanitary practices and establishments serving alcohol on the premises. Most complaints resulted in an inspection followed by a

warning letter to comply with the relevant law. The Department also received a complaint regarding a licensed body artist charged with multiple prohibiting offenses, for which the Department suspended the body artist's license pending adjudication of the charges.

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? If so, why?

The Body Art Section is not aware of any applicants whose license was denied and who otherwise met licensing requirements. Applicants are made aware of the requirements for licensure. If an individual meets all requirements and standards within the law and the Rules for Body Art and completes and - is not disqualified based on a criminal background check, then the applicant receives their license.

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?

Current anticipated revenues are \$128,889.63. Projected annual expenses for FY 2024 is \$78,130.45 dollars. Body Art currently has \$165,109.62 dollars in reserves.

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose?

The Department has not utilized any reserves since the occupational licensing was transferred to the Department of Health.

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?

No, the entity does not have any other source of income. The Department will continue to review the annual collections and increase in the reserves to determine the need for fee reductions in compliance with Act 114 of 2023.

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?

The Body Art Section does not track this information and is only aware of applicants after each submits their application for licensure upon graduation from a body art school or approved apprenticeship program and passage of the required licensure exam, and does not have any information for failures that are veterans, women, or minorities.

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicant's complete apprenticeships?

To be licensed as an artist in Arkansas, an applicant can attend and complete a program from an Arkansas Licensed Postsecondary Body Art Institution. There is currently no federally approved apprenticeship programs for the purposes of the Earn and Learn Act.

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?

Licensure ensures that body artists in Arkansas meet the standards and education requirements needed to protect the public and licensees in the state properly. Licensure also protects the public by providing a review of complaints and implementation of disciplinary actions. Through licensure verification, citizens and entities can ensure that the individual has met all requirements to practice body art and have the training, knowledge, and experience to provide safe services to their clients. The reduction in requirements would put the citizens of Arkansas at harm because the artists would not have the proper training to perform services in a safe and sanitary way.

Public health and safety concerns for potential harm addressed by this licensure and the training requirements include the proper and improper use of chemicals on the skin, sanitary practices, and improper massage techniques. Notable dangers and concerns include infections, such as fungus, folliculitis, impetigo, ringworm, lice, mycobacterium, MRSA, conjunctivitis, and staph, in addition to risks of burns, improper application of hot stones, use of linens that have not been properly sanitized in between clients, and use of products and chemicals that have not been approved by the State of Arkansas or the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. The training and licensure required for the body art occupation should not be reduced or eliminated as it helps protect the public from these potential dangers and concerns from unlicensed artist and licensed artist engaging in procedures outside the scope of the training and certifications.

ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee Occupational Entity Questionnaire Lead-Based Paint Program

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

Occupational Entity: Arkansas Department of Health Lead-Based Paint Program

Contact Information

Main Email: <u>ADH.LBP@Arkansas.gov</u>

Main Office: 501-671-1472

Name: Ashley Mason, Lead-Based Paint Program Epidemiologist

Ashley.Mason@Arkansas.gov

Office: 501-671-1549

- 1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year?
 - The Rules for the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) Lead-Based Paint program (LBP) program are federally mandated. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is over the program and provides Arkansas with a grant to run the program at a State level. Arkansas can remove occupational authorization at a State level, but the grant and the administration of the Rules will be reabsorbed and enforced by the EPA.
 - The EPA, as with other government agencies, is understaffed. If the EPA were to regain authority over the LBP program for Arkansas, it could take much longer for Arkansans to get pertinent information and have their Arkansas-specific questions addressed. This could lead to a delay in work for companies. There would also be a delay in having complaints addressed as it would be much more difficult for someone with the EPA to visit Arkansas for a site investigation. With that understanding, Arkansas consumers could potentially be at substantial harm if Arkansas, at a State level did not have this occupational authorization.

- 2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?
 - Complaints made to the ADH LBP program based on lead abatement are • uncommon. The LBP program oversees lead abatement in Arkansas, which is the complete removal of lead-based paint. In contrast, the EPA is over the Renovate, Repair, Paint (RRP) rules and program, which addresses most of the complaints in Arkansas. With that being stated, it is difficult to provide an exact number to how many complaints were made to the LBP program given that the medical case management and surveillance side of the program is tightly connected to the enforcement and licensing side of the program. On average, we have approximately 275 elevated blood lead cases each year in Arkansas. However, the LBP program may receive less than a handful of direct complaints against specific contractors each year submitted by the public. In addition, due to the overlap inherent with the ADH LBP program being a federally created and lead grant program, a significant portion of the actual contractor complaints likely go through the EPA directly versus the LBP office at the State level. The EPA does not report the number of complaints from Arkansas to the ADH LBP program. Our program will, however, assist the EPA in providing information to the public regarding the Rules in Arkansas for both abatement and RRP.
- 3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?
 - No complaints were made to the ADH LBP program by consumers being harmed by authorized practitioners licensed through the LBP program. No action was needed by the ADH LBP program as there were no complaints regarding authorized practitioners to address.
- 4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied authorization in the past year? If so, why?
 - No, there were no applicants who applied to the ADH LBP program who met authorization requirements and were denied licensure in the past year.

- 5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?
 - The total amount of fees collected annually by the ADH LBP program varies and depends on if a company or licensee renews their license, if new companies and their workers apply for licensure, etc. The ADH LBP program collects approximately \$17,000 annually in fees. The ADH LBP program is grant-funded by the EPA and as such, does not have money in reserves. The fees collected by the ADH LBP program are applied to an ADH trust fund designated for emergency lead abatement activities, should they ever be needed. The LBP program grant provided by the EPA includes funding specifically to cover program expenses.
- 6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose?
 - The ADH LBP program does not have money in reserves. The LBP program is grant-funded by the EPA. If there is a surplus for the LBP program at the end of the grant cycle, it is subtracted from the funding provided in the next grant cycle by the EPA.
- 7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?
 - No, there are no other sources of revenue for the ADH LBP program. The fees collected by the ADH LBP program are not applied to the LBP program but are added to an ADH trust fund reserved for lead abatement emergencies.
- 8. How many applicants for occupational authorization fail each year? Does the occupational entity track how many applicants who do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?
 - No applicants that meet the requirements for the LBP program licensure fail. The ADH LBP program staff provides information and guidance to applicants to

ensure that all the requirements are met, and their applications are complete. Since no applicants who meet the requirements for the LBP program licensure fail, the LBP program does not track how many applicants who fail are veterans, women, or minorities.

- 9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships?
 - No, applicants cannot complete the ADH LBP program training requirements with vocational or non-traditional education. Applicants must take EPA-approved courses and pass exams to meet the requirements for licensure as stated by federal mandate.
- 10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?
 - The Rules for the ADH LBP program are federally mandated. Although Arkansas can remove occupational authorization at a State level, the grant and the administration of the Rules will be absorbed and enforced by the EPA at a Federal level. Therefore, Arkansas consumers could potentially be at substantial harm if Arkansas, at a State level did not have this occupational authorization.

Environmental Health -- On-site Wastewater

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year?

This licensing group oversees the Individual Sewage Disposal Act. Designated Representatives review the soils, layout a proposed system, and submits the permit and drawing for approval. Installers are tested to ensure their knowledge of proper installation, and Certified Monitoring Personnel ensure compliance for experimental or discharging systems. The department receives too many complaints across the state on sewage disposal system to completely quantify. Most issues are handled locally by staff. Undeveloped Lots in Arkansas for homesites can be very expensive as well as the installation of approved systems. Failure to make sure each step it properly done can result in either a failing system or the extra expense of the best available treatment.

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

The Department received 671 complaints in the past year, typically filed at county local health units, regarding general sanitation and sewage issues. The Environmental Health Specialists across the state receiving the complaints work to investigate and move non-compliant systems and parties into compliance as soon as possible, including holding permits for systems until the installer is properly licensed. The Department does not track these complaints based on licensee's status but rather the type of problem with the malfunctioning or unauthorized system.

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

Please see answer #2 above.

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? If so, why?

None.

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses?

The Department will collect approximately \$125,000 during the FY2024. As this program combined with other environmental health programs utilizes staff in incur

expenses throughout the state at local health units, as well as staff at the main office location, the estimated annual expenses are estimated to exceed \$2,000,000.

6. How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?

There is no reserve.

7. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose?

N/A

8. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?

Yes, \$ 25 is collected and enter this account for each individual sewage permit issued in the state. Reduction of fees would cause the program to be further underfunded.

9. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?

The Department does not track applicants failing to qualify for licensure. Any applicants that fail to meet the requirements such as the examination scores are allowed to retake the exam at a later time. The Department does not track failures, so it is not known how many are veterans, women, or minorities.

10. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships?

The Designated Representative license does have an apprenticeship structure for applicants to work with current Designated Representatives. Less than 5% of applicants utilize this method.

11. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?

These licensees have specific knowledge of onsite wastewater systems and their corresponding roles to ensure each system has the ability to function as approved. Failure on any step in the process can subject the current and future homeowners to many additional risks when unknowledgeable individuals are employed. Errors made and not corrected leave the homeowner, financial institutions, and the public at risk.

Environmental Health -- Septic Tank Cleaners

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled for review by the Subcommittee.

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been documented in the past year?

Onsite Wastewater Systems "Septic Systems" require maintenance. The Septic Tank Cleaners are licensed to remove the septage and must show proof of an approved site to dispose of it. Without specific regulation for cleaning, transporting, and disposing of septage, public health and safety may be at risk for contamination with drinking water and environmental concerns.

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>unauthorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

The Department has not received complaints on any unauthorized practitioners.

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed by <u>authorized</u> practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity?

In the last year, two complaints were verified and resulted in a consent order signed by the parties with a reduced fine.

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an authorization in the past year? If so, why?

No.

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves?

The Department has collected approximately \$5,000 in FY 2024. As this program, combined with other environmental health programs, utilizes staff that incur expenses throughout the state at local health units, as well as staff at the main office location, the estimated annual expenses are estimated to exceed \$2,000,000.

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time reserve funds were used? For what purpose?

The Department currently does not carry a reserve.

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded?

No.

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? We do not track. Does the occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, or minorities?

The Department does not track applicants failing to qualify for licensure. Any applicants that fail to meet the requirements such as the examination scores are allowed to retake the exam at a later time. The Department does not track failures, so it is not known how many are veterans, women, or minorities.

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of applicants complete apprenticeships?

There are no prerequisites for this license. Applicants are only required to pass an examination over the applicable law and rules.

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders?

There would be little or no recourse for action taken in improperly disposing of septage and or portable toilet wastes.