
Occupational Authorizations
Department of Education

Department of Education

MIDDLE SCHOOL TEACHER

Allows individuals to teach in a specific content area in grades 4-8 in Arkansas Schools.

Middle School Teachers teach students in public or private schools in one or more subjects at the 
middle school level, which falls between elementary and senior high school and includes grades 4 
through 8. Specialty areas of licensure include teaching of the humanities, science and mathematics, 
and vocational education courses.

Division of Elementary and Seconary Education

Licensure 38372# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Page 1 of 16August 18, 2025Prepared on:

EXHIBIT C1



ADULT EDUCATION TEACHER (POST-SECONDARY)

Teaching in Adult Education settings.

Adult Education Teachers instruct out-of-school youths and adults in remedial education classes, 
preparatory classes for the General Educational Development test, literacy, or English as a Second 
Language. Teaching may or may not take place in a traditional educational institution.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Eduation

Licensure 726# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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DYSLEXIA

Permits an individual the ability to provide dyslexia services to students in Arkansas schools.

Educators specializing in dyslexia support students who have been diagnosed with the condition by 
equipping them with effective reading strategies and tools. In this role, responsibilities typically involve 
delivering targeted instruction through specialized programs, both within mainstream classrooms and in 
dedicated learning environments designed to meet individual needs.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 755# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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ENGLISH (FOR SPEAKERS OF OTHER LANGUAGES)

Permits an individual the ability to serve as an ESOL teacher in Arkansas schools.

ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) teachers are responsible for providing specialized 
instruction to help English Language Learners (ELLs) develop their English language proficiency and 
succeed academically. Their responsibilities include assessing students, planning and delivering 
instruction, collaborating with other teachers, and communicating with families and stakeholders. 

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 11041# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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LIBRARY MEDIA SPECIALIST

Permits an individual the ability to serve as a library media specialist in Arkansas schools.

Library Media Specialists administer libraries and perform related library services. Their tasks may 
include selecting, acquiring, cataloguing, classifying, circulating, and maintaining library materials; and 
furnishing reference, bibliographical, and readers' advisory services. They may set up or work with 
databases and information systems to catalogue and access information.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 4091# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGY SPECIALIST

Allows an individual to practice school psychology in Arkansas schools.

School Psychology Specialists are employed in Arkansas public schools. They diagnose and treat 
mental disorders, learning disabilities, and cognitive, behavioral, and emotional problems using 
individual, child, family, and group therapies. They may design and implement behavior modification 
programs.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 500# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Rules Governing Educator Licensure $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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BUILDING ADMINISTRATOR K-12

Required to serve as a building level administrator.

Building Administrators direct and coordinate educational, administrative, and counseling activities of 
primary or secondary schools. They evaluate educational programs to insure complete conformance to 
State and School Board Standards. They coordinate educational programs through meetings with their 
staff and through review of teaching department's activities and they issue directives as necessary to 
insure compliance. They confer with teaching personnel, pupils, and parents, on matters pertaining to 
educational and behavioral problems in school. They establish and maintain relationships with colleges, 
community organizations, and other schools to coordinate the educational services. They requisition 
and allocate supplies, equipment, and instructional material as needed. In addition, they supervise the 
assignment of teachers and pupils to classes.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 16383# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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CURRICULUM ADMINISTRATOR K-12

Permits and individual to serve as a curriculum administrator in Arkansas schools.

A Curriculum Administrator in Arkansas is a school leader responsible for program development and 
administration, as well as employment evaluation decisions. They work in various areas, including 
special education, gifted and talented education, career and technical education, adult education, content 
area specialization, or as a general curriculum specialist. Key responsibilities include aligning 
curriculum with state standards, providing professional development for teachers, and evaluating the 
effectiveness of educational programs

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 3130# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Page 8 of 16August 18, 2025Prepared on:



ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOL COUNSELOR

Permits an individual to serve as an elementary or secondary school counselor in Arkasnas schools.

School Counselors provide both individual and group counseling for education and vocational guidance 
services. They collect, organize, and analyze information gathered through records, tests, interviews, 
and professional sources in order to appraise student interests, aptitudes, abilities, and personality 
characteristics. In addition, they compile and study occupational, educational and economic information 
to aid students in making and carrying out vocational and educational objectives. They often refer 
students to placement services and will assist individuals to understand and overcome social and 
emotional problems. Often the counselor will also have teaching duties and may be engaged in research 
and follow up activities to evaluate counseling techniques. 

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 6385# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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ELEMENTARY EDUCATION K-6 TEACHER

Allows an individual to teach all subject areas in grades K-6 in Arkansas schools.

Elementary School Teachers teach students basic academic, social, and other formative skills in public 
or private schools at the elementary level. Note: Elementary Education K-6 has taken the place of the 
Early Childhood P-4 Teacher license. Spring of 2015 was the last time Institutions could take students 
into the Early Childhood P-4 program. The Early Childhood P-4 Teacher license will cease to be issued 
after current students matriculate through the programs

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 32994# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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K-12 AREA TEACHER

Permits an individual the ability to teach in Art, Music, PE/Health, Drama/Speech, or Foreign Language 
in Arkansas schools. 

K-12 content area teachers teach in the areas of Art, Music, PE/Health, Drama/Speech, and Foreign 
Languages.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 31841# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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SCHOOL SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST

It is required to practice speech pathology in Arkansas schools.

School Speech Language Pathologists hold Arkansas Department of Education licenses and work in 
Arkansas public schools. They work with children who have speech, language, and voice disorders 
from such causes as hearing loss, cognitive

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 1012# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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SECONDARY SCHOOL TEACHER

Allows indviduals to teach in their specific content areas.

Secondary School Teachers usually teach in only one, two or three subject areas. They teach several 
classes every day, with the teaching method varying from formal lectures to free discussions, depending 
on the subject and the students' needs and aptitudes. The choice of method is usually left to the teacher. 
Besides giving classroom instruction, all school teachers plan and develop teaching materials, prepare 
and correct tests, maintain records and make out reports, consult with parents, and perform other duties 
as directed. Maintaining good relations with parents and the community is an important aspect of the 
teaching profession. Teachers must be willing to devote extra time to those students who need special 
help, and they must continually stay up-to-date on new educational materials and teaching techniques. 
Specialty areas of licensure include teaching of the humanities, science and mathematics, visual and 
performing arts and vocational education courses.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 20038# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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SPECIAL EDUCATION INSTRUCTIONAL SPECIALIST

It is a licensure area that allows individuals to teach special eduation and meet the requirements of state 
and federal law. 

Special Education Instructional Specialists teach subjects to children with disabilities. Included are 
teachers who specialize and work with audibly and visually impaired students age 3-21.

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 9035# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(12).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR

Permits an individual the ability to serve as a district level administrator in Arkansas schools.

District Administrators direct and coordinate activities concerned with the administration of city, 
county, or other school systems in accordance with the Board of Education standards. They are 
responsible for formulating plans and policies for all educational programs and submitting them to the 
school board for approval. They administer the programs for selection of new school sites, construction 
of buildings, and provision of equipment and supplies. They further direct the preparation and 
presentation of school budgets and they determine the amount of school bond requirements. They also 
enlist the support of civic groups when required. They interpret program and policies of the school 
system to school personnel, to individuals, and community groups and governmental agencies. They are 
also responsible for coordinating the work of school systems with related activities of other school 
districts and agencies. In addition, they ensure that the laws applying to attendance of children at school 
are enforced. They also may supervise the examining, appointing, training, and promoting of teaching 
personnel.

Divison of Elementary and Secondary Education

Licensure 6385# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal_(13).pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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CAREER AND PROFESSIONAL PERMITS TEACHER/INSTRUCTOR

Allows individuals the ability to teach in their area of career expertise in Arkansas schools.

Career and Technical Education (CTE) permits are issued to professionals who are transitioning from 
industry into the education sector, allowing them to teach specialized technical or vocational subjects 
based on their practical experience. 

Division of Career and Technical Education

Permit 1819# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code §17-4-104, do you provide an automatic licensure to a uniformed service member stationed in the 
State of Arkansas, a uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; and the 
spouse of a uniformed service member who is stationed in, resides in, or establishes residency in the State of Arkansas; a 
uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty that excludes the uniformed service member’s spouse from 
accompanying the uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to this state; and a uniformed service member who is 
killed or succumbs to his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse establishes residency in the state?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Licensure Application Fee $75.00 Quinquennially

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Educator_Licensure_Rules_-_Final_-_9-2-24_Legal.pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

 

Responses to the following questions are due via email to Subcommittee staff no later than the 

15th of the month immediately preceding the month the occupational authorization is scheduled 

for review by the Subcommittee.  

1. Would consumers be at risk of substantial harm if Arkansas did not have this 

occupational authorization? What instances of specific and substantial harm have been 

documented in the past year? 

Yes; Over the past year (July 1, 2024 – August 1, 2025), the following represents the 

number of final orders from the State Board (final sanctions) with the type of 

sanction: 

  

116 Cases were investigated and were approved by the State Board for a final 

sanction.  

  

Written Reprimand/Level I – 12 

Probation/Level II – 44 

Suspension, Probation/Level III – 20 

Revocation/Level IV – 40 

2. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed 

by unauthorized practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational 

entity?The following represents cases involving unlicensed educators between July 

1, 2024 – August 1, 2025 that went to State Board for final sanctions.   

Waiver - 4 

ETP – 1 

Intern/Pre-service – 1 

MAT – 15 

ArPep – 4 

Other non-traditional – 8 

Unknown – 1 

 



ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

3. How many complaints were made to the occupational entity by consumers being harmed 

by authorized practitioners? What specific action was taken by the occupational entity? 

Between July 1, 2024 – August 1, 2025, 340 total allegations filed.  We do not track 
 licensed vs. unlicensed allegations received.  We only track licensed vs. unlicensed 
 once the cases are authorized. 
  

Regarding what specific action was taken, see response to No. 1. 
 

4. Were any applicants who otherwise met authorization requirements denied an 

authorization in the past year? If so, why? No 

5. How much does the occupational entity collect annually in fees, and what are annual 

expenses? How much money does the occupational entity have in reserves? Yes, $75. 

$458,777.19 

 

6. If the occupational entity has a positive amount in reserves, when was the last time 

reserve funds were used? For what purpose? Salaries for Professional Licensure Board 

investigators and our Arkansas Educator Licensing System.  

7. Does the occupational entity have any other sources of revenue? Could occupational 

authorization fees be reduced without causing the occupational entity to be underfunded? 

No. No.  

8. How many applicants for the occupational authorization fail each year? Does the 

occupational entity track how many applicants that do not progress are veterans, women, 

or minorities? There is no failure unless an individual fails their background check or 

fails to meet licensure requirements. Since 2020, the yearly average of denials for certified 

staff is seven (7). We do not track this information or the status of veterans, women, or 

minorities.  

9. Can applicants complete the training requirements for this occupational authorization 

with vocational or non-traditional education (e.g., apprenticeships)? What percentage of 

applicants complete apprenticeships? Apprenticeships and specifically Registered 

Apprenticeships are relatively new for licensure in Arkansas. They have been running for 

two years now and we should be able to report numbers soon.  

10. In what ways would removal of the occupational authorization or reduction of 

occupational authorization requirements be harmful to current authorization holders? The 



ALC – Occupational Licensing Review Subcommittee 

Occupational Entity Questionnaire 

Division of Elementary and Secondary education has sought to make licensing as flexible 

as possible without sacrificing the quality of the profession. We have multiple alternative 

routes to licensure and individuals that hold a standard license and a bachelor’s degree 

are able to test out of all first-time licensure areas. We also have flexibility for the 

demonstration of content knowledge built into provisional licensure requirements.  
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