Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Monday, June 15, 2020 at 1:30 PM

Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training

LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER

Authorization Type: Certification # of Individuals Regulated: 11670

Entity Division Name: Division of Law Enforcement Standards and Training

Scope of Practice: Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated 12-9-104, The Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement

Standards and Training establishes the minimum selection and training standards for admission to and

continuing employment as a law enforcement officer in the State of Arkansas.

The Division of Law Enforcement Standards and Training is a state agency consisting of two branches that ensure compliance with the selection and training standards set by the Commission. The Office of Law Enforcement Standards ensures compliance with the selection criteria set by the Commission,

including minimum education requirements, criminal record checks, continuing education

requirements, and approving certification requests. The Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy

(ALETA) has three locations that conduct basic and specialized training throughout the year.

Statutory Requirement(s): As determined by the Arkansas Legislature in Arkansas Code Annotated 12-9-101, it is in public

interest that minimum levels of education and training be developed and made available to persons seeking to become law enforcement officers and to persons presently serving as law enforcement

officers.

Arkansas Code Annotated 12-9-104 requires the Commission to promulgate rules associated with the minimum selection and training standards for law enforcement officers, including those standards set in

Arkansas Code Annotated 12-9-106.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rule	s Documents				
Document Type	Document				
Rules	<u>1000.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1001.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1002.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1003.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1004.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1005.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1006.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1007.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1008.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1009.pdf</u>				
Rules	<u>1010.pdf</u>				

Prepared on: May 19, 2020 Page 1 of 2

Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training (Continued)

Document Type	Document	
Rules	<u>1011.pdf</u>	
Rules	<u>1012.pdf</u>	
Rules	<u>1013.pdf</u>	
Rules	$1014.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1015.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	<u>1016.pdf</u>	
Rules	$1017.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	<u>1018.pdf</u>	
Rules	$1019.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$\underline{1020.\mathrm{pdf}}$	
Rules	$1021.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1022.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1023.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1024.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1025.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1026.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1027.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1028.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1029.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1030.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	$1031.\mathrm{pdf}$	
Rules	<u>1032.pdf</u>	
Rules	<u>1033.pdf</u>	
Rules	<u>1034.pdf</u>	

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: May 19, 2020 Page 2 of 2