

Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, September 16, 2021 at 2:00 PM

Arkansas State Plant Board

INDUSTRIAL HEMP GROWER

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 49

Entity Division Name: Seed Division

Scope of Practice: Businesses or individuals who grow, process, or handle industrial hemp in the state of Arkansas.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A. 2-15-208 provides that a person shall obtain a license before planting or growing industrial

hemp in their state.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Application fee	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Grower License	\$200.00	Annually
Fee	Site Modification fees (maximum of 3 per year)	\$200.00	Once
Fee	Transfer fee - each transfer	\$25.00	Once
Fee	GPS verification fee for each location	\$100.00	Once
Fee	Applied Acreage - less than 5 acres	\$50.00	Annually
Fee	Applied Acreage - 5 -49 acres	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	Applied Acreage 50 - 99 acres	\$250.00	Annually
Fee	Applied Acreage 100 - 199 acres	\$500.00	Annually
Fee	Applied Acreage 200+ acres	\$1,000.00	Annually
Fee	Greenhouse fee	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	Lab Sample fee - per compliance sample	\$100.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Industrial-Hemp-Research-Program-Rules.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Hemp_Program_Overview.pdf		

Prepared on: August 16, 2021 Page 1 of 5

INDUSTRIAL HEMP PROCESSOR

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 22

Entity Division Name: Seed Division

Scope of Practice: Business or individuals who handle or process hemp in the state of Arkansas.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A. 2-15-508 provides that a person shall obtain a license before planting or growing industrial

hemp in this state.

2-15-514 provides that hemp found off the premises of a licensee is contraband and is subject to seizure

by law enforcement unless the individual possesses a license issued under Arkansas Hemp laws.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	Application fee	\$50.00	Once
Fee	Processor license	\$200.00	Annually
Fee	Site modification(max of 3 per year)	\$200.00	Once
Fee	Hemp transfer fee	\$25.00	Once
Fee	GPR verification fee	\$100.00	Once
Fee	Applied processor - Flower/bud material	\$1,500.00	Once
Fee	Applied processor - Fiber, Seed, Grain	\$500.00	Once
Fee	Applied Processor - Handler	\$500.00	Once
Fee	Lab Sample Fee - per compliance sample	\$100.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Industrial-Hemp-Research-Program-Rules.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Hemp_Program_Overview.pdf		

Prepared on: August 16, 2021 Page 2 of 5

PLANT BREEDER

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 60

Entity Division Name: Seed Division

Scope of Practice: Any person wising to oversee the production of foundation seed or participate in the breeding of seed.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A. 2-18-103(b) states that any person applying for certification of seed must, if required by the

board, produce satisfactory evidence as to character, qualifications as a seed breeder, and possession of such facilities for the growing and handling of purebred seed as may be deemed necessary by the board.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active

military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rule	es Documents
Document Type	Document
Rules	<u>CIR15 May 2017.pdf</u>
Supporting Evidence	e Documents
Document Type	Document
Public Health and Safety	Seed_Program_Overview.pdf

Prepared on: August 16, 2021 Page 3 of 5

SEED DEALER/LABELER

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 308

Entity Division Name: Seed Division

Scope of Practice: Any person who sells, offers for sale, or distributes agricultural seed for planting purposes into or

within the state of Arkansas.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A 2-16-207(a)(1) requires the Plant Board to keep itself informed as to the varieties of insect pests,

diseases, and noxious weeds and the origin, locality, nature, and appearance thereof; the manner in

which they are disseminated; and the approved methods of treatment and eradication.

A.C.A 2-16-207 (c)(1) requires the board to "make rules for carrying out the requirements" of the

subchapter.

2-16-210 permits the board to "require the payment of a reasonable fee to cover expenses of inspection

and certification."

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	License	\$250.00	Annually
Fee	Subsidiary location	\$250.00	Annually
dministrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Circular_10_Regulations_On_the_Sale_Of_Planting_Seed_In_Arkansas.pdf		
pporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Seed_Program_Overview.pdf		

Prepared on: August 16, 2021 Page 4 of 5

SEED TREATMENT PLANT

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 108

Entity Division Name: Seed Division

Scope of Practice: All seed treating plants that treat seed in Arkansas. Farmers may treat their own seed with their own

equipment without a license.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A. 2-16-201 et seq. gives broad authority to the Plant Board in regulating and controlling plant

diseases and pests and 2-16-209(b) provides that "to cover expenses incident to inspection or treatment or incident to the issuance of such permits or certificates as may be required by the board's rules made

under this subchapter, the board may require the payment of reasonable fees"

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
гее туре	ree Description	Amount (5)	Frequency
Fee	seed treater licensing fee	\$250.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Circular 10 Regulations On the Sale Of Planting Seed In Arkansas.pdf		
upporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and	Seed_Program_Overview.pdf		
Safety			

Prepared on: August 16, 2021 Page 5 of 5