

Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, November 18, 2021 at 2:00 PM

Department of Labor and Licensing

ACCESSIBILITY TECHNICIAN

Entity Division Name:

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated:

Scope of Practice: This is the common name for a restricted elevator mechanic license. The license is restricted to work

involving vertical platform lifts, wheelchair lifts, and inclined stairway chairlifts. See Elevator Safety

Board Rule 010.05-010(M)(2).

Elevator Safety Division

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 20-24-108(b)(1) requires elevator mechanics to be licensed.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	License fee and annual renewal fee	\$75.00	Annually	
Fee	late fee on license renewal within 6 months of expiration date	\$20.00	Once	
Fee	examination fee	\$75.00	Once	
Administrative R	dministrative Rules Documents			

No Administrative Rules Documents Provided

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: October 19, 2021 Page 1 of 4

Department of Labor and Licensing (Continued)

ELEVATOR CONTRACTOR

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 48

Entity Division Name: Elevator Safety Division

Scope of Practice: An elevator contractor may install, construct, alter, service, repair, test, maintain, or perform electrical

work on a conveyance through a licensed elevator mechanic.

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 20-24-108(c).

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	license fee and license renewal fee	\$250.00	Annually	
Fee	late fee on license renewal	\$20.00	Once	
Administrative Rule	Administrative Rules Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	Elevator_Rules_Master_Copy_030117_(2).pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: October 19, 2021 Page 2 of 4

Department of Labor and Licensing (Continued)

ELEVATOR INSPECTOR

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 23

Entity Division Name: Elevator Safety Division

Scope of Practice: The scope of practice involves the inspection of conveyances, elevators, escalators, dumbwaiters,

moving sidewalks, platform lifts, stairway chair lifts, and automatic people movers.

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 20-24-108(a)(1).

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	license fee and renewal fee	\$100.00	Annually
Fee	late fee	\$20.00	Once
Administrative Rules Documents			
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Elevator_Rules_Master_Copy_030117_(2).pdf		
Supporting Evidence Documents			

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: October 19, 2021 Page 3 of 4

Department of Labor and Licensing (Continued)

ELEVATOR MECHANIC

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 319

Entity Division Name: Elevator Safety Division

Scope of Practice: An elevator mechanic works under the direct supervision of a licensed elevator contractor to erect,

construct, alter, replace, maintain, remove or dismantle a conveyance.

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 20-24-108(b)(1).

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties				
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency	
Fee	license fee	\$75.00	Annually	
Fee	license renewal fee	\$150.00	Biennially	
Fee	late fee	\$20.00	Once	
Administrative Rule	Administrative Rules Documents			
Document Type	Document			
Rules	Elevator_Rules_Master_Copy_030117_(2).pdf			
Supporting Evidence Documents				

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

TEMPORARY MECHANIC

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 10

Entity Division Name: Elevator Safety Division

Scope of Practice: The scope of practice for a temporary mechanic is the same as for an elevator mechanic.

Statutory Requirement(s): Ark. Code Ann. 20-24-109(d).

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

No

If NO, the rule establishing the expedited process and procedure:

• Rule for Expedited Process and Procedure for Military Service Member or Spouse

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	license fee and renewal fee	\$75.00	Annually
Administrative Rules Documents			
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Elevator_Rules_Master_Copy_030117_(2).pdf		
Supporting Evidence Documents			

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: October 19, 2021 Page 4 of 4