
Supplemental Occupational Authorizations

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, January 27, 2022 at 2:00 PM

for the meeting of the

Arkansas Psychology Board

PSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINER

17-97-303. Psychological examiners — Application — Qualifications.
(a) Any person wishing to obtain the right to practice as a psychological examiner who has not
heretofore been licensed to do so shall make application to the Arkansas Psychology Board through the
Chair of the Arkansas Psychology Board upon a form and in the manner as shall be adopted and
prescribed by the board and shall obtain from the board a license to do so.

A Psychological Examiner renders to individuals or to the public service involving the application of
recognized principles, methods and procedures of the science and profession of psychology, such as
interviewing or administering and
interpreting tests of mental abilities, aptitudes, interests and personality characteristics, for such
purposes as psychological evaluation or for educational or vocational selection, guidance or
placement.

Arkansas Department of Health

Licensure 269# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning
military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active
military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Yearly Renewal Fee $210.00 Annually

Penalty Late Fee after June 30th $100.00 Once

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

2020_Psychology_Rules.pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

PSYCHOLOGIST

17-97-302. Psychologists — Application — Qualifications.
(a) Any person wishing to obtain the right to practice as a psychologist in this state who has not
heretofore been licensed to do so shall make application to the Arkansas Psychology Board through the
Chair of the Arkansas Psychology Board in a form and in a manner as shall be adopted and prescribed

The observation, description, evaluation, interpretation, or modification of human behavior by a person
who holds an advanced graduate degree in psychology and is trained in the application of psychological
principles, methods, or procedures for one (1) or more of the following purposes:
(A) Preventing or eliminating symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior;
(B) Enhancing interpersonal relationships, work and life adjustment, personal effectiveness, and
behavioral and mental health; and
(C) Consultation, teaching, and research.

Arkansas Department of Health

Licensure 529# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:
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Arkansas Psychology Board  (Continued)

PSYCHOLOGIST  (Continued)
by the board and obtain from the board a license to do so.
(b)(1) A candidate for a license shall furnish the board with satisfactory evidence that he or she:
(A) Is of good moral character;
(B) Has received a doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited institution recognized by the
board as maintaining satisfactory standards at the time the degree was granted or, in lieu of a degree, a
doctoral degree in a closely allied field if it is the opinion of the board that the training required therefor
is substantially similar; (C) Has had at least two (2) years of experience in psychology of a type
considered by the board to be qualifying in nature with at least one (1) of those years being postdoctoral
work;
(D) Is competent in psychology, as shown by passing examinations, written or oral, or both, as the
board deems necessary;
(E) Is not considered by the board to be engaged in unethical practice;
(F) Has applied for a criminal background check and has not been found guilty of or pleaded guilty or
nolo contendere to any of the offenses listed in § 17-97- 312(f); and
(G) Has not failed an examination given by the board within the preceding six (6) months.
(2) At its discretion, the board may accept satisfactory substitute training and experience in lieu of that
prescribed in subdivision (b)(1) of this section.
(c) Notwithstanding requirements for licensure as outlined in this chapter, the board shall issue a senior
psychologist license to an applicant who has:
(1) At least twenty (20) years of licensure to practice psychology in a state of the United States or in
Canada if that license was based on a doctoral degree;
(2) Received no disciplinary sanction during the entire period of licensure;
(3) Passed the Arkansas complementary examination; and
(4) Tendered the appropriate application and fees as required under this chapter
or the rules and regulations of the board.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning
military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active
military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties
Amount ($)Fee DescriptionFee Type Frequency

Fee Yearly Renewal Fee $235.00 Annually

Penalty Late Renewal Fee after June 30th $100.00 Once

Fee Application fee $200.00 Once

Fee Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) $50.00 Once

Fee Provisional Licensee while in school $100.00 Quarterly

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

Arkansas_Psychology_Board_Rules.pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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Arkansas Psychology Board  (Continued)

NEUROPSYCHOLOGICAL TECHNICIAN

17-97-403. Registration.
(a) Each licensed psychologist employing technicians shall:
    (1) Register each technician with the Arkansas Psychology Board; and
    (2) Annually submit a statement of supervision outlining the supervisory process used with each
technician.
(b) Before employment, the technician shall:
    (1) Be registered with the board; and
    (2) Have completed a criminal background check as described for licensed psychologists under § 17-
97-312.

Technicians are employed for neuropsychological testing and the administration and scoring of
standardized objective tests.

Arkansas Department of Health

Registration 21# of Individuals Regulated:

Entity Division Name:

Statutory Requirement(s):

Scope of Practice:

Authorization Type:

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning
military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active
military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties

No Fees or Penalties Provided

Administrative Rules Documents
DocumentDocument Type

2020_Psychology_Rules.pdfRules

Supporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided
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