

# Occupational Authorizations

## for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 12:00 PM

### Arkansas State Board of Embalmers, Funeral Directors, Cemeteries, and Burial Services

#### CREMATORY RETORT OPERATOR

# of Individuals Regulated: Authorization Type: Licensure 41

**Entity Division Name:** Funeral Services Division

Scope of Practice: Retort operator scope of practice would be the knowledge learned and obtained from crematory

operator certification and on the job learning.

A.C.A § 17-29-314 requires the Crematory Retort Operator license. Statutory Requirement(s):

> Currently we have 41 licensed crematories and will license at least 41 individuals to operate those crematories. However we anticipate there will likely be approximately 150 licensed to operate those crematories throughout the state, with that number growing each year as more crematories are licensed.

Those currently operating a retort will apply for licenses by the end of the calendar year.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

| Fees & Penalties              |   |             |           |  |
|-------------------------------|---|-------------|-----------|--|
| Fee Type                      | Fee Description                                       | Amount (\$) | Frequency |  |
| Fee                           | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Application Fee       | \$50.00     | Once      |  |
| Fee                           | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Original License Fee  | \$10.00     | Once      |  |
| Fee                           | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Renewal Fee           | \$30.00     | Annually  |  |
| Fee                           | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Duplicate License Fee | \$20.00     | Once      |  |
| Penalty                       | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Late Fee              | \$50.00     | Quarterly |  |
| Fee                           | Crematory Retort Operator (CRO) Reinstatement         | \$130.00    | Once      |  |
| Administrative Rul            | es Documents  |             |           |  |
| Document Type                 | Document  |             |           |  |
| Rules                         | Rule_1_Clean_Final.pdf                                |             |           |  |
| Supporting Evidence Documents |   |             |           |  |

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: May 06, 2022 Page 1 of 3

### Arkansas State Board of Embalmers, Funeral Directors, Cemeteries, and Burial Services (Continued)

### PROFESSIONAL EMBALMER

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 669

Entity Division Name: Funeral Services Division

Scope of Practice: The scope of practice for an embalmer is learned through obtaining a degree in mortuary science from

an accredited school of mortuary science. The individual, also must serve a one (1) year apprenticeship

and assist on 50 embalming cases under the direct personal supervision of Arkansas licensed

embalmers. The individual must pass both parts (science and arts) of the National Board Exam and the

Arkansas Laws, Rules, and Regulations exam.

A person required to be licensed to practice the science of embalming under the laws of this State who disinfects or preserves a dead human body, entirely, or in part, by the use of chemical substances, fluids, or gases, in the body, or by introduction of same into the body by vascular or hypodermic injection, or

by direct application into the organs or cavities.

Statutory Requirement(s): A. C. A. § 17-29-301 Embalmer Qualifications

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

| Fees & Penalties              |   |             |           |  |  |
|-------------------------------|---|-------------|-----------|--|--|
| Fee Type                      | Fee Description                                       | Amount (\$) | Frequency |  |  |
| Fee                           | Initial Apprentice Embalmer (EMB) Registration        | \$50.00     | Once      |  |  |
| Fee                           | Apprentice Embalmer (EMB) Re-Registration (if needed) | \$50.00     | Once      |  |  |
| Fee                           | Embalmer (EMB) Original License Fee                   | \$10.00     | Once      |  |  |
| Fee                           | Embalmer (EMB) Renewal Fee                            | \$30.00     | Annually  |  |  |
| Fee                           | Exam Fee  | \$100.00    | Once      |  |  |
| Fee                           | Exam Fee (Retake)                                     | \$100.00    | Once      |  |  |
| Penalty                       | Embalmer (EMB) Late Penalty Fee                       | \$50.00     | Quarterly |  |  |
| Fee                           | Embalmer (EMB) Reinstatement                          | \$130.00    | Once      |  |  |
| Administrative Rule           | es Documents  |             |           |  |  |
| Document Type                 | Document  |             |           |  |  |
| Rules                         | Rule 1_Clean_Final.pdf                                |             |           |  |  |
| Supporting Evidence Documents |   |             |           |  |  |

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: May 06, 2022 Page 2 of 3

### Arkansas State Board of Embalmers, Funeral Directors, Cemeteries, and Burial Services (Continued)

### PROFESSIONAL FUNERAL DIRECTOR

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 1619

Entity Division Name: Funeral Services Division

Scope of Practice: The scope of practice of funeral directing is learned through an apprenticeship, whereas the apprentice

completes 18 months of training and 50 funeral directing case reports under the direct personal supervision of licensed funeral director. To become licensed they must a laws, rules, and regulations (LRR) exam and complete 6 hours of education in funeral service laws, rules, ethics, and best practices.

A person required to be licensed to practice the business of funeral directing under the laws of this State, who meets the public, displays and sells or offers to sell funeral merchandise or supplies; who plans details of funeral services with members of the family and minister or any other person responsible for such planning, or who directs, is in charge, or apparent charge of, and supervises such service in a funeral home, church or other places; who enters into the making, negotiation or completion of financial arrangements for funerals, including, but not limited to, the sale and selection of funeral supplies, or who uses in connection with the business of funeral directing the words or terms "Funeral Director", "Undertaker", "Funeral Counselor", "Mortician", or any other word, term or picture or combination thereof when considered in context in which used, from which person using such word, term or picture can be implied to be holding himself out to the public as being engaged in the business of funeral directing.

Statutory Requirement(s): A.C.A § 17-29-302 establishes the qualifications for a funeral director.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

| Fees & Penalties               |   |             |           |  |  |  |
|--------------------------------|---|-------------|-----------|--|--|--|
| Fee Type                       | Fee Description   | Amount (\$) | Frequency |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | Apprentice Funeral Director (FD) Application  | \$50.00     | Once      |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | Apprentice Funeral Director (FD) Re-Registration (if needed to complete apprenticeship) | \$50.00     | Once      |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | Original Funeral Director (FD) License Fee  | \$10.00     | Once      |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | Funeral Director (FD) License Renewal Fee   | \$30.00     | Annually  |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | ARLRR Exam Fee  | \$100.00    | Once      |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | ARLRR Exam Retake   | \$100.00    | Once      |  |  |  |
| Penalty                        | Funeral Director (FD) Late Penalty Fee  | \$50.00     | Quarterly |  |  |  |
| Fee                            | Funeral Director (FD) Reinstatement Fee   | \$130.00    | Once      |  |  |  |
| Administrative Rules Documents |   |             |           |  |  |  |
| Document Type                  | Document  |             |           |  |  |  |
| Rules                          | Rule_1_Clean_Final.pdf  |             |           |  |  |  |
| Supporting Evidence Documents  |   |             |           |  |  |  |

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided

Prepared on: May 06, 2022 Page 3 of 3