Occupational Authorizations



for the meeting of the ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE Thursday, May 19, 2022 at 12:00 PM

. .

Authorization Type:	Licensure	# of Individuals Regulated: 4846
Entity Division Name:	Office of Water Quality	
Scope of Practice:	Arkansas has established statutory and regulatory requirements for the licensing of wastewater treatment system operators. Requiring licensed operators ensures such treatment systems are operated in a manner that is protective of public health, the environment, and the public and private sectors infrastructure investments.	
Statutory Requirement(s):	Federal Requirements: Licensing requirements are not mandated in federal Clean Water Act, but are consistent with federal regulations requiring that treatment systems discharging to Waters of the United States are properly operated and maintained and comply with the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) requirements 40 CFR Part 122.41 et seq.	
	 State Requirements: Arkansas clearly established requirements for wastewater licensing in Ark. Code Ann. §8-5-207 which states: "In order to safeguard the public health and protect the waters of this state from pollution, all operators in responsible charge of public or private wastewater treatment plants shall be duly licensed and certified as competent by the Division of Environmental Quality under the provisions of this subchapter and under such rules and regulations as the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission may adopt" In addition, Ark. Code Ann. §8-5-208 establishes additional requirements related to wastewater operator licenses. 	
		General NPDES Permits that requires the facility industrial Arkansas Licensed Wastewater Operator.
	military veteran applying f	§ 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure or licensure within one year of his or her dischar returning military veteran who is within one ye
If NO, the rule establishing	the expedited process and procedure:	
• Rule for Expedited Pro	ocess and Procedure for Military Service Memb	er or Spouse

Fee TypeFee DescriptionAmount (\$)FrequencyFeeInitial combined examination and licensing fee\$40.00OnceFeeLicense Renewal\$40.00BienniallyAdministrative Rules DocumentsDocument TypeDocumentRulesAPCEC_Rule_03_final_080315.pdfSupporting Evidence Documents

No Supporting Evidence Documents Provided