

Occupational Authorizations

for the meeting of the

ALC-OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING REVIEW SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, June 16, 2022 at 2:00 PM

Department of Health

COSMETOLOGIST

Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: Authorization Type:

20915

Entity Division Name: Cosmetology Section

Scope of Practice: To be licensed as a cosmetologist in Arkansas, an applicant must attend and complete a program from

an Arkansas Licensed School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology.

The art of cosmetology includes one (1) or more of the following practices:

(1) Chemically treating, dressing, curling, waving, machine-less permanent waving, permanent waving;

(2) Cleansing, cutting, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring, straightening, dyeing, brushing, beautifying, or otherwise treating by any means the hair of any person or wigs or hairpieces;

(3) Externally manipulating, cleaning, waxing, or stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices, apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams:

(4) Beautifying the body by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams;

(5) Temporarily removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories or by the use of tweezers, chemicals or preparations or by the use of devices or appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of light waves, commonly known as rays;

(6) Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing, or manicuring the nails of any person; and

(7) Massaging, cleansing, or beautifying the nails of any person.

Statutory Requirement(s):

The Cosmetology Board was a standalone Board prior to 2009. In 2009, Arkansas Acts 4 and 381 abolished the standalone Cosmetology Board and transformed it into the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee overseen by ADH. Pursuant to Act 900 of 2021, the Cosmetology Section of ADH now administers licensure, inspections, and investigations for body art, permanent cosmetics, and semi-permanent cosmetics.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	School enrollment	\$20.00	Once
Fee	Practical Exam - Payable to School and Per Sitting	\$65.00	Once
Fee	Written Exam Per Sitting	\$60.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity Candidate - AR State Law Exam	\$60.00	Once
Fee	Reciprocity Cosmo Student Transfer fee	\$65.00	Once
Fee	Renewal of Practitioner or Instructor of Cosmetology, or its narrower scope licenses - manicure, aesthetics, electrology	\$50.00	Biennially
Fee	Reciprocity for Instructor or Practitioner Cosmetology, or its narrower scope licenses - manicure, aesthetics, electrology	\$50.00	Once
Fee	New establishment or Mobile Salon	\$100.00	Once
Fee	Renewal of establishment or Mobile Salon	\$50.00	Annually
Fee	Relocation of an establishment	\$50.00	Once
Fee	New School of Cosmetology	\$1,000.00	Once
Fee	Renewal of School of Cosmetology	\$250.00	Annually
Fee	Change of Ownership of School of Cosmetology	\$100.00	Once
Fee	Change of Ownership of Establishment or Mobile Salon	\$25.00	Once

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 1 of 6

LI OLOGISI ((Continued)		
Гее Туре	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Penalty	Reinstatement fee for expired practitioner license after 30 days of expiration	\$25.00	Once
Penalty	Reinstatement fee for expired establishment or mobile salon license after 30 days of expiration	\$25.00	Once
Penalty	Reinstatement fee for expired school license after 30 days of expiration	\$125.00	Once
Fee	Permanent lifetime license for practitioner over 65 years of age and with 30 years licensure as a practitioner or instructor	\$50.00	Once
Penalty	Unlicensed Practice of Cosmetology or narrower scope licenses	\$500.00	Once
Penalty	Unlicensed Establishment or Mobile Salon or Interference with Inspections	\$500.00	Once
Penalty	Practicing Cosmetology, or its narrower scope licenses with an Expired License	\$100.00	Once
Penalty	Operating an Establishment or Mobile Salon with an Expired License	\$250.00	Once
Penalty	Failure to Post Consumer Information	\$50.00	Once
Penalty	Physical Facilities Violations for Health and Safety	\$50.00	Once
Penalty	Severe Health and Safety Violations	\$100.00	Once
Penalty	Critical Health and Safety Violations	\$250.00	Once
ninistrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	Rules_for_Cosmetology_in_Arkansas_2020.pdf		
porting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Cosmo - Answers to Questionnaire.pdf		

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 2 of 6

COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 908

Entity Division Name: Cosmetology Section

Scope of Practice: To be licensed as a cosmetology instructor in Arkansas, an applicant must attend and complete a

program from an Arkansas Licensed School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology.

The art of cosmetology includes one (1) or more of the following practices:

- (1) Chemically treating, dressing, curling, waving, machine-less permanent waving, permanent waving;
- (2) Cleansing, cutting, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring, straightening, dyeing, brushing, beautifying, or otherwise treating by any means the hair of any person or wigs or hairpieces;
- (3) Externally manipulating, cleaning, waxing, or stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices, apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams:
- (4) Beautifying the body by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams;
- (5) Temporarily removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories or by the use of tweezers, chemicals or preparations or by the use of devices or appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of light waves, commonly known as rays;
- (6) Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing, or manicuring the nails of any person; and
- (7) Massaging, cleansing, or beautifying the nails of any person.

and:

- (2) A licensed instructor shall:
- (A) Be twenty-one (21) years of age or older and have had six hundred (600) hours of teacher training in a school of cosmetology;
- (B) Have passed an instructor's written examination given by the Department of Health, a practical examination administered by the school, and have received an instructor's license; and
- (C) Have received not less than eight (8) hours of additional training in an instructor's training seminar or continuing education course certified by the department.

Statutory Requirement(s):

The Cosmetology Board was a standalone Board prior to 2009. In 2009, Arkansas Acts 4 and 381 abolished the standalone Cosmetology Board and transformed it into the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee overseen by ADH. Pursuant to Act 900 of 2021, the Cosmetology Section of ADH now administers licensure, inspections, and investigations for body art, permanent cosmetics, and semi-permanent cosmetics.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	See Cosmetologist Portal Entry	\$0.00	Once
Administrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	cosmetology_Final_Rule_(signed)_11232020.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	CosmoAnswers_to_Questionnaire.pdf		

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 3 of 6

ELECTROLOGIST

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 53

Entity Division Name: Cosmetology Section

Scope of Practice: Lesser include scope of practice of Cosmetology defined as "permanently removing hair from or

destroying hair on the human body by the use of an electric needle or by the use of any other kind of

device or appliance designed to permanently remove hair from the human body."

Statutory Requirement(s): The Cosmetology Board was a standalone Board prior to 2009. In 2009, Arkansas Acts 4 and 381

abolished the standalone Cosmetology Board and transformed it into the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee overseen by ADH. Pursuant to Act 900 of 2021, the Cosmetology Section of ADH now administers licensure, inspections, and investigations for body art, permanent cosmetics, and

semi-permanent cosmetics.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

ees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	See Cosmetologist Portal Entry	\$0.00	Once
dministrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	cosmetology_Final_Rule_(signed)_11232020.pdf		
upporting Evidence	e Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Cosmo - Answers to Questionnaire.pdf		

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 4 of 6

ESTHETICIAN

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 2109

Entity Division Name: Cosmetology Section

Scope of Practice: Esthetics or aesthetics is a lesser include scope of practice of Cosmetology that is defined as "the

practice of beautifying the body by cleaning, waxing, externally manipulating, or stimulating the body

by means of the hands, devices, apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic

preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams."

Statutory Requirement(s): The Cosmetology Board was a standalone Board prior to 2009. In 2009, Arkansas Acts 4 and 381

abolished the standalone Cosmetology Board and transformed it into the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee overseen by ADH. Pursuant to Act 900 of 2021, the Cosmetology Section of ADH now administers licensure, inspections, and investigations for body art, permanent cosmetics, and

semi-permanent cosmetics.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

ees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	See Cosmetologist Portal Entry	\$0.00	Once
dministrative Rule	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	cosmetology_Final_Rule_(signed)_11232020.pdf		
upporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Cosmo - Answers to Questionnaire.pdf		

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 5 of 6

MANICURIST

Authorization Type: Licensure # of Individuals Regulated: 3755

Entity Division Name: Cosmetology Section

Scope of Practice: Lesser include scope of practice of Cosmetology that is defined as "manicuring the nails of any person

by cutting, trimming, polishing, coloring, tinting, cleansing, filing, buffing, pushing, extending, protecting, wrapping, covering, building, or beautifying the nails or performing any other similar work upon the nails of any person by any means, including the softening of the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any person by use of hands, mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances, cosmetic or chemical preparations, antiseptics, lotions, or creams or by massaging, cleansing, manipulating, or stimulating

the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any person."

Statutory Requirement(s): The Cosmetology Board was a standalone Board prior to 2009. In 2009, Arkansas Acts 4 and 381

abolished the standalone Cosmetology Board and transformed it into the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee overseen by ADH. Pursuant to Act 900 of 2021, the Cosmetology Section of ADH now administers licensure, inspections, and investigations for body art, permanent cosmetics, and

semi-permanent cosmetics.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-1-106, do you provide automatic licensure to an active military service member, returning military veteran applying for licensure within one year of his or her discharge from active duty, or the spouse of an active military service member or returning military veteran who is within one year of discharge from active duty?

Yes

Fees & Penalties			
Fee Type	Fee Description	Amount (\$)	Frequency
Fee	See Cosmetologist Portal Entry	\$0.00	Once
Administrative Rules	s Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Rules	cosmetology_Final_Rule_(signed)_11232020.pdf		
Supporting Evidence	Documents		
Document Type	Document		
Public Health and Safety	Cosmo - Answers to Questionnaire.pdf		

Prepared on: June 07, 2022 Page 6 of 6