

State of Arkansas Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders

DIVISION OF LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS AND TRAINING



COL. MIKE A. HAGAR

RY LAW ENFORCEMENT STANDARDS/ALETA-CENTRAL 4 State Police Plaza Drive Little Rock, AR 72209 (501) 682-2260 FAX: (501) 682-1582 ALETA-CAMDEN P.O. Box 3106 East Camden, AR 71711 (870) 574-1810 FAX: (870) 574-2706 ALETA-NORTHWEST 3424 South Downum Road Springdale, AR 72762 (479) 361-3410 FAX: (479) 361-3412

LAW ENFORCMENT STIPEND PROGRAM FINAL REPORT

Act 224 was approved by the Arkansas Legislature during the 2022 fiscal session and signed into law by Governor Asa Hutchinson on March 8, 2022. The stipend program allowed for a one-time payment of \$5,000 to all eligible full-time county and municipal law enforcement officers, \$2,000 to all eligible full-time law enforcement officers with the Department of Public Safety, and \$5,000 to all eligible specialized officers with the Department of Corrections.

Act 224 required the Division of Law Enforcement Standards and Training to promulgate rules related to:

1. Whether a person was properly denied payment of the salary stipend for failure to satisfy the requirements necessary to qualify as an eligible full-time law enforcement officer; and

2. Whether a person was properly required to return the salary stipend.

Emergency Rules were promulgated by the Division of Law Enforcement Standards and Training. The emergency rules were approved by the Legislative Executive Subcommittee on May 17, 2022 and went into effect on May 19, 2022. In order to ensure that the rules remained in effect through the life of the stipend program, permanent rules were promulgated by the Division. Permanent rules went into effect in September 2022. The permanent rules will be repealed after the program closes on June 30, 2023.

The stipend program, administered by the Division of Law Enforcement Standards and Training, opened on July 1, 2022. Funds were distributed by the Department of Finance and Administration. Act 224 allowed agencies to submit current officers between July 1, 2022 and August 1, 2022. Below is a comprehensive outline of the law enforcement agency submissions:

	TOTAL	TOTAL WITH	TOTAL NOT	TOTAL
	AGENCIES	NO ELIGIBLE	SUBMITTING	SUBMITTED
		OFFICERS		
COUNTY	75	0	0	75
MUNICIPAL	284	26	7	251
DRUG TASK FORCE	19	0	8	11
ARKANSAS STATE	1	0	0	1
POLICE				

CRIMINAL DETENTION FACILITIES REVIEW DIRECT 4 State Police Plaza Drive

Little Rock, AR 72209

FAX: (501) 682-1582

(501) 324-9493

DEPARTMENT OF	1	0	0	1
CORRECTIONS				
OTHER (Prosecutor's	Unknown	Unknown	Unknown	2
Office)				

During the initial submission period of July 1, 2022 through August 1, 2022, a total of 6,857 officers were submitted to the Division for verification.

Following the initial submissions, Act 224 allowed agencies to submit officers hired by the agency on or before January 31, 2023. New officers were required to complete the academy prior to being submitted to the Division for verification. Agencies were required to submit new officers to the Division on or before June 1, 2023. During this period a total of 760 officers were submitted to the Division for verification.

Act 224 required "an eligible local law enforcement agency or an eligible state law enforcement agency receiving funds under this section shall submit a report to the division certifying that each eligible full-time law enforcement officer who was verified by the division received the salary stipend and the amount paid to each eligible full-time law enforcement officer". All submitting agencies reported to the Division except the following agencies:

Bauxite Police Department Bergman Police Department Gould Police Department Grady Police Department Hughes Police Department Jericho Police Department Magnolia Police Department Mountain Pine Police Department Parkin Police Department Rockport Police Department Waldo Police Department Wheatley Marshall's Office Benton County Sheriff's Office Clark County Sheriff's Office Clay County Sheriff's Office Hot Spring County Sheriff's Office Johnson County Sheriff's Office Lafayette County Sheriff's Office Newton County Sheriff's Office Phillips County Sheriff's Office Searcy County Sheriff's Office Woodruff County Sheriff's Office 1st Judicial District DTF 20th Judicial District DTF