## MINUTES THE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TREATMENT ACCESS LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE

MAY 28, 2015

The Behavioral Health Treatment Access Legislative Task Force met at 1:30 p.m., on Thursday, May 28, 2015, in Room B-MAC, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Task Force members present: Senator Scott Flippo, Representative Clarke Tucker, Carole Baxter, Ann Brown, Kevin Murphy, David Sterling, Mark Thurman, and David Williams.

Representative Tucker called the meeting to order. The minutes from the May 1, 2015 meeting were approved by acclamation.

Dr. Charlie Green, Director, Division of Behavioral Health Services, Ms. Julie Meyer, Director of Policy and Research, Division of Behavioral Health Services, and Dr. Nikki Conners-Burrow, Associate Professor, UAMS, were recognized to address the challenges within the behavioral heath system:

- Lack of access to substance abuse treatment services. Those eligible for substance abuse treatment services under Medicaid include only pregnant/postpartum women and juveniles. Private plans vary in their coverage.
- Rates of reimbursement for substance abuse treatment services are much less than reimbursement rates for treatment of mental illness.
- Lack of substance abuse providers, because of dual license/credential requirements, which make it difficult for providers to be reimbursed.
- Lack of access to continuum of crisis services. There are no crisis units in Arkansas.
- Care coordination is not a reimbursable service.
- Availability of family support services to divert children from residential care and assist in community integration. Arkansas has one of the highest residential care rates in the country.

Mr. Williams brought up the applicability in using the Sequential Intercept Model on Best Practices and suggest the task force look at the cost analysis completed by the Arkansas Public Policy Panel.

Senator Flippo feels more work is needed to find a middle ground between providers and individuals needing behavioral services.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.