MINUTES THE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TREATMENT ACCESS LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE

October 27, 2015

The Behavioral Health Treatment Access Legislative Task Force met at 10:00 a.m., on Tuesday, October 27, 2015, in Room 149, State Capitol, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Task Force members present were: Senator Scott Flippo, Representative Clarke Tucker, Ms. Carole Baxter, Mr. Dan Honey, Mr. Kevin Murphy, and Mr. David Williams.

Other legislator attending: Representative Karilyn Brown.

Representative Tucker called the meeting to order.

Ms. Baxter moved to adopt the minutes from the September 30, 2015, meeting, Mr. Honey seconded the motion, and without objection the minutes were approved.

<u>Presentation by the Judicial Equality for Mental Illness Coalition of NW Arkansas</u> [Exhibit C]

Ms. Nancy Kahanak, Coordinator, Judicial Equality for Mental Illness (JEMI), gave a presentation outlining their support for the Stephen Group's recommendation to implement crisis intervention centers to divert low-risk mentally ill offenders from county jails and prisons, which will save the state millions of dollars and reduce recidivism rates for mentally-ill offenders. Ms. Kahanak said JEMI also supports crisis intervention training for all law enforcement officers.

Ms. Julie Meyer, Director of Policy, Division of Behavioral Health Services, (DBHS), stated there are many factors such as size and design, when determining the cost to start a crisis intervention center. Ms. Meyer said DBHS requested \$3 million, last biennium, to start a crisis intervention center.

Ms. Dianne Skaggs, Executive Director, Mental Health Council of Arkansas, stated that currently the state has allotted \$7.4 million for uncompensated care at community mental health centers.

Discussion of Findings and Recommendations for Inclusion in the Task Force Report

The task force determined that each member email their recommendations to Ms. Baxter and Mr. Murphy. Ms. Baxter and Mr. Murphy will draft a report for task force members to review. The task force will meet on November 16, 2015, to finalize recommendations.

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.