#### **MINUTES**

# SENATE AND HOUSE COMMITTEES ON JUDICIARY LEGISLATIVE CRIMINAL JUSTICE OVERSIGHT TASK FORCE BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TREATMENT ACCESS LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE

October 4, 2016	)

The Senate and House Committees on Judiciary met jointly with the Legislative Criminal Justice Oversight Task Force and the Behavioral Health Treatment Access Legislative Task Force on Tuesday, October 4, 2016, at 9:30 a.m. in Room A, MAC building, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Senate and House Judiciary members present: Senators Jeremy Hutchinson, Chair, Linda Chesterfield, Linda Collins-Smith, Joyce Elliott, Terry Rice, Jon Woods, and Representatives Matthew J. Shepherd, Chair, Clarke Tucker, Co-Chair, Bob Ballinger, Rick Beck, Trevor Drown, Michelle Gray, Douglas House, Laurie Rushing, Sue Scott, Brent Talley, Dwight Tosh, John Vines, and David Whitaker.

Legislative Criminal Justice Oversight Task Force members present: Judge Gary Arnold, Chief Kenton Buckner, Ken Casady, John Felts, Sheriff Tim Helder, John Wesley Hall, Wendy Kelley, Mark Colbert (for Benny Magness), Steve Newsome, Charlotte Carlson (for Robin Raveendran), and Sheila Sharp.

**Behavioral Health Treatment Access Legislative Task Force members present**: Senator Scott Flippo, Co-Chair, Representative Clarke Tucker, Co-Chair, Carole Baxter, Ann Brown, Dan Honey, Kevin Murphy, Mark Thurman, and David Williams.

**Other legislators present**: Senators Cecile Bledsoe, Alan Clark, John Cooper, and Jonathan Dismang, Representatives Charles Armstrong, Nancy Bentley, Jana Della Rosa, Charlotte Douglas, Jon Eubanks, Kenneth Ferguson, Lanny Fite, Vivian Flowers, Mickey Gates, Kim Hammer, Mark McElroy, George McGill, Ron McNair, Micah Neal, Betty Overbey, Mathew Pitsch, and Jeff Wardlaw.

Senator Jeremy Hutchinson called the meeting to order.

## <u>Consideration to Adopt the Policy Recommendations from the Council of State Governments</u> <u>Justice Center (CSG)</u> [Exhibits B1, B2, and Handout]

Mr. Andy Barbee, Research Manager, Council of State Governments Justice Center, gave a brief overview of CSG's policy recommendations and cost saving strategies to reduce Arkansas' prison populations. Arkansas' prison population is projected to increase 19% by the end of FY2023. Maintaining the status quo will cost Arkansas more than \$650 million in additional spending from FY2018 through FY2023. CSG's reinvestment policy options reduce demand for ADC beds by more than 1,200. Mr. Barbee said CSG supports measures that look at implementation with fidelity and

outcomes. Committee members addressed several issues with CSG's policy options such as limiting revocation for absconders, the limited number of prison beds for offenders, coverage under Medicaid expansion for offenders with co-occurring mental illness and substance abuse diagnoses, and mandated workforce training for offenders.

Senator Hutchinson noted that additional recommendation can be included in the final report from the task force.

### **Legislative Criminal Justice Oversight Task Force**

Senator Joyce Elliott made a motion to adopt the policy options recommended by the CSG. Mr. John Wesley Hall seconded the motion, and without objection, the motion carried.

### **Behavioral Health Treatment Access Legislative Task Force**

Mr. Kevin Murphy made a motion to adopt policy options two and eight, as recommended by the CSG. Dr. David Williams seconded the motion, and without objection, the motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m.