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TOPIC: Sales Tax Exemptions of less than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000)  

 

Summary of Proposal for Consideration 

 

 To repeal any sales tax exemption less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), effective for 

tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2019. 

 

Fiscal Analysis 

 

 Repeal of the exemptions may result in an estimated $41,679 per year increase to General 

Revenue based upon figures from FY11 and FY17, as provided by the Department of Finance 

and Administration’s “Sales and Use Tax Revenue Impact of Exemptions” presentation to the 

Arkansas Tax Reform and Relief Legislative Task Force on March 19, 2018.   

 

Legal Analysis 

 

 Background 
 Arkansas currently has the following sales tax exemptions that are less than ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000): 

 

 Sales of twine used in the production of tomatoes under Arkansas Code § 26-52-

408(2) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $1,829 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 759 of 1975, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Agricultural water purchases that reduce groundwater use under Arkansas Code § 

26- 52-405(4) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY17 was $0  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 824 of 2011, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sale of electricity used in the manufacture of aluminum metal by the electrolytic 

reduction process under Arkansas Code § 26-52-401(24) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY17 was $0 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 1013 of 1976, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales of natural gas and electricity used in wall and floor tile manufacturing if 

construction began before January 1, 2003 under Arkansas Code § 26-52-435 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY17 was $0  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 1375 of 2001, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sale of electricity used for production of chlorine and other chemicals using a 

chlor-alkali manufacturing process under Arkansas Code § 26-52-438 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $0 
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o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 877 of 2005, and has not 

been amended since. 

 County purchases of law enforcement aircraft thermal imaging equipment under 

Arkansas Code § 26-52-442  

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $7,425 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 267 of 2009, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales to The Poets Roundtable of Arkansas under Arkansas Code § 26-52-401(9) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $83  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 630 of 1979, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales to non-profit organizations whose sole purpose is to provide temporary 

housing to the family of patients in a hospital or sanitarium under Arkansas Code  

§ 26-52-401(21) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $1,623  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 753 of 1989, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales of new motor vehicles to a veteran of the U.S. Armed Services who is blind 

as a result of a service-connected injury under Arkansas Code § 26-52-415(a) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $4,483 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 70 of 1979, and has not been 

amended since. 

 Sales to Fort Smith Clearing House under Arkansas Code § 26-52-424 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $5,871 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 913 of 1993, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales of articles sold on the premises of the Arkansas Veterans' Home under 

Arkansas Code § 26-52-401(25) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $1,157 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 324 of 1979, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales by gift shops operated by charitable organizations at for-profit hospitals 

under Arkansas Code § 26-52-430(c)(2) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $2,269 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 628 of 2001, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales to the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra Society under Arkansas Code § 26-

52-401(37)  

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $4,737 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 2132 of 2005, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales to Arkansas Search Dog Association, Inc. under Arkansas Code § 26-52-

443 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $692 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 1176 of 2009, and has not 

been amended since. 
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 Sales of new or used aircraft of less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) under 

Arkansas Code § 26-52-505(b) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $626 

o The sales tax was created without a limitation by ACT 270 of 1959. 

o Sales tax exemption for aircraft of less than two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

was created by ACT 3 of 1991, and has not been amended since.  

 Repair or remanufacture of industrial metal rollers under Arkansas Code § 26-52-

301(3)(B)(v) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 $4,856  

o Repair or remanufacture of industrial metal rollers was taxed as a service 

under the category of “repair of mechanical equipment” by ACT 181 of 

1973. Repair or remanufacture of industrial metal rollers was removed as a 

taxable service by ACT 89 of 1989, and has not been amended since. 

Sales tax exemption only applies to repair or remanufacture of industrial 

metal rollers or platens that have a remanufactured, nonmetallic material 

covering on all or part of the roller or platen surface which are brought 

into the State of Arkansas solely and exclusively for the purpose of being 

repaired or remanufactured in this state and are then shipped back to the 

state of origin. 

 Sales to Arkansas Entertainers Hall of Fame Board under Arkansas Code § 13-9-

104 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY11 was $2,428  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 671 of 1985, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Sales to Arkansas Black Hall of Fame Foundation under Arkansas Code § 26-52-

401(39) 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY17 was $2,562  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 998 of 2011, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Purchases of kegs by a wholesale manufacturer of beer that are used to sell beer 

wholesale under Arkansas Code § 26-52- 445 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact in FY17 was $1,038  

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 1226 of 2011, and has not 

been amended since. 

 Any interstate or international private communications service and any interstate 

or international 800 service or 900 service under Arkansas Code § 26-52-315 

o Per DFA, the Fiscal Impact is unknown 

o The sales tax exemption was created by ACT 1273 of 2003, and has not 

been amended since. 

 

 Potential Legal Issues 

 None. 
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 Other States 

 Iowa: Iowa’s Department of Revenue is required by the legislature to release its 

tax expenditure report every five years outlining the total value of the state’s tax 

credits, deductions, exclusions and exemptions. (IA St. § 421) 

 Louisiana: Sales Tax Streamlining and Modernization Commission - 

commissioned from July 2015 until June 2017 to perform a comprehensive study 

of Louisiana's state and local sales tax systems, and to make recommendations to 

the legislature regarding revision of practices, administrative procedure, statutory 

law, and Louisiana Constitution, all for the purpose of streamlining and 

modernizing this vital revenue source for the state and its local governments. (LA 

St. 47:301.2) 

 Mississippi: Requires an annual tax expenditure report by the University Research 

Center of Mississippi. (MS St. § 57-13-45)  

 Missouri: No statutory review process or minimum threshold for establishment of 

a sales tax exemption.  

 Oklahoma: Requires a biannual tax expenditure report by the Oklahoma tax 

Commission which identifies sales and use tax exemptions and makes 

recommendations. (OK St. 68 § 101). 

 Tennessee: No statuary review process or minimum threshold for establishment of 

sales tax exemption.  

 Texas:  Before each regular session of the legislature, the comptroller shall report 

to the legislature and the governor on the effect, if it is possible to assess, of 

exemptions, discounts, exclusions, special valuations, special accounting 

treatments, special rates, and special methods of reporting relating to sales, excise, 

and use tax under Chapter 151, Tax Code; the report may include: 

an assessment of the intended purpose of the provision and whether the provision 

is achieving that objective; and a recommendation for retaining, eliminating, or 

amending the provision. (TX St. §403.014)  


