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TOPIC: To Adopt the Federal Standard Deduction as Amended by The Tax Cuts and 

Jobs Act 

 

Summary of Proposal for Consideration 

 

 To repeal the standard deduction under Arkansas Code § 26-51-430 and adopt the federal 

standard deduction of twelve thousand dollars ($12,000) for an individual filer, eighteen 

thousand dollars ($18,000) for a head of household, and twenty-four thousand dollars ($24,000) 

for a married couple filing jointly under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, P.L. 115-97, effective for tax 

years beginning January 1, 2019.   

 

Fiscal Analysis 

 

 According to the Department of Finance and Administration, if Arkansas adopted the 

federal deduction standards under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA), the revenue impact would 

be a decrease of general revenue by $333,700,000.  If the personal tax credits that account for 

$76,000,000 were also eliminated, similar to the personal exemptions that the TCJA eliminated, 

the decrease in general revenue would be $257,700,000. 

 

Legal Analysis 

 

 Background  
 

Arkansas currently allows each taxpayer a standard deduction of two thousand two hundred 

dollars ($2,200).  

 

ACT 118 of 1929 created a tax exemption of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) 

for a single individual and two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) for a married couple.  

 

ACT 135 of 1947 increased the tax exemption to two thousand five hundred dollars 

($2,500) for a single individual and three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500) for a married 

couple.  

 

ACT 124 of 1951 repealed the tax exemptions and created tax deductions for personal 

income as follows:  

 If gross income was five thousand dollars ($5,000) or more, then the taxpayer was 

entitled to a standard deduction of one thousand ($1,000) or an amount equal to ten 

percent (10%) of the gross income, whichever is less; or 

 If gross income was less than five thousand dollars ($5,000), then the standard 

deduction for each taxpayer was an amount equal to ten percent (10%) of gross 

income.  
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ACT 328 of 1997 increased the standard tax deduction to two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

per taxpayer, and in the case of a married couple, each spouse was entitled to claim a standard 

deduction of two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

 

ACT 1488 of 2013 increased the standard deduction to two thousand two hundred dollars 

($2,200) per taxpayer, and in the case of a married couple, each spouse was entitled to claim a 

standard deduction of two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200). The standard deduction under 

this act was effective January 1, 2015. The standard deduction has not been amended since.  

 

 Potential Legal Issues 

  

 None. 

 

 Other States 

 

 Iowa: Iowa provides a standard deduction for single taxpayers or married 

taxpayers filing separately of $2,030 and a standard deduction of $5,000 for 

married taxpayers filing jointly. (IA St. § 422.9) 

 

 Louisiana: Louisiana has a combined personal exemption and standard deduction  

of $4,500 for single filers and married taxpayers filing separately and $9,000 for 

married taxpayers filing jointly, heads of household, and qualifying widowers. 

Louisiana allows for an additional $1,000 deduction for each dependent and each 

taxpayer who is blind or 65 years of age or older. (LA St. § 47:294) 

 

 Mississippi: Mississippi provides a standard deduction as follows: 

o $4,600      Married individuals - joint return 

o $4,600      Married - spouse died in tax year 

o $2,300      Married individuals - separate returns 

o $3,400      Head of household 

o $2,300      Single individuals 

(MS St. § 27-7-17) 

 

 Missouri: Missouri’s standard deduction is tied directly to the allowable federal 

standard deduction, which after the passage of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act is 

$12,000 for single filers and married taxpayers filing separately, $18,000 for 

heads of households, and $24,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly.  (MO St. § 

143.131)  

 

 Oklahoma: Oklahoma’s standard deduction is $6,350 for single filers and for 

married taxpayers filing separately; $9,350 for heads of household; and $12,700 

for married taxpayers filing jointly. (68 OK St. § 2358) 

 

 Tennessee: Tennessee does not have a standard deduction.  

 

 Texas: Does not have personal income tax. 


