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EXCISE TAXES

GENERAL OVERVIEW

* Imposed on specific (rather than general) sales, sometimes ad valorem
but more often based on volume

* Generally thought of as an attempt to internalize the externalities
associated with consumption of a particular good or service, which
cannot be adequately addressed by a general sales tax



EXCISE TAXES

GENERAL OVERVIEW

* Frequently, though, excise tax rates have more to do with revenue
targets than any accounting of external costs

" Excise taxes are often a declining source of revenue because the taxes
themselves discourage consumption and favor substitutes

- Particularly true when excise taxes are levied in part to discourage or
moderate consumption, e.g., cigarette taxes or soft drink taxes

- Even more significant when there’s an existing trend toward lower use



EXCISE TAXES

GAS TAX

At p 8 Cpg (including O 3 Cpg How High Are Gas Taxes in Your State?

. . . Total State Taxes and Fees on Gasoline, as of January 2017 (cents per gallon)
environmental assurance fee),
Arkansas’ gas tax has the 40th-
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A American Petroleum Institute (API) has developed a methodology for determining the —
average tax rate on a gallon of fuel. Rates may include any of the following: excise u] . l . . . l . . .
n a I 0 n a y. taxes, environmental fees, storage tank taxes, other fees or taxes, and general sales
tax. In states where gasoline is subject to the general sales tax, or where the fuel tax Lower Higher

is based on the average sale price, the average rate determined by API is sensitive to
changes in the price of gasoline. States that fully or partially apply general sales taxes

to gasoline are California, Connecticut, Georgia, lllinois, Indiana, Michigan, and New
York. D.C.'s rank does not affect states' ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates
where it would rank if included.

Source: American Petroleum Institute.
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EXCISE TAXES
GAS TAX

 The tax rate has not kept up with inflation.

Arkansas Gasoline Tax Rate
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Source: Arkansas Statutes.




EXCISE TAXES

ALCOHOL TAXES

* Wine: SO75 / ga”On How High Are Wine Taxes in Your State?

State Wine Excise Tax Rates (Dollars Per Gallon), As of January 1, 2017
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Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 11% alcohol by volume (a.b.v.) State Wine Excise Tax Rate
non-carbonated wine in 750ml containers. Federal rates vary by alcohol content and type of (Dollars Per Gallon)

wine, ranging up to $3.15 for 21-24 percent alcohol and $3.40 for sparking wine. D.C.’s rank

does not affect states' ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank if l l . . l . . . .
included.

AL, AZ, CA, CO,CT,FL,GA, HL ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, LA, ME, MA, MI, MS, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM,
NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, RI, 5C, 5D, TX, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, DC: Different rates also applicable
to alcohol content, place of production, size of container, place purchased (on- or off-premise
or on board airlines) or type of wine (carbonated, vermouth, etc.).

MS, NH, UT, PA, WY: Control states, where the government controls all sales. Products can
be subject to ad valorem mark-up as well as excise taxes.

KY: Includes the wholesale tax rate of 11%, converted to a gallonage excise tax rate.

AR, MN, TN: Includes case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with size of container.

AR, MD, MN, 5D, DC: Includes sales taxes specific to alcoholic beverages.

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.
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EXCISE TAXES

ALCOHOL TAXES

" Beer: S 0.23 / ga”On How High Are Beer Taxes in Your State?

State Beer Excise Tax Rates (Dollars per Gallon), as of January 2017

vi il NH Il
$0.27 #22  $0.30 #21 ME

$0.35

i}

$0.11 #44
RIT
$0.12 #41
cTH
$0.23 #26

NJ
$0.12 #41

DEN
$0.16 #35
(VDY |
$0.52 #9
pcll
$0.68 (#6)

.-
“

N o
$0.93
N b
State Beer Excise Tax Rates

Note: Rates are those applicable to off-premise sales of 4.7% a.b.v. beer in 12 ounce (Dollars per Gallon)

containers. D.C.'s rank does not affect states’ ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates E

where it would rank if included. FL, HI, ID, IA, KS, MN, NC, ND, OH, OK, TX, UT, VA, WA, and [ . . . . . . . .
WI also apply different rates according to alcohol content, place of production, size of -

container, or place purchased (on- or off-premise or onboard airlines). Statewide local rate Higher
included in AL ($0.52) and GA ($0.53). Sales tax specific to alcoholic beverages included in AR,

MD, MN, and DC. Case fees and/or bottle fees which may vary with the size of container

included in AR and RIl. Wholesale tax rate converted into a gallonage escise tax rate included

in KY (10.5%) and TN (17%).

Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States.
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EXCISE TAXES

CIGARETTE TAX

- At $1.15 / pack, Arkansas’
cigarette tax is the second-
highest in the region after
Texas, and well higher than
neighboring MO (50.17), TN
(S0.62), or MS (S0.68)

How High Are Cigarette Taxes in Your State?
State Cigarette Excise Tax Rates, 2018 (dollars per 20-pack)

WA
$3.025

IL

s MT ND
$1.70 $0.44
G #22 AT N
$1.33 ) $3.04
#30 $0.57 SD #7
#44 $1.53
o #26
1A
NE .
CA o ] #
#9 MO

#22 ] Ks

Note: Local taxes are not included and can be substantial. D.C.'s rank does not
affect states' ranks, but the figure in parentheses indicates where it would rank
if included.

Source: Bloomberg BNA; state statutes.
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EXCISE TAXES
CIGARETTE TAX
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EXCISE TAXES
VAPOR TAXES

How High Are Vapor Excise Taxes in Your State?
State & Local Vapor Cxelze Tax Rates, os of Jahuary 1, 2018
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EXCISE TAXES
MARIJUANA TAXES

How High Are Marijuana Taxes in Your State?

State Recreational Marijuana Excise Tax Rates, January 2018
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37%
sales tax
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$2.75/0z leaves of

cultivation tax DE

MD

DC

Note: (*) Massachusetts has not yet begun recreational sales.

D.C. voters approved legalization and purchase of marijuana in 2014 but federal law prohibits any action to implement it. The New Hampshire
Legislature voted this year to legalize the possession and growing of marijuana, but sales are not permitted. Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, lowa,
Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Wisconsin impose a controlled substance tax on the
purchase of illegal products. Vermont legalized the possession of recreational marijuana legislatively in January 2018, but is not implementing a legal
recreational market. Maine legalized recreational marijuana in November 2016 by ballot initiative, but the state has not implemented a legal recreational
market. Legislation is pending that would create a taxing structure.

Source: Tax Foundation, “Massachusetts Increases Marijuana Tax Rate” (2017); state statutes; Bloomberg BNA.
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EXCISE TAXES

RECOMMENDATIONS

- Arkansas should consider raising the state’s gas tax to better fund
transportation needs.
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CONCLUSION

- Questions?

- Contact Information:
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