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TOPIC: Tax Deduction or Tax Credit to Offset the Arkansas Corporate Franchise 

Tax 

 

Summary of Proposal for Consideration 

 

 To implement a tax deduction or tax credit to be taken against Arkansas individual income 

tax liability or corporate income tax liability to offset payments made under the Arkansas corporate 

franchise tax, Arkansas Code § 26-54-101 et seq., effective for tax years beginning January 1, 

2019.  

 

Fiscal Analysis 

According to the Arkansas Secretary of State, the following chart provides an overview of 

the corporate franchise tax collections since 2009:1 

  

 Under Arkansas Code § 26-54-113(b), the first eight million dollars ($8,000,000) of 

revenues collected under the corporate franchise tax are deposited into general revenues, and the 

remaining revenues are deposited to the credit of the Educational Adequacy Trust Fund. 

 

 According to the Arkansas Secretary of State, it is anticipated that collections from the 

franchise tax will exceed thirty million dollars ($30,000,000) in fiscal year 2018. According to the 

Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), depending on the nature of a tax credit or 

deduction to offset the ad valorem personal property tax paid on business inventory, such a tax 

credit or deduction may result in an estimated loss of general revenues of approximately thirty 

million dollars ($30,000,000), based on the Secretary of State’s estimated revenue amounts for 

fiscal year 2018. 

 

Legal Analysis 

 

 Background 

 

 Arkansas does not currently provide a tax credit or deduction against Arkansas individual 

income tax liability or corporate income tax liability to offset payments made under the Arkansas 

corporate franchise tax. However, under Arkansas Code § 26-51-416, Arkansas allows a deduction 

from income tax for franchise taxes paid by the taxpayer. The deduction was created by ACT 118 

of 1929 and has not been amended since.  

                                                 
1 Source: Arkansas Secretary of State: https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/franchise-

tax/ 

2009 - $22.8 million 

2010 - $24.0 million 

2011 - $23.2 million 

2012 - $23.1 million 

2013 - $26.5 million 

2014 - $25.8 million 

  

2015 - $26.3 million 

2016 - $25.6 million 

2017 - $26.1 million 
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 Potential Legal Issues 

  

 None.  

 

 Other States 

 

 Iowa: Iowa imposes a franchise tax on financial institutions for the privilege of 

doing business in Iowa, regardless of how the financial institution is treated under 

federal law. (IA St. §§ 422.60(1), § 422.61(3)(g), and Iowa Admin. Code  § 701-

59.21). If the financial institution pays individual income tax or corporate income 

tax, the financial institution may receive a credit against the tax liability of the 

financial institution for individual income tax or corporate income tax on the 

amount the institution paid under the franchise tax. (IA St. §§ 422.11 and 

422.33(8)). The franchise tax can also be reduced by several tax credits, including 

without limitation the alternative minimum tax credit, the historic preservation and 

cultural and entertainment district tax credit, the investment tax credit, the endow 

Iowa tax credit, the wind energy production and renewable energy tax credit, the 

Iowa fund of funds tax credit, and the redevelopment tax credit. (IA St. § 422.60). 

  

 Louisiana: Louisiana imposes a franchise tax on every domestic and foreign 

corporation conducting business in Louisiana. (LA St. § 47:601). Louisiana 

provides a deduction on corporate and individual income tax for taxes paid under 

the franchise tax. (LA St. § 47:55). Louisiana also provides several tax credits that 

may be used to offset tax liability under the franchise tax, including without 

limitation the Atchafalaya trace tax credit, the previously unemployed tax credit, 

the recycling tax credit, the basic skills training tax credit, the inventory tax credit, 

and the research and development tax credit. (LA St. §§ 25:1226.4, 47:6004, 

47:6005, 47:6006, 47:6009, and 47:6015). 

 

 Mississippi: Mississippi imposes a franchise tax on corporations for the privilege 

of doing business in the State of Mississippi. Mississippi’s franchise tax is due 

annually as long as the corporation remains incorporated, domesticated, or 

continues to do business in Mississippi. (MS St. §§ 27-13-5 and 27-13-7). 

Mississippi does not provide a credit for the franchise tax. However, Mississippi 

allows for an income tax deduction taxes for paid under the franchise tax. (MS St. 

§ 27-7-17).  

 

 Missouri: Missouri repealed its corporate franchise tax beginning on January 1, 

2016. (MO St. § 147.010(5)).  

 

 Oklahoma: Oklahoma imposes an annual corporate franchise tax on all 

corporations that do business in Oklahoma. (68 OK St. § 1201). Oklahoma does 

not provide a credit or deduction for taxes paid under the franchise tax.  
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 Tennessee: Tennessee imposes a franchise tax on any person, taxpayer, or corporate 

franchise doing business in Tennessee and having a substantial nexus in Tennessee. 

Examples of a substantial nexus in Tennessee, include without limitation 

maintaining an office in the state, regularly selling products and or services in the 

state, and owning or leasing property located in the state. (TN St. §§ 67-4-2104 and 

§ 67-4-2105). Tennessee also provides several tax credits against franchise tax 

liability, including without limitation:  

 

o A tax credit on the purchase price of industrial machinery, where the 

percentage of the tax credit is based on the amount of capital investment 

made by the company; 

o A job tax credit, including an additional enhanced job tax credit, for 

businesses meeting certain requirements where the credit is equal to four 

thousand five hundred dollars ($4,500) for each qualified job created during 

the investment period; 

o A job tax credit for employees with disabilities, where the credit is five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) for each full-time employee and two thousand 

dollars ($2,000) for each part-time employee;  

o A credit on a portion of a qualified headquarters facility’s relocation 

expenses and investments; 

o A credit for a financial institution that makes investments to an eligible 

housing entity; 

o A credit for a qualified taxpayer that has established its international, 

national, or regional headquarters in the state; and 

o A credit on fifteen percent (15%) of the qualified expenses incurred by a 

qualified production company that has established a headquarters facility in 

Tennessee. 

(TN St. §§ 67-4-2009 and 67-4-2109). 

 

Tennessee does not impose a corporate income tax and levies a limited individual 

income tax only on interest and dividend income, so there are no individual or 

corporate income tax credits or deductions offered for franchise taxes paid.  

 

 Texas: Texas imposes a franchise tax on entities formed in Texas or doing business 

in Texas. (TX St. Tax Code § 171.001). Texas also provides three (3) tax credits 

against the franchise tax: 

 

o A tax credit for a clean energy project to provide a tax credit equal to the 

lesser of either ten percent (10%) of the total capital cost of the project or 

one hundred million dollars ($100,000,000) (TX ST. Tax Code § 171.602); 

o A tax credit for certain research and development activities based on a 

certain percentage depending on the nature of the research or development 

activities. The default rate is a credit that equals five percent (5%) on the 

difference between qualified research expenses incurred by the entity and 

fifty percent (50%) of the average amount of qualified research expenses 

incurred during the three (3) preceding  tax years. However, alternative rates 
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are applicable to different types of research and development activities (TX 

ST. Tax Code § 171.654); and 

o A tax credit for rehabilitation of certified historic structures up to twenty-

five percent (25%) of the total eligible costs and expenses incurred in the 

rehabilitation of a certified historic structure. (TX ST. Tax Code § 171.905). 

 

Texas does not impose an individual income tax or corporate income tax, so there 

are no individual or corporate income tax credits or deductions offered for franchise 

taxes paid.  


