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Apportionment of Business Income

* Arkansas requires that all business income be apportioned to
this state by multiplying the income by a fraction, the
numerator of which is the property factor plus the payroll
factor plus double the sales factor, and the denominator of
which is 4.

Most state apportionment formulas fall within one of three
categories:

* Equally weighted three-factor formulas;
* Three-factor formulas with enhanced sales factors; or
* Single sales factor formulas.



Apportionment of Business Income

Equally Weighted Enhanced Sales Factor Single Sales Factor

Alaska, Hawaii, Kansas, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California,
Mississippi, Missouri, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Colorado, Connecticut,
Montana, North Dakota, Kentucky, Maryland, Georgia, lllinois, Indiana,
Oklahoma, Utah Massachusetts, New lowa, Louisiana, Maine,

Hampshire, New Mexico, = Michigan, Minnesota,

North Carolina, Tennessee, Nebraska, New Jersey, New

Vermont, Virginia, West York, Oregon, Pennsylvania,

Virginia South Carolina, Texas,
Wisconsin

S 15 20
(Enhanced = Double or
greater weighted)

CCH Multistate Tax Guide for 2017



Apportionment Comparison — High Sales Factor

_ 3 Factor - Equally Weighted [ 3 Factor with Double Sales Single Sales Factor

Apportionable Income
Arkansas Property
Everywhere Property
Property %
Arkansas Payroll
Everywhere Payroll
Payroll %
Arkansas Sales
Everywhere Sales
Sales %
Double Weights Sales %
SUM of Percentages
Number of Factors
Arkansas Percentage

Arkansas Net Taxable Income

1,000,000
100,000
10,000,000
1%
100,000
10,000,000
1%
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%

0%

12%

3

4.00%
40,000

S
S
S

1,000,000
100,000
10,000,000
1%
100,000
10,000,000
1%
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%

10%

22%

4

5.50%
55,000

1,000,000

1,000,000
10,000,000
10%

10%

1
10.00%
100,000



Apportionment Comparison — Low Sales Factor

_ 3 Factor - Equally Weighted | 3 Factor with Double Sales Single Sales Factor

Apportionable Income
Arkansas Property
Everywhere Property
Property %
Arkansas Payroll
Everywhere Payroll
Payroll %
Arkansas Sales
Everywhere Sales
Sales %
Double Weights Sales %
SUM of Percentages
Number of Factors
Arkansas Percentage

Arkansas Net Taxable Income

1,000,000
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%
100,000
10,000,000
1%

0%

21%

3

7.00%
70,000

1,000,000
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%
1,000,000
10,000,000
10%
100,000
10,000,000
1%

1%

22%

4

5.50%
55,000

1,000,000

100,000
10,000,000
1%

1%

1.00%
10,000



Revenue Impact — Adoption of Single Sales Factor

* Corporate Income Tax is an unpredictable source of revenue and can
change significantly year over year. In a review of the previous four
years of returns, the Department estimates that the overall revenue
impact of changing the statutory apportionment formula to a single
sales factor, without any other changes in corporate income tax,
would result in an average overall revenue gain of $714,289.



Revenue Impact — Adoption of Single Sales
Factor

* The revenue impact of adopting the Single Sales Factor for the prior
four years is as follows:

Tax Year Revenue Impact
2016 ($8,589,624)
2015 $8,828,403
2014 $8,047,478
2013 ($5,429,178)

Average $714,289




The Throwback Rule

* The “throwback rule” is part of the calculation used by Arkansas
concerning the apportionment of business income by multistate businesses
for income tax purposes.

* The throwback rule is part of Arkansas law that determines what are
considered Arkansas sales for the Arkansas Sales Percentage in determining
apportionment. Under existing law, a multistate business is required to
include “unreported” out of state sales in its sales factor under § 26-51-
715 (Repl. 1997).

* All sales must be reported somewhere otherwise a taxpayer will have
untaxed “nowhere” income. “Nowhere” sales are recaptured and placed in
the Arkansas sales factor under § 26-51-716 which is referred to as the
“throwback rule.”



Revenue Impact — Repeal of Throwback Rule

* DFA provided Fiscal Impact for HB 1790 for repeal of the throwback
rule during 91st General Assembly of $24,500,000 for Fiscal Year
2018.



Revenue Impact — Repeal of Throwback Rule

* The revenue impact of eliminating the Throwback Rule for the prior
four years is as follows:

Tax Year Revenue Impact
2016 ($23,710,755)
2015 ($31,111,787)
2014 ($24,486,281)
2013 ($17,273,674)

Average ($24,145,624)




Combined Revenue Impact — Single Sales and
Throwback Rule Repeal

* If the Throwback Rule is eliminated, companies subject to Corporate Income Tax
in Arkansas will no longer be required to include the “nowhere sales” in their
Arkansas Sales Factor which would be combined with a Single Sales Factor to
remove from the Corporate Tax Base property, payroll, and a significant
percentage of sales.

* The Department has completed an analysis of four years of samples from
Corporate Income Tax returns to provide an estimate of the combination of the
adoption of a single sales factor apportionment that also repeals the throwback

rule.
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Combined Revenue Impact — Single Sales and
Throwback Rule Repeal

* Nearly all of the impact on Corporate Income Tax for elimination of the
throwback rule is in the manufacturing and wholesale industries.

* A sample of taxpayers who have identified as either manufacturing or
wholesale in their NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
codes were used to evaluate the overall impact of the combination of the
single sales factor and the elimination of the throwback rule, as well as
other similar analyses such as sales factor only.
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Comparison — Single Sales Factor and Throwback
Rule Repeal for Different Manufacturers

PROPERTY PAYROLL SALES SALESFACTOR ARKANSAS ARKANSAS INCOMETO ARKTAXABLE ARKANSAS
FACTOR FACTOR FACTOR NO THROWBACK FACTOR PERCENT APPORTION INCOME TAXAT6.5%

TYPICALMANUFACTURERIN ARKANSAS
CURRENTFORMULA 12% 8% 5% 2% (12+8+5+5)/4 7.50% $2,000,000,000 $150,000,000 $9,750,000
CURRENT FORMULA NO THROWBACK 12% 8% 5% 2% (12+8+2+2)/4 6% $2,000,000,000 $120,000,000 $7,800,000
SINGLE SALES WITH THROWBACK RULE 12% 8% 5% 2% 5% 5% $2,000,000,000 $100,000,000 $6,500,000
SINGLESALES NO THROWBACK RULE 12% 8% 5% 2% 2% 2% $2,000,000,000 $40,000,000 $2,600,000

MANUFACTURER THAT LOSES WITH SINGLE SALES FACTOR BUT WINS WITH SINGLE SALES AND NO THROWBACK RULE

CURRENTFORMULA 4% 2% 10% 1% (4+2+10+10)/4 6.5% $1,000,000,000 $65,000,000 $4,225,000
CURRENT FORMULA NO THROWBACK 4% 2% 10% 1% (4+2+1+1)/4 2% $1,000,000,000 $20,000,000 $1,300,000
SINGLE SALES WITH THROWBACK RULE 4% 2% 10% 1% 10% 10% $1,000,000,000 $100,000,000 $6,500,000
SINGLE SALES NO THROWBACK RULE 4% 2% 10% 1% 1% 1% $1,000,000,000 $10,000,000 $650,000

MANUFACTURER THAT LOSES WITH SINGLE SALES FACTOR AND WITH SINGLE SALES AND NO THROWBACK RULE

CURRENTFORMULA 4% 2% 10% 9% (4+2+10+10)/4 6.5% $1,000,000,000 $65,000,000 $4,225,000
CURRENT FORMULA NO THROWBACK 4% 2% 10% 9% (4+2+9+9)/4 6% $1,000,000,000 $60,000,000 $3,900,000
SINGLE SALES WITH THROWBACK RULE 4% 2% 10% 9% 10% 10% $1,000,000,000 $100,000,000 $6,500,000

SINGLE SALES NO THROWBACK RULE 4% 2% 10% 9% 9% 9% $1,000,000,000 $90,000,000 $5,850,000




Combined Revenue Impact — Single Sales and
Throwback Rule Repeal

e DFA’s Corporate Income Tax Section took a sample of return information and
determined the impact of a single sales factor and then the impact of a single
sales factor for just manufacturing and wholesale industries. The difference
between these is then added to the amount from the sample for wholesale and
manufacturing industries impact of single sales factor plus the elimination of the
throwback rule to have a combined estimate. This also shows the amount of
estimate for the elimination of the throwback rule without the single sales factor

for comparison.

* The estimate for Throwback elimination for 2016 is a revenue loss of $23,700,000
and the estimate for Single Sales Factor in 2016 is a $8,600,000 revenue loss, but
when both changes are applied together the estimate is a $49,600,000 fiscal
impact rather than a $32,300,000 impact (when both static impacts are added

together).
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Combined Revenue Impact — Single Sales and
Throwback Rule Repeal

 Combined revenue impact of adopting the Single Sales Factor and a
repeal of the Throwback rule has been calculated for the past four
filing years as follows:

Tax Year Combined Revenue Impact
2016 ($49,562,919)
2015 ($65,033,398)
2014 ($56,151,033)
2013 ($58,138,566)
Average ($57,221,479)




Conclusion

e Questions?
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