TAX REFORM AND RELIEF LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE MEETING MINUTES MAY 22, 2017

The Tax Reform and Relief Legislative Task Force met on Monday, May 22, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. in Room A-MAC, Little Rock, Arkansas.

Task Force members present: Senators Jonathan Dismang, Joyce Elliott, Jim Hendren, Bart Hester, Keith Ingram, Larry Teague, David Wallace, and Representatives, Frances Cavenaugh, Jim Dotson, Kenneth Ferguson, Bob Johnson, Lane Jean, Joe Jett, and Matthew Pitsch, and Warwick Sabin.

Other legislators present: Senators Linda Chesterfield, Bill Sample, and Representatives Fred Allen, Charles Blake, David Branscum, Charlie Collins, Jana Della Rosa, Dan M. Douglas, Jon Eubanks, Vivian Flowers, Trent Garner, Jeremy Gillam, Ken Henderson, Laurie Rushing, Jeff Williams, and Carlton Wing.

House Speaker Jeremy Gillam called the meeting to order.

Nomination and Election of the Task Force Co-Chairs [Exhibit B]

Senator Dismang made the motion to elect Senator Jim Hendren to serve as Senate Co-Chair of the task force, and with a second by Senator Teague, the motion carried.

Representative Jett made the motion to elect Representative Lane Jean to serve as House Co-Chair of the task force, and with a second by Representative Dotson, the motion carried.

Senator Hendren and Representative Jean gave their opening remarks and asked task force members to introduce themselves.

<u>Discussion of Act 79 of 2017 creating the Tax Reform and Relief Legislative Task Force</u> [Exhibit C]

Senator Hendren gave a brief overview of the task force's obligations to the state as set forth in Act 79 of 2017:

- Modernize and simplify the Arkansas tax code
- Make the Arkansas tax laws competitive with other states in order to attract businesses to the state
- Create jobs for the state
- Ensure fairness to all individuals and entities impacted by the state's tax laws.

The task force is also charged to submit a written preliminary report of the task force's activities, findings, and recommendations to the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate before December 1, 2017. A final written report will be due on or before September 1, 2018.

Consideration to Adopt Task Force Rules and Procedures [Exhibit D]

Representative Dotson made the motion to adopt task force rules and procedures, and with a second from Representative Pitsch, the motion carried.

<u>Consideration of a Motion to Authorize Chairs to Approve Special Expenses Incurred by the Task Force</u> [Exhibit E]

Representative Dotson made the motion to authorize Chairs to approve special expenses incurred by the task force, and with a second by Senator Elliott, the motion carried.

Next meeting - June 7, 2017

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.