REVISED AGENDA Task Force on Higher Education Remediation, Retention & Graduation Rates

Thursday, December 20, 2007 01:00 PM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Legislative Members

Sen. Dave Bisbee Sen. Gilbert Baker

Non-Legislative Members

Dr. Steve Floyd Dr. Ed Franklin Dr. Kenneth James Dr. Chip Ates Ms. Robin Bryant Rep. Johnnie Roebuck, Chair Rep. Bill Abernathy

Dr. Karen Hodges Mr. David Ray Dr. Sally Roden Ms. Patty Weak Dr. Tom Kimbrell Mr. Daniel Marzoni

- A. Call to Order.
- B. Opening remarks by Rep. Johnnie Roebuck Chair
- C. Adoption of Minutes: November 15, 2007
- D. Overview of Research on Remediation from a Two-Year College Perspective

Dr. Clarence "Chip" Ates, Executive Vice-President, NWACC

Dr. Steven Murray, Chancellor, Phillips Community College of UA

E. Overview of Research on the K-12 Role in College Success

Rigor and Relevance-The Smart Core Curriculum **Dr. Ken James,** Commissioner, Arkansas Department of Education

Networks of Support for At Risk Students **Dr. Tom Kimbrell,** Executive Director, AR Association of Educational Administrators

- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment