#### **AGENDA**

### Vision 2025 Legislative Commission on the Future of Higher Education

## Friday, May 02, 2014

#### Friday, May 02, 201 11:00 AM

# SAU - Donald W. Reynolds Campus & Community Center, 100 E. University Street Magnolia, Arkansas

#### Legislative Members

Sen. Joyce Elliott, Chair Sen. Johnny Key

•

**Non-Legislative Members** 

Denise Garner, Vice Chair Chad Brown Dr. Tom Kimbrell Andrew Parker Grant Tennille Shane Broadway Rex Nelson Dr. Sherece West-Scantlebury Dr. Fitz Hill Cynthia Moten Bill Stovall Ray Henson Nate Looney George West Dr. Joe D. Giammo Forest Boles Kim Whitten Jamie Scott Jerri Derlikowski President Donald Bobbitt Samuel Sicard Sarah Roberson

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer

- A. Call to Order
- B. Approval of the Minutes from the January 17, 2014 meeting [Exhibit B]
- C. Review of Previous Meeting from January 17, 2014 [Exhibit C]
- D. Welcome Message from Dr. David Rankin, President, Southern Arkansas University (SAU)
- E. Discussion of El Dorado Promise Scholarship Program by:
  - 1. Mrs. Bonnie Haynie, Director of Professional Development, El Dorado Public Schools
  - 2. Mrs. Alice Mahony, School Board Member, State Board of Education/El Dorado Education Foundation
  - 3. Mrs. Katie Sandifer, Coordinator, El Dorado Promise
  - 4. Mrs. Sylvia Thompson, Director, Murphy Oil Corporation/El Dorado Promise
- F. Presentation by Dr. Donald Bobbitt, President, University of Arkansas System
- G. Panel Discussion on the Needs and Challenges within Higher Education

Panel Introduction by: Dr. Trey Berry, Vice President of Academic Affairs, SAU

Moderators: **Dr. Marla Strecker**, Director, ED Leadership Program/Division of Transitional Studies, SAU **Dr. Roger Guevara**, Director, Education Renewal Zone

- H. Comments and Remarks from Commission Members
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"