Legislative Arkansas Blue Ribbon Committee on Local 911 Systems

Committee Rules

<u>PURPOSE</u>: The purpose of these rules is to establish rules and procedures for conducting the business of the <u>Legislative Arkansas Blue Ribbon Committee on Local 911 System</u> and to inform the members of the General Assembly and the public of the procedures and rules of the committee.

<u>DUTIES</u>: The Arkansas Blue Ribbon Committee is required by Act 1171 of 2013, and extended by Act 528 of 2015, to:

- 1. Perform a detailed and comprehensive study on local 911 systems across the State of Arkansas;
- 2. Seek input from all appropriate sources including state, county, and municipal elected officials to determine the current state of local 911 systems across the State of Arkansas;
- 3. Research the number, location, staffing, and equipment of each Public Safety Answering Point or "PSAP" in every county in the state;
- 4. Determine if there are local 911 systems with overlap and inefficiencies within the counties of this state;
- 5. Identify all current funding for 911 systems;
- 6. Identify all training that is required or available for 911 personnel within this state;
- 7. Obtain research and information from within this state and other states related to 911 systems;
- 8. Consider appropriate solutions that provide a statewide 911 network that is efficient and effective:
- 9. Make recommendations to the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- 10. The committee may create advisory task forces as it deems necessary.
- 11. The task force expires on January 1, 2017.

PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURE: Except as otherwise specified in these rules, the rules of the Arkansas House of Representatives and the Arkansas Senate shall be observed by the committee, insofar as they are applicable. If an applicable rule does not exist or the House and Senate rules are incompatible, the co-chairs shall decide the issue.

- 1. Quorum. The Arkansas Blue Ribbon Committee on Local 911 Systems is made up of twelve (12) members. Seven (7) committee members constitute a quorum.
- 2. <u>Action</u>. An affirmative vote of a majority of a quorum present shall be required for the passage of a motion or other task force action.
- 3. <u>Roll Call</u>. The task force shall vote by voice vote unless a roll call vote is requested by two (2) or more task force members. Roll call votes shall be recorded in the meeting minutes.
- 4. Motions. A motion shall receive a second to be considered for action by the task force.
- 5. <u>Public Comment</u>. The chair may provide the public an opportunity to speak during a task force meeting to allow for public comment on issues before the task force.
- 6. <u>Minutes</u>. Staff shall produce minutes of each task force meeting to be adopted by the task force at the subsequent scheduled meeting.