AGENDA

Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Senate Committee on Children and Youth

House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth, Legislative & Military Affairs Meeting Jointly

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Jimmy Jeffress, Chair Sen. Missy Irvin, Chair

Sen. Mary Anne Salmon, Vice Chair

Sen. Jack Crumbly, Vice Chair

Sen. Gilbert Baker Sen. Percy Malone Sen. Kim Hendren

Sen. Sue Madison Sen. Gene Jeffress

Sen. Robert Thompson Sen. Johnny Key Sen. Joyce Elliott

Sen. Linda Chesterfield Sen. Jason Rapert

Sen. Stephanie Flowers Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Eddie Joe Williams Rep. Eddie L. Cheatham, Chair

Rep. Stephanie Malone, Chair

Rep. David "Bubba" Powers, Vice Chair

Rep. Johnnie J. Roebuck, Vice Chair

Rep. Billy W. Gaskill Rep. Toni Bradford

Rep. Kathy Webb Rep. Bobby J. Pierce Rep. Donna Hutchinson

Rep. Randy Stewart Rep. Jerry R. Brown

Rep. Jerry R. Brown Rep. Duncan Baird Rep. Tim Summers Rep. Debra M. Hobbs

Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Darrin Williams Rep. Karen S. Hopper

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer Rep. James McLean Rep. Jody Dickinson

Rep. Jane English Rep. Tracy Steele Rep. Lori Benedict Rep. Tommy Wren

Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Justin T. Harris

Rep. Kim Hammer Rep. David Meeks

Rep. Mary P. "Prissy" Hickerson

Rep. Mary F. Frissy Rep. David J. Sanders Rep. John W. Walker Rep. Gary Stubblefield Rep. Efrem Elliott Rep. Loy Mauch

Rep. Loy Mauch Rep. Jon Hubbard Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. James L. Word, Non-Voting Rep. Andrea Lea, Non-Voting Rep. Garry L. Smith, Non-Voting

Rep. Davy Carter, Non-Voting Rep. Tiffany Rogers, Non-Voting

Rep. Henry "Hank" Wilkins, IV, Non-Voting Rep. John Catlett, Non-Voting

Rep. Homer Lenderman, Non-Voting Rep. Kelley Linck, Non-Voting Rep. Jeremy Gillam, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Chairs
- C. Discussion of the No Kid Hungry Campaign

The Honorable Kathy Webb, State Representative, District 37, and Executive Director, Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance

Ms. Marge Wolf, Alliance Board President, Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance, and Chief Executive Officer, Northwest Arkansas Food Bank

Ms. Jen Jinks, National Campaign Director, No Kid Hungry at Share Our Strength, Washington, DC Ms. Tonya Russell, Director, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education, Arkansas Department of Human Services

Mr. Darian Smith, Principal, Mabelvale Elementary School, Little Rock School District, Little Rock, Arkansas

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

- D. Discussion and Receipt of Report Concerning Interim Study Proposal 2011-169/Interim Study Proposal 2011-170, TO PLACE THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS IN RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES ADMINISTERED BY THE DIVISION OF YOUTH SERVICES UNDER THE AUTHORITY AND ORGANIZATION OF THE PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT IN WHICH THE FACILITY IS LOCATED. [Exhibits D1 and D2]
 - 1. Remarks by Sponsors
 - **The Honorable Johnnie Roebuck**, State Representative, District 20 **The Honorable David "Bubba" Powers**, State Representative, District 3
 - Review of Report Regarding Interim Study Proposal 2011-169/Interim Study Proposal 2011-170
 Ms. Nell Smith, Administrator, Policy Analysis and Research Section, Bureau of Legislative Research
 - 3. Discussion by Committees
- E. Discussion of Hunger in Arkansas
 - **Ms. Marge Wolf**, Alliance Board President, Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance, and Chief Executive Officer, Northwest Arkansas Food Bank
 - Mr. Ted Clemons, Director, River Valley Regional Food Bank, Fort Smith, Arkansas
 - Mr. Jeff Quick, Executive Director, Food Bank of North Central Arkansas, Norfork, Arkansas
 - Ms. Elizabeth Hughes, Lunch Box Ministry, First United Methodist Church, Mountain View, Arkansas
 - Ms. Melissa Thurman, Lunch Box Ministry, First United Methodist Church, Mountain View, Arkansas
 - Ms. Sandy Qualls, Director, Stone County Community Food Ministry, Mountain View, Arkansas
 - Ms. Christie Jordan, Executive Director, Food Bank of Northeast Arkansas, Jonesboro, Arkansas
 - Mr. Ronnie Ritter, Executive Director, Arkansas Hunters Feeding the Hungry
 - **Ms. Jill Whittington**, Executive Director, Harvest Texarkana Regional Food Bank, Texarkana, Arkansas
 - **Ms. Susan Goolsby,** Interim Clinical Nutrition Director, Wellness, Health, Action & Motivation (WHAM) Clinic, Arkansas Children's Hospital
- F. Other Business
- G. Adjournment