## AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

Manday Fahman 02 2044

## Monday, February 03, 2014 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair

Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair

Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair

Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards

Rep. John Charles Edwa Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Bruce Cozart Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas

Rep. Mark Lowery

Rep. Charles L. Armstrong

Rep. Brent Talley

Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting

Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting

Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Approval of the Minutes of the January 7, 2014 and January 13, 2014 Meetings [Exhibits C1 and C2]
- D. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- E. Update on the Activities of the Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans

**Senator Joyce Elliott**, Senate Chair, Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans

**Representative Les Carnine**, House Chair, Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans

- F. Discussion of Collegiate Honors Education
  - **Dr. Rick Scott**, Dean, Norbert O. Schedler Honors College University of Central Arkansas **Dr. Robert C. "Bob" McMath**, Dean, University of Arkansas Honors College
- G. Discussion of the Arkansas Department of Education's Office of Intensive Support
   Mr. Andrew Tolbert, State Superintendent, Office of Intensive Support, Southeast Arkansas Education
   Cooperative

Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "Members and Staff Only"

Agenda February 3, 2014 Page 2

- H. Update on Early Childhood Education
   Ms. Tonya Williams, Division Director, Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education,
   Arkansas Department of Human Services
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment