## AGENDA Senate Committee on Education House Committee on Education Meeting Jointly

## Monday, May 12, 2014 10:00 AM Room 171, State Capitol Little Rock, Arkansas

Sen. Johnny Key, Chair Sen. Joyce Elliott, Vice Chair Sen. Jason Rapert Sen. Bruce Holland Sen. Uvalde Lindsey Sen. Alan Clark Sen. Jim Hendren Sen. Eddie Cheatham Rep. James McLean, Chair Rep. Ann V. Clemmer, Vice Chair Rep. Debra M. Hobbs Rep. Les "Skip" Carnine Rep. Robert E. Dale Rep. Karen S. Hopper Rep. Jody Dickinson Rep. John Charles Edwards Rep. Mark Biviano Rep. John Catlett Rep. Homer Lenderman Rep. Gary Deffenbaugh Rep. Jon S. Eubanks Rep. Sheilla E. Lampkin Rep. James Ratliff Rep. Bruce Cozart

Rep. Charlotte Vining Douglas Rep. Mark Lowery Rep. Charles L. Armstrong Rep. Brent Talley Rep. Stephen Meeks, Non-Voting Rep. Lane Jean, Non-Voting Rep. Fredrick J. Love, Non-Voting Rep. Reginald Murdock, Non-Voting Rep. Justin T. Harris, Non-Voting Rep. Jeff Wardlaw, Non-Voting Rep. Andy Mayberry, Non-Voting Rep. David Fielding, Non-Voting Rep. Harold Copenhaver, Non-Voting Rep. Randy Alexander, Non-Voting Rep. Chris Richey, Non-Voting Rep. Jim Dotson, Non-Voting

- A. Call to Order 10:00 A.M.
- B. Remarks by the Co-Chairs
- C. Reports from Members Who Attended Recent Meetings Concerning Public or Higher Education
- D. Update on the Activities of the Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans
   Senator Joyce Elliott, Senate Chair, Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans
   Representative Les Carnine, House Chair, Joint Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plans
- E. Discussion of University of Arkansas System eVersityDr. Donald Bobbitt, President, University of Arkansas System
- F. Discussion of the Activities of the Arkansas Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap Dr. Dawn Tirado Simpson, Chair, Arkansas Commission on Closing the Achievement Gap
- G. Discussion of School Report Cards and Other Methodologies for Public Engagement Concerning K-12 Education
  Dr. Gary Ritter, Director, Office for Education Policy, University of Arkansas
- Notice: Silence your cell phones. Keep your personal conversations to a minimum. Observe restrictions designating areas as "*Members and Staff Only*"

Agenda May 12, 2014 Page 2

- H. Discussion of Written Testimony Submitted by Various Organizations Regarding their Concerns about the State's Current System of Funding for Public Education
  Ms. Jerri Derlikowski, Director of Education Policy and Finance, Arkansas Advocates for Children and Families
  Dr. Sherece Y. West-Scantlebury, President and CEO, Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation
- I. Other Business
- J. Adjournment